Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Sep 03, 2013
This is my families second time staying at Cherokee. Unfortunately, it is the dirtiest KOA I have been to. I always rave to my friends about why I love staying at a KOA. Under staffed, dirty bathrooms, not enough rental equipment and untrained staff. Sorry, but we will not be going back!
Sep 03, 2013
We stay here at least once a year, however I was dissapointed in this stay as well as my last. I stay in Cabin 251 and the beds are terrible. The matresses are torn and the beds are missing slats. This time as we checked into the cabin, there were spider webs everywhere as well as leaves in the cabin and the smoke alarm battery was chirping away. The cabin was not clean for our arrival.
Sep 03, 2013
When it rains about twenty camp site flooded. There was about 8" of water in some sites. None of the drains (4 ) were working in front of my site ( 219 ) How can you rent out sites knowing it will be under water when it rains?? Also when you reserve a site you don't know what site will be under water. I saw kids and golf carts playing in the flood waters not knowing the sewage sys. was not working
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
We had a nice time, though the weather was a bit rainy.
Sep 03, 2013
It was my favorite for years but not so much now. I requested a certain cabin that had 2 full beds and a set of bunks. We had only 1 full bed. Requested front porch swing. No swing. Cabin dirty and full of OLD cobwebs EVERYWHERE. The indoor hottub was NASTY and the jets didnt work. They didnt even have tge advertised haywagon ride even thpugh it was LaborDay weekend. Very disappointing.
Sep 03, 2013
i was very upset to see that my charges where different that what expected . the manager was very rude AND I WILL NOT BE BACK UNLESS SOMETHING IS DONE
Sep 03, 2013
It came a storm and the campground flooded. other wise it was awesome.
Sep 03, 2013
Staff not very friendly..almost seemed annoyed. Loud trash pick up in campground in the mornings.
Sep 03, 2013
Went out of the way on labor day weekend to find us a cabin for 2 more nights.
Sep 03, 2013
Very crowded, very over priced cabin and overall unpleasant stay. Not what I expected from web photos. Photos did not match reality. Beds were not made, no daily cleaning or replenishment. View of the river was blocked by a dying tree. I would have left if I had not lost over $200 a day in cabin fees. Feel ripped off. Could have stayed at a nice hotel for those prices not a parking lot.
Sep 03, 2013
Great campground for families. Everyone there was extremely nice. Don't listen to the negative comments. WE will definitely be back
Sep 03, 2013
Helpful staff but need to enforce the rule about lights on bicycles and golf carts after dark A specially underage kids driving golf carts
Sep 03, 2013
We had a great time. This was our second stay at the KOA this year. We always enjoy each visit and it is very economical. We will definitely be back.
Sep 03, 2013
we have been going to this campground for years and we are looking to make a trip again next year
Sep 03, 2013
Loved this KOA. Every activity that you could ask for. Very nice bath facilities. Very busy time but could be kept a little cleaner.
Sep 03, 2013
Have been to this KOA many times in a camper. The cabin leaked and soaked our beds. It has leaked before cause could see the stains. The floors were filthy, had not been mopped in a LONG time.
Sep 03, 2013
Our Favorite KOA by far.. Just wish it wasn't so far away for us..see ya again and soon I hope
Sep 03, 2013
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The bathhouses were not clean but part of that may have been due to the volume of Labor Day campers. It rained a lot of the time and the ground water drained through our site (and many others) creating a muddy mess. There was also a huge yellow jacket nest on our site. Much of this was out of the KOA's control.
Sep 03, 2013
The cabin that we rented was great. It was the studio. The biggest problem was the lack of wifi and the on again off again very poor cable reception. It rained several times and with small children it was extremely difficult to keep them under wraps. It was my impression that the cabin had wifi. It was included on the amenities listed on the web site. Other than that, our visit was good.
Sep 03, 2013
We enjoyed are stay here but, the place does need some TLC. Bathhouse 2 only had 2 toilets when we arrived, when we left on Monday morning, it was down to 1 toilet and 1 shower stall, I understand that the campground was full so a lot of things was going on. But we had a great time with the grandkids & they had fun!
Sep 03, 2013
Everything was great except that it was too expensive and the wireless did not work. I can't stay somewhere where I pay for wireless and can't get it to work even with the code. Otherwise I loved the location and the people. no wireless is a deal breaker for me.
Sep 02, 2013
awesome campground, nice shaded spots, clean, lots of kids activities
Sep 02, 2013
If you are planning on using the WiFi it is very very slow almost useless. Not the most friendly KOA. Front part of camp was very nice but the section we were in was not in the best shape and they had a lot of year round camp sites that were dumpy looking.
