Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 11, 2015
It was a good kept up grounds.on the concrete slab sewer pipe connection one was too low could not hook up to it we had to use the further back . Getting to the campground it was hard to see the roadsigns they were covered by trees . Good place for families with kids
May 11, 2015
I loved that there was a lot of activities for my kids. They absolutely loved the bikes I loved the scener.
May 10, 2015
Very friendly, clean and accommodating. We've been going to this KOA for 24 yrs. Only had one person, one time that was'nt his friendliest. Love it!
May 09, 2015
What a great location and campground. Very clean and well maintained. Raven Fork River is tranquil and beautiful. A must visit location.
May 09, 2015
Best KOA ever. Clean, people were super helpful and kind. Setting was magnificent by the river. We will return next year.
May 08, 2015
This is our second trip and it was as good as the first. Excellent campground!Great kid activities!
May 08, 2015
Beautiful park Very friendly people Excellent spots on river
May 07, 2015
Stay was very pleasant, very quiet campground. Staff was very friendly, helpful and courteous. Only Negative was that their was no cell service for neither one of my cell phones. There was wifi, but hardly worked, this may be a plus for some. Campground is well kept.
May 07, 2015
Loved the campground. Well maintained. Would go back and most likely will in the near future.
May 07, 2015
Everyone was very helpful.
May 06, 2015
May 05, 2015
The campground was very clean. The staff were very helpful and nice. Can't wait to come back.
May 05, 2015
Love this Kampground we come every year. My grandfather used to bring me and my brother to trout fish.. now I am carrying on the tradition with my boys. See ya next year. Maybe this year for an adult trip
May 05, 2015
We had an awesome time and are looking forward to going back.
May 04, 2015
My group has been coming to KOA, Cherokee for about 10 yrs. My brother also brings up a group. We were met this time with a very rude red-headed woman who was very condescending in her tone. We have always been able to check in early if the room was available but they did not even check to see. Stated new rules but did not try to state why just said read your email. We will not be back ever!!!
May 04, 2015
I've never been to one with so many amenities and friendly employees. We had a small issue on arrival, but it was resolved and I hope we get to return soon!
May 04, 2015
LOVE THIS KOA. MY FAVORITE.
May 04, 2015
Were there first weekend in May every year. Will be back next year, hopefully before then.
May 04, 2015
We love it at Koa we come down 2 to 3 times a year! We love to be able to come more! They have so much stuff for the kids to do moms and dads actually get to rest to
May 04, 2015
We had a lovely weekend.
May 04, 2015
Great time shower and laundry room were great
May 04, 2015
Love this campground, this is our second time staying. They have bunches of things to do, young and older. Any problem we have, they immediately fix. Loved our site this time too!!
May 04, 2015
Our trip to KOA/Cherokee was perfect in every way!! This was my husband's 60th birthday present. Our 4 children and 4 grandchildren came from all over to celebrate. Our grandchildren loved the bouncing pillow, the beautiful playgrounds, putt-putt-golf, and the pool. They were too small for the bananna bikes but I rode one and had a blast!! The staff was helful and kind!! And everything was clean
May 04, 2015
Wonderful, clean campground.
May 04, 2015
Nice place to stay. Employees were polite and very helpful. Did not like the fact the we could not look at the cabin before 1:30 check in w/out a fee.
May 04, 2015
The only problem we had was at checking in. We arrived about 1 hour ahead of checking in. They made us stay in the parking lot for the hour. I could understand if the park was busy but they were pretty empty on spaces. They could of let us set up then came back to the office and checked in. I would also like to see a rate for seasonal May-Oct. Cherokee is pretty dead during the winter month
May 03, 2015
May 03, 2015
it was great, fishing was great, cable tv was great too
May 03, 2015
Great customer service. Very well taken care of. Can't wait to go back
May 03, 2015
Stay was great. Fireplaced didn't work the first night but was repaired the next day. Forgot to let the office know that the toilet runs. Also the barbecue grill doesn't work correctly. Takes 30 minutes to cook two hamburgers.
May 02, 2015
I HAVE ALWAYS COME HERE IN THE PAST, BUT THIS TIME, WASN'T AS GOOD AS BEFORE. CUSTOMER SERVICE COULD BE BETTER.
May 02, 2015
we enjoyed our stay very much! I have stayed at this koa many times,and im never disappointed !the cabin was very cozy, the fishing was great! and the area is beautiful. I hope to visit again very soon!
Apr 30, 2015
Apr 30, 2015
Apr 29, 2015
Apr 29, 2015
The rain didn't make the stay any better, but that's not KOA's problem, lol. My only comment was that when they put us in our section they said the bathroom was just remodeled. They didn't put in a shower curtain or a bench yet we had to use it anyway. The cover for our table looked like it would collapse in the next storm.
Apr 29, 2015
We have stayed there quite a few times but this was the most enjoyable. Easy check-in and everything on the site worked like it was supposed to. We will be back.
Apr 29, 2015
Enjoyable!!!
Apr 29, 2015
Great place with good food. I had an excelent tent site and the camp store was even open late.
Apr 28, 2015
1. Was put in wrong cabin. 2. Heat did not work. 3. No wifi or wrong password was provided.
Apr 27, 2015
Had a great time. Clean facilities and nice and helpful staff. Will definitely go again.
Apr 27, 2015
Our stay was wonderful the staff was very attentive and the grounds were beautiful love the bubbling brook and the tree frogs at night.
Apr 27, 2015
The campground was very clean, accomodations were everything we wanted and more and the staff were the friendliest and most helpful staff we've ever encountered. We can't wait to come back next year!!
Apr 27, 2015
clean - super friendly staff, It was our second stay here - be back again!!
Apr 27, 2015
My wife and I had a great time staying here. The only problem we had was trying to navigate thru the park after arriving in the night and not being familiar with the park. The roads were not marked and hard to locate in the dark, but now that i am familiar with it, it will be easier next time. We are planning another trip here this summer. Jeremy
Apr 27, 2015
Had a blast. Was so relaxing. Loved our deluxe cabin.
Apr 27, 2015
Great cafe, reasonable and tasty food. Very friendly staff!
Apr 26, 2015
Mattresses were old and needed replacing. Wi-Fi was not available in our cabin. Had to stand outside to get a signal.
Apr 25, 2015
Beautiful environment , friendly people all around and most of all RELAXING!!! thanks koa:)
Apr 23, 2015
We loved it. Our only complaint is were the fire pits are located at for the river cottages.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.