Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Mar 31, 2014
I love coming to KOA in Cherokee! Mainly for the fishing & it's family friendly.
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 30, 2014
Under New Management, Staff rude, ill prepared for fishing tournament. My Family has attended opening day for past 25 years. will not attend next year. a lot of drinking alcohol by campers, Staff did not know how to remove these campers from FAMILY campground. My Grandchildren were with me this year, I felt very unsafe at campground. New Manger did not introduce his self to campers.SAD for campers
Mar 30, 2014
Lynn in front office made our stay awesome. This koa is beautiful, staff were beyond friendly an helpful!!! Fishing the river and ponds were plentiful for trout! Bathrooms were clean, showers were hot. Although we didn't use the pool it was clean and warm due to the super cold weather. The trails were beautiful to walk and the river was relaxing. I would stay here many more times!
Mar 29, 2014
Mar 29, 2014
Very nice. We stayed in cottage on the river. Would go again.
Mar 29, 2014
We stay in one of the deluxe cabin on the river felt the rate was a little high but the cabin was great had ever thing you needed.
Mar 28, 2014
It was very restful to visit at the time we did. We plan on repeating the experience every year!!! Thanks for the smiles!
Mar 28, 2014
The hot tub was in repair. My husband was so looking forward to using it. The pool had bugs in the bottom and needed cleaning bad. We would have liked to used the game room but it was closed. You should let people know what is and is not open during this time. It would be helpful to your campers. Having said that.We were greeted very nicely by the help. Our check in easy and they were friendly
Mar 26, 2014
Great spot!! Great campground!! Hope to go back soon!
Mar 25, 2014
Great location. Pleasant staff. Horrible wifi.
Mar 25, 2014
There were leafs everywhere bathrooms were freezing to shower in the people at the front desk were rude to my daughter when I has her go ask a question for me as I have ma and had her ask for me. There koa resturant were closed the bounce thing got blown up once while we were there I no we will not stay there again when we go back to cherokee again
Mar 25, 2014
We stayed in one of the riverside cottages. It was clean and the deck over the river was lovely! We will come back soon! Thank you Koa!
Mar 24, 2014
We had a wonderful time it was clean and the help was very nice and made us feel very welcome and at home thanks so much for your hard work
Mar 24, 2014
Cherokee is a very nice campground. TheWi-Fi is nonexistent. The guys that run around in the golf cart and monitor the place need to to have better people skills. My wife and children were in the indoor swimming pool and a guy comes busting in questioning (yelling) everyone is that their white car out there? I talked to several other campers that had similar problems with the same people.
Mar 23, 2014
The campground is very well kept. The staff were all very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay at this KOA!!!
Mar 23, 2014
Nice campground in a nice setting - mountains, streams, etc. Indoor (and outdoor) pool, playgrounds, giant chess board, putt-putt, jumping pad - lots of things to do. Nice bathhouses - although difficult to find 'happy medium' on showers. Two negatives: sites are small/crowded and too expensive.
Mar 21, 2014
Had a great stay here but it took us 35 minutes to find it. Maybe some better signage at Cherokee would help and also more signage up the road as we turned back twice not realizing we needed to go further before reaching the campground
Mar 20, 2014
We had a great time went to the casino. The staff was very helpful. we had a problem with the cable and they came and fixed it quickly. The pad that I parked my camper on was a little soft and not to level but was in a good location.
Mar 20, 2014
Mar 19, 2014
We had our trip planned for 2 months prior to arrival and were planning on staying beside some of our friends. Their cabin had some maintenance problems so they were moved to the other end of the camp ground. The office staff did not even offer to accomadate us by moving us closer or telling us on the front end prior to check in before I set up my camper. The bath faclities were dirty. K220/K221.
Mar 19, 2014
I like the fishing most of all and the cabin was well furnished and clean. Also its nice you can rent for one night .
Mar 18, 2014
we arrived at about 10 pm, and someone was there to help us get into our cabin--a very warm welcome. overall, we had a great time: people are friendly and helpful.
Mar 18, 2014
I had a deluxe cabin on the river and instead of having a poarch right on the river I was the closest to the pool so I had a area where others could be in front of us. that was a let down but the cabins were nice. I just wish our patio would have been river front like listed and we had no others around us so I don't know why we were not given one. we were cabin 502
Mar 18, 2014
Staff was super friendly and well informed about local attractions. Facilities were very clean.
Mar 17, 2014
WIFI needs to be WAY better if you expect to charge for it !
Mar 17, 2014
Really enjoyed our time at this KOA. Lots of activities for the kids, clean bathrooms/showers, great tree lined and river/creekside lots. Definitely will be back in the summer!
Mar 17, 2014
good place to stay for people with kids visiting smokie mt nat park. very quite,nice long pull through sites.bathrooms clean,park staff friendly. a bit pricy but not much you can do about that.
Mar 17, 2014
Mar 14, 2014
The grounds and cabins are well taken care of. The staff is extremely helpful and overall rate our stay 5 stars. If I had to throw out a negative it would be the price we payed. Willingly we paid the total fee of $161. We were one of few people on the grounds and would of hoped for a discounted price. Overall we would definately come back to the Cherokee location or any other KOA campground.
Mar 14, 2014
Worst KOA ever! Many items non-functional or in disrepair. Pool was dirty and spa was dirty and non-functional. Awful.
Mar 11, 2014
We had a back in site by the river. Nice concrete pad with a fire pit and picnic table. We didn't use any of the amenities aside from the electric, water and sewer hook up. Very nice campground and very nice people who run it.
Mar 10, 2014
Great sites great people. LB was extremely helpful.
Mar 10, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. We loved the little cabin and everything about the koa. We will be coming again.
Mar 04, 2014
Stayed in a cabin. Very comfortable beds. Glad however we did not have to sleep on the futon. It was not comfortable even to sit on. But over all very satisfied with our stay.
Mar 03, 2014
The campground, as always, was wonderful to visit. We have been going for 11 years to Cherokee and have always enjoyed ourselves. The only critique we have is that there is some rodent activity around the cabin we stayed in (KT236). I understand that with the outdoors, big trash bins etc. that rodents can be a constant nusiance, but you do need to do some type of rodent control and soon.
Mar 03, 2014
I normally would give this koa 5 stars, but this past stay was horrible. The office was closed when we got there & our key was in the cabin. The bathhouse close to us was locked the entire time. The store was closed when we woke up wanting coffee. We waited around to check out so we could go hiking & found out we could drop key off by a rude employee. Hate that I lost money on this horrible stay.
Mar 02, 2014
The first night, there was no hot water, but the next day the staff showed me several cabins until I was satisfied with one. Apparently, the breaker was shut off in the first cabin and the subsequent ones had frozen water pipes. Finally, we found one that had hot water. We had problems working the remote for the heater, but I think that was because we just didn't know how to use the remote.
Feb 25, 2014
Feb 25, 2014
Security guard at night is very rude and non-welcoming. We pulled up to his booth at the gate and he did not come out. Then he showed up at our cabin and asked why we did not check in. Then instead of giving us our pass he made us drive back to the front so he could hand it to us. No "thanks for coming", no "enjoy your stay". Deluxe Cabin was great, and had everything we needed and more.
Feb 24, 2014
This was an annual friends reunion trip that dates back about 20 years at your location..We ALWAYS have a great time but we encountered some difficulty regarding late evening arrivals in our group.Being working folk coming from three different states, we usually have "after hours" arrivals. Never a problem until now! Please keep us apprised of new policies so we can avoid any trouble.Thanks again
Feb 24, 2014
Only problem we had was our bill. We rented a cabin for 6 people. Then we were charged extra $5 for each adult. Where is the reasoning for this charge? This seems very unfair and I will stay somewhere else next fishing trip. We left cabin clean, took trash off, and washed all dishes as we do every where we stay. KOA has pools and activities family oriented. Do not like extra charges on my bill!
Feb 24, 2014
Intended to stay for a valentines getaway but had to reschedule due to snow for the following weekend. What a difference one week makes ! Weather was beautiful,fishing was great,Mingo falls was breath taking and KOA staff were very helpful and nice. The bath houses were very clean and up to date, actually some of the nicest in comparison to other KOA's I have stayed at. Great quiet lovers getaway!
Feb 24, 2014
loved it, had a great stay, thank you.
Feb 21, 2014
Arrived in the early evening. We have a special needs child and we were looking forward to the indoor pool with her. Upon arriving we noticed the pool was closed for repair. We checked in,the front desk apologized would not charge us if we decided not to stay. We were tired from the drive and didn't want to put our little one back in the car. I did ask and received a SMALL discount per night.
Feb 18, 2014
We enjoyed the campground, looks like lots of things to do in the summer. Personally a bit disappointed that we were the first to show up to the Kamping Kabins and stayed a day longer than everyone else, but we got the oldest Kabin whose heat was out (had two portable heaters going), black ants (large and small) and damaged closet and mini fridge. Would stay again if were put in newer Kabin.
Feb 18, 2014
Feb 17, 2014
Feb 07, 2014
Everyone I worked with were very nice and helpful, like Erin at the desk. Lack of wifi really affected my stay. Beautiful location.
Feb 06, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.