Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Sep 07, 2013
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 06, 2013
it was an excellent way for us to get 14 family and friends together. Facilities were clean and well taken care of. Thanks
Sep 06, 2013
Labor day weekend bath houses were filthy. they are also in very poor condition. Have stayed in several KOA's and have never had this problem. Had a camping cabin and no one aired it out before our arrival so it was hot and smelled funny plus floor was dirty. Switched to studio for bathroom and it was much better, very clean. Employee named Robert was very nice and helpful.
Sep 06, 2013
We loved it.
Sep 05, 2013
Sep 05, 2013
VERY NICE
Sep 05, 2013
This was not our first visit to your campground and I can assure you it will not be our last. What a great get away for the kids. Love us some KOA in Cherokee, NC. !!!
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
We did not stay in our originally reserved site and were placed in another that we were able to deal with for the month. Staff was helpful, but responded more slowly than I would have expected. We paid more for our site than our friends did for an upgraded site and were somewhat dismayed over that issue. When I asked about that in the Office I was not given an answer that made sense and did not sa
Sep 04, 2013
We stayed in a camping cabin for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. After reading some ratings before our visit, I was a little concerned, but we found that the campground offered a wonderful place for our family to get away. No cell service was a plus, and if we wanted internet, we could simply go to the check-in center. Over all wonderful stay!
Sep 04, 2013
The women's bathroom was dirty and toilets didn't work well. One time two of the three toilets didn't work--were clogged.
Sep 04, 2013
We stayed over Labor Day Weekend and had a very enjoyable stay. The facilities were all clean and the staff frendly. Only complaint was the Wi-fi signal was less than adequate.
Sep 04, 2013
Our stay was good as usual. The children were disappointed that the jumping pillow had been damaged and removed. The Jump Pad that replaced it is lacking. Sand and water stay on it and it does not provided the same jumping fun the pillow did.
Sep 04, 2013
The staff was extremely courteous, helpful and available. The facilities were clean and in good condition. Our sites were much closer than in a state park- too much smoke from campfires. The kids loved it but it was not very relaxing for the adults. The location was convenient to the Mountains.
Sep 04, 2013
No internet working, no phone service, too crowded, kids riding bikes unsupervised after dark on the roads, cable went out, parts of the park flooded after it rained. I think I'll stay with Good Sams parks.
Sep 04, 2013
no internet service, cable did not work they temp fixed and the reception was snowy this is second stay with these issues
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
had great campsites,lot of things for the kids to do and most of all GREAT FISHING
Sep 04, 2013
Perfect Labor Day weekend. The kampground was very clean and well maintained. The coffee and snack bar were great. The kids enjoyed the pool and tubing the creek. Quincey, Robert, and the rest of the staff were great. BEST KAMPGROUND IN CHEROKEE!
Sep 03, 2013
The deluxe campsites are wonderful. However, there are significant issues with flooding when it rains. Also the cable and internet are less than desirable. We had no reception with our TV the first day and had static channels the remainder of our days. The internet (wi-fi) was non-existant at our site and the pool area. They are in need of some upgrades.
Sep 03, 2013
We have been coming to this KOA for a few years and every time we come the wireless internet does not work and the cable barely works.We thought it was a one time problem and we have complained before. I would not advertise free wifi if it will not work.
Sep 03, 2013
We were fine but when the rain came there was alot of flooding. It was very close to our site. Maybe warn people of flooding sites before they get there. I felt bad and would have been really upset if it was my site.
Sep 03, 2013
Great KOA!!!
Sep 03, 2013
This is my families second time staying at Cherokee. Unfortunately, it is the dirtiest KOA I have been to. I always rave to my friends about why I love staying at a KOA. Under staffed, dirty bathrooms, not enough rental equipment and untrained staff. Sorry, but we will not be going back!
Sep 03, 2013
We stay here at least once a year, however I was dissapointed in this stay as well as my last. I stay in Cabin 251 and the beds are terrible. The matresses are torn and the beds are missing slats. This time as we checked into the cabin, there were spider webs everywhere as well as leaves in the cabin and the smoke alarm battery was chirping away. The cabin was not clean for our arrival.
