Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 31, 2014
We have stayed in the cabins on the creek for several years because they allow dogs. We have enjoyed every stay and find the cabin clean and comfortable. Yes, we will visit again and I hope soon.
May 31, 2014
The cabin we stayed in was extremely clean,young man took us to site explained every thing even lite grill.Site was everything we expected real memorable stay.KOA all the way is always our 1st choice when camping.
May 30, 2014
Great campground! Been staying there for the last 10 years for our anniversary week and it gets better every year. Highly recommend it for a great camping experience.
May 30, 2014
nice park little expensive
May 30, 2014
We were three families in two deluxe RV sites and one cabin on the river. We stayed for a week over Memorial Day Weekend and had a wonderful time. The indoor and outdoor pools were clean, the indoor was heated so that was nice for the cooler weather. The Grill food was tasty and quick. The staff was nice and very friendly to us the whole week. David the manager came by our site too.
May 29, 2014
We had a great time. Beautiful. My men caught lots of fish. Since the temp dropped to below freezing, it was so kind of the staff to come and offer the use of heaters for our cabins at no charge. It will be a favorite spot for a getaway!
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
We have stayed at both Asheville KOAs, Boone, MB, and Outer Banks.Disappointing the Cherokee Kabins were not as in excellent clean condition in comparison to the other locations. Incredibly dirty beyond norm. The floors had caked mud. Corners/ceilings were full of cobwebs/spiders.Bees overtaken the area and boring holes.White egg like balls piled in corners.bathhouses filthy beyond normal use.
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
The staff were excellent. The setting is wonderful. Had a fantastic time.
May 28, 2014
People were very friendly. Stayed in a deluxe cabin right on the river. Very clean and had everything we needed. Only negative - too close together. No real room to have a fire.
May 28, 2014
online reservation is not the best , the site we've reserved was described as" backing up to the river " , what we've got was backing up to our neighbors camper and I had to purchase additional sewer drain pipe to reach 25ft distance to the drain , very unusual setup.
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
Good
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
Helpful, courteous and friendly staff. Have been staying here for years and always look forward to returning.
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
May 27, 2014
The river sites have become so crowded with the big Kamping Kottages that it is no longer pleasant by the river with people walking all through your campsite. The workers in the store were not very pleasant. A lot of the games in the arcade were broken. After 20 years staying at KOA, we will be looking for a new place to stay.
May 27, 2014
The campsites on the river are nice, shaded and fairly spacious. The buildings are in need of repair. General upkeep is poor. Pool furniture and canopies are dirty and mildewed. Maybe a good power washing is in order. All workers were friendly. The day we left, Memorial Day, the mens bathroom was a filthy, disgusting mess. Garden areas and camp areas need tending. Weeds and poison ivy everywhere.
May 27, 2014
great fishing and accomodations!!!!
May 27, 2014
Awesome Memorial Day weekend getaway. Great activities staff was friendly and helpful and camp was very clean
May 27, 2014
Another great week-end with family & friends at Cherokee KOA! Cabins were clean, bathroom facilities clean. We made lots of new dog friends. Hope to be back soon.
May 27, 2014
Just wish you could ask for a particular cabin or site, even if it wasn't guaranteed.
May 27, 2014
Because of new management seems like staff own edge.
May 27, 2014
Our stay was fabulous. All staff very courteous! We have been coming there for years and I could tell this year the place had a makeover! Everything was constantly kept up and clean. The outdoor movie was very enjoyable! The atmosphere was great! Thank you see you in June!
May 27, 2014
Great time as usual. Love the cool air and the fishing. I would suggest mopping the floor of the kamping kabins. Our socks were black from walking on the floor. Also, we had to ask twice for a picnic table but no big deal. We love to camp here.
May 27, 2014
We always have a great time. Our grandchildren love the pools, the bouncer, the bands, etc. The boys loved the creek. We fished. We really have a great time when we stay at KOA. This is the only crampground they want to stay at. Everything is clean and the bathhouses are great, at least the women's facilities are.
May 27, 2014
The cabin was next to a mountain stream and was one of the best campsites we experienced.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Wireless internet in campground is horrible, you have to sit beside the store/office to get a signal.Very little cell signal available. Not a recommended place to stay for anyone needing to conduct business( while getting away). On a good note, park including restrooms very clean. Nice staff. Just terrible internet
May 27, 2014
the kids loved having both pools open and we the parents loved the staff availability!
May 27, 2014
This was one of the best KOAs we have been to. Plenty of family activities and a super clean facility. We are planning another trip there in the future.
May 27, 2014
My family loves this KOA. The facilities are always very clean. Your staff is always pleasant and helpful. We are always sharing stories with friends and family. we already have reservations for the fall.
May 27, 2014
The area is great, and the people at the KOA were friendly and helpful. However, the cleanliness of the grounds and how packed the place is makes me want to stay somewhere else for how much it costs.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
It's Memorial Day weekend, staff needs to enforce the rules for ALL. Noise after 10pm, kids riding bikes thru middle of campsites, dogs running loose, dog crap everywhere...will most likely not be back.
May 27, 2014
We had a wonderful stay and we look forward to returning soon.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
The campground was packed for Memorial Day weekend, and the staff kept up with all the cleaning and maintenance and kept a positive attitude!
May 27, 2014
Don't believe the bad reviews online. This facility was clean and well kept. The staff was friendly and the amenities were all too notch. If you have kids I highly recomend this koa. Check in was a little busy because of holiday weekend. I would definitely come back.
May 27, 2014
Had a wonderful time. Would only suggest bathroom upgrades & heat kiddie pool.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.