Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 31, 2017
This was our 2nd stay here! Our daughter(9) actually likes the serenity of the campground as much as we do. We had a little issue at the beginning pf our stay(location of cabin) but was resolved very quickly. The ammenities of the campsite are fantastic and we enjoy the area. We'll definitely be back soon!
Jul 31, 2017
We LOVED this KOA. Clean and nice showers and bathrooms! Lots to go for the whole family!
Jul 31, 2017
The Cable channels were snowy and the wifi signal was very weak and didn't work 95% of the time.
Jul 31, 2017
Great staff. Joanne was so helpful and made us feel like family. The shuttle drivers were great and we felt like we made news friends. Highly recommend .
Jul 31, 2017
Great facilities, one of the best we have been to.
Jul 31, 2017
Great location and nice campground. I would recommend staying away from the busy times of year, because it is way too crowded at those times. Also, guests should be told at the time of reservation that there is no cell service and no internet. That is good for some people, not so good for others.
Jul 31, 2017
The showers were not user friendly..one hook for hanging, no bench or shelf for personal items..not very clean.
Jul 31, 2017
We love the campground. However our campsite is a run off from the other sites and the rain created an ankle deep standing pool of water for two days while we were there. We left a day earlier than scheduled because of it. That site needs leveled and graveled or something, to stop the flooding across the front of the site. Will definitely return to this KOA, but will never stay at that site again.
Jul 31, 2017
We loved the campground and the activities for the kids. But needs a new wifi system because the one they have is so slow since there is no cell service. Other than that it's a great place to stay.
Jul 31, 2017
Awesome
Jul 31, 2017
I am rating this highly because of the amenities. The pool, creek and various other items are perfect for our family. However our initial tent camp site was horrible. We were given site T37 originally which was extremely small. I asked to switch but was at first told no but could upgrade for $20. Luckily another worker had some empathy was we were moved. I do not recommend for tent camping.
Jul 31, 2017
The campground is nice but it needs work .. The manager is not friendly and doesn't take care of problems in a professional way .. our cabin power kept going in and out and finally went out. We were out of power for over 12 hours and did not receive an apology or anything from Management. I asked for a manager and she wouldn't talk to me. She let the office supervisor deal with me ..,
Jul 31, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and well maintained campground. You would be hard pressed to find a nicer place to stay. Now, it is crowded. A lot of other people think it is nice too.
Jul 30, 2017
Lots of poor park roads, many speed bumps, pot holes, drainage ditches cut into asphalt. Office staff accommodating but very businesslike. Not welcoming. Stayed 7 nights with friends in 3 adjacent sites and all paid different prices. All vets w KOA Value cards??
Jul 30, 2017
Had a great time, but the housekeeping did not meet expectations. Did not receive toilet paper or paper towels after two requests.
Jul 30, 2017
Had a great time the staff were very polite and helpful Only problem dead tree limbs hit our camper twice
Jul 30, 2017
We were in a deluxe cabin (221) right on the river. This was an amazing sight! We were very pleased with the cabin and all the amenities that went with it. A couple of suggestions if you stay in a cabin Bring a fan, there is a window AC unit that didn't quite make the air go in the bedrooms. I would bring an outdoor rug for the large deck. It can be slippery when wet. Great stay! Will go again!
Jul 30, 2017
KOA is a beautiful location although it can get crowded on weekends when full. The Cabins were nice although there is no window air conditioning unit like other KOA campgrounds. The Internet was non-existent for the week we were there. They don't have any Internet Support staff and didn't really have a good answer for the lack of internet. The big outside pool was closed due to a pump failure
Jul 30, 2017
Campground was clean,staff were helpful and friendly.
Jul 29, 2017
Under new management and WILL NOT BE BACK. Tried to book for next year and COULD NOT, ask for TV to be fixed twice and WAS NOT, ask for gas in our tank for grill NEVER GOT, Was not aware of new rules for kids 15 yrs old swimming at pool had to be supervised, was not aware of Golf Cart new age limit of 21 now was 18. Can Not request specific cabins anymore. Not a Happy Camper.
Jul 29, 2017
Our stay was great! Camping with friends and family. We don't come for cell service or internet,it's all about making memories. Friendly staff, very helpful,thumbs up to Shane!Love this KOA <3
Jul 29, 2017
Clean rest rooms and showers. Friendly Staff. Lots to do on ground. Shuttles everywhere we wanted to go. Only draw back was no sidewalks to ride bikes of walk safely off property to go look around.
Jul 29, 2017
Been coming here for last 10 years, love Cherokee nice to see some upgrades in the last few years.
Jul 29, 2017
We always have a great time!
Jul 29, 2017
Wonderful time. Beautiful place.
