Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 07, 2015
This KOA needs more restrooms and the camping cabin that we rented was like a mote because it was flooded almost all the way around. We had to walk thru mud every time we went outside.
Jul 06, 2015
This was our 3rd year staying at the KOA during the 4th. We also come back in October. Since the new manager has taken over it seems like there is nothing for teens to do at night. This year they were constantly being yelled at by the older folks.
Jul 06, 2015
Great time, great having a DJ wish music could play longer, along with pools staying open a lil longer. That's a treat to us adults. No activities for us so pool time and gathering and listening to music is great. That's when we meet others. Need for hole tournaments weekly. And to get staff all on same page one says this and other says that very confusing at times. But all in all had a great time
Jul 06, 2015
We have been coming over the 4th of July for a few years now and we love it. My Kids have the best time and the staff have a lot of fun activities for them. I just wish that they would recycle because I hate to see all of the cans and glass just go into the dumpster and then go to the land fill. Would love to see them be a more green and earth friendly campground. Otherwise great place.
Jul 06, 2015
The Cherokee KOA was a blast.
Jul 06, 2015
The children were very busy and had a wonderful time. Not KOA's fault that it was raining for 5 days still we all had a good time. I wish that there was a van available to take people to Gatlinbug or Pigion forge even if it had a cost attached.
Jul 06, 2015
It was easy to get to nice clean campground will be coming back again
Jul 06, 2015
Cabin floors were pretty dirty, could use a powerwashing. Would be nice to have a little patio or walkway so you don't walk through mud puddles going into cabin. Activities were good. More bathroom cleaning needed when it rains and dirt is tracked in.
Jul 06, 2015
As always we had a great time at KOA Cherokee. There was loads of activities for the kids. The cabin we stayed in was wonderful.
Jul 06, 2015
This was our first camping experience. My son had the best time even though the weather was horrible. He was safe to ride on his bicycle and he had fun places to go with the air pillow and the pools.
Jul 06, 2015
worst campsite # 14- it was flooded and sinking mud all weekend!I realize the weather is not in KOA's control, BUT they should know which of their campsites are flooded/need repair and actually not rented them out rather than being greedy! We had to step thru 2 inches of sinking mud to even get to our popup, could not use our picnic table. Disgusting !!
Jul 06, 2015
We had site #314 and it was a mud pit... Could have used some gravel or something... Other than that we had a great time.
Jul 06, 2015
The weather was horible. Rained 7 days straight so we really didn't get to enjoy the campground much. The bathhouse need to be cleaned more often (shower stalls) & the putt putt course needs to be cleaned up. I'm sure the weather had alot to do with the mess. I'm not use to seeing this campground such a mess
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
EVERYBODY WAS VERY, VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. ALWAYS READY TO HELP,NEVER HAD TO WAIT VERY LONG
Jul 06, 2015
Had a great time even if it did rain. The staff was great and the activities were great too. But one think I had a problem with again was kids riding their bikes after dark, some with lights and some without. The kids don't pay attention to cars, people or golf carts. I sat at my camper and watched kids on bikes run out in front of people and vehicles. No back riding after dark.
Jul 06, 2015
As usual we had an outstanding time. Staff and resort was amazing. We are regulars so we will be back soon.
Jul 06, 2015
The staff was great. So nice and attentive. So many things to keep my kids busy. Loved our stay, we will be back. The sites are awesome and the facilities are very clean and maintained. The wi-fi needs some work. Only worked from about 7am to 7pm and was slow. Other than that, this was a great stay for our family.
Jul 06, 2015
Stay was great. Kids had a ball even in spite of the rain. The rain activities were a great back up. Wish that the Verizon service had been better. I missed my service. That was the only down side.
Jul 06, 2015
We are regular KOA campers. We stayed in a Kamping Kabin this time. It was clean and the campground was in great shape. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Jul 06, 2015
Every man I talked with was rude. The women's bathroom in the camp ctr was without soap for over a day and was nasty. The enclosed pool water was cloudy, needed to be cleaned.
