Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 24, 2017
the only problem with the cabin was the toilet area was too small for an adult
Jul 24, 2017
First of all, many thanks to Joann P. who made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived and throughout our stay. Now I realize that Summers are busy, but PLEASE do not put someone in the outside booth that has little (1 week) experience. We were told info on tubing that just didn't make sense. 5 minutes later we heard him tell a completely different story. Confusing...yes ,maddening..YES!!!!
Jul 24, 2017
We loved our stay, What a great surprise. We stayed in a beautiful suit studio , perfect for my family of 3 and dog. Super clean everything well kept. Staff was friendly as could be. We were very happy and will definitely recommend to our friends.
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
We wanted to fish in the pond. The lack of fish in the pond is not the fault of the campground, but we were getting different information from various staff members as to when the pond was going to be stocked. That was pretty disappointing but we were okay with it. The lack of hot water in the showers was not okay.
Jul 24, 2017
I rented a cabin with a sleeper queen, bunk beds and a queen bed. The sleeper sofa was a full and the mattress was wore out. Very disappointed I didn't get what I paid for!
Jul 24, 2017
We always have a great time in Cherokee!
Jul 24, 2017
All was good except when I first pulled in my sewer line could not screw into the yellow cap. Went to the KOA store that had the same items I previously purchased but did not work. One of the store keepers advised it could be the camp sites have been here a long time and may not be updated. Don't know but all I wanted was a good connection and no one knew what to do.
Jul 24, 2017
Very nice campground.staff member assisted us to site when we arrived late Friday night in the dark.we were there for softball tournament, so we did not get to enjoy site by creek and hanging out at the pool as much as we wanted.kathy at the store and her supervisor helped us out to extend our stay with late check out.we will definitely stay there again when in area!
Jul 24, 2017
Excellent stay. Great staff!
Jul 24, 2017
Great activities, pool, music but there was a mix-up on my site at the counter. I was very disappointed after being assured I would get a super-site on the phone when I made the reservations but when I got there they would only give me a full hook-up site.
Jul 24, 2017
The camping cabin was very comfortable and clean. The bathrooms and showers were newly remodeled and were great.
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Our family loves this place,friendly staff,lots of activities,great amenities and always great memories!
Jul 23, 2017
It would have been 5 stars and a 10 but you allowed a family reunion to run amok on the creekside of the camp and they were loud after quiet hours and too many kids in the hot tub indoors and no parent supervision you need an adult only hot tub
Jul 23, 2017
Plan to return next year.
Jul 23, 2017
Had a wonderful time grandson said best place we have been so far staff very nice we will be back
Jul 23, 2017
KOA itself is nice - don't depend on staff to book. Called & booked 3 sites a month prior for family vaca - when we arrived, they had moved one family across the park, stating no record of us being together, despite same last name, same card used to reserve, etc. Each staff passed the buck (and actually lied) until it became my fault. Refused to acknowledge their mistake or try to make it right.
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
This KOA is extremely kid friendly. The staff is superb, and the camp is well maintained. The wifi needs to be improved as those without cell service (AT&T) cannot communicate with home, and is a drawback for staying here. Other than that we love this KOA, and have been here several times. I would rate it a five star if the wifi was improved. Thanks
Jul 23, 2017
Well maintained and clean campground with horrible guest services. We were charged more at check-in than was listed on our confirmation email. Spoke to 3 people (manager included) and all they did was try to justify their cost. We were told for 3 days there were no golf carts and our cabin was far back... so my grandfather was confined to the site even though there were carts sitting up front.
Jul 23, 2017
Loved our stay. Need a life guard at the pool
Jul 22, 2017
Waited over an hour to check in pAst checking time
Jul 22, 2017
Had a great time as aways. Love the changes that are being made. Was NOT happy that we couldn't book our trip for next year.
Jul 22, 2017
Would not let elderly parents check in before 2 and cabin was ready and empty.
Jul 22, 2017
After a long day of traveling my 4 teenagers and I were looking forward to a nicr evening around the campfire. We arrived after a little rain but there was loud music (sponsored by the csmpground) blaring loud and people were all over and kids riding aimlessly through our campsite through puddles and mud. We were very close to the front. WiFi was a waste. No privacy. Didn't stay! Ate $60!
