Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 07, 2016
Super, only one issue which was with the air compressor which had to be manually reset to inflate large motor home tires....think it just needs a new pressure switch.
Jun 07, 2016
We had a great time and really enjoyed the campground and friendly staff.
Jun 07, 2016
Plenty of activities for the kids to do. Great staff. Super campground to relax at.
Jun 06, 2016
Had a great time! Staff was friendly and helpful. Facilities was clean and well kept. In fact, the only inconvenience we had was they were pressure washing the cabins to re stain them for a couple of days while we were there. Overall a very good experience.
Jun 06, 2016
Jun 06, 2016
LOVE this place! So glad to see those beautiful upgrades in bathhouses & some of the rock pits at sites. My concern is...even tho those table & chairs look good, tables kind of small when spreading food out for 5-6 family members! Other than that....thumbs up!
Jun 06, 2016
The Best this location has been in 10 years . Pools and Hot tubs were clean and functioning as they should .This is one of the priciest location due to location and amenities and this trip was great and worth it . Thomas, Betty , Crash and many others made this a true pleasure with their assistance .The coffee bar being closed 15 - 20 mins before the store closed was my only complaint .Mike B
Jun 06, 2016
Great place. Only issues were with the outdoor recreation post booking our rafting trip (bad experience) and poor or no internet service). Other than that it was great.
Jun 06, 2016
I think this is a fairly good campground, however I think it is overpriced. I have paid the same price for a much better site. The sites are pretty close and there are some long term campers that are very un-kept and make the park look bad. Also, there needs to be trash pick-up for charging these rates Trash Dumpsters not convenient Cable is extremely fuzzy.WiFi is non-existent.
Jun 06, 2016
Clean park but the cable tv in the park is very limited and very poor in clarity. All channels very fuzzy.
Jun 06, 2016
Excellent facility and terrific staff. Perfect for families with children.
Jun 06, 2016
We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins. In all, it was a good stay, but there were a few minor problems. The gas grill was out of gas, the ad said there were both a kureg and a regular coffee pot but the regular pot had to be asked for and, lastly, the air conditioner cycled on and off 10 seconds at a time.
Jun 06, 2016
Everything was clean and the staff very helpful and accommodating. This was our second stay in two years around the first week of June. Last year there were planned activities for the kids every day and at least one movie night during the week. This year, there were no planned activities and no movie. Minor details, but we were expecting more for the kids.
Jun 06, 2016
It was very nice
Jun 06, 2016
The campground associates were extremely courteous. We enjoyed the evening meal that was cooked. The area was very clean.
Jun 06, 2016
Fun, pleasant and comfortable.
Jun 06, 2016
Everyone was so nice and helpful. I would especially like to say how nice Gary (our driver) and JoAnn were who help us with many questions during our stay. Great trip!! Wifi is the only thing that was not great.
Jun 06, 2016
We had very noisy neighbors with teenaged kids that kept us up half the night. Also there seems to be a drainage problem all over the campground; after it rained all the campgrounds and streets flooded. It was very unpleasant walking my dog through all the rain puddles. I doubt I'll ever return to this campground.
Jun 06, 2016
This is a nice campground. The maintenance and grounds employees are very nice and helpful. Though some are nice, several of the desk employees are rude and some struggle with the English language. And one in particular, at the grill, definitely did not need to be dealing with English speaking customers - I ended up having to write what I needed. Everything is extremely overpriced.
Jun 05, 2016
very helpful folks. Nice sites
Jun 05, 2016
Jun 04, 2016
Jun 04, 2016
This was our 2nd stay here and we loved it yet again! Everyone is very nice. Wish the benches in the showers were just a bit bigger. but all was AWESOME!!!! Thank you!
Jun 04, 2016
Jun 04, 2016
Jun 03, 2016
good park to relax
Jun 03, 2016
I was unaware of the shuttles available to take me to town or other venues. It was unfortunate that they were not running on Monday 5/30. I didn't get to explore any of the local region as a result. 😩
Jun 02, 2016
Jun 02, 2016
We enjoyed ourselves. We've been coming for awhile now, and we always have a great time. The only problem we had was getting housekeeping to supply us with toilet paper, garbage bags, etc. It often took us calling or stopping by several times to get the supplies we needed. We eventually went to the grocery store for some of the items because we couldn't wait any longer.
Jun 02, 2016
Friendly people, clean bathrooms, beautiful scenery, lots of activities. We stay every Memorial Day weekend.
Jun 02, 2016
We and another family came to camp with y'all over Memorial Day weekend. We all had a great time. Plenty of activities for the whole family. Also, we appreciate the family atmosphere of a KOA.
Jun 02, 2016
Very Enjoyable . . . People were very friendly and helpful Have made reservations for the 4th of July
Jun 02, 2016
The facility was clean and well maintained. The staff were the best part of it. Everyone was very willing and ready to help. Gary, Laura, and office staff were awesome. The WiFi connection could be better. The staff for activities planning were also very helpful and provided good information to plan our stay.
Jun 02, 2016
We stayed in one of the new cabins and it was so nice! Like staying in a little hotel room. A couple of thoughts: add a small "kitchen" sink by removing or hanging the microwave. We didn't use the microwave once. Make sure there are 4 of each size plate/cups/silverware. Only other minor complaint was the AC was a bit noisy (haha). The grounds were beautiful! Can't wait to return!!
Jun 02, 2016
Jun 02, 2016
Grandchildren loved the pools and the pillow area was clean and well kept bathrooms were spotless laid back time we will be back
Jun 01, 2016
we had a great time.
Jun 01, 2016
trying to price it out of normal families budgets and doing away with all the green space. we have gone there for many years and gets more out of reach every year
Jun 01, 2016
We have stayed the last 3 years and I have to say I was very disappointed this time. We stayed in cabin 274 and had to ask for a broom and there was no latch the door. The setup for the cabins in the back corner are too squished together and our fire ring was practically in the neighbors fire ring. We usually love the koa but we may look elsewhere next year.
Jun 01, 2016
I always take my daughters (8, 10, 13) camping for Memorial Day. This was our second year spending Memorial Day at your KOA because the girls had so much fun last year that they BEGGED to go back this year! They bounced on the pillow, rented banana bikes, swam inside and outside! They made new friends but their favorite part about returning to CHEROKEE KOA was seeing friends they met last year!
Jun 01, 2016
We had the time of our life. Numerous things to do at the park,close to town,and great accommodations.we will definitely come back.
Jun 01, 2016
We love this KOA. Have stayed here plenty. This past weekend, however, the staff was simply not in their A game. Some were flat out rude. Hoping this was a fluke.
Jun 01, 2016
Very clean and friendly !
Jun 01, 2016
Jun 01, 2016
Never stayed at a KOA before but I will again. Great place and friendly people.
May 31, 2016
Great campground, clean grounds and friendly staff!!!
May 31, 2016
Positive~ fun campground for family's. Staff works hard to keep the crowds of kids safe. Clean bathrooms. Negative~ not enough showers/bathrooms or tubes (for River) to acomadate for peek season. Golf carts should not be aloud in this campground its to small for all the hustle
May 31, 2016
The Cherokee KOA is on our list of favorite campgrounds! Clean sites, great amenities, and spectacular views!
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
Second year here. Stayed in a deluxe cabin on the river. Love this place. Workers are friendly and helpful and scenery is beautiful. Lots of things for kids to do.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award