Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 31, 2013
No power or water at tent sites.
Jul 31, 2013
It was recommended to us and I have already told many others about our great time we had there.
Jul 30, 2013
we love this camp ground,but missed the slide in the swimming pool
Jul 30, 2013
Once again the Cherokee KOA met all my expectations. It is one of my favorite camping resorts.
Jul 30, 2013
It was great except the waterslide wasn't operational. My grandchildren were very very disapointed. Poor planning not to have it ready especially at the end of July. Discount should have been offered. Found out the new pool had just opened a week before we came. Lucky for us. The staff were great and friendly, especially to the kids. I would have given a 10 and 5 star if the slide was working
Jul 30, 2013
Cabin was great !! Wonderful view of the river and nice people but This koa needs an update! Wifi,hot tubs, water slide,and bikes all broken or did not work !! Huge let down koa!!
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
The last 3 times we have stayed here the cable TV is terrible, they work on it and its no better, for the price to stay at this camp ground I expect better.
Jul 30, 2013
No cell service which is not campground fault. CAble was horribly fuzzy was the same last October when we were there. internet did not work but very little. When you have no phone service I would think you would make it priority to make sure TV and internet works. Some of the staff were very friendly but one or two were not at all. not at all pleased about those people.
Jul 30, 2013
The site I stayed on was very muddy when wet causing me to have mud in my tent. The tent site directly behind me was fully grassed. I also lost a good bit of every day having to travel into town to use wi-fi because the wi-fi at the campsite was down. Having wi-fi was very important because I had to work on business. Other than that I was satisfied but these items were 2 big negatives.
Jul 30, 2013
I been staying at this KOA for a good 25 years and love this campground. I would recommend it to anyone. I recommend someone look into the bathroom cleaning. It was not up to your normal standards.
Jul 30, 2013
There was plenty for the whole family to do!
Jul 30, 2013
Great 3 night stay.
Jul 30, 2013
We loved this KOA!! Lynn in the office was awesome. She really went out of her way for us. We will be back.
Jul 30, 2013
We had a great time at the Cherokee NC Kao, but the tubing at the campground was scary. My 7 year old nealy drowned, The river was higher and faster than normal. No life jacket was provided and no life guards were present. Our camp site was very nice and oonvienant. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 30, 2013
The activities was great, we had a good time & would go back again. My negative thought is, I would fire the whole cleaning crew for the cabins and start with new ones who appreciate a job. The cabins had cobwebs that were years old, some abandoned and full of dust. I had to take the broom & clean the whole cabin-walls-ceiling-under & AROUND the beds of webs and spiders, before we settled in.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Overall our stay was very good except that you advertise wifi and yet it was either not working or VERY VERY slow. There was also no cell service for AT&T customers. Perhaps this should be noted on your website.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Was to stay 4 nites. Stayed only 2 nites,felt ill.Actually gave me credit for 2 nites !!!!!
Jul 29, 2013
Campground had a lot of activities. Disappointed the slide was not working but the kids had a lot of fun.
Jul 29, 2013
Great place, very clean, plenty to keep the kids occupied. Very happy with the deluxe cabin, better than I expected. Food at the pool concession was good. Everybody friendly. Only complaint, they need more small bikes for rent.
Jul 29, 2013
Employees were friendly but overall follow through was poor. 13 of 17 banana bikes broken; Wi-fi codes requested...never printed off; outdoor slide inop; 1 of 2 urinals inop; large bowel movement not removed from toilet for 2 days! Bathroom itself was clean. Beautiful setting. This campground has alot to offer but needs to step it up. Consequently, we will be trying another area campground.
Jul 29, 2013
We just love staying at the Cherokee KOA. It is a beautiful camp ground in a great location with so much to do. We always stay in a kamping kabin because it is so cozy and the grandchildren love it and all the activities there. The employees are friendly too and keep the camp ground clean and beautiful. Can't wait til we can come back. I tell everyone about this campground.
Jul 29, 2013
After reading the recent reviews, we were very hesitant to keep our reservation. The reasons we didn't give it 5 stars were because in 2 cabins (we moved when the screens were all ripped), the new cabin also had a ripped screen. We weren't aware we wouldn't have ac, but were pleased to find we didn't need it. The staff was helpful, and with attention to a few details, would be worthy of 5 stars.
Jul 29, 2013
Great time as the entire family had a blast! The fishing was awesome and the kids really enjoyed tubing the river and hanging out in the pool! Definitely will be back next year!
Jul 29, 2013
Overall a fun place to go and stay. I think the pool area both indoor and and out door need some tender loving care( a bit run down)
Jul 29, 2013
Your koa is a bit confusing and tight to navigate with big rigs and towing - it would be helpful if you had an escort to your site - in our case their was someone parked in our site and had to walk back to the office and have another site assigned.
Jul 29, 2013
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 29, 2013
The facilities at this campground were great, and the employees were very friendly and helpful.
Jul 29, 2013
We were placed in a kamping kabin that was very muddy around it. We were able to change kabins no problem. The new kabin was covered in spiders, spider webs and spider egg sacks everywere. We expect insects but this was awful. There was no broom. I had to go purchase a broom and a can of raid and clean the kabin. we asked an employee that went by on a golf cart for supplies but they never returned
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Our stay was absolutely Wonderful!We stayed in a Lodge, it was Great. We have made our Reservation for 2014 already :)
Jul 28, 2013
I was a little disappointed that the slide was not complete at the pool during our stay, One would think this could have been done during the off season
Jul 28, 2013
All the improvements are great...dog run, pool etc. Our grandsons enjoyed everything. Fri night's disturbance 3 campers away was terrible. We left Sat but I do hope you evicted those campers. Since the problem went till 4 am, you owe at least 3 of us camped nearby a night. Don't you think? We hope to return next summer. Jan Lawrence
Jul 28, 2013
We had a great time. Wonderul place to stay with kids and a short distance to the Smoky National Park. I would have to say that it is now my 4th favorite Rv park and we camp 90+ nights a year!!
Jul 28, 2013
No cable, very poor internet and noisy music blaring from our neighbors campsite until after 10:00pm when my husband finally had to go ask them to turn it down.
Jul 27, 2013
Always a great time at your campground. Been staying there for well over 20 years now. It never disappoints. So peaceful and quiet. This year the water pressure was low and the cabin was not as clean as it could have been. Not nasty by any means but housekeeping needs to move beds and sweep in the corners. These things are to be expected at any campground in my opinion so its no big deal. Thanks!
Jul 27, 2013
we will be back! the only ruff time was all rain the whole time.
Jul 27, 2013
This was the 28th year staying and the worst stay!!! Going downhill is never a good thing! I've always Loved this place and hope and pray it'll make a turn around before next year! Email me if you want details please!!!
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Very expensive, Hard to find the campsite.
Jul 26, 2013
On the Koa sovenniers it would be nice label the campground
Jul 26, 2013
Loved it as always. Loved the river access, pools, fire pit, shade, porch swing, big bounce & icecream. We will be back as always when can afford. Disappointed that the pool slide wasn't up for the grandkids. Suggest a low priced kids breakfast, better mattresses, and playground needs swings.
Jul 26, 2013
I always enjoy my time at Cherokee KOA. This time we stayed in great lodges but the finishing steps were missing. I am sure this will soon be complete. The staff and young workers were great and God-like in their service.
Jul 25, 2013
This is my 3rd year staying in this cabin. This year the cabin had some type of bug I fear was bed bugs. I received about 20 bites. I have spent a lot of time washing everything that went with us or throwing items away. I was also disappointed that the outdoor hot tub was not working, the kids slide was apart. The staff is pleasant. If we get bed bugs I won't be back.
Jul 25, 2013
The area was very nice. Only downfalls was fuzzy cable and hardly no Internet
Jul 25, 2013
We have stayed several times at CKOA. Due to a lot of rain, there was quite a bit of repairs & construction going on. The slide was not open but it didnt stop us from having a great time. Don't expect perfection when the weather doesn't allow it. We will definately be back.
Jul 25, 2013
Stay was good until got woken up by lawn mower just outside cabin under window. Not the way I wanted to be woke up

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.