Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 27, 2015
Very friendly staff. Lots of activities on site and nearby. Cell phone service is not available but the wifi is fast for email and text.
Jun 26, 2015
We come down every year for a "guys" fishing trip. We love it but every year there is little water pressure in the showers and this year the men's bathroom went two days without hand soap. But we will still see you next year
Jun 26, 2015
No internet, poor poor cable TV, Way over priced. Will not stay their again !
Jun 26, 2015
The wifi sucks but we keep coming back. It's called camping.. better wifi gets you 5-stars.
Jun 26, 2015
Lots of activities for kids. Worth the price if you use many of the activities.
Jun 26, 2015
Just too expensive!
Jun 26, 2015
I have been coming to koa Cherokee for 10 years or so, it has changed a little bit. The atmosphere is a bit different and the staff surely not as friendly, with exception of a few. Tammy and Mack were great! Tammy checked with us on several occasions. Mr. Mack let me use a ladder. Caroline? Light red hair at the desk was very rude to me on two separate occasions, sarcastic, and laughed at me once.
Jun 26, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. KOA hard to find. Cabins need a/c in them.
Jun 25, 2015
Superb location ...cabins probable too close...on l'y bar point wifi is erratic !
Jun 25, 2015
Jun 24, 2015
We had a wonderful time and all of your staff was friendly, helpful and smiling. There was a very large church mission group there and they made the stay even more enjoyable.
Jun 24, 2015
Very disappointed in my stay this year..between bats in cabin w/ small children to spider bites in cabin w/ small children to bee swarms and strings to small children.Would never go back to Cherokee or never recommend...BEWARE plus very POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!!
Jun 24, 2015
Just not the experience we thought it would be. I felt like claustrophobic everyone packed in to close compared to the other KOA campgrounds we have been to. The cabin we were in was infested with bees and hornets outside. Wanted to fish but could not do that because it cost and you had to fight all the locals. Everything was way over priced.
Jun 24, 2015
Very friendly staff...kids had a blast! Extremely accommodating. ..will be back!
Jun 24, 2015
Rules on line vs campground differ and a day after arival we were forced to leave due to being told that a screen tent that we use to store outside items were not allowed. I have stayed with Koa for 15 years but after this issue as well as others within the business side of Koa. I find thar koa is no longer friendly towards the camping community and will never use nor recommend Koa to campers.
Jun 24, 2015
Friendly staff, many activities to choose from, comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and showers!!!! I would definitively recommend! 👍
Jun 24, 2015
The only thing I have problem with is going up on prices.Thats a big jump from $10.00 to $25.00 for late check out.The bathrooms and roads need to be redone.
Jun 23, 2015
Cherokee KOA will be a yearly or bi-yearly destination. The staff goes way above and beyond what is required to be good. That is why I always give them a great rating.
Jun 23, 2015
We had a fantastic time! The pool was inviting, the grounds were clean and lush. We couldn't have been happier.
Jun 23, 2015
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. We also don't mind not having cell phone service. However, the wifi needs some serious upgrading. Some of us still work or need to do school work and cannot with the wifi speed here. Only down fall.
Jun 23, 2015
I was at the KOA for father's day weekend. The cabin they rented us was full of bats. When we told them about the problem they "fixed" it. Bats swarmed our cabin every night that we were there and some were still in the cabin after being told that the problem had been taken care. We were only given excuses and temporary fixes. My children were terrified as well as my wife.
Jun 23, 2015
We loved it! Our grandkids had so much available to do. Everyone was so helpful! Food was very good at the cafe. Only problem we had was the very limited cell & internet service. When you are running a business away from home and have elderly parent, it's important to be able to stay in touch. We have AT&T. I don't know if there is anything you can do to help that.
Jun 23, 2015
Of all of the campgrounds we have visited this campground is our absolute favorite! The staff, atmosphere, everything was just wonderful!! This is such a beautiful and fun campsite for everyone! We definitely will be back!
Jun 23, 2015
Had a Super Time!! Would DEFINITELY come back!!
Jun 23, 2015
My two boys (10,8) and I came for two nights. The kids had a great time with ALL the activities! I had a great time because the campground was safe for my boys to ride bikes and play like kids without my constant supervision. Fun, friendly, safe place to stay!
Jun 23, 2015
Lots of activities for the kids to do (tie-dye shirts, tubing, 2 pools, etc)!
Jun 23, 2015
We really appreciated the extremely clean bathrooms and excellent pools. Some of the tent camping areas were pretty weak and we needed to move because of it.
Jun 23, 2015
I have stayed in KOA'S from Key West to Montana, either in cabins or tent. This KOA is by far the worst.. Cabin had NO air, heat, swing. The bench on the front porch sat terrible. The bath house and rest rooms were very nasty and in need of repairs. The mattress was worn out as well. Staff was friendly and the Smokey mountains are beautiful...
Jun 23, 2015
Too many children on lo vechicles-dangerous driving.
Jun 22, 2015
Well maintained and big sites. Love this KOA. Look forward to my next visit. I wish WiFi worked better at my site.
Jun 22, 2015
Th only thing I would like is a much bigger pool area. Especially on weekends. Other than that everything was awesome. I LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!!
Jun 22, 2015
We didn't really have a good location. The cabin had ants, NO air, yellow jackets. Just wasn't what we wanted for our dads special weekend.
Jun 22, 2015
I stayed on a very busy weekend so it felt very crowded. I love the amenities and activities but wished the WiFi was better. I wished the tent sites had a bit more privacy. But overall we enjoyed it. Great value for my money
Jun 22, 2015
Absolutely love it...have been coming for many years..1st as young married couple..then with children.now a grandchild..there have been times in the pass,they've gotten a little expensive and i wasn't able to make the trip. I try bringing my family once a year. with the new owner and the lower prices on some of the activities..this was 1 of out best trip..thank you 4 making it affordable
Jun 22, 2015
had a wonderful time, next time we will stay longer.
Jun 22, 2015
Enjoyed our stay this past weekend. Staff friendly and helpful. Plus we were able to enjoy our visit with our Daughter ,she is on staff there this summer. Thanks
Jun 22, 2015
Great place! Great staff! Highly recommend this campground!
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
This is a awesome camping place nice staff and good fishing.
Jun 22, 2015
Great weekend both my sons 1st camping trip & they both already wanted to come back before we left.
Jun 22, 2015
The campground was great and staff nice. The noice after quiet hours was really loud. There were people up until 2 or 3 very loud with bad language.
Jun 22, 2015
My first week there was nice, quiet, and peaceful. The people who were put next to me in a tent knocked my bike over and caused major damage which was ignored as well as by the women at that the front counter. Then the family aced next to me kids threw rocks aty bike and they refused to move me. My last week was not enjoyable at all I left home for peace and the last week was awful.Next time motel
Jun 22, 2015
The campground was groomed and clean. Bath house and bathrooms clean. No phone signal for ATT or Verizon. No WiFi.
Jun 22, 2015
We had the best time at your campground. The staff were so friendly. I have already booked my next stay.
Jun 22, 2015
The site given to us was directly along the walk to the bath house. I understand that is sometimes the only site available. However, there were 4 sites next to us empty that would have been much more suitable because of bath house traffic.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
My wife and I had great time We hated to leave
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.