Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 07, 2013
The campground was good. Site was a little loud as it backs right up to the bouncy pillow. WiFi Stinks. Never could get logged on and the workers at the campground could not help or knew much about it. The signon screen came up but there was no options presented to be able to sign in.
Aug 07, 2013
Great camping...one issue, though, were the bathrooms...one shower out of two did not work. The one that did needed instructions...my 12 year old could not figure it out. Also, one sink (the left one) really did not work which left only two working. The toilets seemed to always be stopped up with you know what in the toilet bowl. Not a nice view when you opened the door. That's it.
Aug 07, 2013
Cable tv out most of out stay. When it was working bad reception. No internet service as advertised. Disappointed in parking for cabins adverse had to constantly adjust our beg. So cabin renters could park. Golf carts ,,,,,,BAD IDEA. Under age drivers and driving to fast. All ages. I feel you r loosing KOA concept for more $, loosing business in the meantime. Much potential,, get back to basics.
Aug 07, 2013
I stayed at this KOA a few years ago and considered it great. What happened? The rest rooms are not kept clean and the daily cleaninf barely worth the effort. The grouchy old guy mowing right through your site will eating lunch! He was blowing more dust and debrie than grass !Tarps over cabin roofs, uncleaned cabins, and unfriendly staff (i did encounter a few younger friendly staff in the store).
Aug 07, 2013
Everything was great except for the bath houses. They were absolutely digusting. It didnt matter.... in the morning or night any time of day they were gross.
Aug 07, 2013
The staff was wonderful. They were very courteous and always willing to help. I was disappointed wi-fi was not working, but everything else was perfect.
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Stays are normally excellent but this one left a little to be desired. Our Kamping Kottage had a malfunctioning door leading to the bathroom when we arrived...the fix, a shower curtain stapled to the wall. Not so impressive.
Aug 06, 2013
We had a very good time with you and your staff. Staff was very polite and courteous, always a smile on their face. Whenever we had any concerns we were met with no nonsense answer. Any request we had were handled with professional attitude. We absolutely will be back for more of your mountain hospitality. Thanks again for a good time. Cathy and Lance
Aug 06, 2013
We had a very nice stay. Amenities were a nice surprise compared to prior years:)
Aug 06, 2013
Bathrooms not so clean. No one looking after kids on bikes. Saw kids run into vehicles. Gameroom closes too early. Inside pool floor area chipped and peeling up. Pools don't open until 10 and checkout time is 11. No time to use pool in morning. Pool should open earlier. Outside pool slide should be moved back to shallow water. Saw lots of employees. Some friendly others not so friendly.
Aug 06, 2013
Very disappointed in our Cherokee vacation... 1. The cable did not work 2. The wifi did not work (Both were advertised) 3. The pool area was filth with no supervision and the slide was chaos 4. I will not recommend this campground to anyone or will not return!!!!! We have stayed at Your campgrounds before and have never had a complaint!!!
Aug 06, 2013
I HAVE BEEN TO THIS KOA MANY TIMES.I WILL CONTINUE TO COME BACK.
Aug 06, 2013
The internet was not working during the entire stay and the cable reception was poor. Everything else was very good.
Aug 06, 2013
The restrooms were not well kept and some of the toilet stalls were so bad that I had to move to another one. The showers, especially in the hallway, were terrible. There was no water pressure, no hot water and the shower head was so close to the wall that you were unable to stand under it. The showers in the bathroom were better. Otherwise, the campground was well kept up.
Aug 06, 2013
We were very disappointed in the bath houses. Not only were they not clean, but they needed many repairs. Our stay would have been better if things had been cleaner.
Aug 06, 2013
Staff is great not to pre- occupied to help or answer any questions that (kampers) may have! Only thing that a little difficult to decipher is the parking for the upper kabins on the river, its kinda first come first serve maybe a number system for those particular ones would be helpful!!! But no bother the other kampers were courteous and helpful and moved cars if there were extra there NICE
Aug 05, 2013
Love the grounds. Staff is a bit unorganized. Always forgot something at Grill when ordering food. Also, bathrooms were not kept clean. Kid activities were a bit lame and not well organized. Will come again though because location and grounds are good for us. One staff member in particular was terrific in helping us plan our next stay.
Aug 05, 2013
The grounds were ok, pools were ok, the office staff was nice and friendly, Location was excellent. The 3 site group that I traveled with was split up, then one of the group was asked to move mid weekend for another reservation and that person never showed up, very unorganized or accommodating for him on the site assignments.
Aug 05, 2013
I love it every time I visit KOA in Cherokee is my favorite KOA site. I had only one complaint this year. the wi-fi didnt reach in the back where I was camplng. other than that it was great and will be back soon.
Aug 05, 2013
Great place for kids. and the staff is wonderful. THANKS.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
First of all there was no wifi and I was told I didn't need a password. The cable was terrible when it did work and sometimes there was none at all. One of the camp staff came by at 10:50 one evening and talked to us like we were rowdy teenagers to go to bed and we are all in our 60's and were just talking around the campfire. When I called for simplified directions I kept getting put on hold.
Aug 05, 2013
nice location and great actions
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
We started out with a bad experience but the manager was so nice and handled the situation perfectly. We will definately stay again!
Aug 05, 2013
Everything was wonderful. I only have one BIG request, for the tubing excursions, please let families know that the tubing is not safe for kids younger than 10 at least. We have a 4 year old and a 6 year old and our tubbing excursion almost turned out to be a tragic one. Other than that, our cabin was gorgeous and the location unforgettable. The tubing at Bryson City is perfect for families.
Aug 05, 2013
Pool area dirty, no Wi-Fi, no cell service.
Aug 05, 2013
I was there for 3 days and never seen the bathrooms cleaned. One of the employees rolled her eyes at me.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
very close sites, a bit too commercial for us but lots for kids to do. Had extremely noisy neighbors until 3 am first night, but after speaking to mgmt, they moved us to a very nice cabin on the river. Now that we know about those cabins, we will come back, as they were like a rustic hotel. Definately recommend the 2 room cabin! Management took great care of us!
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Bath house was great. I was very displeased that I had to pay $5 for each adult after renting the campsite.
Aug 05, 2013
My husband and I and my two kids (1 & 4) had an amazing time. So much to do.
Aug 05, 2013
The only issue we had was cleanliness. The bathrooms and showers needed a daily spray down of a diluted bleach mixture. It would have done a world of good towards your reputation and return guests. The camping cabins were just right for my son and I. The pool was great but the hot tub needed more chlorine for the number of guests. The entertainment was lively and the staff, very efficient.
Aug 05, 2013
showers are outdated, but people are nice. Good size campground
Aug 05, 2013
Great place. Clean cabin. Helpful staff. Wish the store was open a little earlier and a little later. Overall, very nice
Aug 05, 2013
The restrooms in the pool area were in poor shape . The in door pool needed attention and was dirty. The camp grounds were great!
Aug 05, 2013
We have stayed before when we had our camper. It was clean as it was the first time we stayed here. Although it isalmost $30.00 higher per cabin than the other KOA's we stayed at
Aug 05, 2013
will be back soon had a great time and all the workers was nice and helpful
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
need to clean shower houses better. cable tv had issues
Aug 05, 2013
Unhappy with experience of bike renting and the worker that helped us was rude as well as was charged full price for an hour ride and then my grandchildren was told to return the bikes after only about 40 minutes and after waiting all day on a bike to be available and was unhappy with the availability of cabins with restrooms. Wanted to return the weekend of Labor Day but now unlikely.
Aug 05, 2013
Store closes too early on weekends when camp is packed. Ive stayed for over twelve years and it use to open til 11PM on Saturdays. The internet has been down during my last two visits this month. The hot tub should be limited to adults after 8PM. Its hard to enjoy with small unattended kids jumping in.
Aug 05, 2013
Beautiful natural authentic surroundings with great canopy of trees combined with great hospitality from staff. From the abundance of fellow campers, you could tell everyone was having fun, either in the 2 pools, tubing on the river, or the jumping pad and the 2 hot tubs And a very special thank you to maintenance Will help with change of tire so we could have a safe trip home. We'll be returning
Aug 05, 2013
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 04, 2013
Thank you to the Sunshiners and KOA staff at Cherokee KOA in the Great Smokey Mtns in NC for a wonderful vacation! We stayed in a lodge and thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay. The staff is extremely courteous, the campground offers many amenities for kids and the camp store is plentiful. The courtesy shuttles took us to tubing and downtown for shopping and cultural events. See you next year!
Aug 04, 2013
I was told we have Internet hot spot It never worked we had no cell service and no Internet to check weather staff kind of laugh at us doctor was unable to do his work we left early bathrooms were not up to the to code and had cobwebs all around ceiling was not cleaned very well but still the best in area did Check around to see if I can find different place in future we book sight

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.