Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 09, 2017
Very nice campground only issue I had was the bath house that was close to site 5 was not stocked and dirty
May 09, 2017
Excellent!! Warm and Friendly!! Like you are staying with family!!
May 09, 2017
Great stay all the way around, the staff was awesome!
May 09, 2017
great pull thru site, but close to the office, which means lots of traffic. great staff and amenities. we would stay here again.
May 08, 2017
We have been going to this KOA for years now and have always enjoyed our stay, but this time was alittle different because we had bad weather and a tree fall on our travel trailer. Ryan (operations manager) and David were very, very helpful and did everything they could to make us comfortable. Ryan got everything done and cleaned up quickly. We are going back in October.
May 08, 2017
This is one of the nicest KOA's in NC. The grounds are exquisite. The staff is the best! Super nice and friendly!!
May 08, 2017
too many dead trees in park and internet very poor...
May 08, 2017
May 08, 2017
May 07, 2017
Disappointed in the mattresses. For the money should have been nicer. Three sleepless nights with a disabled parent
May 07, 2017
May 07, 2017
great
May 07, 2017
Great
May 06, 2017
Both Joanns and Anthony made our trip this year. Joann the General Manager was great on our check out. Joann at the front desk and Anthony who helped us from the beginning of our stay were excellent. Thank you to the entire staff for a great vacation. The Palmers.
May 06, 2017
the only negative we have is that when we arrived 15 minutes early we were told we could check in but a 25.00 fee would be accessed. Check in was a t 1:00. Now if this Campground was close to town and we could park and shop it would be different. It is 6 miles up the mountain. The campground was near empty and we could see our site. After traveling 4 hours in heavy rain this was a disapointment
May 06, 2017
May 06, 2017
Cherokee North Carolina KOA was the best!! Super pet friendly, the people were AWESOME, and I can't wait to go back. It's located convenient to go through the great Smokey mountains & Gatlinburg & pigeon forge. Wonderful wonderful place!! PS get a cabin on the river!!!
May 06, 2017
May 05, 2017
All the people were amazing had a blast
May 04, 2017
Have stayed here a few times within the last couple years. First time using a deluxe cabin. Not impressed. Floors dirty. Kitchen items dirty. Bed mattress extremely dirty. Play ground broken (3 slides cracked). Staff friendly and river view excellent.
May 03, 2017
Employees were mostly rude and unhelpful. We were one of maybe 10 in the whole camp ground and we're given the worst site. Nothing but puddles and mud. When I asked about moving, I was told that wasn't a possibility and was brushed off. Customer service is obviously not a priority.
May 03, 2017
Stayed in the Deluxe cabins and we loved it!! Cabin was so nice. Staff were all friendly. Loved the amenities for the kids, ages 2 & 7. Already booked our summer vacation there!
May 03, 2017
Staff very friendly.
May 03, 2017
Nice, clean , friendly. Wish pool had later hours, possibly an adult swim.
May 03, 2017
Campground itself was good. Cabins are clean and comfortable. The grounds and camping sites are kept clean. Downside the check in very slow. We waited and waited and waited. I booked on line and paid on line. When I got there I was told that was just a down payment and had to pay a lot more in fees. The WiFi is a joke. Four phones could not connect.
May 02, 2017
The campground had several campers who had messy campsites. These sites made the KOA campground look unattractive and disorganized. Also, the cabin we stayed in needed maintenance.
May 02, 2017
May 02, 2017
Beautiful campground and helpful staff
May 02, 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay i will be coming back again.
May 02, 2017
May 02, 2017
We reserved a cabin for four yet we were charged about 6 dollars each for the third and fourth adult. The cost ended up being enough that we will most likely tent camp at another camp ground on our next trip.
May 02, 2017
May 02, 2017
The only issue was the lousy WiFi. Was weak and would not connect. We were parked across from a hotspot and it still would not connect
May 01, 2017
May 01, 2017
Like always at KOA Cherokee had a great time.Clean and beautiful. Staff very polite
May 01, 2017
We had a great camping spot. Site #199 had two big shade trees,shade all day long, perfect for a hot weekend. Clean bath houses. Nice staff. Only wish they had a shade tarp or something over playground equipment for the little ones to play on in the middle of day so equipment wasn't hot. Don't see the need to charge $3.50 per person resort fees when you pay the camping fees.
May 01, 2017
Great places on the river. The cabins are great, the staff is great, plenty to do for the kids and the fishing is perfect.
May 01, 2017
Everything was wonderful we truly enjoyed our stay. The only thing that needs improvement is the younger staff were riding around on their golf carts recklessly and cussing loudly in front of campers including my children. The older staff were very friendly and helpful.
May 01, 2017
Our church group stayed at Cherokee KOA April 27, 28 on a fishing trip. We were very pleased with the accommodations.The campground staff were friendly, helpful and represented the KOA brand very well.
May 01, 2017
Great customer service
May 01, 2017
Front desk staff were a little brash initially when I called and checked in but warmed up as we talked. All other staff were very helpful and nice! Delivered wood to our site, security provided extra comfort as they made rounds at night, lots of activities for the kids, peaceful and site was very large. Will be back this summer!
May 01, 2017
May 01, 2017
I wish that your policy to show guests to there sites would change. I had to wait 15 minutes to show me to a site that I already knew where it was.
May 01, 2017
It is such a beautiful place and the staff was very friendly!! Darrell & Cheri Hays, Illinois
May 01, 2017
We had a great time. Love that there was so muc for the kids o do! Will be returning very soon!!!
May 01, 2017
Everyone was beyond pleasant except for one lady in the office who did not wear a name tag. (was rude to several people) Not sure her name but she was older with brown hair. Would have rated higher but food stand closed early without warning messing up dinner plans and lots and lots of bees around cabin porches!! Other than that, very nice time with family.
Apr 30, 2017
The kids had a great time on the playground and jumping pillow. The waterfall just down the road was really cool too.
Apr 30, 2017
it was an awesome place, clean everthing, only a couple things laundry needs a couple chairs for us ole folk and to have the option of a tv in bedroom. honestly thank you for the beautiful vaction and friendly people.
Apr 30, 2017
No cell service and wifi is completely unreliable. If you are looking to disconnect from the rest of the world then this is the place for you. Employees were nice but had issues with my stay and it took an excessive amount of time to get it rectified. Cabins were clean, bathrooms were cleaned and well kept which you would expect from a KOA. Probably won't go back though.
Apr 30, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award