Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 23, 2015
We stay in your riverside deluxe cabins when we come to NC. We love your KOA! Thanks for being service friendly.
Oct 23, 2015
Had a great time with the Stewart's and Williams, who go every year.
Oct 23, 2015
Great campground with friendly staff and clean facilities....kids love this place!
Oct 22, 2015
My husband and I love the camp ground. We will camp there again. Maybe with family members.
Oct 22, 2015
To start off I was not put where I had reserve to be put. The bathrooms were filthy at all times. All KOA's need to work on their Wi-Fi signal. Theirs was bad at best. The people were friendly though.
Oct 22, 2015
I paid extra to stay on the river and they gave me a site with a ditch full of water. The grass needed mowed. The bathrooms were terrible. Tile was off the wall and exposed in the shower. The bathroom was nasty and I know they didn't clean bathroom all day till the next morning. Toilet stayed stopped up. The campground doesn't look like it has been kept up since the campground was built 25 years.
Oct 22, 2015
When I booked my cabin it said it had a TV and mini frig, but when I got there it didn't. I didn't make a fuss about it because I really didn't have to have them. My kids would have liked the tv during downtime. Good area for the kids to play. It meet our needs for this trip. Will most likely stay at another KOA in the future.
Oct 22, 2015
We enjoyed our time at the campground until we went to the bathhouse. The showers were less than lukewarm! When it is 30 degrees outside a warm shower would be nice. We got ourshowers on a Sunday afternoon and everyone left that morningSo the cold shower was not because people were using the showers. Other than the cold showers we enjoyed ourselves.
Oct 22, 2015
AWESOME time even though it rained a little. We went with one of the two bedroom camping cabins and it was great with two adults and four kids. Was not crazy about having water access right in front of our cabin and campers washing their dishes right in our front but overall there was a lot to keep us all busy and we had a great time. Will be back!
Oct 22, 2015
Excellent!
Oct 22, 2015
we arrived about 1/2 hour b4 office was too close. they seemed put out that we did not have a reservation, she said I will have to find you a site. Nuts there looked like there were at least 200 empty ones. And for what we used only electric 30 amps. Did no hayrides or ice cream s We feel that it was way over priced. If it had been summer and nearly full then cost would have been more appropiate
Oct 21, 2015
Staff was very friendly. Clean facilities. Many shade trees. Lots of activities for our children. We will definitely be back.
Oct 21, 2015
My wife and I throughly enjoyed our stay at this wonderful KOA. The grounds were well maintained, gift shop was fantastic, the service was great with friendly helpful staff, and the bathroom were newly updated, and clean. We will be back for sure. Thank you for a very enjoyable time.
Oct 21, 2015
Great campground - only improvements would be better wifi and cell service.
Oct 21, 2015
Wonderful cabins and atmosphere
Oct 20, 2015
Well kept in a beautiful setting.
Oct 20, 2015
We have been staying here every year since 2006. Workers are very friendly and helpful. Lots of room for our large unit right on the river.
Oct 20, 2015
The cabin we stayed in was gorgeous. The only thing we would suggest is cleaning the cobwebs from the ceiling and the bathroom floor.
Oct 20, 2015
We've stayed here in the past many years ago and decided to try it again last Oct. fell in love with it and came back this year. Already planning next years visit. I'ts away from everything, but close to everything worth seeing and visiting. It's clean, quiet and organized.
Oct 20, 2015
Thank you
Oct 20, 2015
Couldn't have been better!! Staff was very kind and helpful. Cabin was clean and well furnished. Hopefully we get to come back soon. Thank you !!
Oct 20, 2015
I love this KOA but the deluxe cabins are too expensive for the size compared to other cabins in the area. I didn't like that the website tells you that coffee is provided, but they only provide you 2 k-cups of regular coffee and you have to purchase the rest even if you stay more than one night. They also do not change your towels on a daily basis unless you request.
Oct 20, 2015
We had a great stay. When had issue with power corrected the issue very quickly.
