Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 30, 2017
Great time, family atmosphere, everyone was friendly and helpful.
May 30, 2017
Great place! Very well kept! The only issue is the Wi-Fi is hit or miss. Not a deal breaker but something they could work on
May 30, 2017
Great Campground. Lots of activities for kids!
May 30, 2017
the park is great, just had a bad weekend. A kid on Koa banana bike hit may car, dented the door, then a tree limb fell on my camper breaking the awning. The campground said it not responsible for any of it.
May 30, 2017
The kids enjoyed the indoor pool, banana bikes, and the jumping pillows. Lots of activity on Memorial Day weekend, but the KOA was fully staffed and very responsive.
May 30, 2017
While it was Memorial Day weekend, I was a bit let down by the facilities and upkeep of this KOA. I had hoped that it would be a bit more clean and put together than it was.
May 30, 2017
Awesome stay wonderful workers great activities. Clean even with all the storms whIle we were there the facilities stayed very clean
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
Staff was not friendly at all during check-in. Had site 181 and would not recommend that site-- cable box and sewage hookup were on top of each other and made connections difficult. Cable never had a clear picture and wifi never worked. Would not stay here again
May 30, 2017
Excellent facility!
May 30, 2017
Way over crowed everything is to expensive cabins to close to jumping pad. Not enough information about where you go while tubing. Had Fun and a good time but could have been a better stay. Indoor pool could be cleaner.
May 30, 2017
We had a wonderful stay, our cabin was clean and perfect for our family!
May 30, 2017
After a terrible storm we could find nowhere for kids to go and they said you should of called the emergency number which we were never told about and they refused to refund any of our stay
May 30, 2017
To many people walking through other peoples camp site. All the workers were great. I would suggest that parents watch their children better. Had a great time and will be back!
May 30, 2017
We had a great time all of our families loved it.One thing I wish they had benches in the ladies showers so we had a place to put our clothes.
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
Cable was poor, wifi was non existent, no enforcement of quiet time at all. I had requested to stay near a friend, no consideration given to my request, and I was treated rudely by the person I spoke to on the phone. Good amenities for kids, bath houses reeked do marijuana smoke and smell, condition was fair at best. Very disappointed for cost paid for stay, won't be back again!
May 30, 2017
the site we were given was very tight. Slide out was almost touching slide on other camper. Very little front space as well. The Cable was hit or miss the entire time we were there. The bath house had three different stalls completely out of toilet tissue the last day of our stay. Called and made a request to be close to another camper site and was told they could not do that. Other amenities good
May 30, 2017
My only issue was that they should inform patrons that you are no longer able to have camp fires over by the front river cabin section. Camping without a camp fire is just not camping....
May 30, 2017
The bathhouse that was located closest to us did not have disabled shower or toilet facilities. The campsite itself was laid out backwards.
May 30, 2017
Our stay was great! I just wish there was more enforcement on the quiet time rules and people controlling their children better. Keeping them from playing games on other peoples sites and not hitting cars with sports balls etc. That was aggrevating!
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
Everything I expected and more. Very friendly people and staff.
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
Except for the storm that hit it was a great stay as always and will definitely be back again!
May 30, 2017
Google Maps took us the wrong way thru the mountains and we ruined our brakes! Don't use hwy 19 from Maggie Valley with a motorhome or large trailer! KOA was fine even though it was a holiday weekend and very crowded.
May 30, 2017
Good get away spot for a much needed break looking forward to bring the kids with us next visit in July
May 30, 2017
This campground is the best. There are so many amenities for the children. Only downfall - golf cart rental rates are outrageous! $50 for 12 hours and $100 for 24 hours.
May 30, 2017
GM was the most hateful person that I have ever meet. Had problems checking in and instersted of helping and she did was sit in her office and make rude comments. Not a good place to stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize you felt that way.
May 30, 2017
We have been camping at Cherokee KOA since 1986. we have always been pleased but this trip was the worst. Problems: trees and shrubs need trimming, power box corroded and could not supply enough power, not enough parking space,very rude staff! We had to leave because of the power situation so we gave you a free night! I hope the new management corrects the problems!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize you had some issues. We are making many improvements to our campground. thanks for your feed back
May 30, 2017
NO CELL PHONE SERVICE, CABLE TV SERVICE TERRIBLE AND NOTHING TO DO EXCEPT THE CASINO.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have lots of actives here at Cherokee campground. tubing, rafting, drama, moving night, DJ night, train rides, tie die and many other crafts. Hope you will try us again.
May 30, 2017
The reason my rating is so low is because of the lack of care staff showed in warning us of a severe thunderstorm. Most people do not have cell service, and the wifi is completely overrun. Several people lost tents and canopies during a storm that we had no warning over. A little warning would have gone a long way in keeping people safe. Positives were cleanliness and activities.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize you felt less informed. We do have a weather board in the store that we post the weather, it is updated as we become aware of new weather issues.
May 30, 2017
Pleasant stay. Loved all the kid activities!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so glad you had a great time. Hope you will return again.
May 29, 2017
We had a very nice stay. It was very loud in our cabin which sat directly across from the main activities.
May 29, 2017
May 29, 2017
So much for the kids. Loved the place. Will return.
May 29, 2017
May 27, 2017
Friendly staff, Good Service, Clean restrooms and showers. I don't see what other people are complaining about.
May 26, 2017
Our cabin was nice but not as clean as I would have preferred Windows dirty. We checked on camping there but found it too pricey for our budget
May 25, 2017
Awesome campground for family fun. Large campsites, beautiful location and the river is wonderful for fishing . Only complaint is there is no cell phone service.
May 25, 2017
If you aren't concerned with cell service or WiFi, this rating would be 5 star. A perfect family destination.
May 25, 2017
Thank for your advice about fishing, it was the country girl at the desk.
May 25, 2017
Enjoyed a nice short vacation. Cabin was very clean. We loved the jump pillow!
May 25, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean grounds, store that has anything that may have been forgotten. Great cement sites for rv to level
May 24, 2017
Always a wonderful stay and the kids always live your KOA! Just wish y'all would cut down that tree, that's too close to the parking area at the cabin we stayed in...I, along with many others in the past (judging by the scars on it) have backed in to it!
May 24, 2017
Every Staff member was extremely helpful and provided anything ask for. It did rain and our site did collect alot of water but we were able to overcome that. Next time we are going to get a concrete site with concrete picnic table pad. We enjoyed our stay.
May 24, 2017
Lots for kids to do. Clean bathhouses with plenty of showers. Staff was friendly and attentive.
May 24, 2017
The Grounds are well kept. My stay just happened to be the week before they have everything open. The Grill was closed have the week, The outdoor pool and Hot tub were not open yet (I probably wouldn't have used the outdoor pool. They do have an indoor pool). My tent site was close to the main road and could hear the traffic noise. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Cabin next time.
May 23, 2017
The front desk staff was awesome. The pond fishing was sad - no fish!!
May 23, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award