Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 16, 2015
The campground location is pretty but the campground needs some tender loving care
Aug 16, 2015
Great campground. Very clean and well maintained. The staff was excellent and went out of their way to make sure you had what you needed and felt at home. The only "negatives" were that the TV reception was fuzzy and the WiFi was weak (if that's your thing), but we weren't their to watch TV or play online. We would definitely stay here again.
Aug 16, 2015
We look forward to our stay there at the KOA all year! We love staying in the cabins because it is camping without the tents. There is so much to do at the campground...you don't even have to leave! See you next year!
Aug 16, 2015
The staff really work hard keeping the camp grounds and facilities clean and nice. The staff are friendly, and very helpful. Really nice camp.
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
This is one of the best KOA that we have been at. A lot to do and everyone was real friendly. We went every where and the KOA was a great place to come back to after a day of sightseeing.
Aug 16, 2015
Front desk poorly organized and understaffed. Wifi lousy.With todays technology not much excuse for this.
Aug 16, 2015
Best KOA we've seen, for folks with kids. We called from a nearby casino to reserve a spot. Would have stayed at the casino till time for bed, but was told the camp would provide a shuttle "At any time" to the casino and pick me up at 10:00pm. Went to camp at 4:00. Told no ride till 6:00, and last ride home 8:30 (twenty minute ride each way)Good place to sleep. Should have stayed at the casino.
Aug 15, 2015
Extremely upset over the condition of the campground plus our unit was not CLEAN at all.
Aug 15, 2015
We had a wonderful week at this KOA. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Planning a family reunion here next year. Beautiful campground!
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
We just got married and came up to stay in our camper for a week on the way up my husband called the campground to make sure we where going the right way lady on the phone was very rude and hung up on him in the middle of asking a question so I kindly called back and ask for the manager and explained that the lady we talked too was rude and they apologized but never had a employee be so hateful
Aug 15, 2015
Nice KOA.
Aug 15, 2015
Clean bathrooms, lots of activities for kids, cabins a bit close together and not much space if you have little kids
Aug 14, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the KOA Cherokee. Everyone wad super nice and the facility was top notch! Our campsite was excellent, we will see you again soon!
Aug 14, 2015
The only complaint I have is I went on Friday to see if I could check in an hour early. You always let us have our cabin early. Well Joann refused to even look to see if the cabin was ready and said policy is 2:00 and continued to ask what did I want her to do about it. I never have ran into someone like her there. She was VERY RUDE.
Aug 14, 2015
We have been raving about this KOA since we got back home. Every KOA staff member should be sent here for training on how to create a wonderful KOA experience. The place is beautiful, the facilities are in top-notch condition, and they offer excellent and frequent activities.
Aug 14, 2015
Tammy and Thomas were the best! So helpful and made our stay wonderful. Thank you for everything!
Aug 14, 2015
After reading so many of the negative reviews, I almost made reservations somewhere else. But, I am glad I did not. We had a wonderful experience...the staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the entire grounds were well taken care of. Almost no road noise, tons of amenities and a great experience all around. The only downer was that it is a full 1-1/2 hour drive to Asheville. We will go back
Aug 13, 2015
Great place for family fun and nice people. Will be back.
Aug 12, 2015
Clean park. Beautiful view. Poor WiFi. Poor WiFi. Poor WiFi. Location is poor as you are an hour to an hour and a half away from anything worth doing. Some staff were great while others were rude. They did refund when we left early so that is a plus. But we will never return to this park but would probably stay on the other side of mountain in pigeon forge. Very disappointed complete waste of vac
Aug 12, 2015
Very large campsite with a lot of things to do in a good location. Was very busy on the day we arrived and little notice was being taken of the capsite rules.
Aug 12, 2015
We had a great time! Excellent bathroom facilities and lots of activities for kids. Wifi was horrible though if you need to be plugged!
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Wonderful camp ground bathrooms clean and beautiful. Site very nice.would stay there anytime
Aug 11, 2015
No public kichen. Too many cabins and the cabins are rusty.
Aug 11, 2015
The only issue I found was that the bathroom on cabin 252 side was not handicap friendly. The counter tops at the sinks were made for the standing not wheelchair bound. An older lady in a wheelchair could not see in the mirror from her chair and her personal items were on the counter which was about "neck high" while in her chair. Very happy and will bring more of our family next year.
Aug 11, 2015
My site was 185 and it was great
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
came in a 40 ft motorcoach concrete pad and pull thru site very nice compared to some i have stayed at nice staff will be staying again in future
Aug 11, 2015
Great place to stay. Plenty of things for the kids to do.
Aug 11, 2015
Thurs, Fri, and Sat nights were miserable. The camp was super busy and even hosted a high school cheerleading camp, not my idea of fun. Crying babies and barking dogs, ugh! Sun and Mon were delightful, like a completely different park from the weekend. If you are looking for a little bit of peace avoid Thurs-Sat. The camp was clean and well kept.
Aug 10, 2015
every thing was perfect
Aug 10, 2015
Awesome
Aug 10, 2015
Stayed in cottage on river. It was great. Kids had a blast. Kitchen needed more dishware and a working hotplate but otherwise beautiful.
Aug 10, 2015
we had a great time. and enjoyed staying there. it was relaxing.and can,t wait to come back.thank
Aug 10, 2015
Nice location
Aug 10, 2015
Wonderful camping site!
Aug 10, 2015
This is a great campground! It has a resort feel with lots of things to do without ever leaving the grounds. The surroundings are very beautiful!
Aug 10, 2015
I've been camping @ this KOA since the mid 90's. Things so much cleaner & organized than with old ownership. Food was a big disappointment. Only 2 workers on breakfast shift & 30 min waits!?! What happened to the all you could eat breakfast specials and prompt service? You had to do better on your excursion bookings and profits by filling all those tables & chairs. You were out of tubes Sat!
Aug 10, 2015
I would recommend everything at this campground except the tent sites. The sites right across from a busy, noisy road.
Aug 10, 2015
A great place for families. The view & sound of the river is so peaceful.
Aug 10, 2015
Everything was great. We had 19 people in our group and we all had a great trip!! We have been coming for about 20 years, our kids were so excited to return as adults. We missed the all you can eat pancakes, but the café was good. See you next year.
Aug 10, 2015
The Camp Ground is a very nice facility but for the amount of money spent I feel that there should be trash pickup at the site. There are plenty of employees on KOA golf carts riding around. They all didn't look that busy. There are to many kids on small peddal bikes that were not with parents and not paying attention to traffic. Great revenue but should be scaled back.
Aug 10, 2015
This is our favorite KOA!
Aug 10, 2015
Had a nice time. Need to improve the hot water in the showers.
Aug 10, 2015
Overall we had a great time staying at the Cherokee KOA. Our only issues were the cleanliness of the men's restrooms, and the condition of the fenced dog park area which had zero grass for the dogs to play without getting very dirty (no ideal when they are staying in the RV.) we would definitely come stay again though as there are tons of activities for all ages and the sites are well maintained.
Aug 10, 2015
Very clean. Great bunch of folks running the campground. Had a lot of activities for my 10 year old.
Aug 10, 2015
Our family had a great time camping and tubing, the river runs along side the campground, so they drive you up the mountain and drop you off at the river, then you float back to the KOA. The most fun you can have for ten bucks! Great deal.
Aug 10, 2015
We had a great time...family memories will be good ones..I didn't give a 5 star because on our way walking to store we stepped in what looked like sewer on the edge of other camp sites..other than that, it was wonderful.. staff were very efficient too..
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps