Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 05, 2013
I was there for 3 days and never seen the bathrooms cleaned. One of the employees rolled her eyes at me.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
very close sites, a bit too commercial for us but lots for kids to do. Had extremely noisy neighbors until 3 am first night, but after speaking to mgmt, they moved us to a very nice cabin on the river. Now that we know about those cabins, we will come back, as they were like a rustic hotel. Definately recommend the 2 room cabin! Management took great care of us!
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Bath house was great. I was very displeased that I had to pay $5 for each adult after renting the campsite.
Aug 05, 2013
My husband and I and my two kids (1 & 4) had an amazing time. So much to do.
Aug 05, 2013
The only issue we had was cleanliness. The bathrooms and showers needed a daily spray down of a diluted bleach mixture. It would have done a world of good towards your reputation and return guests. The camping cabins were just right for my son and I. The pool was great but the hot tub needed more chlorine for the number of guests. The entertainment was lively and the staff, very efficient.
Aug 05, 2013
showers are outdated, but people are nice. Good size campground
Aug 05, 2013
Great place. Clean cabin. Helpful staff. Wish the store was open a little earlier and a little later. Overall, very nice
Aug 05, 2013
The restrooms in the pool area were in poor shape . The in door pool needed attention and was dirty. The camp grounds were great!
Aug 05, 2013
We have stayed before when we had our camper. It was clean as it was the first time we stayed here. Although it isalmost $30.00 higher per cabin than the other KOA's we stayed at
Aug 05, 2013
will be back soon had a great time and all the workers was nice and helpful
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
need to clean shower houses better. cable tv had issues
Aug 05, 2013
Unhappy with experience of bike renting and the worker that helped us was rude as well as was charged full price for an hour ride and then my grandchildren was told to return the bikes after only about 40 minutes and after waiting all day on a bike to be available and was unhappy with the availability of cabins with restrooms. Wanted to return the weekend of Labor Day but now unlikely.
Aug 05, 2013
Store closes too early on weekends when camp is packed. Ive stayed for over twelve years and it use to open til 11PM on Saturdays. The internet has been down during my last two visits this month. The hot tub should be limited to adults after 8PM. Its hard to enjoy with small unattended kids jumping in.
Aug 05, 2013
Beautiful natural authentic surroundings with great canopy of trees combined with great hospitality from staff. From the abundance of fellow campers, you could tell everyone was having fun, either in the 2 pools, tubing on the river, or the jumping pad and the 2 hot tubs And a very special thank you to maintenance Will help with change of tire so we could have a safe trip home. We'll be returning
Aug 05, 2013
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 04, 2013
Thank you to the Sunshiners and KOA staff at Cherokee KOA in the Great Smokey Mtns in NC for a wonderful vacation! We stayed in a lodge and thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay. The staff is extremely courteous, the campground offers many amenities for kids and the camp store is plentiful. The courtesy shuttles took us to tubing and downtown for shopping and cultural events. See you next year!
Aug 04, 2013
I was told we have Internet hot spot It never worked we had no cell service and no Internet to check weather staff kind of laugh at us doctor was unable to do his work we left early bathrooms were not up to the to code and had cobwebs all around ceiling was not cleaned very well but still the best in area did Check around to see if I can find different place in future we book sight
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
We had a blast during our short visit. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, as were the other guests. We stayed in the cheapest, most basic cabin, served our needs - beds were surprisingly comfortable. Kids had fun paddling in stream behind the cabin. We all enjoyed the tubing experiencing - great fun!
Aug 04, 2013
We stayed for 6 days in this place for the first time, we really love this place, it is very quiet family, very safe for children and with many different activities for the whole family, tubin in the river is fun and relaxing, camping sites are located very well, the only thing I could recommend is to be fix some of the pool area
Aug 03, 2013
we had a wonderful time staying there this year. the campsite was large and very clean.the fishing was great I caught my first limit! the people were very friendly. will be coming back next year if not before.
Aug 03, 2013
Wonderful stay but marred by ONE BAD THING - NO internet at the campsite as on previous stays. Very inconvenient not to have it available. We will be back but please fix it. Otherwise, I would give the KOA 5 stars and a 10 but for the inconvenience of having to cart the computer to the front area.
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Camp site not clean. The saling feature to this koa was the pool and pool amenities. The first day only pool was open and slide was being moved to other side... dead mouse at the pool on sidewalk, been dead a couple of days..Several staff walked by and didn't discard of it.outside staff not very friendly. Will not return to this camp...
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
One of the best times of my life. I've never been camping before, and I brought my fiancee, and two daughters with me. On day 3, we went to Swain County and got married, and spent our honeymoon at your campground, and decided to stay an extra day because it was so wonderful!!!
Aug 02, 2013
The Cherokee KOA is our most favorite vacation spot in the whole world. We will continue to visit it as long as we have breath & can travel. And in general, we believe that KOA is A-OK.
Aug 02, 2013
The staff was very accommodating, helping us with our issues at check in. The cabin was clean and stocked with pots/pans/utensils.Indoor and outdoor pool and hot tub was used several times. We were only disappointed that the pool slide was closed.
Aug 02, 2013
Very disappointed in the upkeep of the park. In the bath house only one shower worked, and one of the two toilets did not work. The WiFi never worked and the hot tub would not get hot. If I new of all the problems we would have stayed at another camp ground instead of paying a premium for "resort" camping. Going back to cherokee in the fall but would never stay here again.
Aug 01, 2013
Thank you KOA Staff. Your service was excellent. We loved our cabin, the food, the store, the pool, and most of all you.
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Overall good experience. BEWARE of tubing though unless you are fully prepared!!! That was AWFUL for our family!!!
Aug 01, 2013
The cabins are in poor condition. The window on one cabin was broken and boarded up. The other window's screen was duck taped in. The other cabin had a tarp on the roof. The floors of any of the cabins had not been sweep. There was cobwebs under the beds and benches in the cabin. There was a hornet's nest on the back of one of the cabins. Not a good stay.
Aug 01, 2013
I tell you the truth I like the potential for this campground. I have stayed here 3 times now it slowly gets worse and worse. They charge top dollar have tons of staff all standing around doing nothing. The trash is always full the pool deck is dirty etc. For instance there was a bottled starbucks coffee on pool deck on Friday guess what Sat afternoon that same bottle was setting right there.
Aug 01, 2013
We took our 9 yr old granddaughter to Cherokee to camp and see the outdoor drama. She loved everything. The campground has so much to entertain her day and night. We left the driving to the shuttle driver and enjoyed the ride to the drama. Thanks for a great memory.
Aug 01, 2013
Our stay was great and the people were super!!! The only thing I can say bad about his campground is the kiddie pool is so cold that my son couldn't play in it.
Jul 31, 2013
We took a tubing trip thru the campground on the river it was on. We asked if the river would be safe for our children 7 and 9 which they replied yes. We weren't on the river 5 minutes before we found ourselves in our first set of rapids and were quickly seperated from our girls. What was suppose to be a fun day tubing quickly turned into a rescue. This KOA was negligent with our childrens safety
Jul 31, 2013
I have been staying at this campground for about 10 years and I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!! Safe, fun, and wonderful staff.
Jul 31, 2013
LOVE IT!!!!!
Jul 31, 2013
Everything you need and never have to leave the campground.
Jul 31, 2013
This was my first stay at a KOA. Overall it was excellent. My biggest disappointment was the fact that wifi was advertised but non-existent. Sometimes I could get it if I was at the cafe but never in my cabin. I wish I would have known this before going. I probably would have stayed in a hotel.
Jul 31, 2013
The surroundings were beautiful, the campground staff was friendly and helpful and the facilities were great! It was our first stay at a KOA and definitely WON'T be our last!
Jul 31, 2013
No power or water at tent sites.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.