Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 14, 2013
Great stay. Needs wifi campground wide. Outdoor hot tub not working. Arcade games not working. 3 washing machines not working. Enjoy staying here just needs a little attention.
Aug 14, 2013
A/C leaked; WiFi did not work for the entire stay. Cabin itself was great.
Aug 14, 2013
Im very disappointed in this KOA. The camp was small, crowded and not well maintained. This was supposed to be a working vacation for my wife and I. We planned to use the Wi-Fi to telecommute from the pool area so our kids could play but, it was down all week and we were forced to work from local coffee shops while our kids sat dejectedly for hours each day. Overall the vacation was a total bust!
Aug 14, 2013
The wifi was not working during our stay, the cabin advertises cable hook up, but that means a cable 6 inches off the ground.Therefore, you can only place the TV on the ground. It seemed like no children were attended by a parent. Kids would ride their bikes into oncoming cars and were so uncontrollable and loud at the pools it was unbearable to stay longer than 10 mins.
Aug 14, 2013
Friendly staff. The KOA is very heavily used and it shows. Bath houses were clean but shows alot of wear. We asked about handicapp accessibility for our daughter. We were told sure no problem. We get there and they did not have ANY handicapp accessible bathrooms. The shower did not have rails, bench, adjustable shower head and the light was burned out. We had fun but it was rough for our daughter.
Aug 14, 2013
Love coming to Cherokee KOA but the last two times we have had some issues. Both times we have came this year the cable was not working, the door to the cabin keep sticking, the people at the snack shack was rude and the last time we was there the WiFi was out. The drainage system really needs attention along with the cleanliness of bath house 2.
Aug 13, 2013
Our stay was great and the staff was wonderful...just wish the WI-Fi and hot-tubs worked...the jets have been down now for at least the last 3 years that we have stayed...
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
We had a wonderful time with our family, This is a great place to enjoy family time.
Aug 13, 2013
What's happened to the best kampground in America? Been staying here for many years, and it's just not the same. Sure, the grounds are spectacular, but service, not so much. I'm afraid we're done here.
Aug 13, 2013
Nice clean campground. Lots of shade and level sites. Our daughter loved the pool and enjoyed fishing in the ponds. We will be back next year hopefully.
Aug 13, 2013
I have been camping in this campground since I was a child(I am 44 ). I was VERY disappointed that the restrooms were very dirty, the indoor pool area was not clean, the indoor jacuzzi was not working nor the outdoor one. It makes me sad to have to look for another place to camp.
Aug 13, 2013
When we arrived our the water outlet was leaking. Maintenance was johnny on the spot and repaired it. thanks KOA!
Aug 13, 2013
This is so beautiful
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
We've stayed here for several years in a row recently, but were somewhat dissappointed this time with the lack of cleanliness of restrooms.. Also, every morning I'd go to the store for a cup of coffee, and every morning the coffee was out, and I had to request that more be brewed. Other than that, all else was well..
Aug 13, 2013
Overall, we had a pleasant stay. Staff was friendly and courteous. We were in site #147, which was small for our 35' travel trailer. The major problem with the site, however, came with the rain. After a brief but heavy downpour, our site became flooded. Not puddles here and there, but FLOODED!! About 6 inches deep. This problem definitely needs to be rectified. We were left with a muddy mess!
Aug 13, 2013
We loved the campground! The activities and options were wonderful! Thank you!!
Aug 12, 2013
We stayed for a week at this campground. We chose this campground because it's a KOA and usually has reliable internet and clean bathrooms. This was not the case at all here. We had to drive into town every day to check emails, text or even use our phones. This almost made us check out and go to another campground altogether. We have Verizon cell phones and barely got any service at all.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
One of the employees, Mike was very rude and even used fowl lanauage to my son with my daughter standing with in listening distance. I am at KOA every year but was very disturb over this behavior. Last year when I was there I witnessed this same employee get in a fight with another camper. There seems to be a problem.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Loved our campsite. The supersite was spacious and loved the concrete patio. All facilities were clean. The only thing we did run in to was the cable was fuzzy. One day it would clear, the next day it would be static. Other than that we had a wonderful time and plan to return in the future.
Aug 12, 2013
It was great! My kids had a blast! That's all that needs to be said.
Aug 12, 2013
A wonderful vacation
Aug 12, 2013
The staff was great.I no we can't control the rain and it did rain a lot.We have a Class C MH and was parked in space 151.It was nasty muddy and standing water was over the sewer intake.Other than that it was a pleasant stay.You might want to at least gravel these type spaces.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Cable was not working. Recreation areas were not very clean (pools)
Aug 12, 2013
We had a great time! The KOA staff was very friendly and helpful. Gave it a 4 star because the outdoor swimming pool and hot tub need a little TLC. Clean and modern bath houses too.
Aug 12, 2013
The campground itself is great. The cabins on the other hand were misrepresented online. Stated it has WiFi and it was no where to be found in our cabin or the camper sites or the pool area.
Aug 12, 2013
We had an excellent stay. The staff was awesome. The kids wanted to stay longer. Wish the rain held off but still had fun!
Aug 12, 2013
We've stayed at your KOA many times and enjoyed it but not so happy this time. The check in girl was not very knowledgeable. Very poor spot right across from bathrooms with a walk right beside our picnic table, sewer PVC pipe broke, trees scraped along side of our camper on road. Seemed to be many empty spots that we might have been able to choice from. She never asked us if we were pullianything
Aug 11, 2013
We enjoyed our stay at the Cherokee KOA.There were 23 members of my family that stayed and we have booked again for next year.Other than one grumpy elder lady that worked cooking everything was great!
Aug 11, 2013
We were promised Wifi at the beginning of our stay and it did not work the whole time of our stay. There were two (2) types of shower handles which made it difficult to adjust for hot/cold water with a particular type of handle. During the day, the shower water was warm. The rest rooms were not cleaned or stocked on a daily basis. The staff was very accommodating and friendly to our requests.
Aug 11, 2013
Plenty of stuff for the kids to do. Cabin was clean and stocked well.
Aug 11, 2013
Was perfect except for the fact that our site was on dog island, people either would not use bags to pick up after their dogs or it would be out of bags or the "poop" can would be over loaded, we had a constant wave of dog poop. In my husbands, son's, and my opinion, this site, "dog island", should not be shared with a campsite.
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
We stayed in a cabin the whole week. very enjoyable nice campground and very clean
Aug 11, 2013
The bathrooms need serious updating and Air Conditioning!! Was so hot in them and showers were too!! Indoor pools was so hot and floor was peeling up! The people that was camping behind us had a pop up, tent, and screen tent, 2 cars and truck. They parked 1 car right behind our camper-can you say too close for comfort when the campground was half empty?
Aug 11, 2013
Impersonal check-in (no choice on site even though the campground was less than 1/2 full. Also unwatchable TV cable service.
Aug 11, 2013
Nice. Pool was different w/ the slide. Hot tub wasn't hot. Bathrooms near site weren't very clean...toilets were all clogged.
Aug 10, 2013
staff is always friendly,helpful.enjoy the movies that you play. would like to make a suggestion the pick tables could use better coverage keep from getting wet,lol. but the stay is great will return.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
I have stayed at many KOA.. Always enjoyed myself. The Koa at the smokie mts was completely dirty... There was litter every here. The garbage cans where always over flowing. There was garbage in the walk ways and in the pool areas. The pool area was very very very dirty.. Sorry but you asked me.. and that is the truth. I asked the main desk about it?? There answer was short "not my Problem"..
Aug 09, 2013
Wonderful family campground!! Can't wait to visit again.
Aug 09, 2013
All employees were very friendly. The food at the grill was very good wish it was open later.Everything was well kept and very clean. We loved the porch and fire ring in front of our cabin. Was disappointed the TV didn't work and there was no communication as to whether it would be repaired or not but everything else was great.We were so impressed we already made an additional reservation
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
2 pool options very nice. Plenty of activities to do. Bathroom facilities need to be monitored. Only 1 of 3 sinks worked. Pads are too close together. Ask to give you space because plenty of sites. If dogs bark all night, call the sheriff. Would stay at this koa vs pigeon forge because its a more natural setting & more to do and has everything you could need. Friendly staff.
Aug 07, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.