Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 08, 2015
This was the best weekend getaway that my family has ever experienced!
Sep 08, 2015
We visited in June and brought our kids 18, 19 and 23 for the weekend over Labor Day and had a FANTASTIC time. What a great place to be, such fun activities. We had a blast. We are already trying to figure out when to come back :)
Sep 08, 2015
Great site. Staff very friendly. Thank you for the great time.
Sep 08, 2015
It was a great stay! The only complaints we have is that the wifi wasn't working for us. And a recommendation to have music & dancing night more often! Really enjoyed watching everyone dance & having fun!
Sep 08, 2015
We had a great time this past weekend. The campground was really nice and we enjoyed it. The only complaint was that we did not always feel the staff was very friendly. I know if was a holiday weekend, but......
Sep 08, 2015
staff was not friendly
Sep 08, 2015
The ponds were empty (there was maintenance going on ) and we couldnt go fishing, but the park was clean and full and it was still very nice and peacfull.
Sep 08, 2015
For a big camp site it was nice and calm camping in the valley. I would stay there again.
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
So much fun we keep coming back.
Sep 07, 2015
For the price we paid the cabin was to small for 3 adults. Did not like the bathroom being in the bedroom with having another adult entering in the privacy of my room. The cabin was way too small. It was not what I expected very unhappy. View was beautiful staff was great. I truly thought the cabin was bigger. There was no toasted no can opener utensils was flemsey the cabin stunk. Gas grill dirt
Sep 07, 2015
Labor Day brought the crowds to the campground and staff were prepared and organized. There is plenty to do for older children, however, not much to do for children 3 or younger. The outdoor swimming pool is COLD and all but a very small portion has been roped off for the water slide; there's no room to swim in water less than 6 feet. This was not ideal for my 2 yo so we had to go to indoor pool.
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 06, 2015
Loved staying there. Everyone very nice and helpful. Only one problem was that in the store no one except for one person new how to make the drinks or coffee drinks. We had one lady named Joann that didn't know how but she experimented and made my husband a chocolate drink which was very good. To me she went out of her way just to make sure that everyone was happy. Had a great time!
Sep 05, 2015
Very peaceful...
Sep 05, 2015
Very nice helpful employees. Nice campground.
Sep 03, 2015
Need heated pool and more dog walking trails.koa staff very friendly and went out of their way to answer questions.
Sep 02, 2015
Friendly helpful staff. Had a backin site on the river which was wonderful!
Sep 02, 2015
Our stay was wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful. The sites were large and very nice. We were pleased with everything. A beautiful campground. We will stay here again.
Sep 02, 2015
Nice quiet and clean campground. Extremely helpful staff. No problems ONCE we reached our destination. The only suggestion I can make is to clarify the directions to the campground. Our GPS sent us down the wrong road (Sherrill Cove?) which was quite narrow. If somehow the campground could forewarn campers about this it may help. We should have just kept going until we reach the big yellow K
Sep 01, 2015
We were pleasantly surprised by the campground and amenities that it had to offer!!!! We achieved what we came for a nice relaxing week-end.THANKS!!!!!!
Sep 01, 2015
would like shuttel to train ride again as in the past
Sep 01, 2015
Very nice, clean campground. Employees were very nice & helpful. Just wish you would offer something of a discount to veterans.
Aug 31, 2015
The weather was good and we enjoyed our stay.
Aug 31, 2015
This was our first time at a KOA and overall the experience was positive. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were clean. There were plenty of activities for kids.
Aug 31, 2015
We enjoyed it so much we booked another stay! Very clean, lots of activities!
Aug 31, 2015
I was very pleasantly surprised by everything! The employees were nice and very kind to my children, the facilities were clean and offered enough to keep my children occupied. The only negative comment I have is that we rented a Delux Studio cabin and the water temperature was very inconsistent. It would start at the right temperature and then turn to freezing cold!
Aug 31, 2015
Came down to rent bikes, we were testing them for size I rode one past the guard shack not knowing I broke the rules. A lady came running and screaming at me. I explained there is a right/wrong way to approach folks. Yelling at me was not the right way. Just be polite say you are breaking the rules you need to come to the office first. NOT YELLING AT ME! That was RUDE.
Aug 31, 2015
We had a great stay in the smokey mountains and were pleasantly surprised at the group activities this site provided.
Aug 29, 2015
Amazing KOA! Friendly staff, lots of amenities, great area, clean campground and AWESOME sites!
Aug 28, 2015
JoAnn Perez was awesome to us. If everyone was like her, we would gave given 5 stars! Some other ladies at the check in desk were less than friendly and helpful and kind. They were rather quite rude.
Aug 27, 2015
Wonderful campground. May visit again,
Aug 27, 2015
The Cherokee camp is beautiful, quiet, clean and friendly. We were parked in a nice spot shaded by large trees, so that we didn't even have to extend our awning. I loved the airy and sunny indoor pool.
Aug 27, 2015
We had a great stay at the campground. Our daughter loved the pool. The only problem we found was the wifi didn't work most of the time.
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 26, 2015
We truly enjoyed ourselves. It was so relaxing and peaceful and we are definitely planning on coming back for a longer stay.
Aug 25, 2015
Great location. Nice options for cabins. Love the free activities. Great river location. Staff was not very friendly and so I took one star off for that. Sort of a lot of old mean grouchy men.
Aug 25, 2015
For the price ($66.14 per night),some serious upgrades and improvements are necessary. Bath house #2 for ladies is a disgrace. Chunks of tiles gone and many tiles broken. Roads need to be repaved due to numerous potholes and uneven pavement. Wi-Fi greatly improved from last year. Let's hope the rest of the campground gets some much needed improvements before too much longer.
Aug 25, 2015
Very nice place and people will b coming back
Aug 25, 2015
We had a great time as usual. Joann was extremely helpful with the reservation and the activities.
Aug 24, 2015
We had a great time! Love all the amenities!
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
This was our first stay and we had an absolute blast. We were in a 2 room cabin on the river and will definitely be back. From fishing, football, tye-die, swimming, etc...the kids are ready to come back every year! Thanks for a great way to end our summer!!
Aug 24, 2015
We were put on a site that was covered with roots. I have had two hip replacements and was afraid to walk in front of the camper. We moved to another site and found that the sewage drain was broken, moved lines to another one, had difficulty draining - it was stopped up, was assisted by one of your attendants to drain sewage - he agreed there was a problem with the drain.
Aug 24, 2015
I have been coming here for 17 years and it is always a good time.I think you must stop adding cabins it is getting to crowded to relax & ruins the beauty.You also need to upgrade bathrooms for handicap.They are not handicap friendly. .It is still a nice place but it used to be awesome! rates go up and each year more of the atmosphere is gone,Nature and space tookover by cabin
Aug 24, 2015
Our stay was great! Cabin was very nice and the staff was very friendly!
Aug 24, 2015
This was our second week this year and we absolutely LOVE IT. We come every year and will continue. The only thing that we did not enjoy was having to leave. We would LOVE to work for this place.
Aug 24, 2015
Clean and peaceful. Fun activities. Food was fresh and inexpensive.
Aug 24, 2015
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps