Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 12, 2014
We have come to the Cherokee KOA for the past 7 years for Mothers Day Camping weekend. They are all teenagers now but still look forward to it and there is something for everyone. What a great tradition. The staff is always top notch. It is one of the best places to go and disconnected and relax
May 12, 2014
I love cherokee/koa it rained but still got some fishing in. we stayed in a kottage which was so nice,we are disabled so close to pond and store,plan to come back in sept.Thanks for a wonderful stay!!! Joan
May 12, 2014
Beautifully scenic on the river. Fun activities. Clean facilities. Friendly, attentive staff. I come back to this particular campground year after year. I recommend your camp ground every chance I get.
May 12, 2014
PEASE OPEN THE LAST BATH HOUSE OUTSIDE SHOWERS 3 FOR ENTIRE BACK OF CAMPGROUND IS EXTREMELY SILLY.
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
We had a great time. The kids enjoyed themselves so much. Only thing was the outdoor pool area was not open yet and wifi was not great in cabins.
May 12, 2014
Indoor pool too crowded-kids without parents Outdoor pool closed-kids don't care about water temps Ladies bathhouse-very dirty and no tissue on two different occasions Stung by hornet in cabin-husband had to knock down a nest!! I don't normally do these surveys but these issues need to be addressed.we camp a lot and will likely not be back. I will say that most of the staff was very friendly
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
No AC or Wi-Fi in the cabin, but everything was clean, there were lots of activities for kids, the food was great, and we were right by a creek.
May 12, 2014
Another great trip. Only bump was with no other person in bath house the water pressure was very low. They was mention of cable being worked on. At times it didn't work at all
May 12, 2014
Excellent as always!
May 12, 2014
It was raining, which precluded outside activities and the cable was not working in my cabin so we could not watch TV. Bad news on special weekend that I drove down from Ohio to be a part of. I was also told last time that they would be building accessible cabins but cabins still have many steps that thankfully I can still struggle up with my service dog.
May 12, 2014
Supper place . Great staff
May 12, 2014
This was our first stay at a KOA. We normally stay at state parks.We figured we would try KOA this time. We looked at the website and it seemed like the kids would love it. When we arrived they had said the main pool will be closed. The kids were very upset. We didn't like how close together the campsites were. The kids did end up having a blast and we all had a good time.
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
Had a great time a lot to do for the kids and already made reservations to stay for a week
May 12, 2014
I've been staying at this campground for several years. This visit, the bath house was very dirty. Also, some areas of the indoor pool were in poor repair.
May 12, 2014
We had a wonderful weekend at KOA. The kids got to do crafts for their mothers. It poured the rain Saturday but the weather didn't stop the fun of making lasting memories.
May 12, 2014
We had a good stay overall despite the rain. The grounds were nice (as usual). My only complaint is that the workers there seemed frazzled at times. One worker was rude to my 13 year old when she asked who she could talk to about renting the 3 wheeler bicycles. Another worker was unable to answer questions that we had about the campground/facilities/amenties. Perhaps more staff would be helpful.
May 12, 2014
We had a wonderful time! Everything we needed the store had. Staff helped us and were kind! This was our first visit. We will be back.
May 12, 2014
cable didnt work no wi-fi at all and the pool was dirty
May 12, 2014
The cable and WiFi didn't work the sight was small even though they asked what size the camper was the staff was not rude but not friendly and there were kids unsupervised everywhere
May 12, 2014
I have been coming there for the past 4 years and 3-4 times a year. This past weekend I have seen some well needed changes. Keep it up! And for the great help that Lynn gives me and makes my stays very enjoyable. And goes that extra step that makes me want to come back. Keep up the great work and I will see all of you in June.
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
Bathhouses were extremely nasty.
May 12, 2014
We had a great time. The camp is very well run by the great employees.
May 10, 2014
For a corporate run KOA ,not very well. Are escort acted like was too busy to be bothered, who was maint. manager. For $127 dollars a night,paint was peeling off walls, a piece of wood screwed into deck for door stop an screen was falling off unit. Smoke detector 2 night when bad, next day to make it get replaced as of 6 nobody came to replace it For these prices I could have stay in nice chalet
May 10, 2014
Overall good. Couch was so uncomfortable, we rarely used it. Customer service was great, nice people.
May 07, 2014
Bath houses clean, a lot of construction going on. Cable was out due to switching to Sat but showed avail on site, charged for and some staff down right rude when asked about. Would recommend Posting Notice for outages.
May 06, 2014
during the 48 hour rains (uncontrollable weather) it was sufficient for our needs.
May 06, 2014
We enjoyed our stay...just wished it was longer. Everyone is friendly and the campground is clean. Close to great fishing too.
May 06, 2014
All good as usual. Not Happy the old manager is gone. Mark. Didn't like the mowers all over us while trying to clean up and check out
May 06, 2014
May 05, 2014
Staff was friendly and helped us quickly in getting another mattress. Cable was not good but we did not use much. We've been coming up there for the last 8 years for an annual fishing trip. This year we were told that we had a 2pm checkin from now on. That was disappointing to hear.
May 05, 2014
May 05, 2014
Cherokee KOA is an excellent camp ground, family friendly and Safe for children. The one thingit could improve in is in enclosed heated pool. It is allways cool or cold and unsupervised. The older teenage children is allways jumping off of the chairs and on top of the younger children of throwing the chairs into the pool. This could be a safety issue if and when a child gets hurt.
May 05, 2014
You should figure out a way to open the gate (at the third pond) earlier!!!
May 05, 2014
We enjoyed our stay very much. However, we will most likely only come in the off season. There are way to many campsites - looks like it would be very overcrowded.
May 05, 2014
Housekeeping was awesome! Lynn and Sandy was the two of the most rude people I have ever met! And I think that only being able to get clean towels every other day is ridiculous! If it wasn't for my experience and my family's experience with Lynn and Sandy I would have rated you 5 stars and a 10 on recommendation. It's a shame that 2 people can ruin an organization.
May 05, 2014
Enjoyed the cabin very much. Staff were all helpful and friendly. The view was great. The dog loved the stream.
May 05, 2014
Enjoyed the camp ground. Wifi was terrible!!
May 05, 2014
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even allowed me to switch to a different site in the same area where I've stayed before. When I had a problem with my water heater, they helped me contact a local RV shop to see if I could get the problem fixed. All in all, I had a very nice stay.
May 05, 2014
While we stayed there it was good but the pool and the hot tub were not taken care of properly. The hot tub did not work right and the pool kept cutting our kids and myself, there were spiders and sand in the pool and we found feces in the pool. Every thing else was good.
May 01, 2014
Roof leaked, no hot water second night (redressed and found it at the other bathhouse), hot tub broken (only blew cold water out), dirty showers (band aides on wall and pile of leaves)with missing shower curtain, drink machine broken, no one to help us get putt putt or bikes. They were busy trying to fix the expensive cabins and forgetting about the other things that needed to be fixed.
May 01, 2014
May 01, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. The campground is very nice, clean, and offers a variety of services that you would expect. We would have tosay that the Wifi is very disappointing. It was slow and limited, and that with almosy no one else there for competition. SInce cell service is also lacking becaues of the geography the alternative of a cell phone hot spot is not available either. More could be done here
Apr 30, 2014
The Wi-Fi is non-existent. The indoor pool and hot tub closed at 6, just when most adults want to go and relax. Early check-in is not tolerated.
Apr 30, 2014
it was a huge disappoint me. Tv's were not working, pool nasty hot tub had to many kids smelled like urine, double charged my card for a future reservation, staff not kind during check in, manager could care less. Really would like a full refund from entire weekend for my family and my moms cabins. Email wrote to corporate.
Apr 30, 2014
Had a BIG problem with registration. I phoned my reservation so I could ask for a specific cabin. when i got there was given 253 not the last cabin facing up the river.I went back to theoffice and was told the manager was to busy soing office work to talk to me. After a lenghty talk i was given one night back. We like staying there and will be back did'nt like being lied to aar that we couldnt t
Apr 30, 2014
love you guys but I'm a bit biased!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.