Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 12, 2016
Sep 11, 2016
wonderful experience. very quiet and relaxing
Sep 11, 2016
LOVE THE CABIN WE STAYED IN...WOULD LOVE TO COME AGAIN SOON
Sep 11, 2016
OUTSTANDING place to stay for a long holiday weekend.....professional and courteous staff.....very kid & pet friendly Thank You for a great stay......km
Sep 11, 2016
The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. They answered all of our questions and was able to show us the cabin and where everything was. It was clean and peaceful! This is my favorite Koa so far!
Sep 10, 2016
We do not like being forced to pay a resort fee. As two adults traveling without children we do not make use of most activities. In the future we will more closely look at KOA campgrounds and will most likely look to stay at other area campgrounds that do not charge such a fee.
Sep 09, 2016
only complaint is could not book Labor Day weekend for next year until Monday,was told I had first chance to book as long as I was on the site, which I don't believe is accurate. first time I could not book next year on first or second day of our stay.
Sep 09, 2016
Employees need to be more polite and too many bugs hey need to spray the grass also need to tell people before they come that the pond is not stocked very upset with my trip
Sep 09, 2016
Sep 08, 2016
Hated to leave. Was so very nice as was our stay last time. Will be back again and again.
Sep 08, 2016
Overall very nice. However, the Wi-Fi connection was not good. It worked fine the first night before the campground filled up. The rest of the weekend there was not any connection. If you need a campground with wifi, choose another campground. If wifi is not important, then this is 5 stars.
Sep 08, 2016
Great place. Will return on a non holiday weekend. Can't wait for the fall season in the smokies.
Sep 08, 2016
Great stay with these folks will be back soon
Sep 08, 2016
Wonderful! We have 5 children and we all had a great time. We will be back. Our only suggestion is a half day or daily bike rental rate not just hourly.
Sep 08, 2016
We really enjoyed camping here over Labor Day weekend. Kids had a great time and said it was there best vacation ever and are already asking to go back.
Sep 08, 2016
My family and friends visited KOA for the first time during the labor day weekend. The staff was very polite and friendly. The common areas were clean and the best part of all the kids had a wonderful time at the river, pools, bouncing pad. They rode their bikes freely and participated in most campsite activities. It was a very friendly family oriented campsite.
Sep 07, 2016
We love this campground. The staff is friendly, the grounds are kept up nicely and the kids are kept busy!!
Sep 07, 2016
I had a wonderful time. The premises were very clean and well taken care of. I just wish they would be much stricter on the bikes after dark. We came in Saturday evening at around 9:45pm and the children were everywhere on bikes, not safe and it is a rule. But I am coming back next year! Loved it!!
Sep 07, 2016
As always a great time and friendly staff....Thank you
Sep 07, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Sep 07, 2016
The grounds and amenities are amazing. Great staff. My family had a fabulous Labor Day weekend here.
Sep 07, 2016
I really liked the campground, plenty of kid friendly stuff. They have bike rentals, playgrounds, jumping pad and pools. It is congested around the office with kids on bike, people walking and vehicle traffic, just drive slow not abig deal. Bathrooms were clean,the only thing is a couple of the woman that work the check in desk were rude. One was from Detroit, not nice at all.
Sep 07, 2016
Amazing
Sep 07, 2016
It was a Labor Day weekend and extremely crowded. Bikes,dogs,children and cars everywhere. candy hunt was. Rey poor considering amount of children there. Over all staff helpful and facility was clean.
Sep 07, 2016
Great place!! So much to do and see. People cry about WIFI.Your camping who cares!!
Sep 07, 2016
Camp ground is great. Getting there is not well marked and further out than expected. Only met ONE friendly staff person. Also was denied Military discount as I was "only a veteran", the lady was a Bi$#@. Loudly proclaiming this to everyone checking in. The one nice staff person came to us later and said this lady did this ALL the time. Also we failed to "properly" display our car tag...
Sep 07, 2016
Sep 07, 2016
Sep 07, 2016
Loved the campground and the staff...and the location, beautiful place.
Sep 07, 2016
Very beautiful location and nice campground with fun things for the whole family.
Sep 07, 2016
Great time. Staff was very nice and the facilities were clean.
Sep 07, 2016
We had an awesome weekend at the Cherokee KOA. Bathroom and shower facilities are awesome. Very clean and updated. We had a slight glitch in checking in, we had requested a shady site due to a medical condition and was put in full sun. After getting past the rude employee to a manager we were accomidated and had a great shady site. We're going back next weekend! Kids loved it!
Sep 07, 2016
The campground is very nice and has a lot for the kids to do. Our kids had a lot of fun. The bathrooms are extremely clean. The negatives are that the campground is huge and very busy, the sites are really close together, our water hook up leaked constantly and instead of fixing it we were told to just only turn on water as needed, and a lot of the staff were rude.
Sep 06, 2016
This campground was so much fun for our family group. The facilities were great, there were lots of activities for the children, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Our only complaints would be that we could not eat outside because of the yellow jackets (our 4-year-old granddaughter was stung twice), and we had to be careful going down to the water because of the poison ivy. l
Sep 06, 2016
Loved it!! Best camping site in the Smokies!!
Sep 06, 2016
Clean, Friendly and lots of amenities.
Sep 06, 2016
I. Think the camp grounds are nice but there were to many people. The 3 wheeled bicycles were every where and no one seems to care how much of the road they took. There should be certain areas and times to ride them. The grown ups were just as bad as the children. There needs to be more fishing for a family.
Sep 06, 2016
I really would love to give this campground a 5 star. But the last several times we have been there the men's bathrooms have been dirty and the shower pressure outside stalls are less than adequate.
Sep 06, 2016
We stayed in a deluxe cabin, and were happy with the accommodations. Campgound amenities were great. I would like to see recycling bins offered for bottles and cans.
Sep 06, 2016
Absolutely great place for kids and families! There is so much to do and the facilities are well maintained and clean. This was our second Labor Day family trip and we are planning to return for a 3rd next year!
Sep 06, 2016
We had a great time, would recommend. Our cabin was just fine for our needs. We even booked a cabin for next year. The thing that kept me from going 5 stars is that we had trailing ants inside our cabin. The ants got to our food.
Sep 06, 2016
Have been coming for about 3 years now...This is our favorite! So much to do for the kids!!!!
Sep 06, 2016
Love this campground. We will definitely stay again.
Sep 06, 2016
Facility was very clean and staff was exceedingly courteous. Very likely to return.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
Our stay was awesome like usual. The only thing I think you need to rethink is the cart parking behind the pool. Great for bikes, not for golf carts.
Sep 06, 2016
This was our first stay in a KOA cabin and the Cherokee KOA. We enjoyed the pools, jumping pad, river etc. wish wifi was stronger for work purposes but understand we are in the mountains and it was busy. Most of the employees were polite and helpful especially being a busy weekend. The set up of the bathhouses was very impressive. We are planning our next trip!
Sep 06, 2016
Love the camp grounds. Just wish all the Camp ground host would be a little more pleasant. Their all so grouchy. People go on vacation to get away from that
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
My only request would be that the outdoor pool stay open later and info about outdoor movies be displayed better.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award