Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 07, 2017
Fantastic campground. Super friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful location. Loved the indoor pool and hot tub.
Apr 07, 2017
Nice area....working vacation...needed wifi. States on web site, free wifi. There was NO wifi. Complained to manager...got the "oh well not my problem" answer.
Apr 06, 2017
Liked the campground a lot. Everything you do there is expensive. From firewood to bike rentals. My kids loved the bikes. If you would have rented them for a discounted daily price I would have done that.
Apr 06, 2017
Love it here. Just wish I could stay more often.
Apr 06, 2017
Had a great stay, nothing bad to say.
Apr 06, 2017
The cabin was great. The ponds for fishing was not stocked and not even worth your time. The restaurant was not even open even though the website showed it as open.
Apr 06, 2017
Me and my family have been coming to the Koa in Cherokee for 25 years and used to have a great time the last three times we have came our reservations have been messed up I just think it is wrong to have this happen wish I could find another campground but I really like it there it just is sad when this happens it starts your vacation off on a bad note
Apr 06, 2017
The clerk was not very friendly at check in. Campground itself was nice. Cabin we rented had broken bathroom door and multiple lights burned out. Also had ants in the bathroom. Mattress on twin bed could use replacing as springs were felt during the night. It was very quiet and peaceful and the other campers were friendly. The bikes need maintenance. No Wifi coverage on back of property.
Apr 06, 2017
Our family had a wonderful time at this campground! Will definitely return. Clean, organized, and helpful staff. A+++
Apr 06, 2017
This was a wonderful place to stay! Our cabin was right on the river & had everything we needed! The staff was friendly and helpful. The campground had a great indoor pool and some type of activity for people of all ages. We will stay here again & would recommended to our friends!
Apr 06, 2017
Not very easy to get the cabin size I desired. Ask for deluxe cabin with 2 queen size beds numerous times.
Apr 05, 2017
Worst KOA around! My reservations were changed without notification until we drove 5 hours to get there, then were told upon checking in. Amenities were broken, Game room closed, and rude employees. The GM was least helpful. Simple questions, even the GM, Joann couldn't answer. Very disorganized. Double charged my account and refused to return my overcharged money. Awful experience. Won't return
Apr 05, 2017
I would recommend this place to anyone. I would like to return during the on-season to utilize more of the amenities.
Apr 05, 2017
We stay there numerous times a year. Sometimes every weekend a month. Just wish they had a place to keep my camper during the week so I didn't have to pull back and forth. Happy camping
Apr 04, 2017
Our stay was cut short. We had the people next to our cabin start drinking and very loud starting at 9:30 and didn't sop until 1:45. There is no cell reception for our phone with 3 different carriers so we couldn't call security. With no sleep and considering that they were starting drinking early on Saturday we cut our visit short. We had paid our Friday and Saturday night and both days fishing.
Apr 04, 2017
Our stay was absolutely perfect...within seconds of arriving someone helped us find our cabin late that night. All staff were extremely helpful and nice. Very clean, quiet, and peaceful. We will definitely be returning for as long as this establishment is around
Apr 03, 2017
we had a wonderful time. we come every year with our family. we always have a great time.
Apr 03, 2017
Had a great time. Loved the cabin, fishing, and the breakfast at the grill.
Apr 03, 2017
My husband and I stayed in one of the deluxe cabins on the river. It was so peaceful and relaxing. The cabin had just enough room and was super clean! We'll definitely be booking another reservation again soon!
Apr 03, 2017
Apr 03, 2017
Me and my Children loved this campground, The staff are very friendly and helpful. The restrooms and showers are very clean and there is plenty for the children to do when not fishing the river or trout pond that are just outside of the campground.
Apr 03, 2017
We love the location, the cabins and the attention to detail. Hope to come back soon
Apr 03, 2017
Great stay! Just wish there was a heater in the 1 room cabins but other than that it was perfect! Will be back soon!
Apr 03, 2017
Apr 03, 2017
Staff was very helpful. Thanks a lot for a Great weekend.
