Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 24, 2014
Our family has been staying at this campground for 25+ years and this was not the best stay. Staff were very rude to us and our kids. Bathhouses were extremely nasty from day one. Indoor pool hours were terrible. They were not accommodating at all. Hate to say it after all these years but they have permanently lost my business along with my relatives.
Apr 24, 2014
Stay was great. Recommend cabins have door mat when it rains and the children liked the old bounce pillow best.
Apr 24, 2014
We were unsatisfied with the bike rental, last year you were able to rent for a day, 1 hr is not long enough. The pool closing at 6 is inconvenient,people like swimming in the evening after dinner, the manager was extremely rude when he told us to leave the pool. You advertise the wifi and cable but we were unable to get either. When we stopped a maintenance man he wouldn't even try to fix it.
Apr 23, 2014
We paid $75.00/night and had no wifi or cable tv. When we complained, we were told the system was too old to handle all the campers and kids on their cell phone. This is supposed to be a kid friendly campground. It is unacceptable not to have wifi and tv and those prices. Also, the lady on the front desk was very rude and acted like we had no right to complain. Will not be coming back anytime soon
Apr 23, 2014
No WIFI, Cable, Or Cell Service I did not like it at all! The Stuff was very nice!
Apr 23, 2014
We had a great stay. one I have is that one of the ladies at the front desk was extremely rude to everyone. I noticed it was with other people as well, not just us. So evidently she is just a miserable person!It just didn't feel as welcoming as it has in the past!!
Apr 22, 2014
We have camped here several times a year for several years but unfortunately this will be our last due to rude new management and rude staff. We were greeted rudely and staff told us hatefully about new rules of the campground. Cable and WIFI was nonexistent but we paided for it. Easter events poorly run, and woman running it was rude to children. Staff ?ing kids over stolen bike without parents.
Apr 22, 2014
Wonderful staff. Go above and beyond! Cabin was nice and clean.
Apr 22, 2014
Very disappointed there was no service on Easter. Some staff was friendly didn't seem like they know their jobs. Different than previous years. Have benn going Easter weekend for 7 years with family propabaly won't go back next year. Will try another one.
Apr 22, 2014
The campground is excellent for families with children. I have stayed at this location many times over the past 20 years. It has always been great until recently. We have had trouble with security on more than once. We also were quoted one price but then charged another due to holiday rates not being applied properly. I would rate the highest if you would resolve the security and training.
Apr 22, 2014
For $65/night I was very disappointed. Website said Wifi & cable TV...no wifi at site. After camper setup found out cable box was broken...ran a cable over to next site and rec'd a few channels snowy. Road inside the campground had big potholes. Was glad to see a small fenced area for dogs, but trash can was full of dog poop when we got there & 3 days later, still full. Too expensive for this!
Apr 22, 2014
I love the campground and its amenities. I have to say however that on previous stays the restrooms as well as the pool have been cleaner. On this particular stay in April the indoor pool was cloudy, smelled bad, and because of these things it was not particularly inviting.
Apr 22, 2014
I have stayed at this KOA 5 times total but this was my least enjoyable experience so far. When I made the reservation I was told that we would have a loft on the river and once we got to the campsite we had bunk beds. There were also ants in the cabin. When I mentioned the issues with the staff upon checking out the next morning nothing was said or done about the issue. Also pool didn't open at 9
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
Loved it!! Will be back soon!
Apr 21, 2014
The amenities were great. Jumping pillows, indoor pool, and bikes. Wonderful store, well stocked. Staff were so nice and accommodating to small children. We had an issue with a tree limb and it was handled immediately. Streams everywhere for the fishermen!!!Close to town and the Smoky Mtn park. No wifi or Cable for TV though. On cold nights with kids that was rough!
Apr 21, 2014
Kids had a blast! They loved the jump pillow, indoor pool, and over sized chess board. Wish it was warmer so that they could have used the outdoor pool. KOA is situated between the mountains. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean restrooms.
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
Need to do something about the camp site flooding.
Apr 21, 2014
We have stayed at this KOA numerous times, always had an excellent time, never had one complaint, this time was far different, first night our basketball and bag of toys were taken and second night my daughters brand new bike was stolen. You would have thought security would have at least been apologetic, but that wasn't the case at all. Lastly the women's bath house in the back area was not clean
Apr 21, 2014
Friendly staff, kids loved the activities.
Apr 21, 2014
This KOA is family friendly and possesses all of the amenities listed and is well maintained. Our family enjoyed our stay and will be returning again soon.
Apr 21, 2014
Nice campground with friendly staff. Have stayed there twice now. Only complaint is that both times, the pool and hot tub were pretty dirty and both times little kids were at the pool without their parents. Don't have to tell you what kids do in pools.
Apr 21, 2014
we had a great stay...it was not the best of weather..but the staff, campground, activities, and ammenities were wonderful
Apr 21, 2014
We have been to several KOA campgrounds and this one was by far our favorite. The jumping pillow was a hit with the kids.
Apr 21, 2014
we really enjoy staying at this koa because it has so much to do. never bored. we love it.
Apr 20, 2014
Nice family campground
Apr 20, 2014
I paid extra to stay in a cabin with a bathroom, WiFi, and cable. The bathroom floor was weak and spongy, the toilet rocked and leaked making it very difficult to sleep and the shower had to be the worst ever there was almost no water coming out of it, impossible to bathe in. WiFi didn't exist in the cabin you had to go down to the office or into town to Hardee's. The TV had one snowy channel.
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 19, 2014
If you enjoy camping and trout fishing this is the place for you! It's a great place to relax in the mountains next to the river, read a good book, ride a bike or walk your dog to the trout ponds and see if they're biting! Anytime we can get away from the daily rat race is a good day for our family! If you must have wifi and cable tv to be happy you may be disappointed.
Apr 19, 2014
Apr 19, 2014
Its hard to rate because I got there when extreme weather hit...snowing in April?! Plus raining so we only got to try out the indoor swimming pool. Friendly staff and excellent kabins. The only thing was that my kabin (223) wasn't as private as the others. 222 could sit on their porch and watch us....didn't care for that.
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 17, 2014
We really enjoy camping at the Cherokee KOA and we have been coming for years. The reception on the TV for Cable is blurry. A little updating would be great.
Apr 17, 2014
Apr 17, 2014
Staff was friendly and helpful. Facilities were nice. We loved it and are planning another visit to this KOA.
Apr 17, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful stay
Apr 17, 2014
Great location! Committed staff!
Apr 16, 2014
Our deluxe cabin was in great location and very suitable for our needs.It has been several years since we have stayed here and although the campground is old, it does seem to still be very popular. New management seems to be addressing the needed concerns. Will be glad when cable service is installed. There are no available channels with reception at the moment.Grills at sites need cleaning.
Apr 16, 2014
The office/ store was closed @ 1800 when they should be open to accommodate late arrivals plus the needs of the campers, such as firewood ect... Instead we had to take an hour long round trip into town for firewood
Apr 16, 2014
Apr 15, 2014
We loved the cabin it was very clean. The tv reception was terrible.
Apr 15, 2014
Great
Apr 14, 2014
Very friendly staff. Enjoyed my stay, it just wasn't long enough. Good time!
Apr 13, 2014
Antiquated cable, wifi, water and electrical. Many things have been let go and run down
Apr 13, 2014
Apr 13, 2014
The park was a little hard to get to.
Apr 13, 2014
the only problem we had was that we had a late scheduled arrival but when we arrived we had a hard time with anyone finding the key to our cabin since the office closed at 6pm.
Apr 12, 2014
Very clean cabin, just had a "cat urine" smell which was not so pleasant.
Apr 12, 2014
No tv. Roads need repairing. Appearance has deterioated since our last stay.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.