Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 26, 2017
Clean, safe campground and bathhouses. Helpful staff. Pools and hot tubs poorly maintained and dirty.
Jun 26, 2017
Excellent and natural set up! Will come back again. Will recomend to friends and family!
Jun 26, 2017
My son loved it there he said he was having the time of his life.
Jun 26, 2017
Pools was nice pal was outstanding cabins smelled like a dog pissed in them mattress was to thin
Jun 26, 2017
Jun 26, 2017
So awesome! So kid friendly! Tip: I wish you had recycling, did not allow smoking on premises and allowed catch and release with fish at trout pond...
Jun 26, 2017
We enjoyed our stay phone service would of been nice. We will be back.
Jun 26, 2017
Clean restrooms, friendly staff. My new favorite campground.
Jun 25, 2017
We really enjoyed our time and it was convenient and had everything we needed in the cabin. Beautiful site and we will come again.
Jun 25, 2017
This was our first time at a KOA campground. Everything was great except for the pools and spas. The water was dirty looking, desperately needed some attention.
Jun 24, 2017
It was awesome the staff was so friendly and helpful with everything we did. Two people we would really love to give a great shout out too is Shane is in security or maintenance and Dave the I T guy .the went above and beyond to make our stay great.
Jun 24, 2017
Beautiful. Friendly helpful staff. Clean. Tons of fun. Thanks again
Jun 24, 2017
They bathrooms was very dirty all weekend and wifi was very bad .
Jun 24, 2017
Campground is great! However, firewood and activities overpriced, staff at activities not very friendly, staff at check in and activities incompetent.
Jun 23, 2017
My family and I had a great experience at this Campground the staff was super friendly and we will definitely be returning
Jun 23, 2017
Our stay was great until we had to deal with a woman who runs the tube rental Shack after this experience we will not be returning.The level of her rudeness was disgusting. When We complain to park management they acted like it was no big deal that their guests had been treated this way.I absolutely do NOT recommend this KOA.
Jun 23, 2017
We enjoyed our 3 day stay. The cabin was clean and comfortable and we loved being so close to the river.
Jun 23, 2017
The bathroom door was broken and wouldn't shut when we arrived. We told them twice about this, but no one ever worked on it and it was never fixed. We also asked for a towel swap, and they only swapped one towel out of many. The deluxe cabins are very nice but are too close together-not what we were expecting. We loved the pools and mini golf. Service was poor. Coffee was bad. We won't go back.
Jun 23, 2017
Excellent KOA. Great for every age group. Big Rig friendly. One of the best KOAs we have seen
Jun 23, 2017
beautiful campground but a little pricey for poor wifi and no cell service
Jun 23, 2017
Our accommodations were fine. Staff was not as friendly as it was a month ago. 'Talked to a few fellow campers. Their stay was disappointing
Jun 22, 2017
Jun 22, 2017
Disappointed in the change in management. Not very friendly or knowledgeable. Place has really gone down in family fun.
Jun 22, 2017
Jun 22, 2017
One night. great bathhouse friendly staff. Lots of activity if you have kids. Great pancakes!
Jun 21, 2017
Kabin was clan and was in a great location along the creek. The jacuzzi was nasty, couldn't see your feet it was so gross.
Jun 21, 2017
We had a premium creek side RV site with no view of the creek. There was a large embankment blocking our view. That is just so much crape.
Jun 21, 2017
Golf cart realy bad battery's was not charged . Spent more time charging .It should had been charged over night rented it at 8:00am to 8;00pmcart#8 .
Jun 21, 2017
Jun 21, 2017
We loved having 2 pools as options and the tie dye activity for a keepsake! We always enjoy staying here! The mountains are beautiful all year long!
Jun 21, 2017
very clean but had some issues with getting ice box fixed staff was nice when you could get ahold of them fire alarm going off in middle of night just seemed like what could go wrong did
Jun 21, 2017
I have been going to this Koa ever since I was a kid this was the worst th iindoor pool and hot tub was very dirty every day th at we was there wed- sunday the mini golf course was so dirty you couldn't even play the jumping pillow used to have sand around it now it has gravel so when kids get off they were jumping into gravel instead of sand most employees were young amd rude like they hated
Jun 20, 2017
Spent 7 days as we have for 5 years. this time no cable until last day. no internet at all. then as we have every year we tried to reserve the same spots for next and was told no that maybe we could go on line in July and reserve what was available. We rent 2 river sights and a cabin every year. Not happy
Jun 20, 2017
We had a great experience. The staff was great.
Jun 20, 2017
Great campground. Mostly clean, good prices. We will stay here again!
Jun 20, 2017
Friendly and very helpful staff. Best KOA that we have stayed at.
Jun 20, 2017
This was our first time to stay both at a KOA as well as the Smokies(2 adults 2 children from Oklahoma). I couldn't have been more pleased with the service provided, the value and comfort of the deluxe cabin rented, the friendliness of staff and other campers, and the cleanliness of the whole campground. We have already discussed a return trip, and have told others about our great experience.
Jun 20, 2017
Our stay was a very enjoyable and relaxing experience.
Jun 20, 2017
My all time favorite place to stay! Thx
Jun 20, 2017
The bath house renovations are superb. Now that there is a seat along with more room and a clothes hook may seem minor but is a big deal when you are trying to keep items dry and clean while you shower. Also, try to staff the front checkout a bit more. Twice I had to wait 5-8 minutes while they sold fishing licenses with just one cashier. Plenty of yellow shirts walking around but no 2nd cashier
Jun 20, 2017
love the stay as always and ryan was very helpful. he went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect and to make our stay enjoyable. thank goodness for employees like him and the whole staff at cherokee koa
Jun 19, 2017
We have stayed here the last 3 years in a cabin with a large group - the last 2 in a deluxe. This year the cabins were showing wear and tear. The banks around the cabins were covered in poison ivy and poison Oak. This year the KOA changed the policy so we could not reserve for next year until the end of July. We have decided not to come back since we can not be sure we will get the same cabin.
Jun 19, 2017
This was our 4 year in row of coming to the Cherokee KOA. We really like it there, but the staff has changed alot. There are alot of younger staff memebers that don't exactly know what they are doing. Our overall stay was good, we were very disappointed that we could not book at stay for next year when we checked out, as we have every other year in the past. Over all we did enjoy our stay!
Jun 19, 2017
Very clean and friendly
Jun 19, 2017
2nd stay here. Very nice facility.
Jun 19, 2017
My family had a wonderful time. There's always something to do. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The best camping site I've ever stayed at!
Jun 19, 2017
We really enjoyed the dance party Saturday night, and the outdoor pool. Just wish the kiddie pool area had been open, my kids were looking forward to that. The indoor pool was so nasty you couldn't see the bottom of it. At all other KOA sites we have been to the camping cabins come with a small AC unit. That is most certainly a need for this KOA.
Jun 19, 2017
Very nice weekend the campgrounds were great. All the workers were nice and did a great job keeping the place in tip top shape. Thank you.
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
Wonderful staff! Great ammenities, and clean restrooms!!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award