Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 11, 2016
Todo estuvo bien con exception que ya a las 10 de la noche pasaban trabajadores a decirnos q teniamos que guardar silencio y solo nos estaban cuidando, cuando en otros lugares estaban igual y nunca les dijeron nada
Jul 11, 2016
We had a great stay at the Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA. The staff was very nice and friendly. They went above and beyond to make our stay memorable and fun. I would highly recommend anybody to spend some time here.
Jul 11, 2016
Everything you could want in a campground and great staff.
Jul 11, 2016
We stayed in a kamping kabin. It was great! A suggestion is to have some hooks to hang clothes on. Other than the brief thunder storm with the straight line winds and trees breaking and nearly missing my motorcycles it was great! Hope to return again!
Jul 11, 2016
Very very very nice and employees very nice and helpful
Jul 11, 2016
Awesome visit. We'll be back!!
Jul 11, 2016
Friendly staff with plenty to do for the kids. Hand soap was out in the bath houses a lot especially the woman's. Wished the wifi signal was stronger at the back of the campground. Had to go up to the front to check the weather and plan our excursions that we took out of the KOA. Still a great stay and will be back.
Jul 11, 2016
It's great! Every time. We have been going every year for the last ten years. Always clean and people always friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to anyone.
Jul 11, 2016
It's like going to Walmart. Nobody that works there knows about the area, they don't care if you have an issue about anything. The workers are seasonal and couldn't tell me how to get to the falls that are about 1/4 mile from their site. I complained about a dog barking in a cabin all night long and the response I got was "dogs bark, that's what they do". Also don't get lot 28, very wet.
Jul 11, 2016
One of the best campgrounds we've stayed at. Staff is amazing and friendly. Very clean!
Jul 11, 2016
Very friendly staff and very clean with lots to do. Very kid friendly. We lovedstaying there
Jul 11, 2016
Overall was a very good experience. However, as I told the front desk upon checkout, they need to provide an activity calendar when guests check in, as we missed out on a lot of fun activities for our kids. :-(
Jul 11, 2016
We had an amazing time here, the staff is extremely friendly, the summer shiners are absolutely amazing they have plenty of activities to keep the kids busy and entertained throughout your entire stay. If you're looking for a fun vacation for the family this is the place. We will be back :-)
Jul 11, 2016
Nice cabin. Ceiling fan not very efficient but it did move some air. Great park. Really nice people. Would stay here again, but bring my own fan.
Jul 11, 2016
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Campground and facilities were very clean. Great amenities for the whole family
Jul 11, 2016
KOA was wonderful. Our vehicle broke down the first day there and we had no transportation for 2 days. KOA was kind enough to provide us with transportation to the store for supplies. A special thank you to Donnie who looked in on us to see if we needed anything. Also would like to thank Ted and Joanne who accommodated us when needed. You guys rock! See you again next year.
Jul 11, 2016
Plenty of activities for young and old, the only drawbacks were; everything needs a good pressure washing, and on Saturday night there was a "dance party". Music blared to about 11:00 at night. When it was myself and my drinking buddies camping, we would not have minded. But on a trip with my 6 year old daughter, not the best way to try and fall asleep. Other than that, the staff was great.
Jul 11, 2016
This is the best campground I've been to in a long time. Very family friendly activities for people of all ages. Great views easy access to area attractions. Very friendly staff. Will be coming back for years to come.
Jul 11, 2016
The toilets in the men's bathrooms were both stopped up for hours at a time. There was a lot of noise and people and kids moving around with bikes and golf carts after quiet hours making it difficult to get my kids to sleep.
Jul 11, 2016
love family environment but music that went to 1030 and had vulgar lyrics in some songs as in back up big girl(this is a family campground not a club) disgusting! so loud and so long, we came to enjoy sounds of nature around campfire not filth that u can't drown out!that will keep us away.
Jul 11, 2016
This campground has something for everyone. Fun for the entire family. We are already planning our next stay.
Jul 11, 2016
We were in and out pretty quickly, but this KOA looked very fun! Wish we had more time to stay and play!
Jul 10, 2016
WIFI is useless. Cable is almost as bad. Nearly a 30% price increase from last year. No ice on July 4th. The sites are nice but can't justify the price increase and poor services.
Jul 10, 2016
This was our third year at Cherokee for the week of the fourth. The first two years I would have rated this campground a 10/10 but this year was not nearly what we had hoped for. The staff has always been fantastic with the children during activities. This year they seemed disinterested and irritated. We are going to try it one more year but if changes aren't made we will definely not be returning
Jul 10, 2016
First, we were given a tent site right next to the dog walk park right where people were allowing there dogs to go bathroom. Also the women's bathrooms had no working soap dispensers the whole time we were there and no other soap options were provided. Finally, when a tornado came through the campsite, we were not given a cabin to stay in even though we asked and offered to pay the difference.
Jul 10, 2016
Coming from out of state they gave us a very poor site,1 ft away from the dumpster and a trash can that they put fish guts in it. It stunk so bad that we could not open our windows. The site was not groomed and had high weeds, we had to clean the concrete pad ourselves. The store did not have any maps and could not give out any directions. There was no internet service.
Jul 10, 2016
Jul 10, 2016
We tried two cabins. The first was smelly. The second was dirty. We had shoes stolen off our porch. The bathrooms were clean, yet smelled of urine. The soap dispenser was broken, urinals did not flush, lights did not work, water pressure was bad. Grill and store were out of staples like water and bread. Wifi was not very functional. Amenities could not be used due to rain.
Jul 10, 2016
Jul 10, 2016
I could not believe how many staff were there and available to help with most anything, including a brief, but strong storm that took down several trees near our site (#24).
Jul 10, 2016
Great amenities, but it took 3 different conversations to get the campground maintenance department to unclog the sewage at my site - so essentially could not use our RV. Front desk gave me attitude about asking "when" - and it didn't suffice as an emergency when I called the prior night. 2 plus hours after talking to the front desk, a person cleaning a cabin listened to me and called.
Jul 10, 2016
Loved it! The only thing I would highly recommend you changing is removing the google directions link on your sight and email notifications. We followed those directions and the it took us on 441 through 30 miles of shear terror pulling a camper. I started to fear for my family's safety. The campground and staff are great just need to make sure people are aware of the safe way to get there.
Jul 10, 2016
Great!
Jul 10, 2016
Jul 09, 2016
This was the fourth year in a row we have stayed at KOA Cherokee. We love this campground and plan to continue the yearly stay. The staff is always friendly.
Jul 09, 2016
This campground was amazing. SO much to do for all size family members. We will definitely be returning here. LOVED it and thank you!
Jul 09, 2016
Plenty of things for families and kids. Close to local attractions. There were so many daily activities and things to do at the campground that you didn't even need to leave the campground for fun and entertainment. Will definitely go back.
Jul 09, 2016
It was not good because you ran out of food the fish was not biting the activities was not what we were expecting power went out and was not compacted for food loss the person at the office said not there faught and laughed said call duke energy that's very unperfessionally want be back
Jul 09, 2016
Staff was fantastic in helping us make a repair to our RV.
Jul 09, 2016
Enjoyed the campground, but the fridge was broke, the tv didn't work, and the cabin was way to hot. I expected better for the price
Jul 09, 2016
Great,we had bad luck with the Rainey weather but made the best of it. Thanks a lot.
Jul 09, 2016
Good times except for the pee ants in the cabin
Jul 09, 2016
Every one was great we had a small ac problem they were out immediately to correct it. Cabin was great my grandkids loved the loft!
Jul 09, 2016
Overall, very good. Beautiful grounds, lots of fun to be had.
Jul 09, 2016
Restrooms were so clean! Thanks. Maybe have maps to Great Smoky Mtn Natl Park. Older lady directions were wrong. Enjoyec our stay. Again, great restrooms!!!
Jul 09, 2016
I would say if you are staying in a tent to look elsewhere due to no power and water on those sites also the fact that when it rains the tent sites are mudholes can't we put something there for tent's to be on like sand or something. Other than that its a great campground with lots of activities for the kids. If your staying in an rv you should have no problem those sites are concrete and nice.
Jul 09, 2016
Jul 09, 2016
Beautiful stayed on riverfront will definitely be back. Friendly customer service
Jul 08, 2016
We enjoyed all the activities and amenities this KOA has but the WIFI was very slow and the phone service was very poor. We could never get phone connection at the campground.
Jul 08, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award