Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 30, 2014
It was ok but there were a few issues. Indoor pool was closed for decontamination. Outdoor pool was filthy. Staff inside was not very friendly.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Great-lots to do nice people-great staff- very well stocked general store-good to camp on cement pads-thanks for a great time
Jul 29, 2014
wifi connection could be better. need to be able to use this at our campsite.
Jul 29, 2014
Everyone was very friendly. The guard was extremely helpful. I was carrying a large laundry basket and he gave me a ride to the laundromat and even offered to come back for me later.
Jul 29, 2014
Cabins were great, good laundry room, bathrooms could be cleaner, mold on shower curtains. Any way to stop smoking in private toilets would be gr8 for those of us allergic. Loads of activities for kids. Golf cart rental a bit pricey. Beautiful park.
Jul 29, 2014
We stayed at cabin 60. We had no chair or bench inside the cabin. The screen had a large rip in it and shen I asked about having it repaired ir taped for bugs- no response from front office. One toilet clogged in bath house. I asked front desk where we should wash our dishes and the response we got from front desk was to use the water pump behind our site. No hot water to wash dishes. We ...
Jul 29, 2014
My last stay in 2013 was dissapointing, bad beds and poor maintenance, steps unsafe to cabin 251. all were fixed this year, and bedding was new. Thanks for listening to my prior comments.
Jul 29, 2014
it is not obvious how people should wash dishes at your campground. Otherwise, it was a great place to stay.
Jul 29, 2014
My one 'concern' with the park is the lack of WiFi service. I would give a '10' & five stars if that could be corrected.
Jul 29, 2014
We stayed in a tent and really appreciated the upgrade to cabin free of charge when a severe storm came. Thank you
Jul 29, 2014
Campground nice, people not personable, over priced, no wifi, roads need repair, we used to go there all the time in late 90's and early 2000's. Won't be visiting any time soon.
Jul 29, 2014
The cabin we stayed in was very nice and clean. My 7 yr old & 4 yr old were never bored between the 2 pools, riding their bike/scooter, kid activities and visiting family & friends at other cabins! They wore me out! Thank you for all of the fun and great service with your staff!
Jul 29, 2014
I think this is one of the best KOA's I've been to on the East coast! I do however have a few suggestions...the pools needed cleaned for tubers were coming into them a muddy dirty mess and not hitting the showers before hand so the pools were murkey because of this. Showers should be enforced and maybe some clarifier in the water? The only thing missing was karaoke! Gotta have karaoke!...:)
Jul 29, 2014
We had a great time. Love the KOA's because they are so family friendly and there are activities that the kids can participate in which is GREAT! They loved each and everyone of them!
Jul 28, 2014
the only thing that i will complain about is the wifi it is free but you can only get it when you are at the koa store it needs to upgraded REALLY BAD if it was not for that i would have given them 5 stars
Jul 28, 2014
We had a great stay. It was our 2nd time in 10 years. One disappointment was the outside hot tub didn't stay hot; the heater broke. Other than that, it was a great time. My family truly enjoyed it!
Jul 28, 2014
We had a site that was amazing and we really loved the feeling of being right there with nature.
Jul 28, 2014
have always had very good experience at cherokee koa. however our camp cabin could do with some major improvement.there are carpenter bees invading the porch ceiling, and the porch step down is a little hazoradous,and the screen door has been very neglected. its a great spot though next to the river.poor ole cabin just needs a little tlc.!!!
Jul 28, 2014
Great stay. Husbands bday. The guys at the pool concession stand do a great job. Breakfast sandwiches and food are excellent.
Jul 28, 2014
Our cabin was great! No complaints. It's a great family campground. Clean, friendly. Lots of activities. Only thing I did not like was no internet to keep in touch with family while away.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
We previously stayed here many times and were always very pleased. First time back in 3 years and it has really gone downhill.It just looks like it not cared for very well. We spent the last four days of our vacation at the KOA in Pigeon Forge. What a difference,it was excellent!!!!
Jul 28, 2014
Wonderful stay in the cabin on the river. Clean bathrooms and showers, lots of fun tubing, quick check in. Will definitely be returning!
Jul 28, 2014
wonderful. The children absolutely give it a thumbs up
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
people were very friendly and helpful
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Great as usual! See you again next month!
Jul 28, 2014
Some staff are rude. Indoor pool and hot tub are so dirty you can't see the bottom. Kids activities are fun. Lots of road to ride bikes. Love the river so you can tube. If not using the shuttle and just in the campground tubes should be $5 a day not $10. Hopefully the pool will be cleaner when we come back in Oct.
Jul 28, 2014
what a great place. the staff was very friendly and helpful. the only thing i could see to improve on would be to add a DJ on saturday night playing music that teens would appreciate. Great place .
Jul 28, 2014
The staff is wonderful with the sole exception of the older lady that works in the tube rental. She wouldn't rent us the tubes since it was our last day! She told me and my boys to leave and not use any of the facilities too. On the other hand, I previously asked the front office staff about staying a while to let my boys fish in the stream and they were very gracious and hospitable.Thanks
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Wonderful stay....as always. My entire family loves it here! We were so sad when it was time to leave. We made our next reservations for this resort before we left.
Jul 28, 2014
We had a wonderful time.. so many activities and great staff !!!
Jul 28, 2014
I was very disappointed. For the price I paid to stay in a no/bath one room cabin I think all the amenities shown on website should be included, there're not, all except pool was extra (of course hot tub was not working). Plus, my view from my cabin was a 6ft chainlink fence, I was basically camping in a parking lot, this place is so large that the pool was to crowded to use most of the time.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
We have been coming to this campground since the 70's. We had a Wonderful time. Awesome Staff, very friendly and helpful.We will be back next year!!!
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
great time, great staff
Jul 27, 2014
We enjoyed our stay but I was disappointed that check in was at 2:00pm. We arrived early and realized we could not check in yet but we were disappointed that we were not even allowed to use campground amenity's while we waited for our cabin to be available.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
This is a great campground, if for anything the surroundings and the amenities. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The only negatives were that the pool could be cleaned more often and we didn't use the bathrooms very much but when we did, they were dirty. And this was sometimes in the afternoon when they should have been cleaned by then.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
no wi fi, last time we stayed there much better, dinners, place was full, this time not so. One of the main reasons i stayed there is I needed wifi as it was a working vacation, needless to sy, i got nothing done the 4 nites we were there, my boss is not going to be happy. no refund offered for no wo fi either.
Jul 26, 2014
Bathrooms cleaned early in the morn and filthy by mid afternoon and need fresh shower curtains. Anyway to stop people from smoking in the individual bathrooms? Laundry open 24 hrs and clean which was great. Terrific kids activities but maybe could add an earlier evening movie instead of 9:15pm for the younger kids. Great amenities - pool, jump pillow, mini golf, banana bikes, fully stocked store.
Jul 26, 2014
Great KOA. Kids loved the pool, river, and jumping. No wifi was disappointing. Only 4 stars due to no wifi.
Jul 26, 2014
The people that work there are so nice and friendly. I can't say enough nice things about them, however I was disappointed in the cabin. The furnishings were nice but when I got there the toilet looked like it had not been clean in some time. The mat at the front door was dirty. The floor needed a good cleaning and the fly's were horrible. When I pay over 200.00 a night for a stay I expect clean.
Jul 26, 2014
the camp sites were very nice ,but I would not stay there again because you allow people to build camp fires people with lung problems and health issues are in trouble we couldnot even sit out side and enjoy the site because both people on each side had fires!It was bad plus your wi-fi sucks you need a new system or something people that camp in todays time are wanting to get on internet !

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.