Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 04, 2016
I love the camp ground.! We rented a cabin. I must say we left 1 day early due to the cabin. There were spider webs everywhere. I just could not stay another night. Bathrooms were amazingly clean. Thank you. Del
Jul 04, 2016
Over crowded. Wi-Fi stinks. I paid extra a night for an upgraded cabin which wasn't worth it. Cable was out for the TV we paid extra for. No picnic table. No parking for the one car we had. No place for my dog outside. We checked out early and went someplace else.
Jul 04, 2016
Muy bueno
Jul 03, 2016
Everything was great and the staff nice. Only negative comment is that the central AC unit in deluxe cabin does not cool either of the bedrooms and it's a very loud unit.
Jul 03, 2016
It was our family's first time at any KOA and I have to say, the staff were very helpful and nice. There were plenty of activities for the kids to do on the campground. They enjoyed it, had fun and no complaints. The fishing ponds just outside of the campground are a plus. The entire campground and bathrooms are kept very tidy and clean. Definitely will return again, no doubt. Thanks!
Jul 03, 2016
We had a blast! The tubing was great and nice they shuttle to the casino. Wish the shuttles ran later than 945 back from casino. Overall very nice camp site.
Jul 03, 2016
I camped alone with my chihuahua Gabbie. The staff were very friendly and helpful when I needed help getting my canopy up. The campground is very beautiful and the bath houses were very clean. I only have one complaint and that is the $3.00 charge for a 10 lb.bag of Ice and the $7.00 charge for a small bundle of firewood. I purchased both at a much lower price at a gas station in Cherokee.
Jul 03, 2016
The facilities are all clean and working. Clean and private restrooms and showers. The laundry is good sized to allow several users. Camp store is large and offers anything you may have forgot. Friendly staff and a great location. Definitely would recommend this campground.
Jul 02, 2016
Great family oriented place. Everybody is very friendly. Special thanks to Michelle our driver to river rafting.
Jul 02, 2016
Jul 02, 2016
We had a great time, the whole family had something to do. Staff were great.
Jul 01, 2016
Always have a great time!
Jul 01, 2016
Clean, organized and well run. Beautiful location.
Jul 01, 2016
JoAnn was soooo helpful to us when we were trying to pack the most into our stay She took time to explain things to do & places to go. THANKS
Jul 01, 2016
The lunch staff was absolutely the worst service I've ever had. 30 minutes after ordering I'm told they are out of what I ordered. As long as you don't eat there it's great
Jul 01, 2016
The workers were rude, quiet time was not between 10:30 and 7:00, there were many people drinking alcohol, and the people next to me were smoking pot. It was very disappointing to see the girls enter the bathrooms to "clean" but the toilets were not cleaned the entire time I was there. I know this because there was a pink ring around the middle toilet. I will not be back to KOA.
Jul 01, 2016
A wonderful place to stay. There are lots of things to do in the area and when at the park my children were very busy swimming, wading in the river, on the jumping pillow or they could have been doing other activities we didn't have time for. I came to this KOA as a child and was excited to see I love it just as much or more now!
Jul 01, 2016
We have stayed at this KOA twice in a camping cabin on the river. We love all of the amenities including the pool, the grille, jumping pad, mini golf and shuttle to activities. The bathrooms are spotless which is a deal breaker for me! The only complaint I had this visit was that our cabin had not been swept out very well. We did not have that issue when we stayed here last summer.
Jul 01, 2016
Camp site day one no grill over pit. Day two after I wanted refund grill immediately. Bathrooms-floors very dirty, hair and pee Campsite -flooded 3 young kids and dog lots of mud. Moved us but we had to pay a lot nothing was available. Tube rides to drop off we had our own tubes the rides free first week second week close to July 4th $3 per tube. Should be free! Not cool!
Jul 01, 2016
Jun 30, 2016
Great for kids. Clean. Friendly staff.
Jun 30, 2016
The campground it's self was ok. The outdoor pool closed early on multiple occasions 8:45PM and we were all forced to the indoor pool. They had a dj and closed the pool early???? I also had a problem with some of the employees, as they were above the rules that they were enforcing. This place has really gone down hill and I have been camping there for 20 years.
Jun 30, 2016
Checking in and out was fast and employees were very courteous! The poolside grill has fantastic food! A huge suggestion would be to look at how much you charge for golf cart rentals... We have been to other campgrounds and their rentals prices are much more affordable. Other than that, we will definitely go back.
Jun 30, 2016
Really enjoyed the weekend there with the family. Nice clean and big. Will definitely stay again
Jun 30, 2016
One of the nicest KOA's we have stayed! Great amenities, bathrooms & showers were updated and extremely clean. Office staff were all friendly and helpful. We loved the pool and snack bar, and relaxed daily there! The nature island and tubing were great! We will definitely visit again!
Jun 30, 2016
Can't connect to wifi. Cable did not work for most of our stay and when it did work it was very snowy. Pot Holes throughout the campground. Grass clippings piled up in the grass so it was constantly tracked in and out of our camper. The most expensive campground I have ever stayed in. Very few activities are actually scheduled at check in and there were no outdoor movies even in good weather..Aged
Jun 30, 2016
It was great nice atmosphere. Lots of kids and activities for the kids to do. The outdoor movie Friday night was a nice addition. We have already made reservations for August at the campground.
Jun 30, 2016
We love the koa we go every year several times. This trip our campsite272 had no shade whatsoever. It was measurable the sun beat down on us the whole time.if we go back we will not be staying in the 270 sites.. other then that the koa is very family oriented and the kids love all the activities they have!
Jun 30, 2016
It was ok; bathrooms and the overall areas could be cleaner. Camping spaces are too crowded for my taste.
Jun 29, 2016
Staff was helpful, grill knobs were worn out, enjoyed my stay
Jun 29, 2016
THE CABAINS BY THE RIVER WERE AWSOME, THE SERVICE AND EVERYONE THERE WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND NICE, AND RAFTING AND TUBING WAS FUN, I HAVE BEEN GOING TO THAT KOA FOR A WHILE AND IT HAS ALWAYS MADE ME WANT TO COME BACK.
Jun 29, 2016
We enjoyed the amenities. This campground was very clean. I was happy with the bug spray they sprayed to avoid getting bit.
Jun 29, 2016
Great experience! All the staff were super friendly and helpful, special thanks to Jim who helped us to our site and checked on us on our day of departure. All the kids had a blast swimming, tubing and bike riding.
Jun 29, 2016
Love camping with REAL camping people. Friendly, real campers they eat and cook outside (compared to some RV campgrounds no one greets you or they all eat inside their fancy motor homes etc. That is our #1 reason we like Cherokee KOA. The only neg. thing is time to up-date the bathrooms.
Jun 29, 2016
Great!
Jun 28, 2016
What a beautiful facility. The folks behind the desk were extra-special. Love your coffee bar. Bathrooms in back could use a little more attention, but there was a group of teens staying in the area! We had a great stay.
Jun 28, 2016
The campground is very well kept with an extremely friendly staff. The amenities for the kids were excellent. We stayed for 9 days and were never bored.
Jun 28, 2016
We love this KOA. Very clean and friendly staff. We are coming back again next year and bring several other RV'ers with us. Great place to stay with so many activities you never have to leave the campground.
Jun 28, 2016
We love to visit Cherokee KOA but feel they are pricing us out of coming back ,when we booked our site it a was around 88 dollars a night which we paid to reserve our stay of 10 nights but when we arrived the nightly rate was 108 dollars a night. Plus we arrived a little early and was charged a extra 35 dollars. We have stayed here a number of years but this year sadly will probably be our last .
Jun 28, 2016
Great campground but too many cabins in front of Creek no access to water.stayed there for years when I was a kid it was great but now no water access. Will stay some where else next year.
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
great as always maintenance made quick work of a water issue
Jun 28, 2016
Great place to stay!
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Cable and internet was not working at the time of visit.
Jun 28, 2016
Second time camping at the cherokee koa and had a wonderful time. Hoping to stay a week next time.
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
First time staying here and everything met our expectations. RV sites are very large and kept nice.
Jun 28, 2016
No phone service. No internet service and the space they gave us had no tv. Other spaces had tv but when I complained they made no attempt to move me. We decided to not extend our stay. WAY overpriced for such lousy services.
Jun 28, 2016
Wevarrived knowing we rented a 1 room cabin off the river. We ended up with the best 2 room cabin on the property! We happily paid the difference and were surrounded by water on 3 sides! I'd say this is the best site we've ever stayed on, ever! Tubers and kayaks came down river all day. Fly fishing was really interesting. Stress level dropped 75% just looking ahead at the river. Stay here!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award