Oct 20, 2015
I stayed in a cabin for one cold night. The accommodations and staff were above my expectations and I enjoyed my stay. The single complaint regards the firewood. The wood may as well have had live leaves on it. Very green,impossible to light. It shouldn't have been accepted on delivery. It's seemingly minor, but more important on a cold night when you charge folks for it... I will still return.
Oct 19, 2015
Except for the RAIN (which I know we can't control) the stay was fabulous. Staff is always on top of any issues and respond quickly to your needs. We've already booked for next year. Our favorite annual event!
Oct 19, 2015
Campground nice but no cell phone service and wifi was extremely poor
Oct 19, 2015
The employees was very helpful
Oct 19, 2015
We always enjoy our stay at Cherokee KOA, very friendly staff, great camp sites, and the restrooms are always clean!!
Oct 19, 2015
The site is good , plenty of community activities , nice ground Bathrooms can be better . Staffs are nice , will come back again
Oct 19, 2015
The front desk people were a little rude while checking in. The lady was on the phone as we were checking in, told my 75 year old mother in law that she was on the phone, no one was even talking to her.
Oct 19, 2015
Dislike was the people next to us paid $50 less a night for the same cabin and booked through KOA. Did not like all of the little kids in the hot tub and it was not working properly either.
Oct 19, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. The only complaints would be all of the large dogs barking all day long and the loud music coming from a few campers that you could hear all over some of parts of the campground. The facilities were great and so clean.
Oct 19, 2015
My family and I had a great time as usual at KOA Cherokee. The deluxe cabin was great place to stay and accommodated six of us very comfortably. Plus waking up on the river is great way to start your morning. Can't wait to visit there again!
Oct 19, 2015
We loved our stay in the deluxe studio cabin. The amenities at the KOA were great. Can't wait to go back.
Oct 19, 2015
The campground is in a great location. The service was great, staff was very helpful.
Oct 19, 2015
Definitely much better last couple years. But training,training, training, too many yellow shirts wandering without purpose with areas like bathrooms needing attention. Front desk people always mess something up with the stay. Always! Twice this time. Have some staff meetings you can afford it as busy as you are.
Oct 19, 2015
Weather was cold and the showers were not hot all the time. Love this campground but hot showers is a must have.
Oct 19, 2015
This is my favorite KOA. It is in a beautiful part of NC with lots to do and great places to eat and visit. We went to Santa's Land while we were there. We will be back!
Oct 19, 2015
This camp was great! We stayed in a one room cabin for two nights. The little trikes that we rented were well worth the money everyone enjoyed riding them. I didn't like that all the registers were for checking in and buying something from the store, but other than that everything was great.
Oct 19, 2015
Over the years, I have stayed many times at this campground in Cherokee, and have always had a great experience. Although my family did have a great time during this recent stay as well, I will say that we are certain the bathrooms were not cleaned during our five day stay. This experience may deter us from staying there again.
Oct 19, 2015
We loved the trikes!The small cabin was perfect for what our family needed. It was kept toasty warm with a small space heater.
Oct 19, 2015
This was about our 10th or 11 th stay here. Love the cabins, wish shower was warm lol but otherwise very satisfied as usual.
Oct 19, 2015
Love this place because the whole family can enjoy their stay with something for everyone. Friendly staff there to help in any way they can. A+
Oct 19, 2015
I would like to see a bit larger shower curtains in the restrooms.
Oct 19, 2015
Awesome
Oct 19, 2015
Oct 19, 2015
Staff not very friendly, got a cabin without a picnic bench, had to go back to get a heater that was too small for the cabin, could only get wi fi by the bathroom or entrance. This by far was the worst KOA I have visited. Staff was not rude but not friendly. When I mentioned these things they thier excuse was they were much busier than expected.
Oct 19, 2015
Loved everything about this place. Staff went out of their way to help us. Eveythung we could have wanted was at our fingertips!
Oct 19, 2015
Spectacular view and very kind personal! Very kids friendly...
Oct 19, 2015
1) This is a pricy KOA. 2) It would be better if you could select your campsite online. State parks can do this why not KOA. 3) The pool is nice but the hot tub was broken. 4) lots of things for the kids to do.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps