Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2015
This is our 3rd stay this year. We stayed at one of the cabins. Only issue is that every one we stayed in had ceiling fan issues. They seem to all be unbalanced and were extremely noisy when turn on at night. Otherwise; excellent stay. We will be back.
Aug 01, 2015
We love the KOA in Cherokee! It's our favorite place to camp! Great amenities and friendly staff! The only thing we wasn't pleased with this time is our camping cabin site as the outside was muddy, and some gravel or pavement at site 315 would have been great. We really liked the cable TV and fridge on our rustic site!! Great job KOA, we will return soon!!!!
Jul 31, 2015
Was very disappointed when we arrived 22 hours before check in and was told we could not check in early without paying a 25.00 fee. I have been camping at this KOA for 28 years and on the same site for almost 9 years now and have never been charged a fee before. playground issue. Water issue. Ran out of characters was on site 292 from 6/24-7/29 call me if you want more feedback
Jul 31, 2015
Enjoyed it very much, riverside cabins are great and scenery fantastic. Minor point was enormous smell of vinegar inside the cabin.
Jul 31, 2015
The cabin we rented was great, right next to the river! Amazing scenery & plenty of activities for the grandkids. Had a really good time.
Jul 31, 2015
i have visited many koa's and y far carolyn in the office is head and shoulders above all the other office workers ihave encountered SHE GETS THINGS DoNE i have owned businesses in the past and would have loved to have had carolyn work for me then i met crash not knowing he was carolyns husband he also took care of my cable problem with the same enthusiam that carolyn had WHAT A GREAT PAIR oF
Jul 31, 2015
Do wish campground would place more signs that show correct direction to entrance. GPS can send you the wrong way.
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
There is not enough lighting, pot holes. Enjoyed our group,and staff was friendly.
Jul 30, 2015
My wife & I with our 5 grandchildren enjoyed our stay at KOA Cherokee. There were a lot of activities for the kids. They were never bored. The kids ranched in age from 4 to 10. The only fault that I found was there was no supervision when we were tubing on the river/creek. It was kind of scary when I couldn't see the kids when I was stuck on the rocks. There was no help @ the launch area.
Jul 30, 2015
Quite hours were definitely not enforced. People were loud until after 1 AM. One staff member yelled at another staff member very, very loudly in the early morning, in the middle of the camp ground, which I thought was very unprofessional. Take it behind closed doors. Not in front of families. Bees were an issue. Otherwise, it was a very nice KOA. Lots of fun things to do and beautiful camp ground
Jul 30, 2015
I was worried about being so far from town and knowing the family wanting to do things in town . . . then I found out your vans would take us any place and pick us up any time. SCORE 100% for Cherokee KOA! We will be back! ! ! !
Jul 30, 2015
Our grandkids had a wonderful time and Grandpa and I were also impressed. Great facility!
Jul 29, 2015
campgroung great management team awful, not acomidating at all. can not say what is needed in less than 400 characters!
Jul 29, 2015
First of all, the site YOU assigned me was double booked, so I was moved to another site. I was compensated with one free night. Second, The WiFi almost worked one day out of four. Third, the free cable was so snowy, I could not watch it. Probably never will return.
Jul 29, 2015
It was an awesome campground with plenty of activities to be social. The KOA staff was great, friendly, engaging and helpful if you had a question. I definitely plan on visiting again.
Jul 29, 2015
The staff here is very unprofessional, rude, and ignorant. There were multiple problems starting from day one on our six day trip. Debbie is especially rude our son has a learning disability and she continuously degraded him for not answering her questions for his fishing license. He is very shy and get very nervous when people speak to him rudely. Nota kid friendly staff.
Jul 29, 2015
had a great time and will be back.
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
Our back in campsite was muddy when it rained, concrete pull thrus are much nicer.
Jul 29, 2015
we had a great time as usual, you shouldn't advertise wifi because it doesn't work
Jul 28, 2015
Employes were extremely helpful and the campground was awesome.
Jul 28, 2015
We had a great time as always. Even though it is a little pricey, this is one of the cleanest campgrounds around. We would love to come more often but can't due to cost.