Sep 02, 2013
After reading the reviews I was a little hesitant on going. This cg exceeded all expectations. I did not see any problems with the br as the other guests said and every time I went to use the br there was always someone cleaning them. The staff was friendly/helpful. Campers/adults need to rem when you camp you need to treat it likes its yours and not expect someone else to clean up your mess.
Sep 02, 2013
It was great.The cabin was very comfortable and the grounds were nice, too.
Sep 02, 2013
love the river close by and proximity to Smokey Smokey Mtn and Blue Ridge Parkway. It would be perfect 5 stars if the cabins were a little cleaner.
Sep 02, 2013
Had problems with management. Was not offered Kcard in deposit nor was I told about it when I checked in. I tried to get management to sell me one at check out and credit me the 10% or knock the 10% off my purchase of the Kcard but they refused. Will never go back there with that management in place.
Sep 02, 2013
Way too crowded! The trash trucks at 8am were very unwelcome.
Sep 01, 2013
we had a great time even though it rained most of the time we still had fun
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
We had a great time,loved the two bedroom cabin next to the river(no wifi)but who cares (we were on vacation) friendly staff, wish we could have stayed longer, see you'all next year.... Bill Bostic
Aug 31, 2013
Nicely kept, clean restrooms, large sites for big rigs, friendly staff. Close to Cherokee.
Aug 30, 2013
we really enjoyed our stay. Very comfortable and relaxing. Our cabin was great. We will stay at KOA again in the future.
Aug 29, 2013
Cabins were not clean and no wifi was available and where we was located at and tv channels wasnt clear when watching them. Employees was the most top rating for me. They were always helpful and should that they were really caring about the needs but all in all this was a fun safe place for kids but cabins need to be clean and bedding too.
Aug 29, 2013
Very clean campground. Majority of staff was friendly. Younger staff members were not as outgoing and accommodating. Simply ask "can I help you?" Nothing further, no solutions, very matter of fact. Amenities broken: jump pad, outdoor hot tub, ATM, change machine at bath house and vending machine. Paid for upgraded pad by river that at best was a 1 inch stream. Expected more.
Aug 28, 2013
We had a beautiful spot right on the river. This campground is clean and well kept. We really enjoyed the live band on Saturday night. Perfect stay for us. Our favorite campground of all we've stayed at.
Aug 28, 2013
Since 2004 this KOA has gone way down hill. This is a same seeing how this KOA has the best amenities in the state. This KOA should be fixed up and kept in better condition . This KOA also should be invested in above all other Koas in the state. No other KOA in this state has to offer what this one does but is treated like the rest of the KOAs This KOA should be the ABOVE STANDARDS allKOAshouldbe
Aug 28, 2013
We were disappointed that we had not phone service or Internet. Were told they were working on it, but we never did get any service. Also the rain drainage needs fixing so will not have flooding.
Aug 28, 2013
The camprground itself was clean and the staff was nice. The store was wonderful and the game room. The pools had some issues- the outdoor pool was murky, th outdoor jucuzzi was out of order, kiddie pool was dirty, the indoor pool was clean but the cholorine made your eyes red and smelled. The Jacuzzi didn't bubble, the floor is in the pool and broke around pool and cuts your foot. Pillow was brok
Aug 27, 2013
Staff very friendly and accommodating when approached with problems. I stayed in cabin 225 for a week. Attention to detail missing. Site messy upon arrival. It was clear that basic maintenece of cabins was lacking as neighbors also had issues. No internet or wireless. Buy a good professional powerwasher and use it. Pool umbrellas and chairs filthy. The place just needs a little love.
Aug 27, 2013
The last time we camped here, it was awesome. But we haven't been here in 2 years and what a change. Very disappointed this time around. Office closed at 6pm during week. Change machine out of service in laundry, ATM didn't work and Ice Machine out of service. Staff not so friendly. For the price you pay you should get all your amenities free. Rates higher than other campgrounds.
Aug 27, 2013
When we arrived, I called asking for some advice on our deluxe double spot. We only had one water connection, and the sewer was too far away for one of the units. No one ever came. We finally figured out how to deal with our issues on our own.
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
The scouts went camping 15 kids in all, had a great time, we were a bit disappointed that the jumping are was under construction, it should have been known when we made reservations. But had a great time like always
Aug 26, 2013
Clean restrooms. Large camp site.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
the door did not open correctly. the window would not lock. the internet was very poor.
Aug 26, 2013
Nicely maintained, clean, friendly staff, a few bugs but that is normal for camping, one stray dog on premises. Noise level was low and weather was fantastic.
Aug 26, 2013
There shows a great need for the Campground Manager (not the employees)to adhere to his responsibly to KOA.I was dissatisfied with the up keep and appearance of several conditions of the Camp grown. {ie}.Shower fixtures in need of maintenance, .Screens on doors and windows need repairs, .Under skirting/panels of the cabins need repair, .Those who have resident camping spots are not keeping mowed.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.