Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
Peaceful back-in site on the river. Loved the paved site with picnic table and fire pit/grill. Kids loved both pools, renting bikes, tubing and planned activities. Camp store well stocked. Bath house was clean. Liked the shuttle service. Pleasant staff; they all were really nice.
Aug 05, 2014
We had a great time.. The staff we encountered during our stay were very friendly and polite.
Aug 05, 2014
nice place to stay, wonderful family atmosphere.
Aug 05, 2014
We spent about $60 a night just an ok site. We did get a site on the pond as requested, what was not shown on the map was the 8 foot fence separating us from the pond and could not see the pond at all as vines growing on the fence blocked the view. Staff was great, site ok, no internet,no cell. $60 a night I don't think so. Spent 30 a night, on stream, full hook up elsewhere.
Aug 04, 2014
Too many dogs, showers need reworking, to many thieves , left cell phone in shower house 4 & someone got & keep it,
Aug 04, 2014
The location of the campground, the cabin, and the children's program are all great! The cleanliness of the bath houses and bathrooms were not at all up to standards. I did report this to the desk staff at check out and asked that she report to management. I witnessed a housekeeper come in to clean but only took a glance- did not clean. A tampon was left on the floor in a toilet stall all day.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Two thumbs up to the new management. It would be worth 5 stars if the WiFi was reliable!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Our trailer site flooded on the first night. We moved to another site the next day without problems, however with no apology or recognition of the inconvenience caused. Wifi internet only available at a hotspot beside the office. Not the end of the world, yet not up to our experience at other KOA's.
Aug 04, 2014
it is false advertisement to claim you have wifi and cable. It was not even sporadic. The pool could have been cleaner. Perhaps the most disturbing aspect of our visit was my family witnessing your employee, Jill (old blonde woman), mistreat a customer, whose points were valid in that she was checking in and her site was still occupied, way past check out. Jill is not fit to clean your toilets.
Aug 04, 2014
Great stay...very clean bathrooms....all staff super nice....my kids had fun and I was so comfortable letting them ride bikes ..we will be back hopefully sooner than next year!!!!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
We love this campground!!!! The girls who did all the activities with the kids were awesome and the activities themselves were great!!!! Can't wait to come back!
Aug 04, 2014
Not to busy not to big awesome for families loved it !!!!
Aug 04, 2014
The stay was great but could not get Wifi service.
Aug 04, 2014
Wi-Fi would not reach camp site. Staff was extremely ride. Staff not manning stations so you could get putt-putt things. Bought wood and an hour and a half later had to go back to office to ask for it again. Worst koa ever stayed at. Will never go back
Aug 04, 2014
Hubby did plenty of fishing. I love the concrete pad pull thru sites, we stayed on the super site that allows two campers to share the same pad. My daughter and I really enjoyed the tubing! That was our favorite part. The staff that workks in the tubing rentals area was very friendly and informative. But the inflatable jumping thing is very dangerous! There is no supervision on it!!!
Aug 04, 2014
The staff were so nice and friendly and went out of their way to help us make an emergency phone call to family. We appreciated the free shuttle to go horseback riding and tubing. Lots of fun activities too!
Aug 04, 2014
Bathrooms were a mess all the time. Roads in campground were terrible huge pot holes!Traffic plugged up entrance often. Was told I was put near pond, but they failed to mention there was a big steel fence in front of it 15 feet from front door of cabin. was charged 20 for extra people and was never told I couldn't have 4 people.the cabin had 2 twin beds and a dbl why extra charge?? nocommunication
Aug 04, 2014
Staff was great. But,the cabin had to be sprayed twice for black ants. Screens on doors and windows were torn. Mattresses are so old they are paper thin and provide no support; was like sleeping on boards. Main outside pool dirty. We have used this KOA 25 years and love the location, but it is in sad need of maintenance. Felt like we should have a refund.
Aug 04, 2014
This facility is definitely family friendly. There was plenty of activity and the majority of staff were helpful.
Aug 04, 2014
My family has camped at the Cherokee koa the last four summers and it is always one of our most favorite family trips we take each year. There is so much for the kids to do. From the indoor pool to the outdoor pool to fishing in the trout ponds tubing down the river or riding banana bikes there is just so many activities for families. We absolutely love it and would strongly recommend
Aug 04, 2014
My kids loved all the activities and events that the campground had during the weekend. Overall we had a great experience and will be returning. My only complaints would be the dirt in the mens bathroom and the overall noise made by the two pit bulls that were located 2 campsites removed from ours. These dogs were large and aggressive, I'm glad they were chained at all times.
Aug 04, 2014
Love, love this place! Our first time here and kids are having a blast! Ran out of time to do everything. The only negative I can possibly say is that the tent camping area was not near as nice as where we stayed (pull through RV). Staff was extremely nice, they have firewood and ice , so much to do for kids!
Aug 04, 2014
Was amazing kids and I had a great time
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
We really enjoyed everything, at first our site didn't accommodate our camper, but it was taken care of in a very speedy and polite time frame. We have a 10yr old boy who made lots of friends, he really enjoyed movie night and and all the fun things there was for him to do. We also enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. We will defiantly be going back!
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
We had a blast! The cabins where nice and clean when we got there. The kids loved the pools and the jumping pillow. Everyone was so nice. We will be back next year! The campground all together whas amazing.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
My family enjoyed our stay but I was disappointed that it was not a smoke free campground. I hated smelling and seeing cigarettes. Also, many of the workers were overheard swearing. I have small children and this was unprofessional. Lastly, I felt the pool should have been cleaner. The water appeared cloudy and the concrete was chipped/cracked and stained.
Aug 03, 2014
We had a great stay at this KOA. But I think the cabins were not as clean as other KOAs. Inside was dusty and beds didn't look too clean. Overall, it is a decent KOA with friendly staffs.
Aug 03, 2014
stayed at the delux kamping cabins with bathroom. Price was $240.00 a night, way over priced for this kabin. employees were rude and not helpful. I wont be going back to this koa again in Cherokee nc.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
We liked the campground but there should be more spots for people with tents. We were first assigned a camping area next to the dog toilet which was rather smelly. When we complained, we were assigned a better tent site though. Otherwise good breakfast offers, nice pool, helpful and friendly employees.
Aug 01, 2014
Very nice campground, friendly staff.
Aug 01, 2014
We had a great time & are planning to return again soon. We stayed in a deluxe cabin & it was really cute & cozy.
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Always enjoy staying here. Great place, clean and good customer service.
Jul 31, 2014
Although it was great place, i have found that the #62.99 a night has become too expensive esp when having to pay for the different fun things. My grands are teens now.. in the others 4 years, there was much free things to do as they were younger and the sonshiners kept them busy...and i didn't notice the price much......
Jul 31, 2014
Our only concern was the cleanliness of the grounds and bathhouses. Also parking spaces were not clearly marked around the store,pool area and lighting of grounds and bathrooms made nighttime walking a problem
Jul 31, 2014
We stayed in a Kamping Cabin. It was clean and located on the river. The campground had so much to do. The recreational staff and front desk people were great.
Jul 31, 2014
Fun place. Lots to do. Nice location. Great people.
Jul 31, 2014
Stayed one night and everything was good.
Jul 30, 2014
Need more security. Don't let kids ride bikes after dark. Enforce quiet time.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.