Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 02, 2015
Love this place. Some staff can be a little smart. But not to the point we wouldn't come back. Have stayed many times.
Oct 02, 2015
the staff goes beyond helpful and friendly!! We look forward to coming back again next year!!
Oct 02, 2015
Nice place to stay. Need more direction signs. Grill was only open on the weekends so we had to drive to eat. Water pressure needs kicked up a bunch.Staff was excellent. A special thanks to Thomas.Took care of all of our needs.Would like to come back when the weather was better. All in all, a great stay
Oct 01, 2015
Very nice campground with lots to do without leaving the park. I was a little disappointed about the ponds being drained and generators running all day to power the indoor pool but the campground had no control over these two things. The tribe has to approve the repairs to the power lines for the pool and the tribe drained the ponds for repair.
Oct 01, 2015
Close to GSM NP without being over-crowded. Only about a 5-10 minute drive to the closest NP visitor's center. This KOA has a lot do do for kids and the hosts are very friendly. The showers and bathrooms were VERY CLEAN.
Sep 30, 2015
Cabin was clean and perfect for our stay. We will be back soon.
Sep 29, 2015
This is a very nice facility - one of the nicest KOAs that we have stayed at. The campers beside us were very loud and did not observe the quite hours. It was a disappointment.
Sep 29, 2015
WiFi access is too spotty. Not very good by the river, where we located. Some employees were harsh mannered to the kids on the bounce pad.
Sep 29, 2015
Love it! Have been going every fall for years!
Sep 29, 2015
Sep 29, 2015
Had a wonderful time with my family. Very clean. Nice employees!
Sep 29, 2015
Could have used heat in the Kabin, but I knew that before I went.
Sep 28, 2015
Reserved two deluxe cabins for my family to celebrate my son's 30th birthday. Perfect place for family together time. Time around the campfire on Sat night was priceless!
Sep 28, 2015
The staff was not friendly and we felt they could have been more light Harty. This caused all three families to feel as though the staff could care less if we stayed there are not. They were about rules with no care of the joy of the camper. After I found out that several of them were married and lived on site,well that made sense. They are taking their job for granted. Very sad.
Sep 28, 2015
Our refrigerator leaked and our shower was clogged. These issues were quickly addressed. We were in a studio and it would have been very helpful to have had a dish pan to use as our only sink was in the bathroom. All of those that helped us were efficient and kind.
Sep 28, 2015
Excellent vacation campground. Clean, well kept and near many fun activities.
Sep 28, 2015
Had a one year old with us. We had stayed there before. We were assigned what looked like one of a very few cabins with no front yard and about a 15 foot drop to river. We had to hold her or strap in stroller and she cried a lot. Neighbors noticed. Asked to move. They said they were full. I looked every few hours.there were open cabins. Seemed not to care.
Sep 28, 2015
Loved our stay. The only thing was we were told we were on the river. I didn't consider our site on the river. I was hoping to sit outside and hear the water. It was more like a ditch with very little water. I was disappointed thinking we were on the river that flowed and so were our friends that had the site next to us. Other than that we enjoyed our stay.
Sep 28, 2015
We had a great time and the facilities were very nice, bathhouses very clean. However, I have never been treated so poorly as I was by a staff member. There is no reason for staff to argue and yell across pool deck at anyone for any reason. We will not be back to this location again! Depending on how KOA handles this, we may not be back to another KOA! Lets see if this really matters.....
Sep 28, 2015
Very clean and staff was extremely friendly. We had a great time!
Sep 28, 2015
Near the road for tent but night is very quiet
Sep 28, 2015
OUR STAY WAS SUPER!! MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THE BATH HOUSE TOILETS DIDNT FLUSH PROPERLY, AND THERE WAS NOT GOOD VENTILATION IN THE WOMENS RESTROOM. THE HOT WATER INSIDE THE BATH HOUSE COULD HAVE BEEN A LITTLE ON THE HOTTER SIDE, BUT WAS LIVABLE....OTHERWISE, EXCELLENT STAY, EXCELLENT STAFF AND SUPER ACCOMODATING!
Sep 28, 2015
Beautiful campground, very nice and clean bathrooms and showers and the staff is so friendly and helpful.
Sep 28, 2015
Some of the showers did not work and when making the reservation, I tried to make it on the phone and the people there were not knowledgeable about the cabin that we wanted. They knew all about the cabins all except the one we wanted. I ended up making my reservation on line then calling to check to make sure I had the correct thing. Otherwise everyone were friendly and everything else was great.
Sep 28, 2015
Nice campground. Stayed in one of the small lodges. The bed was way too soft and I doubt the mattress has ever been flipped. This dishes and flatware were dirty. The gas canister for the grill was empty. The shower curtain was too short for the shower stall. Nice little cabin, but a little underwhelmed by the lack of preparation the staff did to the cabin before my stay.
Sep 28, 2015
Very clean campground! The bathrooms were the cleanest bathrooms I have seen in a campground. Plenty of activities for the family. We never even left the campground the whole time
Sep 28, 2015
Sep 28, 2015
Kinda dirty looking and run down compared to the last few times I have stayed here
Sep 27, 2015
Sep 27, 2015
Very well satisfied with the koa employees they were very helpfull and nice.the only drawback was the trout ponds was closed. Even with that the main reason was to spend time as a family before my son goes to basic and that was a success .thank you
Sep 27, 2015
Nicest people you will ever meet!
Sep 25, 2015
My husband and I stayed at the deluxe cabins on the river with our daughters (6 and 4). Even though it was off season our girls had a great time riding their bikes throughout the campgrounds, jumping on the pillow bouncer and swimming in the outdoor and indoor pools. Staff was very friendly; the cabins were just what we expected and more....bring your K-cups they actually have a keurig!
Sep 25, 2015
The setting was beautiful. Very clean. It was really just the staff. From the check in lady to the guys who showed you to your site, they were all crabby. Didn't seem to like their jobs and in some cases we're a little rude.
Sep 24, 2015
Good place to stay. My neighbors had some issues with my dogs barking, they contacted the office. The office attempted to contact me but called my home number instead of my cell phone. Will probably ask for a more secluded area next time. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Sep 24, 2015
your campground was centrally located to everything we wanted to see, the bath house was clean and the cabin was cozy. other than the green fire wood we were sold (which we were compensated for) everything was great. We will be back as I have been for 20 years now. Thanks, The Palmer Family.
Sep 24, 2015
Campground was in good shape, facilities were clean and maintained. Staff were friendly and helpful though they were very busy.
Sep 24, 2015
It was a very quiet & clean place to stay. Everyone was very helpful.
Sep 24, 2015
ponds near tent camping were drained and the mosquitos were terrible. I guess nothing could be done about it.
Sep 23, 2015
Lots of activities for children. Great location near the entrance of Smoky Mtn. NP. However, attempting to charge early check in fee is ridiculous. First time I have ever experienced that and I was just in DC the week before and checked into a hotel early with NO fee. And that was downtown DC, Mayflower Hotel. Overall great park though. Keep up the great work!
Sep 23, 2015
The stay was fine except for the number of camp fires and the out of control children. If anyone had asthma they would have had to go to the ER the air was so badf from all the camp fires. Mnay burned over night while the occupants were sleeping. Some very small children played in the street with no adult supervision.
Sep 23, 2015
wish we were still there!!!!!!!!!
Sep 22, 2015
If you are having customer appreciation weekend and the campground is not full why the early check in fee? When men who have took off work to come they get excited about the fishing part of weekend. Yes, they are ready to fish. Campground was not full or crowded and site was empty. I understand early check-in rule in summer but in fall. That is great customer service, for sure.
Sep 22, 2015
Not what I booked through the 800# which made me rather mad, cabin smelled funky, walnuts droping on cars, no place to sit or park where we were put. told there was a shuttle to cascino, food was closed, ect.
Sep 22, 2015
Clean, nice employees, beautiful surroundings, very close to many of the things we really wanted to do. Had such a great time in the Smokies! Planning on another trip next year!
Sep 22, 2015
Had a great time, campground and staff are awesome. Cant wait to book another trip.
Sep 22, 2015
great park, lot of activities, very friendly staff
Sep 22, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
Fantastic! Super fun place and really great staff.
Sep 21, 2015
I ENJOY GOING TO KOA CHEROKEE NC,THEY HAVE CHANGED ALOT OVER THE LAST 25 YRS THAT WE BEEN GOING THERE,,, SOME OF THE OLD WAYS ARE BETTER,,, IT SEEM THAT EVERY THING COST MORE,, I LIKED THE HAY RIDES AND ICE CREAM SUNDAY,,,, I WOULD LIKE TO COME BACK,,, WE TYE DYE THIS WEEKEND IT WAS FUN ROBIN AND LISA WAS GOOD, MY GRANDAUGHTER AND I ENJOYED IT,MY CABIN NEEDS SOME SPOONS,THANK YOU TAMARA WENDT
Sep 21, 2015
very busy weekend but staff handled it well. hot tubs out of order not a good thing. generally grounds not maintained, grass needed cut. being the BOGO weekend you would think they would spruce it up and it was not.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals