Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Campsite was partially underwater - could not walk from paved area to picnic table platform. Had to buy plastic drop cloths so that would could step out of our camper on to the ground. Requested hay from maintenance at the office on the first morning but it was never delivered during our stay. Very disappointed.
Jul 18, 2013
It's a beautiful setting, but with rates twice the norm I expected much better. The wifi was pathetic; it took 10 minutes to load a webpage which made it unusable even for simple email, forget watching a netflix movie. Bathrooms and showers were below average. The $80+/night should have been $25. On the upside, store prices were surprisingly reasonable and employees were very pleasant.
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
I really liked it because there was great fishing and little tadpoles for my children to play with. The out door pool was open and the inside pool has an very nice hot tub also it was really fun by my new good camper neighbors. That was from one of my little girls. We had a good time and would stay here again. The indoor pool could use a good cleaning.
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Great Resort.
Jul 17, 2013
Our visit was fantastic! The campsite was spacious, very friendly and helpful staff. When we visit the Smokies again, we'll definitely stay at the Cherokee KOA. Only suggestion I have is to have brochures on the area.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
There are so many things to do that the kids don't get bored. We enjoy the activities that they have for all ages.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Disappointed that we were not told the outdoor pool and slide were closed. The kids were very upset that they could not use these amenities. The bathhouse and campground were very clean.
Jul 17, 2013
bedroom could have used a fan or its own a/c. store prices were ridiculous high.
Jul 17, 2013
My family and myself enjoyed our stay in the cabins. I was not aware that the cabins had no ac unit or outside running water, so this was a disappointment. The bathrooms and laundry room very clean. The staff overall extremely nice, but appear disorganized with assigned job duties.
Jul 17, 2013
We recently visited KOA and it was an overall great experience! We stayed on Site # 177 with our camper and it was such a good site with shade trees! The outdoor pool was nice as to the indoor pool was as well. The first day we arrived we didnt allow our kids in the kiddie pool bc it looked really dirty! However, the next day they had it very clean so we enjoyed it! :) We will defiently be back!!
Jul 17, 2013
Have recommend this p[lace to many people. You have great programs for the kids and the weekend we were up there the skits the kids put on was out standing. Loved the stay and well come back
Jul 16, 2013
This was the WORST KOA we ever stayed...cost when we arrived was much more than when I reserved...filthy bathroom...staff were not knowledgeable...most staff very rude and acted like they did not want to be bothered...would never stay there again...not under this poor management and conditions.
Jul 16, 2013
My family and I have stayed at this KOA several times in the past years, and I can honestly say that I have watched it decline in the maintenance aspect. The staff were friendly, but did not seem too knowledgeable. The first cabin we were given at check in was in bad shape. The back window was boarded up, and the screens on the front windows were torn from the window. The pool was just opened.
Jul 16, 2013
Awesome. Friendly staff and wonderful amenities.
Jul 16, 2013
everyone was very polite and helpful.
Jul 16, 2013
only bad was front bath/laundry house, in womens the showers cnt reg and had to take a cold shower. the one up by rd, tent area. need to befixed redone
Jul 15, 2013
Computers were down at check-in. Wi-Fi was almost non existent unless you were at the office.We talked to another camper who got 20% off their rate because the outside pool was closed, however we were not offered anything. To much wrong for the $75 +tax cost a day.
Jul 15, 2013
stay was great,staff was extremely helpful,lots of activities for the kids to do.Didn't get to do the rafting due to high waters but overall great place,great times.Only suggestion is that the mini golf should be free to campers,they should have to check out the equipment but the game itself should be free,our kids wanted to play but I didn't feel it was worth the cost.We stayed in a truck camper
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Great stay! Coming back for Labor Day weekend!
Jul 15, 2013
There was so much to do here, and everything was so clean! We really enjoyed being on the river!
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
We had a great time! The staff are friendly and helpful. The tubing was amazing. We made new friends and I am sure we will return!!
Jul 15, 2013
The cabin was nice and comfortable. The pools was nice. The tubing was fun!! The campgrounds were nice too!!
