Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 28, 2014
The cabin was great! However, the pool was a different story.The sign says no one under 16 years of age was allowed in the hot tub, but when we went in to relax, the hot tub was filled with children,some not even out of diapers! It was very disappointing not to be able to get in. Maybe an age curfew would be a great improvement for the pool area.Other than that I would say our stay was a good one.
Apr 28, 2014
We have been coming for several years. This time wasnt' as great and we won't come back for a while. We had no cable. The internet half worked. Our power flicked multipy time and we had to hook-up to our neighbors site in the middle of the night. I am just glad no one was at that site or we wouldn't have had air.
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
5 stars all the way. Nice campsites/cabins and the staff is very friendly. Family oriented and lots of things to do with the kiddos. I plan on coming back very soon!
Apr 28, 2014
The women at check in was very rude and was told we could not check in till 2 pm for now on in a rv. Talked to manager later and said there must be mess understanding. Never had a problem checking in at any other campground early if no one was on the site
Apr 28, 2014
Front desk very rude & unfriendly.dont like new 2:00 check in if nobody is on site. Been camping there for 8 to 10 years and this is the worst it has ever been. Cable for TV is poor.
Apr 28, 2014
We very much enjoyed our stay. However, we had no bath or hand soap and did not have a dust pan in our cabin. The TV reception was terrible, we informed the front office and they said they working on it but can not seem to get it fixed. Hopefully next time we come to stay you will have TV service we can enjoy.
Apr 28, 2014
Its a great campground with lots to do. Just a little dissapointed that since under new management they no longer have activities like the flashlight candy hunt, movie night and the outside pool opens later in the year than before and the game room was closed.
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
Our kids had a great time. This campground is on level ground which is great for kids riding bikes. Some staff was very helpful and friendly. Things to consider: new mgmt. decided to start closing the indoor pool at 6 pm; if you stay on a pond, there will be a chainlink, barb-wire topped fence between you and the ponds. The cable didn't work at either site. In general, could be better maintained.
Apr 28, 2014
Love the park - disappointed in wifi service & fact that cable service did not work entire time we were there.
Apr 28, 2014
Arrived at about 1:35. Person checking us in made "smart" comment about not being able to check in until 2:00. Didn't see a problem as checkout is 11:00. Then he gave directions to site that took us in backwards. This is something that must be corrected. Needed to do laundry, lady said change machines in laundry room...not! Only room 4! Rude! Only gave change for 1 wash.
Apr 28, 2014
Great sites and many things to do on the campground. Great fishing too! Kids loved it.
Apr 28, 2014
Great staff. Clean sites and restrooms. Nice. Thanks.
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
The campground itself was very nice. It felt safe and secure with our two young children. But we were really disappointed with the fact there was no cable or wifi. With kids there needs to be something to do in case of rain or simply laying around. We will find it hard to stay here again without at least cable or wifi.
Apr 28, 2014
The camp ground is great but we just come to fish and the fishing is really bad . I feel sure that we are not the only ones who just stay here to fish .
Apr 28, 2014
Used condom found on bedpost in our cabin right when we checked in....staff leftnat 6pm so no way to get that resolved.
Apr 28, 2014
nice clean quiet campground would recommend to friends
Apr 28, 2014
We had a wonderful time and enjoyed our trip to Cherokee
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 27, 2014
Internet has not been working sense our last stay in 2013. No cable TV. We were not informed of this at booking our reservation and at check in. And we paid full price.
Apr 27, 2014
everything there is great. except there has never been cable tv.
Apr 27, 2014
This was a last minute decision to get out of town for a few days. We wanted a quiet cabin on the river. I called KOA in Cherokee and a quiet cabin is what we got. The cabin was awesome and in a great location. The staff was always easy to find and very helpful. We can't wait to go back! We would recommend this campground to anyone. It has something for every kind of camper there is!! Thanks KOA
Apr 27, 2014
I was disappointed that the cable did not work at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool is needing some maintenance.
Apr 27, 2014
Beau camping mais les terrains sont bouetteux . Salle de bain propre mais pas chaud
Apr 27, 2014
Very nice accommodations. Was allowed to change places when first location was not most optimal. Plan to stay in summer
Apr 26, 2014
This has been a favorite of ours for many years, but after this stay we will look for other options when vacationing in Cherokee. The arrival was marred by a very rude staff member who told us we should NEVER arrive before 2pm. The WiFi and cable TV were nonexistent though prominently advertised. For the cost of the site, this should not happen.
Apr 26, 2014
Apr 26, 2014
As always, we really enjoy this KOA. The location is perfect, and the facilities are fantastic. We will definitely be back in the summer when the outdoor pool is open. The staff were all great, knew what they were doing and seemed committed to the campground. We hope things stay this way as we plan on visiting year after year! Keep up the good work!
Apr 26, 2014
Very clean and friendly. Our cabin was next to a stream. Only down side is that it's on a Indian Reservation so you have to think ahead and bring your cooler filled with your favorite alcohol beverage because they do not sell it at the campground/Reservation. They have a great gift shop.
Apr 26, 2014
my first time in the area. great for the retired fisherman and lady. great cabin on the river very relaxing and peaceful. my first koa experience and this location set a very high bar for the idea short vacation.
Apr 25, 2014
Let me start by saying I love this campground. We stayed 6 nights and have stayed 5x in the last 2 years. This time Cable tv out,wifi out,gameroom closed,store unstocked,could only rent bikes by the hour. Pool closes at 6 instead of 10. Staff made little effort to say hi. Was told under new management and it showed. We had 4 other families come with us on our recommendation this trip,Disappointed
Apr 25, 2014
My family goes to Cherokee yearly and we stay at this KOA. It's like a tradition. We enjoy the fishing , biking and the location. We can go to Bryson city for other recreation. Do recommend to friends. Friendly service too.
Apr 25, 2014
Clean, basic needs. Comfortable & relaxing (husband missed his recliner!) loved being on the River. Great desk staff at ck in put us in a cabin more appropriate for our age. Tx for that care!
Apr 24, 2014
Our family has been staying at this campground for 25+ years and this was not the best stay. Staff were very rude to us and our kids. Bathhouses were extremely nasty from day one. Indoor pool hours were terrible. They were not accommodating at all. Hate to say it after all these years but they have permanently lost my business along with my relatives.
Apr 24, 2014
Stay was great. Recommend cabins have door mat when it rains and the children liked the old bounce pillow best.
Apr 24, 2014
We were unsatisfied with the bike rental, last year you were able to rent for a day, 1 hr is not long enough. The pool closing at 6 is inconvenient,people like swimming in the evening after dinner, the manager was extremely rude when he told us to leave the pool. You advertise the wifi and cable but we were unable to get either. When we stopped a maintenance man he wouldn't even try to fix it.
Apr 23, 2014
We paid $75.00/night and had no wifi or cable tv. When we complained, we were told the system was too old to handle all the campers and kids on their cell phone. This is supposed to be a kid friendly campground. It is unacceptable not to have wifi and tv and those prices. Also, the lady on the front desk was very rude and acted like we had no right to complain. Will not be coming back anytime soon
Apr 23, 2014
No WIFI, Cable, Or Cell Service I did not like it at all! The Stuff was very nice!
Apr 23, 2014
We had a great stay. one I have is that one of the ladies at the front desk was extremely rude to everyone. I noticed it was with other people as well, not just us. So evidently she is just a miserable person!It just didn't feel as welcoming as it has in the past!!
Apr 22, 2014
We have camped here several times a year for several years but unfortunately this will be our last due to rude new management and rude staff. We were greeted rudely and staff told us hatefully about new rules of the campground. Cable and WIFI was nonexistent but we paided for it. Easter events poorly run, and woman running it was rude to children. Staff ?ing kids over stolen bike without parents.
Apr 22, 2014
Wonderful staff. Go above and beyond! Cabin was nice and clean.
Apr 22, 2014
Very disappointed there was no service on Easter. Some staff was friendly didn't seem like they know their jobs. Different than previous years. Have benn going Easter weekend for 7 years with family propabaly won't go back next year. Will try another one.
Apr 22, 2014
The campground is excellent for families with children. I have stayed at this location many times over the past 20 years. It has always been great until recently. We have had trouble with security on more than once. We also were quoted one price but then charged another due to holiday rates not being applied properly. I would rate the highest if you would resolve the security and training.
Apr 22, 2014
For $65/night I was very disappointed. Website said Wifi & cable TV...no wifi at site. After camper setup found out cable box was broken...ran a cable over to next site and rec'd a few channels snowy. Road inside the campground had big potholes. Was glad to see a small fenced area for dogs, but trash can was full of dog poop when we got there & 3 days later, still full. Too expensive for this!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.