Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
I was completely dissatisfied with the fact of not having cable just about the whole time I was there bathrooms and showers we're nasty and I would not recommend this KOA Campground to anyone under the circumstances also bathrooms need to be upgraded and I'm not satisfied with the fact that the rates have gone up over the last year and nothing has been updated and is taken care of poorly
Aug 20, 2017
Monica was great! The cabin was perfect and the site was clean and picturesque.
Aug 20, 2017
Loved the camp ground. The site...not so much. There were muddy ruts that took up a good bit of the site that we had to walk around. When it rained the site turned into a river and ankle deep water flowed over the pad. But the camp ground itself is nice. The amenities are great. The people who work there are friendly and helpful. The area is beautiful.
Aug 20, 2017
great place to stay , we have not been in there in about 5 years , but have been coming there for about 25 years , we miss the outside grill STEAKS and the all you can eat breakfast , we had to cook or go out and eat , you really need to bring that back , and they had no game room for the kids , But staff was really friendly and helpful. great place for the family vacation
Aug 20, 2017
Yes, we're enjoyed our stay. We'll be back next year. Thanks
Aug 20, 2017
KOA employee riding around on golf carts didn't seem very friendly. Didn't speak or wave. Also, Im sure they wasn't obeying the speed limit. Other than that its a very nice and clean camp ground.
Aug 20, 2017
My family enjoys the campground very much. This was my second stay in the same Deluxe Cabin. This time it was extremely dirty. The floors were filthy. One of the pillow cases on my bed had not been changed. It had drool marks on it. The baseboards in the bathroom are filthy. It is a very nice cabin but is going downhill fast. No soaps in dispensers- completely empty.
Aug 20, 2017
Very good. Excellent camp site.
Aug 20, 2017
My only disappointment during this stay is that the bathroom light was not working and the shower had no hot water. We only stayed one night so upon checkout I told the front desk and the simply wrote it down and didn't even offer some sort of discount for the inconvenience. We paid $200/night so I was a bit upset I had to bath all 3 kids in the sink.
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
Great
Aug 19, 2017
We've been going to the Cherokee KOA for 26 years now. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Had everything we needed for a peaceful and relaxing stay. Grounds are clean and safe. Only complaint is our stay was too short! We recommend this KOA to all our friends.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
We love your campground. It's one of our favorite places to be. We look forward to future visits.
Aug 18, 2017
We had a great time Nice campground
Aug 18, 2017
When making my reservation I was told that I could no longer pick my site. Only a specific area. I have been doing this for the last 13 years and all of a sudden I cant pick a favorite site. New management decision. I will be vacationing at other campgrounds now. Cherokee is one of my favorite places to visit and we go at least twice a year and always stay at the KOA, no longer.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
Standard site was muddy and unlevel. No water at the pump out site. Trash scattered through creek area.
Aug 18, 2017
Great visit!! Easy setup on level site, great shuttle service! We were able to arrange excursions right at the campground, and they provided transportation. The only drawbacks: it's so close to the national park but they don't provide service to the park! And the wifi was terrible! Some would say you're on vacation and don't need it but I still have to do work even when I'm away but couldn't.
Aug 18, 2017
Great time.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
Although housekeeping did not have our cabin ready at check-in time and there was confusion and delay caused we were compensated by an upgrade to another unit. The office (Katrina) handled this problem efficiently and professionally.
Aug 17, 2017
This is the 4th time I've stayed at Cherokee. They definitely made some improvements on the grounds since the last time I stayed.
Aug 17, 2017
Enjoyed every minute we were there, Our first of hopefully many tentin adventures, with my nieces and sister in law.The grounds were clean the rest rooms and showers very clean.My nieces really enjoyed all the activities.Our tent site was all and more we could have ask for. The office staff is the bomb, We will be back Tammy,Karen,Aubrey,Ashley
Aug 17, 2017
The website states Wi-fi available. That is SO not the case. It should be listed as Limited access to Wi-fi. Otherwise all the staff very friendly.
Aug 17, 2017
Terrible site location. Checkin lady put me very far from pool and granddaughter wanted to swim. Sewer connection broken I paid extra for it. $60 refund is in order for KOA
Aug 17, 2017
Love it, my family been camping here since 2011 and we've enjoyed everytime. The weather is always nice and breezy.
Aug 17, 2017
We hgad a bad experience with a drunken neighbor all through the night. I understand this happens but I didfnt have service to call security which was scary. It was just my son and myself. We stayed the next day but did not feel comfortable staying at night. We made them aware and we were not the only ones that left. I feel like I spent another 10o for nothing:(
Aug 16, 2017
It was Great as always one point Internet coverage seems to be worse than in the past only a few spots allowed access while roaming around the campground I hope this can be improved in the future... bathhouses very clean grounds very clean staff nice and helpful. : )
Aug 16, 2017
Our stay was great! We enjoyed the community and number of children our son was able to play with the most. The only ask we have is to provide a bike path from the cabins near the entrance to the rest of the campground. The amount of traffic in and out of the campground makes it difficult to give your children freedom to explore and still feel safe. Please add a path and we will return next yr!
Aug 16, 2017
Campground overall is very nice. Our campsite was a big mud hole! When it rained, it was like a creek running through. When I asked about the possibility of getting a little gravel to put down in the mud at our door, I was told that they didn't have any. I finally went and bought 3 bags of pea gravel and put down. For what they charge, this should never happen!
Aug 15, 2017
The campground is very nice, management are not so great. You cannot reserve a particular site under new management. After setting up our camper for the weekend, we were told we needed to move, we were in the wrong site, the current was reserved by someone, we did not have to. When my wife spoke to the management about possibly seasonal rental, the manager acted like it was a bother.
Aug 15, 2017
No internet and no mobile telephone service is the reason for this low rating....
Aug 15, 2017
Love Cherokee KOA been camping there for about 30 years, we bring a very big crowd on the second week of August,always have a blast. Our biggest complaint is the phone reception,,not good at all,,the wifi was not good either. Like the remodeling you are doing at the store/office. Great place to camp, it is getting a little pricey though, but it is a good campground. We will be back! Thanks!
Aug 15, 2017
We really enjoyed our time at Cherokee KOA. The only thing is the cabin we stayed in had ants in the Kitchen. We def will stay again.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
It was so nice and relaxing. So much for our kids to do and I loved our cabin by the river.
Aug 15, 2017
It was great!! I just wish they would let u pick your camp site expectly when booking way in advance.
Aug 15, 2017
The general manager was very friendly and accommodating to assist in fixing a mud issue at our site. The KOA staff was visible and willing to assist. The children lead activities were a great addition to our days. Quiet and Relaxing campground.
Aug 15, 2017
I am disappointed in the last of security at night! There was a group of people there for one night that were loud and using violent language from 2am-4am. I was scared and I couldn't do anything about it or call anyone because there is no cell service on the campground. Security should be patrolling at night and they were not. Also the wifi barely worked. Other than that it was a nice place
Aug 15, 2017
My family loves it there the koa is very nice and the staff are top notch we will definitely be going back there again
Aug 15, 2017
Great visit- kids enjoyed the amenities. If I may suggest more adult supervision- Friday night about 15 teens were outside the laundry- Saturday some sat in watching tv. The indoor pool was a nice treat as it rained. Another supervision necessary- more large signs saying hot tub IS a HOT tub as several small children ran to jump in. craft girls needed some help - it was fun for my granddaughter
Aug 15, 2017
Great place clean sites and friendly staff would definitely stay again!!
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Too many cabins - campers have no river access. Rate is way too high for what you get. Our cable didnt work and never got resolved. We had reverse polarity that caused grandkids to get shocked and loss of power. Maintenance did come to our site but problem continued. We are currently camped elsewhere with no issues, so the problem is on their aide. We should have gotten a refund. Avoid it.
Aug 15, 2017
Great campground very central in the park. Lot of spaces for fishing
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award