Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 22, 2015
Kids loved it. Very clean. People were nice. Needs lifeguards. Outdoor pool is 8 feet deep and they depend on parents to watch their own children. No swim test to enter deep end. Very dangerous. Parents on deck considered "watching" their children even if they're half asleep and sunbathing. Won't concern you if you plan on being with your family while in the pool.
Jun 22, 2015
The lots were we were at were too small and very difficult for us to back our fifthwheel into. This is due to the fact that the people who stayed in the little cabins Parkes right along the campground road. The sites on the other side of the campground looked adequate for backing into.
Jun 22, 2015
Wonderful campground! Great times!
Jun 21, 2015
Cherokee KOA is a Great campground with a great Staff. Always clean, and welcoming. This was our 2nd trip to Cherokee with the Classic Minis United group. I will bring the family next time we go!
Jun 21, 2015
A great time by all. Lot's to do with children...lot's of rexalation time for adults. The cabin was great. All the staff very helpful and accommodating!
Jun 21, 2015
We really enjoyed our visit. Everyone was extremely kind and my kids really enjoyed all the great activities.. Suggestion a fan or a/c in the bedroom for the deluxe cabin
Jun 21, 2015
The KOA was awesome and we didn't even need to leave to experience tubing on the river. Will be back!
Jun 21, 2015
Some of the bath houses may need to be updated in the near future. The outdoor swimming pool seems to be a little small for the park. At times during the day it was very hecktic and crowded with too many people swimming and jumping in the pool. For the amount of sites and cabins in the park I feel that the outdoor pool is inaduquate for the amount of potential swimmers that may be at the pool
Jun 21, 2015
Love it
Jun 20, 2015
Did not like the bathroom and shower layout. The grandkids really liked the bouncing pillow, pool & checkers games and the one night of outside movies
Jun 20, 2015
It would be very helpful if you had a sign at SherrIL cove Rd to NOT turn there or put that in the Koa book
Jun 20, 2015
This KOA does not stand with others. The Nature area is unkept and trees in the campground needs trimming. Overall a lot of TLC is needed.
Jun 20, 2015
Great facility. Wanted a spot closer to the activities and saw 2 people with late checkout closer, thought they would accommodate the request better since reservations were 3 months in advance. Very friendly staff and good activities.
Jun 20, 2015
This was our third time camping at this KOA. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The wifi isn't great but that isn't why you go camping in the first place. The bathhouse was clean as was the campground. We will be back!
Jun 20, 2015
Lots of good fishing and activities for the kids. The people were very good to us and the activities directors were absolutely wonderful with my children
Jun 20, 2015
The campsites are nice, we have been coming here now for thirteen years; last visit was seven years ago. Campsite needs more wifi; even though the front desk says it is available throughout the area it is really only around the pool and rec area. All in all everyone had fun so it was a good trip.
Jun 20, 2015
I have taking my family to this KOA for 20 years. My children and now my grand children Many changes have happened and the price had went up. But it has always been a great adventure
Jun 19, 2015
Stayed in a cabin. Expensive. Needs maintenance. Had a good time.
Jun 19, 2015
Had a blast. Campground is extremely clean and people are very friendly!
Jun 19, 2015
Only problem was no wifi. Your website says you have wifi which is why we chose to stay there - my husband had to do some work while we were gone. Had to leave day early because of no wifi.
Jun 19, 2015
We tent camped at site 9, which was centrally located to the pool/store/bathrooms. These bathrooms had just been remodeled and exceeded our expectations. They were very clean and really attractive. Everyone was friendly and helpful.
Jun 18, 2015
Great place! This is our 4th visit and will go back again. Friendly and helpful staff and plenty of activties for the young ones. We stayed Deluxe Cabins and they were very comfortable. Plus, the sound of the running river is very soothing and peaceful.
Jun 18, 2015
Seem like the rules applied to some and not others. Rules state no kids under 16 allowed without parenta at the pool but I noticed groups of kids unsupervised that wereally clearly not 16. Other than that great a great place
Jun 18, 2015
I had a good time, I wish there were areas where camping would be for couples, and families in another area. Children would ride their bikes on our camping area, which i didn't complain but would have liked a little more privacy. But all in all was friendly and clean.
Jun 18, 2015
This was the best camping experience I've ever had! From friendly, knowledgeable staff to clean facilities to as many (or few) activities as we wanted to participate in. I will definitely be back often!
Jun 18, 2015
This was our first time at a KOA. We had a great time and plan to come back.
Jun 18, 2015
No better Campground in America for younger children. The settling and activities program is awesome.
Jun 17, 2015
This is a good campground to stay at if you have children. However, if you do not have young kids, this may not be the place for you.
Jun 17, 2015
This is our favorite campground. We love it's location and it's always clean and the staff is great.
Jun 17, 2015
Our stay at Koa was a wonderful experience ! We had a site and my parents had a site... When we arrived to our sites we didn't care much for the location of them so we asked the office for a change and they did it was no hesitation or hard time! The pools were very clean and the children enjoyed it a lot ! The sites were very clean and the grass was cut !! We will see you again soon ! The Munro
Jun 17, 2015
Great park with friendly staff. Tent sites very nice, except placed on outside of park close to road
Jun 17, 2015
Stay was good. My son and grandson were already there camping in a pop-up or I would not have paid the price for the cabin - way overpriced.
Jun 17, 2015
all the employees were helpful and freindly, the camp and bathrooms, showers, were nice and clean
Jun 17, 2015
Had a great time and the campground was very nice.
Jun 16, 2015
The staff were helpful and friendly. The campground had a lot of activities we could do and also had food that could be purchased. We so did enjoy our stay and would come back again.
Jun 16, 2015
Everyone very nice and helpful
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
Great stay. Perfect base camp for Cherokee and GSMNP. Enjoyed our stay.
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
Bad site. Put next to(facing pull-thru) at #277. "Group" on site never had less than 10 people and never shut up well after "quite" time. No shade as requested.
Jun 16, 2015
We enjoyed our 4-day stay. Good, friendly, helpful people! You will be glad you stayed here!
Jun 16, 2015
We enjoyed our cabin by the river. But, with no cell service, we depended on the Wi-Fi which was advertised but it did not work. We had no contact with family left at home, nor were we able to receive email unless we went into town. We chose this one because of the advertised Wi-Fi.
Jun 16, 2015
The staff was amazing. Everyone you passed walking or around the pool said hello and asked how everything was going and if we needed anything. The resort was clean and well maintained. We will gladly recommend to anyone! Because we will be back as soon as we can!
Jun 15, 2015
So much fun. Such a pretty location. And so many things to do. Tubing was our family's favorite! Can't wait to come back!
Jun 15, 2015
Loved your campground. Everyone friendly and helpful. By far better than others around the area! Great for kids.
Jun 15, 2015
The stay was pleasant and the staff was friendly. Much better than the stay in 2013.
Jun 15, 2015
Very nice campground and great stay. 1st time at this campground or any KOA. Many activities for kids. Would have been a 5 but somehow it seemed we ended up with the one bad campsite in the campground. Couldn't even fully extend our awning due to a power box and had a LP gas tank right next to us. Any other site, and it would be 5 stars.
Jun 15, 2015
Very nice the river is wonderful. However, they need a plumber to fix there bathroom fixtures.
Jun 15, 2015
The campground itself wasn't bad. Lots of large dogs, German Sheperds Doberman and a pit bull. Unusual for a campground. The wi-fi is weak. Not bad early but as people get up it goes bad. And there were multiple sites with the sewer blocked up and extremely slow at best. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jun 15, 2015
Loved the new upgrades (flatsceens TV and refridgerator in the kabins)

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.