Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 29, 2016
Great experience! All the staff were super friendly and helpful, special thanks to Jim who helped us to our site and checked on us on our day of departure. All the kids had a blast swimming, tubing and bike riding.
Jun 29, 2016
Love camping with REAL camping people. Friendly, real campers they eat and cook outside (compared to some RV campgrounds no one greets you or they all eat inside their fancy motor homes etc. That is our #1 reason we like Cherokee KOA. The only neg. thing is time to up-date the bathrooms.
Jun 29, 2016
Great!
Jun 28, 2016
What a beautiful facility. The folks behind the desk were extra-special. Love your coffee bar. Bathrooms in back could use a little more attention, but there was a group of teens staying in the area! We had a great stay.
Jun 28, 2016
The campground is very well kept with an extremely friendly staff. The amenities for the kids were excellent. We stayed for 9 days and were never bored.
Jun 28, 2016
We love this KOA. Very clean and friendly staff. We are coming back again next year and bring several other RV'ers with us. Great place to stay with so many activities you never have to leave the campground.
Jun 28, 2016
We love to visit Cherokee KOA but feel they are pricing us out of coming back ,when we booked our site it a was around 88 dollars a night which we paid to reserve our stay of 10 nights but when we arrived the nightly rate was 108 dollars a night. Plus we arrived a little early and was charged a extra 35 dollars. We have stayed here a number of years but this year sadly will probably be our last .
Jun 28, 2016
Great campground but too many cabins in front of Creek no access to water.stayed there for years when I was a kid it was great but now no water access. Will stay some where else next year.
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
great as always maintenance made quick work of a water issue
Jun 28, 2016
Great place to stay!
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Cable and internet was not working at the time of visit.
Jun 28, 2016
Second time camping at the cherokee koa and had a wonderful time. Hoping to stay a week next time.
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
First time staying here and everything met our expectations. RV sites are very large and kept nice.
Jun 28, 2016
No phone service. No internet service and the space they gave us had no tv. Other spaces had tv but when I complained they made no attempt to move me. We decided to not extend our stay. WAY overpriced for such lousy services.
Jun 28, 2016
Wevarrived knowing we rented a 1 room cabin off the river. We ended up with the best 2 room cabin on the property! We happily paid the difference and were surrounded by water on 3 sides! I'd say this is the best site we've ever stayed on, ever! Tubers and kayaks came down river all day. Fly fishing was really interesting. Stress level dropped 75% just looking ahead at the river. Stay here!
Jun 27, 2016
Clean and well cared for. Only downside we had was the food bar, which is the only place to get ice cream any where close, closes at 8pm. Too early for me.
Jun 27, 2016
Jun 27, 2016
It's a nice campground the only thing that bothered me is that it's advertised that they have wifi here and they do but it's so poor and weak that you can't do anything. We had a business emergency come up and couldn't take care of it at the campground because there is little to no cell service and horrible wifi connectivity. It was frustrating We kept having to leave instead of enjoying ourselves
Jun 27, 2016
Hope to return soon .Very pleased with our stay and accommodations
Jun 27, 2016
Best was stuff for kids and other activities. Polite, helpful staff. Camp site was muddy. Bathroom was worst part. Hot,not enough hooks to hang clothes and towels. No seat to sit on while changing. Some showers don't have soap "shelf". VERY small shower stals.
Jun 27, 2016
We have been coming to KOA for 34 years. It is always an exciting time for our family.
Jun 27, 2016
Very nice Very busy. Lots of campers but still quiet. Cable, phone and texting service is sketchy.
Jun 27, 2016
This was the 1st time my mom & grandson came with us & they loved it. My mom can't wait to come back.
Jun 27, 2016
Had a great time. The only complaint is the slow service at the food stand. Other than that it's a great place to take your kids.
Jun 27, 2016
Enjoyed our stay & Learning More about the Cherokees
Jun 27, 2016
Staff was great, park awesome, so much to do. Came because of Jim and Linda Appleman, but will definitely be back.
Jun 27, 2016
Great accomodations and ammenities for adults as well as kids. Prices are a bit extreme for campsites tho.
Jun 27, 2016
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jun 27, 2016
Our stay at KOA was fun as always ! However , the site we stayed on could've been blown off to be cleaner, our cable didn't work ,internet was slow and the staff wasn't to friendly ! I feel like the men riding around on golf carts doing nothing productive could've been fixing our TV ! The office was nice ! Will be back but I hope the TV works next time and the staff could be more helpful !
Jun 27, 2016
Jun 27, 2016
Campground was great. The biggest drawback was when we went tubing we were not made aware that the river was low and mad the tubing less than desirable. Understand that they can't control the water flow but a warning would have been nice
Jun 27, 2016
VERY CLEAN AND NICE PLACE!
Jun 27, 2016
Helpful employees and family friendly campground. Our two boys, 8 and 4 had so much fun with all the amenities available. We were very happy with the Cherokee KOA to plan to return in the future!
Jun 27, 2016
Lovely place with lots to do. Staff was friendly.
Jun 27, 2016
Stay was great, cabin was not as clean inside or outside as I expected, but still always like this campground and location
Jun 27, 2016
Stay was great, however, this time there were problems with the restaurant. They were seriously understaffed. It took 30 minutes standing in line just to place an order for pizza. Never experienced this problem before.
Jun 27, 2016
We loved staying at Cherokee koa its the best !!! The town its self has nothing much to offer we recommend this campground highly tho the kids loved it and so did we!
Jun 26, 2016
fabulous
Jun 26, 2016
stayed there for 4 nites didn't like the complete lack of privacy at the sites, this campground is more a trailer park, resort area, geared to the occasional camper. Too commercialized for us. Also, for what we paid per nite, reliable internet is expected. Mens room had one working toilet, the other was overflowing with waste. Mens room was dirty & no hand soap
Jun 26, 2016
Stay was great, no problems at all other than the very weak wifi and no phone service.
Jun 26, 2016
Our 5-8 year old kids had a fantastic time. The adults were not concerned for their safety as they roamed the camp ground. Activities were on point. Very relaxing atmosphere. Bikes are a must...we used our every day.
Jun 26, 2016
Had a great time. Restrooms very clean and staff helpful and friendly.
Jun 26, 2016
Best campground for kids, counselors are awesome, activities are what we come to enjoy. Love you KOA
Jun 26, 2016
Awesome. Lots of activities for kids!
Jun 26, 2016
Have stayed at this KOA numerous times and the staff is always friendly and willing to help or answer questions. Very family oriented, and great for kids
Jun 25, 2016
Plenty of showers and toilets. Staff friendly. We booked two sites requested for them to be side by side when we arrived the sites were not site by site Lucy fixed the problem. Thanks Lucy
Jun 25, 2016
My family and I had a great time here. The staff was courteous and helpful. The grounds are well kept and the views are amazing. We will definitely be back again.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award