Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 12, 2013
The staff was great.I no we can't control the rain and it did rain a lot.We have a Class C MH and was parked in space 151.It was nasty muddy and standing water was over the sewer intake.Other than that it was a pleasant stay.You might want to at least gravel these type spaces.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Cable was not working. Recreation areas were not very clean (pools)
Aug 12, 2013
We had a great time! The KOA staff was very friendly and helpful. Gave it a 4 star because the outdoor swimming pool and hot tub need a little TLC. Clean and modern bath houses too.
Aug 12, 2013
The campground itself is great. The cabins on the other hand were misrepresented online. Stated it has WiFi and it was no where to be found in our cabin or the camper sites or the pool area.
Aug 12, 2013
We had an excellent stay. The staff was awesome. The kids wanted to stay longer. Wish the rain held off but still had fun!
Aug 12, 2013
We've stayed at your KOA many times and enjoyed it but not so happy this time. The check in girl was not very knowledgeable. Very poor spot right across from bathrooms with a walk right beside our picnic table, sewer PVC pipe broke, trees scraped along side of our camper on road. Seemed to be many empty spots that we might have been able to choice from. She never asked us if we were pullianything
Aug 11, 2013
We enjoyed our stay at the Cherokee KOA.There were 23 members of my family that stayed and we have booked again for next year.Other than one grumpy elder lady that worked cooking everything was great!
Aug 11, 2013
We were promised Wifi at the beginning of our stay and it did not work the whole time of our stay. There were two (2) types of shower handles which made it difficult to adjust for hot/cold water with a particular type of handle. During the day, the shower water was warm. The rest rooms were not cleaned or stocked on a daily basis. The staff was very accommodating and friendly to our requests.
Aug 11, 2013
Plenty of stuff for the kids to do. Cabin was clean and stocked well.
Aug 11, 2013
Was perfect except for the fact that our site was on dog island, people either would not use bags to pick up after their dogs or it would be out of bags or the "poop" can would be over loaded, we had a constant wave of dog poop. In my husbands, son's, and my opinion, this site, "dog island", should not be shared with a campsite.
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
We stayed in a cabin the whole week. very enjoyable nice campground and very clean
Aug 11, 2013
The bathrooms need serious updating and Air Conditioning!! Was so hot in them and showers were too!! Indoor pools was so hot and floor was peeling up! The people that was camping behind us had a pop up, tent, and screen tent, 2 cars and truck. They parked 1 car right behind our camper-can you say too close for comfort when the campground was half empty?
Aug 11, 2013
Impersonal check-in (no choice on site even though the campground was less than 1/2 full. Also unwatchable TV cable service.
Aug 11, 2013
Nice. Pool was different w/ the slide. Hot tub wasn't hot. Bathrooms near site weren't very clean...toilets were all clogged.
Aug 10, 2013
staff is always friendly,helpful.enjoy the movies that you play. would like to make a suggestion the pick tables could use better coverage keep from getting wet,lol. but the stay is great will return.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
I have stayed at many KOA.. Always enjoyed myself. The Koa at the smokie mts was completely dirty... There was litter every here. The garbage cans where always over flowing. There was garbage in the walk ways and in the pool areas. The pool area was very very very dirty.. Sorry but you asked me.. and that is the truth. I asked the main desk about it?? There answer was short "not my Problem"..
Aug 09, 2013
Wonderful family campground!! Can't wait to visit again.
Aug 09, 2013
All employees were very friendly. The food at the grill was very good wish it was open later.Everything was well kept and very clean. We loved the porch and fire ring in front of our cabin. Was disappointed the TV didn't work and there was no communication as to whether it would be repaired or not but everything else was great.We were so impressed we already made an additional reservation
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
2 pool options very nice. Plenty of activities to do. Bathroom facilities need to be monitored. Only 1 of 3 sinks worked. Pads are too close together. Ask to give you space because plenty of sites. If dogs bark all night, call the sheriff. Would stay at this koa vs pigeon forge because its a more natural setting & more to do and has everything you could need. Friendly staff.
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
The campground was good. Site was a little loud as it backs right up to the bouncy pillow. WiFi Stinks. Never could get logged on and the workers at the campground could not help or knew much about it. The signon screen came up but there was no options presented to be able to sign in.
Aug 07, 2013
Great camping...one issue, though, were the bathrooms...one shower out of two did not work. The one that did needed instructions...my 12 year old could not figure it out. Also, one sink (the left one) really did not work which left only two working. The toilets seemed to always be stopped up with you know what in the toilet bowl. Not a nice view when you opened the door. That's it.
Aug 07, 2013
Cable tv out most of out stay. When it was working bad reception. No internet service as advertised. Disappointed in parking for cabins adverse had to constantly adjust our beg. So cabin renters could park. Golf carts ,,,,,,BAD IDEA. Under age drivers and driving to fast. All ages. I feel you r loosing KOA concept for more $, loosing business in the meantime. Much potential,, get back to basics.
Aug 07, 2013
I stayed at this KOA a few years ago and considered it great. What happened? The rest rooms are not kept clean and the daily cleaninf barely worth the effort. The grouchy old guy mowing right through your site will eating lunch! He was blowing more dust and debrie than grass !Tarps over cabin roofs, uncleaned cabins, and unfriendly staff (i did encounter a few younger friendly staff in the store).
Aug 07, 2013
Everything was great except for the bath houses. They were absolutely digusting. It didnt matter.... in the morning or night any time of day they were gross.
Aug 07, 2013
The staff was wonderful. They were very courteous and always willing to help. I was disappointed wi-fi was not working, but everything else was perfect.
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Stays are normally excellent but this one left a little to be desired. Our Kamping Kottage had a malfunctioning door leading to the bathroom when we arrived...the fix, a shower curtain stapled to the wall. Not so impressive.
Aug 06, 2013
We had a very good time with you and your staff. Staff was very polite and courteous, always a smile on their face. Whenever we had any concerns we were met with no nonsense answer. Any request we had were handled with professional attitude. We absolutely will be back for more of your mountain hospitality. Thanks again for a good time. Cathy and Lance
Aug 06, 2013
We had a very nice stay. Amenities were a nice surprise compared to prior years:)
Aug 06, 2013
Bathrooms not so clean. No one looking after kids on bikes. Saw kids run into vehicles. Gameroom closes too early. Inside pool floor area chipped and peeling up. Pools don't open until 10 and checkout time is 11. No time to use pool in morning. Pool should open earlier. Outside pool slide should be moved back to shallow water. Saw lots of employees. Some friendly others not so friendly.
Aug 06, 2013
Very disappointed in our Cherokee vacation... 1. The cable did not work 2. The wifi did not work (Both were advertised) 3. The pool area was filth with no supervision and the slide was chaos 4. I will not recommend this campground to anyone or will not return!!!!! We have stayed at Your campgrounds before and have never had a complaint!!!
Aug 06, 2013
I HAVE BEEN TO THIS KOA MANY TIMES.I WILL CONTINUE TO COME BACK.
Aug 06, 2013
The internet was not working during the entire stay and the cable reception was poor. Everything else was very good.
Aug 06, 2013
The restrooms were not well kept and some of the toilet stalls were so bad that I had to move to another one. The showers, especially in the hallway, were terrible. There was no water pressure, no hot water and the shower head was so close to the wall that you were unable to stand under it. The showers in the bathroom were better. Otherwise, the campground was well kept up.
Aug 06, 2013
We were very disappointed in the bath houses. Not only were they not clean, but they needed many repairs. Our stay would have been better if things had been cleaner.
Aug 06, 2013
Staff is great not to pre- occupied to help or answer any questions that (kampers) may have! Only thing that a little difficult to decipher is the parking for the upper kabins on the river, its kinda first come first serve maybe a number system for those particular ones would be helpful!!! But no bother the other kampers were courteous and helpful and moved cars if there were extra there NICE
Aug 05, 2013
Love the grounds. Staff is a bit unorganized. Always forgot something at Grill when ordering food. Also, bathrooms were not kept clean. Kid activities were a bit lame and not well organized. Will come again though because location and grounds are good for us. One staff member in particular was terrific in helping us plan our next stay.
Aug 05, 2013
The grounds were ok, pools were ok, the office staff was nice and friendly, Location was excellent. The 3 site group that I traveled with was split up, then one of the group was asked to move mid weekend for another reservation and that person never showed up, very unorganized or accommodating for him on the site assignments.
Aug 05, 2013
I love it every time I visit KOA in Cherokee is my favorite KOA site. I had only one complaint this year. the wi-fi didnt reach in the back where I was camplng. other than that it was great and will be back soon.
Aug 05, 2013
Great place for kids. and the staff is wonderful. THANKS.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
First of all there was no wifi and I was told I didn't need a password. The cable was terrible when it did work and sometimes there was none at all. One of the camp staff came by at 10:50 one evening and talked to us like we were rowdy teenagers to go to bed and we are all in our 60's and were just talking around the campfire. When I called for simplified directions I kept getting put on hold.
Aug 05, 2013
nice location and great actions
Aug 05, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.