Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 31, 2016
had a great time, very nice camp site, very clean, staff very helpful and friendly, thank you
Aug 31, 2016
We rented a deluxe cabin on the river. Cabin stunk and was very hot inside when we checked in. It should be opened up, aired out, and cooled down before the guest checks in. Towels, etc should be changed out daily for new ones, shouldn't have to ask. Other than that we had a great stay at in a beautiful location!
Aug 30, 2016
Love this campground! Stayed there 18 years ago, it was great then and great now!
Aug 30, 2016
very small space to set up camper!
Aug 30, 2016
We were looking for a quiet getaway from the heat, Cherokee KOA was just that. The park was clean and the pull through sites were very large enough to feel you had some privacy. We enjoyed watching all the small children on Saturday. We had one issue and that was the unsafe acts of the kids buzzing around on the small bikes that was rented at the campground. The children were not paying attention
Aug 29, 2016
Absolutely loved it. Coming back next year!
Aug 29, 2016
I was looking for a campground that had a great family atmosphere swimming pool inside and out restaurant on site a great staff and beautiful grounds. I found all that and more and a site large enough for my 12 person tent with screen porch. Koa is the only campground we will stay at front this day forward. Thanks for a wonderful experience Chris Brown
Aug 29, 2016
Personally I had a great time. Cabin was clean and we had everything we needed. We had several other people who went the same weekend and it was a fun relaxing weekend.
Aug 29, 2016
This is the 3rd time I have been to this KOA. Had no issues previously. This was for my son's birthday and it was horrible. People were rude especially to one of the girls in our party who has lymphoma. She was wearing shorts and a shirt in pool due to scars on her body and it not being sanatory for her to wear swimming suites and they told her she couldn't swim in what she had on. Rude rude rude
Aug 29, 2016
I was a litte disappointed in thye quality and quanity of kitchen utensils and the fact that no dishwashing soap was in the cabin. Other than those very minor issues, the ccampground deserves the 10 rating.
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
I come here 3-4 times a year and rent the delux cabins. The AC was broken when I checked in. They could not fix it Friday. No one showed Sat. I requested again. Still could not fix and they put in a temporary one sat night. I waited about 3-4 hours for someone to show. Also requested another pillow and was told no that they did not have any?? Had 5 in my cabin and I needed an extra one.
Aug 29, 2016
Nice campground. Site could have been leveler and the roads could have been wider
Aug 29, 2016
Very nice facility. Friendly and helpful staff. However, rates to rent bikes and golf carts way too expensive.
Aug 28, 2016
We have brought our 5 grand kids for the 3rd year in a row. A lot of activities for the kids. They enjoy bicycling around the camp without any grown up supervision.
Aug 28, 2016
Aug 27, 2016
A bit more expensive than most KOA campgrounds for a tenter that wants electricity. The place is well cared for and clean.
Aug 26, 2016
did not get to stay but one night because child injured his leg on the bouncy pad had the go to ER staff was very helpful and showed true concern for him
Aug 26, 2016
Aug 26, 2016
Wonderful campground but could greatly improve on the WiFi
Aug 26, 2016
One of t.he top parks I have stayed at.
Aug 26, 2016
Me and my son stayed the weekend and had a great time !
Aug 26, 2016
Cherokee KOA is the nicest KOA that I've stayed in. I've been in several, in 18 states, in the past three months. Excellent layout. Plenty of room. We stayed on a premium lot with stone patio, patio furniture, and paved parking.
Aug 24, 2016
CABLE BARELY WORKED FOR PART OF THE STAY. THE WI-FI CONNECTION EVEN AT THE HOT-SPOTS WAS TERRIBLE. PRICES SHOULD BE LOWER DUE TO THESE TWO THINGS THEY ADVERTISE AND CHARGE FOR. THE CAMPGROUND AND WORKERS WERE NICE. THERE WERE LOTS OF ACTIVITIES THAT YOU COULD ACCESS THROUGH THE KOA, THAT JUST ISN'T WHAT WE WENT THERE FOR.
Aug 24, 2016
great place been coming for years, love the area
Aug 24, 2016
This is a beautiful well maintained campground. It has changed a lot in the past few years. It is more suited for families w/kids or grandkids.
Aug 24, 2016
Great place to camp one of the best
Aug 24, 2016
Great. The grandkids loved it.
Aug 24, 2016
Great amenities, but the whole campground has a drainage problem. There were puddles everywhere. There is also no room for parking for the tent sites unless you park in the deep mud. Also, most of the games in the game room were busted, and the recreation post closed at like 5, so no putt putt.
Aug 24, 2016
Drove 3 hours for a 3 day stay only to find out that the fishing tournament had been cancel. Could have had better communications.
Aug 24, 2016
lots of amenities and great location
Aug 24, 2016
Aug 23, 2016
amazing koa...!I don't like to go to same place every year. this is an exception. great for families.
Aug 23, 2016
Great place to stay, people was very nice and helpful.
Aug 23, 2016
We love the campground the workers are great.
Aug 23, 2016
This was the best vacation we've had as a family! Great facilities and plenty to keep the kids entertained!!
Aug 23, 2016
My children and I had a great time last year as we stayed for a few days.This time was more stressful because we needed to be out by 11 even though we arrived at night. We were not allowed to stay for any of the activities because they didn't let us stay past 11 and the activities didn't start until 11. You should have campers clear out their area, but be allowed to stay after their checkout time
Aug 23, 2016
Things were fine except, only one night with cable , the water was low pressure and frost free water valve would not close all the way off, other than that things were fine,
Aug 22, 2016
Everything was amazing. The staff was very polite and friendly. The campground is clean. I even loved that we didn't have Internet or cell phone service.
Aug 22, 2016
I have stayed many times at this campground but it only takes one time to ruin it. We rented a cabin, when we walked in it was covered in dog hair. We went back to the office to tell them, Well let's just say they swept the floor and mopped it. When they left we noticed the mattress was covered in dog hair as well. We worst part was no one cared. We never got an apology from anyone.
Aug 22, 2016
Had a great time at the Cherokee koa, we had a beautiful concrete riverside camp site. We did river tubing which was provided by the campgrounds for a small fee. The indoor and outdoor pool and hot tub were very nice. Now the downside, if you are bringing a dog, the k9 playground is very small and is just a fenced area, and the arcade is very dated and several of the games did not work properly.
Aug 22, 2016
Great facility, great staff, great location.
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Had a wonderful time!! Looking forward to coming back in nov.
Aug 22, 2016
Everything was great with one exception. The kids activity organizers weren't really up to the standard of the entire rest of the KOA. Late, unorganized, not overally interested in being actively involved in activity. (Pool games, smores) Otherwise everything was wonderful and we will be back.
Aug 22, 2016
Everyone was very nice and we had a nice site.
Aug 22, 2016
We had a nice stay. I have suggested before about having the names for each street located at the end of each street. Also, the need of street lights a night. I have to walk my dog after dark and have to have a flashlight to just to see where I am going, so I will not trip or fall on the unlevel areas in the streets. The park was nice and clean, and your employees were really nice.
Aug 22, 2016
We have stayed with y'all several times before and have always been very pleased.but it seemed like the grill wasn't as good as before. But overall the campground was very clean and the staff very pleasant
Aug 22, 2016
WE HAD A RELAXING TIME, THE RAIN KEPT US FROM ENJOYING ALL OF THE AMENTIES OF THE CAMPGROUND
Aug 22, 2016
Everything was great except we had a bad aunt problem in our cabin.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps