Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 04, 2016
It was awesome as usual, staff is nice and helpful. We love this campground.
Apr 04, 2016
We absolutely loved the Cherokee KOA & can't wait to return! Staff were all so nice & helpful! Loft cabin was super clean and fit our needs perfectly! The setting & area are just beautiful!
Apr 04, 2016
The location is great. Most of the staff is friendly. If you're looking for a camping expierence, this isn't the place. The tent sites and cabins are stacked on top of each other and give zero privacy/secludness. Not many posted rules are enforced, no alcohol by pool, no littering, no bball after 8, quiet time after 11. Fire wood burns like paper. You should limit how many lights people can hang
Apr 04, 2016
I like all the amenities and location of this koa but we were crammed in like sardines. Great place for families but not for solitude. Staff is wonderful, facilities clean- would just like a little more space between meighbors.
Apr 04, 2016
It was great...no issues..and we will be back
Apr 03, 2016
Our cabin was supposed to be ready at 2pm, and we couldn't get in until after 3:30pm. The cabin floors were dusty and the bedding had dog hair on it. We requested toilet tissue twice, and both times we had to make a second request because the first one was never addressed. The indoor pool and hot tub was dirty. One of the tables had ketchup on it the my entire week.
Apr 03, 2016
Apr 03, 2016
I thought it was very expensive for a poorly maintained campground. Had trouble with electrical and the roads were terrible
Apr 03, 2016
I woke in my tent- I came out of my tent to find that I was being looked at by 10 fishermen fishing in the trout pond .. No privacy at all
Apr 03, 2016
Fantastic stay!!!
Apr 03, 2016
great place to stay- friendly people.
Apr 03, 2016
Great staff, Great site. Clean. Off the beaten path but not hard to get to. Would stay again.
Apr 03, 2016
Wish there was better river access.
Apr 02, 2016
Wonderful location, excellent view and outstanding staff.
Apr 02, 2016
It was a great place to stay and we enjoyed it tremendously. I only have two comments. We would like to see you have recycle containers. We reserved a site that backs to the pond. The website did not state that there was a vine covered chain link fence between the site and the pond so that was disappointing. Having seen the campground now I would have picked a different site.
Apr 02, 2016
Great relaxing stay
Apr 02, 2016
We stayed March 24-April 1st and they would not honor their stay 6 nights get 7th free. Employee named Carolyn was really rude and has poor customer service skills.
Apr 02, 2016
Very good
Apr 01, 2016
My kids had a wonderful time. They didn't want to leave. We stayed on a river site and I wouldn't have it any other way. The only downside is the people walked through your site to go fishing. Would definately go back again. Everyone was really friendly.
Apr 01, 2016
Our 11 year old, 5 year old, and doggie had a fabulous time exploring the creek, fish ponds, jumping pillow, swimming pool, miniature golf, and checkers out door game. The camp ground is close to Mingo Falls which is beautiful to see!
Apr 01, 2016
Love coming to this KOA.. Awesome employees
Apr 01, 2016
Loved being next to the river Very clean Will be going back
Apr 01, 2016
Great family atmosphere. Friendly staff and clean grounds. We will be back.
Apr 01, 2016
Everything was great. Stayed in cabin 507 (cottage on the river). Next time, we will stay in a Deluxe Cabin - on the river. Would prefer to have firepit overlooking the river, not overlooking the parking lot. Other than that, our stay was great.
Apr 01, 2016
Had a lot of issues with campsite power water. Had a circuit board burnt out due to 120v on cable line THank god for the maintainance men and especially Crash, If it were not for these guys I would not be back
Apr 01, 2016
We stayed in the Deluxe Lodge on the river in Cherokee and the view from our cabin right out into the river was gorgeous. The kids loved the pillow top jumper and the indoor pool, since it's still way too cold to swim outside. We all had a really great time and the kids have already asked when we're going back.
Apr 01, 2016
Mar 31, 2016
The front desk lady "JILL" is why we keep coming back to Cherokee KOA
Mar 31, 2016
The staff was awesome!! Had a great stay!
Mar 31, 2016
For many years we have stayed here, but this time wasn't good. We checked in on a Friday and my husband and I were able to enjoy fishing until tuesday. A complaint was made by a cabin next to us about our dogs barking at 1:30. We asked other campers and they had no problem. We were also blamed for ALL dog poop around our area when we picked ours up. We left day early. Not friendly.
Mar 31, 2016
The campground was really nice except the sites were small and over crowded. Also one of the sites that is right beside the out house is terrible. As soon as you step out of your camper you step into a huge electric box and propane tanks. Then you have to walk behind your camper for the campfire and the fire only about 5 steps away from the campers behind you. We didn't swim because it was crowded
Mar 31, 2016
Mar 31, 2016
The camp ground is nice but no wi-fi service it is bad you have to go to the office to get out the cable is bad it is fuzzy! I will not be back! I hate the camp fires you are down in that valley it is nothing but smoke ugh you cannot even sit out and enyoy.
Mar 31, 2016
My family and I have been staying at this KOA for 10 years. We visit Cherokee at least 2 times a year. The facilities are always clean and everyone is always nice and go out of their way to assist you. This visit the shower houses and restrooms were not clean at all the 3 days we were there. Our cabin was not ready upon our arrival and it was after check in time (primitive style cabin)
Mar 30, 2016
Had A wonderful time at KOA!! We stayed at the tent sites only but service and staff were very nice. The kids had so much fun, definitely coming back soon!!
Mar 30, 2016
Enjoyed our first stay at a KOA campground. Kids had a great time. I like the fact the KOA people all wear the yellow short. Very easy to find. I like the fact they made us aware of all the kids running around. The kids said the indoor pool was a too cold to swim in but I can't expect a fully heated pool. Look forward to outdoor pool if we come back. Very clean bathroom and updated. Thank yo
Mar 30, 2016
We've stayed here a few times and we love it everytime!!!
Mar 30, 2016
Absolutely loved this Campground. Great staff. The area is absolutely beautiful. We will be returning
Mar 30, 2016
david the stay was excellent gabby your host was great and very much on point. some of the host were friendly however very much on edge which I understand it is a very hard job. make sure gabby gets what she deserves she has earned very impressed with her friendliness and composure in such a stressfull job. thank you john reid
Mar 30, 2016
Mar 30, 2016
Very nice, clean park.we enjoyed our stay. It was conveniently located to all the sites we wanted to explore.
Mar 30, 2016
The site was too small for our camper but over all i was a good trip. The bathrooms needed extra attention.
Mar 30, 2016
Our deluxe cabin on the river was very nice and the campground has lots of amenities for children, which was important for us. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.
Mar 30, 2016
No shower pressure in shower, linens smelled like pet urine, chairs around table in cabin were really loose
Mar 29, 2016
When I was trying to leave, I asked an employee to help me get out of the site, it was very tight and his first response was "so", Which I replied that they put me in the site they should get me out. Never did volunteer to help me or send someone else. The Wi-Fi didn't work. The employees were rude. I will not go back. I used my spare time to find me another campground to use next visit.
Mar 29, 2016
Need more traffic/check in directions and organization at the front
Mar 29, 2016
My stay at KOA was good. However the restrooms were not kept clean. I saw the ladies come several times a day to clean the Shower/toilet stalls but I only saw them once come clean the individual bathrooms. The trash cans were full and paper on the floor, showing they individual bathrooms that have separate doors were not cleaned often enough.
Mar 29, 2016
Overall our stay was great we enjoyed the campground. Our tent campsite wasn't that great. We were right next to the road and the trout pond which was very loud. Also our site wasn't grassy it was covered with clay. People were using our campsite as a walk through. We asked to move but were told we couldn't. This Is not a tent friendly KOA caters more to families with campers.
Mar 29, 2016
The cabin we stayed in as VERY dirty upon arrival. There were ants inside and it didn't hold heat.
Mar 29, 2016
We love this KOA. Have camped there for 25 years.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award