Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 06, 2015
Apr 06, 2015
Very nice CG. Staff friendly and helpful, grounds clean and tidy, amenities for the kids with bounce pillow, indoor and outdoor pool, put-put (free), banana bike rentals (5$ an hour), fish pond and the river right beside CG. As parents of 4 teens all these amenities are great for parents to be able to relax. Pet friendly with small dog run.Camped in a 43ft fifth wheel in a site backed into river.
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 06, 2015
We have stayed here many times over the years. Everything from a tent to the deluxe cabins. We love it!!!
Apr 06, 2015
Loved it!!
Apr 06, 2015
The crew was so disorganized they were 30 minutes late to their own Easter Egg hunt that was planned. The office crew could not have been bothered to be civil. Get your act together!
Apr 06, 2015
Everything was good accept for not being able to check in until 2pm and the cabin was empty I drove for six hours and sat outside on roadside
Apr 05, 2015
Very nice site for C class RV. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our first stay at a KOA. We will make sure we consider KOA for future trips.
Apr 05, 2015
Our stay was good as was our cabin. But checking in wa a nightmare. The employee who "checked" us in took our money to finish paying for our reservation, but our room was not ready yet. No biggie. But then when we went to get our key the same person said we hadn't paid yet, she doesn't know how to run a register. Good thing she remembered us or we would have had to pay again!!
Apr 05, 2015
Always enjoyed the fishing tournament until this year. Saw no tagged fish at all nor were they stocked the day of the tournament. Don't know if we will participate again. Very disappointing
Apr 05, 2015
Apr 04, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful campground located in a beautiful area. We spend most of our time in Gatlinburg, but chose Cherokee KOA due to its indoor pool, which our two kids loved. Bathrooms were clean and updated. We can definitely see ourselves going back, as well as recommending this campground to friends and family.
Apr 04, 2015
Enjoyed the added amenities
Apr 03, 2015
Apr 03, 2015
While we were shopping in town we had a limb fall from a tree and pierce a hole in the top of our camper. We were forced to shorten our stay for fear rain would leak into the hole further damaging our camper. No one in charge at the KOA took time to check on us to see if we needed any help. We talked with several people who worked at the campground and they already knew what had happened.
Apr 02, 2015
we have a seasonal sight. we love it there. can't wait to be there again. Brian Fosteer
Apr 02, 2015
Great location, we will be back . The campsites along the river are The best campsite ever!! Could stand to have longer hours at camp store and more people to serve you
Apr 02, 2015
Beautiful campground. We were there pre-season and the camp store hours were really short (closed at 6) so that was a pain. Nice and knowledgable staff.
Apr 02, 2015
Thusn is I our second time and we loveit there.
Apr 02, 2015
Got back from a long day of playing to a closing pool (9p). Got back the next night at 8p and the pool was already closed. Never got to relax in the hot tub. Needed too but never could figure out closing time:(((
Apr 02, 2015
Loved our cabin! Cozy and lots of extra touches - plenty of electric outlets, shelves, peg hooks.
Apr 02, 2015
We have a great time, Love going out their. Can't wait till May 8th.
Apr 01, 2015
stay all the time love the place and the people are great
Apr 01, 2015
Great campground and amenities. Family of 4 had a great time. Will be back. They are very strict about 10pm quiet time and stay away from HWY 19 it is all down hill wish I had known that based on the directions given from the website. All it says is not recommend, know I understand brakes went out on my RV and it almost got bad take the alternate route. Staff was great and bathrooms were clean
Apr 01, 2015
Everything outside the office was great.Customer service was pitiful! reserving the site CSR was told GPS being used-during travel called cmpgrd british CSR said not a local couldnt help us find cmpgrd-when bill paid asked for membrshp-told no cause didnt do @ sign in. we didnt know then. counter CSRs ruined trip-not at all helpful-changed our opinion of KOA's! WAS OUR 1st & LAST VISIT @ KOA!
Mar 31, 2015
For this time of year, I was disappointed with the number of people and the noise (TV's playing past 10 pm). I have had other visits that were 5 stars but this trip was only a 2 star.
Mar 31, 2015
Horrible stay cabins was filthy power runs 15 cabins on 100 amp breaker wnt stay there again over priced
Mar 30, 2015
rented on of the cabins on the water The cabin was very clean and comfortable Would highly recommend
Mar 30, 2015
Staff was great- Cabin was clean and comfortable
Mar 30, 2015
We love this place. The beauty that surrounds this Campground along with the awesome sounds of that river makes this campground one of favorite destinations. bathrooms and Laundry rooms are very clean. Store well stocked. Pool areas clean. Needs improvement in the game room. Some of the paved roads need repair from all the pot holes. A second Jump Pillow would be nice in the back area
Mar 30, 2015
Mar 30, 2015
Campground was nice staff friendly the water in the showers was kinda cold you have to shower very quickly
Mar 30, 2015
As always everyone was very courteous and helpful. We stay at this particular KOA several times a year for 10 yrs and have never been disappointed.
Mar 30, 2015
Me and my son's had a great time. It would have been a lot better if the fishing was as good as it used to be.
Mar 30, 2015
It was an enjoyable stay except the power went off part way through the night and turned our heater off. I didn't care for the facilities closing at 8, should have stayed open until dark at least. It was overcrowded and the parking was non existent at our cabin.
Mar 30, 2015
Only thing that was a problem was about 11 pm to 1pm . Camper pull in beside us and keep sutting doors almost call about this . Maybe need to put something in checkin in the middle of night campers paper work thanks
Mar 30, 2015
Everything was great!
Mar 29, 2015
Camp here a lot friendly and helpful staff.very clean campground Thank you.
Mar 29, 2015
Drunks kept us up all night. The KOA needs to curtail alcohol or police campground. Place is obnoxious and out of hand. I would like a FULL refund!!!
Mar 26, 2015
Only downside was the indoor pool and hot tub closed early.
Mar 26, 2015
Facilities were well maintained, bathrooms extremely clean. Shower water could be warmer.
Mar 26, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our kabin was fabulous, and we will com back.
Mar 25, 2015
I have stayed at Cherokee KOA on multiple occasions but this was the first visit in quite some time. I rented a deluxe cabin this time and it was very nice! The unit contained all bedding and towels and we had our own private bathroom. Pets are allowed as well. We were located right on the river yet conveniently located close to the store. We're already planning our next stay!
Mar 25, 2015
What a great place to stay. Facilities are without equal and the employees do their best (and it is wonderful) to make our stay perfect.
Mar 24, 2015
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Me and my husband had a wonderful weekend! The last time we had came in we had a horrible stay, so we were a bit skeptical this time. However, the new management are really doing a great job fixing up the campground!! Also, the staff is fantastic this year! I'm so glad because this has been one of my favorite places to stay for years and it was sad to see it g
Mar 24, 2015
I was amazed at the clean cabin and facilities
Mar 24, 2015
This KOA is surrounded by mountains...it is beautiful. We have stayed at over 25 KOA's in the U.S. and by far this is our favorite.
Mar 24, 2015
I will never come back
Mar 23, 2015
cabin was nice and very clean. kitchen sink faucet would not move from left to right and back without both hands and almost breaking it off.i thought that should have been easily noticed by cleaning staff.stove in cabin cooked extremely slow and had no oven, which was not the end of the world but we rented a cabin to have the ability to cook. overall good experience.
Mar 23, 2015
We had a great time on our first getaway weekend of the season. Kids loved the jumping pillow, indoor pool, playground and of course riding their bikes. Staff was incredibly helpful. The only negative was the condition of the grounds. I hope that when camping is more in-season that the appearance of the putt putt course, chess set and inner campsites will be well maintained.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.