Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 29, 2017
We had a very nice stay. It was very loud in our cabin which sat directly across from the main activities.
May 29, 2017
May 29, 2017
So much for the kids. Loved the place. Will return.
May 29, 2017
May 27, 2017
Friendly staff, Good Service, Clean restrooms and showers. I don't see what other people are complaining about.
May 26, 2017
Our cabin was nice but not as clean as I would have preferred Windows dirty. We checked on camping there but found it too pricey for our budget
May 25, 2017
Awesome campground for family fun. Large campsites, beautiful location and the river is wonderful for fishing . Only complaint is there is no cell phone service.
May 25, 2017
If you aren't concerned with cell service or WiFi, this rating would be 5 star. A perfect family destination.
May 25, 2017
Thank for your advice about fishing, it was the country girl at the desk.
May 25, 2017
Enjoyed a nice short vacation. Cabin was very clean. We loved the jump pillow!
May 25, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean grounds, store that has anything that may have been forgotten. Great cement sites for rv to level
May 24, 2017
Always a wonderful stay and the kids always live your KOA! Just wish y'all would cut down that tree, that's too close to the parking area at the cabin we stayed in...I, along with many others in the past (judging by the scars on it) have backed in to it!
May 24, 2017
Every Staff member was extremely helpful and provided anything ask for. It did rain and our site did collect alot of water but we were able to overcome that. Next time we are going to get a concrete site with concrete picnic table pad. We enjoyed our stay.
May 24, 2017
Lots for kids to do. Clean bathhouses with plenty of showers. Staff was friendly and attentive.
May 24, 2017
The Grounds are well kept. My stay just happened to be the week before they have everything open. The Grill was closed have the week, The outdoor pool and Hot tub were not open yet (I probably wouldn't have used the outdoor pool. They do have an indoor pool). My tent site was close to the main road and could hear the traffic noise. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Cabin next time.
May 23, 2017
The front desk staff was awesome. The pond fishing was sad - no fish!!
May 23, 2017
May 23, 2017
This is my third visit and I love it! The only downside is the wifi...it sucks
May 23, 2017
ACABLE NEEDS UPDATED IF POSSIBLE.
May 23, 2017
Had a great stay. Staff is WONDERFUL. Toilets in ladies room need to be fixed (have to hold handle down long time to flush OR flush twice). Campsite good but would be so much better if some sites are combined to give the feel that people aren't so on top of each other. And, just something to think about: separate campsites into "campers with kids", "campers with dogs", "adult campers". THANK U!
May 23, 2017
When i called i asked for a cabin at front at lake. When i got to campground our cabin was all the way at the back. Cabin was dirty hair on bed had not been swept refrigerate had not been cleaned. Chairs had food on them. I took pictures and showed lady at register and she was very nice. I would stay here again. We enjoyed our stay but for the money it should be clean.
May 23, 2017
Loved the grounds. For an upgraded cabin, it would have been nice if it had an air conditioner. Never stayed in a cabin that did not have air or heat.
May 23, 2017
Game room and outdoor pool not open. I didn't see that on the website. Some staff very helpful and friendly...some not. Bathrooms and showers VERY NICE.
May 23, 2017
Very clean,friendly, and a great place for families. Many activities and fun to be had while staying there.
May 22, 2017
Cabin was nice. Enjoyable stay
May 22, 2017
Parking at the riverside Cabins #506 had a gulley where cars are parked. Had to wade through water to get into car.
May 22, 2017
May 22, 2017
Wonderful staff, great amenities, cabin was clean and well stocked for a weekend trip.
May 22, 2017
Campground was great, just the Wifi was terrible.
May 22, 2017
The staff is very friendly. Lots to do there.
May 22, 2017
Nice time. Wifi and cable are horrible, intermittent and hit or miss. Site was good. Sewer hook up leaked. Store was in transition. Front desk personnel were ok. Pool ok. Best feature of this KOA is location. We will come back.
May 22, 2017
We had a wonderful time at KOA. We rented a cabin and it was very nice and clean right beside the creek. Kids loved fishing, swimming, riding bikes, making scores and playing in the creek. Everyone was very friendly and nice. We will definitely be back soon.
May 22, 2017
Very nice and friendly
May 22, 2017
One of my family's favorite places. Have been coming here for years.
May 22, 2017
The campground was clean and looked very nice, although we only stayed two nights. I cannot give a better rating because we came from another KOA that was set up a little nicer and the staff was friendlier. The main reason for the "not so high" rating was for no trash pickup, the limited knowledge of the staff {which seemed to be young, and for the extremely crappy WIFI signal.
May 22, 2017
There were no events scheduled for the weekend but still required to pay a resort fee, checked in to my cabin and went all the way to the end of the campground to get it in just to realize they didn't give a key that was necessary to get in it and had to return again to the desk, ordered 2 cups of water at the restaurant and was charged over $4 which is even more than the price of a water bottle.
May 22, 2017
Clean bathrooms, friendly service, great experience all around.
May 22, 2017
Extended my stay from 2 nights to 3. I paid for my 3rd night & was in the cabin & there was violent banging on the door. I opened it & KOA employee was standing there and YELLED at me "CHECK OUT WAS AT 11!" I explained that I paid for an additional night. He never looked at me. Just walked away. Mistakes are OK, but I left immediately because no apology. It scared me. Formal complaint to follow.
May 22, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
May 21, 2017
spotless nice staff great activities spotty wifi
May 21, 2017
Beautiful and extremely clean KOA campground!
May 21, 2017
You have a beautiful campground with very clean and maintained facilities. Your staff is helpful and courteous also. HOWEVER, you should not advertise that you have Wi-Fi because you don't. For whatever reason you either cannot connect or if you do connect, are quickly booted off. The staff had no answer for the problem. I took one star off your rating for this issue.
May 21, 2017
My family and I had a great time at KOA. I did have a small issue with a comment a staff member made but overall great experience.
May 20, 2017
Gorgeous area. The pipes in our cabin screamed when you ran hot water for a shower. Cistomer service of a few needs improvement. The dog kennel setup is not very good. It's an air conditioned cabin with no employees around. Anyone else in the KOA can go to the office, get the key and go into the kennel. The doggy kennels are just latched, so anybody could open them and walk off with your dog.
May 19, 2017
Very impressed with the staff and the park overall. I rate campgrounds usually by the condition of the bathroom and this was probably the second best bathroom I've seen in a campground over the years.
May 19, 2017
I wasn't very pleased with this koa. I've been on a two month road trip and it has been the worst koa I've stayed at so far.. I'm not one to complain but the wifi didn't work for the duration of my two day stay and their only answer way yeah it does that sometimes. The was also no service so I had not a clue how to get where I wanted to go.
May 17, 2017
Without a doubt one of the nicest KOA campgrounds we've ever stayed in. Plenty to do, beautiful setting, and very convenient for traveling to and from Great Smoky Mtn. Ntl. Park. Would definitely recommend staying here.
May 17, 2017
Cabin was nice. Had a fire alarm in cabin beeping and they took care of it immediately. Had plenty of things to do in the campground for family to do and staff very friendly.
May 17, 2017
This is one of the best campgrounds you are going to find. Campers who complain about this campground need to go somewhere else. The staff is very friendly and will go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay. This is our third time there and we will be back again. I won't go anywhere else.
May 17, 2017
We stay at this KOA twice a year and as a tent camper we love the clean and new bathhouse. We can't wait for the new tent sites to open. The ONLY issue is the wifi. Please look into making it a little stronger. Very hard to get any connection during our stay. Otherwise we love it
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award