Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 27, 2016
Had a good vacation and excitement when the rescue helicopter landed in the parking lot.
Sep 27, 2016
Overall a great experience. However, the wait was excessive at the grill/snack area and the staff there were rude unlike the great folks encountered everywhere else.
Sep 27, 2016
Great place to stay, we liked it.
Sep 27, 2016
We stayed 4 days /3 nights and had a nice peaceful stay. the people were extremely friendly and offered their help if we needed it. Will return again in the near future.
Sep 27, 2016
The campgrounds were extremely clean! Everyone was also polite. My kids will remember this trip for the rest of there lives!
Sep 27, 2016
Very nice campground! Snack bar is very conveniant
Sep 27, 2016
We had a fabulous time. My son enjoyed his first rainbow trout catch. We will be back!
Sep 27, 2016
Sep 27, 2016
Sep 27, 2016
We stayed the last weekend in sept. Grill and store closed super early bc it wasn't in season. There were still many visitors at the campground that would have benefited from them staying open.
Sep 27, 2016
Lot was fine, place clean, showers not so much. The ad that they have wifi was not to spect in fact no wifi nor cell signal therefore hard to plan our days and worried of not being able to tell our family where we were.2
Sep 26, 2016
Nice Campground, Nice long even sites. Big Cove Road REAL narrow getting there. Got to be careful driving to the RV Park. Great place for kids, however there are No cell service or wifi signal even tho they save they have wireless there. They need a wifi booster throughout park. People walking dogs and NOT PICKING UP THEIR dogs Poop and letting their dogs PEE all over everyone's campsite!
Sep 26, 2016
No cell service and wi-if that doesn't work sucks. Other than that very nice campground, clean and well taken care. Quite great camping area
Sep 26, 2016
Very clean, nice paved roads and sites. Store has better prices than downtown. Will be back.
Sep 26, 2016
I was very upset that the rate I was charged on arrival was well over the rate on-line after I submitted all my info. Also, the showers were terrible. Tried several, all either had leaky, bad shower heads and shower controls that went from hot to cold and back again with no control. Either scalding you or freezing you. Beware and get a price in writing before making a reservation.
Sep 26, 2016
Staff was great! Garbage truck to early and loud. Was treated to Helicopter landing in parking area.
Sep 26, 2016
We had a nice time, personel were good peopl. There were a few things that we ran in too. We found dog droppings in our campsite right where we set up our tent. The mens room had the same trash in the shower the whole time we were there (4days). The womens bathroom had a dispenser on the wall that once held small plastic bags for used tampons and pads.The dispenser was full of used tampons and pa
Sep 26, 2016
Great Place to Stay!
Sep 26, 2016
Sep 26, 2016
My husband did the check out and he did not mention a couple of things that could be improved in the cabin we stayed #244 the bathroom was not as clean as it should have been I was really wondering if it had been cleaned after the last guest...the faucet in the tub did not work properly. Everything else was great!
Sep 26, 2016
Loved it..just me and wife for a weekend getaway. We may be back with our kids in the spring.
Sep 26, 2016
Host campers were wonderful! Pool was beautiful! Office staff very helpful. We did not have cell service due to our carrier, will ask when making reservations in future KOA campgrounds. Look forward to our next stay!
Sep 26, 2016
First time here, and we loved it. Glad I'm up at 6 a.m. because the trash truck hits the dumpsters at 7:50 a.m. & our pop-up site was just 2 sites down from it. We really enjoyed our stay & will be back!
Sep 26, 2016
Love this place. Great location and staff. I have camped here many times. My one complaint is about the showers. Some have no clothes hook. Some have no place to sit. Some have neither. I do not understand this in an otherwise superb camp.
Sep 26, 2016
Cabin could have been cleaner, there was a roach when we first entered. The pool should stay open later than 8pm. The location was great. Would have been nice to know the trout ponds weren't being stocked prior to our arrival. The bathrooms were the cleanest I have seen at any campground.
Sep 26, 2016
Website advertised KOA shuttle service but mentioned nothing about it not being available after Labor Day. Wifi Internet reception was extremely poor and NO phone reception. Trout ponds closed. KOA should update this info on its website. I would have chosen a different park if known about no KOA shuttle as advertised.
Sep 26, 2016
Always my favorite place to relax! The staff is friendly and helpful, going the extra step. Can't wait to return.
Sep 26, 2016
Fun!
Sep 26, 2016
Nice clean facilities
Sep 25, 2016
Everything from check in to check out was excellent and without any situations. Loved our stay
Sep 25, 2016
We had the best time. The staff were very nice and helpful. The store was well stocked. Our cabin was clean and we are planning our next trip to include a stay with KOA again.
Sep 25, 2016
Most everything was fine, except we had to share water hookup,and they put large motorhome in front of us and we had no view whatsoever. Parked us where we could not use our pad,mostly on the dirt.
Sep 25, 2016
As usual friendly staff, clean and good food! Need better internet connection.
Sep 25, 2016
Relaxing and great for kids
Sep 25, 2016
Sep 24, 2016
stay was pleasant as it has ever been. We love Cherokee KOA and camp there every year for the past 3 years, and will go back next year. Only thing I would say I would like to see change is the campers drive slower into the campground. Our site was at the entrance, and most of the traffic was going pretty fast for a campground
Sep 24, 2016
To many dogs barking.
Sep 23, 2016
Nicest KOA that we have been to, Very attentive staff & beatiful grounds
Sep 23, 2016
Nice campground. Some staff extremely nice, others not so much. Some things in need of repair (interior roads, indoor pool needs cleaning and roof. All in all a nice place.
Sep 23, 2016
We love this KOA. Been staying there for 26 years. The price is getting higher than most other places though. Had an issue a couple weeks ago where they said we couldn't get our free nights stay if we used our points. That shouldn't be. We saved our points for this trip and then they offer us a free night by email and then we are told we can't have the free day. Dissatisfied and disappointed.
Sep 23, 2016
Very nice clean park. Great staff. Enjoyed our stay there.
Sep 23, 2016
Sep 22, 2016
Sep 22, 2016
The showers were upgraded nicely. The staff was helpful and friendly.
Sep 22, 2016
Everything was great!!!
Sep 22, 2016
Great time.
Sep 21, 2016
staff was great,room was clean, view from cabin was great,cant wait to go back next year
Sep 21, 2016
I always enjoy my time here!!!!
Sep 21, 2016
The staff was extremely friendly. They made you feel like you were an important dignitary and anything you ask, they would take care of and they did, immediately. Only had 2 complaints, too much noise outside my cabin (probably because it was too close to the office) and 2 - my cabin was not clean. There was still food in the floor from previous guest and dirt on the mattresses.
Sep 21, 2016
Great first experince at your Kampground
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award