Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 03, 2017
Stayed in the Deluxe cabins and we loved it!! Cabin was so nice. Staff were all friendly. Loved the amenities for the kids, ages 2 & 7. Already booked our summer vacation there!
May 03, 2017
Staff very friendly.
May 03, 2017
Nice, clean , friendly. Wish pool had later hours, possibly an adult swim.
May 03, 2017
Campground itself was good. Cabins are clean and comfortable. The grounds and camping sites are kept clean. Downside the check in very slow. We waited and waited and waited. I booked on line and paid on line. When I got there I was told that was just a down payment and had to pay a lot more in fees. The WiFi is a joke. Four phones could not connect.
May 02, 2017
The campground had several campers who had messy campsites. These sites made the KOA campground look unattractive and disorganized. Also, the cabin we stayed in needed maintenance.
May 02, 2017
May 02, 2017
Beautiful campground and helpful staff
May 02, 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay i will be coming back again.
May 02, 2017
May 02, 2017
We reserved a cabin for four yet we were charged about 6 dollars each for the third and fourth adult. The cost ended up being enough that we will most likely tent camp at another camp ground on our next trip.
May 02, 2017
May 02, 2017
The only issue was the lousy WiFi. Was weak and would not connect. We were parked across from a hotspot and it still would not connect
May 01, 2017
May 01, 2017
Like always at KOA Cherokee had a great time.Clean and beautiful. Staff very polite
May 01, 2017
We had a great camping spot. Site #199 had two big shade trees,shade all day long, perfect for a hot weekend. Clean bath houses. Nice staff. Only wish they had a shade tarp or something over playground equipment for the little ones to play on in the middle of day so equipment wasn't hot. Don't see the need to charge $3.50 per person resort fees when you pay the camping fees.
May 01, 2017
Great places on the river. The cabins are great, the staff is great, plenty to do for the kids and the fishing is perfect.
May 01, 2017
Everything was wonderful we truly enjoyed our stay. The only thing that needs improvement is the younger staff were riding around on their golf carts recklessly and cussing loudly in front of campers including my children. The older staff were very friendly and helpful.
May 01, 2017
Our church group stayed at Cherokee KOA April 27, 28 on a fishing trip. We were very pleased with the accommodations.The campground staff were friendly, helpful and represented the KOA brand very well.
May 01, 2017
Great customer service
May 01, 2017
Front desk staff were a little brash initially when I called and checked in but warmed up as we talked. All other staff were very helpful and nice! Delivered wood to our site, security provided extra comfort as they made rounds at night, lots of activities for the kids, peaceful and site was very large. Will be back this summer!
May 01, 2017
May 01, 2017
I wish that your policy to show guests to there sites would change. I had to wait 15 minutes to show me to a site that I already knew where it was.
May 01, 2017
It is such a beautiful place and the staff was very friendly!! Darrell & Cheri Hays, Illinois
May 01, 2017
We had a great time. Love that there was so muc for the kids o do! Will be returning very soon!!!
May 01, 2017
Everyone was beyond pleasant except for one lady in the office who did not wear a name tag. (was rude to several people) Not sure her name but she was older with brown hair. Would have rated higher but food stand closed early without warning messing up dinner plans and lots and lots of bees around cabin porches!! Other than that, very nice time with family.
Apr 30, 2017
The kids had a great time on the playground and jumping pillow. The waterfall just down the road was really cool too.
Apr 30, 2017
it was an awesome place, clean everthing, only a couple things laundry needs a couple chairs for us ole folk and to have the option of a tv in bedroom. honestly thank you for the beautiful vaction and friendly people.
Apr 30, 2017
No cell service and wifi is completely unreliable. If you are looking to disconnect from the rest of the world then this is the place for you. Employees were nice but had issues with my stay and it took an excessive amount of time to get it rectified. Cabins were clean, bathrooms were cleaned and well kept which you would expect from a KOA. Probably won't go back though.
Apr 30, 2017
Apr 27, 2017
I always love our stay here.... thanks!
Apr 26, 2017
Our site was OK but very narrow and not well paved in relation to many others.
Apr 26, 2017
Excellent facility, were flexible with our needs, nice people to work with!
Apr 25, 2017
Apr 25, 2017
Apr 25, 2017
Our stay was excellent:)
Apr 25, 2017
Your camp campground is excellent clean and full of entertainment for the whole family! Your staff was extremely polite and helpful.. Absolutely recommend to all to have your camping adventures at KOA Cherokee Nc! Planning another stand next month!!
Apr 25, 2017
Had a great fishing weekend for my dad's birthday! Great stay! Only thing you to fix would be 4 people in line with one person in the store with 8-10 ppl in yellow shirts sitting around talking outside the grill(which was closed)- that was irritating.
Apr 25, 2017
Very nice people
Apr 25, 2017
We have been staying at this KOA for 15 years, after this weekend not sure if we will return. The studio cabin we rented was $147.00 for one night and was very VERY dirty, in a construction zone (shouldn't have been avail for rent) and infested with ants. We had no plates or utensils to eat off of after we grilled. Very disappointed in the accommodations.
Apr 24, 2017
Nice campground. Good amenities. We stayed in a Deluxe Cabin. The staff seemed pre-occupied and almost rude at times. We were not informed on how to trade in towels or linens. There was no blinds in the bathroom for a full length window. We asked about this and was told that one was on order and that they should not have booked the cabin until this was fixed, but made no effort to fix it.
Apr 24, 2017
Apr 24, 2017
Stayed in a studio cabin. Very clean and perfect for two. Just a Tiny House :) Loved the Keurig coffee pot and large shower. The TV did not work, but they fixed it asap. The gas grill did not work, and they never fixed it. No Wi-Fi, and cell reception useless. Off the Grid ... ok for a short stay.
Apr 24, 2017
I know that KOA can not control the weather, but with all of the rain this weekend, the areas in front of the Kabins were a muddy mess. A little more gravel right in front would be great! Also, there was no hand soap in the ladies bathroom on Friday night or Saturday morning. Stopped in the office Saturday afternoon and it was taken care of promptly.
Apr 24, 2017
The campground is very nice, shaded and clean. I was impressed to see so many staff around working. It was nice to have a Laundry facility at each of the bath houses and so many showers at each one! The camsites are nice, grassy and flat for the most part.
Apr 24, 2017
The bathrooms and showers were very clean and that is always a huge plus. There were many things for children to do but on the bouncy pillow and the indoor pool, there were some teenagers who were a little too rough to be around smaller children. The office/store was well stocked with items that may have been forgotten. Do you not have waterfront tent sites? Overall it is a nice place to stay.
Apr 24, 2017
Totally loved this KOA!! Great campsites, awesome activities, facilities were super clean, the staff, especially Monica & Katrina, were the greatest!! Will definitely stay at the Great Smokies KOA again & again!!
Apr 24, 2017
Monica & Katrina were awesome! The campground was soooo beautiful. The bathhouses/restrooms were absolutely gorgeous & very, very clean. The staff did everything in their power to make our stay as comfortable & enjoyable as humanly possible. Will definitely stay at the Great Smokies KOA again!!
Apr 24, 2017
Usually we have a wonderful time at KOA, this was not one of those times. Staff was very accommodating with getting us a cabin that we wanted, however, we returned home covered in flea or bedbug bites from the 'master' bedroom. Have thrown all of our brought belongings out and will inspect any cabin rented here on out very carefully. Front desk told us it was only mosquitos. Staff usually friendly
Apr 24, 2017
Awesome trip with 3 grand children, already booking our next stay!
Apr 24, 2017
It was great and relaxing for me and my family.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award