Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 09, 2014
Very nice campground with level sites and very clean. However, too many people smoking to include the staff. People smoking in common areas like pool, playground, etc. Not to mention that we would consistently see staff members riding around in golf carts and working with a cigarette. Very unprofessional.
Jul 08, 2014
Would like to see the BRIGHT lights turned off around the camp-ground at quiet time ENFORCED.
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Campground was clean and peaceful. Family friendly!!
Jul 07, 2014
This campground was designed with too many spaces for the size of the location. I was so far from the store and pool areas that I would have to drive. People all day and night were cutting through my site and one tapped the side along my camper while whistling at 6:20 am. People smoked in the bathroom and the site was noisy until after midnight. This is not a "Model KOA" by any stretch.
Jul 05, 2014
Great campground ! You won't be disappointed !
Jul 05, 2014
Love the upgrades to the basic cabins (outlets, ceiling fans)
Jul 05, 2014
Perfect place to stay away from the everyday's rush! Chill out, have fun, enjoy the nature! :-)
Jul 04, 2014
One of our favorite KOA campgrounds. Have stayed there a number of times and will stay there again.
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Friendly atmosphere, clean park, great staff, plenty to do. I will be back!!!
Jul 03, 2014
KOA Cherokee NC is a beautiful friendly park. There is so much to do there and the staff is always helpful. We will definately be returning.
Jul 03, 2014
This camp is in the middle of no where. Their site promotes that they have wifi but you do NOT get any wifi or even cell reception for that matter. Staff very unfriendly and unhelpful. I asked what things to do around the site such as smokey mountains or sites to visit around campsite, lady just looked at me and said i don't know. How do you live/work in a town when you don't know what's around
Jul 03, 2014
Loved having cabin on the river and grounds were very well kept. Staff was friendly and helpful when needed. The only thing I would have liked is water hook up at cabin instead of having to use camper site behind us.
Jul 03, 2014
We had an amazing trip to KOA Cherokee! Everyone was so kind, helpful, and accommodating! Will definitely come here many more times for years to come! :)
Jul 03, 2014
Overall pretty good experience but the parking space for t38 is nothing but railroad ballast and black slime mud, not fun. And why a tent space with no hookups is so expensive is beyond me.
Jul 02, 2014
We had a great time and wanted to thank the staff member for the beautiful rose petals and long steim roses that were in our cabin. That made our 35 anniversary even more special. We love staying at KOA because they always make you feel like family and it is a great value. We will always use KOA for out vacation stays because we have so much fun at them. Thanks again!!
Jul 02, 2014
One of the nicest campgrounds we have ever stayed in!
Jul 02, 2014
Been coming to this KOA for over 20 years. Glad to see the changes. The new Manager David and his wife were very friendly and so was the staff. It's nice to come back. And VERY GLAD Mark the old manager is gone.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
We loved it so much we decided to make it a tradition and come back every year at the same time. The staff was so super friendly and helpful with everything. The activities during the day for the kids were great. The restrooms were cleaned several times during the day. It was a great experience.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
We had an AMAZING time! The staff was very helpful and always friendly. My girls said it was the BEST vacation EVER! We will be going back next summer for sure!
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
This KOA campground has everything!! The staff is so friendly and helpful. We just got back home and our kids are already talking about next year's camping trip. They just loves this campground and all the activities. The staff were very friendly, and helpful during our stay. Everything was very clean.This is our favorite place to camp! Thanks!
Jul 01, 2014
Love the Cherokee KOA, except the last stay we had site 175.It was hot/no shade, could not position 5th wheeler on it so that our rug would be on the pad because the elec/water were too far away. It was strange.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
One employee seemed to think he was a police officer. Rude to more than one family member on more than one occasion. Arrival day I checked in and paid for 2 sites. Son to arrive late. He acted as if we were criminals in the night. My grandchildren overheard him being rude to other campers. This one employee keeps me from rating excellent. Otherwise it was a wonderful vacation.
Jul 01, 2014
There are two sides to this camp ground - if you have an RV you have some very nice spaces - if you are just camping with a tent it becomes very crowed. Avoid the back of the facility.
Jul 01, 2014
Wonderful camping weekend good restful stay/ pool and hot tubs could use a little cleaning/ we skimmed onetime just to get in and unfortunately kids thought it was a kiddy pool could not relax without them jumping in. But overall a very good and Clem place to stay, staff super friendly and we plan to came back, thank you!
Jun 30, 2014
This is the place to be with kids!
Jun 30, 2014
water pressure was off and on
Jun 30, 2014
Great koa, loved the bathrooms. Lots of activity and the BBQ was wonderful.
Jun 30, 2014
The campground was very family friendly and kept the kids very entertained. Our tent site was primitive with no water and no place to wash our dishes, so that was difficult. In hindsight, we wouldn't use the shuttle again - one driver was very nice but one was exceptionally grumpy. It would have been better to just drive ourselves since parking wasn't an issue at the venues we attended.
Jun 30, 2014
The park was set up nicely. We had spots on the creek which added more to do for the kids. The pools, jump mat and other free ativities are a great way to spend time with the kids at no cost. The only thing we thought of would of been our sites being mowed. If we head back to the Smokey Mountains again, we will surely stay again and request the same spots.
Jun 30, 2014
everything was wonderful our entire family had a fabulous time!
Jun 30, 2014
Our cabin was quite grimey and could have used a thorough cleaning, we stayed without complaint because we liked our over all spot and didn't want to switch cabins, I cleaned up as best I could, but for this reason would be reluctant to recommend this KOA to friends. This is our 17th KOA to visit and it was by far the dirtiest cabin, although we enjoyed all the other amenities.
Jun 30, 2014
HUGE difference than last year. Our cabin was clean, the staff was friendly, lots of activities. Great family fun. Can't wait to come back. Highly recommend this campground.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
The pool should be open later then 9:00 and golf carts are too expensive.
Jun 30, 2014
The bathroom doors wouldn't lock, the ice machine was broke, and the air conditioner was squeeky. Had a great time, enjoyed the cabin, nothing was horrible that made the stay bad. It was great and can't wait to go back.
Jun 30, 2014
This is our 2nd visit and enjoyed it very much. The cabin we had was located near the fishing pond outside the gate and close to the pools . We are booking our next visit for Labor Day!!!
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Our stay at your KOA was a fun and wonderful experience. I also loved the activities for my kids. HOWEVER, it would be great if all the shower stalls (inside the bathroom ones) had a small table or more hooks for our clothes.
Jun 29, 2014
The staff was friendly and the site was great. The facilities were a problem. The shower water backed up over our ankles. Before we could use the toilets we had to flush 3-6 times and then another 3-6 afterwards. The restrooms were not clean although it seemed like a staff member was there often. The pools and spas need work and cleaning as well.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
It was okay but the cabin had ants in it we left a day early cause my kids were scared they were going to go in their ears
Jun 29, 2014
Need table in showers. Check window screens to make sure they are not ripped out
Jun 29, 2014
Beautiful campground on a pristine river! Would have given it a 5star rating except the cabin we got was the most bare bones we have ever stayed in..no picnic table,porch swing, mirror or A/C. The advertised wifi is only near the office...90% of the campground is wifi-less. Will come back with our RV!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.