Jul 06, 2015
It rained everyday,but the indoor pool,hot tub was great.The music outside on the 4th was great,while the rain stayed away.great place for kids.
Jul 06, 2015
Besides the rainy weather (which had absolutely nothing to do with the site) it was AMAZING my first time staying at a KOA. The kids loved it and so did we. Definitely a start to a family tradition.
Jul 06, 2015
the pools were dirty w/ no supervison of children cabins were very expensive, 190 a night you could get a real cabin in the mountains, the campground was full which meant the staff seemed to careless I fell down slippery steps from being under the trees the maintainance man came and cleaned them w/o him or anyone there asking if I was ok. I wasn't, I have a bruised toe and arm. will not return.
Jul 06, 2015
My first time' loved everything about campground and personnel! Rained a massive amount all day and night and we literally swept water "from around our pop up" contstantly.But everthing was so nice we didnt we wanted to tough it out. We plan to return many times in future. Thanks for having us!
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
It rained the entire time, however the activities still happened and it was still an amazing time for us, our kids and grandkids. Thanks. Looking forward to my Sept trip to fish.. !
Jul 06, 2015
We had a great time at the campground and really enjoyed the activity they had
Jul 06, 2015
Great Campground !!!! Would stay there again and trout fishing great.
Jul 06, 2015
Campsite was nice as usual. Food seemed a little pricey. We paid almost $40 for what I would call a $25 meal. Paid $15 for the rib meal and they were dry, and for that price should have come with a drink at least. I have paid $15 for a similar meal, but it was at a famous rib restaurant. Coffee was a little watered down for my taste, even the dark roast.
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
It was perfect enjoyed every moment thanks so much so family oriented
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 05, 2015
Nice, quiet, and clean. Plenty to do in the area. 4 stars because they advertise WiFi and do not provide it.
Jul 05, 2015
We always stay at this koa. This year was not as good. The ponds drained the creek gone behind the cabin we stay in. The mud and gunk from all the rain. I understand it rains but put rock or mulch so not looking like sewer when walk out of cabin! The young kids that clean didnt spend 2 minutes cleaning any of the pool bathrooms! And shower house were at the worst we have ever seen. Safety A+!
Jul 04, 2015
We love camping at this KOA every summer! My three girls make the best of friend and memories to last a lifetime.
Jul 04, 2015
Everything was fantastic except the wi-fi. I believe advertising that you have it available is false advertising. I booked 2 weeks expecting to be able to work part of that time and was unable to. It needs a serious upgrade and you should not list it as a feature of your campground.
Jul 03, 2015
Great camp site. Lots for the kids to do.
Jul 03, 2015
This our 2nd time staying at Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA. The kids love this place, it is convenient to everything western NC has to offer. There is so much to do at the camp grounds we have a tough time leaving. Its a great destination!
Jul 03, 2015
EVERYTHING WAS GREAT BUT THE WEATHER
Jul 02, 2015
Lovely location and our Kabin was right next to the river. Friendly staff. Recommend the breakfast pizza!
Jul 02, 2015
Beau camping. Deux belles piscines, bon service. Séjour agréable.
Jul 02, 2015
We loved the staff and enjoyed our stay very much ! This was our first time and we will definitely be back :-)
Jul 01, 2015
Kids had a blast! So glad we made this our family vacation. Will be doing it again!!
Jul 01, 2015
Kids love it as well as we do awesome staff thanks to Miles and Terri for treating us like family
Jul 01, 2015
Great place, kids loved it, and we will come back again. Hopefully WiFi access will improve soon.
Jul 01, 2015
Always fun to visit. Has friendly staff and always clean. Wifi has not worked last three visits. Our space was considered a deluxe spot yet not wide enough to extend awning and have a campfire....somewhat disappointed.
Jul 01, 2015
There was no picnic table and no porch light
Jul 01, 2015
Jun 30, 2015
We took our vacation with 2 other families and had a blast! This is the first time we have taken a vacation with friends. We make the trip to our Cherokee KOA at least once a year usually twice and always have fun. We will definitely be back with our friends again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.