Apr 03, 2017
Very friendly staff.
Apr 03, 2017
Taking into account a very early hiccup. ..original site was flooded. Problem was solved quickly new site was awesome. We had a great time.lots for kids to do.
Apr 03, 2017
We had a great time, accomadations were great and staff helpful,we will be back soon
Apr 02, 2017
We have been visiting your KOA since 1999, usually in our RV. But the last few years have been extremely busy for us and we haven't been able visit until this week. We had promised our grandson we would take him and finally time allowed us to do that. We really enjoyed our visit and hope to return sooner than it has been. We normally are in our RV but this time decided on a cabin and it was enjoya
Apr 02, 2017
Great fishing ,clean cottages, friendly people we will be back
Apr 01, 2017
We enjoyed the location near the river and waterfall. The camp store was not very well stocked and there was no VKRewards card discounts. The shake machine had a "Clean Now" light on the entire time we were there. Would have liked on-site recycling or at least to have been told where nearby off-site recycling was. Staff was friendly and helpful. Grounds were clean and well maintained.
Apr 01, 2017
Extremely nice and clean bath and laundry facilities!
Apr 01, 2017
Apr 01, 2017
Dirty mattress,blow dryer broken, unfriendly at check in. I spent over 200.00 for one night and expected alot better.
Mar 31, 2017
It took an extremely log time to check in!
Mar 30, 2017
found it to be tight quarters, site had an odd layout
Mar 30, 2017
Personennel at check in were not at all receptive to my 19 yr old staying in the camp site even calling me at home to tell me if there are any problems they would be asked to leave and I would be responsible which is already understood according to my confirmation and agreement to camp rules all ages were listed on form The bathrooms never had paper and they came into the camp site hours prior
Mar 29, 2017
too expensive for what you get. Not a child hater but there were too many kids on bikes..not safe when trying to pull a camper or rv they don't stop on a dime.
Mar 28, 2017
We have been coming to the KOA for over 40 years for opening weekend. We always get there about noon time. We have never been charged a early check in fee until this year. The manager would not even come out and talk to us, she just hid in the office. This is bad business in my opinion and we should have been told about this before we arrived. 40 years!!
Mar 28, 2017
The cabin was great with a great view of the river.
Mar 28, 2017
We stayed in a Kottage and it was wonderful!Donnie and his family(KOA staff) made us feel at home and it was a dream come true! They need a raise!The bedding was comfortable, it was clean, everything worked well, and the fireplace was a dream!Even my puppies loved it!I will try to post some pictures soon! This was a very special trip for my family and because of your staff we will be booking again
Mar 28, 2017
The wifi was the only thing that we had a problem with.the staff was very nice . We had a water leak in the bathroom and they came and fixed it right away. We love staying there. Will be back
Mar 28, 2017
Our family loves this campground. This is our third long weekend stay in the last 2 years and we will surely be back. Beautiful place, very family friendly. Clean. Giving four of five because I did pay for TV we had some issues with but a very friendly staff member worked hard to get us the best he could giving the circumstances. Looking forward to another visit.
Mar 28, 2017
We enjoy staying here. Only thing sucks this time was the parking spot for our cabin. Overall, everything is great.
Mar 28, 2017
The staff was wonderful at a very busy check-in process. They were also nice and pleasant throughout my stay. They made me feel welcome. I will be back.
Mar 28, 2017
I don't think you should be charged extra if a cabin sleeps 4 or 6 .But everything else was awesome!
Mar 28, 2017
We enjoyed our stay and my grandson had a ball. He didn't want to leave. Prices in store are Lil high. But hey what do you expect with a spoiled grand child.
Mar 28, 2017
I love all of the activities and the friendly customer service at KOA> Awesome place to go anytime of the year.
Mar 28, 2017
The campgrounds were very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. We plan on returning very soon.
Mar 28, 2017
It was ok til my daughter woke up with some bites that turned into big blisters, ended up taking her to the er the day after we left koa.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award