Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Apr 21, 2014
The amenities were great. Jumping pillows, indoor pool, and bikes. Wonderful store, well stocked. Staff were so nice and accommodating to small children. We had an issue with a tree limb and it was handled immediately. Streams everywhere for the fishermen!!!Close to town and the Smoky Mtn park. No wifi or Cable for TV though. On cold nights with kids that was rough!
Apr 21, 2014
Kids had a blast! They loved the jump pillow, indoor pool, and over sized chess board. Wish it was warmer so that they could have used the outdoor pool. KOA is situated between the mountains. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean restrooms.
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
Need to do something about the camp site flooding.
Apr 21, 2014
We have stayed at this KOA numerous times, always had an excellent time, never had one complaint, this time was far different, first night our basketball and bag of toys were taken and second night my daughters brand new bike was stolen. You would have thought security would have at least been apologetic, but that wasn't the case at all. Lastly the women's bath house in the back area was not clean
Apr 21, 2014
Friendly staff, kids loved the activities.
Apr 21, 2014
This KOA is family friendly and possesses all of the amenities listed and is well maintained. Our family enjoyed our stay and will be returning again soon.
Apr 21, 2014
Nice campground with friendly staff. Have stayed there twice now. Only complaint is that both times, the pool and hot tub were pretty dirty and both times little kids were at the pool without their parents. Don't have to tell you what kids do in pools.
Apr 21, 2014
we had a great stay...it was not the best of weather..but the staff, campground, activities, and ammenities were wonderful
Apr 21, 2014
We have been to several KOA campgrounds and this one was by far our favorite. The jumping pillow was a hit with the kids.
Apr 21, 2014
we really enjoy staying at this koa because it has so much to do. never bored. we love it.
Apr 20, 2014
Nice family campground
Apr 20, 2014
I paid extra to stay in a cabin with a bathroom, WiFi, and cable. The bathroom floor was weak and spongy, the toilet rocked and leaked making it very difficult to sleep and the shower had to be the worst ever there was almost no water coming out of it, impossible to bathe in. WiFi didn't exist in the cabin you had to go down to the office or into town to Hardee's. The TV had one snowy channel.
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 19, 2014
If you enjoy camping and trout fishing this is the place for you! It's a great place to relax in the mountains next to the river, read a good book, ride a bike or walk your dog to the trout ponds and see if they're biting! Anytime we can get away from the daily rat race is a good day for our family! If you must have wifi and cable tv to be happy you may be disappointed.
Apr 19, 2014
Apr 19, 2014
Its hard to rate because I got there when extreme weather hit...snowing in April?! Plus raining so we only got to try out the indoor swimming pool. Friendly staff and excellent kabins. The only thing was that my kabin (223) wasn't as private as the others. 222 could sit on their porch and watch us....didn't care for that.
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 17, 2014
We really enjoy camping at the Cherokee KOA and we have been coming for years. The reception on the TV for Cable is blurry. A little updating would be great.
Apr 17, 2014
Apr 17, 2014
Staff was friendly and helpful. Facilities were nice. We loved it and are planning another visit to this KOA.
Apr 17, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful stay
Apr 17, 2014
Great location! Committed staff!
Apr 16, 2014
Our deluxe cabin was in great location and very suitable for our needs.It has been several years since we have stayed here and although the campground is old, it does seem to still be very popular. New management seems to be addressing the needed concerns. Will be glad when cable service is installed. There are no available channels with reception at the moment.Grills at sites need cleaning.
Apr 16, 2014
The office/ store was closed @ 1800 when they should be open to accommodate late arrivals plus the needs of the campers, such as firewood ect... Instead we had to take an hour long round trip into town for firewood
Apr 16, 2014
Apr 15, 2014
We loved the cabin it was very clean. The tv reception was terrible.
Apr 15, 2014
Great
Apr 14, 2014
Very friendly staff. Enjoyed my stay, it just wasn't long enough. Good time!
Apr 13, 2014
Antiquated cable, wifi, water and electrical. Many things have been let go and run down
Apr 13, 2014
Apr 13, 2014
The park was a little hard to get to.
Apr 13, 2014
the only problem we had was that we had a late scheduled arrival but when we arrived we had a hard time with anyone finding the key to our cabin since the office closed at 6pm.
Apr 12, 2014
Very clean cabin, just had a "cat urine" smell which was not so pleasant.
Apr 12, 2014
No tv. Roads need repairing. Appearance has deterioated since our last stay.
Apr 12, 2014
my husband and I had a wonderful stay with KOA and hope to come back with our grandchildren for a week very soon.
Apr 10, 2014
Our group has been coming here for 25 years, spring and fall, we always have a good time!!
Apr 10, 2014
Really enjoy our stay.
Apr 09, 2014
Very Disappointed with NO WI FI AND VERY POOR CABLE RECEPTION. They should inform people before they check in. Mike Martin 770 539 4797 mikemartin53@hotmail.com
Apr 09, 2014
Apr 09, 2014
we are avid tent campers. we choose to kabinkamp for the perks it provides. There was no working TV and when inquired the lady in the office said they were working on it.other customers having problems. outside the KOA guy working said it had been out 3to4 days. A customer should be advised when they checkin to make choices or even refund. bad comm outside KOA &with inside KOA.
Apr 09, 2014
The cabin we stayed inwas fine however, walking to the bathroom during the night was a challenge due to no lighting.
Apr 08, 2014
My cabin was filthy,the steps were falling apart...better yet a hazard,the roof was leaking,bugs in the light fixtures,light bulbs were burt out,chain was broken off the light fixture..i have stayed there several years...I would have to think long and hard to ever come back...sorry some things need to change before I could consider coming back. I was and am disappointed with my stay there,this yea
Apr 08, 2014
Apr 08, 2014
Apr 08, 2014
Very clean, friendly staff, great location and quiet this time of year.
Apr 08, 2014
Had a great time. Only complaint is the cable was not great, the picture was snowy, and the wifi was not good.
Apr 07, 2014
we had a fabulous time!! Can't wait to come back! everyone was so nice and very help full! We loved the free shuttle to the casino too!! Makes things so much easier.
Apr 07, 2014
Wifi poor. Wifi antenna box was open to the elements (that can't be good for electronics). Disappointed there was no effort made to put us near my brother even tho we checked in on a Thursday before the weekenders got there.
Apr 07, 2014
We have stayed here several times. The staff is friendly and there is plenty to do for kids and adults in both the campground and Cherokee. The amenities are good and the facilities are generally clean. On the not so great side the campground is starting to show its age. Cable TV and Wi-Fi are unusable if that is something you need. A few permanent trailers are junky and an eye sore.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.