Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 19, 2016
the only thing we had trouble with was the air conditioner didn't work right
Jun 19, 2016
Love the kid friendly atmosphere. Great staff. Wish it could be smoke free!
Jun 19, 2016
The area and amenities are nice, however, there is poison ivy all along walkways and my entire family had to go to the doctor. Upon check in I was not given the desired cabin I had booked, but staff was friendly and did attempt to transfer me but there were no available cabins.
Jun 19, 2016
My river front cabin was more of a drainage area from the pond. Almost all the staff was grumpy. The only really nice person , was Michelle the driver that took us up River. (The real River) to tube.
Jun 19, 2016
Great time on our camping trip. We enjoyed our stay and "Carolyn" at check in was very sweet and helpful. We will return to KOA Cherokee!
Jun 19, 2016
Very disappointed with this campground. We stayed in a cabin (no-air)and tent site. At both areas we smelled someone smoking pot. The campground staff and security did nothing to these people. We actually had to leave our vacation early because we had small children with us and I did not want them inhaling pot smoke. Very disappointed with KOA! I recommend bringing own camper.
Jun 19, 2016
Great Camping site with a lot of extras. The indoor and outdoor pool with slide make it great as well the animation programs is super
Jun 19, 2016
We always enjoy our visit and stay at this KOA camp.
Jun 19, 2016
I've stayed at the Cherokee KOA a couple of times. Both cabins were clean and in the shade. The bath houses are very nice. Couldn't beat the location
Jun 18, 2016
Bathrooms were clean and well maintained. The entire campground was taken carrot very well. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We will definitely be coming back.
Jun 18, 2016
we sure enjoyed our stay we look forward to our next stay also thank you for the coupons
Jun 18, 2016
Clean, seemed family-friendly. Staff was super nice.
Jun 17, 2016
A Well run Resort gave us a most enjoyable stay!
Jun 17, 2016
Amazing sound of the rapids next to our site!
Jun 17, 2016
This is a great campground, conveniently located, but not traffic noise. Lot's of amenities. Bathrooms could be better.
Jun 17, 2016
We had a great time and plan on returning in the future.
Jun 17, 2016
This was our 5th year with our grandson at Cherokee KOA. We will be back that is how much we like it. We are also impressed how they are always improving the campground.
Jun 17, 2016
Beautiful place, and very friendly people.
Jun 17, 2016
We arrived late and were very pleased that there was availability for us. Everything was clean and the staff was wonderful. We wished our plans would have permitted us to stay longer. We will definitely be back!
Jun 16, 2016
We stayed for three nights in a deluxe cabin. Everything was awesome and we had a great time.
Jun 16, 2016
Staff was helpful. Beautiful setting in one of my favorite places in all the world: Big Cove!
Jun 16, 2016
Great stay at Cherokee KOA. So many activities for the whole family. Really enjoyed the movie night and the indoor pool. Friendly staff.
Jun 16, 2016
Jun 16, 2016
Great place to stay with a variety of things to do.
Jun 16, 2016
Nice place to stay and plenty of activities to do. Would be nice for a/c in the camping cabins.
Jun 16, 2016
Jun 15, 2016
We have been coming to Cherokee KOA for four years now. We had a family reunion this year and it was great. We are planning on doing it again next year. One of the biggest highlights of the trip was the staff you have that rents the bikes, tubes and other stuff. Kim-Chee and Jo-Ann were awesome! Only downside of the trip was a run in that my oldest had with some poison ivy! Still had a blast!
Jun 15, 2016
The dog kennel need more attention Also need more room .
Jun 15, 2016
Wonderful for families!!!
Jun 15, 2016
Had a great time but unfortunately we had to leave a day early for a family emergency and they graciously gave us our money back for the night. We were extremely grateful.
Jun 15, 2016
I love being in Cherokee. KOA was awesome. There are So many activities to keep the kids busy and the adults can have fun too. We Especially loved the banana bikes. My wife and daughter said were for sure going back next summer! Our home away from home!
Jun 15, 2016
we were visiting famliy and stayed people were friendly front desk was very helpful only issue was our cabin was in the direct sun all day so no place to hide over all though we loved it
Jun 15, 2016
This camper comment has been removed by KOA because it contained inappropriate content.
Jun 15, 2016
Jun 14, 2016
We had a great time! We did have ants in our cabin, but when we talked to an employee, someone came right away. WiFi was non-existent. If it is not reliable, then do not advertise that you have it. Overall clean bathrooms and good campground.
Jun 14, 2016
Myself and three friends rode our motorcycles up from Houston for the great riding in the area. The Cherokee KOA cabin was perfect for our needs. The staff were very helpful and willing to go the extra mile to make our stay even better. Thanks to them our trip of a lifetime went perfectly.
Jun 14, 2016
It was awesome! The worker were accommodating and the public facilities were very clean. We plan to come several times a year.
Jun 14, 2016
We loved the campground and amenities. Very family friendly. I just wish there were more deluxe studios on the river, and/or that had fire rings on the woods side instead of on the road.
Jun 14, 2016
The staff was great and the activities for the kid's were plentiful. The fishing was challenging due so many people competing for the few fish that were there. The internet was a problem, not good at all. Overall, the experience was good.
Jun 14, 2016
First time, won't be last! Loved it!
Jun 14, 2016
MYSELF AND MY 12 YEAR OLD GRANDSON HAD A GREAT TIME. THE KOA STAFF WAS MORE THAN FRIENDLY WHICH MADE OUR STAY FANTASTIC. THE CABINS WERE SUFFICIENTLY STOCKED WITH SUPPLIES AND VERY CLEAN.
Jun 14, 2016
As a company owned KOA I would expect the best and the latest and the greatest. Unfortunately this park suffers from disappointment in site quality. I'll be glad to send you an actual picture that would be an embarrassment to Pat Hitmeier and the rest of the KOA staff
Jun 14, 2016
The campground and staff were outstanding, friendly, knowledgable and a pleasure. Site was also amazing. Only one issue, kids kept running through our site and by our windows. Quite odd to see strangers up close and personal while relaxing in our RV.
Jun 14, 2016
Although the campground was very nice and the scenery is beautiful, I felt that the price of the cabin that we rented was not worth it. I guess $200 a night for a cabin that is as small as this cabin was is to expensive
Jun 14, 2016
It was very clean, cozy, and a great stay! We loved it.
Jun 14, 2016
Very friendly staff....excellent park overall
Jun 13, 2016
We reserved on the phone for a specific site in feb of this year and the site was not available when we arrived. we got another site but it was in the full sun. We were very disappointed that our request was not honored after our phone conversation to reserve that site. If we come again we will request our detailed reserved in writing. Weren't offered an upgrade to comp us at all.
Jun 13, 2016
We love the koa! Lots of fun things to keep the kids busy. I would have given you a 10 if the staff were more accommodating. I asked far an emergency 24hr number that I could give to my family at home since my mom was very ill and on hospice care and was told that they would be glad to take a message as long as the store was open. Could use some customer service education.
Jun 13, 2016
Excellent stay.
Jun 13, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award