Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 04, 2015
Great
Aug 04, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay. Will definitely be back. Only complaints were the pool water was merky & the campground lost water for a while one evening.
Aug 04, 2015
We stayed with 5 grandchildren and they had a blast..didn't want to leave KOA to go anywhere else. We all had a wonderful time.
Aug 04, 2015
The area that the campgrounds is located are beautiful and all the staff were polite but there were too many cabins too close together which made for a lot of concentration of smoke.kids running wild in all of camp area.If a child is in the road there should be a parent with them at all times.
Aug 04, 2015
It really was awesome. We had the best time. Campsites are a little close but other than that it was a wonderful time. Very Clean.
Aug 04, 2015
Granddaughters, age 10 love it there, enjoy all the activities available. Rented a deluxe cabin this year instead of bringing our motorhome... Only a few concerns... silverware holder of dish drainer in kitchen is in desperate need of cleaning and sanitizing, bedroom needs a small ceiling fan or wall fan, spatula needed in kitchen. Otherwise, good, wholesome family fun is likely with every stay..
Aug 04, 2015
Great activities for the kids. pool was a little cloudy. snack bar says it stays open till 8pm but when we got in line at 740pm and waited till we reached the counter they said they stop serving at 745pm-very disturbing. cabin neighbors were sleeping outside on ground with trash all around them. no KOA employee approached them which was disturbing.
Aug 04, 2015
Biggest KOA I've ever seen! Great facility and very helpfull staff, especially someone named Miles who helped me when someone backed into my motorcycle at the registration parking lanes.
Aug 03, 2015
Best vacation ever!! Can't wait until November when we get to enjoy it again!!!
Aug 03, 2015
Would recommend it to anyone. Loved it.
Aug 03, 2015
we stayed here for a weekend trip to the mountains, the cabin was great and the staff was extremely friendly.
Aug 03, 2015
KOA has gone down hill, I have stayed there for almost every year for the past 25 years n this is the worse I have seen it. They ask enough money more then a nice hotel n at least they can do is clean the cabins n make sure light bulbs n fans work. Cob webs everywhere, I had to clean the cabin when I got there. Bathrooms discusting n run down. U make enough money to make these up keeps, bad mgnt
Aug 03, 2015
The cabin we stayed in (242) was in really bad shape. I expected more from KOA and the price tag . The campground was a 9, the cabin was a 3
Aug 03, 2015
Awesome place to camp with kids!
Aug 03, 2015
had a lot of fun stayed at campground with kids cause it was a moneysaver and so much for them to do they loved the movie nights but not having enough butter ordered for popcorn that they look forward to all day is inexcuseable. cabin great. bathhouses clean and nice. laundry wonderful. too many large rvs around the cabin areas tho there should be separation somewhat there but we loved our stay.
Aug 03, 2015
Pool was dirty. Screens on windwos ripped. Screen door wouldnt shut.. update .. fans not working properly . BATS IN CABIN.
Aug 03, 2015
It was to crowded and way over priced the cabin we stayed in had no air conditioner and the showers were horrible the water just cut off and no way to flush or anything. We could never take aa shower it was so crowded. After almost paying 100 dollars a night i could have gone to a motel and had a way better experience.I would not recommend this campground to anybody. I would not even give it a 1
Aug 03, 2015
The staff is so friendly and accommodating. Probably one of our best and most fun camping trips to date!
Aug 03, 2015
We always love coming here each year and staying at KOA as they offer lots of activities for the kids to enjoy and have fun doing.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
My husband and I have 2 children 8 and 3 years old. This was our first but definitely NOT our last time at the KOA in Cherokee. It was so much more than expected and plan on booking in the future! Our kids loved everything about it as did we! The cabins are adorable and cozy!
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
staff very rude, didn't want to accomodate our problems with hook-ups. In the past years when we have stayed there all of the staff was friendly must have all new staff because very rude and we will not be back at that KOA.
Aug 03, 2015
I have stayed with you guys for 16 years straight then I missed 3 years and I came back with my grandkids! They loved it and so did my wife and I, everyone was great and very helpful I had no problems with our stay.. We will be back thanks to all your employees and tell them thanks!!
Aug 03, 2015
Been coming here for three years as long as the prices stay reasonable we will continue to come back.
Aug 03, 2015
Our stay was great and most of the folks were very helpful when asked questions. I'd definitely like to go again.
Aug 03, 2015
Excellent campground! Very friendly and accommodating staff. We will be back soon.
Aug 03, 2015
Great as always, this is our third year tent camping the first of August. The upgrade on the bathhouse is very nice and clean. Felt more comfortable entering a remodeled bathhouse rather an old run-down bathhouse. See you next year in 2016.
Aug 03, 2015
The campground was clean and the staff did good job. However, the tent site backed up to a busy road and they are very close together. Therefore, the people beside us who chose to stay up until 3 am talking was the biggest issue we had. Not the campgrounds fault.
Aug 03, 2015
Great place to stay again - seemed to have something for all ages to do!
Aug 03, 2015
Very clean well taken care of . Great staff.
Aug 03, 2015
This is only the second KOA we have stay at. We usually stay at KOA East Asheville. The only thing I can think of that was missing in comparison is trash pick up. I know the dumpsters are made readily available at your location. It's just a nice perk to sit your trash out every morning and it is picked up.
Aug 03, 2015
Awesome campground!! My family will definitely be visiting again in the near future!!
Aug 02, 2015
Had an awesome time. Have been camping at this KOA for over 35 years, brought children, now grandchildren. A week is never long enough!
Aug 02, 2015
We love Cherokee and enjoy taking our grandchildren and there are so many activities. However, I must say it is time for a new slide. Several kids were getting hurt on it including my grandaughter. She had a bruised head and gash in her side. The bolts inside the slide are dangerous. I hope you get a safer slide in the near future. There were others saying the same thing.
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
This cabin was excellent. The best we've ever stayed in!
Aug 02, 2015
Had a lot of fun. Tubing and hiking was a good time
Aug 02, 2015
I think it is to expensive. I found a great campground in Pigeon Forge that is only 37.00 full hook up. 2 pools lazy river and many more amenities.When it rained everything flooded. Terrible drainage. Not as clean as they use to be. Womans bathroom smelled like urine. Probably want go back after finding this other campground in Tenn. It is futher away but we checked it out after we stayed at KOA.
Aug 02, 2015
We had a great time. We camped in a tent. The bath facilities were kept clean. There were multiple activities for my 3yo, and 5yo, and 8yo to do. I was impressed the snack/deli prices were not inflated. We will definitely return. Thanks! !
Aug 01, 2015
Love the deluxe cabins but very expensive.
Aug 01, 2015
We were impressed with the customer service and upkeep. Thanks so much. Go Summer Shiners!
Aug 01, 2015
A very nice campground convenient to the national park. Our site was level with a concrete pad, picnic table and fire ring. The staff was friendly, helpful and arranged for tours, activities, etc. Plenty of kid friendly activities in the park. Only negatives were poor wifi and a lack of hot water in the showers at certain times of the day.
Aug 01, 2015
Overall not a bad campground. We rented one of the nice cabins, but it was dirty with a lot of dust and dead flies on the shelves, top of frige, floor and food residue in the microwave. Gas grill was extremely nasty and in poor condition. The supplied cookware was beyond worn out.
Aug 01, 2015
Staff very rude. Mold present in bathrooms. Staff accused my mother and husband of being liars. Staff put out our fire at 10:30 am when checkout time was 11am.
Aug 01, 2015
There was dredging outside our cabin on pond very noisy in the morning . Porch cabin very dirty cobwebs all over front porch. Shower heads slow water not enough pressure and not very clean.needs more through cleaning walls and corners showers.
Aug 01, 2015
Love the campground but prices have really gone up since I started staying there many years ago.
Aug 01, 2015
The Cabin had holes in the screens and a problem with bugs, when I asked them to repair and spray,maintenance man was very negative & stated it would be awhile before it could be fixed. There was insufficient parking near our cabin due to a huge trailer parked out front. Management said they would have the trailer moved, but that didn't happen. A staff was rude to our grandson with special needs.
Aug 01, 2015
Aug 01, 2015
campsite across from store, supposed to be pull through, but has parking spaces for store in front of it. Store is severly understaffed and poorly managed. One line for store purchases and checkin with the exception of one young lady staff is extremely slow. All this adds to parking confusion in front of store. Employees directing traffic in lot didn't have a clue what they were doing.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps