Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Sep 03, 2013
Our Favorite KOA by far.. Just wish it wasn't so far away for us..see ya again and soon I hope
Sep 03, 2013
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The bathhouses were not clean but part of that may have been due to the volume of Labor Day campers. It rained a lot of the time and the ground water drained through our site (and many others) creating a muddy mess. There was also a huge yellow jacket nest on our site. Much of this was out of the KOA's control.
Sep 03, 2013
The cabin that we rented was great. It was the studio. The biggest problem was the lack of wifi and the on again off again very poor cable reception. It rained several times and with small children it was extremely difficult to keep them under wraps. It was my impression that the cabin had wifi. It was included on the amenities listed on the web site. Other than that, our visit was good.
Sep 03, 2013
We enjoyed are stay here but, the place does need some TLC. Bathhouse 2 only had 2 toilets when we arrived, when we left on Monday morning, it was down to 1 toilet and 1 shower stall, I understand that the campground was full so a lot of things was going on. But we had a great time with the grandkids & they had fun!
Sep 03, 2013
Everything was great except that it was too expensive and the wireless did not work. I can't stay somewhere where I pay for wireless and can't get it to work even with the code. Otherwise I loved the location and the people. no wireless is a deal breaker for me.
Sep 02, 2013
awesome campground, nice shaded spots, clean, lots of kids activities
Sep 02, 2013
If you are planning on using the WiFi it is very very slow almost useless. Not the most friendly KOA. Front part of camp was very nice but the section we were in was not in the best shape and they had a lot of year round camp sites that were dumpy looking.
Sep 02, 2013
After reading the reviews I was a little hesitant on going. This cg exceeded all expectations. I did not see any problems with the br as the other guests said and every time I went to use the br there was always someone cleaning them. The staff was friendly/helpful. Campers/adults need to rem when you camp you need to treat it likes its yours and not expect someone else to clean up your mess.
Sep 02, 2013
It was great.The cabin was very comfortable and the grounds were nice, too.
Sep 02, 2013
love the river close by and proximity to Smokey Smokey Mtn and Blue Ridge Parkway. It would be perfect 5 stars if the cabins were a little cleaner.
Sep 02, 2013
Had problems with management. Was not offered Kcard in deposit nor was I told about it when I checked in. I tried to get management to sell me one at check out and credit me the 10% or knock the 10% off my purchase of the Kcard but they refused. Will never go back there with that management in place.
Sep 02, 2013
Way too crowded! The trash trucks at 8am were very unwelcome.
Sep 01, 2013
we had a great time even though it rained most of the time we still had fun
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
We had a great time,loved the two bedroom cabin next to the river(no wifi)but who cares (we were on vacation) friendly staff, wish we could have stayed longer, see you'all next year.... Bill Bostic
Aug 31, 2013
Nicely kept, clean restrooms, large sites for big rigs, friendly staff. Close to Cherokee.
Aug 30, 2013
we really enjoyed our stay. Very comfortable and relaxing. Our cabin was great. We will stay at KOA again in the future.
Aug 29, 2013
Cabins were not clean and no wifi was available and where we was located at and tv channels wasnt clear when watching them. Employees was the most top rating for me. They were always helpful and should that they were really caring about the needs but all in all this was a fun safe place for kids but cabins need to be clean and bedding too.
Aug 29, 2013
Very clean campground. Majority of staff was friendly. Younger staff members were not as outgoing and accommodating. Simply ask "can I help you?" Nothing further, no solutions, very matter of fact. Amenities broken: jump pad, outdoor hot tub, ATM, change machine at bath house and vending machine. Paid for upgraded pad by river that at best was a 1 inch stream. Expected more.
Aug 28, 2013
We had a beautiful spot right on the river. This campground is clean and well kept. We really enjoyed the live band on Saturday night. Perfect stay for us. Our favorite campground of all we've stayed at.
Aug 28, 2013
Since 2004 this KOA has gone way down hill. This is a same seeing how this KOA has the best amenities in the state. This KOA should be fixed up and kept in better condition . This KOA also should be invested in above all other Koas in the state. No other KOA in this state has to offer what this one does but is treated like the rest of the KOAs This KOA should be the ABOVE STANDARDS allKOAshouldbe
Aug 28, 2013
We were disappointed that we had not phone service or Internet. Were told they were working on it, but we never did get any service. Also the rain drainage needs fixing so will not have flooding.
