Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 11, 2016
Wonderful campground, the people are great. .
Oct 11, 2016
Well, it didn't start off well - forgot the power cord to the camper. Your employees (Donnie and others) did everything they could to help us out. They were able to find another camper who let us borrow their power cord to get the trailer off the truck and slideouts set up. We were able to go the next day and buy another cord. They checked on us several times. We greatly appreciate it!
Oct 11, 2016
A very nice campground and very clean had a great weekend with my grandsons. Their mom my daughter went to heaven away 2 years ago trying to make memories for them to remember her (Brittany)her 30th birthday was October 10.Great campground !
Oct 11, 2016
Just another awesome stay at KOA! Can't wait to get back!
Oct 11, 2016
We loved the beautiful setting & the Extremely helpful & friendly staff. The bathhouse was spotless & warm on a chilly morning!
Oct 11, 2016
Too crowded and appears to be a lot of confusion on reservations. I called ahead and caught mine before we arrived. And why during fall peak is the snak bar open only sat &"sun
Oct 11, 2016
Campground was great. Very kid friendly and very clean. The only complaint we had was that we paid extra for a river sight. When we arrived the river was dry. We paid extra for the sight and it was just like any other since there was no water running.I understand that mother nature controls that.We camped we four kids and the campground was great for the kids. We will be back again
Oct 11, 2016
I have stayed here many times on company trips and they were great,but I bring my girlfriend and friends up and we pay everything in full and check in late at night and we get there around 11 or so,and our cabin wasn't unlocked I waited over 45 minutes to finally to get in touch with the after hours guy. I also had to contact the police to try see if they could somebody out there let us in.
Oct 11, 2016
Oct 11, 2016
Very nice koa, the cabin we stayed in was perfect and the staff was very efficient.
Oct 11, 2016
This trip was our very first one in a rental RV. Our nerves about hooking up the RV completely disappeared when Donnie appeared like an angel to help us! The clean restrooms (thanks, Tammy!), friendly staff, yummy grill food, beautiful setting, and new friends have us counting down the days until our next visit!
Oct 11, 2016
Perfect trip for my wife! Clean bath houses and beautiful amenities! Tons of stuff for the kids. All around great place to stay!
Oct 11, 2016
Always a favorite campground to get away to.
Oct 11, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at the Cherokee, NC KOA. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is very kid friendly. We look forward to going back.
Oct 10, 2016
This past weekend, I proposed to the love of my life at Waterrock Knob Overlook (just about 45 minutes from the Kampground). When we returned back both nights to our cabin, the view of the stars and the southern sky to the east was breathtaking. Great service and great facilities!
Oct 10, 2016
This by far was the best kOA that I've stayed at. Everything was very clean, the staff was super friendly, indoor/outdoor pool, fishing a short walk away and you can get your license there. I will return as often as possible
Oct 10, 2016
The staff is always helpful and kind! We love coming to your KOA! Please have the Indians do a rain dance so the ponds can get restocked!!😀
Oct 10, 2016
loved it!i wish the ponds had been open but yall can't make it rain.
Oct 10, 2016
Great Staff!! Very helpful
Oct 10, 2016
we had a great time. we loved the campground and the staff was awesome. will definitely be coming back.
Oct 10, 2016
The TV signal in this Koa is extremely poor.Need fix as it has been poor for a long time.
Oct 10, 2016
Oct 10, 2016
We arrived at 7:30, check in was at 2. Still waited for cabin to be cleaned. Customer service was slow and rude. I've been coming here for 20 years the condition of this place keeps declining. Very disappointed. Will be looking for other accommodations.
Oct 10, 2016
Oct 10, 2016
Even though we had no children with us, was impressed with all the things to do for kids. I think it was a little pricey compared to other campgrounds.
Oct 10, 2016
Oct 10, 2016
Loved the campground! Great amenities and very clean.
