Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 18, 2014
May 18, 2014
May 18, 2014
Our stay was wonderful. The staff were helpful, friendly, and courteous. The grounds were well kept and not overly congested. We plan on returning with our granddaughter. Thank you for a great experience.
May 17, 2014
Was not happy about cable or wi- fi not working when they told us it would be:(
May 16, 2014
The camp ground looked run down, but we would come back because of the front desk staff
May 16, 2014
May 16, 2014
Although we have stayed at several KOAs, this one is our favorite since we like fishing & it's only 2 hours away, however the first bathhouse is in bad need of repairs - in the ladies, toilets don't flush well, only 3 with 1 out of order and only 2 showers with 1 out of order
May 16, 2014
My family and I have camped here for along time and plenty of times. The stay was ok. Use to love the campground. There was one staff member that was totally rude when we were checking out. We have always packed up and let our children play in pool then leave. He rudely told us we must leave immediately we were no longer guess. Other then that it was ok.
May 16, 2014
very nice campground.
May 15, 2014
Our cabin was full of spiders/webs the cot mattresses were cracked exposing the foam that can't be sanitary poison ivy along our porch and common area
May 15, 2014
we thought it was a very nice campground. We stayed for 4 days because it was so close to everything that we wanted to see and do. Our next visit we will request a spot further from the showers.
May 15, 2014
May 15, 2014
May 14, 2014
Our stay was during the Camp Care weekend. Many of the youngsters were running around the campground unsupervised on bikes creating dangerous conditions-am surprised no one was injured. There is no enforcement of dog poop cleanup. There are no poop bags provided around the grounds and even the one in the enclosed pet area was empty of bags. I also saw one teen allow his dog dump on my my site.
May 14, 2014
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
May 13, 2014
Lot of things for kids to do.
May 13, 2014
Even though it rained almost the entire time we still had a good time thanks to the activities available to us!
May 13, 2014
May 13, 2014
May 13, 2014
We had a great time! This facility is definitely first class!!
May 13, 2014
Loved the Sunday morning pancake breakfast. The rose is so pretty, the pancakes were great. Thank you for taking great care of us.
May 13, 2014
Another great visit. One thing I would like to see changed is that the snack bar stay open and serve lunch on Sunday. Otherwise we enjoy this campground.
May 12, 2014
I didn't get the cabin I booked had to stay in smaller cabin. Cable tv didn't work most of weekend. Koa didn't have a lot of actives going on this weekend like they have on all the other Mother's Day weekends I have stayed there. But we will be back we like camping at koa. Maybe next time will be better.
May 12, 2014
The bathrooms could use some TLC with some benches in the shower stalls. We had a wonderful time swinging on the porch while it was raining.
May 12, 2014
This is my favorite place to go.
May 12, 2014
Perfect location Cabin 236 is a bit outdated. Needs staining and renewing. Too bad facilities were not very limited open during our stay.In Holland the season starts with easter.
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
Front desk lady was a hateful, old heifer. Taking care of people, and acting as though you care, should be a requirement for a front desk person. However, overall, a great weekend with family, and Lynn (Houskeeping Supervisor) really touched my heart, giving out roses on Mother's Day. She also went above and beyond to assist my elderly mother (90 years old). Truly made us feel blessed!
May 12, 2014
We have come to the Cherokee KOA for the past 7 years for Mothers Day Camping weekend. They are all teenagers now but still look forward to it and there is something for everyone. What a great tradition. The staff is always top notch. It is one of the best places to go and disconnected and relax
May 12, 2014
I love cherokee/koa it rained but still got some fishing in. we stayed in a kottage which was so nice,we are disabled so close to pond and store,plan to come back in sept.Thanks for a wonderful stay!!! Joan
May 12, 2014
Beautifully scenic on the river. Fun activities. Clean facilities. Friendly, attentive staff. I come back to this particular campground year after year. I recommend your camp ground every chance I get.
May 12, 2014
PEASE OPEN THE LAST BATH HOUSE OUTSIDE SHOWERS 3 FOR ENTIRE BACK OF CAMPGROUND IS EXTREMELY SILLY.
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
We had a great time. The kids enjoyed themselves so much. Only thing was the outdoor pool area was not open yet and wifi was not great in cabins.
May 12, 2014
Indoor pool too crowded-kids without parents Outdoor pool closed-kids don't care about water temps Ladies bathhouse-very dirty and no tissue on two different occasions Stung by hornet in cabin-husband had to knock down a nest!! I don't normally do these surveys but these issues need to be addressed.we camp a lot and will likely not be back. I will say that most of the staff was very friendly
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
No AC or Wi-Fi in the cabin, but everything was clean, there were lots of activities for kids, the food was great, and we were right by a creek.
May 12, 2014
Another great trip. Only bump was with no other person in bath house the water pressure was very low. They was mention of cable being worked on. At times it didn't work at all
May 12, 2014
Excellent as always!
May 12, 2014
It was raining, which precluded outside activities and the cable was not working in my cabin so we could not watch TV. Bad news on special weekend that I drove down from Ohio to be a part of. I was also told last time that they would be building accessible cabins but cabins still have many steps that thankfully I can still struggle up with my service dog.
May 12, 2014
Supper place . Great staff
May 12, 2014
This was our first stay at a KOA. We normally stay at state parks.We figured we would try KOA this time. We looked at the website and it seemed like the kids would love it. When we arrived they had said the main pool will be closed. The kids were very upset. We didn't like how close together the campsites were. The kids did end up having a blast and we all had a good time.
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
Had a great time a lot to do for the kids and already made reservations to stay for a week
May 12, 2014
I've been staying at this campground for several years. This visit, the bath house was very dirty. Also, some areas of the indoor pool were in poor repair.
May 12, 2014
We had a wonderful weekend at KOA. The kids got to do crafts for their mothers. It poured the rain Saturday but the weather didn't stop the fun of making lasting memories.
May 12, 2014
We had a good stay overall despite the rain. The grounds were nice (as usual). My only complaint is that the workers there seemed frazzled at times. One worker was rude to my 13 year old when she asked who she could talk to about renting the 3 wheeler bicycles. Another worker was unable to answer questions that we had about the campground/facilities/amenties. Perhaps more staff would be helpful.
May 12, 2014
We had a wonderful time! Everything we needed the store had. Staff helped us and were kind! This was our first visit. We will be back.
May 12, 2014
cable didnt work no wi-fi at all and the pool was dirty
May 12, 2014
The cable and WiFi didn't work the sight was small even though they asked what size the camper was the staff was not rude but not friendly and there were kids unsupervised everywhere

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.