Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 21, 2015
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The campground was clean have been going to koa in cherokee NC for 25 years. We took our children every year now taking our grandchildren. They love it as much as our kids
Sep 21, 2015
loved the studio cabin had everything you need
Sep 21, 2015
This was my 3rd KOA Cherokee vacation this summer and all of them were fantastic! My favorite part is that each staff member I have encountered was more than helpful and more than friendly! I have already recommended the Cherokee KOA to friends and family and I will continue to do so!
Sep 21, 2015
shower fixtures loose, pocket door to bathroom needs some work
Sep 21, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
Park is beautiful and roomy. 1 shower head did not work in back bath house. Wifi. Was terrible!!! Other than that a good time was had by all.
Sep 21, 2015
We stayed last weekend for our 3rd time and we love the place but we were disappointed that the tribal ponds had been drained. I understand that the ponds are not owned by koa but koa advertises the stocked ponds on the website but never bothered to notate on the website or send out an email to the ones that had reservations advising. We drove 7hrs with our main reason being to fish in those ponds
Sep 21, 2015
We loved our stay - we loved most of the staff and our cabin. There was one person at the counter in the store that was just not nice. I believe her name was Carolyn - short red hair. The other staff more than made up for her but, she wasn't even nice to them. You'd be much better off without her.
Sep 21, 2015
We made a reservation for 1 room cabin on river and when we arrived we were told they no longer have them That was really wrong then we found out about the drained ponds These were both things that we should have been told when we called for reservations We have never been so disappointed in KOA as we were this LAST trip
Sep 21, 2015
Have stayed with this KOA for years. However, I'm guessing it is under new mangt. because things have changed a great deal from my last stay with the staff. The sites were clean as normal. BUT the response's that you get from your questions are random. One employee would say one thing one day and another employee another day. The woman with short gray hair RUDE they've LOST THE SOUTHREN CHARM!
Sep 21, 2015
Bought firewood and it was too fresh to be lit. Also, it would be helpful being a family style campground that there is a changing area with table/counter in the bath house to be able to change small children after shower.
Sep 21, 2015
This is a fabulous setting for a campground.The facilities are first rate and well maintained. However, we will not return or recommend it to any of our acquaintances. We make it a policy not to pay to be treated poorly and that was our experience each time we interacted with the front office staff.
Sep 21, 2015
The bathrooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly. We had to deal with very noisy neighbors which made the stay a little rough, but was good other than that.
Sep 21, 2015
Good stay..........
Sep 21, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
We have stayed at this KOA every year for about 7 yrs now. I wish there was someone patrolling to keep the children from riding their bikes too fast. And the showers are really nasty. The biggest thing that I don't like is that alcoholic beverages are allowed to be openly consumed at the pools and elsewhere throughout the park. Not something I want my son to be around. Gameroom needs work too
Sep 21, 2015
I love this KOA, we have been coming here for over 35 years. But it has steadly gone down hill, talked to a group staying in the cabins on the river Saturday. One of the cabins was infested with bed bugs. This is not good, i would not recommend anyone to stay in a cabin. And what did the campground do to compensate ( not enough )
Sep 21, 2015
Wish the cabins didn't face the pull thru's they could see in our camper and we could see in their cabin. Wanted to upgrade to a pad site was told ther wasn't any but there were several empty,Everything else was great
Sep 21, 2015
Clean facilities. Friendly staff. Awesome location. We are coming back in October.
Sep 21, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
Great campground with beautiful views and lots to do. Our deluxe site was very level which made our set up easy. Only negative comment is that we were woke up at 8 a.m. on Sun by the garbage truck.
Sep 21, 2015
we will be back soon!
Sep 21, 2015
good location, peaceful and very family oriented.
Sep 21, 2015
Shower stall did not drain causing water to back up onto floor. With that being said enjoyed by stay there.
Sep 21, 2015
The one bedroom cabin we stayed in was simple, but nice and clean, we were so happy to find a place we could bring our dog.
Sep 20, 2015
We enjoy our stay. We went to relax and that is exactly what we did. We had a cabin on the river and it was very nice. The only problem we had were both kids and adults treking back and forth across our campsite. I guess they don't realize just how rude that is. They should be using the road out front instead. Some guy even came through with his dog as we were cooking supper on the fire.
Sep 20, 2015
The stay was fine up to Friday night when we had neighbors playing loud music till midnight. Someone really needs to stay of top of the 10 pm quite time. It sure wasn't quite on Friday.
Sep 20, 2015
We were so impressed with this KOA..Everything from check-in to the excellent Wi-Fi..Great campground
Sep 20, 2015
We loved this campground. Lots of energy. Friendly, helpful folks. Wish we had taken the car off the tow dolly to explore Cherokee. Beautiful location, too.
Sep 20, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Sep 19, 2015
We really enjoy this campground.We have stayed here many times over the last 14 years.The staff is always friendly and helpful. I would like to make a suggestion. There is a large map of the U.S. on the wall at this KOA with all of the KOA campgrounds on it. We asked about purchasing one and was told that they do not have them available for sale. I think it would be great to be able to buy one.
Sep 19, 2015
Branch hanging over our tent - mgt knew about it but decided it would not fall and chose to leave it hanging over the campsite. Big liability for KOA and a threat to our safety. Also, construction adjacent to park and no warning of early morning noise, etc. Otherwise a nice campground.
Sep 19, 2015
We stayed in a cabin for the week and it was very nice. The entire campground was clean including the bathrooms and laundry rooms. We were very impressed. Both pools also get 2 thumbs up. Our only complaint about the campground and area (Cherokee) in general is that everything was closed by 6pm. I know we were there in the "off" season (beginning of September) but 6 seemed early.
Sep 19, 2015
In the shower when the water was turned off to the whole campground. Problem in management had the pool turned off earlier being notified but did not tell any campers of the disruption in service. I found myself in a crowd trying to get something done. Just let people know in advance.
Sep 19, 2015
Pros: Kampgroup generally clean. Staff friendly Cons: bathrooms looked clean but shower pipes leaked, resulting in poor pressure. Tile missing. Toilets barely flushed. Garbage in nature island. Small pet area, not very clean Awful kennels. Sewer dump not near other utilities also drained poor.
Sep 18, 2015
One night stay in small kabin. Nice and quiet. Very friendly staff. Would recommend
Sep 17, 2015
Everything great except internet is & has always been sorry. Need better for emergency communication since no and limited phone service depending on carrier
Sep 17, 2015
Alway a good time at Cherokee KOA. Just wish they would update the game room and go back to having an indoor tv room with the big screen tv.
Sep 17, 2015
Cherokee is a great campground the staff are friendly and make u feel right at home. We will go again.
Sep 17, 2015
Week end fishing,kids swimming.everything clean great stay
Sep 17, 2015
I have stayed at this campground many times. I have never had a problem or complaint. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. the facilities are always clean and well maintained. I look forward to camping thre again.
Sep 17, 2015
A little disappointing in that we expected a better maintained campground given the beautiful setting and resort fee pricing. A good park for summertime fun for families, but just not the polished park or welcoming atmosphere we were expecting as a former campground-of-the-year.
Sep 16, 2015
We were disappointed in the Wi-Fi and cable. We had a storm and the cable was out. The Wi-Fi did not work well at all. We were told that "there was just too many people in the campground."
Sep 16, 2015
Sep 16, 2015
An outstanding KOA property. Very clean property. The staff is friendly and helpful. Property has very nice amenities.
Sep 15, 2015
when I called to reserve our week I asked if the shuttle ran because we were not bringing a car if it did. I was told yes, then we find out when we get there it had stopped on labor day.The food shack closes on 9/8 instead of 9/9. Site had a water leak it was flooded. Walked in the ran, employee drove by in golf cart and waived never offered rids. Worst KOA customer service I have been to.
Sep 14, 2015
The staff was friendly and courteous. The site was clean ,no issues. Will go back if in the area.
Sep 14, 2015
The kids had a great time here swimming in the pools, playing on the playground and of course the pillow bounce. Staff is really friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were nice and clean as well.
Sep 14, 2015
We had a great time and the staff were both friendly and helpful. So many activities and the campgrounds are just beautiful. We stayed in a Kabin by the river and it was amazing. We will definitely be back for another stay!
Sep 14, 2015
Lost my business! We have stayed twice before -wonderful. Come to Cherokee often. Very likely will stay someplace else from now on. Host that checked us in was extremely rude and unaccommodating. A campground Nazi. I was spending a ton of money for a cabin and a RV site. Her attitude was completely unsatisfactory. She should never be given any authority, and should never work in customer service.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals