Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 30, 2015
May 29, 2015
great location bathrooms where very clean
May 29, 2015
The stay was great. Very family oriented . Will be back again.The only thing were the toilets don't flush all the way. You have to flush them at least twice for the paper to go down.
May 29, 2015
Nice but very pricey for what you offer in the cabins. No oven or even a toaster.
May 29, 2015
cabin floor was dirty when we moved in. other than that a great place to stay.
May 28, 2015
great amenities and great staff
May 28, 2015
This is our fourth time here and we have enjoyed it each time. Pleasant staff, great amenities, nice mature trees, tubing down the river.
May 28, 2015
the shuttle system left us stranded in town for over an hour. Not much to do if you don't have kids. Alot of kids driving around golf carts. Employees were really great, esp Robert. The tubing was alot of fun
May 28, 2015
We enjoyed our stay, nice facility,clean and well kept. Laundry very affordable
May 28, 2015
Family friendly campground. Staff was great!
May 28, 2015
Not good but GREAT for the whole family..! Truly a wonderful place to unwind
May 28, 2015
Cabin fan was very noisy, so it had to be turned off to sleep, and set to winter rotational direction, not summer, though in 80's. The bathhouse showers, all of the mens and unisex showers in the furthest bathhouse, had so little hot water pressure and were mixing the warm and cold water so poorly that showers were essentially cold. One of the front desk ladies was not welcoming or overly helpful
May 28, 2015
Facilities were very clean. Camp grounds very impressive. Looking forward to staying in one of the on river cabins. Will be returning in September.
May 27, 2015
WiFi was non existent. As much as we tried could not get on line Barely one bar intermitely. There also was basically now cell phone service
May 27, 2015
we had a great time as always.This is our third year.Everybody is so friendly and helpful.
May 27, 2015
Weather was perfect and so was the campground.
May 27, 2015
Wonderful place to stay!Lots of things to do. Great place to stay if you enjoy motorcycle touring in the mountains.
May 27, 2015
Very clean and well managed. Great camp sites. Fun fishing and a beautiful setting.
May 27, 2015
May 27, 2015
Our family made the trip to Cherokee with our travel trailer over memorial day. Two other family members decided to join us in the cabins. We all had a great time and the staff at Cherokee Koa did a great job. Tons of stuff to do for the entire family. will Return soon
May 27, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful campsite was amazing. Looking forward to our next visit Thank you
May 27, 2015
Was great! We loved it!
May 27, 2015
Overall, this campground was a very nice, clean place. The people were all very friendly. Bathrooms were very clean. The only problem we had was finding our campsite. It would be easier if the little streets had street signs that matched the map they give you. But we would definitely camp here again!
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Why 4 stars because they are always room for improvement. Love the stay but no discipline for the kids. They where all over the roads. I had several kids on bicycles just cut right in front of my truck I had to hit the brakes. Kids riding after dark that should be a no no. But beside that I love KOA been coming their 2 To 3 times a year for over ten years
May 26, 2015
awesome time
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Great time!!
May 26, 2015
We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We had never been to your campground and was not sure what to expect. It was very clean and I felt very safe with visible security and other employees present. Thanks for a wonderful stay and we will come back
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Absolutely loved the campground. The only negative part was our noisy neighbors that kept us up past midnight partying.
May 26, 2015
We stayed in a studio cabin and loved every minute of it! Perfectly clean and maintained. We already made our reservations for next time!
May 26, 2015
I would either invest in Internet wireless or eliminate it. Currently it's there but poor and not usable. You are prob doing more harm then good to customer service. I would recommend partnering w a vendor and charging a daily fee like hotels do. Not sure how it would be received. Personally I would pay for it just like it paid $20 for my kcups! We had a blast and will definitely be back. Thank u
May 26, 2015
Love this place. Everything great but could use to upgrade wifi. Signal very weak
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
We love the Cherokee KOA. The lay out is awesome. Great sites. Great family campground. The wifi is terrible though - really bad. You need boosters throughout the campground. And, we were slightly shocked at the holiday pricing. That was a big disappointment. And, your office staff werent as friendly and helpful as we have encountered in the past.
May 26, 2015
Overall the campground was ok and the staff were great. The only complaint I have is our site #56 was considered a premium back-in site. We shared it with a chain-link wood storage shed making it to narrow that we could not open the emergency exit window because of a tree on one side and could not open the awning on the other side because of the chain-link fence. It was definitely over priced.
May 26, 2015
upgrade the bath houses
May 26, 2015
It was great. Friendly staff and well kept campground. Would definatetly stay here again.
May 26, 2015
I could not get anyone to fix my cabin screen door (screen was torn open when I got there May 22, cabin 60). I told some in maintenance and at the front desk everyday. Bugs were getting in and I tore one of my shirts on exposed nails. I was not able to leave my door open for a good draft so I was disappointed about that. I saw so many staff members mostly socializing and having fun all weekend.
May 26, 2015
We had a great stay this weekend at KOA in Cherokee NC , the cabin was very nice and the staff were great ! We cant wait to come visit again very soon!
May 26, 2015
AMAZING!
May 26, 2015
Where do I even start??? My girls (ages 7, 9, and 12) had a ball and did NOT want to leave! On the way home they asked if we could go back his summer for a week...and today...they asked to stay a month! At first It felt a little crowded but by the next morning we'd made friends with our neighhbors! They loved the jumping pillow, the pool, the bikes, the store, the creek! WE CANT WAIT TO GO BACK!!
May 26, 2015
Amazing staff. Had the best weekend with the kids. JoAnn is an absolute gem.... Treated us like old friends. Also Terri was super nice and helpful. Everyone in office and store was polite and helpful. Tons of kids stuff. Our cabin was nice. Cannot wait to go back.
May 26, 2015
Fantastic place. Great staf very helpful. The only drw back was on a holiday weekend there was no way to connect to web or email due to high ill of campground possibly to improve bump up wi-fi speed. Great stay though.
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Very good staff and clean campground. Recommend on holidays that security is posted all night for children's sake. What good is it policing the gate during the day when you don't donit at night.
May 26, 2015
This was our first visit with our fifthwheel. The campground was fabulous and he staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be staying again soon.
May 26, 2015
Had an absolutely wonderful time! I can't wait to return!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.