Jul 29, 2017
There were many old spider webs and about 5 spiders around the bunk beds. The screen in the window next to the bunk bed was torn 1/4 - 1/2 down; that same window had many spider webs and dirt & hadn't been cleaned in a very long time. The ONE reason for choosing this this koa was for the fishing and access to water for fishing. NOONE caught fish - too many minnows in ponds. and dead fish in pon
Jul 28, 2017
Clean facility. Friendly staff.Unable to reach KOA by phone for reservations or transport by shuttle.Not able to make reservation for next yr.
Jul 28, 2017
We booked a creek site in Febuary for 4 adults and they put us at the end site next to the pool and the kids bouncy ball we changed sites so we didn't have to listen to kids thought they would have had enough vision to put us away from the play area. 4 adults
Jul 28, 2017
Had a wonderful time in being able to meet with family that stayed in cabins and cottages and 3 travel trailer lots. Seven different families and cities were represented. Rain was not too intrusive. Knowing weather from many years of staying at KOA, rain is always expected. Kids had great time at pool and at bounce pad and going to sites in the area.
Jul 28, 2017
Making awesome family memories. Campground is great too!
Jul 28, 2017
Overall friendly staff and nice facility. Our cable wasn't working all that well, internet issues, and our site flooded in the rain causing a lot of dirt/mud to get into our unit. The drainage needs to be fixed on this pad.
Jul 28, 2017
Staff was very friendly, facility was very clean, great atmosphere. No WiFi, no fire pit, pool was not available until last day stay, snack bar was closed 2pm to 5pm couldn't get anything.
Jul 28, 2017
The common areas, pool and hot tub needs to be cleaned. The hot tub was gross. Staff was nice. Cabin was nice. Ceiling leaked water. Bathhouse was clean and updated. I will look into other KOAs before returning to this one.
Jul 27, 2017
Nice campground, lots for the kids to do. However a family in our party ended up with bed bug bites as there was a terrible case of bed bugs in their cabin.
Jul 27, 2017
The outdoor pool was down for 2 days when we were there for 3 nights. We spent add'l $120(10pp) for the tubing & $280(7pp) for the rafting. Talked to Joanne Furr about what KOA can do to accommodate us, she said there is nothing. I mentioned about free banana biking, as it doesn't really cost anything to KOA, she said no. She knows nothing about customer service. We will not return here again.
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
The outdoor and indoor pool (although the outdoor pool was closed one day we were there), and the jump pillow were great. However, I would not recommend this site to tent campers. None of the tent sites had raised/gravel tent pads. There was a huge puddle in front of our site and with no pad, the ground/tent area was muddy the whole time we were there.
Jul 27, 2017
Had a great time. Staff was very friendly and helpful!!
Jul 27, 2017
It's a nice place in the mountains. That's always a plus. Only drawbacks were resort fee not disclosed, facilities needing repairs and game room closed permanently. One shower in the men's bathhouse didn't work.
Jul 25, 2017
We were assigned tent spot 37 which was the smallest muddiest campsite I've ever seen. There was not an area to pitch a tent that fit more than 3, and the rest of it was under an inch of water, so I was forced to upgrade to an electrical site and pay the difference. The lady manager was rather snotty about it on the radio "make sure they know they need to pay the difference."
Jul 25, 2017
Will never go back. Campsites are designed in such a way that they flood when it rains. Dogs are allowed to be off leash to attack other dogs. NO WIFI, NO CELL, do not believe their website, the prices listed are not correct, and they are aware of it. Worst stay we have had and will let of KOA expire.
Jul 25, 2017
Jul 25, 2017
LOT'S OF STUFF TO DO AND THE STAFF WAS GREAT. I WILL BE BACK. THIS IS MY NEW GO TO PLACE IN CHEROKEE.
Jul 25, 2017
The Wi-Fi was next to nothing, the cable kept going in and out, The pools and hot tub were not maintained. The prices on the rentals were too high, especially the golf carts. I wanted to rent a tube for 1 hour just go around the camp site, enter at cabins in corner exit at rope, and your manager would not come off of the price of the rental. no discounts for seniors or fireman ETC, just military?
Jul 25, 2017
Typically a fun place to visit but camp was packed and loud dogs galore. Far more noise than normal. Hopeful for a better experience next time.
Jul 25, 2017
A lifeguard is needed at the pool. Too many kids without parents paying attention. Slide is chaotic.
Jul 25, 2017
My family and I stayed here over the weekend. The staff was friendly, the campground itself with a immaculate, And the area was like none other that I've ever seen.
Jul 25, 2017
The sites are cramped in to get the max campers in the campsite. But over all it was a good experience. Fire circles too close to neighbor.
Jul 25, 2017
GREAT friendly helpful staff clean and peaceful
Jul 24, 2017
The check in was ridiculous - there were about 8 people in line, and it took forever to check in. The sites were pretty close together, and the indoor pool was very very cloudy, and at least one child in the outdoor pool had visible open sores over his body... But there were positives - the sites were clean (they did not resemble the pictures on the website, for sure) - and the activities fun
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award