Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 30, 2014
water pressure was off and on
Jun 30, 2014
Great koa, loved the bathrooms. Lots of activity and the BBQ was wonderful.
Jun 30, 2014
The campground was very family friendly and kept the kids very entertained. Our tent site was primitive with no water and no place to wash our dishes, so that was difficult. In hindsight, we wouldn't use the shuttle again - one driver was very nice but one was exceptionally grumpy. It would have been better to just drive ourselves since parking wasn't an issue at the venues we attended.
Jun 30, 2014
The park was set up nicely. We had spots on the creek which added more to do for the kids. The pools, jump mat and other free ativities are a great way to spend time with the kids at no cost. The only thing we thought of would of been our sites being mowed. If we head back to the Smokey Mountains again, we will surely stay again and request the same spots.
Jun 30, 2014
everything was wonderful our entire family had a fabulous time!
Jun 30, 2014
Our cabin was quite grimey and could have used a thorough cleaning, we stayed without complaint because we liked our over all spot and didn't want to switch cabins, I cleaned up as best I could, but for this reason would be reluctant to recommend this KOA to friends. This is our 17th KOA to visit and it was by far the dirtiest cabin, although we enjoyed all the other amenities.
Jun 30, 2014
HUGE difference than last year. Our cabin was clean, the staff was friendly, lots of activities. Great family fun. Can't wait to come back. Highly recommend this campground.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
The pool should be open later then 9:00 and golf carts are too expensive.
Jun 30, 2014
The bathroom doors wouldn't lock, the ice machine was broke, and the air conditioner was squeeky. Had a great time, enjoyed the cabin, nothing was horrible that made the stay bad. It was great and can't wait to go back.
Jun 30, 2014
This is our 2nd visit and enjoyed it very much. The cabin we had was located near the fishing pond outside the gate and close to the pools . We are booking our next visit for Labor Day!!!
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Our stay at your KOA was a fun and wonderful experience. I also loved the activities for my kids. HOWEVER, it would be great if all the shower stalls (inside the bathroom ones) had a small table or more hooks for our clothes.
Jun 29, 2014
The staff was friendly and the site was great. The facilities were a problem. The shower water backed up over our ankles. Before we could use the toilets we had to flush 3-6 times and then another 3-6 afterwards. The restrooms were not clean although it seemed like a staff member was there often. The pools and spas need work and cleaning as well.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
It was okay but the cabin had ants in it we left a day early cause my kids were scared they were going to go in their ears
Jun 29, 2014
Need table in showers. Check window screens to make sure they are not ripped out
Jun 29, 2014
Beautiful campground on a pristine river! Would have given it a 5star rating except the cabin we got was the most bare bones we have ever stayed in..no picnic table,porch swing, mirror or A/C. The advertised wifi is only near the office...90% of the campground is wifi-less. Will come back with our RV!
Jun 29, 2014
Place 151 was a spacious but since we had some showers it was rather muddy since little grass at the place. The utility connections was in a big muddy pool.
Jun 28, 2014
Your KOA was all that you said it would be. We liked the location and being able to go into Cherokee by shuttle. Most employees were friendly and helpful. The younger ones in the registration office didn't seem to be well trained or people friendly. The campground was quiet and not too brightly lit at night. We enjoyed our stay.
Jun 28, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
Bathroom buildings need replacing and the roads need much repair work.
Jun 28, 2014
the campground was clean and well maintained . the only issue is the roads inside the campground need to be marked with arrows indicating their direction.
Jun 28, 2014
not as good as last year
Jun 28, 2014
1 star off because the wifi only worked at the office/pool area. We were only 3 spots away from the office so there's significant improvement needed there. The other star came off because we paid a premium for being on the river but it wasn't really the river. It was an unfishable little creek that came off of the river. That said, the amenities were abundant and it's a great place for the kids.
Jun 27, 2014
A great place to camp. My kids enjoy the jump pillow and pools/water slide.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
The only problem was the water was cut off twice during our stay at inconvenient times. Bathrooms, showers and laundry were extremely clean.
Jun 27, 2014
No Wi-Fi to speak of! You have to go to the office area to use it. I wish I would of known that prior to booking our cabin. Other than that the staff were great!
Jun 27, 2014
I love this campground, but I think it could be improved. We have been going here for years and the grounds need to be updated and some of the facilities.
Jun 27, 2014
Great Place to stay and play, nice staff and best fudge ever.
Jun 27, 2014
showers were awful, no place to hang your clothes nothing but a wet floor.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
Bathrooms needs updated. Had a wonderful time. Staff is very nice.
Jun 25, 2014
We have stayed here before and both times have been GREAT! We will be back! Can't wait to plan our next visit!!!
Jun 25, 2014
Cabin was dirty and smelled. Showers and restrooms were very nasty. Been staying at this koa since 2003 each year has gotten worse this being the worst and my last.
Jun 25, 2014
The location was great, but there were a few items that we noted:1)Lack of Wi-Fi availability, and they advertise this amenity 2)Cabin bathroom needed repair, and they new about it before visit 3) Front Office, Rec. Staff and Shuttle driver not knowing the days a well known local cultural (Unto These Hills)show is held, especially the Shuttle Driver;no Sunday Shows and that was our last night.
Jun 25, 2014
Jun 25, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and will be back again. The lady in charge of the front desk (sorry can't remember her name) was most helpful-THANK YOU! Great staff and facilities.
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
Campsite and facilities were well-kept, clean and in a beautiful setting. Most staff members were polite and helpful. On the 2nd to last day of our weeklong stay I experienced an overflowing sewer pipe when I tried to empty our black tank. 3 attempts were made to clear it and the last person to work on it said there was nothing wrong with it (not). He was extremely rude. Mgr. credited us 3 nites.
Jun 24, 2014
I live within walking distance of North Myrtle Beach.I have never really been a mountain person,but my stay at KOA last week was one of the best I have ever had.I had both sons and two grandkids with me and their were more than enough activities to keep them busy and happy! The staff was excellent,the grounds well kept,and the food was very good at the snack bar! Phone service wasnt good however@
Jun 24, 2014
We used the wheelchair accessible cabin and found it to be excellent. We plan to return in the future.
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
Very nice campground overall. The indoor pool was a little concerning with the cloudy water. No problems noted.
Jun 24, 2014
Enjoyed the stay! Plan to visit again :)
Jun 24, 2014
I love this spot and would give it higher ratings, but some of the staff rude. I am a very easy person, but going in to check in I do wish to be treated better. I have spent a lot of money here over the past couple years. A lot of the people are nice but it only takes one to spoil that. There is an older blonde women who works in the store doing check ins, who's unpleasant and rude. Just saying.
Jun 23, 2014
Loved the clean facilities and activity options on site. Thank you and will visit again!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.