Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2015
Employes were extremely helpful and the campground was awesome.
Jul 28, 2015
We had a great time as always. Even though it is a little pricey, this is one of the cleanest campgrounds around. We would love to come more often but can't due to cost.
Jul 28, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and there was lots to do and we plan on coming again. The kids loved it. We had a deluxe cabin on the river and it was nice and clean. The only con is the pool area both inside and outside really need a good cleaning and sprucing up there was a strong smell of urine when entering the outside pool area on the first day but did not notice it on the second day.
Jul 28, 2015
My twin 3 year olds did not want to come home they loved it so much. I would recommend some rails in the handicap showers though.
Jul 28, 2015
Kids Loved it both said it was their favorite trip yet! Nice large site only negatives is no phone service and WiFi was patchy due to mountains I suppose
Jul 28, 2015
Front Desk Staff was very rude. One point cutting me off as I spoke and wagged a finger in front of my face. Our cabin was very cramped with our campfire/grill placed directly next to our neighbors parking space. Campsite was extremely crowded. Pool was nice but doesn't offset the complete lack of service training of their staff.
Jul 28, 2015
plenty of planned activities options and impromptu things to do.
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
This is a fantastic place for families with children. It's like a safe neighborhood for them to ride bikes, swim, and play without the parents being afraid for their safety.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
The campground is awesome and the staff at amazing. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because the Wi-Fi was pretty much non-existent on our site. There is no phone service if you have AT&T so I really needed Wi-Fi but it was very unreliable.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
If you advertise WiFi you need it can make sure it can handle full capacity, might need to look into having fiber optics installed to get better service
Jul 27, 2015
Enjoyed our stay, and would stay again. Would be nice if the rates were a little less expensive as many seniors are on a fixed income and aren't able to stay at resorts like this.
Jul 27, 2015
We have already re-booked. My only 2 complaints where the internet was not very good. We had good signal but connection was not very good. With my wife and I being business owners it was definitely a struggle. The only other issue was a employee you have was harassing one of our kids. Any thing he did this employee would be telling him not to do it but allowing other kids to do them with out saysi
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time
Jul 27, 2015
Some staff members were snarky and rude. The lady at the activity hut told me they were all out of tubes to rent. She was generally short and not helpful. I walked around back and there were 4 available. I asked the other girl working and she said I could rent them. I just found everything to be difficult - from checking in, to getting credit for my points, to asking questions, to renting tubes.
Jul 27, 2015
Friendly staff- indoor pool water temp too cold - cabins a little close to neighbors -restrooms clean- well stocked store - great activities for kids
Jul 27, 2015
We had the best stay at Cherokee KOA. So much fun for my son!!! The only negative is Internet did not work. There is no cell reception in the campground either so Internet would be very helpful.
Jul 27, 2015
We arrived Thursday night and were surprised we had NO air conditioner in our cabin. I have stayed in several KOA's before and just assumed we would have air in these . I would have tent camp if I knew before. It was cooler on the outside than inside. We had to run to walmart and buy 2 fans so we could sleep. Other than that we had a great time. I will read details more clearly when booking a cabi
Jul 27, 2015
Only thing I might say, is that the sites are very close and small. However, the amenities made up for that in a big way, and we will definitely be bringing our kids back next time!
Jul 27, 2015
Wish I could have stayed longer
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time. Having both an indoor and outdoor pool allowed the fun to continue in the rain. Church service was great. No complaints and cant wait to come back!
Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful location in the Great Smoky Mountains area! Great Pool facility and activities for the kids. Only issue was with he construction on the Trout pond on the other side of the fence from our cabin about 30 feet away. Not pretty to look at and they started working pretty early. Not at all the camps fault as they didn't know it was happening until they showed up and grounds were full.
Jul 27, 2015
Cabins too close together, no privacy.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Stay needed to be longer great place we will be back
Jul 27, 2015
we stayed from Sunday to Sunday. I would highly recommend this KOA to anyone that is nature oriented. we went White Water Rafting as a family on Wednesday and Tubing on Thursday. Pools and game room for kids and our kids loved the games put on by the workers. Corn Hole, tag, Hula Hoops, Banana Bikes, Putt Putt. Cherokee downtown was a good day trip when it rained. Employees were great and friendly
Jul 27, 2015
We arrived early and with this being the first time at this campground was not aware a $25.00 early check in fee would be added which it was.The store is very nice but would sale more if customers didn't have to stand in line with people checking in,I waited 25 min to make a small purchase.This stay was costly so will not frequent this campground often.
Jul 27, 2015
Had a great time. will be back next year
Jul 27, 2015
Loved it! This was our first time renting an RV and everyone, including KOA employees and fellow campers nearby, were so helpful! So much for the kids to do all day long, in rain or shine, that we will never go back to state campgrounds again!
Jul 27, 2015
Well for one they put us ina horriblr spot right beside the trampoline with kids on our spot we couldnt even pull in. The office staff was sooooo unorganized. This was my first stay at a KOA and I was not happy and well cancel my reservations that I made at another KOA. I might try another one later but much much later. This was not a good experience.
Jul 27, 2015
We had a wonderful time and everyone was so nice. Thanks for a great memory!
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Great Place and the sites very comfortable. The Manager Sally and Jessica did a great Job helping us extended our stay, because before that we were treated very rude from another front desk lady.
Jul 27, 2015
My family loves this place !!best koa around 😊
Jul 26, 2015
3 staff members very rude, guy with glasses and pony tail, short haired women with glasses where you rent tubes and stuff, and old man at night with ear piece radio, unreal that they should have any contact with the public, we have been to this park many years, and it seems like the help is getting worse, spnd a lot of, $$ each yr ,2 yrs in a row brought friends to your cabins, time to change????
Jul 26, 2015
for kids, A+ swimming pools etc. are excellent. This alone means a lot. Very kid friendly. Wifi is almost non existent. Nice to have when searching for things to do. They might consider opening the grill during movies, ice cream or a cheeseburger would be great. Bath houses need upgrading along with more hot water. Overall experience was very good and would be great with a very few improvement
Jul 26, 2015
Great, friendly staff. Clean conditions.
Jul 26, 2015
Kids loved it. Great people. Very relaxing for me and lots to do for the kids. Great weather and good food.
Jul 26, 2015
Our family really enjoyed KOA in Cherokee,the staff was great and helpfull , nice and clean
Jul 26, 2015
It was a wonderful vacation.
Jul 26, 2015
No hot water for showers Thursday morning, July 23, 2015. Had a power glich Friday afternoon, July 25, 2015, that tripped our CB. Still enjoyed our stay and will return.
Jul 26, 2015
Great people .
Jul 26, 2015
Awesome camping experience! Great place to unwind and spend quality family time!
Jul 25, 2015
The tubing in the creek was great fun. You might think about a nice fence or small stone wall along the creek were the cabins are located, we saw a young boy slip into the creek while fishing. He was ok but it sure scared us.
Jul 25, 2015
Love this koa. Only two things that I feel need attention, the roads between the deluxe sites need to be repaved and when they cut grass pick up the clippings they blow them all over your camper and anything sitting around having a grass catcher is not that hard. But other than those two area's everything else was great staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 25, 2015
We had a wonderful visit as we always do. The only thing is I wish the sheets for the bunks were fitted. Very difficult to make and do not stay on at all. You would think with all the koa cabins across the USA they could make sheets for the bunk beds.
Jul 25, 2015
Grandchildren loved pool and able to ride their bikes everywhere

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.