Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 25, 2014
Nice campsites,plenty to do, very nice and friendly staff, so peaceful and beautiful, nice facilities.
Aug 25, 2014
we had a awesome time and everything was great the staff was friendly and the campground was clean and our room was clean clean excellent time staying there with you
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Excellent place for family. Lots of activities. WiFi was not good but they are supposedly putting in new. Site #7 was extremely wet and muddy where you hook up but I don't think other sites were that way. Maybe previous camper had a leaky hose.
Aug 25, 2014
Great stay thank u
Aug 25, 2014
The campground was well maintained. Workers were friendly and helpful. We loved the pool, bounce pad, and everything the campground offers for kids. Thanks for a great stay!
Aug 25, 2014
I only had two short days to spend at the KOA in Cherokee,NC with my son before he left to enter the Army. So it was a very special trip for us. Not only was the camp beautiful and well kept with many fun activities to enjoy but the staff there absolutely went out of their way to make our stay fantastic! These folks went outta their way to make our stay very special. U cant put a price on that!
Aug 25, 2014
Deluxe river front back in spot was awesome (#219), very few campers since school just started back. Scenery was beautiful as always. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Much better than our stay back in April. (Although I didn't give the bath houses a 2nd chance)
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Koa help very friendly;) especially Lin, carol, & Ann .my only problem was lack of wifi;( other wise very relaxing ...
Aug 25, 2014
We had a wonderful time. Very family and pet friendly campground.
Aug 24, 2014
We were amazed at all the amenities offered and how comfortable the "fit" was for every age group. Tubing is not to be missed! We think you should have a policy of leaving a note on the door letting guests know that maintenance service requested has been provided while guests are out. Our faulty smoke detector was not fixed and we were told it was because we were not at home! Dangerous policy.
Aug 24, 2014
Second time there this year! We love this campground. Beautiful scenery, wonderful staff. This time the weather even cooperated. :-)
Aug 24, 2014
We had a wondwerfull time with our granddaughter.
Aug 23, 2014
Loved all the activities for the children. Wish they had a deep sink or kitchen camping for dish washing. Lots of amenities!
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
MY GRANDKIDS HAD A GREAT TIME
Aug 23, 2014
Very friendly staff and great campgrounds, had a wonderful vacation.
Aug 23, 2014
We came for a last hurrah for the kids before school started and chose KOA @ Cherokee based on a friend's suggestion. The amenities were just what we were looking for to keep our two boys busy and happy while allowing my wife and I a chance to slow down and relax. We would definitely consider returning.
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
Love this place
Aug 20, 2014
it was a great experience,my 12 year old loved it .Staff was very friendly.
Aug 20, 2014
We have stayed at this KOA many times. This trip we had a family tragedy. The staff was very kind in allowing me to use the phone to make many phone calls long distance to Myrtle Beach. This KOA is limited by the Cherokee Tribal rules to the amount of cell service and Wi-Fi service they can offer. Just know this before you go.
Aug 20, 2014
Rained some but still enjoyed time spent here. Sites are great and creek was cold but fun.
Aug 20, 2014
My only complaint was on both days my husband and I both got cold showers!
Aug 20, 2014
People were friendly, very helpful, very clean, would like to see trash cans at campsites. Would come back again.
Aug 19, 2014
We were having a great time until one night Mike Stevens arrived (9:45)at our campsite with a rude attitude. Rather than kindly remind us that the campground curfew was 10pm, he said:"Radio Off!" We said that it wasn't 10 & his response was "If the radio's not off, you can pack up & leave." I'll mention we had 5 families/sites. Is that the way you want your employees to handle your guests?
Aug 19, 2014
We love the Cherokee koa. It's a beautiful area with lots to do at the koa and in town. The pools are nice and they now have golf carts.the game room needs to be updated and games fixed bit that would be my only suggestion.the bath rooms look almost new and were always clean.the dog pen is great, but the poop bags ran out. But there are lots of dogs and ours loved it there.
Aug 19, 2014
We loved staying at the Cherokee/Great Smokies, NC, the only thing was the Wi-Fi did not work very well. I heard they were updating the system. Hopefully that gets fixed.
Aug 19, 2014
Well, everyone was ready and willing to help any way they could. They would readily go out of their way to assist. The location is perfect, close enough to the action but far out enough to feel like the edge of wilderness. Perfect for kits of all ages. I didn't see anywhere I thought kids won't be safe. Lots for them to do.
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
We had a wonderful stay, weather was great, and we got to enjoy the pool this time. We usually only stay in the fall months so we never get to try out the outdoor pool.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Loved it! You guys have so many smenities. We can't wait to come back again!
Aug 18, 2014
My grandkids & I had a wonderful time, had not been to this KOA in 20+ years, loved the improvements, everyone friendly and polite.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Our stay was pleasant. The only issues we had with the camp is the rain doesn't run off in any direction and had all the site around bathhouse #1 terribly flooded and muddy. Otherwise the men side of bathhouse #1 was in bad shape most of the time...could probably stand to be cleaned in the evening as well as morning. All and all my family and I love KOA camps and will definitely continue to stay
Aug 18, 2014
We had a wonderful time. The campground was great and full of activities for the kids. Can't wait to return. One suggestion - clean bathrooms in mid-day, not in the morning when visitors need them.
Aug 18, 2014
We had a very pleasant stay. The children enjoyed the river, the giant pillow, and the swimming pool. A very friendly atmosphere.
Aug 18, 2014
even with all the rain and having to move to higher ground we enjoyed our stay the area is beautiful with lots to enjoy in the campground and in the local communities. great for all ages. lots of help from the office team and enjoyed working with them and they went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable. I have never stayed in a KOA before but it wont be my last
Aug 18, 2014
My family and I always enjoy our time at Cherokee KOA this trip was no different. The staff are some of the friendliest and most helpful people. We enjoyed the activities especially the tie die shirts and the young man who helped us with them.
Aug 18, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at KOA in Cherokee. This was recommended by a co-worker and friend. The cabin by the river are the way to go. There were no problems with the bath houses. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
We took the kids for the water wars week end... Had a great time. Perfect weather, The bounce pillow was great and the staff was awesome. The only negative was the BBQ Saturday. Would NOT recommend.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Bob, your Maintenance Supervisor was great! He came over to our campsite to show us where we could park, due to the limited space of how our cabin was situated in proximity to the road...Then, at the end of our stay, he happened by when we were leaving out and said he'd take our trash bag to the dumpster for us, made our stay that more enjoyable...Just wished my fishing would have been as good!
Aug 17, 2014
14 years coming here sometimes three times a year and this was the worst ever. There is a cancer growing there and it starts with the management and goes directly down to Lynn, head of housekeeping, to Don, maintenance and office, and his wife Jill. There are great people there and I will come back. Erin, Mike, the other Mike(Crash), Sandy, Bo, and most of all Billy. Great people! Changes needed!!
Aug 17, 2014
beautiful campground, nice big sites, level, very impressed. indoor pool was perfect temp, kids loved waterslide and bounce pillow
Aug 17, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.