Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 08, 2015
My family and I have a great time every time we visit.
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
Awesome will be back soon
Sep 08, 2015
Over priced! Says they have internet, well if you stand in the office you have it. No television for the Labor day weekend for those of us that want to see the ball games! Oh, I forgot you can't even get an update on your phone because you have no data available. Won't be back.
Sep 08, 2015
Love the pools, jumping pillow, shuttle to downtown or tubing, movie night, banana bike rentals, creek, activities, and the cafe. Also love how much there is to do in the general are. The wi-fi did not work 90% of the time even next to the store/cafe - it really should be updated considering the price of a camp spot here. Bathhouses need to be updated and could be cleaner.
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
Great place....friendly people.... Love your Campground
Sep 08, 2015
Your campground would rate in at being one of the best (if not the best) ive ever stayed at. Amenities were great. Location was great, after i found it. Food was really good. Sites were perfect. Very clean campground. The only two things i thought couldve been better was the signage to get you to the campground, only because gps didnt pick it up, and one lady named Joann that worded there.
Sep 08, 2015
I love KOA. The staff are so nice and very helpful.
Sep 08, 2015
We really enjoyed our visit and will be back in the Spring!
Sep 08, 2015
The weekend was great as usual with no issues.the staff were helpful,knowledgeable and friendly.
Sep 08, 2015
The people that escort you to your campsite are very rude... Had problems with golf cart staying charged and they wouldn't do anything about it.... I will not be back here!!! Everyone seems unhappy to work here especially the men outside escorting you to your campsite..
Sep 08, 2015
Love it .
Sep 08, 2015
Overall the stay was great. I had a plumbing issue but it was promptly taken care of.
Sep 08, 2015
We checked in on Friday the first spot we had was unleavel couldn't get the jacks down on our pop up for the roots in the ground the staff was very nice and moved us up to another spot that we was able to get set up fine the spot was extremely small for a camper so that was a negative but all in all it turned out to be a fun filled weekend. The staff are very nice and helpfull.will be back soon !!
Sep 08, 2015
This KOA was great! I loved not having to leave for any reason, plenty of activities and onsite food was great! All the staff was friendly and helpful.
Sep 08, 2015
This was the best weekend getaway that my family has ever experienced!
Sep 08, 2015
We visited in June and brought our kids 18, 19 and 23 for the weekend over Labor Day and had a FANTASTIC time. What a great place to be, such fun activities. We had a blast. We are already trying to figure out when to come back :)
Sep 08, 2015
Great site. Staff very friendly. Thank you for the great time.
Sep 08, 2015
It was a great stay! The only complaints we have is that the wifi wasn't working for us. And a recommendation to have music & dancing night more often! Really enjoyed watching everyone dance & having fun!
Sep 08, 2015
We had a great time this past weekend. The campground was really nice and we enjoyed it. The only complaint was that we did not always feel the staff was very friendly. I know if was a holiday weekend, but......
Sep 08, 2015
staff was not friendly
Sep 08, 2015
The ponds were empty (there was maintenance going on ) and we couldnt go fishing, but the park was clean and full and it was still very nice and peacfull.
Sep 08, 2015
For a big camp site it was nice and calm camping in the valley. I would stay there again.
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
So much fun we keep coming back.
Sep 07, 2015
For the price we paid the cabin was to small for 3 adults. Did not like the bathroom being in the bedroom with having another adult entering in the privacy of my room. The cabin was way too small. It was not what I expected very unhappy. View was beautiful staff was great. I truly thought the cabin was bigger. There was no toasted no can opener utensils was flemsey the cabin stunk. Gas grill dirt
Sep 07, 2015
Labor Day brought the crowds to the campground and staff were prepared and organized. There is plenty to do for older children, however, not much to do for children 3 or younger. The outdoor swimming pool is COLD and all but a very small portion has been roped off for the water slide; there's no room to swim in water less than 6 feet. This was not ideal for my 2 yo so we had to go to indoor pool.
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 06, 2015
Loved staying there. Everyone very nice and helpful. Only one problem was that in the store no one except for one person new how to make the drinks or coffee drinks. We had one lady named Joann that didn't know how but she experimented and made my husband a chocolate drink which was very good. To me she went out of her way just to make sure that everyone was happy. Had a great time!
Sep 05, 2015
Very peaceful...
Sep 05, 2015
Very nice helpful employees. Nice campground.
Sep 03, 2015
Need heated pool and more dog walking trails.koa staff very friendly and went out of their way to answer questions.
Sep 02, 2015
Friendly helpful staff. Had a backin site on the river which was wonderful!
Sep 02, 2015
Our stay was wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful. The sites were large and very nice. We were pleased with everything. A beautiful campground. We will stay here again.
Sep 02, 2015
Nice quiet and clean campground. Extremely helpful staff. No problems ONCE we reached our destination. The only suggestion I can make is to clarify the directions to the campground. Our GPS sent us down the wrong road (Sherrill Cove?) which was quite narrow. If somehow the campground could forewarn campers about this it may help. We should have just kept going until we reach the big yellow K
Sep 01, 2015
We were pleasantly surprised by the campground and amenities that it had to offer!!!! We achieved what we came for a nice relaxing week-end.THANKS!!!!!!
Sep 01, 2015
would like shuttel to train ride again as in the past
Sep 01, 2015
Very nice, clean campground. Employees were very nice & helpful. Just wish you would offer something of a discount to veterans.
Aug 31, 2015
The weather was good and we enjoyed our stay.
Aug 31, 2015
This was our first time at a KOA and overall the experience was positive. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were clean. There were plenty of activities for kids.
Aug 31, 2015
We enjoyed it so much we booked another stay! Very clean, lots of activities!
Aug 31, 2015
I was very pleasantly surprised by everything! The employees were nice and very kind to my children, the facilities were clean and offered enough to keep my children occupied. The only negative comment I have is that we rented a Delux Studio cabin and the water temperature was very inconsistent. It would start at the right temperature and then turn to freezing cold!
Aug 31, 2015
Came down to rent bikes, we were testing them for size I rode one past the guard shack not knowing I broke the rules. A lady came running and screaming at me. I explained there is a right/wrong way to approach folks. Yelling at me was not the right way. Just be polite say you are breaking the rules you need to come to the office first. NOT YELLING AT ME! That was RUDE.
Aug 31, 2015
We had a great stay in the smokey mountains and were pleasantly surprised at the group activities this site provided.
Aug 29, 2015
Amazing KOA! Friendly staff, lots of amenities, great area, clean campground and AWESOME sites!
Aug 28, 2015
JoAnn Perez was awesome to us. If everyone was like her, we would gave given 5 stars! Some other ladies at the check in desk were less than friendly and helpful and kind. They were rather quite rude.
Aug 27, 2015
Wonderful campground. May visit again,
Aug 27, 2015
The Cherokee camp is beautiful, quiet, clean and friendly. We were parked in a nice spot shaded by large trees, so that we didn't even have to extend our awning. I loved the airy and sunny indoor pool.
Aug 27, 2015
We had a great stay at the campground. Our daughter loved the pool. The only problem we found was the wifi didn't work most of the time.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps