Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Mar 17, 2014
WIFI needs to be WAY better if you expect to charge for it !
Mar 17, 2014
Really enjoyed our time at this KOA. Lots of activities for the kids, clean bathrooms/showers, great tree lined and river/creekside lots. Definitely will be back in the summer!
Mar 17, 2014
good place to stay for people with kids visiting smokie mt nat park. very quite,nice long pull through sites.bathrooms clean,park staff friendly. a bit pricy but not much you can do about that.
Mar 17, 2014
Mar 14, 2014
The grounds and cabins are well taken care of. The staff is extremely helpful and overall rate our stay 5 stars. If I had to throw out a negative it would be the price we payed. Willingly we paid the total fee of $161. We were one of few people on the grounds and would of hoped for a discounted price. Overall we would definately come back to the Cherokee location or any other KOA campground.
Mar 14, 2014
Worst KOA ever! Many items non-functional or in disrepair. Pool was dirty and spa was dirty and non-functional. Awful.
Mar 11, 2014
We had a back in site by the river. Nice concrete pad with a fire pit and picnic table. We didn't use any of the amenities aside from the electric, water and sewer hook up. Very nice campground and very nice people who run it.
Mar 10, 2014
Great sites great people. LB was extremely helpful.
Mar 10, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. We loved the little cabin and everything about the koa. We will be coming again.
Mar 04, 2014
Stayed in a cabin. Very comfortable beds. Glad however we did not have to sleep on the futon. It was not comfortable even to sit on. But over all very satisfied with our stay.
Mar 03, 2014
The campground, as always, was wonderful to visit. We have been going for 11 years to Cherokee and have always enjoyed ourselves. The only critique we have is that there is some rodent activity around the cabin we stayed in (KT236). I understand that with the outdoors, big trash bins etc. that rodents can be a constant nusiance, but you do need to do some type of rodent control and soon.
Mar 03, 2014
I normally would give this koa 5 stars, but this past stay was horrible. The office was closed when we got there & our key was in the cabin. The bathhouse close to us was locked the entire time. The store was closed when we woke up wanting coffee. We waited around to check out so we could go hiking & found out we could drop key off by a rude employee. Hate that I lost money on this horrible stay.
Mar 02, 2014
The first night, there was no hot water, but the next day the staff showed me several cabins until I was satisfied with one. Apparently, the breaker was shut off in the first cabin and the subsequent ones had frozen water pipes. Finally, we found one that had hot water. We had problems working the remote for the heater, but I think that was because we just didn't know how to use the remote.
Feb 25, 2014
Feb 25, 2014
Security guard at night is very rude and non-welcoming. We pulled up to his booth at the gate and he did not come out. Then he showed up at our cabin and asked why we did not check in. Then instead of giving us our pass he made us drive back to the front so he could hand it to us. No "thanks for coming", no "enjoy your stay". Deluxe Cabin was great, and had everything we needed and more.
Feb 24, 2014
This was an annual friends reunion trip that dates back about 20 years at your location..We ALWAYS have a great time but we encountered some difficulty regarding late evening arrivals in our group.Being working folk coming from three different states, we usually have "after hours" arrivals. Never a problem until now! Please keep us apprised of new policies so we can avoid any trouble.Thanks again
Feb 24, 2014
Only problem we had was our bill. We rented a cabin for 6 people. Then we were charged extra $5 for each adult. Where is the reasoning for this charge? This seems very unfair and I will stay somewhere else next fishing trip. We left cabin clean, took trash off, and washed all dishes as we do every where we stay. KOA has pools and activities family oriented. Do not like extra charges on my bill!
Feb 24, 2014
Intended to stay for a valentines getaway but had to reschedule due to snow for the following weekend. What a difference one week makes ! Weather was beautiful,fishing was great,Mingo falls was breath taking and KOA staff were very helpful and nice. The bath houses were very clean and up to date, actually some of the nicest in comparison to other KOA's I have stayed at. Great quiet lovers getaway!
Feb 24, 2014
loved it, had a great stay, thank you.
