Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the KOA in Cherokee. The bathrooms were always clean. The amenities were great for a family with children. However, we stayed in a camping cabin that would have benefited from a more thorough cleaning, like clean windows and cobwebs swept from the ceiling. The price was high for a camping cabin as were the banana bike rentals.
Sep 02, 2014
We enjoyed our visit very much and absolutely would like to come back next year. It was very family oriented and lots of things to keep the children busy. Very Satisfied.
Sep 02, 2014
Stayed here over the Holiday weekend and the staff needs to be properly trained. They do not care about your comments. Each employee tells you something different. The kid activities were poorly planned and when making reservations you provide these details and pay for additional people per campsite so they are aware of how many to plan for. They also give wrong information on pond stocking.
Sep 02, 2014
this is the second time we stayed at Cherokee koa. the first time we had so many issues. This time was ok, still very unorganized, the office staff was very knowledgeable about the surrounding area as well as the campground, and regarding things that were right there in their store. We would like to give a different Koa a try but we will not recommend nor will we ever visit the Cherokee koa again
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Stay was nice because I was there with family. I booked late so I was stuck with one of the back in sites near the back of the campground. Won't do that again! Next time I will reserve early. Back area of campground could use some work.
Sep 02, 2014
My family and I always enjoy our visit to the KOA Cherokee . The campground is very well managed and the entire staff are friendly and helpful .
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
My family and I loved our time at your KOA can't wait to come back again next year with more family!
Sep 01, 2014
We enjoyed our time at the Cherokee KOA however, there was a tree stump right outside our door, just inches away from the concrete pad, that should be dug up immediately. I finally had to cover it up as best possible with a rug as my granddaughters and I fell over this or stumped our toe numerous times....also, when the grass was cut, which had been quite high, the clippings were not removed from
Sep 01, 2014
Had a great time!!! Beautiful place and everyone was very friendly! First KOA I have ever seen that had a air conditioned cabin kennel for the dogs. We didnt need it but awesome it was available if we did!! Thanks for an awesome stay!!!!
Aug 31, 2014
This was the first time for camping for my son and his family. They, as well as I, enjoyed it extremely. My 7 year old grandson can't wait to come back.
Aug 31, 2014
We had a great time. Every one was great and help for. Take care and GOD BLESS. (BLACKHAWK)
Aug 31, 2014
We have been going to this KOA for many years an I must say that this was the best experience we have ever had. The staff was great, the weather and cabin were beautiful.
Aug 30, 2014
I asked to have the men's side bath house sprayed for yellow jackets two separate time and this was never done. There was multiple lights that needed to be changed in the bath house area. The sinks were missing the screen that screws on where the water comes out. Half of the hot tub worked and the other half didn't work. Other than that, I enjoyed myself and the staff was very friendly.
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 30, 2014
NO WIFI and should not advertise that it has it. Premier sites are a ripoff. The cleanest KOA that we have stayed at. Lovely grounds.
Aug 28, 2014
We enjoyed our stay in the cabins. This was our second stay here. We are already looking into another trip to stay in the premium cabins on the river. Everyone was very helpful during our stay. Nice trip with friends.
Aug 27, 2014
Our deluxe cabin had a minor issue that was taken care of immediately. By a friendly and helpful staff. Bed was surprisingly comfortable. Well worth the money and ability to bring our dog in.
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
stay was great as usual but every year there seems to be a different reason that the wifi isnt working, i think in this day and age that should be considered very important
Aug 25, 2014
Nice campsites,plenty to do, very nice and friendly staff, so peaceful and beautiful, nice facilities.
Aug 25, 2014
we had a awesome time and everything was great the staff was friendly and the campground was clean and our room was clean clean excellent time staying there with you
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Excellent place for family. Lots of activities. WiFi was not good but they are supposedly putting in new. Site #7 was extremely wet and muddy where you hook up but I don't think other sites were that way. Maybe previous camper had a leaky hose.
Aug 25, 2014
Great stay thank u
Aug 25, 2014
The campground was well maintained. Workers were friendly and helpful. We loved the pool, bounce pad, and everything the campground offers for kids. Thanks for a great stay!
Aug 25, 2014
I only had two short days to spend at the KOA in Cherokee,NC with my son before he left to enter the Army. So it was a very special trip for us. Not only was the camp beautiful and well kept with many fun activities to enjoy but the staff there absolutely went out of their way to make our stay fantastic! These folks went outta their way to make our stay very special. U cant put a price on that!
Aug 25, 2014
Deluxe river front back in spot was awesome (#219), very few campers since school just started back. Scenery was beautiful as always. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Much better than our stay back in April. (Although I didn't give the bath houses a 2nd chance)
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Koa help very friendly;) especially Lin, carol, & Ann .my only problem was lack of wifi;( other wise very relaxing ...
Aug 25, 2014
We had a wonderful time. Very family and pet friendly campground.
Aug 24, 2014
We were amazed at all the amenities offered and how comfortable the "fit" was for every age group. Tubing is not to be missed! We think you should have a policy of leaving a note on the door letting guests know that maintenance service requested has been provided while guests are out. Our faulty smoke detector was not fixed and we were told it was because we were not at home! Dangerous policy.
Aug 24, 2014
Second time there this year! We love this campground. Beautiful scenery, wonderful staff. This time the weather even cooperated. :-)
Aug 24, 2014
We had a wondwerfull time with our granddaughter.
Aug 23, 2014
Loved all the activities for the children. Wish they had a deep sink or kitchen camping for dish washing. Lots of amenities!
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
MY GRANDKIDS HAD A GREAT TIME
Aug 23, 2014
Very friendly staff and great campgrounds, had a wonderful vacation.
Aug 23, 2014
We came for a last hurrah for the kids before school started and chose KOA @ Cherokee based on a friend's suggestion. The amenities were just what we were looking for to keep our two boys busy and happy while allowing my wife and I a chance to slow down and relax. We would definitely consider returning.
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
Love this place
Aug 20, 2014
it was a great experience,my 12 year old loved it .Staff was very friendly.
Aug 20, 2014
We have stayed at this KOA many times. This trip we had a family tragedy. The staff was very kind in allowing me to use the phone to make many phone calls long distance to Myrtle Beach. This KOA is limited by the Cherokee Tribal rules to the amount of cell service and Wi-Fi service they can offer. Just know this before you go.
Aug 20, 2014
Rained some but still enjoyed time spent here. Sites are great and creek was cold but fun.
Aug 20, 2014
My only complaint was on both days my husband and I both got cold showers!
Aug 20, 2014
People were friendly, very helpful, very clean, would like to see trash cans at campsites. Would come back again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.