Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 29, 2014
One of the check in staff was very rude to us and several other campers. A large tree limb fell through our awning. Other than that we had a great time.
Oct 29, 2014
Oct 29, 2014
Great stay,however water pressure needs to improve
Oct 29, 2014
Enjoyed every minute. The Halloween weekends were organized so well and we enjoyed watching. The weather was not as we hoped but it's no ones fault. We'll be back.
Oct 29, 2014
Great campground, well kept. Avoid site #22--it is backwards with fire ring and picnic table on wrong side. Staff is friendly and helpful. Will definitely go back.
Oct 29, 2014
Oct 29, 2014
Oct 29, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Very disappointed in Halloween parade and trick or treat time change not indicated on internet. Granddaughter missed because of coming at 4 and it was over. Hope next year will be better advertised time wise, so we will know if we can attend.
Oct 28, 2014
Terrific stay for Halloween adventure, we love it and will return again next year!
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Had a lot of fun during Halloween weekend..... will be back soon.
Oct 28, 2014
Great staff. Lots of fun activities for the children. The cabin had not been swept out from the last campers. Other than that we had a wonderful time!
Oct 28, 2014
Wonderful weather and wonderful stay.
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
The only challenge we had was that the cabin next to ours kept their dog locked in their or tied up barking a lot
Oct 27, 2014
It was a great trip. We had a wonderful time. The only issue is the satellite messed up and ESPN went out and Saturday night and we were unable to watch the game we wanted. Of course it was back on the next morning working fine. Other than that it was a great trip.
Oct 27, 2014
Unusable WiFi, issues with the cable TV, sewer connection was full. One of the KOA staff, (older man) was very rude and hateful.
Oct 27, 2014
Absolutely loved it here :)
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
We had a blast and all of the KOA employees were very friendly. We will definitely be back.
Oct 27, 2014
We had a great weekend and loved all of the activities. We have already booked again for next year! Only negative, cable signal was not strong. Also, might want to try to stop traffic during trick or treating. Just for safety.
Oct 27, 2014
Love this campground, stay there every year. Wifi needs improvement, and have the trick or treaters start later...
Oct 27, 2014
Halloween weekend at KOA is a lot of fun. However, not enough employees riding around campground at night. Very loud music was being played at some campsites and this made sleeping very difficult, especially for small children. Other than that, great weekend!!
Oct 27, 2014
had a really good time
Oct 27, 2014
It was a very nice KOA. Just maybe picked the wrong day to stay. It was Halloween weekend and very loud. Other than that. Loved the location. Will probably return another time and stay longer. We only stayed 1 night on our way to Florida.
Oct 27, 2014
This was our 2nd year for the Halloween weekend. As always it was a great experience. The only issues I had was poor WiFi and booking for the next stay. The booking issue was understood as I could book after 1100am the day of checkout. Tried to book and the lady wanted me to ride by the site and to see if anyone was there. So, I didn't book for next year because checkout is at 1100am
Oct 27, 2014
Great time
Oct 27, 2014
Awesome weekend! KOA planned great activities for Halloween!
Oct 27, 2014
Th staff is not friendly. The website claims wifi but that is non existent. overall disappointing.
Oct 27, 2014
We arrived early and since reserved campsite was empty, we were allowed to set up early.Very nice,safe,quiet campground. The only issue/complaint during our 6 night stay was that the firewood this KOA sold was terrible. It was wet/damp pine, not seasoned or dried at all, and would just smolder. Hope they remedy this and change firewood suppliers.Other than that,Great time,location,and Great staff
Oct 27, 2014
The cabin was nice and fit out needs! However the stench of car ur in and feces was almost unbearable. The entire cabin smelled like that. We knew the center was full so we did not ask to move. When we checked out and I expressed my concern I was told they would look into it. I saw several cats in the area of the cabin. I sure hope this issue gets taken care of or I will never stay at this koa
Oct 27, 2014
Staff & amenities are the greatest! Cabin was clean & decently-equipped but TINY & awkwardly laid out...pretty frustrating when you're driven inside by weather. We've been here before & definitely will return. LOVE the campground --just not that particular style of cabin!
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
great hospitality; loved the heated indoor pool; thanks for the memories
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
This was the first time that we have complained. Even 2 years ago the pool wasnt heating, due to a malfunction and the water was cold. We wer e still fine with that. But this time we had 2 neighbors that joined each other and had 1 big party. It was around 12 midnight and I asked them to keep it down. We were tent camping and so were 1 other family next to us and we heard everything.
Oct 27, 2014
The tent sites were close to the restrooms which were very clean and heated. The indoor pool was very clean and the hot tub was actually very hot. The events for kids was great during Halloween weekend but we realized too late that the haunted island event was not really for little kids. Altogether nice stay for the price.
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Great staff. SO MUCH FUN for the kids. They will definitely want to return. First Halloween weekend campout we've ever done with plenty of activities.
Oct 26, 2014
The wifi connection is very spotty and was told with the upgrade that I shouldn't have a problem. I'd be willing to pay for wifi to have a great connection. Ate breakfast at the restaurant and it was terrible. I don't know if management changed but this year the food was awful.
Oct 25, 2014
Oct 25, 2014
Thanks for cleaning the windows on the indoor pool all the way up to the roof line. What a great view now! The roads are still in great need of repair.
Oct 25, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.