Jul 28, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and there was lots to do and we plan on coming again. The kids loved it. We had a deluxe cabin on the river and it was nice and clean. The only con is the pool area both inside and outside really need a good cleaning and sprucing up there was a strong smell of urine when entering the outside pool area on the first day but did not notice it on the second day.
Jul 28, 2015
My twin 3 year olds did not want to come home they loved it so much. I would recommend some rails in the handicap showers though.
Jul 28, 2015
Kids Loved it both said it was their favorite trip yet! Nice large site only negatives is no phone service and WiFi was patchy due to mountains I suppose
Jul 28, 2015
Front Desk Staff was very rude. One point cutting me off as I spoke and wagged a finger in front of my face. Our cabin was very cramped with our campfire/grill placed directly next to our neighbors parking space. Campsite was extremely crowded. Pool was nice but doesn't offset the complete lack of service training of their staff.
Jul 28, 2015
plenty of planned activities options and impromptu things to do.
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
This is a fantastic place for families with children. It's like a safe neighborhood for them to ride bikes, swim, and play without the parents being afraid for their safety.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
The campground is awesome and the staff at amazing. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because the Wi-Fi was pretty much non-existent on our site. There is no phone service if you have AT&T so I really needed Wi-Fi but it was very unreliable.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
If you advertise WiFi you need it can make sure it can handle full capacity, might need to look into having fiber optics installed to get better service
Jul 27, 2015
Enjoyed our stay, and would stay again. Would be nice if the rates were a little less expensive as many seniors are on a fixed income and aren't able to stay at resorts like this.
Jul 27, 2015
We have already re-booked. My only 2 complaints where the internet was not very good. We had good signal but connection was not very good. With my wife and I being business owners it was definitely a struggle. The only other issue was a employee you have was harassing one of our kids. Any thing he did this employee would be telling him not to do it but allowing other kids to do them with out saysi
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time
Jul 27, 2015
Some staff members were snarky and rude. The lady at the activity hut told me they were all out of tubes to rent. She was generally short and not helpful. I walked around back and there were 4 available. I asked the other girl working and she said I could rent them. I just found everything to be difficult - from checking in, to getting credit for my points, to asking questions, to renting tubes.
Jul 27, 2015
Friendly staff- indoor pool water temp too cold - cabins a little close to neighbors -restrooms clean- well stocked store - great activities for kids
Jul 27, 2015
We had the best stay at Cherokee KOA. So much fun for my son!!! The only negative is Internet did not work. There is no cell reception in the campground either so Internet would be very helpful.
Jul 27, 2015
We arrived Thursday night and were surprised we had NO air conditioner in our cabin. I have stayed in several KOA's before and just assumed we would have air in these . I would have tent camp if I knew before. It was cooler on the outside than inside. We had to run to walmart and buy 2 fans so we could sleep. Other than that we had a great time. I will read details more clearly when booking a cabi
Jul 27, 2015
Only thing I might say, is that the sites are very close and small. However, the amenities made up for that in a big way, and we will definitely be bringing our kids back next time!
Jul 27, 2015
Wish I could have stayed longer
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time. Having both an indoor and outdoor pool allowed the fun to continue in the rain. Church service was great. No complaints and cant wait to come back!
Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful location in the Great Smoky Mountains area! Great Pool facility and activities for the kids. Only issue was with he construction on the Trout pond on the other side of the fence from our cabin about 30 feet away. Not pretty to look at and they started working pretty early. Not at all the camps fault as they didn't know it was happening until they showed up and grounds were full.
Jul 27, 2015
Cabins too close together, no privacy.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Stay needed to be longer great place we will be back
Jul 27, 2015
we stayed from Sunday to Sunday. I would highly recommend this KOA to anyone that is nature oriented. we went White Water Rafting as a family on Wednesday and Tubing on Thursday. Pools and game room for kids and our kids loved the games put on by the workers. Corn Hole, tag, Hula Hoops, Banana Bikes, Putt Putt. Cherokee downtown was a good day trip when it rained. Employees were great and friendly
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps