Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 01, 2016
Love coming to this KOA.. Awesome employees
Apr 01, 2016
Loved being next to the river Very clean Will be going back
Apr 01, 2016
Great family atmosphere. Friendly staff and clean grounds. We will be back.
Apr 01, 2016
Everything was great. Stayed in cabin 507 (cottage on the river). Next time, we will stay in a Deluxe Cabin - on the river. Would prefer to have firepit overlooking the river, not overlooking the parking lot. Other than that, our stay was great.
Apr 01, 2016
Had a lot of issues with campsite power water. Had a circuit board burnt out due to 120v on cable line THank god for the maintainance men and especially Crash, If it were not for these guys I would not be back
Apr 01, 2016
We stayed in the Deluxe Lodge on the river in Cherokee and the view from our cabin right out into the river was gorgeous. The kids loved the pillow top jumper and the indoor pool, since it's still way too cold to swim outside. We all had a really great time and the kids have already asked when we're going back.
Apr 01, 2016
Mar 31, 2016
The front desk lady "JILL" is why we keep coming back to Cherokee KOA
Mar 31, 2016
The staff was awesome!! Had a great stay!
Mar 31, 2016
For many years we have stayed here, but this time wasn't good. We checked in on a Friday and my husband and I were able to enjoy fishing until tuesday. A complaint was made by a cabin next to us about our dogs barking at 1:30. We asked other campers and they had no problem. We were also blamed for ALL dog poop around our area when we picked ours up. We left day early. Not friendly.
Mar 31, 2016
The campground was really nice except the sites were small and over crowded. Also one of the sites that is right beside the out house is terrible. As soon as you step out of your camper you step into a huge electric box and propane tanks. Then you have to walk behind your camper for the campfire and the fire only about 5 steps away from the campers behind you. We didn't swim because it was crowded
Mar 31, 2016
Mar 31, 2016
The camp ground is nice but no wi-fi service it is bad you have to go to the office to get out the cable is bad it is fuzzy! I will not be back! I hate the camp fires you are down in that valley it is nothing but smoke ugh you cannot even sit out and enyoy.
Mar 31, 2016
My family and I have been staying at this KOA for 10 years. We visit Cherokee at least 2 times a year. The facilities are always clean and everyone is always nice and go out of their way to assist you. This visit the shower houses and restrooms were not clean at all the 3 days we were there. Our cabin was not ready upon our arrival and it was after check in time (primitive style cabin)
Mar 30, 2016
Had A wonderful time at KOA!! We stayed at the tent sites only but service and staff were very nice. The kids had so much fun, definitely coming back soon!!
Mar 30, 2016
Enjoyed our first stay at a KOA campground. Kids had a great time. I like the fact the KOA people all wear the yellow short. Very easy to find. I like the fact they made us aware of all the kids running around. The kids said the indoor pool was a too cold to swim in but I can't expect a fully heated pool. Look forward to outdoor pool if we come back. Very clean bathroom and updated. Thank yo
Mar 30, 2016
We've stayed here a few times and we love it everytime!!!
Mar 30, 2016
Absolutely loved this Campground. Great staff. The area is absolutely beautiful. We will be returning
Mar 30, 2016
david the stay was excellent gabby your host was great and very much on point. some of the host were friendly however very much on edge which I understand it is a very hard job. make sure gabby gets what she deserves she has earned very impressed with her friendliness and composure in such a stressfull job. thank you john reid
Mar 30, 2016
Mar 30, 2016
Very nice, clean park.we enjoyed our stay. It was conveniently located to all the sites we wanted to explore.
Mar 30, 2016
The site was too small for our camper but over all i was a good trip. The bathrooms needed extra attention.
Mar 30, 2016
Our deluxe cabin on the river was very nice and the campground has lots of amenities for children, which was important for us. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.
Mar 30, 2016
No shower pressure in shower, linens smelled like pet urine, chairs around table in cabin were really loose
Mar 29, 2016
When I was trying to leave, I asked an employee to help me get out of the site, it was very tight and his first response was "so", Which I replied that they put me in the site they should get me out. Never did volunteer to help me or send someone else. The Wi-Fi didn't work. The employees were rude. I will not go back. I used my spare time to find me another campground to use next visit.
Mar 29, 2016
Need more traffic/check in directions and organization at the front
Mar 29, 2016
My stay at KOA was good. However the restrooms were not kept clean. I saw the ladies come several times a day to clean the Shower/toilet stalls but I only saw them once come clean the individual bathrooms. The trash cans were full and paper on the floor, showing they individual bathrooms that have separate doors were not cleaned often enough.
Mar 29, 2016
Overall our stay was great we enjoyed the campground. Our tent campsite wasn't that great. We were right next to the road and the trout pond which was very loud. Also our site wasn't grassy it was covered with clay. People were using our campsite as a walk through. We asked to move but were told we couldn't. This Is not a tent friendly KOA caters more to families with campers.
Mar 29, 2016
The cabin we stayed in as VERY dirty upon arrival. There were ants inside and it didn't hold heat.
Mar 29, 2016
We love this KOA. Have camped there for 25 years.
Mar 29, 2016
Thank you for all the help and support
Mar 29, 2016
We stay here every year. We just love it. This year we were cut short for my husband had a heart attack while we were there. KOA staff called the EMT's fast and there response was great. Thank you for all that u have done for us. We will see u next year.
Mar 29, 2016
stay was nice. site adequate. Crowded wkend cause of fishing derby but everyone polite and orderly. One complaint is that the interior roads are bad with potholes, uneven blacktop layers plus the many unneeded "speed bumps". Don't need speed bumps with these bad roads.
Mar 29, 2016
There were a couple of really nice staff - MOST of the staff were really rude and snippy. We have been staying at Cherokee KOA for over 30 years and this WILL BE OUR LAST stay there. We don't have to pay to be treated the way we were.
Mar 28, 2016
Great stay!
Mar 28, 2016
Had a great stay
Mar 28, 2016
Had a blast. Glad they went back to opening fishing on Saturday.It was a 100 times better then the past few years. Everyone was super nice
Mar 28, 2016
Campground was very clean, site on the river was great and staff was friendly. WiFi service was not very good, disappointed because we could not rent a golf cart and change machine in laundry was out of service causing us to have to drive into town very late to look for quarters.
Mar 28, 2016
We had a nice site for our camper. It was a little noisy at night but I understand there were a lot of people there for the fishing tournament that we were unaware of until a few days prior to our stay. Will stay again but maybe at a different time.
Mar 28, 2016
We are a retired couple and had hoped for some adult activities. Sitting in a hot tub or pool with 50 screaming kids was not one of them. We enjoy having kids/families around and not annoyed by their activities. We just had hoped that there would be something we could enjoy, i.e. adult pool/hot tub time. Also your golf cart rental fee is ridiculous - $40 more than Disney World!
Mar 28, 2016
The only negative points that occurred during our stay were that the ladies checking people in and answering questions were not trained well and didn't know the answers to half the questions. While I was trying to purchase my fishing license on Fri evening at 8:30, I was told that they couldn't sell license past 8:00 and the computer would not let them, yet a friend of mine went down at 9:47 and
Mar 28, 2016
I made reservations for 4 adults to stay in one of the deluxe cabins. We wound up only having 4 adults on the 2nd night (although we were still charged for both nights). The cabin was clean and right on the river. Everything worked well in the cabin and it had a table and 4 chairs right outside along with a fire ring. We bought several bundles of wood which was delivered to our cabin. Awesome!
Mar 28, 2016
Nice park, clean bathrooms, friendly staff. Loved the sound of the river.
Mar 28, 2016
The people are wonderful. Very helpful. Just a great place to getaway.
Mar 28, 2016
Great campground. Friendly staff and very easy to communicate with.
Mar 28, 2016
It way too expensive! Other than that it's a great place!!!!
Mar 28, 2016
We always have a wonderful time at the Koa's but Cherokee is by far our favorite!!
Mar 28, 2016
It was a sold out weekend and everyone was busy. I understand that; however, I was wanting to have my son on campsite beside me and no front desk staff would take the time to check. They would just say they were sold out. One of the staff "Dean" who takes you to your site, took the time and found out nobody was on it and made it work for us. Five minutes of his time made my trip. Thanks Dean
Mar 28, 2016
Roads are becoming a joke worst I've seen in a koa. You'all are charging some beach type rates come on fix those roads they are a hazard to kids riding bikes, to people walking at night, and people maneuvering campers.
Mar 28, 2016
We love staying here, we went five or six times last year , went for the fishing tournament , was great this year since the fishing was held off,
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award