Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 13, 2015
Cherokee KOA is our chosen spot for our large family gathering again in 2016. This year was our 3rd stay. Perfect place to share our time together.
Oct 13, 2015
Great place, friendly staff
Oct 13, 2015
Terrible customer service - 1-Could never reach the front desk after 5 PM; 2-At check-in almost all cabins were unoccupied and they wanted $25 to check in early; 3-Did not accommodate friend's requests for RV sites that were vacant their entire visit. Deluxe cabin extremely overpriced @ $166 per night with nothing to support the price. Paid $239 for 3 nights at a motel in town with full breakfasts
Oct 13, 2015
Oct 13, 2015
Camp Ground at Sites were Clean, but we felt like we were mislead on the site we reserved in advance. It was not river front so we had to ask multiple times to be moved. With the exception of two people, the staff were unfriendly and not knowledgeable about the tours that were available.
Oct 13, 2015
We love this campground and have stayed every year for 15 years.
Oct 13, 2015
its a great place but the guy who parked us in our spot, messed up & told us in the AM we had to move to next spot over!!!! And he yelled at us like it was our fault!! AND the people who moved in our SPOT where staying till FRIDAY LIKE US!!!!!!!!! LEAVING SAME DAY!!!!!! we didn't have to move!!!!!!!!
Oct 13, 2015
Don, Maintenance, and Jill, Front Desk, is the reason we keep coming back to Cherokee KOA
Oct 13, 2015
We always love to try to come twice a year..spring and fall. This year we could not get our usual cabin and stayed in a studio cabin. I was not happy washing dishes in the bathroom sink and our fire pit was right in front of our neighbor's bedroom window. Also on the other side the neighbor's fire pit was right next to our porch. They was only one person at the counter and there was always a line.
Oct 13, 2015
Fantastic time! Wish the hot tub and the WiFi had been working though. The staff is very friendly and my family had lots of laughs. We will be back
Oct 13, 2015
Very clean with friendly staff. Campground store needs more clerks available during busy times. Communication between front-desk and maintenance was lacking, and maintenance was not notified that we extended our stay. Maintenance then told us that we should have vacated our site by 11 AM, when we had paid for the site until 4 PM - not how guests should be treated.
Oct 13, 2015
Cabins are very small. Can't fit six adults as claimed
Oct 13, 2015
Our campsite was across from the dumpsters, streetlight and in a grove of black walnut trees that kept dropping walnuts on our campsite. Luckily no one was hit in the head and injured... The cabin could have been cleaner but overall the stay was great and this campground seems well managed, it is located in a wonderful place and had plenty of things for the whole family to explore. We'll be back!
Oct 12, 2015
I would like to thank a staff member, nick-named Crash,for his assistance and willingness to help find a solution to our cable issue. Very customer-oriented staff member. And his wife was so pleasant too. Great assets for this KOA. I wish I had more space to comment on the fishing tournament, but that's alright.
Oct 12, 2015
We have been staying at this KOA for several years now and had alot of difficulty with making reservastions this time. Computers always seem to be down and unable to access anything. Took me many phone calls as reservations were wrong several times. Doesn't seem to be as organized and well kept up as it was in the past. Love the area but may need to find another place to camp for our next trip
Oct 12, 2015
The guys in the golf carts could not have been more helpful. Enjoyed our stay and will see you again next year.
Oct 12, 2015
It was our first time staying here and we loved it!! It rained all day Saturday but we spent our morning lounging in the outside hot tub and it made a yucky day not so yucky. Everyone is incredibly nice. The only issue we encountered was in the women's bathroom, the one up front, the receptacles did not work so we couldn't dry our hair in the bathroom. Otherwise, we will be back !!!
Oct 12, 2015
Awesome!!!!
Oct 12, 2015
Oct 12, 2015
The location is amazing, beautiful, and highly recommendable. The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is the wifi. It was not great, and we chose this campground partly because it had wifi for our family to enjoy if bad weather hit. It did, but the wifi wasn't available during good or bad weather at our site. This did allow us to "unplug," so it wasn't all bad!
Oct 12, 2015
Beautiful clean camp ground. Had a great time.
Oct 12, 2015
Oct 12, 2015
The WIFI at this campground is VERY poor. If you could get connected the connection speed was very slow even for emails. This problem was on multiple devices. Called the office on two different nights to report a loud party after 10:00PM and a domestic fight at 1:30AM left two messages and phone number no one ever responded. So much for the security at this KOA. Non-existent.
Oct 12, 2015
The ladies restroom was out of soap for 3 days and the restrooms were not cleaned daily. We had a walnut tree which dropped walnuts all over our camper and truck. We loved the fishing pond and the indoor pool.
Oct 12, 2015
very helpful staff. Clean and fun for everyone
Oct 12, 2015
Very enjoyable campground. Staff were friendly and nice. Grounds were well kept and the bath houses are well cleaned.
Oct 12, 2015
Love the environment. Spider webs all over the cabin ceiling.
Oct 12, 2015
Great place!
Oct 12, 2015
Vehicle broke down on the way and had to get vehicle repaired. I was originally staying for 2 nights and totally forgot calling to try and cancel. No calls from the campground and they pulled the 2nd night fee from my card. I am sure it was my fault but a phone call would have been great.
Oct 12, 2015
The campground was conveniently located to downtown, so much to do at the campsite, and a short drive from the blue ridge parkway. Very nice and inexpensive.
Oct 12, 2015
This was our first ever stay at a KOA. We were highly impressed with the facility, the staff and the amenities. Our 8 year old loved the bouncing pillow and the indoor pool.
Oct 12, 2015
Friendly service, extremely clean facilities, will be returning and soon!! Found a great new campground to revisit
Oct 12, 2015
Oct 11, 2015
This campground is our favorite place to camp but this time we were very disappointed that the ponds didn't have any fish.We were told the campground didn't have control over the ponds.We would have like to have been informed before we got there & we could have come a week later.
Oct 11, 2015
Oct 11, 2015
Clean and neat.
Oct 11, 2015
No cell service. Lousy wifi when I Could get it. Went down all nite with Rain outside. Inside pool closed too Early. Inside hot tub out of order. Cable very limited Nothing to do all Nite with rain outside. Tried to tell Manager she could not have cared Less.
Oct 11, 2015
Excellent park, very clean and friendly staff. Great location!
Oct 10, 2015
Everything was as expected and described on the website. The only improvement would be to restock coffee each day instead of providing only on arrival.
Oct 10, 2015
Great stay. Been coming here sense the 1980s.
Oct 10, 2015
My family loved the campground. We only had two issues with our stay. The first was that it was difficult to take a hot shower. The showers were not hot. If you did get the water warm, it would go cold if some oen else took a shower or washed their hands. Very frustrating. The second issue was that the indoor hot tub was not working.
Oct 09, 2015
Oct 09, 2015
Very clean, lots of things to do, a great location. If noise bothers you, you might not want to be beside the playground but we didn't mind since my 12 year old grandson was with us. We already have reservations for Nov.
Oct 09, 2015
Stay was great. Kids love it here. A lot for kids to do. Only negitive thing I can say is the bathhouse near us. The toilet was stopped up for 2 days, and most of the shower heads didn't work or was barely working. We will go back again.
Oct 08, 2015
Oct 07, 2015
Nice cabin, but would be better if TV in bedroom (and loft), bedside table in bedroom, and larger frig.
Oct 06, 2015
Enjoyed, many empty sites away from play ground, we were right next to it. Wished there would have been a little distance. Grounds were awsome
Oct 06, 2015
We love this KOA, its a great family get a way if you love the outdoors as much as we do! Plenty of things for the kids to get out and do!
Oct 06, 2015
It was wonderful the beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were very clean everything was quiet and peaceful we really enjoyed the breakfast as well
Oct 06, 2015
Staff was not very friendly
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps