Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 07, 2017
The cabin we stayed in was fine. The campground was way too crowded however. There are too many campsites and it feels overly packed and crowded. We were there on a weekend and it was filled. The women's bathroom toilets were all clogged and out of the 4 women's showers, only one worked and Didn't didn't have hot water. They were sold out of tubes for the tubing. Their wifi signal is terrible.
Aug 07, 2017
We had a great time! Booked our next trip before we even left! Can't wait to go back.
Aug 07, 2017
We rented a deluxe cabin for my daughter's 9th birthday. I hadn't been camping in years and never at a KOA property. I was extremely pleased! The cabin was like a tiny house. My family said it was above glamping! The cabin and outside area were very clean. Many items included! Gas grill with propane! The kitchen included dishes, glassware, coffee cups, utensils and more. We loved it!
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
First time camping at a KOA campground. It was real clean . All crew where very friendly. All ways willing to help. Had things going on for the campers. Cherokee KOA is real kid friendly. Had one of the crew to bring ice back when he got change for fire wood. Enjoyed our stay very much. The only thing is can`t reserve exact camp site if it is available when you make reservation. Thanks Steve S.C.
Aug 07, 2017
I have stayed here many times. I was disappointed this time as the customer service seemed to be lacking a bit. I showed up early to meet some friends that were already there and decided to ask about a cabin close to them. I was told it was taken and the person would be there later. I was there 3 days and no one ever showed or stayed in that cabin and I wasn't moved after asking 3 different times.
Aug 07, 2017
Wifi should not be advertised as it doesn't work unless you're literally standing next to the bath house. Overall nice place to stay.
Aug 07, 2017
First time staying here and we loved it.The bath houses were always clean,pets on leases,the other guest were very friendly. Best part was we didn't have to worry about leaving anything outside.Small hiccup when leaving a couple of employees were parked near dumping site making out difficult to dump and leave, which they corrected. We will definitely be coming back.
Aug 07, 2017
My nephews loved it! My only complaint would be water quality in pools/spas. Indoor hot tub water was brown. I have a lot of experience with pools (certified pool operator). Hot tub water with that amount of usage needs drained probably every 4 days, at least weekly. You could barley see the bottom it was so dingy. But not a deal breaker, just a recommendation. Will visit again
Aug 07, 2017
Staff was super friendly and helpful. There were plenty of family friendly and pet friendly amenities/activities, however the actual camp sites were close together with little privacy.
Aug 07, 2017
I wish there was more activities for the kids. Not just tye dye.
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
Everyone was very helpful. The cabin was clean and comfortable. Quiet at night. So much fun.
Aug 06, 2017
very disappointed that you can not reserve a certain spot anymore. You can definitely tell management has changed. The cafe was not open all the time, the kiddie pool was broke the whole time, the hot tubs were dirty, the bathrooms were dirty too. We still love the campground because of the location but would like to see it managed better
Aug 06, 2017
our camp site was well shaded but a lot of big tree roots. we tripped and stubbed our toes a lot. and were not able find a smooth spot to to stake down the tents. the owners should spread a load of top soil on site 113
Aug 06, 2017
Great campground. Kids loved it!
Aug 06, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
We loved the location and easy access to local sites for Fly Fishing! Out of Towners beware - If you want to fish for the "Big" ones you HAVE TO GET A 'TROPHY' License! Thank goodness for PD informing us of this and NOT citing us $250 fine. Megan KUDOS for rectifying our situation-we we're very upset by that situation. My husband and I will definitely return! All staff are very friendly.
Aug 06, 2017
Pools were nasty. You can no longer reserve a specific site anymore. According the staff it's a corporate decision. I contacted KOA and they E-Mailed back that this was not there decision but was Cherokee KOA's decision. So who's lying? Staff was very helpful but 2 individuals that you will have anywhere. No more future reservations until they change there reservation policy. Camping here since 01

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. This is not a change in a policy, rather a change to our process to help better serve all of our guests. All guests can still book a Site or Cabin in a specific area of the campground, and we always do our best to accommodate special requests. We do apologize if this change causes any problems, but still look forward to serving you in the future. - Cherokee KOA.
Aug 05, 2017
Everyone was helpful and friendly. Kevin went above and beyond by coming to our cabin to get AC working when it was 11:00 pm and he was about to go home.
Aug 05, 2017
Kids had a ball!!!!
Aug 05, 2017
Great stay. Plenty of things for the kids to do. Biggest complaint, its listed that the campground has wifi. On check-in, I was given the password but told that it doesn't work very well. Wifi essentially didn't work at all. I don't mind as much as it shouldn't be listed if it doesn't work.
Aug 05, 2017
Thanks to all the guys that brought wood to fixing the cable. Everyone was extremely friend. Made our to the best ever. Linda at the front desk really looked after us. Will be back every year!!! Thank you KOA Cherokee NC.
Aug 05, 2017
We had a great time.My grandkids love it,hated not having no internet.
Aug 05, 2017
Stayed at this KOA in the 1998-2001 in our pop up camper and loved it then. Finally got to come back and LOVED it even more! Stayed in the 2 bedroom, 2 queen bed deluxe cabin on the river and it was great! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Loved the river. We will recommend you to all our camping buddies. Thanks.
Aug 05, 2017
All staff were friendly and informative. My son had an amazing time for his first camping adventure and didn't want to ever leave. Bathrooms much cleaner than I expected.
Aug 04, 2017
I had a great time here! Everything was wonderful.
Aug 04, 2017
Great time with family!
Aug 04, 2017
Staff was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed our stay there.
Aug 04, 2017
Nice campground..but too pricey...
Aug 04, 2017
Aug 03, 2017
Very clean campground but I am only giving it 4 stars because they have changed their policy on guaranteed sites. We have been camping there for 15 years plus and always been able to get certain sites so we can be together with other family members. This change is going to hurt them.
Aug 03, 2017
Aug 03, 2017
The staff was wonderful! The campground was very clean and well kept! We loved our stay!
Aug 03, 2017
I enjoyed the friendly staff and amenities although I would like to come again when it's not as crowded
Aug 03, 2017
Everyone was friendly. The only reason I gave 4 stars is that cabin needed a good clean.
Aug 03, 2017
Wi-FI faible
Aug 03, 2017
Awesome cabin. Really nice campground. Van driver to the show was great. Only bad part was wifi never worked and not one tv channel was clear. Grandkids loved the trip I love the mountains. Good to see Cherokee had been brought back to days gone by. It was nice to see more than just a casino. Unto these hills is the best drama anywhere. Thanks
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
Bad KOA-campground. Not worthwhile the KOA sign. Deluxe cabin without spoons, forks, cups, plates etc. There is a coffeemachine but no cups. When asked for it i have been told i should buy some plastic in the store. Staflevel and helpfullness is beneath that of a supermarket. And...there is NO wifi connection at the whole campground (although paid for it).
Aug 02, 2017
Dirty bathrooms,No soap for 3 days in mens bathroom, coin changer not working in laundry, potholes need to be fixed Fun playground for kids, jumping pillow was great, slow speed enforced. Need name brand bread in store off-brand mashed and not good. Kiddie pool out of service (should be usable in July and August)
Aug 02, 2017
Absolutely Awesome Kampground! Clean, quiet, amenities galore, super nice employees. We will be coming back. Thanks Cherokee KOA for a wonderful relaxing weekend.
Aug 02, 2017
Nice campground for kids. Love the river. Not at all happy about not being able to pick sites anymore. We come to stay with family and don't want to pay good money for a crappy site. Half of the sites are muddy or extremely small. Pools are nasty. Surprised the health dept hasn't shut it down.
Aug 02, 2017
We enjoyed this KOA and the beautiful area! We stayed in a deluxe kabin with a loft. The grounds need alot of work, very hard to get the free night after staying a week but did get it, loved the excursions And staff. The best part for the kids was river tubing and jumping pillow, I loved no phone or wifi - We played!
Aug 02, 2017
Stayed in a camping cabin. Staff was fairly friendly. Some areas could use some TLC. Could have more activities for adults. DJ dance party was rather boring. DJ was not very interactive and the rec staff did not interact with the guests very well. Great pool areas. A great place to relax and not far from town. Can't wait to go back.
Aug 02, 2017
WIFI needs to be improved
Aug 02, 2017
We had a great stay, 5 nights. The staff was very nice and helpful.
Aug 02, 2017
Loved it will be back!
Aug 01, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award