Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 06, 2014
We enjoyed our stay...just wished it was longer. Everyone is friendly and the campground is clean. Close to great fishing too.
May 06, 2014
All good as usual. Not Happy the old manager is gone. Mark. Didn't like the mowers all over us while trying to clean up and check out
May 06, 2014
May 05, 2014
Staff was friendly and helped us quickly in getting another mattress. Cable was not good but we did not use much. We've been coming up there for the last 8 years for an annual fishing trip. This year we were told that we had a 2pm checkin from now on. That was disappointing to hear.
May 05, 2014
May 05, 2014
Cherokee KOA is an excellent camp ground, family friendly and Safe for children. The one thingit could improve in is in enclosed heated pool. It is allways cool or cold and unsupervised. The older teenage children is allways jumping off of the chairs and on top of the younger children of throwing the chairs into the pool. This could be a safety issue if and when a child gets hurt.
May 05, 2014
You should figure out a way to open the gate (at the third pond) earlier!!!
May 05, 2014
We enjoyed our stay very much. However, we will most likely only come in the off season. There are way to many campsites - looks like it would be very overcrowded.
May 05, 2014
Housekeeping was awesome! Lynn and Sandy was the two of the most rude people I have ever met! And I think that only being able to get clean towels every other day is ridiculous! If it wasn't for my experience and my family's experience with Lynn and Sandy I would have rated you 5 stars and a 10 on recommendation. It's a shame that 2 people can ruin an organization.
May 05, 2014
Enjoyed the cabin very much. Staff were all helpful and friendly. The view was great. The dog loved the stream.
May 05, 2014
Enjoyed the camp ground. Wifi was terrible!!
May 05, 2014
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even allowed me to switch to a different site in the same area where I've stayed before. When I had a problem with my water heater, they helped me contact a local RV shop to see if I could get the problem fixed. All in all, I had a very nice stay.
May 05, 2014
While we stayed there it was good but the pool and the hot tub were not taken care of properly. The hot tub did not work right and the pool kept cutting our kids and myself, there were spiders and sand in the pool and we found feces in the pool. Every thing else was good.
May 01, 2014
Roof leaked, no hot water second night (redressed and found it at the other bathhouse), hot tub broken (only blew cold water out), dirty showers (band aides on wall and pile of leaves)with missing shower curtain, drink machine broken, no one to help us get putt putt or bikes. They were busy trying to fix the expensive cabins and forgetting about the other things that needed to be fixed.
May 01, 2014
May 01, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. The campground is very nice, clean, and offers a variety of services that you would expect. We would have tosay that the Wifi is very disappointing. It was slow and limited, and that with almosy no one else there for competition. SInce cell service is also lacking becaues of the geography the alternative of a cell phone hot spot is not available either. More could be done here
Apr 30, 2014
The Wi-Fi is non-existent. The indoor pool and hot tub closed at 6, just when most adults want to go and relax. Early check-in is not tolerated.
Apr 30, 2014
it was a huge disappoint me. Tv's were not working, pool nasty hot tub had to many kids smelled like urine, double charged my card for a future reservation, staff not kind during check in, manager could care less. Really would like a full refund from entire weekend for my family and my moms cabins. Email wrote to corporate.
Apr 30, 2014
Had a BIG problem with registration. I phoned my reservation so I could ask for a specific cabin. when i got there was given 253 not the last cabin facing up the river.I went back to theoffice and was told the manager was to busy soing office work to talk to me. After a lenghty talk i was given one night back. We like staying there and will be back did'nt like being lied to aar that we couldnt t
Apr 30, 2014
love you guys but I'm a bit biased!
Apr 29, 2014
It was one the best stays my friends and I have had there in the last few years! Thank You!
Apr 29, 2014
Apr 29, 2014
Showers dirty, the water was cold, there was not a shelf or bench to lay clean clothes on, there was nothing to do for my teenage kids to do and the finishing was awful. We left early and probably will not return. Koa is not worth the price to pay to camp in my opinion.