Sep 03, 2013
When it rains about twenty camp site flooded. There was about 8" of water in some sites. None of the drains (4 ) were working in front of my site ( 219 ) How can you rent out sites knowing it will be under water when it rains?? Also when you reserve a site you don't know what site will be under water. I saw kids and golf carts playing in the flood waters not knowing the sewage sys. was not working
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
We had a nice time, though the weather was a bit rainy.
Sep 03, 2013
It was my favorite for years but not so much now. I requested a certain cabin that had 2 full beds and a set of bunks. We had only 1 full bed. Requested front porch swing. No swing. Cabin dirty and full of OLD cobwebs EVERYWHERE. The indoor hottub was NASTY and the jets didnt work. They didnt even have tge advertised haywagon ride even thpugh it was LaborDay weekend. Very disappointing.
Sep 03, 2013
i was very upset to see that my charges where different that what expected . the manager was very rude AND I WILL NOT BE BACK UNLESS SOMETHING IS DONE
Sep 03, 2013
It came a storm and the campground flooded. other wise it was awesome.
Sep 03, 2013
Staff not very friendly..almost seemed annoyed. Loud trash pick up in campground in the mornings.
Sep 03, 2013
Went out of the way on labor day weekend to find us a cabin for 2 more nights.
Sep 03, 2013
Very crowded, very over priced cabin and overall unpleasant stay. Not what I expected from web photos. Photos did not match reality. Beds were not made, no daily cleaning or replenishment. View of the river was blocked by a dying tree. I would have left if I had not lost over $200 a day in cabin fees. Feel ripped off. Could have stayed at a nice hotel for those prices not a parking lot.
Sep 03, 2013
Great campground for families. Everyone there was extremely nice. Don't listen to the negative comments. WE will definitely be back
Sep 03, 2013
Helpful staff but need to enforce the rule about lights on bicycles and golf carts after dark A specially underage kids driving golf carts
Sep 03, 2013
We had a great time. This was our second stay at the KOA this year. We always enjoy each visit and it is very economical. We will definitely be back.
Sep 03, 2013
we have been going to this campground for years and we are looking to make a trip again next year
Sep 03, 2013
Loved this KOA. Every activity that you could ask for. Very nice bath facilities. Very busy time but could be kept a little cleaner.
Sep 03, 2013
Have been to this KOA many times in a camper. The cabin leaked and soaked our beds. It has leaked before cause could see the stains. The floors were filthy, had not been mopped in a LONG time.
Sep 03, 2013
Our Favorite KOA by far.. Just wish it wasn't so far away for us..see ya again and soon I hope
Sep 03, 2013
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The bathhouses were not clean but part of that may have been due to the volume of Labor Day campers. It rained a lot of the time and the ground water drained through our site (and many others) creating a muddy mess. There was also a huge yellow jacket nest on our site. Much of this was out of the KOA's control.
Sep 03, 2013
The cabin that we rented was great. It was the studio. The biggest problem was the lack of wifi and the on again off again very poor cable reception. It rained several times and with small children it was extremely difficult to keep them under wraps. It was my impression that the cabin had wifi. It was included on the amenities listed on the web site. Other than that, our visit was good.
Sep 03, 2013
We enjoyed are stay here but, the place does need some TLC. Bathhouse 2 only had 2 toilets when we arrived, when we left on Monday morning, it was down to 1 toilet and 1 shower stall, I understand that the campground was full so a lot of things was going on. But we had a great time with the grandkids & they had fun!
Sep 03, 2013
Everything was great except that it was too expensive and the wireless did not work. I can't stay somewhere where I pay for wireless and can't get it to work even with the code. Otherwise I loved the location and the people. no wireless is a deal breaker for me.
Sep 02, 2013
awesome campground, nice shaded spots, clean, lots of kids activities
Sep 02, 2013
If you are planning on using the WiFi it is very very slow almost useless. Not the most friendly KOA. Front part of camp was very nice but the section we were in was not in the best shape and they had a lot of year round camp sites that were dumpy looking.
Sep 02, 2013
After reading the reviews I was a little hesitant on going. This cg exceeded all expectations. I did not see any problems with the br as the other guests said and every time I went to use the br there was always someone cleaning them. The staff was friendly/helpful. Campers/adults need to rem when you camp you need to treat it likes its yours and not expect someone else to clean up your mess.
Sep 02, 2013
It was great.The cabin was very comfortable and the grounds were nice, too.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.