Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 06, 2016
The campground associates were extremely courteous. We enjoyed the evening meal that was cooked. The area was very clean.
Jun 06, 2016
Fun, pleasant and comfortable.
Jun 06, 2016
Everyone was so nice and helpful. I would especially like to say how nice Gary (our driver) and JoAnn were who help us with many questions during our stay. Great trip!! Wifi is the only thing that was not great.
Jun 06, 2016
We had very noisy neighbors with teenaged kids that kept us up half the night. Also there seems to be a drainage problem all over the campground; after it rained all the campgrounds and streets flooded. It was very unpleasant walking my dog through all the rain puddles. I doubt I'll ever return to this campground.
Jun 06, 2016
This is a nice campground. The maintenance and grounds employees are very nice and helpful. Though some are nice, several of the desk employees are rude and some struggle with the English language. And one in particular, at the grill, definitely did not need to be dealing with English speaking customers - I ended up having to write what I needed. Everything is extremely overpriced.
Jun 05, 2016
very helpful folks. Nice sites
Jun 05, 2016
Jun 04, 2016
Jun 04, 2016
This was our 2nd stay here and we loved it yet again! Everyone is very nice. Wish the benches in the showers were just a bit bigger. but all was AWESOME!!!! Thank you!
Jun 04, 2016
Jun 04, 2016
Jun 03, 2016
good park to relax
Jun 03, 2016
I was unaware of the shuttles available to take me to town or other venues. It was unfortunate that they were not running on Monday 5/30. I didn't get to explore any of the local region as a result. 😩
Jun 02, 2016
Jun 02, 2016
We enjoyed ourselves. We've been coming for awhile now, and we always have a great time. The only problem we had was getting housekeeping to supply us with toilet paper, garbage bags, etc. It often took us calling or stopping by several times to get the supplies we needed. We eventually went to the grocery store for some of the items because we couldn't wait any longer.
Jun 02, 2016
Friendly people, clean bathrooms, beautiful scenery, lots of activities. We stay every Memorial Day weekend.
Jun 02, 2016
We and another family came to camp with y'all over Memorial Day weekend. We all had a great time. Plenty of activities for the whole family. Also, we appreciate the family atmosphere of a KOA.
Jun 02, 2016
Very Enjoyable . . . People were very friendly and helpful Have made reservations for the 4th of July
Jun 02, 2016
The facility was clean and well maintained. The staff were the best part of it. Everyone was very willing and ready to help. Gary, Laura, and office staff were awesome. The WiFi connection could be better. The staff for activities planning were also very helpful and provided good information to plan our stay.
Jun 02, 2016
We stayed in one of the new cabins and it was so nice! Like staying in a little hotel room. A couple of thoughts: add a small "kitchen" sink by removing or hanging the microwave. We didn't use the microwave once. Make sure there are 4 of each size plate/cups/silverware. Only other minor complaint was the AC was a bit noisy (haha). The grounds were beautiful! Can't wait to return!!
Jun 02, 2016
Jun 02, 2016
Grandchildren loved the pools and the pillow area was clean and well kept bathrooms were spotless laid back time we will be back
Jun 01, 2016
we had a great time.
Jun 01, 2016
trying to price it out of normal families budgets and doing away with all the green space. we have gone there for many years and gets more out of reach every year
Jun 01, 2016
We have stayed the last 3 years and I have to say I was very disappointed this time. We stayed in cabin 274 and had to ask for a broom and there was no latch the door. The setup for the cabins in the back corner are too squished together and our fire ring was practically in the neighbors fire ring. We usually love the koa but we may look elsewhere next year.
Jun 01, 2016
I always take my daughters (8, 10, 13) camping for Memorial Day. This was our second year spending Memorial Day at your KOA because the girls had so much fun last year that they BEGGED to go back this year! They bounced on the pillow, rented banana bikes, swam inside and outside! They made new friends but their favorite part about returning to CHEROKEE KOA was seeing friends they met last year!
Jun 01, 2016
We had the time of our life. Numerous things to do at the park,close to town,and great accommodations.we will definitely come back.
Jun 01, 2016
We love this KOA. Have stayed here plenty. This past weekend, however, the staff was simply not in their A game. Some were flat out rude. Hoping this was a fluke.
Jun 01, 2016
Very clean and friendly !
Jun 01, 2016
Jun 01, 2016
Never stayed at a KOA before but I will again. Great place and friendly people.
May 31, 2016
Great campground, clean grounds and friendly staff!!!
May 31, 2016
Positive~ fun campground for family's. Staff works hard to keep the crowds of kids safe. Clean bathrooms. Negative~ not enough showers/bathrooms or tubes (for River) to acomadate for peek season. Golf carts should not be aloud in this campground its to small for all the hustle
May 31, 2016
The Cherokee KOA is on our list of favorite campgrounds! Clean sites, great amenities, and spectacular views!
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
Second year here. Stayed in a deluxe cabin on the river. Love this place. Workers are friendly and helpful and scenery is beautiful. Lots of things for kids to do.
May 31, 2016
Always a great place to stay. One of my favorite campgrounds.
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
Our cabin (304) had no light in one room. When we had someone look at it, we were told the fixture was bad and they did not have another to replace it. We had to use an LED flashlight that we had. We subsequently ended up accidently leaving it hanging on the curtain rod. Not happy at all!
May 31, 2016
our power kepted going off on saturday,
May 31, 2016
Staff was very helpful and friendly. My family really enjoyed our stay and will return.
May 31, 2016
Place was nice and well kept. Did loose power for several hours during the heat of the day throughout a lot of the campground. Staff did work diligently to resolve. Overall our stay was nice.
May 31, 2016
Great family vacation in the beautiful outdoors with lots of amenities for the kids!
May 31, 2016
Excellent KOA. Unfortunately, tried to return firewood that wasn't used and still bundled and I was told I couldn't. Why not? I was told they don't accept ice or firewood. Ice I understand, but firewood?
May 31, 2016
Had a great time with my family. Only complaint was the cable tv wasn't 100% on all channels. It was very snowy on several channels that I usually enjoy. Other family members on different sites had the same service, mayble cable needs upgraded. Thanks!
May 31, 2016
My mother arrived later than us for check-in, the front desk told her I had not arrived yet, that was a lie. She waited almost two hours at the front till I came out to find her due to no phone service. My aunt from TN came to visit us on Sat. and again the front told them we were not there camping. I was not pleased. Camp sites were extremely close together with no space on our site.
May 31, 2016
1st 2 days power outage. 3rd water outage. Ask the electrical man and his reply was. They have it turned off, working on something. I told him a heads up so you wouldn't get caught in shower with shampoo in hair would have been nice. His reply,NOT MY PROJECT. 4TH DAY CABLE OUTAGE. We did reserve again for next year to try you out one more time, because we have several campers together
May 31, 2016
Stayed in small cabin which had lots of carpenter bees boring holes in the porch. Power went out one afternoon. There were ants inside. But it is a great campground. Bath houses/restrooms were beautiful.
May 31, 2016
The service was poor, staff was unable to tell me how to get to the national park, which was 10 minutes away and in the campgrounds name. The camp store didn't open until 730 making coffee a difficult task. Especially after saying coffee was provided in the cabin when in fact a single coffee was provided and the refills were for sale. The staff was uninformed and rude. Not a place I would stay
May 31, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award