Apr 29, 2014
The area was so pretty. The staff is not helpful and acted like I bothered them. Dry staff and was rude. The harassed my son for getting fire wood of the land. Seriouly we were in nature and using what the land gives us to camp- fire wood. Make sure you ask for a electric heater, because the first night we did not know that they had one we had to get from the front office. They don't tell you!
Apr 29, 2014
Excellent experience, a few stalls/toilet/showers out-of-order (fortunately, there were lots of them), but overall my family enjoyed the indoor pool, jump pillow, river (gorgeous!) and the overall atmosphere of the campground tremendously!
Apr 29, 2014
This is a large roomy facility with lots to do for a family with children. Lots of staff to maintain it and they do a good job.
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
The cabin was great! However, the pool was a different story.The sign says no one under 16 years of age was allowed in the hot tub, but when we went in to relax, the hot tub was filled with children,some not even out of diapers! It was very disappointing not to be able to get in. Maybe an age curfew would be a great improvement for the pool area.Other than that I would say our stay was a good one.
Apr 28, 2014
We have been coming for several years. This time wasnt' as great and we won't come back for a while. We had no cable. The internet half worked. Our power flicked multipy time and we had to hook-up to our neighbors site in the middle of the night. I am just glad no one was at that site or we wouldn't have had air.
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
5 stars all the way. Nice campsites/cabins and the staff is very friendly. Family oriented and lots of things to do with the kiddos. I plan on coming back very soon!
Apr 28, 2014
The women at check in was very rude and was told we could not check in till 2 pm for now on in a rv. Talked to manager later and said there must be mess understanding. Never had a problem checking in at any other campground early if no one was on the site
Apr 28, 2014
Front desk very rude & unfriendly.dont like new 2:00 check in if nobody is on site. Been camping there for 8 to 10 years and this is the worst it has ever been. Cable for TV is poor.
Apr 28, 2014
We very much enjoyed our stay. However, we had no bath or hand soap and did not have a dust pan in our cabin. The TV reception was terrible, we informed the front office and they said they working on it but can not seem to get it fixed. Hopefully next time we come to stay you will have TV service we can enjoy.
Apr 28, 2014
Its a great campground with lots to do. Just a little dissapointed that since under new management they no longer have activities like the flashlight candy hunt, movie night and the outside pool opens later in the year than before and the game room was closed.
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
Our kids had a great time. This campground is on level ground which is great for kids riding bikes. Some staff was very helpful and friendly. Things to consider: new mgmt. decided to start closing the indoor pool at 6 pm; if you stay on a pond, there will be a chainlink, barb-wire topped fence between you and the ponds. The cable didn't work at either site. In general, could be better maintained.
Apr 28, 2014
Love the park - disappointed in wifi service & fact that cable service did not work entire time we were there.
Apr 28, 2014
Arrived at about 1:35. Person checking us in made "smart" comment about not being able to check in until 2:00. Didn't see a problem as checkout is 11:00. Then he gave directions to site that took us in backwards. This is something that must be corrected. Needed to do laundry, lady said change machines in laundry room...not! Only room 4! Rude! Only gave change for 1 wash.
Apr 28, 2014
Great sites and many things to do on the campground. Great fishing too! Kids loved it.
Apr 28, 2014
Great staff. Clean sites and restrooms. Nice. Thanks.
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
The campground itself was very nice. It felt safe and secure with our two young children. But we were really disappointed with the fact there was no cable or wifi. With kids there needs to be something to do in case of rain or simply laying around. We will find it hard to stay here again without at least cable or wifi.
Apr 28, 2014
The camp ground is great but we just come to fish and the fishing is really bad . I feel sure that we are not the only ones who just stay here to fish .
Apr 28, 2014
Used condom found on bedpost in our cabin right when we checked in....staff leftnat 6pm so no way to get that resolved.
Apr 28, 2014
nice clean quiet campground would recommend to friends
Apr 28, 2014
We had a wonderful time and enjoyed our trip to Cherokee

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.