Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
We had a blast during our short visit. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, as were the other guests. We stayed in the cheapest, most basic cabin, served our needs - beds were surprisingly comfortable. Kids had fun paddling in stream behind the cabin. We all enjoyed the tubing experiencing - great fun!
Aug 04, 2013
We stayed for 6 days in this place for the first time, we really love this place, it is very quiet family, very safe for children and with many different activities for the whole family, tubin in the river is fun and relaxing, camping sites are located very well, the only thing I could recommend is to be fix some of the pool area
Aug 03, 2013
we had a wonderful time staying there this year. the campsite was large and very clean.the fishing was great I caught my first limit! the people were very friendly. will be coming back next year if not before.
Aug 03, 2013
Wonderful stay but marred by ONE BAD THING - NO internet at the campsite as on previous stays. Very inconvenient not to have it available. We will be back but please fix it. Otherwise, I would give the KOA 5 stars and a 10 but for the inconvenience of having to cart the computer to the front area.
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Camp site not clean. The saling feature to this koa was the pool and pool amenities. The first day only pool was open and slide was being moved to other side... dead mouse at the pool on sidewalk, been dead a couple of days..Several staff walked by and didn't discard of it.outside staff not very friendly. Will not return to this camp...
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
One of the best times of my life. I've never been camping before, and I brought my fiancee, and two daughters with me. On day 3, we went to Swain County and got married, and spent our honeymoon at your campground, and decided to stay an extra day because it was so wonderful!!!
Aug 02, 2013
The Cherokee KOA is our most favorite vacation spot in the whole world. We will continue to visit it as long as we have breath & can travel. And in general, we believe that KOA is A-OK.
Aug 02, 2013
The staff was very accommodating, helping us with our issues at check in. The cabin was clean and stocked with pots/pans/utensils.Indoor and outdoor pool and hot tub was used several times. We were only disappointed that the pool slide was closed.
Aug 02, 2013
Very disappointed in the upkeep of the park. In the bath house only one shower worked, and one of the two toilets did not work. The WiFi never worked and the hot tub would not get hot. If I new of all the problems we would have stayed at another camp ground instead of paying a premium for "resort" camping. Going back to cherokee in the fall but would never stay here again.
Aug 01, 2013
Thank you KOA Staff. Your service was excellent. We loved our cabin, the food, the store, the pool, and most of all you.
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Overall good experience. BEWARE of tubing though unless you are fully prepared!!! That was AWFUL for our family!!!
Aug 01, 2013
The cabins are in poor condition. The window on one cabin was broken and boarded up. The other window's screen was duck taped in. The other cabin had a tarp on the roof. The floors of any of the cabins had not been sweep. There was cobwebs under the beds and benches in the cabin. There was a hornet's nest on the back of one of the cabins. Not a good stay.
Aug 01, 2013
I tell you the truth I like the potential for this campground. I have stayed here 3 times now it slowly gets worse and worse. They charge top dollar have tons of staff all standing around doing nothing. The trash is always full the pool deck is dirty etc. For instance there was a bottled starbucks coffee on pool deck on Friday guess what Sat afternoon that same bottle was setting right there.
Aug 01, 2013
We took our 9 yr old granddaughter to Cherokee to camp and see the outdoor drama. She loved everything. The campground has so much to entertain her day and night. We left the driving to the shuttle driver and enjoyed the ride to the drama. Thanks for a great memory.
Aug 01, 2013
Our stay was great and the people were super!!! The only thing I can say bad about his campground is the kiddie pool is so cold that my son couldn't play in it.
Jul 31, 2013
We took a tubing trip thru the campground on the river it was on. We asked if the river would be safe for our children 7 and 9 which they replied yes. We weren't on the river 5 minutes before we found ourselves in our first set of rapids and were quickly seperated from our girls. What was suppose to be a fun day tubing quickly turned into a rescue. This KOA was negligent with our childrens safety
Jul 31, 2013
I have been staying at this campground for about 10 years and I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!! Safe, fun, and wonderful staff.
Jul 31, 2013
LOVE IT!!!!!
Jul 31, 2013
Everything you need and never have to leave the campground.
Jul 31, 2013
This was my first stay at a KOA. Overall it was excellent. My biggest disappointment was the fact that wifi was advertised but non-existent. Sometimes I could get it if I was at the cafe but never in my cabin. I wish I would have known this before going. I probably would have stayed in a hotel.
Jul 31, 2013
The surroundings were beautiful, the campground staff was friendly and helpful and the facilities were great! It was our first stay at a KOA and definitely WON'T be our last!
Jul 31, 2013
No power or water at tent sites.
Jul 31, 2013
It was recommended to us and I have already told many others about our great time we had there.
Jul 30, 2013
we love this camp ground,but missed the slide in the swimming pool
Jul 30, 2013
Once again the Cherokee KOA met all my expectations. It is one of my favorite camping resorts.
Jul 30, 2013
It was great except the waterslide wasn't operational. My grandchildren were very very disapointed. Poor planning not to have it ready especially at the end of July. Discount should have been offered. Found out the new pool had just opened a week before we came. Lucky for us. The staff were great and friendly, especially to the kids. I would have given a 10 and 5 star if the slide was working
Jul 30, 2013
Cabin was great !! Wonderful view of the river and nice people but This koa needs an update! Wifi,hot tubs, water slide,and bikes all broken or did not work !! Huge let down koa!!
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
The last 3 times we have stayed here the cable TV is terrible, they work on it and its no better, for the price to stay at this camp ground I expect better.
Jul 30, 2013
No cell service which is not campground fault. CAble was horribly fuzzy was the same last October when we were there. internet did not work but very little. When you have no phone service I would think you would make it priority to make sure TV and internet works. Some of the staff were very friendly but one or two were not at all. not at all pleased about those people.
Jul 30, 2013
The site I stayed on was very muddy when wet causing me to have mud in my tent. The tent site directly behind me was fully grassed. I also lost a good bit of every day having to travel into town to use wi-fi because the wi-fi at the campsite was down. Having wi-fi was very important because I had to work on business. Other than that I was satisfied but these items were 2 big negatives.
Jul 30, 2013
I been staying at this KOA for a good 25 years and love this campground. I would recommend it to anyone. I recommend someone look into the bathroom cleaning. It was not up to your normal standards.
Jul 30, 2013
There was plenty for the whole family to do!
Jul 30, 2013
Great 3 night stay.
Jul 30, 2013
We loved this KOA!! Lynn in the office was awesome. She really went out of her way for us. We will be back.
Jul 30, 2013
We had a great time at the Cherokee NC Kao, but the tubing at the campground was scary. My 7 year old nealy drowned, The river was higher and faster than normal. No life jacket was provided and no life guards were present. Our camp site was very nice and oonvienant. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 30, 2013
The activities was great, we had a good time & would go back again. My negative thought is, I would fire the whole cleaning crew for the cabins and start with new ones who appreciate a job. The cabins had cobwebs that were years old, some abandoned and full of dust. I had to take the broom & clean the whole cabin-walls-ceiling-under & AROUND the beds of webs and spiders, before we settled in.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Overall our stay was very good except that you advertise wifi and yet it was either not working or VERY VERY slow. There was also no cell service for AT&T customers. Perhaps this should be noted on your website.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Was to stay 4 nites. Stayed only 2 nites,felt ill.Actually gave me credit for 2 nites !!!!!
Jul 29, 2013
Campground had a lot of activities. Disappointed the slide was not working but the kids had a lot of fun.
Jul 29, 2013
Great place, very clean, plenty to keep the kids occupied. Very happy with the deluxe cabin, better than I expected. Food at the pool concession was good. Everybody friendly. Only complaint, they need more small bikes for rent.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.