Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 30, 2015
It was really nice. Thanksgiving really was the highlight. The only complaint was the WI-FI. Almost non-existent. All else AWESOME!
Nov 30, 2015
How likely would I recommend the KOA? Already did. Several times when I went back to work. Friendly staff and clean cabins.
Nov 30, 2015
We stayed at the KOA for the thanksgiving week and was very happy with our stay. The staff had a Thanksgiving lunch for all the guest and it was very nice. If you left hungry it was your own fault. Fishing in the streaman and lake was convenient and there was some hiking that could be done. Bath houses and laundry room were clean and maintained regularly. My husband and I will return.
Nov 30, 2015
Streets make needs to be improved. I found it very hard to find my space in the dark for a after hour arrival.
Nov 30, 2015
Loved it, already have reservations for same site next Oct and Nov.
Nov 30, 2015
Nov 30, 2015
Nice campground great stay no issues
Nov 30, 2015
We had a wonderfulstay. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us.My wife was so surprised and happy with our cabin,after you made different cabin arangements for us. Thank you so much for making our week stay so delightful. We can't wait to come back again.
Nov 30, 2015
KOA staff extremely nice and helpful. especially Wayne & Sue, Tammy & Thomas Davies.
Nov 30, 2015
This KOA campground was exceptionally clean with friendly staff. Beautiful mountains surrounded us. Definitely a place to stay again.
Nov 30, 2015
Great place for family camping. Bathroom and the area was nice and clean. We had great time camping exvept the staff Jo Ann was courteous during registration.
Nov 30, 2015
Great service and great people.
Nov 30, 2015
Nice campground. A little pricy but beautiful scenery!
Nov 30, 2015
Great location, very friendly hosts, very clean grounds
Nov 30, 2015
We really enjoyed our first camping trip at KOA! We will see y'all again in 2016!
Nov 30, 2015
Convenient to all the shopping and National Park. Clean and had a nice store on premises if you forgot anything.
Nov 30, 2015
Nice Campground with lots of activities for everyone. Bathrooms and laundry are exceptionally clean. Great playground for the kids. Staff is very friendly. We will definitely stay here again. Great for a base for motorcycle riding the numerous scenic roads.
Nov 30, 2015
Nov 21, 2015
Cable good, wifi weak, BRoom ok with TV, some shower stalls, showerhead poor, low pressure, not very hot. Nice spot by river.
Nov 19, 2015
Nov 16, 2015
Been going there at least twice a year since 1987 !!! Great place but not thrilled with the rising prices and additional fees- resort fee- rising sight fees- early check in fees- etc. also need to improve your "advertised" wifi. It's not so good, especially when you have many guest. Also every visit we have trouble with the cable TV. We have to report it mutiple times each visit.
Nov 14, 2015
We stayed over a Friday night since we were going to the casino for a show that evening. The park is clean and well kept and our site at the river was nice.
Nov 14, 2015
Place is nice but seems like with just a little maintenance could be so much better.
Nov 13, 2015
Nov 13, 2015
Nov 13, 2015
Nov 09, 2015
Nov 09, 2015
it was very nice to have some assistance when I arrived at 8 p.m. I also appreciate the few extra minutes at check out when I was having trouble with my camper. The staff was very nice but they need to have fishing regs when you buy a Tribal license. I had to go into town to get the info. I know that it had been raining but there was a lot of standing water on the grounds. Overall a good trip
Nov 09, 2015
I was pleasantly surprised with the cabin accommodations.
Nov 09, 2015
It was wonderful! We loved staying in the cabin on the river that was fully furnished. We would love to stay there again but it's just so pricy I doubt we'll be able to stay in that exact one again but possibly the little ones. We just wish they had heat!
Nov 08, 2015
Very nice bathrooms. Clean and up to date. Nice selection in store.
Nov 07, 2015
We come up every year for Halloween and I think that the judging for the costume contest needs to be done by the campers not just a couple of workers.
Nov 07, 2015
Wonderful staff!!! Beautiful location. Awesome sites
Nov 07, 2015
Hey
Nov 06, 2015
Been coming here for 10+ years. Have a great time everytime
Nov 05, 2015
Has been 5 years since being here. Was the same, which is good & bad. Very helpful staff. Checked in after hours, a staff member happened to be out & retrieved our key from the night kiosk & directed us to the cabin. Restrooms & outside showers could be updated. One outside shower did not produce hot water, one shower head damaged, but worked. Halloween activities very fun for the kids & adults.
Nov 05, 2015
Awesome! There was no cell signal, so no calls from work :) The view of the Blue Ridge is breath taking...
Nov 04, 2015
Nov 04, 2015
Nov 04, 2015
Great fun for kids and adults at Halloween! Lots to do!
Nov 04, 2015
It was wanderful
Nov 04, 2015
This was our second visit in October. We couldn't ask for a better place to stay. The staff and fellow campers are all so wonderful and friendly!
Nov 04, 2015
We had a great campsite on the river. Halloween activities were really good! We will be back!
Nov 04, 2015
When using the bath house in the back of the campground, I had to try 3 separate showers before I found hot water.
Nov 04, 2015
Nov 03, 2015
Having facility with both traditional camping, including RV'S, and Cabins together is wonderful for large families to spend time together!
Nov 03, 2015
We enjoy this location, and will again.
Nov 03, 2015
Nov 02, 2015
Some of the staff did not know what was going on. There should be more patrol and staffing to control children playing in the main roads where cars travel.
Nov 02, 2015
Ladies bathroom smelled awful the entire time we stayed. Smelled like kitty litter. Also the fridge in our cabin wasn't working correctly. Neither flashlight on our key sets worked. Other than that it was a great stay. Loved the activities for the kids. Looking forward to coming back next year.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award