Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Sep 16, 2013
I love the Cherokee KOA! This is the best campground for all ages.
Sep 16, 2013
Very nice we are regulars camp with you many times , the only thin we notice this time is the maintaince of the sites ,they cut the grass but live the mess on you site&they don't ck the electric outlets we loss power couple times need to call front desk every thing outs was fine thank you
Sep 16, 2013
we loved watching the family and children enjoying there self at your campground.
Sep 16, 2013
Front staff was very helpful when my site was not large enough for my 5th wheel. Only other issue is they emptied the dumpster around 8:00am on Saturday and Sunday.
Sep 16, 2013
Took the grandkids for the weekend, they had a great time. The WIFI did not work, very weak signal. This seems to be the norm for KOA campgrounds.
Sep 16, 2013
Everything was good with one exception and that is the sewer would run over if y,ou run a little too much water into it we were on lot 292
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
only wished hot tubs worked
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Had a great time. Kampground very clean. Check-in very easy. Can't wait to go back.
Sep 16, 2013
very nice clean lot of things to do
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Facilities were great; but KOA staff horrible. Very disrespectful. Quiet hrs are at 10pm & KOA staff came to site next to us each night on their golf carts and partied very loud until 1am. Couldn't complain because it was KOA staff that was partying. Staff was also mean to customers due to computers going down. Manager did not have time to speak to anyone. She was rude.
Sep 16, 2013
Camp site was unlevel and too small. Sewer connection was at end of site next to road, should have been adjacent to other hookups. I have stayed at much nicer parks for less money.
Sep 16, 2013
Only negative -- site location. We were in #3 and the travel, noise, etc. was busy. Everything is located up front so next time we'll request to be more centrally located in the campground. Still had a GREAT time and ready to go again!!!
Sep 16, 2013
Typically would be a 5 star,however this time we arrived late, it was dark,office closed we found the firepit to our kabin had 2 bags of nasty,smelly trash that had been torn apart we had to clean it out so we could have a fire - disappointing we love this KOA also the picnic table was broken with rusty metal supports visible could be dangerous we covered with table cover - clerk to advise mgr
Sep 16, 2013
I love Cherokee KOA and have only ever had one complaint no internet service.
Sep 16, 2013
The facilities were first rate. Our only concern was the kabin we stayed in was very dirty and smelled horrible. Next time we will bring our camper.
Sep 16, 2013
Super Camp Ground!
Sep 16, 2013
We enjoyed our trip this past weekend! We stayed at site 178 and it was a shady spot to keep the sun hidden. The employees were very helpful and kind. Our boys enjoyed the candy hunt .. We have always have fun at KOA! :)
Sep 16, 2013
We are tent campers. This location is definitely not catered to those who tent camp. There were only about 10 of the 300 spots that are dedicated to tents only. They all had big mud pits in the front of them, and they're located right next to the main road (so lots of traffic noise). Other than that, we had a great time and there are so many things to do for kids.
Sep 16, 2013
Tent site was muddy. Road noise. Had to change original reservation because it was non-tent. Nice shade.
Sep 16, 2013
I really wish that at least one of the hot tubs had been working properly.the outside one had jets but not strong ones and the water wasn't even remotely warm. The indoor one was hot but didn't have working jets.
Sep 16, 2013
Great family get away! Keeps me returning every year.
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
It was my wife and I for an impromptu getaway camping. We love your camping cabins for the one night campfire visits.
Sep 15, 2013
My Husband and I came up with our motorcycles to ride thru the mountains. KOA was very clean and the employees were very helpful. We will definitely be back.
Sep 14, 2013
Always awesome!!!!! Loved it!!!!!
Sep 14, 2013
Had an awesome time even with the flood in the campground. Great place to go with children.
Sep 13, 2013
Nice shaded lots by a river. Great ammenities and friendly staff.
Sep 13, 2013
Sep 13, 2013
cabin was nice.liked grill on deck
Sep 12, 2013
We love the cabins on the river. The only thing needed is an extra lounge type chair in the living room for sitting.
Sep 12, 2013
Campsites are nice. Grounds are clean. However-the outdoor movie ran till10:45 pm. Very noisy. The floor drain in the women's shower was not draining. Really yuck. Very large KOA like this should have someone on staff who knows how to do plumbing repairs. Will not come back to this KOA.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
Sandi is first class at her job, so thank you Sandi for all your help and hard work.
Sep 10, 2013
We already made our reservations for next year!
Sep 10, 2013
Great people and always helpful. Love the sites and surroundings. Ready to be there again. See you soon.......
Sep 10, 2013
great place always clean, awesome fishing!!!!
Sep 10, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
We arrived after the store had closed, and our key to the Kabin was waiting for us. We did not really like the location of that Kabin, so the next morning, the staff was glad to accommodate us with another Kabin of our choice. Thank you. We enjoyed the Camp, and the other campers were happy and friendly. Very good Customer Service from the Staff.
Sep 10, 2013
Everything was GREAT. Check-in fast and easy. Check-out fast and easy. Most important the Grandkids had a GREAAT time and want to move there. We WILL be back.
Sep 09, 2013
had a great time. very nice staff. I would stay there anytime I was staying in Cherokee
Sep 09, 2013
I went on the wrong weekend from my booking but they were helpfull in finding me a spot like the one I booked. The grounds are nice and my kids had a great time. Not as personal as some of the smaller KOA but again it was very nice and my kids loved it which is the reason we camp!
Sep 09, 2013
Nice campground. We had a spot on the river, and the kids were constantly running between and behind the trailer to get to the water. The sewer drain was raised too high making dumping difficult.
Sep 09, 2013
I rented a "Primitive Cabin" and it had bed bugs. All of our belongings were quarantined for cleaning for 36 hours. We had no clothes and could not go anywhere until all of our clothes and motorcycle gear was cleaned. They did give us a pair of swim trunks, a t shirt and some water shoes to wear for the 36 hours until our clothes were ready..HORRIBLE WEEKEND!!!!
Sep 09, 2013
My family loves the Cherokee KOA!! This is our second time staying here in our pop up camper. We love the huge,paved, flat grounds for biking. My 9 year old loves the banana bikes. We were happy to see that the outdoor pool is open however the indoor pool is looking kind of run down (inside flooring/ lots of bugs and dirt around sliding doors). The jump pillow is wonderful and movie nights!
Sep 09, 2013
We liked that it was a fairly quiet location with a lot to do. We weren't expecting the movie blaring over a loudspeaker at 10PM, but it didn't ruin any thing for us.
Sep 09, 2013
We enjoyed our stay as always. Very nice facility. Bathhouses as well as other areas always seem well maintained. Only issue I had was that some of your staff seemed a little uneducated about the campground and ammenities. Several of them when asked a question responded with "I think or I'm not sure". Thanks for a nice stay!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.