Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 27, 2014
It was a very nice KOA. Just maybe picked the wrong day to stay. It was Halloween weekend and very loud. Other than that. Loved the location. Will probably return another time and stay longer. We only stayed 1 night on our way to Florida.
Oct 27, 2014
This was our 2nd year for the Halloween weekend. As always it was a great experience. The only issues I had was poor WiFi and booking for the next stay. The booking issue was understood as I could book after 1100am the day of checkout. Tried to book and the lady wanted me to ride by the site and to see if anyone was there. So, I didn't book for next year because checkout is at 1100am
Oct 27, 2014
Great time
Oct 27, 2014
Awesome weekend! KOA planned great activities for Halloween!
Oct 27, 2014
Th staff is not friendly. The website claims wifi but that is non existent. overall disappointing.
Oct 27, 2014
We arrived early and since reserved campsite was empty, we were allowed to set up early.Very nice,safe,quiet campground. The only issue/complaint during our 6 night stay was that the firewood this KOA sold was terrible. It was wet/damp pine, not seasoned or dried at all, and would just smolder. Hope they remedy this and change firewood suppliers.Other than that,Great time,location,and Great staff
Oct 27, 2014
The cabin was nice and fit out needs! However the stench of car ur in and feces was almost unbearable. The entire cabin smelled like that. We knew the center was full so we did not ask to move. When we checked out and I expressed my concern I was told they would look into it. I saw several cats in the area of the cabin. I sure hope this issue gets taken care of or I will never stay at this koa
Oct 27, 2014
Staff & amenities are the greatest! Cabin was clean & decently-equipped but TINY & awkwardly laid out...pretty frustrating when you're driven inside by weather. We've been here before & definitely will return. LOVE the campground --just not that particular style of cabin!
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
great hospitality; loved the heated indoor pool; thanks for the memories
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
This was the first time that we have complained. Even 2 years ago the pool wasnt heating, due to a malfunction and the water was cold. We wer e still fine with that. But this time we had 2 neighbors that joined each other and had 1 big party. It was around 12 midnight and I asked them to keep it down. We were tent camping and so were 1 other family next to us and we heard everything.
Oct 27, 2014
The tent sites were close to the restrooms which were very clean and heated. The indoor pool was very clean and the hot tub was actually very hot. The events for kids was great during Halloween weekend but we realized too late that the haunted island event was not really for little kids. Altogether nice stay for the price.
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Great staff. SO MUCH FUN for the kids. They will definitely want to return. First Halloween weekend campout we've ever done with plenty of activities.
Oct 26, 2014
The wifi connection is very spotty and was told with the upgrade that I shouldn't have a problem. I'd be willing to pay for wifi to have a great connection. Ate breakfast at the restaurant and it was terrible. I don't know if management changed but this year the food was awful.
Oct 25, 2014
Oct 25, 2014
Thanks for cleaning the windows on the indoor pool all the way up to the roof line. What a great view now! The roads are still in great need of repair.
Oct 25, 2014
Oct 25, 2014
Low rating is for two reasons: 1.Making us wait 1.5 hours until the noon check in time because "one of our spots was filled." By the amount of leaves piled on each of our sights, we are quite sure that neither spot had anyone on it. 2.The response we got for a restaurant recommend was "they're all good", which didn't help us at all. The registration clerk was not very helpful.
Oct 25, 2014
Very clean, friendly and convenient to many restaurants and things to do. Enjoyed our stay!
Oct 25, 2014
Very nice place but a little expensive.
Oct 25, 2014
While KOA is always a positive experience, This is one of the largest, and cleanest of all the KOAs I've stayed at. Stayed at a deluxe cabin to sleep 4. My ONLY recommendation is for linens for 4 to be provided without having to request them! We had plenty of towels and such but only the one bed was with linens. The pull it couch did not have any provided bedding.
Oct 24, 2014
Oct 24, 2014
Plainly stated, this KOA is pretty awesome. As they upgrade this to a resort caliber campground, I hope they do not charge a resort fee if you only desire to throw up a tent and not use say nay thing more than the showers and laundry.
Oct 24, 2014
This was our second stay at the Cherokee KOA. It is one of the best campgrounds we have stayed in. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The campground is clean, the sites are level and roomy. This KOA costs a little more than other campgrounds but is well worth it. We live 2 hours from the campground and will certainly be back!!
Oct 23, 2014
Oct 23, 2014
Oct 23, 2014
The campground was very clean, the staff was helpful with all the kid activities. We have always had a great experience at this KOA. Thank you, see you soon.
Oct 23, 2014
Oct 23, 2014
Oct 22, 2014
Oct 22, 2014
Your staff was courteous and helpful. We appreciated that. Our site was also nice. We were very disappointed that the hot tub was not working and thought the indoor pool water should have been more clear and cleaner. These indoor facilities were one of the reasons we chose this campground. Shower stalls were not clean.
Oct 22, 2014
the bath house needs a lot of work. but I will stay again nice site/they offer a lot at this place
Oct 22, 2014
Very impressed with the cabin. Could not bring the camper this trip but had everything at our fingertips. We will return soon!
Oct 22, 2014
Oct 22, 2014
We always have a wonderful time when we visit. Really clean facilities. Very friendly customer service, they had trees down this visit and when I wanted to switch cabins they traded us out with no questions asked. They are a little out of they way but worth the few minutes drive and seeing wildlife on the morning trip is the most amazing thing.
Oct 21, 2014
Very peaceful
Oct 21, 2014
Made our reservations fir next year!
Oct 21, 2014
I am already booked for next year but if all the campsites were as crowded as the one we just stayed at I would never ber back again. We will be in a larger site.
Oct 21, 2014
Campground was crowded and noisy with Kids walking threw my site till monday morning when weekenders cleared out. Came in at night couldn't find site, but an escort did show me, no visible numbers. Wifi was sketchy at best and 2 mornings tree service was cutting and sawing fallen trees at 9am right behind me and woke me up. Will not stay there ever again! Would not recommend
Oct 21, 2014
Stayed here with our son, daughter-in-law and grandchildren. Indoor pool was a big hit. Patio site was excellent. Wireless internet went in and out.
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
Awesome staff and some pretty good coffee too. If they would just get the WiFi fixed . . . I'd give'em six stars
Oct 21, 2014
We've stayed at several KOA's in the Western NC, this is the best one by far! Will be staying again soon.
Oct 21, 2014
Nice and clean. Everyone very friendly.
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Spacious level lots by stocked trout stream. Ned to label all showers in ladies comfort station at back of park as plumbing is backwards from standard plumbing. Also need to fix locks on toilets and shower doors back comfort station. Finally, need to provide updated TV stations as that printed in brochure is totally wrong. Thank you.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Bathhouse needs work,scenery was great!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.