Oct 10, 2016
I was very pleased with this campground over all! I was not expecting much being in the mountains but man was I shocked! The bathhouses were amazing! The only thing was the wifi didn't do much, I know being in the mountains has to do with it but I would love to see this be improved if at all possible! Overall we enjoyed our time with you guys and look forward to returning!
Oct 09, 2016
this was our first time @ a KOA & we loved it . Everyone was so helpful from the time we first arrived till we left. They took us to our spot ,helped us get lined up to our plug in's,. Everything was clean,quiet & so much to do . No complaints here Would highly recommend this as a KOA to visit They also had fishing which was great
Oct 09, 2016
The campground is beautiful, and in a great location. Downside was horrible WiFi, and a seasonal camper who was not there kept her bright lights on all week.
Oct 09, 2016
Beautiful, lively yet quiet campground. Lots of activities available. Well maintained.
Oct 09, 2016
Oct 09, 2016
Great campground, amenities and helpful staff. We had a a amazing trip!
Oct 08, 2016
Sites & facility excellent. Guide in great. Registration average. MAIN REASON FOR POOR RATING IS LOUSY INTERNET SERVICE. FOR PRICE & CONSIDERING MARGINAL TO NO CELL SERVICE EXPECTED BETTER. Also, many of the sites with permanent residents have to much junk/trash piled around their RVs.
Oct 08, 2016
Very friendly. Well taken care of and very helpful.
Oct 07, 2016
clean well maintained and friendly staff
Oct 07, 2016
Requested site due to members of our group disabled and with service animals.was told could have it one night it was reserved for people who had booked 6 nights. Never showed up to the site we requested. Were put near obnoxious children harassing service animals with balls & no parents.disability not a concern here only $$$$
Oct 07, 2016
Where tents are, extremely noisy by passing trucks, cars and motorcycles. Too close to the road. Could not get any sleep. This is my second time there
Oct 07, 2016
Really nice clean campground, I took my wife, mother in law and two grandchildren here to Cherokee, NC KOA for some fun and adventure, nice place but a little expensive. The bundles of firewood which had 6 pieces of wood cost a whopping $7 now that to me is outrageous but all in all I would stay there again but bring my own firewood.
Oct 06, 2016
Everything was great until our last night. Our smoke alarm in our room beeped all night. We were not able to get any restful sleep all night long. The smoke alarms were too high to reach and There is no cell phone signal at this location and we could not contact anyone as they are not in the office 24/7. Not happy about that!!!At checkout our clerk did not seem very concerned :( :(
Oct 06, 2016
We had a wound earful time. Everyone was helpful and kind.
Oct 06, 2016
Peaceful quiet and clean. Employees very friendly and helpful. Showers need benches, shelves and a way to keep water actually in the shower. Wifi is nonexistent no matter the time of day. Would stay again if in the area.
Oct 06, 2016
Hard to locate from KOA address...but cool campground, sorry we were only there for one night...May return soon so we can visit Maggie Valley..
Oct 05, 2016
We love staying at Cherokee KOA. The staff this year was very helpful and friendly. I don't like the energy efficient hot water heaters because the water only stayed hot in shower for about 1min unless you were also running the water in the sink which is very wasteful and defeats purpose of water heater! Thanks
Oct 05, 2016
Oct 05, 2016
We were very happy with the campground itself our greatest complaint was with the wifi being spotty and our interactions with the staff. We needed a better Wi-Fi because we had traveled 12hrs and wanted to let loved ones know we arrived. At arrival we had a VERY bad experience with the office staff. They were rude and unhelpful.
Oct 05, 2016
Needs benches and hooks in showers. We were way in back and it was very peaceful but busy toward the front. Nice and clean and lots of shade.
Oct 04, 2016
Oct 04, 2016
Very strict rules but they worked with us. Staff was really sociable and nice
Oct 04, 2016
The stay was ok. The campground was very crowded & loud! People had dogs that kept barking. I felt like we were on top of each other. Not my cup of tea for camping!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award