Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 14, 2014
Employees enjoying the excitement of driving electric golf carts at 25 mph rather than responding to customers' requests.
Sep 14, 2014
We had a blast here!!! The indoor and outdoor pools w/ accompanying hot tubs were a lot of fun and so relaxing! Having the option to eat on site was great (and the food delicious and reasonably priced). Renting tubes for the creek and the shuttle made for another super fun time as well. We stayed in a cabin that was clean and nice as were the bathrooms. We can't wait to return!!!!
Sep 14, 2014
It is one of the best( maybe the best)campgrounds that we have ever stayed especially with our 4 yr old grandson along. soo very much to keep him entertained.
Sep 14, 2014
Sep 14, 2014
Have stayed here before and it always has been 1st class
Sep 13, 2014
The bathhouse number 1 had a lot of problems. No hot water, back up of drains. Garbage piled up outside of restroom.
Sep 13, 2014
Second year we have stayed here and are already planning our trip for next year. Love the activities for kids and the clean amenities.
Sep 13, 2014
stayed in new cabins which were very nice! we plan to return with our motor home next time. we really enjoyed the area.
Sep 13, 2014
very friendly super clean great service lots to enjoy
Sep 12, 2014
We had a very good time. The staff was friendly, the store was well stocked, the bath house was clean and the cabin we stayed in was clean.
Sep 12, 2014
Too many cabins. It didn't seem as much like a campground. Everything else was fine except the sewer was in the back of the trailer. Had to go buy more sewer hose. Many trailers have the sewer in the middle.
Sep 11, 2014
Stayed at this campground many times. This time I was very disappointed. Was told there was Wi-Fi and after the first day there, I went to the office and was told the Wi-Fi was just taken down and a new service was being put in and it should be done in a week. I said good because I was going to be at the campground for 26 days. Then they changed their tune. Phone service was non existing.
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 11, 2014
It is our 2nd stay at the Cherokee KOA. It is still a pretty location with clean restrooms and better than average maintenance. But, it the 7 years since our last visit we've come to depend on reliable Broadband Internet and you don't provide it. To make matters worse the cellular signal in your KOA is too weak to provide an alternative Internet access path.
Sep 11, 2014
great
Sep 10, 2014
We have spent 35 nights over the last 2 months in KOA's in the Midwest. This was by far the best campground. If I was to say anything negative it would be on the strength of the WiFi. It was especially hard since we had very little cell phone use in the park.
Sep 10, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Sites are to close together, too many golf carts on road. For the price you pay I expected larger sites. I will research a different campground for future visits to Cherokee.l
Sep 09, 2014
We Stay in 367 & 368 It Need a Wooded Walk Way up closer to these Cabin with Older one and young Kids it was hard to make it to the restroom in time with them But our stay KOA we love it thanks so much.
Sep 09, 2014
Had a very good time! Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Sep 09, 2014
my son slept on a bunkbed,he got bug bites like crazy,dampened our stay,he said he felt bugs but i did not believe him,he came home with bites all over ,k244,nice stay but for the bugs in our cabin
Sep 08, 2014
loved the pool and the cabin by the river/ neither of the whirlpools worked the whole week/the cabin was not very clean/ the shower and toiles were still dirty from previous campers/ Kitchen sink had beans still in the drain/ no wifi as had been advertised(a big deal to us)
Sep 08, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
This is a great area for RV's and pull behind campers but not so great for tents. There were only a handful of tent sites and they were all muddy with little privacy and were all beside a pond next to a noisy highway. I do think it is great for the other sources of camping since there are two pools, hot tubs, a bouncy and playground for the kids & good food services. Thus 3 stars.
Sep 08, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
We had an issue with our cabin upon check in, we were upgraded and apologized. Workers are beyond friendly and helpful!
Sep 07, 2014
Pics of cabin did NOT represent! That is illegal.. Handles to fridge stained black. Bottom of shower stained black. Outside grill just disgusting. Mattress cover was covered with hair and dried bug carcasses. I paid $170. I could have gotten suite at motel and been clean. I would be embarrassed if I owned/managed that campground. Back bedroom hot/no air. No closets. The cracks floor dirt!
Sep 07, 2014
Maybe because it was late in the season or maybe just the Kabins are getting old and run down. Could use a facelift and freshened up. Still very good stay. Very friendly staff.
Sep 07, 2014
all was good except the bathrooms were over populated and always dirty. especially the showers and the toilets. the employees at the tube rental were less than helpful, you would have thought we were asking for they're first born very lazy people.
Sep 07, 2014
koa was better than what the reviews stated. clean, neat, lots to do for children, paved roads-no complaints other than the ride from town to the KOA was slow going-past the school, etc. would recommend & go again.
Sep 07, 2014
We came down just for one night because my daughter wanted to camp for her 10th birthday. My only complaint was that we requested to stay by the river and was told no cabins were available there. I called around 1:00 that day and told her I would be in around 8. To our surprise there were open cabins on the river. We were told the next morning that they were short staffed and the cabins were dirty
Sep 06, 2014
Sep 05, 2014
We have stayed twice at KOA Cherokee and each time it has been aweful. Our Deluxe Cabin was hot, the microwave did not work and the staff are not friendly or helpful.
Sep 05, 2014
Campground was awesome. Only problem was the site was to small for my camper could not open awning and build a campfire. Very annoying not being able to make fire and do s'mores with the kids.
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
wood stolen, EXACTLY 11-2 KOA drivers greeted us at cabin to leave, not to mention reservation error and how situation was handled...hummm
Sep 04, 2014
August 2014 The activities for the kids were great!
Sep 04, 2014
The site was to small for the price. The charge for golf carts unreal,$100.00 a day. the cell phone reception was a joke. Candy bars $1.69,really? The candy flashlight and candy bingo was also a joke. I don't think the people in charge had any idea what they were doing. They were not fun and the prizes were cheap, especially for the bingo games. To come as far as we did the trip was not worth it.
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and will be back again. My only suggestion is to have more events that everyone can participate in and also more cleanliness in the bathrooms.
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
Enjoyed our 4 night stay,the only problem at all was I wished the ladies bath/shower area were cleaner.
Sep 04, 2014
The tubing and bike rental were not open on Labor Day. We left early because of this.
Sep 04, 2014
The cabin was dirty, spider webs inside, broken cabinet doors, and cabin had flees. The cabin was on the river but blocked by brush and small trees. Other cabins were open to the river. The place seems to be neglected. Another issue, everything shutdown on labor day, no grill/food and no rentals. I was disappointed nothing was mentioned these service were seasonal. And we got ate up by flees.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
We had a great time. This is the cleanest KOA I have ever stay at in a long time.
Sep 03, 2014
Men's bathroom was always dirty and flooded with water most of the time. People with tents didn't have anywhere to get water. Overall my grandkids enjoyed it.
Sep 03, 2014
We enjoyed another fantastic time at cherokee. probably our 7th or 8th time staying and we had a great time. Really excited to find out the cable tv was working properly. We will return asap.Only problem was some kids trying to ride off on my kids bicycles. The management took care of it quickly.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.