Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 31, 2016
our power kepted going off on saturday,
May 31, 2016
Staff was very helpful and friendly. My family really enjoyed our stay and will return.
May 31, 2016
Place was nice and well kept. Did loose power for several hours during the heat of the day throughout a lot of the campground. Staff did work diligently to resolve. Overall our stay was nice.
May 31, 2016
Great family vacation in the beautiful outdoors with lots of amenities for the kids!
May 31, 2016
Excellent KOA. Unfortunately, tried to return firewood that wasn't used and still bundled and I was told I couldn't. Why not? I was told they don't accept ice or firewood. Ice I understand, but firewood?
May 31, 2016
Had a great time with my family. Only complaint was the cable tv wasn't 100% on all channels. It was very snowy on several channels that I usually enjoy. Other family members on different sites had the same service, mayble cable needs upgraded. Thanks!
May 31, 2016
My mother arrived later than us for check-in, the front desk told her I had not arrived yet, that was a lie. She waited almost two hours at the front till I came out to find her due to no phone service. My aunt from TN came to visit us on Sat. and again the front told them we were not there camping. I was not pleased. Camp sites were extremely close together with no space on our site.
May 31, 2016
1st 2 days power outage. 3rd water outage. Ask the electrical man and his reply was. They have it turned off, working on something. I told him a heads up so you wouldn't get caught in shower with shampoo in hair would have been nice. His reply,NOT MY PROJECT. 4TH DAY CABLE OUTAGE. We did reserve again for next year to try you out one more time, because we have several campers together
May 31, 2016
Stayed in small cabin which had lots of carpenter bees boring holes in the porch. Power went out one afternoon. There were ants inside. But it is a great campground. Bath houses/restrooms were beautiful.
May 31, 2016
The service was poor, staff was unable to tell me how to get to the national park, which was 10 minutes away and in the campgrounds name. The camp store didn't open until 730 making coffee a difficult task. Especially after saying coffee was provided in the cabin when in fact a single coffee was provided and the refills were for sale. The staff was uninformed and rude. Not a place I would stay
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
This was an amazing stay for the whole family! We loved it!
May 31, 2016
Was not happy with my site. Next to a tree and roots had grown under the pavement and caused cracks and site to be extremely unlevel. Got in late and so with 3 small kids, no time to get another site. Campground full - bathhouses needed more frequent attention. Wifi useless. However, facilities overall were great with lots to do for kids.
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
Great location. Facilities nice. Bathrooms clean and well maintained.
May 31, 2016
We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the campground. We were in cabin 251, so I did not like that people came up from the creek behind our cabin and around the fence to get to the river, but other than that we enjoyed our stay.
May 31, 2016
Had a problem with the cable being very fuzzy and bad picture. Thanks to crash he cleared it right up for us !
May 31, 2016
We were that last year on Labor and there were more activities going on then Memorial Day but still GREAT GREAT time...we are coming back in 3 weeks :)
May 31, 2016
Stayed for memorial weekend with the family and everyone had a blast. We will be returning. All the staff was nice and courteous.
May 31, 2016
We had such a good time. Some workers aren't as friendly as before but other than that we had a blast.
May 31, 2016
Had some difficulty when first got there with our site but the maintenance men where there to help us we really enjoyed all the hospitality that your employees had and that they where willing to try and make our stay great thank so much
May 30, 2016
great place, great people
May 30, 2016
Cherokee/Great Smokies, NC KOA Campground is a great place to stay. Everyone was very friendly and the park was very clean.
May 30, 2016
We went to Cherokee for the first time on our vacation this past April. While we knew it was not the premium season, we did expect the same level of service, but did not receive it. We were told several times that it wasn't even the season yet when the pool was closed on several different occasions and we could not even enjoy it once. The wifi was not great either.
May 30, 2016
May 30, 2016
From check in to check out we felt right at home. The staff was the friendliest we have ran across and the KOA was super clean and looked like something you see in the movies. This is by far the BEST campground we have ever stayed at and will certainly be returning in the near future.
May 30, 2016
If you have children...this Koa is a must stay! Lots of activity for them to stay busy.
May 29, 2016
My wife, a friend, and I stayed for two nights. Enjoyed the cabin, the amenities, and view of the river. Only request is that there be a fan or A/C placed in the bed room like the other deluxe cabins.
May 29, 2016
Excellent park
May 29, 2016
Great Location. Very clean restrooms. Very friendly staff. Will visit again!
May 28, 2016
Very nice campground. Beautiful pool area.
May 28, 2016
had a good time was nice and quiet should let 16 and older drive golf carts with adult supervision
May 28, 2016
May 26, 2016
May 25, 2016
This is our favorite place to camp. It is so beautiful and very peaceful. Lots of fun for all ages.
May 25, 2016
The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Our site was too small for our RV and we had a sewer leak but staff corrected both issues immediately. Bathrooms were modern and clean. The rates were appropriate by comparison with other independent campgrounds; however, be aware of the additional daily resort fee charged.l of $3.50.
May 24, 2016
We loved this campground and everyone was very nice. We will be back again.
May 24, 2016
it was a very good stay great scenerys and great customer service i will like to stay longer the next time to enjoy the many attractions in the vast area
May 24, 2016
$25 early arrival fee? Really? Keeps me from giving you a 5 star rating. Cabin was clean, but wanted to charge more for an hour. Ridiculous.
May 24, 2016
Facility and service not as expected.
May 24, 2016
All around good trip. The only complaint I would say was I'm a big coffee drinker couldn't get a cup before 8:30 in the morning and couldn't get a cup after 7:30 that evening. Been going for over 20 years first time this ever happened. But we do love our koa
May 24, 2016
I thought it was a great place to stay but they need to stock the ponds for fishing twice on a weekend. That was our main event for our family trip and in the 2 days we was there everybody only caught l ok keep 3 fish because it was done fished out from stocking on friday
May 24, 2016
This was our first time camping with you, needless to say we will be back. Thank you again for the great weekend.
May 23, 2016
It is a beautiful campground with a lot of offerings. We loved our site that backed up to the river. Unfortunately for us it rained the whole time we were there, but, we would come back. The employees were very friendly and helpful, the campground was clean (except for certain dog owners who refuse to pick up after their dogs!) our two dogs loved the off leash park.
May 23, 2016
Everything was great and staff were extremely friendly. However the huge rat that ran under our feet while sitting on the patio was a little nerve wrecking as we saw it go under our cabin. We know you cant help critters and the cabin was extremely clean. All in all a good weekend at a beautiful site, we will stay again, hopefully without unwanted guests!
May 23, 2016
The Wifi is nearly non-existent and should be upgraded.
May 23, 2016
Beautiful campground and we'll maintained. I had reserved a standard pull through. Upon check in the kind clerk upgraded me to a deluxe patio site without mentioning the upcharge. I, honestly, just thought she was being nice because they had the space. Ended up costing 75.00 more for the week. Otherwise I would have rated a 5.
May 23, 2016
It was okay .the river was great.cabin was not very clean when arrived
May 23, 2016
This was an awesome campground with lots of great activities on the grounds. Can't wait to return and bring my grandson this time.
May 23, 2016
A great place to stay. Well maintained, friendly staff and located in a beautiful area.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award