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
I rented a complete cabin. My wife, son and great dane. I was not told the bed room had a bunk bed. I really wanted to sleep with my wife! We found that the small couch folded out to make a small bed but our great dane had to be in there too. Just get the details out.
Jul 15, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA many times over the years and recommended it. We found the staff not as friendly or helpful as before. We had a problem with a GFI and was told it would be fixed, didn't happen. We were given a site other than the one we reserved. That site was already taken but our site free. took 30 min. to get it straight. Campground not as clean as in past. Staff seemed too young.
Jul 15, 2013
We loved the grounds, the facility, the workers and the scenery!!! We will be back!!!
Jul 15, 2013
Great place to camp with kids. Lots to do and see. Lack of experienced help at the front desk was frustrating. Lynn the manager was awesome tho and helped fix our bill that was wrong. She was nice and courteous.
Jul 15, 2013
The staff was so nice and helpful! Great activities for all! The bathrooms need some tlc but I do realize that they are used by many that do not take care of things. Loved the campground. Should warn people about tubbing with younger children. But all in all it was great and we will be back! Again probably the best staff ever! Couldn't be nicer or more helpful! Will does a great job too!
Jul 14, 2013
We always stay at this KOA when in the Cherokee area. One of the best.
Jul 14, 2013
The campground was great..The only dislike we had was that the outdoor pool was not open. The pool was closed for repair or so the staff told us. The assistant manger basically laughed in my face on July 5th if pool would open soon. We had lots and lots of rain. But, pools do open in the rain..............They kept telling us the pool was going to open the next day. (That was a joke).
Jul 14, 2013
Disappointed the outdoor pool was not open and we were not notified before arrival and bathroom door in cabin did not lock. A lot of money was spent so those issues kind of make it a big deal especially since we were traveling with 3 children looking forward to swimming. Indoor pool to busy and hot to use and enjoy.
Jul 14, 2013
Normally our favorite KOA, but this time we were disappointed in that 1)the outdoor pool was undergoing renovation & had a part either malfunction or on backorder (during the summer?!); 2) wi-fi was unavailable and would continue to be after we left (difficult for college students to complete online exams). The snack bar was wonderful (as always!) and the office staff as friendly as ever.
Jul 14, 2013
we understand lots of rain-flood. I had to ask 3 diff. people for straw, no WIFI the 1st nite, no disc offer. My husband was told no you can't have that site, someone may come in tomorrow,but the client that is there paying should be pleased. Noisy at night with truck traffic & garbage pickup @7:40am.grass cutting lawnmower going around in circle on site & grass trimming we are packing up to leave
Jul 14, 2013
We rented a lodge which included Wi-Fi, tv, tv so snowy couldn't watch it the whole time we were there and there was never Wi-Fi. We were told because so many kid's were on it, but I tried it throughout the day,never worked. The outdoor pool was closed because they had to wait for health inspector,had to wait 2 hours for put put to open at 5:00pm $619.11and had to clean it before we could unpack.
Jul 14, 2013
We were on a 10 day trip from Gettysburg, PA to Savannah, GA. This was the most expensive place we stayed, actually twice the cost of any other campground during our trip. For that price, I would have liked the WiFi to work and the pool not closed. The site was difficult to back into because of permanent site lawn decorations on the other side of the road.
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Paid a premium price to stay there, no outdoor pool, wifi sucks- slow and unreliable. Left one day earlier as planned.
Jul 12, 2013
Campground has GREAT amenities for families. Super site for two campers was too small and set up awkwardly with campers end to end and extremely close to neighbors. We couldn't build a fire in our fire pit because it was under the slideout on the neighboring camper. TV channels limited and were not clear at times. Internet was not working and pool not available for the entire stay.
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
The only thing bad about our stay was that it rained the whole time we were there and the outside pool and hot tub were closed. There were teens from a church group that seemed to be unsupervised. We had a total of 4 spots for family and friends. We stay with you every time we visit and have always been happy with the friendly staff and the campground.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.