Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2016
My stay was good....but I thought the prices for the nightly stay was a little high for the area where this KOA is located.
Aug 08, 2016
We always have a great time at this KOA. Just wish the wifi was stronger and there was cell service.
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
we were up for the talking tree trout tournament for the children, however; your facility had ALL the entertainment we needed without having to go anywhere. Our stay there was enjoyed by all and fun to see the kids making and exchanging address with new friends. Definitely will be back to visit, THANK YOU and your staff for a well enjoyed week.
Aug 08, 2016
We had a great time at this KOA. The staff was friendly and helpful. Close to everything we wanted to do and lots to do right at the campsite. Tubing was fun and they take you up to the start point. They even had a group of youth lead a worship service Sunday morning.
Aug 08, 2016
The worst thing was the wifi, which was basically non-existent. The only time any of us could log on was after midnight and before 6am and then you had to keep entering the password many times
Aug 08, 2016
Beautiful area. Lots to do. Bath houses pretty tired.
Aug 08, 2016
We have been here before and LOVE IT!
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
Loved everything about this campground. Will definately visit again
Aug 08, 2016
My kids absolutely loved this vacation! They want to come back every year.
Aug 08, 2016
We had a really great time staying at Koa! We will definitely come back. The only problem I had was the security at the gate was not secure. Half the time there was nobody there and anybody could just come in! Not feeling safe for the children.
Aug 08, 2016
We paid extra to stay in a cabin that had A/C and a bathroom with a shower. Our shower was unusable due to the fact there was only one temperature from the faucet, scalding hot! I notified the office upon discovering this and nothing was attempted by the staff to remedy the situation. Additionally, I again notified the staff of the issue upon checkout, and still no resolve. Poor customer service.
Aug 08, 2016
Great Time!
Aug 08, 2016
A little on the expensive side. The camp store was poorly stocked.
Aug 08, 2016
We have stayed several times this summer at this KOA and loved it. This time was different. I am not sure if there was a lack of help since the summer is coming to an end but the bathrooms where not as clean, there were problems with a few of the showers, they ran out of certain food at the camp grill, the game room was out of order and a few other things. We were disappointed to say the least.
Aug 08, 2016
Hands down the best campground that I've been to this year. Great grounds & staff was amazing. I will be coming back again in the near future
Aug 08, 2016
We love this campground. Second time staying in less than a month. River is beautiful, paved sites are lovely. Plenty of activities for the children, the KOA employees are always helpful. Clean and at a great location, just a few miles from downtown.
Aug 08, 2016
We had a great time at KOA the kids love to come there the bouncy outfront was too hot for me to bounce we had a great time at KOA the kids love to come there the bouncy outfront was too hot for kids to bounce on had to at night
Aug 08, 2016
Love how friendly everyone and staff members are.
Aug 08, 2016
Great place to be and will be back soon. Very clean campground and friendly
Aug 08, 2016
Clean restrooms, friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
Great time
Aug 08, 2016
Amazing
Aug 08, 2016
My family and I had a great time. The only issue I had was the cleanliness of the bathhouse. We had lots of fun and loved how the campground had so much to do for the kiddos!!! Thanks for a great time!
Aug 08, 2016
restrooms are not clean. information for recreation is very poor.
Aug 08, 2016
We stayed in cabin, so the cabin itself was hot. The fan was not working, so we ended opening the doors all night. The freshener smells bad. I highly would not recommend anyone to stay in cabins.
Aug 08, 2016
KOA campground as a whole is great. My only complaint is the water pressure in the showers. I understand trying to save water, but, when you pay money to stay you want a good shower.
Aug 07, 2016
Cherokee is fantastic. The campground is pristine and the staff are so nice and helpful. We love going there. The mountains are beautiful. My only suggestion would be to extend the café to provide for food options and more of it. It would be so convenient to have a more full service restaurant. We love it and keep coming back.
Aug 07, 2016
Laura was very nice
Aug 07, 2016
We had a wonderful stay. Unfortunately we stayed during the hottest week of summer. We were staying in Cabin K60 and roasted. I asked if a small AC could be rented but was told no. These cabins are great for those on a budget but during the summer they really need AC units.
Aug 07, 2016
Poor Internet connection, Near kabin K-307, kids were making noise past mid-night so it create disturbance.
Aug 07, 2016
Aug 07, 2016
Hi Rich,,, I stayed in site 118 as you WELL know of my problem with your RUDE employee, you know who HE is. I have stayed in many KOA,s and sad to say yours was the worst. Activity leaders a total shambles, snack bar teen was not focused was like she was in a play ground scene. Do end, I recommend you clean house , before you get a law suit. Oh, by the way I am a Lawyer. Koa corp. Will hear mor
Aug 06, 2016
No WI-FI our entire stay No shower heads in back shower Front shower had been updated but onky 2 showers septic was awful, talked with maintenence and he joked "Guess you guys are full of s---" and left! Had to leave it closed and just empty holding tank. We paid for this service and was not able to use the service!
Aug 06, 2016
Have stayed here several times. Seems like we are paying more for less service. Actually was given a flooded site to stay at and it took our escorted to suggest going back to office and request a different site. Needed to pay an upcharge for the only non flooded sites were concrete and we paid for asphalt. Also need to bring garbage to dumpster yourself - what are all the fees for?
Aug 06, 2016
we loved our stay at KOA. Our family gets together there for reunions as much as we can. our goal is to get together at KOA every year.
Aug 06, 2016
Thank you Joann, Michele, Tammy, Crash, Manita, Shawn and all the ladies and gentelmen in the office and grounds for the Best Vacation Ever! We loved it at the Cherokee Koa from the people to the activities. We can't wait to go back. Prices were great along with the employees. Please take the time to go to this wonderful KOA! Also, the Summer Shiners were a Great addition to the KOA!
Aug 06, 2016
This is our families favorite campground! we enjoy the tubing, shopping, checkers, and the local sites!
Aug 06, 2016
This is a great KOA! Unfortunately our rude neighbors were loud until 3 a.m. Otherwise a good place for family fun!
Aug 06, 2016
As always we enjoyed our stay. We tried to stay another night but you all were booked. The bathrooms and showers could use some maintenance. Shower heads missing, screws keeping doors from closing and blown light bulbs. Water pressure weak. We had an issue with ants even though we kept our place clean and trash taken to dumpster. Love the peaceful serene campground.
Aug 05, 2016
I would appreciate it if your manager or customer relations rep would call me at 321-433-3501 or 321543-3317. Our stay was a 10 but had a horrible encounter with one of your checking personnel. I was in tears. We have been coming there for at least 15 yrs and I have never been treated in that way. short blonde hair about 50 's
Aug 05, 2016
Tubing was fun and the staff was very nice and helpful. Loved the Campfire Grill!
Aug 05, 2016
Shuttle bus drivers good . Front office personnel good Recreation office clerk rude and not open to answer a question!
Aug 05, 2016
Campground was very clean but some of the store employees were rude and unknowledgebale.
Aug 05, 2016
The Staff was extremely friendly and helpful
Aug 04, 2016
We had a great stay at Koa. The river site 229 was great. Ready to come back. The kids loved it.
Aug 04, 2016
Had three grandkids along and they had a great time. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Could use some road work in the campground though.
Aug 04, 2016
Great Place, we love all the activities and fun options. Stayed in Basic Cabin. Few suggests- need to spray for spiders-they were all over the roofing and webs in bunk beds underneath and all around them! Had to clean with broom. Maybe use flashlight to look and clean around them. Need a mirror in bathhouse or shower areas or cabins.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award