Aug 28, 2013
The camprground itself was clean and the staff was nice. The store was wonderful and the game room. The pools had some issues- the outdoor pool was murky, th outdoor jucuzzi was out of order, kiddie pool was dirty, the indoor pool was clean but the cholorine made your eyes red and smelled. The Jacuzzi didn't bubble, the floor is in the pool and broke around pool and cuts your foot. Pillow was brok
Aug 27, 2013
Staff very friendly and accommodating when approached with problems. I stayed in cabin 225 for a week. Attention to detail missing. Site messy upon arrival. It was clear that basic maintenece of cabins was lacking as neighbors also had issues. No internet or wireless. Buy a good professional powerwasher and use it. Pool umbrellas and chairs filthy. The place just needs a little love.
Aug 27, 2013
The last time we camped here, it was awesome. But we haven't been here in 2 years and what a change. Very disappointed this time around. Office closed at 6pm during week. Change machine out of service in laundry, ATM didn't work and Ice Machine out of service. Staff not so friendly. For the price you pay you should get all your amenities free. Rates higher than other campgrounds.
Aug 27, 2013
When we arrived, I called asking for some advice on our deluxe double spot. We only had one water connection, and the sewer was too far away for one of the units. No one ever came. We finally figured out how to deal with our issues on our own.
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
The scouts went camping 15 kids in all, had a great time, we were a bit disappointed that the jumping are was under construction, it should have been known when we made reservations. But had a great time like always
Aug 26, 2013
Clean restrooms. Large camp site.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
the door did not open correctly. the window would not lock. the internet was very poor.
Aug 26, 2013
Nicely maintained, clean, friendly staff, a few bugs but that is normal for camping, one stray dog on premises. Noise level was low and weather was fantastic.
Aug 26, 2013
There shows a great need for the Campground Manager (not the employees)to adhere to his responsibly to KOA.I was dissatisfied with the up keep and appearance of several conditions of the Camp grown. {ie}.Shower fixtures in need of maintenance, .Screens on doors and windows need repairs, .Under skirting/panels of the cabins need repair, .Those who have resident camping spots are not keeping mowed.
Aug 25, 2013
We were on site 377. The sewer backed up and it took me over an hour to dump my tanks, once during our stay and on the day we left. Also, one of the employees was driving a company golf cart very recklessly and almost hit me and my truck. Don't know what was done about that as that was the day we left. The pools had a lot of debris in the water. Yogi in the Smokies up the road 3 mi is a lot nicer.
Aug 24, 2013
The campground and facilities are good. We stayed in a 2 room cabin and that was not good. You were the most expensive koa (of 9koa's we visited) and the cabin was the simplest of all: no porchswing, no seats f.i. But worst was: the matresses were awful: so thin, you were lying on the wood. Please visit other koa's to find out what they offer in their cabins.
Aug 24, 2013
No cable or Internet . Lots of help. But no one to actually fix things. Poor mgmt.
Aug 23, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay.
Aug 23, 2013
The deluxe cabin(cottage on the river) was exactly as advertised. It was clean and in well working order (cable too). The deck was private and relaxing, but we were still close to the pool and activities. The staff was friendly and helpful. The site was also close to Cherokee with its great museum, skate park, and shops, not to mention the Great Smoky Mountains National Park for easy day trips!
Aug 23, 2013
This park is beautiful and well maintained. However, when we first arrived, we had a problem finding our site. It would have been great if an employee had show us to our site. The streets are not marked, the site numbers are small. We did receive excellent support when trying to find out why our cable TV was not working correctly.
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
Overall, the stay was excellent. Supervision of the facilities could have been a little better. Food was very good and employees were very nice. We'll be back!
Aug 22, 2013
Bathrooms could have been cleaner. Sawnone guy go in with a spray bottle and leave. Walked and the sinks were still dirty.
Aug 22, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
nice sites great features. wih the streets had signs to indicate the sites located on the street. had a hard time locating site when I arrived after dark.
Aug 21, 2013
People are great!
Aug 21, 2013
very good but a little out of the way
Aug 20, 2013
Great staff and very clean facilities.
Aug 20, 2013
This is the number one camping trip of the year for Boy Scout Troop 601. Even the rain didn't stop them from having a great time! Thank You and see you next year!
Aug 20, 2013
Very disappointed in the grounds around our cabin.... We paid $200.00 per night and our patio was shrieked wrapped at the top of the driveway , our driveway was incomplete with a pile of gravel still sitting by the road.... We had been to this camp ground a number of times years ago when it was privately owned and I can tell you that the quality of service has gone down hill since then, too bad.
Aug 20, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.