Jul 22, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
The good; The place looked very nice and the staff was courteous. The not so good; the extras were a little over priced. For example, the fire wood is $7 and the tube ride is $17 each person, the three wheel bike is $7 for an hour.
Jul 22, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
We took our grandchildren so they could swim and play in the pools and the pools had not been cleaned and algea was growing in them. The kiddy pool was the worst. I hope the health dept closes them down.
Jul 21, 2017
We were put on a site that had mud puddles. We couldn't get in or out of our RV without trying to get around the puddles. Also the site was pretty expensive compared to other places. We ordered burgers from the snack bar. It took a very long time to get them and they were burnt. TV reception on cable was poor. We did appreciate the shuttle to the "Unto These Hills" pageant. Kids had fun.
Jul 21, 2017
We had a great time and would definitely recommend to others. The only priblem we had was our cable did not work and we had to mention it twice before someone cam to fix it and it still was not as clear as the previous time we have been there but it was the day before we left we it was fixed so it didnt matter at that point
Jul 21, 2017
Overall, the stay was okay. The cabin was clean, and staff was cooperative. However, the public showers were a bit inconvenient as there were no usable flat surfaces to place objects on to use, especially when redressing.
Jul 21, 2017
Another great family vacation in the books! Thank you KOA for being our favorite family getaway in the Smokies! Already looking forward to a trip in the fall!
Jul 20, 2017
Could not get towels for 8 hours!!! The service was very slow.
Jul 20, 2017
We stayed in a cabin for the second time. The prices were very high for a facility that was in poor condition. The cabin floors are dirty, not cleaned after every use. The bathroom and shower doors all had locking issues and showers floors were littered with debris. The outdoor pool was green with algae.
Jul 20, 2017
I have stayed at Cherokee many times,this time WIFI did not work. I was offered to use the desktop in the office if I needed to use the internet. Wifi is offered as an amenity. I had to pay an additional $25 for arriving early. While I understand the need for monies, if a customer who has camped several times arrives a couple of hours early-just smile an say no problem. Not sure that I'll return
Jul 20, 2017
Had a situation and the staff went above and beyond!!
Jul 20, 2017
Staff was friendly
Jul 19, 2017
We.have been coming every year for 5 years now. Always have a blast. This visit tho our grill didn't work 2x, tv remote batteries were dead and thr sitting area outside was a mess w cigarette butts, bottle caps, glass pieces, fishing lures etc. It took me an hour to sweep it up. I have kids and wasn't wanting them to cut their feet. We love cabin 381s location tho!
Jul 19, 2017
Camped here 20yrs,payed for prem,site.After 3 complaints @cable,staff member said it was issue w/my coach,talked w/other campers in my site area ,same issue !! KOA cares more @ $ than service,time to find another campground to make memories !!!
Jul 19, 2017
This KOA was very well equipped and we met many repeat customers. The crew went out of their way to escort us to our camping site and helped me back into the site. The facilities are very nice. We'll be back.
Jul 19, 2017
Rental tubes are expensive No 2 wheel bike rentals
Jul 19, 2017
There was a little bit of poor communication between employees.My vehicle was almost towed after being told to park it in that spot by employee
Jul 19, 2017
staff was not friendly at all. other than that very nice place
Jul 19, 2017
Jul 19, 2017
Nice Cabin, not cleaned well found cobweb above bed and under cabinet over fridge. Nice people , a bit frazzled in front office. In need of new mattresses. Nice cabin, quite site No WiFi ,
Jul 19, 2017
They say there is WiFi, yep if you want to stay at the 3 bathrooms that have it. There is no cell service so I would think this KOA would at least have better WiFi then they do. They no longer have a game room, not sure when they closed it but it's one of the reason we chose to stay here b/c it gives our boys something to do. The pools was nasty!Only 4 friendly people works there,the rest wasn't.
Jul 19, 2017
Staff very friendly camp ground clean . Only problem was WIFI is non existant constantly kicking you off. We could not schedule next leg of trip without going into town and using cell service.
Jul 19, 2017
The price of $109 dollars per night for cabin is too pricey! Other than that it's beautiful place and mountain are breathtaking
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award