Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 30, 2016
May 30, 2016
From check in to check out we felt right at home. The staff was the friendliest we have ran across and the KOA was super clean and looked like something you see in the movies. This is by far the BEST campground we have ever stayed at and will certainly be returning in the near future.
May 30, 2016
If you have children...this Koa is a must stay! Lots of activity for them to stay busy.
May 29, 2016
My wife, a friend, and I stayed for two nights. Enjoyed the cabin, the amenities, and view of the river. Only request is that there be a fan or A/C placed in the bed room like the other deluxe cabins.
May 29, 2016
Excellent park
May 29, 2016
Great Location. Very clean restrooms. Very friendly staff. Will visit again!
May 28, 2016
Very nice campground. Beautiful pool area.
May 28, 2016
had a good time was nice and quiet should let 16 and older drive golf carts with adult supervision
May 28, 2016
May 26, 2016
May 25, 2016
This is our favorite place to camp. It is so beautiful and very peaceful. Lots of fun for all ages.
May 25, 2016
The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Our site was too small for our RV and we had a sewer leak but staff corrected both issues immediately. Bathrooms were modern and clean. The rates were appropriate by comparison with other independent campgrounds; however, be aware of the additional daily resort fee charged.l of $3.50.
May 24, 2016
We loved this campground and everyone was very nice. We will be back again.
May 24, 2016
it was a very good stay great scenerys and great customer service i will like to stay longer the next time to enjoy the many attractions in the vast area
May 24, 2016
$25 early arrival fee? Really? Keeps me from giving you a 5 star rating. Cabin was clean, but wanted to charge more for an hour. Ridiculous.
May 24, 2016
Facility and service not as expected.
May 24, 2016
All around good trip. The only complaint I would say was I'm a big coffee drinker couldn't get a cup before 8:30 in the morning and couldn't get a cup after 7:30 that evening. Been going for over 20 years first time this ever happened. But we do love our koa
May 24, 2016
I thought it was a great place to stay but they need to stock the ponds for fishing twice on a weekend. That was our main event for our family trip and in the 2 days we was there everybody only caught l ok keep 3 fish because it was done fished out from stocking on friday
May 24, 2016
This was our first time camping with you, needless to say we will be back. Thank you again for the great weekend.
May 23, 2016
It is a beautiful campground with a lot of offerings. We loved our site that backed up to the river. Unfortunately for us it rained the whole time we were there, but, we would come back. The employees were very friendly and helpful, the campground was clean (except for certain dog owners who refuse to pick up after their dogs!) our two dogs loved the off leash park.
May 23, 2016
Everything was great and staff were extremely friendly. However the huge rat that ran under our feet while sitting on the patio was a little nerve wrecking as we saw it go under our cabin. We know you cant help critters and the cabin was extremely clean. All in all a good weekend at a beautiful site, we will stay again, hopefully without unwanted guests!
May 23, 2016
The Wifi is nearly non-existent and should be upgraded.
May 23, 2016
Beautiful campground and we'll maintained. I had reserved a standard pull through. Upon check in the kind clerk upgraded me to a deluxe patio site without mentioning the upcharge. I, honestly, just thought she was being nice because they had the space. Ended up costing 75.00 more for the week. Otherwise I would have rated a 5.
May 23, 2016
It was okay .the river was great.cabin was not very clean when arrived
May 23, 2016
This was an awesome campground with lots of great activities on the grounds. Can't wait to return and bring my grandson this time.
May 23, 2016
A great place to stay. Well maintained, friendly staff and located in a beautiful area.
May 23, 2016
As always a great experience, had a smell in our cabin, but the staff took care of issue and moved us.
May 22, 2016
Water presure was very low at are site.once adjustment was made at handle it was better,but during the weekend campers 200+ sites it was low again.and one of the major rest rooms with showers was down for re modeling.others were busy.would still return for another stay.
May 22, 2016
Lot of workers willing to help.looked camper ready
May 21, 2016
Beautiful site right on the creek. Loved the sound of nature.
May 20, 2016
great resort for kids. Advertised wi-fi but it rarely worked, so, basically didn't have.
May 20, 2016
May 19, 2016
Nice and clean . Could be to crowded for me but great for a young camping family.
May 19, 2016
I could not believe that you had an inside swimming pool. Also, you are making a lot of nice improvements to the campground.
May 18, 2016
Very nice staff gave us great ideas of place to check out. Very clean beautiful campground cant wait to come back.
May 18, 2016
This KOA was exceptionally well run. At check in I felt like I had just arrived at Disneyworld. The campground was in a beautiful setting, always clean, had exceptional amenities and was staffed by polite and competent personnel. The only downside? It all came at price. $80 a night comes close to the cost of a motel room.
May 18, 2016
May 17, 2016
Checkin and checkout process was quick and easy. Staff was friendly. Bath house was clean and stocked when it was in service. Unfortunately our bath house remained out of service for a good portion of our stay due to a plumbing issue. There was also a black widow spider in our cabin, which we killed. This created some anxiety for my family which meant noone slept well. The cabins are not heated.
May 17, 2016
We love camping here. The only issue this time was a few of the boys working in the grill/pavilion were rude and playing on cell phones.
May 17, 2016
May 17, 2016
Good place if you have young kids.
May 17, 2016
Our family enjoyed our stay but there were a couple issues with our campsite. The water leaked from the hookup causing low water pressure. The website advertised that the campsite would have wifi (which would've been great for work) but the signal was very weak and we were unable to connect. The website also advertises cable, but we were unable to get that as well.
May 17, 2016
wonderful as always.
May 17, 2016
Our favorite campground! Already booked our next trip!
May 17, 2016
We have stayed at many Campgrounds and I have to say this ranks the very best, everything well kept, staff very pleasant,and they made sure we were pleased and happy during our stay,will highly recommend this campground to all friends and family,plenty of things to do for all ages. Great Campground!!
May 17, 2016
It was nice and so was all the staff.
May 17, 2016
Your staff was amazing like Family, and your Campground was Extremely Clean!Great experience, thank you all!!!
May 16, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff. We had a campsite right next to the stream and found it to be extremely clean and well manicured. Neighbors were a bit noisy after the 10pm quiet time, but wasn't too much of a disturbance. I will definitely stay here again!
May 16, 2016
thank you for new gas grill on site 505 much needed,,,,i would love to see some hay rides again, tye dyeing again ,, icecream parties,,, when i get to come
May 16, 2016
We have been going for 4 years kids love it . Only con would be the inside pool is not warm or big enough . Way too crowded and cool. Everything else is great.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award