Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 09, 2015
Nice camp site. Management was excellent. Went out of there way to make us happy.
Apr 09, 2015
We had a great time
Apr 08, 2015
Great stay I would like to see benches added to the area where the jump pillow is located. This would allow parents the opportunity to watch thier children without sitting in the gravels.
Apr 08, 2015
Computer issues caused a lot of problems. Other than that is was great.
Apr 08, 2015
Great campground ,clean restrooms,return trip planned
Apr 08, 2015
We like going to the Cherokee KOA because of the relaxed feeling of the place, all there is to do and the friendly people like Ms. Mary!!! A++++
Apr 07, 2015
Apr 07, 2015
This was our 2nd time here. We really the campground,the staff,things to do on site. The bathhouse & laundry facility were Clean and nice. Cable had improved with the amount of channels. Only draw back is there is no cell service.not their fault, but the Wi-Fi was TERRIBLE. We Were not able to connect but a handful of times, and get booted. Family couldn't contact us.
Apr 07, 2015
Management was unpleasant. Cabin was clean Not good for camping! Fire pit is on the road. Corporate policy on cabin changes is awful. Not a good experience. Then I got charged for a night when I informed the desk I would like another cabin or check out. I did not stay and was still charged!
Apr 07, 2015
Campground was nice just needed some attention to bath houses&restrooms. The biggest complaint we have is the lack of general information from staff. We asked several staff members simple questions like the pool hours or info about fishing licenses and no one could give us a straight answer. I would think the pool hours would be very simple to relay and actually would be posted but they weren't.
Apr 07, 2015
We loved it. Its been sixteen years since i have been there. Yall have really improved the place. I could if stayed anywhere, but i choose KOA. i enjoyed my birthday.
Apr 07, 2015
ENJOYED OUR STAY. REAL NICE CAMPGROUND.
Apr 07, 2015
Overall great experience but someone stole our marshmallow rods and unwind our porch lights and laid them on the porch. If lights were not allowed, they should have left us a note rather than remove them.
Apr 07, 2015
We love to visit KOA in Cherokee, NC. The staff are so pleasant and knowledgeable as far as meeting our needs. The cabin was wonderful. Clean, comfortable and cozy! We will be returning in the next few months! Thank you for all you do to make a vacation splendid!
Apr 07, 2015
First time there and DEFINITELY won't be the last....Had a blast.
Apr 06, 2015
I love to bring my friends and children to this place it is always so clean and pleasant. I have to say a little pricey but sometimes they give a few free nights per year or give incredible reduced rate at times, I will always be glad to stay here as long as I can afford it, like I said it was wonderful.
Apr 06, 2015
I wished that check in time was little closer to check out time if the site that you have reserved is ready!
Apr 06, 2015
The campground was fine,It was the staff that i was not happy with.We got there earlier than the check in time and it was like the end of the world! My site was empty. I have never been to a campground that would not let you in if your site was ready.I was willing to pay extra if needed. I had 2 cabins and 1 rv site. I Went to check in for a cabin and was told i was 15 minutes early!REALLY PEOPLE!
Apr 06, 2015
The cabin was great, the kids really enjoyed being right on the water. We did have a problem with staff checking us in but did not let it ruin our vacation.
Apr 06, 2015
I would give them 5 stars if they would re pave the roads in the campground and two trees that need trimed. So RVs can make the turn.
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 06, 2015
Very nice CG. Staff friendly and helpful, grounds clean and tidy, amenities for the kids with bounce pillow, indoor and outdoor pool, put-put (free), banana bike rentals (5$ an hour), fish pond and the river right beside CG. As parents of 4 teens all these amenities are great for parents to be able to relax. Pet friendly with small dog run.Camped in a 43ft fifth wheel in a site backed into river.
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 06, 2015
We have stayed here many times over the years. Everything from a tent to the deluxe cabins. We love it!!!
Apr 06, 2015
Loved it!!
Apr 06, 2015
The crew was so disorganized they were 30 minutes late to their own Easter Egg hunt that was planned. The office crew could not have been bothered to be civil. Get your act together!
Apr 06, 2015
Everything was good accept for not being able to check in until 2pm and the cabin was empty I drove for six hours and sat outside on roadside
Apr 05, 2015
Very nice site for C class RV. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our first stay at a KOA. We will make sure we consider KOA for future trips.
Apr 05, 2015
Our stay was good as was our cabin. But checking in wa a nightmare. The employee who "checked" us in took our money to finish paying for our reservation, but our room was not ready yet. No biggie. But then when we went to get our key the same person said we hadn't paid yet, she doesn't know how to run a register. Good thing she remembered us or we would have had to pay again!!
Apr 05, 2015
Always enjoyed the fishing tournament until this year. Saw no tagged fish at all nor were they stocked the day of the tournament. Don't know if we will participate again. Very disappointing
Apr 05, 2015
Apr 04, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful campground located in a beautiful area. We spend most of our time in Gatlinburg, but chose Cherokee KOA due to its indoor pool, which our two kids loved. Bathrooms were clean and updated. We can definitely see ourselves going back, as well as recommending this campground to friends and family.
Apr 04, 2015
Enjoyed the added amenities
Apr 03, 2015
Apr 03, 2015
While we were shopping in town we had a limb fall from a tree and pierce a hole in the top of our camper. We were forced to shorten our stay for fear rain would leak into the hole further damaging our camper. No one in charge at the KOA took time to check on us to see if we needed any help. We talked with several people who worked at the campground and they already knew what had happened.
Apr 02, 2015
we have a seasonal sight. we love it there. can't wait to be there again. Brian Fosteer
Apr 02, 2015
Great location, we will be back . The campsites along the river are The best campsite ever!! Could stand to have longer hours at camp store and more people to serve you
Apr 02, 2015
Beautiful campground. We were there pre-season and the camp store hours were really short (closed at 6) so that was a pain. Nice and knowledgable staff.
Apr 02, 2015
Thusn is I our second time and we loveit there.
Apr 02, 2015
Got back from a long day of playing to a closing pool (9p). Got back the next night at 8p and the pool was already closed. Never got to relax in the hot tub. Needed too but never could figure out closing time:(((
Apr 02, 2015
Loved our cabin! Cozy and lots of extra touches - plenty of electric outlets, shelves, peg hooks.
Apr 02, 2015
We have a great time, Love going out their. Can't wait till May 8th.
Apr 01, 2015
stay all the time love the place and the people are great
Apr 01, 2015
Great campground and amenities. Family of 4 had a great time. Will be back. They are very strict about 10pm quiet time and stay away from HWY 19 it is all down hill wish I had known that based on the directions given from the website. All it says is not recommend, know I understand brakes went out on my RV and it almost got bad take the alternate route. Staff was great and bathrooms were clean
Apr 01, 2015
Everything outside the office was great.Customer service was pitiful! reserving the site CSR was told GPS being used-during travel called cmpgrd british CSR said not a local couldnt help us find cmpgrd-when bill paid asked for membrshp-told no cause didnt do @ sign in. we didnt know then. counter CSRs ruined trip-not at all helpful-changed our opinion of KOA's! WAS OUR 1st & LAST VISIT @ KOA!
Mar 31, 2015
For this time of year, I was disappointed with the number of people and the noise (TV's playing past 10 pm). I have had other visits that were 5 stars but this trip was only a 2 star.
Mar 31, 2015
Horrible stay cabins was filthy power runs 15 cabins on 100 amp breaker wnt stay there again over priced
Mar 30, 2015
rented on of the cabins on the water The cabin was very clean and comfortable Would highly recommend
Mar 30, 2015
Staff was great- Cabin was clean and comfortable
Mar 30, 2015
We love this place. The beauty that surrounds this Campground along with the awesome sounds of that river makes this campground one of favorite destinations. bathrooms and Laundry rooms are very clean. Store well stocked. Pool areas clean. Needs improvement in the game room. Some of the paved roads need repair from all the pot holes. A second Jump Pillow would be nice in the back area

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.