Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 23, 2015
Our 1st time camping with all the kids & we had a fabulous time! Can't wait for our next visit. See you all real soon!
Aug 23, 2015
Something for everyone. All 4 of my kids had a different favorite part. Beautiful location, clean, fun....
Aug 23, 2015
The staff was awesome. I had a problem with my tailgate on my truck he had tools that I could fix it in about 5 minutes. Thank you so much.
Aug 23, 2015
It was the best vacation we've had in years! The cabin was perfect. The staff was friendly and very knowledgeable about local attractions. The campground itself was beautiful and well maintained. There's so much to do that you don't have to leave to have a great time! We really enjoyed getting to meet campers from all over. You know that it's a great vacation when even the dogs had a good time!
Aug 23, 2015
Campground and facilities were very nice. Highly disappointed with wifi was never able to use it.beautiful area
Aug 23, 2015
Friendly, helpful staff. Clean and plentiful showers and restrooms. Loved the amenities such as the pools, the tubing, and especially the dog run and kennel as GSMNP is not particularly dog friendly.
Aug 22, 2015
The cabins would be a much more pleasant experience with a window air unit,especially since they charge a resort fee and I paid for an upgrade. I had to switch cabins while I was there because of the noise from some backhoe work being done. The customer service was accomodating, but not necessarily friendly,except for one clerk.
Aug 22, 2015
Clean,friendly,well run. Will be back.
Aug 21, 2015
Aug 21, 2015
when I got there to check in. I told the lady we were early and asked if the room was ready. She said "WHEEW your too early so I said no problem can we sit by the pool or walk the grounds? No we were not allowed on property until we checked in! So I asked if she had any suggestions on where to go for 2 hours it was my first time in North Carolina, No she said!
Aug 20, 2015
The stay was good but the only problem was that several amenities were not available after a certain hour or closed completely during the week. Alot of campers left on Sunday but there were others there during the week. We should have access to everything during our entire stay!
Aug 20, 2015
We had an awesome stay. The cabin was very clean as well as the campgrounds. The workers were very polite and helpful. Will definitely be back!
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Great for kids, friendly staff, clean facilites, and nice location. Would love to go back very soon!
Aug 20, 2015
I was disappointed this time. The staff many times were rude,bickering with each other and arguing with campers.
Aug 20, 2015
Great family vacation! My kids are already looking forward to our return trip! I highly recommend!
Aug 19, 2015
Your campground was great. Nestled so very close to Smoky Mountain National Park. Very friendly workers in all aspects of their jobs. The campground was clean. It was great that you offered free shuttle service to Cherokee and for when we went horseback riding in the Park. We would certainly recommend your campground to our family & friends. And if we ever visit the area again, we will stay there.
Aug 19, 2015
I feel the video of this camp ground is very misleading.We watched the video,ooked at the camp ground map before our visit to select our sites,We chose the river rv premium back-in sites 218,219 and 220. What a huge disappointment when we get there and our premium river site in no more then a little trickling steam.Spoke with Jo Ann,from the office and was told sorry for your luck.
Aug 19, 2015
We were only here for a day but very nice spacious and staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 18, 2015
The front desk folk,especilly Jill, keeps us coming back again and again. Don,Maintenance, was very helpful.
Aug 18, 2015
Bathhouse needs updated ,price is high for the area there are campgrounds in the same area for a fraction of the price.
Aug 18, 2015
It was very very nice and very clean place and the bath house was very clean
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
The place itself it is beautiful, spacious and clean.In the downside some of the staff need some work on their customer service skills and professionalism. Overall had a great time but was a bit disappointed that we wanted to stay for an additional day and had booked to go back in November but decided to cancel due to the attitude and rudeness of some staff members.
Aug 18, 2015
Nice place very very expensive but fishing ponds were close,I asked & nobody told me that.! The other pond had a sign say ponds were to warm for fish. After the 4 of us paid $80.00 for fishing licenses. Pool closes way to early for adults. Cable was bad. Some rude employees! We had a nice stay but spent $400 camping for 3 nights!!
Aug 17, 2015
Only spent one night, but we were so impressed with the facilities (and surrounding area) that we've decided to come back next year for a much longer stay. Already looking forward to it.
Aug 17, 2015
As always, we had a great time.
Aug 17, 2015
Been cmng here 20+yrs. Raised my sons here every sir, their entire childhd. They are grown w/own children Now. Always came in late may but couldn't this year and waited until this specific week for a spot towards the back and on the river. Arrived and was told my spot was the first spot, on the creek, and by the bouncy area. NOT suitable for a 54 yr old there to relax. Also not happy with constant
Aug 17, 2015
Great family campground!
Aug 17, 2015
We stayed 4 nights and had a great time. Did have to wait in line at the camp store for around 15-20 min, while three employees worked on one person's bill.
Aug 17, 2015
we had a wonderful time and all the children loved it. we were there with our grand daughter and faimlies to send her off to collage with some great memories .hope to visit lots more times
Aug 17, 2015
Manager went out of his way and helped make our stay incredible after a big misunderstanding. Thanks for all you did David.
Aug 17, 2015
Park was clean, staff friendly somewhat pricey. Overall enjoyed our stay.
Aug 17, 2015
Ready to come back
Aug 17, 2015
Great campground! Game room needs some help.
Aug 17, 2015
This was our first ever KOA experience. And it was awesome we look forward to our next KOA vacation
Aug 17, 2015
I have stayed for the past ten years at KOA. The amenities are one of the top reasons why. I would only add that customer service was lacking this last trip. The staff could benefit greatly from customer service training. The environment is stunning and the experience could be even better with friendly employees.
Aug 17, 2015
My family had a great time. I would like to get qoupons for discounted stays. Price was a little high.
Aug 17, 2015
I wish the pool water would have been warmer! Is the indoor pool heated?
Aug 17, 2015
The nicest KOA I have ever been in.
Aug 17, 2015
A perfect place and so close to Mingo Falls. Better than any hotel.
Aug 17, 2015
Staff is rude.
Aug 17, 2015
Excellent facility with extremely friendly staff. We suited for the family. We enjoyed ourselves very much and will come back.
Aug 17, 2015
This was my first stay at a KOA campground, and I felt very disappointed. I was hesitant about paying the higher price, but heard that KOA has a reputation for cleanliness. The floor of the cabin was filthy and it smelled like vomit. The bathroom had footprints on the toilets and giant wads of hair in each shower stalls. I wouldn't pay such a high rate for those types of conditions again.
Aug 17, 2015
Staff were wonderful and helpful. Bathrooms and showers were always clean. The grounds were clean and well maintained.
Aug 17, 2015
Nice clean campground! Don't feel trash trucks have to come every day! That definitely drives up cost. The pillow pad needs to be supervised by parents.
Aug 17, 2015
We have been to this koa a few times. The only thing I wish were different would be for an option of a later check out time. With check in around 2 and checkout around 11, you don't even get a full 24 hr stay and we came for the campground and not sightseeing. We've already seen haha. Will continue to return here.
Aug 17, 2015
We had just left the KOA in E.ash and really enjoyed ourselves. Rented cabin with just ac (w/0 tv/fridge) for $58 each night 2 nights in total. Really enjoyed it since it was our first stay in a KOA. Got to Cherokee KOA. No ac. Tv didn't work. Was charged $100 and when checking out was only offered 10% off. Wish I could explain more but don't have enough space to tell full story. Never will return
Aug 17, 2015
We have been going for 25 years and we still love it. This time in a cabin and not our motorhome. We really enjoyed it. Our granddaughters grew up here at the park and was the first place they named when asked where they wanted to go. They are 16 and 18 now and they still love it.
Aug 16, 2015
The campground location is pretty but the campground needs some tender loving care
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps