Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 10, 2016
We had reserved a cabin and rv site our son and family was able to come and enjoyed the time. As for us we had to admit my husband to the hospital. They understood and did not charge us a night stay or more only the 10 dollar service charge. Thank you again that speak volumes to me that we mean so much. We alway s recommend this KOA
Aug 10, 2016
The only thing I wondered about was why none if the exhaust fans work in the restrooms. Would be nice to have them . We appreciated that the office would let the rest of our family in area for trout derby come up and see the campground while we were there and visit with us. We love KOA in cherokee. If the rest of the family will stay next trout derby 2017 it would be 5 reservation instead of just
Aug 10, 2016
Aug 10, 2016
Overall it was mostly enjoyable. We had 2 minor electrical issues in the small cabin we rented, but it was fixed correctly the 2nd time. The dogs staying a few sites away would bark incessantly at ANY passerby which was VERY annoying and it felt like we were placed in the "smoking section" of the campground as EVERY neighboring site had smokers staying there. Those last 2 issues are risks.
Aug 10, 2016
Have been here multiple times, our son always enjoys it, lots of children to play with. He practically lives in the jumping pillow. New bathroom remodel looks great.
Aug 10, 2016
Me and my children have stayed here many times over the years and it is always an outstanding experience!
Aug 10, 2016
All cabins should have air conditioners. I will not return in hot weather.
Aug 10, 2016
The cabin was not to our expectations. The window screens were broken and there were cobbwebs and spiders all over the outside, there were small ants on the inside and cobbwebbs on the bunkbeds.
Aug 09, 2016
We love the campground, this was our second year in a row staying during the kids trout derby. Lots of activities for the kids to do at the campground and they had a great time. We will be making reservations for next year as well.
Aug 09, 2016
This was our third time staying this summer and we enjoyed it each and every time. The only complaint I have is the restaurant there needs more employees. There were only two employees working in the kitchen. It took 30 minutes for two orders of gravy and biscuits and an order of pancakes. I would think there needs to be at least four to make everything more smoothly.
Aug 09, 2016
Buying retail takes forever. Kids on bikes need instructions about cars. Despite a the humans, this a great camping experience.
Aug 09, 2016
The staff at the Cherokee KOA, although not terrible, didn't really meet our expectations compared to the other KOA's we've stayed in. They just weren't quite as friendly and helpful as what we've experienced in the past at all of the other KOA's.
Aug 09, 2016
KOA Cherokee is one of the best camp sites I have ever been to. Very clean. The Staff cares what they do. They made you fill welcome. I will be back very soon. Everyone I know will soon know KOA Cherokee is the best camp sites ever. Thank you for making my family welcome. Jeremy
Aug 08, 2016
My stay was good....but I thought the prices for the nightly stay was a little high for the area where this KOA is located.
Aug 08, 2016
We always have a great time at this KOA. Just wish the wifi was stronger and there was cell service.
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
we were up for the talking tree trout tournament for the children, however; your facility had ALL the entertainment we needed without having to go anywhere. Our stay there was enjoyed by all and fun to see the kids making and exchanging address with new friends. Definitely will be back to visit, THANK YOU and your staff for a well enjoyed week.
Aug 08, 2016
We had a great time at this KOA. The staff was friendly and helpful. Close to everything we wanted to do and lots to do right at the campsite. Tubing was fun and they take you up to the start point. They even had a group of youth lead a worship service Sunday morning.
Aug 08, 2016
The worst thing was the wifi, which was basically non-existent. The only time any of us could log on was after midnight and before 6am and then you had to keep entering the password many times
Aug 08, 2016
Beautiful area. Lots to do. Bath houses pretty tired.
Aug 08, 2016
We have been here before and LOVE IT!
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
Loved everything about this campground. Will definately visit again
Aug 08, 2016
My kids absolutely loved this vacation! They want to come back every year.
Aug 08, 2016
We had a really great time staying at Koa! We will definitely come back. The only problem I had was the security at the gate was not secure. Half the time there was nobody there and anybody could just come in! Not feeling safe for the children.
Aug 08, 2016
We paid extra to stay in a cabin that had A/C and a bathroom with a shower. Our shower was unusable due to the fact there was only one temperature from the faucet, scalding hot! I notified the office upon discovering this and nothing was attempted by the staff to remedy the situation. Additionally, I again notified the staff of the issue upon checkout, and still no resolve. Poor customer service.
Aug 08, 2016
Great Time!
Aug 08, 2016
A little on the expensive side. The camp store was poorly stocked.
Aug 08, 2016
We have stayed several times this summer at this KOA and loved it. This time was different. I am not sure if there was a lack of help since the summer is coming to an end but the bathrooms where not as clean, there were problems with a few of the showers, they ran out of certain food at the camp grill, the game room was out of order and a few other things. We were disappointed to say the least.
Aug 08, 2016
Hands down the best campground that I've been to this year. Great grounds & staff was amazing. I will be coming back again in the near future
Aug 08, 2016
We love this campground. Second time staying in less than a month. River is beautiful, paved sites are lovely. Plenty of activities for the children, the KOA employees are always helpful. Clean and at a great location, just a few miles from downtown.
Aug 08, 2016
We had a great time at KOA the kids love to come there the bouncy outfront was too hot for me to bounce we had a great time at KOA the kids love to come there the bouncy outfront was too hot for kids to bounce on had to at night
Aug 08, 2016
Love how friendly everyone and staff members are.
Aug 08, 2016
Great place to be and will be back soon. Very clean campground and friendly
Aug 08, 2016
Clean restrooms, friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
Great time
Aug 08, 2016
Amazing
Aug 08, 2016
My family and I had a great time. The only issue I had was the cleanliness of the bathhouse. We had lots of fun and loved how the campground had so much to do for the kiddos!!! Thanks for a great time!
Aug 08, 2016
restrooms are not clean. information for recreation is very poor.
Aug 08, 2016
We stayed in cabin, so the cabin itself was hot. The fan was not working, so we ended opening the doors all night. The freshener smells bad. I highly would not recommend anyone to stay in cabins.
Aug 08, 2016
KOA campground as a whole is great. My only complaint is the water pressure in the showers. I understand trying to save water, but, when you pay money to stay you want a good shower.
Aug 07, 2016
Cherokee is fantastic. The campground is pristine and the staff are so nice and helpful. We love going there. The mountains are beautiful. My only suggestion would be to extend the café to provide for food options and more of it. It would be so convenient to have a more full service restaurant. We love it and keep coming back.
Aug 07, 2016
Laura was very nice
Aug 07, 2016
We had a wonderful stay. Unfortunately we stayed during the hottest week of summer. We were staying in Cabin K60 and roasted. I asked if a small AC could be rented but was told no. These cabins are great for those on a budget but during the summer they really need AC units.
Aug 07, 2016
Poor Internet connection, Near kabin K-307, kids were making noise past mid-night so it create disturbance.
Aug 07, 2016
Aug 07, 2016
Hi Rich,,, I stayed in site 118 as you WELL know of my problem with your RUDE employee, you know who HE is. I have stayed in many KOA,s and sad to say yours was the worst. Activity leaders a total shambles, snack bar teen was not focused was like she was in a play ground scene. Do end, I recommend you clean house , before you get a law suit. Oh, by the way I am a Lawyer. Koa corp. Will hear mor
Aug 06, 2016
No WI-FI our entire stay No shower heads in back shower Front shower had been updated but onky 2 showers septic was awful, talked with maintenence and he joked "Guess you guys are full of s---" and left! Had to leave it closed and just empty holding tank. We paid for this service and was not able to use the service!
Aug 06, 2016
Have stayed here several times. Seems like we are paying more for less service. Actually was given a flooded site to stay at and it took our escorted to suggest going back to office and request a different site. Needed to pay an upcharge for the only non flooded sites were concrete and we paid for asphalt. Also need to bring garbage to dumpster yourself - what are all the fees for?
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps