Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 07, 2016
We had an awesome weekend at the Cherokee KOA. Bathroom and shower facilities are awesome. Very clean and updated. We had a slight glitch in checking in, we had requested a shady site due to a medical condition and was put in full sun. After getting past the rude employee to a manager we were accomidated and had a great shady site. We're going back next weekend! Kids loved it!
Sep 07, 2016
The campground is very nice and has a lot for the kids to do. Our kids had a lot of fun. The bathrooms are extremely clean. The negatives are that the campground is huge and very busy, the sites are really close together, our water hook up leaked constantly and instead of fixing it we were told to just only turn on water as needed, and a lot of the staff were rude.
Sep 06, 2016
This campground was so much fun for our family group. The facilities were great, there were lots of activities for the children, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Our only complaints would be that we could not eat outside because of the yellow jackets (our 4-year-old granddaughter was stung twice), and we had to be careful going down to the water because of the poison ivy. l
Sep 06, 2016
Loved it!! Best camping site in the Smokies!!
Sep 06, 2016
Clean, Friendly and lots of amenities.
Sep 06, 2016
I. Think the camp grounds are nice but there were to many people. The 3 wheeled bicycles were every where and no one seems to care how much of the road they took. There should be certain areas and times to ride them. The grown ups were just as bad as the children. There needs to be more fishing for a family.
Sep 06, 2016
I really would love to give this campground a 5 star. But the last several times we have been there the men's bathrooms have been dirty and the shower pressure outside stalls are less than adequate.
Sep 06, 2016
We stayed in a deluxe cabin, and were happy with the accommodations. Campgound amenities were great. I would like to see recycling bins offered for bottles and cans.
Sep 06, 2016
Absolutely great place for kids and families! There is so much to do and the facilities are well maintained and clean. This was our second Labor Day family trip and we are planning to return for a 3rd next year!
Sep 06, 2016
We had a great time, would recommend. Our cabin was just fine for our needs. We even booked a cabin for next year. The thing that kept me from going 5 stars is that we had trailing ants inside our cabin. The ants got to our food.
Sep 06, 2016
Have been coming for about 3 years now...This is our favorite! So much to do for the kids!!!!
Sep 06, 2016
Love this campground. We will definitely stay again.
Sep 06, 2016
Facility was very clean and staff was exceedingly courteous. Very likely to return.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
Our stay was awesome like usual. The only thing I think you need to rethink is the cart parking behind the pool. Great for bikes, not for golf carts.
Sep 06, 2016
This was our first stay in a KOA cabin and the Cherokee KOA. We enjoyed the pools, jumping pad, river etc. wish wifi was stronger for work purposes but understand we are in the mountains and it was busy. Most of the employees were polite and helpful especially being a busy weekend. The set up of the bathhouses was very impressive. We are planning our next trip!
Sep 06, 2016
Love the camp grounds. Just wish all the Camp ground host would be a little more pleasant. Their all so grouchy. People go on vacation to get away from that
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
My only request would be that the outdoor pool stay open later and info about outdoor movies be displayed better.
Sep 06, 2016
Incredibly friendly staff, clean and great destination. We have stayed here many times. They continue to improve and keep up the property. Our camp site had a new stone patio and fire ring along with a new table and chairs. Also, it seems they worked on the cable as the signal was good, unlike our stays in the past. Wi-fi on Labor day weekend was basically non-functional. This is a great KO
Sep 06, 2016
Best KOA we've visited.
Sep 06, 2016
We had an amazing time!!!! This place is very family friendly!!! Lots to do!!
Sep 06, 2016
Nice KOA. Lots of activities.
Sep 06, 2016
Plenty of things to keep the kids occupied. Not the best place for piece and quite. Staff was helpful.
Sep 06, 2016
They need someone to organize the restaurant . Waited an hour on food!
Sep 06, 2016
Great place to stay! Only negatives were that my husband was standing in line for food at the grill along with others and the staff closed the sliding glass without warning so no one was able to get food. He felt it was rather rude. The other thing was my kids were on the inflatable blob at the front and an older man staff member was very rude to the kids on it when it was time to get off.
Sep 06, 2016
Great for families with children but also nice for adults.
Sep 06, 2016
When my husband and I called to make reservations we specially asked not to be near the bounce pad or playground. We have kids but thery are older now. The lady said ok when she gave us the spot location I asked again was it near the playground she said no we trusted her word.We arrived late and when we got there the check in people were rude and we were right across from the playground
Sep 06, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. Lots to do and very helpful staff. Only recommendation is to give the cabins a good cleaning. The floors were very dirty and not swept and had a lot of spider webs and ants. Other than that, it was great!
Sep 06, 2016
Stay was great except renters of the cabin next door left 2 dogs while they were gone and they barked repeatedly all day until 10 pm.
Sep 06, 2016
The campground itself was very nice, but it was super loud from early morning til late at night. Every morning a trash truck came about 7 am and I think it woke everyone so then everyone was up super early! People were up past 12 at night even though there was a quite time. You would think the worker would tell people to quite down , but they didn't.
Sep 06, 2016
KOA employee Donnie was very helpful and curtious! Will definately be back!! Thanks again from Bruce, Glena, Bruce Jr, Erica, and Carl!
Sep 06, 2016
Only real issue was the bad thread on the sewer hookup on site 220:we had to hold the hose in position every time we dumped. We would have appreciated some more grocery variety at the store. For the rest great campsite.
Sep 06, 2016
We love this place! Such a great atmosphere!
Sep 05, 2016
The good: clean,well maintained park. The kids activities were nice and we liked the outdoor movie. The bad: kids riding electric motorcycles at 20mph unsafe. Loud music being played all around. The cable TV was fuzzy and went out twice. The area for bike and golf cart parking was confined too small area. One staff member had a bad attitude.
Sep 05, 2016
Great get away to Cherokee and the Smoky Mountain Area. Staff was very friendly, nicest facilities in the area. Look forward to returning.
Sep 04, 2016
Loved our camp site on the river !!
Sep 04, 2016
Lovely location. Lovely spot. Awesome staff!!!!
Sep 03, 2016
Great time. Clean and quiet. P
Sep 02, 2016
great facilities, clean and new updated bathrooms. The laundry room was in a great condition as well. pools are nice and fun for the kids. the rental bikes and tubes could be a little bit cheaper though.
Sep 02, 2016
Very nice campground and very convenient access to GSMNP. Could have done without the manager's cat who roams around and liked to sit on our step, patio, and table. It is my understanding that the pet policies do not only apply to dogs but all pets.
Sep 02, 2016
Beautiful location and the hot tub saved us as we've traveled on a motorcycle across the US but there's no cell service the wifi isn't good and the neighbors partied all night. Sarah was very sweet tho
Sep 01, 2016
Love it...will go back again and again. Stayed several times at this location and always had fun.
Sep 01, 2016
Very relaxing great service wonderful amenities wonderful employees! Michelle joanne Lucy Laura Everyone went out of the way to make our day great! We will be back!
Sep 01, 2016
We love staying at the KOA in Cherokee. It is our favorite place to camp. It is always clean and the accommodations are wonderful.
Sep 01, 2016
Stayed for a week. When I set up my reservationI was told I had an RV site next to the stream. The site was in the middle of the park. Also the staff failed to notify me during the check in that the lakes had not been stocked in several months and that the fish that were in the lake had died due to weather conditions. I wont be staying with this koa again. They charged way to much
Aug 31, 2016
had a great time, very nice camp site, very clean, staff very helpful and friendly, thank you
Aug 31, 2016
We rented a deluxe cabin on the river. Cabin stunk and was very hot inside when we checked in. It should be opened up, aired out, and cooled down before the guest checks in. Towels, etc should be changed out daily for new ones, shouldn't have to ask. Other than that we had a great stay at in a beautiful location!
Aug 30, 2016
Love this campground! Stayed there 18 years ago, it was great then and great now!
Aug 30, 2016
very small space to set up camper!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps