Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 24, 2013
We love coming to the cherokee koa,usually at least twice a year..lots of rain this time. Was very disappointed that the outside pool was being redone on the busiest week of the summer...not good planning..but other than the rain, we enjoyed our stay
Jul 24, 2013
Very clean campground. Plenty of activities for the kids and adults. I was impressed by the large number of KOA employees and volunteers on duty. All were extremely polite and anxious to wait on you. We really felt like we were truly welcome.
Jul 24, 2013
Very large campground with lots of activities for kids. Staff was helpful and friendly. Many shaded sites. Ladies bathroom showers could use a little work on the shower heads and also need a stool or chair in them and more hooks.
Jul 24, 2013
Very relaxing and friendly place. Cabin was well suited for our visit.
Jul 24, 2013
Inside pool area is Very run down, and hot tubs where not working. That is one of the reasons I wanted to return. And I also feel that KOA should have someone doing walk through at in door pool to keep in eye on the RULES and the small children should be asked to leave the hot tube if they are not with parent or asked how old they are. And when they sell wood it should burn not just smoldering.
Jul 24, 2013
I would highly recommend to people. Clean, friendly and tons to do for the whole family. We WILL be back!!!
Jul 23, 2013
Great time. We were with a large group of people and everyone felt safe and had a great time.
Jul 23, 2013
the stay there was fine with the exception of the lack of WIFI and internet service.Poor phone reception as well.We were out of touch unless we left campground,
Jul 23, 2013
We camp every year at the KOA in Cherokee. We come with 7 other families and they are about 45 of us every year. The kids are never bored and the weather is usually perfect. There are always activities for the kids and their is a church service on Sunday.We look forward to our trip every year.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
I read all the reviews and was a little nervous about this stay. But we were pleasantly surprised. Our site was a cement pad with a porch. The climate was wonderfully cooler than where we had just come from. The staff was wonderful and it was so much fun to tube the river right next to the campground.
Jul 23, 2013
I loved KOA and can't wait to return. Just one quick idea have the young man working in the tube rental get some customer service skills he was very rude to me and my family. I heard him call a man dad in the office which he was nice . I would recommend to anyone. Awesome
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
We always have a great time and now we have a grand child and she loves togo to koa for a ggreat time thanks for all you do to make our stay a great time
Jul 22, 2013
The good first: Emry at front desk was extremely helpful. Always smiling. The bad: cots on bed were dirty so had to clean them with soapy water. Should have been notified pool slide was not up and running . Dead mouse taken out of bathroom by KOA employee and he did not disinfect floor after (bathroom beside bar and grill at pool). Not as clean as past 3 years we have stayed.
Jul 22, 2013
We have our annual neighborhood camping trip that has grown from 5 families to now 12, just because we love the Cherokee KOA. We'll be back next year!
Jul 22, 2013
Recent visit pool slide was under construction. That was a bit disappointing as well as outdoor hottub out of order. Indoor pool bathrooms were filthy. They also ran out of tubes early on Saturday. Not as great a stay as we have had in prior years but still had a good time.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
We reserve 12 cabins(church group) and I like the KOA employee everyone was great and kind we only had a couple of complaints and they can be resolve with time and dedication (1)Cabins was not properly clean (2)Bathrooms could have been cleaner and they really need to be upgrade because they are big part of the KOA and we had a pastor with us that was handicap, entry to cabins muddy need gravel
Jul 22, 2013
I always recieve great service at this KOA!! The staff is awesome, and really care that we have everything we need, thanks Mark for getting us chairs and table for outside. Parents need to watch thier small children, there is cars and traffic, and parents just let thier children run loose, any age! There is no vacation from being a parent!!! Watch YOUR children.
Jul 22, 2013
Friendly staff, very helpful and loved the fact we had a noise issue Mike took care of if very quickly!
Jul 22, 2013
The pool slide was missing when we were there and the kids were really looking forward to that...The internet and phone service there is horrible,but overall a very nice, clean place to stay.
Jul 22, 2013
this KOA is a clean beautiful campground. Everyone was so nice.
Jul 22, 2013
It was great had a great site and we will be back.
Jul 22, 2013
We liked the facility. Great location. The bouncer was a favorite for the kids. The staff very nice. The tent sites were noisy with traffic and very muddy.
Jul 22, 2013
Had a great time. Best KOA we've been to. Lots of fun.
Jul 22, 2013
Our family loves staying at the KAO in Cherokee, NC. We love their great customer service and their friendly staff. The KOA is very family oriented, with lots of options for kids and teens. We refuse to camp anywhere else.
Jul 22, 2013
Stayed July 19th weekend. Pro's - Great location, lots of trees/shade, next to creek which you can tube on, fun activities Con's - Site flooded so much during one storm, some of our stuff floated away. Outdoor pool was dirty and couldn't see the bottom. Outdoors slide non-existent (they said maybe next year). No Wi-Fi.
Jul 22, 2013
The front desk seemed disorganized. There was confusion upon checking in whether or not my site was given to another camper. This delayed the check in process by 15-20 minutes. When checking out, it appeared that someone was being trained by another associate while 2 others were on the phone. I would have expected the training to be interrupted to expedite my check out rather than having to wait.
Jul 22, 2013
We had an electrical problem with our site. Mark was very willing to help us. We had an electrical problem with our site. Because of Mark, (who was very helpful)our stay was very enjoyable. We stayed an extra night.
Jul 22, 2013
Our Cabin was not clean and the overall Campground was not clean.Way to many Dogs not sure if it was a Campground or Dog Kennel!! I would recommend checking other Campgrounds in the area.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
I have stayed here before and liked it. This time unfortunately, security kept coming by shining their light in our campsite waking us up after midnight. The camp site next to ours had smells coming from the holding tank drain. It was overflowing onto the street.
Jul 21, 2013
always professional and helpful to make camping fun and easy.
Jul 21, 2013
kids where looking forward to the big slide removed for repairs could of said something when making reservations. went to a block party there was not pleased when is was all about religion.
Jul 21, 2013
Great for family. Brought our two grandkids and they loved it.
Jul 21, 2013
Toilets in bathhouse wouldn't flush and mold in men's showers and roof. Wi fi was in and out all week. Wish we new about the pool slide before we got there, my kids really love the slide, very disappointed:(
Jul 21, 2013
This is an excellent facility with great amenities and activities. The pool was great. It was nice to be able to fish and tube from the campground. My only concern is the WiFi. It was often out of service, cut out many times, and was weak when working. I chose this place knowing that it offered WiFi and counted on being able to complete some necessary work online. Otherwise a great trip!
Jul 21, 2013
Everything is wonderful except Wifi.... If your needing to work not so great.
Jul 20, 2013
Was very upset that outside pool was closed during our stay. Also campsite was Littered with cigarete butts upon our arrival. Otherwise it was a great visit
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Our stay was outstanding. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous, they went out of their way to accommodate any concerns/ques we had. The best part was the interaction of the sonshine group. They were all caring to us and more importantly our kids! Especially the activities director, will. He made our vacation extra special. The only disappointment was that the outside hottub was down. Thxs
Jul 19, 2013
We paid for 4 days, but left after the first night because we could not communicate with our family back home either by phone or Internet. We use AT&T cellular and wi-fi hot spot. Park is beautiful, but we cannot return until AT&T has coverage for your area.
Jul 19, 2013
Very friendly staff and very clean cabin. We enjoyed everything about the place. Excellent experience! Thank you!
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Very disappointed in that the outdoor pool wasn't open.
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.