Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2013
I was a little disappointed that the slide was not complete at the pool during our stay, One would think this could have been done during the off season
Jul 28, 2013
All the improvements are great...dog run, pool etc. Our grandsons enjoyed everything. Fri night's disturbance 3 campers away was terrible. We left Sat but I do hope you evicted those campers. Since the problem went till 4 am, you owe at least 3 of us camped nearby a night. Don't you think? We hope to return next summer. Jan Lawrence
Jul 28, 2013
We had a great time. Wonderul place to stay with kids and a short distance to the Smoky National Park. I would have to say that it is now my 4th favorite Rv park and we camp 90+ nights a year!!
Jul 28, 2013
No cable, very poor internet and noisy music blaring from our neighbors campsite until after 10:00pm when my husband finally had to go ask them to turn it down.
Jul 27, 2013
Always a great time at your campground. Been staying there for well over 20 years now. It never disappoints. So peaceful and quiet. This year the water pressure was low and the cabin was not as clean as it could have been. Not nasty by any means but housekeeping needs to move beds and sweep in the corners. These things are to be expected at any campground in my opinion so its no big deal. Thanks!
Jul 27, 2013
we will be back! the only ruff time was all rain the whole time.
Jul 27, 2013
This was the 28th year staying and the worst stay!!! Going downhill is never a good thing! I've always Loved this place and hope and pray it'll make a turn around before next year! Email me if you want details please!!!
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Very expensive, Hard to find the campsite.
Jul 26, 2013
On the Koa sovenniers it would be nice label the campground
Jul 26, 2013
Loved it as always. Loved the river access, pools, fire pit, shade, porch swing, big bounce & icecream. We will be back as always when can afford. Disappointed that the pool slide wasn't up for the grandkids. Suggest a low priced kids breakfast, better mattresses, and playground needs swings.
Jul 26, 2013
I always enjoy my time at Cherokee KOA. This time we stayed in great lodges but the finishing steps were missing. I am sure this will soon be complete. The staff and young workers were great and God-like in their service.
Jul 25, 2013
This is my 3rd year staying in this cabin. This year the cabin had some type of bug I fear was bed bugs. I received about 20 bites. I have spent a lot of time washing everything that went with us or throwing items away. I was also disappointed that the outdoor hot tub was not working, the kids slide was apart. The staff is pleasant. If we get bed bugs I won't be back.
Jul 25, 2013
The area was very nice. Only downfalls was fuzzy cable and hardly no Internet
Jul 25, 2013
We have stayed several times at CKOA. Due to a lot of rain, there was quite a bit of repairs & construction going on. The slide was not open but it didnt stop us from having a great time. Don't expect perfection when the weather doesn't allow it. We will definately be back.
Jul 25, 2013
Stay was good until got woken up by lawn mower just outside cabin under window. Not the way I wanted to be woke up
Jul 24, 2013
We love coming to the cherokee koa,usually at least twice a year..lots of rain this time. Was very disappointed that the outside pool was being redone on the busiest week of the summer...not good planning..but other than the rain, we enjoyed our stay
Jul 24, 2013
Very clean campground. Plenty of activities for the kids and adults. I was impressed by the large number of KOA employees and volunteers on duty. All were extremely polite and anxious to wait on you. We really felt like we were truly welcome.
Jul 24, 2013
Very large campground with lots of activities for kids. Staff was helpful and friendly. Many shaded sites. Ladies bathroom showers could use a little work on the shower heads and also need a stool or chair in them and more hooks.
Jul 24, 2013
Very relaxing and friendly place. Cabin was well suited for our visit.
Jul 24, 2013
Inside pool area is Very run down, and hot tubs where not working. That is one of the reasons I wanted to return. And I also feel that KOA should have someone doing walk through at in door pool to keep in eye on the RULES and the small children should be asked to leave the hot tube if they are not with parent or asked how old they are. And when they sell wood it should burn not just smoldering.
Jul 24, 2013
I would highly recommend to people. Clean, friendly and tons to do for the whole family. We WILL be back!!!
Jul 23, 2013
Great time. We were with a large group of people and everyone felt safe and had a great time.
