Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 29, 2013
Employees were friendly but overall follow through was poor. 13 of 17 banana bikes broken; Wi-fi codes requested...never printed off; outdoor slide inop; 1 of 2 urinals inop; large bowel movement not removed from toilet for 2 days! Bathroom itself was clean. Beautiful setting. This campground has alot to offer but needs to step it up. Consequently, we will be trying another area campground.
Jul 29, 2013
We just love staying at the Cherokee KOA. It is a beautiful camp ground in a great location with so much to do. We always stay in a kamping kabin because it is so cozy and the grandchildren love it and all the activities there. The employees are friendly too and keep the camp ground clean and beautiful. Can't wait til we can come back. I tell everyone about this campground.
Jul 29, 2013
After reading the recent reviews, we were very hesitant to keep our reservation. The reasons we didn't give it 5 stars were because in 2 cabins (we moved when the screens were all ripped), the new cabin also had a ripped screen. We weren't aware we wouldn't have ac, but were pleased to find we didn't need it. The staff was helpful, and with attention to a few details, would be worthy of 5 stars.
Jul 29, 2013
Great time as the entire family had a blast! The fishing was awesome and the kids really enjoyed tubing the river and hanging out in the pool! Definitely will be back next year!
Jul 29, 2013
Overall a fun place to go and stay. I think the pool area both indoor and and out door need some tender loving care( a bit run down)
Jul 29, 2013
Your koa is a bit confusing and tight to navigate with big rigs and towing - it would be helpful if you had an escort to your site - in our case their was someone parked in our site and had to walk back to the office and have another site assigned.
Jul 29, 2013
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 29, 2013
The facilities at this campground were great, and the employees were very friendly and helpful.
Jul 29, 2013
We were placed in a kamping kabin that was very muddy around it. We were able to change kabins no problem. The new kabin was covered in spiders, spider webs and spider egg sacks everywere. We expect insects but this was awful. There was no broom. I had to go purchase a broom and a can of raid and clean the kabin. we asked an employee that went by on a golf cart for supplies but they never returned
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Our stay was absolutely Wonderful!We stayed in a Lodge, it was Great. We have made our Reservation for 2014 already :)
Jul 28, 2013
I was a little disappointed that the slide was not complete at the pool during our stay, One would think this could have been done during the off season
Jul 28, 2013
All the improvements are great...dog run, pool etc. Our grandsons enjoyed everything. Fri night's disturbance 3 campers away was terrible. We left Sat but I do hope you evicted those campers. Since the problem went till 4 am, you owe at least 3 of us camped nearby a night. Don't you think? We hope to return next summer. Jan Lawrence
Jul 28, 2013
We had a great time. Wonderul place to stay with kids and a short distance to the Smoky National Park. I would have to say that it is now my 4th favorite Rv park and we camp 90+ nights a year!!
Jul 28, 2013
No cable, very poor internet and noisy music blaring from our neighbors campsite until after 10:00pm when my husband finally had to go ask them to turn it down.
Jul 27, 2013
Always a great time at your campground. Been staying there for well over 20 years now. It never disappoints. So peaceful and quiet. This year the water pressure was low and the cabin was not as clean as it could have been. Not nasty by any means but housekeeping needs to move beds and sweep in the corners. These things are to be expected at any campground in my opinion so its no big deal. Thanks!
Jul 27, 2013
we will be back! the only ruff time was all rain the whole time.
Jul 27, 2013
This was the 28th year staying and the worst stay!!! Going downhill is never a good thing! I've always Loved this place and hope and pray it'll make a turn around before next year! Email me if you want details please!!!
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Very expensive, Hard to find the campsite.
Jul 26, 2013
On the Koa sovenniers it would be nice label the campground
Jul 26, 2013
Loved it as always. Loved the river access, pools, fire pit, shade, porch swing, big bounce & icecream. We will be back as always when can afford. Disappointed that the pool slide wasn't up for the grandkids. Suggest a low priced kids breakfast, better mattresses, and playground needs swings.
Jul 26, 2013
I always enjoy my time at Cherokee KOA. This time we stayed in great lodges but the finishing steps were missing. I am sure this will soon be complete. The staff and young workers were great and God-like in their service.
Jul 25, 2013
This is my 3rd year staying in this cabin. This year the cabin had some type of bug I fear was bed bugs. I received about 20 bites. I have spent a lot of time washing everything that went with us or throwing items away. I was also disappointed that the outdoor hot tub was not working, the kids slide was apart. The staff is pleasant. If we get bed bugs I won't be back.
Jul 25, 2013
The area was very nice. Only downfalls was fuzzy cable and hardly no Internet
Jul 25, 2013
We have stayed several times at CKOA. Due to a lot of rain, there was quite a bit of repairs & construction going on. The slide was not open but it didnt stop us from having a great time. Don't expect perfection when the weather doesn't allow it. We will definately be back.
Jul 25, 2013
Stay was good until got woken up by lawn mower just outside cabin under window. Not the way I wanted to be woke up
Jul 24, 2013
We love coming to the cherokee koa,usually at least twice a year..lots of rain this time. Was very disappointed that the outside pool was being redone on the busiest week of the summer...not good planning..but other than the rain, we enjoyed our stay
Jul 24, 2013
Very clean campground. Plenty of activities for the kids and adults. I was impressed by the large number of KOA employees and volunteers on duty. All were extremely polite and anxious to wait on you. We really felt like we were truly welcome.
Jul 24, 2013
Very large campground with lots of activities for kids. Staff was helpful and friendly. Many shaded sites. Ladies bathroom showers could use a little work on the shower heads and also need a stool or chair in them and more hooks.
Jul 24, 2013
Very relaxing and friendly place. Cabin was well suited for our visit.
Jul 24, 2013
Inside pool area is Very run down, and hot tubs where not working. That is one of the reasons I wanted to return. And I also feel that KOA should have someone doing walk through at in door pool to keep in eye on the RULES and the small children should be asked to leave the hot tube if they are not with parent or asked how old they are. And when they sell wood it should burn not just smoldering.
Jul 24, 2013
I would highly recommend to people. Clean, friendly and tons to do for the whole family. We WILL be back!!!
Jul 23, 2013
Great time. We were with a large group of people and everyone felt safe and had a great time.
Jul 23, 2013
the stay there was fine with the exception of the lack of WIFI and internet service.Poor phone reception as well.We were out of touch unless we left campground,
Jul 23, 2013
We camp every year at the KOA in Cherokee. We come with 7 other families and they are about 45 of us every year. The kids are never bored and the weather is usually perfect. There are always activities for the kids and their is a church service on Sunday.We look forward to our trip every year.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
I read all the reviews and was a little nervous about this stay. But we were pleasantly surprised. Our site was a cement pad with a porch. The climate was wonderfully cooler than where we had just come from. The staff was wonderful and it was so much fun to tube the river right next to the campground.
Jul 23, 2013
I loved KOA and can't wait to return. Just one quick idea have the young man working in the tube rental get some customer service skills he was very rude to me and my family. I heard him call a man dad in the office which he was nice . I would recommend to anyone. Awesome
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
We always have a great time and now we have a grand child and she loves togo to koa for a ggreat time thanks for all you do to make our stay a great time
Jul 22, 2013
The good first: Emry at front desk was extremely helpful. Always smiling. The bad: cots on bed were dirty so had to clean them with soapy water. Should have been notified pool slide was not up and running . Dead mouse taken out of bathroom by KOA employee and he did not disinfect floor after (bathroom beside bar and grill at pool). Not as clean as past 3 years we have stayed.
Jul 22, 2013
We have our annual neighborhood camping trip that has grown from 5 families to now 12, just because we love the Cherokee KOA. We'll be back next year!
Jul 22, 2013
Recent visit pool slide was under construction. That was a bit disappointing as well as outdoor hottub out of order. Indoor pool bathrooms were filthy. They also ran out of tubes early on Saturday. Not as great a stay as we have had in prior years but still had a good time.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
We reserve 12 cabins(church group) and I like the KOA employee everyone was great and kind we only had a couple of complaints and they can be resolve with time and dedication (1)Cabins was not properly clean (2)Bathrooms could have been cleaner and they really need to be upgrade because they are big part of the KOA and we had a pastor with us that was handicap, entry to cabins muddy need gravel
Jul 22, 2013
I always recieve great service at this KOA!! The staff is awesome, and really care that we have everything we need, thanks Mark for getting us chairs and table for outside. Parents need to watch thier small children, there is cars and traffic, and parents just let thier children run loose, any age! There is no vacation from being a parent!!! Watch YOUR children.
Jul 22, 2013
Friendly staff, very helpful and loved the fact we had a noise issue Mike took care of if very quickly!
Jul 22, 2013
The pool slide was missing when we were there and the kids were really looking forward to that...The internet and phone service there is horrible,but overall a very nice, clean place to stay.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.