Feb 21, 2014
Arrived in the early evening. We have a special needs child and we were looking forward to the indoor pool with her. Upon arriving we noticed the pool was closed for repair. We checked in,the front desk apologized would not charge us if we decided not to stay. We were tired from the drive and didn't want to put our little one back in the car. I did ask and received a SMALL discount per night.
Feb 18, 2014
We enjoyed the campground, looks like lots of things to do in the summer. Personally a bit disappointed that we were the first to show up to the Kamping Kabins and stayed a day longer than everyone else, but we got the oldest Kabin whose heat was out (had two portable heaters going), black ants (large and small) and damaged closet and mini fridge. Would stay again if were put in newer Kabin.
Feb 18, 2014
Feb 17, 2014
Feb 07, 2014
Everyone I worked with were very nice and helpful, like Erin at the desk. Lack of wifi really affected my stay. Beautiful location.
Feb 06, 2014
Feb 04, 2014
stay was good , however the heater was very noisy and kept us awake most of the evening
Feb 03, 2014
Well back again in the snow and still catching trout... As always the crew is on the ball. Always nice and if you need something they do it. As I understand under new management and items are being updated. So would always recommend. Craig
Feb 03, 2014
Always bring camper but wife wanted to stay in a cabin it was perfect best night sleep I had in 6 months
Jan 26, 2014
There was a mix up on our cabin prep. The weather was really cold and we had no heater... BRRRR. It was late when checked in and we are new at this KOA cabin camping stuff. We didn't know who to call. SO.. We plugged in our electric blanket and dressed real warm. We hope to come back in the summer so we can enjoy. It is a breath taking view..We had hot water atleast.. lol
Jan 21, 2014
Our stay was great!The staff is always kind and as always offers help if needed.As usual the fishing is "GREAT".We will be returning soon!!!
Jan 20, 2014
only think we had a problem with little to no hot water is the bath house
Jan 18, 2014
Stay was pretty good. Staff was great. The Wifi was subpar and made working from my laptop extremely difficult, suggest increasing the bandwidth.
Jan 12, 2014
We love the bigger cabin. The people working this campground are always friendly and helpful. The burners on the stove could be a bit bigger though.
Jan 10, 2014
We had a great time and will definitely be back again soon
Jan 07, 2014
This was our first stay at this KOA, we stayed in a cabin on the water and it was the best weekend I have had in a long time. The cabin was excellent and clean and the staff was super nice and social. Planning on coming back next month!
Jan 05, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
We had an enjoyable vacation. There is much work that needs to be done (i.e.. water, septic, painting all buildings, game room needs to be updated with new games, swimming pool & hot tub areas need to be cleaned). We have stayed at KOA for three yrs. now. We will continue to stay here for New Year's. The staff is very helpful and kind. Erin is the best!
Jan 04, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
I'm sorry to say that my husband and I will not be back. When we got there, there was another camper in our site. The office could not handle this situation. A new maintenance man named Bob found us a site to pull into. the cable tv did not work, internet was poor, hot tub dirty and jets didnt work. The only person who apologized was Bob and the only one who tried to find solutions.
Jan 03, 2014
Cant wait to come back with the kids!
Jan 03, 2014
Jan 02, 2014
Jan 02, 2014
Jan 02, 2014
Jan 02, 2014
We loved everything and management was wonderful planning on coming back as often as we can
Jan 02, 2014
The cabin was nice and everything was great except: 1) The cable TV was really fuzzy with a lot of interference. 2) There wasn't any wifi, although the website said there was. This was a bigger deal because there is no in-cabin phone or cell signal, so no communication is available from the cabin. 3) The hot water ran out during just one shower. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay.
Jan 02, 2014
Dec 31, 2013
Loved the stay and will certainly be staying again. Service was great and the People were helpful and friendly. We were able to stay with our pets and have a great time. The cable was okay and the wi-fi was on and off, but they said they were getting an upgrade so I'm sure it will be fine soon. We weren't on vacation to watch TV. Loved it thanks guys we'll be back, soon I hope :)
Dec 31, 2013
We had the best time. It was very cold, but the ambiance made up for it! The staff was awesome, accommodations were very clean...we'd love to come again!
Dec 31, 2013
Had a wonderful Christmas vacation that we will never forget !!! Thanks, the Suderman's

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.