Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 15, 2015
was great until without warning{No signs posted}on Tues am while swimming this guy comes in starts ripping walls down, then another cranks noisy pressure washer to wash yuck off chairs/pool deck into pool where we're swimming!VERY RUDE.
May 15, 2015
We had a great time. I was able to take my dog with me...the staff were very kind and polite...I will be back next year... everyone should visit mango falls it's beatific and worth every step... love cherokee... thanks to all the staff for helping our vacation to be a successful one...
May 15, 2015
River sites are my favorite, and this KOA is very friendly and try to make your trip the best.
May 13, 2015
The facilities are among the best in which we've ever camped, and the staff is always friendly, professional, and well trained.
May 13, 2015
Campground was clean/neat-wonderful. Staff was friendly and helpful-wonderful. Cabin was adorable-came with everything. Only suggestions; upgrade bed as broken down and upgrade TV as poor pic/quality-can only be seen sitting in chair at table-from bed is distorted. Would def recommend and stay again! Can't wait!!!
May 12, 2015
Well when we got there. Our sewer was stopped up. And the next day only running the air and an electric skillet in the afternoon and the breaker outside would trip. Other than that had a great time.
May 12, 2015
May 12, 2015
it was wonderful as usual.can't wait 'til next visit!!!!
May 12, 2015
It was great
May 12, 2015
We had a really good time.
May 12, 2015
We were glad to see that Jill had retuned to the front desk after an illness -she does a awsome job!! Thanks for the remolding job on the bath/laundry room - looked greaat!!
May 12, 2015
May 12, 2015
We had some friends drop by for a short 2 hr visit and they were charged $25.00 for their visit?!? That's "gouging" in our book & we're Not pleased about that occurrence!
May 12, 2015
This place was absolutely amazing. We expected a simple campground but this was so much more. The rustic cabin we stayed in was clean and perfect for the hubby and I traveling with our dog. The showers and bathrooms were clean at all hours of the day. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We had originally planned to stay one night but we enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night.
May 12, 2015
The outdoor pool was not open, although it was 80+ degrees. On Sunday, which was Mother's Day, the indoor pool was closed for unexpected cleaning ALL Day! I understand unforeseen circumstances, but I was promised a phone call as soon as the pool was reopened. Needless to say, I am still waiting. We have stayed at many KOA's and have never experienced such disconcern for customer satisfaction.
May 12, 2015
We had a wonderful time camping Mother's day weekend! The staff were helpful and friendly. We can't wait to come again and share our experiences with more of the family.
May 11, 2015
Everything was great with this campground, although; the water pressure could have been a lot better in our cabin.
May 11, 2015
We have been coming to this KOA for the past 8 years and it just keeps getting better. We always have an outstanding time. The team their does a great job and seeing so many of the same employees really makes it a pleasure. They remember me and my family and it is truly a fun experience. They do a great job there and the campground is more like a dude ranch/hotel atmosphere
May 11, 2015
Great staff
May 11, 2015
AC went out in cabin and had ants inside. Priced to high for what it is.
May 11, 2015
We had a great weekend !!!!
May 11, 2015
Staff was friendly and camping was great! Kids loved it! The indoor pool was extremely busy and the water smelled like urine and was cloudy so we decided to use the river for the kids to play in and got fussed at because of the entry was in front of a log cabin at the corner of the campground. This was the only entry accessible for little ones. Other than that we had a great time!
May 11, 2015
I was not happy that our cabin did not have anything as the cabin we had last year . We rented to same type and came with less this year. No fridge no tv no table and chairs inside and many more items it did not have. The picture on website showed different than the cabin i got located on the river. We will never reserve online anymore only call.
May 11, 2015
We had a great time. Will do it again.
May 11, 2015
Don't stay in cabin 251. The cabin is on a beautiful spot on the river. Unfortunately, it is the public access to all KOA campers. We counted 84 people walking thru our camp site in one afternoon, not to mention the 8 golf carts that pulled right up to our porch. We complained because of no privacy. They said sorry, nothing they could do. Do not stay in cabin K251!
May 11, 2015
We enjoyed our stay but was disappointed that the pool was closed most of the day on 5/10.
May 11, 2015
We were told on the phone that if our dog was a small breed there would be no charge and when we checked in there was a surprise $15 dollar charge. I also had my children over at the bathhouse in the rear of the campground when the worker (female blond) began cussing and complaining about her job over the laundry and cleaning the restrooms loud enough for my small children to hear.
May 11, 2015
For the most part, everything was ok. Only complants are the outside pool was not open and the grass needed cut.
May 11, 2015
This is a very nice KOA. The only problem we had was the rudeness of other campers walking thru our campsite right underneath our awning. This is no fault of the KOA management but just lack of respect and etiquette on other campers.
May 11, 2015
I had never camped at KOA before but I really had a wonderful time and I will be back and will check out as many locations that I can. Thank you
May 11, 2015
This is our second time staying at this KOA. Both times the staff was fantastic and last time our cabin was great, but this time our cabin was over run with bees. I am not exaggerating, we could hear them all night in the walls and my 9 year old daughter was terrified to go outside during the day. Thankfully we had friends staying in a camper and she stayed at their camper most of the time.
May 11, 2015
Friendly,helpful staff! Sites a little too close together. A large campfire next door might have damaged our camper.
May 11, 2015
I always I joy my stay! It is one of my favorite places to camp. Recommend a better wifi. Could not get on all weekend.
May 11, 2015
Great place really enjoy it every time we go.
May 11, 2015
Great wish I stay longer ...
May 11, 2015
2nd stay at this resort and both have been fantastic. Only thing that was a bit disappointing was that parents were not supervising children on air bounce thing. It got a bit rough. We have small children and it was taken over by teen agers. Lots of rough house. This will not keep me from coming back.
May 11, 2015
Awesome place to stay. The entire staff is always friendly and helpful. I'll stay there again!
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
Wonderful family camp ground!
May 11, 2015
What a beautiful location and a great facility. Fishing was great too.
May 11, 2015
stay is always nice, the internett has never worked good or at all- camping is great but phone service is weak So strong Wifi would be nice especially if i am working while i am there over all very nice place
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
Breakfast was to expensive. A family of 4 and the cost was over $30 and my pancakes were free !?!?!?!?
May 11, 2015
Great campground landscaping could have been nicer.
May 11, 2015
It was a good kept up grounds.on the concrete slab sewer pipe connection one was too low could not hook up to it we had to use the further back . Getting to the campground it was hard to see the roadsigns they were covered by trees . Good place for families with kids
May 11, 2015
I loved that there was a lot of activities for my kids. They absolutely loved the bikes I loved the scener.
May 10, 2015
Very friendly, clean and accommodating. We've been going to this KOA for 24 yrs. Only had one person, one time that was'nt his friendliest. Love it!
May 09, 2015
What a great location and campground. Very clean and well maintained. Raven Fork River is tranquil and beautiful. A must visit location.
May 09, 2015
Best KOA ever. Clean, people were super helpful and kind. Setting was magnificent by the river. We will return next year.
May 08, 2015
This is our second trip and it was as good as the first. Excellent campground!Great kid activities!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.