Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
I was disappointed in the cleanliness or lack of in our cabin. The floors were dirty and so were the blankets. The futon had dirt in the creases. The bathroom floor is about to fall in. I was expecting a little cleaner place for what we paid. Also our front door and windows had no blinds. My kids were excited about going,but I don't think we will be going again. Sorry I was SO DISAPPOINTED.
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
loved it
Oct 20, 2013
Everyone was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay and will definately stay again. We loved the concrete pads. Jerry DeLoach
Oct 20, 2013
Oct 20, 2013
Best KOA yet!
Oct 19, 2013
We love this KOA and have stayed there several times. The only problem we had was that the TV cable was bad. I wish the could fix that and then it would be perfect.
Oct 19, 2013
We enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night.
Oct 19, 2013
tv and internet are the worst I have ever seen. I will go to a different RV park next time.
Oct 19, 2013
Nice large indoor pool and gift shop. Very close to beautiful Mingo Falls. Cabin left much to be desired. No chair, no porch swing, no light bulb for porch light. Cabin smelled very musty and we didnt know where to park our car. Best thing about it was the location to Mingo Falls and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.
Oct 19, 2013
Oct 19, 2013
Very disappointed on how dirty the bathhouses were. One bathhouse was so disgusting, I turned around at the door. Plus, I know the cabins are primitive but that doesn't mean you shouldn't clean under the beds and the corners once in a while. Highly disappointed at the overall cleanliness. Further, felt like it was all about filling their spots in the campground and not personal service.
Oct 19, 2013
The firewood was green and not usable. one of the staff was rude. Indoor Pool was dated had chunks of concrete missing from the bottom.
Oct 19, 2013
My spot was muddy the water valve leaks and formed big lake. Showers ok not great one bath house was not up to par.
Oct 18, 2013
Friendly staff, great campground.
Oct 17, 2013
Nice KOA it is large with plenty of space per sight. The only downfall I have was how crowded it was. The pull through sites are located by the entrance so if you have onebof these spot expect plenty of traffic noise.
Oct 17, 2013
Great location to access the Blue Ridge Pkwy, Smoky Mtn Nat. Pk & Cherokee, NC. Nice laundry facilities & many amenities (2 pools, hot tubs, bike rentals, etc.) Gets busy on weekends, so book early.
Oct 17, 2013
Oct 17, 2013
Oct 17, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
WIFI WAS TERRIBLE!! In this day and age it's a must! The river site 233 is the best site there! We have stayed at the other so called river sites as you come in on the right but that's a creek at best. We still have a Great week though!
Oct 16, 2013
The stay was good. Not overly thrilled with sharing a fire pit in the cabin area and the store seemed understaffed most of the time. Was disturbed when i watched the camp staff go into store empty coffee pots in giant mugs while people were behind them waiting to get coffee. The only other person in the store was on the phone.
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
We found the area and the KOA were very nice. We wish we had been prepared for the fact that there is NO cell signal and very little internet. We understand that we were going camping but when you are away from your family it is nice to be able to check in. The indoor pool and hot tub were a nice temperature, but there are not jets in the hot tub. Over all the the the grounds were nice.
Oct 16, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful. This was our second stay and we will definitely be going again next year
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
People are very nice. Enjoyed the outdoor movies on Fri and Sat night. Wifi needs to be upgraded as it was unusable most of the weekend.
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
I loved this campground. The lots are not too close together, and I loved walking my dog and meeting other campers doing the same thing. Plenty of fishing and other neat things to do.
Oct 16, 2013
Low-Speed WiFi/Partly not available at all One hot-tob Not Open, the other Not really hot and without bubbles
Oct 16, 2013
Nice size spaces, EZ in and out. No wifi we could get in our spot. No cell service in outside Cherokee.
Oct 16, 2013
cabin dirty, mattress cut and stained, windows filthy, plug coming out of wall. Light went out in cabin one afternoon no one showed up till the next morning...WHAT good was that? Were we suppose to stay the night in the dark? Extremely disappointed. We have been camping at KOA's for years, never had any problems until staying at this KOA and it was awful. Never again!!!
Oct 15, 2013
I will admit that I almost canceled my stay based from reading the reviews I saw on the website. The reviews I saw ranged from the campground being dirty to the staff being unfriendly and unhelpful. My family and I experienced none of this; we had a very pleasant stay. This park is very child-friendly so if you like peace and quiet, it isn't for you. Very friendly staff and clean campground
Oct 15, 2013
I've stayed here multiple times since 1995. This time, the Kamping Kabin was unusually musty and the fan was noisy (needs maintenance). Electric panel coming apart and needs maintenance.
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
The cabin that we reserved online turned out to be a handicapped cabin instead of one with a queen bed that the reservation indicated. We refused to stay in the handicapped cabin so we were offered another cabin which turned out to be one that they obviously had not rented because it needed a lot of maintenace. There were electrical issues and it had not been cleaned as it should. Disappointed!!
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay. When we first arrived - we could not get in our site because someone had fallen and there was an ambulance, etc. in our spot. The staff was great and even upgraded us to a better spot. The facility was clean and the hot tub was very relaxing. Will definitely come again.
Oct 15, 2013
The staff at check in were incredibly helpful and made it easy for us to change tent sites. Our initial site was too small and we were able to move. There was a large group staying across from us in cabins. They were very loud until after midnight each night. It would be helpful to have someone patrol the park occasionally during quiet hours to enforce this rule.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.