Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Dec 04, 2015
We arrived just after 6 PM and the next day our dogs were in the kennel. Closing at 5 PM is like a bank, not a campground. The woman was adamant to get our dogs by 5 PM. In both cases Donald was available to let us in our cabin and get our dogs after 5.
Dec 03, 2015
Dec 03, 2015
Absolutely Fabulous. Love this place!
Dec 02, 2015
Thought that some of the ladies at the check-in desk needed to be more knowledgeable of dealing with costumers.
Dec 01, 2015
We absolutely loved everything about this campground. Everyone was nice and the cabins were really nice.... Really loved the stream behind the cabin
Dec 01, 2015
Pool area was very dirty and the lights in the pool bathrooms did not work.
Dec 01, 2015
I always love staying at this campground. The water rushing, view, and sounds of the water make it all worth while! We also loved the fact that we could swim in the heated pool and they let us purchase firewood over the phone and delivered it to our campsite because we couldn't get back to the cabin before the office closed. I will be back!
Dec 01, 2015
Dec 01, 2015
everything was great except having the leaf blower outside our site for 3 hours.
Dec 01, 2015
My stay was good. Bathrooms were clean, cabin was clean. Was given poor information on check in or check out,by office on site and on line,
Dec 01, 2015
We had a great time, very well kept . Were going back soon.
Dec 01, 2015
It was nice to see new mattresses in the cabins this year. I have only two complaints: 1) screen door and wooden doors were difficult to open due to dragging on the floor, 2) a large limb on a white oak beside my cabin fell within a few feet of my truck. I moved my truck to one of the back-in spots across the drive, for the remainder of my stay.
Dec 01, 2015
Great place, friendly staff, clean restrooms & showers, hot tub & pool were nice. It would be nice to fix the jets in the hot tub. The lights in the changing room in the pool were out, but these items would not keep me from returning. Overall, highly recommend!
Dec 01, 2015
It was great, except for pool and hot tub. that is why we chose this koa and we called 2 days ahead and they never told us the pool and hot tub were closed. Very disappointed. It was thanksgiving and no one was around to ask why?
Nov 30, 2015
It was really nice. Thanksgiving really was the highlight. The only complaint was the WI-FI. Almost non-existent. All else AWESOME!
Nov 30, 2015
How likely would I recommend the KOA? Already did. Several times when I went back to work. Friendly staff and clean cabins.
Nov 30, 2015
We stayed at the KOA for the thanksgiving week and was very happy with our stay. The staff had a Thanksgiving lunch for all the guest and it was very nice. If you left hungry it was your own fault. Fishing in the streaman and lake was convenient and there was some hiking that could be done. Bath houses and laundry room were clean and maintained regularly. My husband and I will return.
Nov 30, 2015
Streets make needs to be improved. I found it very hard to find my space in the dark for a after hour arrival.
Nov 30, 2015
Loved it, already have reservations for same site next Oct and Nov.
Nov 30, 2015
Nov 30, 2015
Nice campground great stay no issues
Nov 30, 2015
We had a wonderfulstay. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us.My wife was so surprised and happy with our cabin,after you made different cabin arangements for us. Thank you so much for making our week stay so delightful. We can't wait to come back again.
Nov 30, 2015
KOA staff extremely nice and helpful. especially Wayne & Sue, Tammy & Thomas Davies.
Nov 30, 2015
This KOA campground was exceptionally clean with friendly staff. Beautiful mountains surrounded us. Definitely a place to stay again.
Nov 30, 2015
Great place for family camping. Bathroom and the area was nice and clean. We had great time camping exvept the staff Jo Ann was courteous during registration.
Nov 30, 2015
Great service and great people.
Nov 30, 2015
Nice campground. A little pricy but beautiful scenery!
Nov 30, 2015
Great location, very friendly hosts, very clean grounds
Nov 30, 2015
We really enjoyed our first camping trip at KOA! We will see y'all again in 2016!
Nov 30, 2015
Convenient to all the shopping and National Park. Clean and had a nice store on premises if you forgot anything.
Nov 30, 2015
Nice Campground with lots of activities for everyone. Bathrooms and laundry are exceptionally clean. Great playground for the kids. Staff is very friendly. We will definitely stay here again. Great for a base for motorcycle riding the numerous scenic roads.
Nov 30, 2015
Nov 21, 2015
Cable good, wifi weak, BRoom ok with TV, some shower stalls, showerhead poor, low pressure, not very hot. Nice spot by river.
Nov 19, 2015
Nov 16, 2015
Been going there at least twice a year since 1987 !!! Great place but not thrilled with the rising prices and additional fees- resort fee- rising sight fees- early check in fees- etc. also need to improve your "advertised" wifi. It's not so good, especially when you have many guest. Also every visit we have trouble with the cable TV. We have to report it mutiple times each visit.
Nov 14, 2015
We stayed over a Friday night since we were going to the casino for a show that evening. The park is clean and well kept and our site at the river was nice.
Nov 14, 2015
Place is nice but seems like with just a little maintenance could be so much better.
Nov 13, 2015
Nov 13, 2015
Nov 13, 2015
Nov 09, 2015
Nov 09, 2015
it was very nice to have some assistance when I arrived at 8 p.m. I also appreciate the few extra minutes at check out when I was having trouble with my camper. The staff was very nice but they need to have fishing regs when you buy a Tribal license. I had to go into town to get the info. I know that it had been raining but there was a lot of standing water on the grounds. Overall a good trip
Nov 09, 2015
I was pleasantly surprised with the cabin accommodations.
Nov 09, 2015
It was wonderful! We loved staying in the cabin on the river that was fully furnished. We would love to stay there again but it's just so pricy I doubt we'll be able to stay in that exact one again but possibly the little ones. We just wish they had heat!
Nov 08, 2015
Very nice bathrooms. Clean and up to date. Nice selection in store.
Nov 07, 2015
We come up every year for Halloween and I think that the judging for the costume contest needs to be done by the campers not just a couple of workers.
Nov 07, 2015
Wonderful staff!!! Beautiful location. Awesome sites
Nov 07, 2015
Hey
Nov 06, 2015
Been coming here for 10+ years. Have a great time everytime
Nov 05, 2015
Has been 5 years since being here. Was the same, which is good & bad. Very helpful staff. Checked in after hours, a staff member happened to be out & retrieved our key from the night kiosk & directed us to the cabin. Restrooms & outside showers could be updated. One outside shower did not produce hot water, one shower head damaged, but worked. Halloween activities very fun for the kids & adults.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals