Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Apr 22, 2015
Great place, beautiful surroundings, clean and well managed.
Apr 22, 2015
I've stayed at this KOA several times and we will definitely be back!
Apr 20, 2015
excellent the campground is extremely well run and cared for. all the staff were so helpful and friendly
Apr 20, 2015
I was part of the Mini group. The staff was most courteous and specially with my medication package that I left home and was sent to me FEDEX. Cabin was comfortable and very clean. I'd love to come back. It would be my 3rd time.
Apr 20, 2015
beautiful clean camp in stunning surroundings, friendly and helpful employees,great family retreat
Apr 20, 2015
A suggestion, as much as I like and appreciate trees and a natural setting, the trees that hung over our coach made a huge mess of it and our awning. Even with an 800 mile trip home in the rain there is still tree droppings everywere. I will have a full day in cleaning it up. Otherwise excellent facility.
Apr 20, 2015
We stayed in a cabin on the creek. It was very nice and clean.We really liked the deck over looking the creek.We cooked on the gas grill. Had a great time and we will come back.
Apr 20, 2015
Excellent time with CMU Mini get together. Staff was VERY helpfull, Will be back but request sunny weather next time instead of rain. ;-)
Apr 20, 2015
Apr 20, 2015
Our stay was wonderful because of your great staff. We were there for a car event with a broken down car! Terrie, Dean, and Bo went out of their way to help us, and we really appreciated it. They even recommended a great mechanic...Red! We got our car back on the road. A big thanks to the staff!
Apr 20, 2015
Love this place! Only con is that the wifi is not good at all Perhaps an update would help.
Apr 20, 2015
need after dark security. ice chest bandits hit us twice in the week for adult beverages.
Apr 20, 2015
Had a wonderful stay -in spite of the weather. The ground staff could have been more friendly.
Apr 20, 2015
Everything was great--clean bathroom facilities, clean grounds! Was a little dissapointed in the lakes--used to be 3...now only 2 (and they werent that good). Camp store was a little understocked, but we brough most everything anyway. DEFINETLY will be back!
Apr 20, 2015
Kabin was great.no hot water in bath house so cold shower was miserable.staff shrugged it off as water heater was down the hill.not acceptable when mostly what we were paying for was hot showers and a roof.could have stayed at a motel with hot shower for same money.camp was much better 4 years ago.glad I didn't purchase the discount.probably won't be back
Apr 19, 2015
Indoor pool in October was great!
Apr 18, 2015
First time taking the family to Cherokee. 9 year old twins b/g. The people were extremely nice. The facilities were clean as well as the grounds. It was a pleasure camping in one of the cabins. Looking forward to booking next trip.
Apr 16, 2015
We enjoyed the friendly staff and clean grounds. We will visit this campground again!
Apr 16, 2015
It was Great everything I expeced
Apr 16, 2015
Had a blast
Apr 16, 2015
Beautiful area OFFICE needs training of area and phone calls
Apr 15, 2015
Really enjoyed are stay already making plans for another vacation at your location on Big Cove Rd.
Apr 15, 2015
Had a great spring break with our kiddos! Thanks for providing such a clean and fun campground! We will be back!
Apr 14, 2015
The only issue that we had was the fire wood sold seemed to be a bit green. Took forever to get a good fire started.
Apr 14, 2015
Apr 14, 2015
GOOD........
Apr 14, 2015
The only thing that we had was the mattresses need to be thicker.The guest shout not start playing basket ball at 11;00 p.m.
Apr 14, 2015
I enjoyed my stay
Apr 13, 2015
Check in policy is stinks. if room was not used the night before and you arrive at 1:30 I don't see and issue with checking in. We stay at this resort at least 8 different time a year and this is first I've had this issue. I spent over $800 on this team building event and we are considering not using your resort again next year.
Apr 13, 2015
This was the 3rd time we have stayed with you. The campground is always nice and clean. I love the activities that are available for kids to do. We will be back.
Apr 13, 2015
I am a regular for many years. I rate the campground very highly and most of the long time staffers are great. I and many other regulars don't care at all for the new management team or the people he brought with him. They are almost going out of their way to be rude. The manager has yet to introduce himself to me or several other regulars. I am coming back but not because of those individuals.
Apr 13, 2015
SEEMS THAT THERE IS A THIEF IN YOUR CABIN CLEANING CREW THAT DID NOT TURN IN A ITEM THAT WAS LEFT WHEN VACATING CABIN!
Apr 13, 2015
The workers were all very nice and helpful, lots for the kids to do. Clean bathhouses.
Apr 13, 2015
I would rate five stars however the indoor pool was taken over by bigger kids without supervision. Making t for little kids they weren't able to play. The kids were throwing a ball back and forth very hard trying to hit one another. I'd like to see a staff person occasionally coming in to check on behavior. This is now a second time this has happened we have camped there at least 3 times.
Apr 13, 2015
The pond side of the campground (the tenting side) is a swamp when it rains. That and the fact that it rained like crazy gave us a large swamp to traverse to get out of the tent. On the good good side is that we upgraded to a cabin that worked out well. The staff was great and always stopped on their rounds to make sure everything was ok. Bathhouse was just renovated!
Apr 13, 2015
Great place and time. Major prob. w ants in cabin.koa sprayed but still had to buy spray. Ants in kitchen/ bath and even in bed. 3 of us including 6 yr old came home with ant bites on us.Had to keep all we had in fridge. Couldnt keep ants under control.Ants even in our clothes. I stay here several times a yr without problems. Not happy after compl. no one offered any solution or seemed to care
Apr 13, 2015
We loved it!
Apr 13, 2015
Great place to stay - Definitely our choice for the Cherokee area Only one major complaint & that is with the wifi connections - Lots of work needed there !!!
Apr 13, 2015
The campground was awesome! There were fun things for the entire family to enjoy. It was also very clean and kept!
Apr 13, 2015
Koa really needs to improve the WiFi and the hot water in the showers this has been a problem for years
Apr 13, 2015
Stay was great. One negative experience was someone stealing all our firewood off the porch of our camping cabin. That was a huge disappointment.
Apr 13, 2015
Great staff,beautiful view,roads and bath houses could use some attention. I will be back later this year.
Apr 13, 2015
If you have an issue, they will resolve it quickly and professionally! Very friendly staff! Coming back next month!
Apr 13, 2015
Like this koa already have Rsv for more stays this year including month of October,however I feel the streets need repaving more attention to water system and grounds upkeep
Apr 13, 2015
Our first time camping and it was great can't wait to see you guys again :)
Apr 13, 2015
Very nice staff cabin was great we really enjoyed it didn't catch any fish but had a great time
Apr 13, 2015
I visted KOA probably 10 years ago when I was a little girl with my family. I now have my own family & brought them. I did enjoy it however it seems to crowded. There is hardly any camping sites & the one we had was surrounded by people. I did not like that at all. The staff that I seen outside of the office did not speak to me they just looked at me. I did not like that either.
Apr 13, 2015
friendly people, nice accommodations, beautiful weather and scenery
Apr 13, 2015
Always a great experience...I am a repeat customer...
Apr 13, 2015
Staff is always very friendly and helpful. Park is always clean and beautiful. Even the construction of the new cabins is kept minimal. Love this place!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.