Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
This was our first time staying at any KOA and we couldn't be more pleased!! Our two-night stay was great!! The only thing I would change is a later check out time.
Jun 09, 2014
very clean quiet and friendly
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
All the staff at the KOA seems to go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our time there very much and will hopefully be back soon. Thanks Jean
Jun 09, 2014
Very friendly staff.
Jun 09, 2014
absolutely wonderful
Jun 09, 2014
Short weekend trip to get away. Staff was excellent! Kids loved the pools and water slide. The activities provided by the koa were awesome as well. The kids loved the flash light candy hunt. My wife and I enjoyed the ease of check in and the R&R. Very clean campground as well.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
Very nice and helpful staff! WIFI issues kept it from being perfect.
Jun 08, 2014
Very clean, and everyone is very nice.
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 07, 2014
Enjoyed our stay except the weather wasn't good with rain. Pool seemed clean and restrooms.
Jun 07, 2014
Jun 06, 2014
Jun 05, 2014
Grouped with our friends in side by side cabins, pools were clean, staff friendly, lots to do for the kids, bring bikes!
Jun 05, 2014
I expected the pool to stay open till 11:00 pm because that's what the web site said, only to find it closed at 9:00 pm. Kids were not happy!!!
Jun 05, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Wonderful stay just wish the internet wifi had been better.
Jun 04, 2014
Nice place, needs to upgrade bath houses.Would have been better to be able to go down to the river without weeds.Friendly people. Well mantained other than river.
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
You advertise wifi and you have none, they said they are working on it but for how long? We stayed until June 5 and most of the day of June 4 NO WATER. How would you like us to rate this camp??
Jun 03, 2014
Had a great time with my family there I can't wait to comeback.
Jun 03, 2014
Beautiful location. Fun amenities. Indoor pool was cloudy (dirty?). Island park not kept up, but lots of potential. Movie night postponed. If it's on the schedule, follow schedule.
Jun 03, 2014
We decided at the last minute to go, everyone was very nice. I would recommend to check your cabin and make sure everything is in them and working.That was the only thing.
Jun 02, 2014
Great KOA, but I highly recommend improving the WiFi. Would get 5 stars if the wifi could have reached my RV site.
Jun 02, 2014
Wi-Fi was very poor. you had it so it would knock you off after an hour so people could not stream movies,and did not consider people working on their computer. it was to slow to download needed materials, and to slow to do a video call on Skype. The campfire grill was to be open from 8am to 8pm it was not and no reason given as to why.
Jun 02, 2014
LOVED IT WILL BE BACK AGAIN
Jun 02, 2014
Recommendation: Staff should have a designated smoking area. Staff were smoking beside the kitchen entrance, beside the pool and on the golf carts. Unprofessional.
Jun 02, 2014
We had a great time!
Jun 02, 2014
Spent Memorial Day Weekend 2014 in one of your one room Kabins. Was perfect for a family of three. Quoting a five year old " I wish we could live here" lol. She loved the cabin, the air pillow, the pools, riding bikes, fishing, playground, etc. What a great family vacation. Thank You!
Jun 02, 2014
Great time
Jun 02, 2014
Everything was great except for a male staff worker who's only interaction with us was negative (he apparently wants an authoritative position)- he told us we needed to return banana bikes when I had just rented them 15 minutes before (which I advised him of) and got haughty when I came out without two passes for our cars even though I told the front desk girl we had two cars and she gave me one.
Jun 02, 2014
Peaceful, loved it all , posted pics on Facebook showing our kabin off...ended up selling your place to a couple of friends that you will be hearing from soon...lol
Jun 01, 2014
We had a great time with friends and family. The kids always have fun and enjoy the pool. The only problem we had was that we rented a golf cart and someone else took it while it was charging. The guys at the office finally got us another one. The rates on the golf carts are a little bit expensive. Other than that we had a great time.
Jun 01, 2014
The amenities that demand a premium price for this park are getting very weak. Hot tubs not working above 25% not jets on upper outside lower inside. Wifi is non existent , forcing us to leave even to check work email. Pools and hot tubs have large amounts of crumbling sand and residue in them I have been staying at this park 10-15 days a year for five years and see declining values
Jun 01, 2014
Fantastic campground!! Loved it!
May 31, 2014
We have stayed in the cabins on the creek for several years because they allow dogs. We have enjoyed every stay and find the cabin clean and comfortable. Yes, we will visit again and I hope soon.
May 31, 2014
The cabin we stayed in was extremely clean,young man took us to site explained every thing even lite grill.Site was everything we expected real memorable stay.KOA all the way is always our 1st choice when camping.
May 30, 2014
Great campground! Been staying there for the last 10 years for our anniversary week and it gets better every year. Highly recommend it for a great camping experience.
May 30, 2014
nice park little expensive
May 30, 2014
We were three families in two deluxe RV sites and one cabin on the river. We stayed for a week over Memorial Day Weekend and had a wonderful time. The indoor and outdoor pools were clean, the indoor was heated so that was nice for the cooler weather. The Grill food was tasty and quick. The staff was nice and very friendly to us the whole week. David the manager came by our site too.
May 29, 2014
We had a great time. Beautiful. My men caught lots of fish. Since the temp dropped to below freezing, it was so kind of the staff to come and offer the use of heaters for our cabins at no charge. It will be a favorite spot for a getaway!
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
We have stayed at both Asheville KOAs, Boone, MB, and Outer Banks.Disappointing the Cherokee Kabins were not as in excellent clean condition in comparison to the other locations. Incredibly dirty beyond norm. The floors had caked mud. Corners/ceilings were full of cobwebs/spiders.Bees overtaken the area and boring holes.White egg like balls piled in corners.bathhouses filthy beyond normal use.
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
The staff were excellent. The setting is wonderful. Had a fantastic time.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.