Jul 23, 2013
the stay there was fine with the exception of the lack of WIFI and internet service.Poor phone reception as well.We were out of touch unless we left campground,
Jul 23, 2013
We camp every year at the KOA in Cherokee. We come with 7 other families and they are about 45 of us every year. The kids are never bored and the weather is usually perfect. There are always activities for the kids and their is a church service on Sunday.We look forward to our trip every year.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
I read all the reviews and was a little nervous about this stay. But we were pleasantly surprised. Our site was a cement pad with a porch. The climate was wonderfully cooler than where we had just come from. The staff was wonderful and it was so much fun to tube the river right next to the campground.
Jul 23, 2013
I loved KOA and can't wait to return. Just one quick idea have the young man working in the tube rental get some customer service skills he was very rude to me and my family. I heard him call a man dad in the office which he was nice . I would recommend to anyone. Awesome
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
We always have a great time and now we have a grand child and she loves togo to koa for a ggreat time thanks for all you do to make our stay a great time
Jul 22, 2013
The good first: Emry at front desk was extremely helpful. Always smiling. The bad: cots on bed were dirty so had to clean them with soapy water. Should have been notified pool slide was not up and running . Dead mouse taken out of bathroom by KOA employee and he did not disinfect floor after (bathroom beside bar and grill at pool). Not as clean as past 3 years we have stayed.
Jul 22, 2013
We have our annual neighborhood camping trip that has grown from 5 families to now 12, just because we love the Cherokee KOA. We'll be back next year!
Jul 22, 2013
Recent visit pool slide was under construction. That was a bit disappointing as well as outdoor hottub out of order. Indoor pool bathrooms were filthy. They also ran out of tubes early on Saturday. Not as great a stay as we have had in prior years but still had a good time.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
We reserve 12 cabins(church group) and I like the KOA employee everyone was great and kind we only had a couple of complaints and they can be resolve with time and dedication (1)Cabins was not properly clean (2)Bathrooms could have been cleaner and they really need to be upgrade because they are big part of the KOA and we had a pastor with us that was handicap, entry to cabins muddy need gravel
Jul 22, 2013
I always recieve great service at this KOA!! The staff is awesome, and really care that we have everything we need, thanks Mark for getting us chairs and table for outside. Parents need to watch thier small children, there is cars and traffic, and parents just let thier children run loose, any age! There is no vacation from being a parent!!! Watch YOUR children.
Jul 22, 2013
Friendly staff, very helpful and loved the fact we had a noise issue Mike took care of if very quickly!
Jul 22, 2013
The pool slide was missing when we were there and the kids were really looking forward to that...The internet and phone service there is horrible,but overall a very nice, clean place to stay.
Jul 22, 2013
this KOA is a clean beautiful campground. Everyone was so nice.
Jul 22, 2013
It was great had a great site and we will be back.
Jul 22, 2013
We liked the facility. Great location. The bouncer was a favorite for the kids. The staff very nice. The tent sites were noisy with traffic and very muddy.
Jul 22, 2013
Had a great time. Best KOA we've been to. Lots of fun.
Jul 22, 2013
Our family loves staying at the KAO in Cherokee, NC. We love their great customer service and their friendly staff. The KOA is very family oriented, with lots of options for kids and teens. We refuse to camp anywhere else.
Jul 22, 2013
Stayed July 19th weekend. Pro's - Great location, lots of trees/shade, next to creek which you can tube on, fun activities Con's - Site flooded so much during one storm, some of our stuff floated away. Outdoor pool was dirty and couldn't see the bottom. Outdoors slide non-existent (they said maybe next year). No Wi-Fi.
Jul 22, 2013
The front desk seemed disorganized. There was confusion upon checking in whether or not my site was given to another camper. This delayed the check in process by 15-20 minutes. When checking out, it appeared that someone was being trained by another associate while 2 others were on the phone. I would have expected the training to be interrupted to expedite my check out rather than having to wait.
Jul 22, 2013
We had an electrical problem with our site. Mark was very willing to help us. We had an electrical problem with our site. Because of Mark, (who was very helpful)our stay was very enjoyable. We stayed an extra night.
Jul 22, 2013
Our Cabin was not clean and the overall Campground was not clean.Way to many Dogs not sure if it was a Campground or Dog Kennel!! I would recommend checking other Campgrounds in the area.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
I have stayed here before and liked it. This time unfortunately, security kept coming by shining their light in our campsite waking us up after midnight. The camp site next to ours had smells coming from the holding tank drain. It was overflowing onto the street.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.