Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 26, 2015
awesome time
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Great time!!
May 26, 2015
We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We had never been to your campground and was not sure what to expect. It was very clean and I felt very safe with visible security and other employees present. Thanks for a wonderful stay and we will come back
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Absolutely loved the campground. The only negative part was our noisy neighbors that kept us up past midnight partying.
May 26, 2015
We stayed in a studio cabin and loved every minute of it! Perfectly clean and maintained. We already made our reservations for next time!
May 26, 2015
I would either invest in Internet wireless or eliminate it. Currently it's there but poor and not usable. You are prob doing more harm then good to customer service. I would recommend partnering w a vendor and charging a daily fee like hotels do. Not sure how it would be received. Personally I would pay for it just like it paid $20 for my kcups! We had a blast and will definitely be back. Thank u
May 26, 2015
Love this place. Everything great but could use to upgrade wifi. Signal very weak
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
We love the Cherokee KOA. The lay out is awesome. Great sites. Great family campground. The wifi is terrible though - really bad. You need boosters throughout the campground. And, we were slightly shocked at the holiday pricing. That was a big disappointment. And, your office staff werent as friendly and helpful as we have encountered in the past.
May 26, 2015
Overall the campground was ok and the staff were great. The only complaint I have is our site #56 was considered a premium back-in site. We shared it with a chain-link wood storage shed making it to narrow that we could not open the emergency exit window because of a tree on one side and could not open the awning on the other side because of the chain-link fence. It was definitely over priced.
May 26, 2015
upgrade the bath houses
May 26, 2015
It was great. Friendly staff and well kept campground. Would definatetly stay here again.
May 26, 2015
I could not get anyone to fix my cabin screen door (screen was torn open when I got there May 22, cabin 60). I told some in maintenance and at the front desk everyday. Bugs were getting in and I tore one of my shirts on exposed nails. I was not able to leave my door open for a good draft so I was disappointed about that. I saw so many staff members mostly socializing and having fun all weekend.
May 26, 2015
We had a great stay this weekend at KOA in Cherokee NC , the cabin was very nice and the staff were great ! We cant wait to come visit again very soon!
May 26, 2015
AMAZING!
May 26, 2015
Where do I even start??? My girls (ages 7, 9, and 12) had a ball and did NOT want to leave! On the way home they asked if we could go back his summer for a week...and today...they asked to stay a month! At first It felt a little crowded but by the next morning we'd made friends with our neighhbors! They loved the jumping pillow, the pool, the bikes, the store, the creek! WE CANT WAIT TO GO BACK!!
May 26, 2015
Amazing staff. Had the best weekend with the kids. JoAnn is an absolute gem.... Treated us like old friends. Also Terri was super nice and helpful. Everyone in office and store was polite and helpful. Tons of kids stuff. Our cabin was nice. Cannot wait to go back.
May 26, 2015
Fantastic place. Great staf very helpful. The only drw back was on a holiday weekend there was no way to connect to web or email due to high ill of campground possibly to improve bump up wi-fi speed. Great stay though.
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Very good staff and clean campground. Recommend on holidays that security is posted all night for children's sake. What good is it policing the gate during the day when you don't donit at night.
May 26, 2015
This was our first visit with our fifthwheel. The campground was fabulous and he staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be staying again soon.
May 26, 2015
Had an absolutely wonderful time! I can't wait to return!
May 26, 2015
Pleasantly surprised over the quietness and peace. Staff was excellent.
May 26, 2015
Wonderful time staff was excellent
May 26, 2015
The front desk employees is the reason we keep coming back-especially Jill!!
May 26, 2015
Reserved and paid for a pull threw, when arrived received a standard site. No water pressure. No or limited river access if camp site was not on the river. Over priced. The KOA river tubing was excellent. Bath house good. Camping store great.
May 26, 2015
Friendly staff and great campground!
May 26, 2015
We had a great time. Nice amenities
May 26, 2015
It was good i will take my camper next time but cabin was fun to .parking was tight at cabin
May 26, 2015
Everytime we come to Cherokee, we camp at KOA.. We love it and always enjoy our time here. Would of gave it a 5 star but I didn't get the cabin I requested and the person who helped me didn't even apologize for that. He just said they were suppose to call me which I never did receive one. We wanted a cabin closer to the pool but instead got one all the way to the back of the campsite.
May 26, 2015
loved that they accommodated my disabled sister by assigning us a cabin by the restrooms! Not happy Sun when tried rent putt putt clubs & girl never gave to office day before. overall good!
May 26, 2015
We loved staying here! There is so much for kids to so!
May 26, 2015
This is a beautiful campground and well maintained with friendly and helpful employees. Highly recommend it, we have stayed two times and will come back again
May 26, 2015
Campground was very clean. All the staff was courtious and very helpful
May 26, 2015
May 25, 2015
Very friendly staff!
May 25, 2015
I know it was not your fault but highly disappointed with the Cherokee hatchery for poorly stocking the ponds and streams for a tournament lots of folks were complaining about the trout fishing....they put less trout than a regular stocking.
May 25, 2015
Very disappointed in our site. Little grass next to bathhouse. When weekend began we lost all but a picnic tables space that was overtaken by other campers, because our fire ring was closer to their site than ours, we also lost that. Wifi was very, very poor over weekend.
May 25, 2015
Had a great stay. Everything was clean and the staff were very helpful. Will be back soon. Thank you for a great weekend.
May 24, 2015
May 23, 2015
had great mothers day.atendanys very helpfull
May 23, 2015
Fantastic--another wonderful stay..see you in November!
May 22, 2015
I found the campgrounds to be very nice and well cared for. The staff were all great! They went out of their way to help. The one fault is in the WIFI hook up. Most of the time I couldn't hook up and when I did finally get on I was knocked off. This is the same prob. at other KOA sites I've stayed at. The system is 15 years behind the time and needs updating. I just use it for e-mail.
May 20, 2015
Our stay was absolutely amazing with beautiful views if the river. We continue to return to this place. Our 6th or 7th time. Exceeds expectations each time.
May 20, 2015
We had a great time. The staff where friendly and helpfu! The only downside was that we couldn't stay longer! We will be visiting again later this year to see the leaves changing and have decided to choose this KOA again !
May 19, 2015
Concrete pad sites need to be blown off prior to arrival. Prices are on the high side and golf cart rentals could be lower.
May 18, 2015
It was great. The people were very nice and the cabin was great. The only problem was that the bathroom floor and shower were not very clean. I had to clean them again before we used them. There was hair on the floor and you could see a ring around the lower shower wall. Other than that it was great.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.