Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 24, 2016
CABLE BARELY WORKED FOR PART OF THE STAY. THE WI-FI CONNECTION EVEN AT THE HOT-SPOTS WAS TERRIBLE. PRICES SHOULD BE LOWER DUE TO THESE TWO THINGS THEY ADVERTISE AND CHARGE FOR. THE CAMPGROUND AND WORKERS WERE NICE. THERE WERE LOTS OF ACTIVITIES THAT YOU COULD ACCESS THROUGH THE KOA, THAT JUST ISN'T WHAT WE WENT THERE FOR.
Aug 24, 2016
great place been coming for years, love the area
Aug 24, 2016
This is a beautiful well maintained campground. It has changed a lot in the past few years. It is more suited for families w/kids or grandkids.
Aug 24, 2016
Great place to camp one of the best
Aug 24, 2016
Great. The grandkids loved it.
Aug 24, 2016
Great amenities, but the whole campground has a drainage problem. There were puddles everywhere. There is also no room for parking for the tent sites unless you park in the deep mud. Also, most of the games in the game room were busted, and the recreation post closed at like 5, so no putt putt.
Aug 24, 2016
Drove 3 hours for a 3 day stay only to find out that the fishing tournament had been cancel. Could have had better communications.
Aug 24, 2016
lots of amenities and great location
Aug 24, 2016
Aug 23, 2016
amazing koa...!I don't like to go to same place every year. this is an exception. great for families.
Aug 23, 2016
Great place to stay, people was very nice and helpful.
Aug 23, 2016
We love the campground the workers are great.
Aug 23, 2016
This was the best vacation we've had as a family! Great facilities and plenty to keep the kids entertained!!
Aug 23, 2016
My children and I had a great time last year as we stayed for a few days.This time was more stressful because we needed to be out by 11 even though we arrived at night. We were not allowed to stay for any of the activities because they didn't let us stay past 11 and the activities didn't start until 11. You should have campers clear out their area, but be allowed to stay after their checkout time
Aug 23, 2016
Things were fine except, only one night with cable , the water was low pressure and frost free water valve would not close all the way off, other than that things were fine,
Aug 22, 2016
Everything was amazing. The staff was very polite and friendly. The campground is clean. I even loved that we didn't have Internet or cell phone service.
Aug 22, 2016
I have stayed many times at this campground but it only takes one time to ruin it. We rented a cabin, when we walked in it was covered in dog hair. We went back to the office to tell them, Well let's just say they swept the floor and mopped it. When they left we noticed the mattress was covered in dog hair as well. We worst part was no one cared. We never got an apology from anyone.
Aug 22, 2016
Had a great time at the Cherokee koa, we had a beautiful concrete riverside camp site. We did river tubing which was provided by the campgrounds for a small fee. The indoor and outdoor pool and hot tub were very nice. Now the downside, if you are bringing a dog, the k9 playground is very small and is just a fenced area, and the arcade is very dated and several of the games did not work properly.
Aug 22, 2016
Great facility, great staff, great location.
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Had a wonderful time!! Looking forward to coming back in nov.
Aug 22, 2016
Everything was great with one exception. The kids activity organizers weren't really up to the standard of the entire rest of the KOA. Late, unorganized, not overally interested in being actively involved in activity. (Pool games, smores) Otherwise everything was wonderful and we will be back.
Aug 22, 2016
Everyone was very nice and we had a nice site.
Aug 22, 2016
We had a nice stay. I have suggested before about having the names for each street located at the end of each street. Also, the need of street lights a night. I have to walk my dog after dark and have to have a flashlight to just to see where I am going, so I will not trip or fall on the unlevel areas in the streets. The park was nice and clean, and your employees were really nice.
Aug 22, 2016
We have stayed with y'all several times before and have always been very pleased.but it seemed like the grill wasn't as good as before. But overall the campground was very clean and the staff very pleasant
Aug 22, 2016
WE HAD A RELAXING TIME, THE RAIN KEPT US FROM ENJOYING ALL OF THE AMENTIES OF THE CAMPGROUND
Aug 22, 2016
Everything was great except we had a bad aunt problem in our cabin.
Aug 22, 2016
Been going for years here never has the bathrooms been so dirty and the showers were cold :(
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
we luv the place
Aug 21, 2016
Very nice KOA
Aug 21, 2016
Beautiful campground, clean facilities. Super friendly staff. Only 2 things that did not like, we were squeezed into a tiny hookup between a cabin and a large RV when there were other riveside hookups that were much quieter and empty. The second thing is the fact that there are long term campers there made it look like a trailor park and not a campground in some areas.
Aug 20, 2016
Very nice campground, well kept and all staff members were courteous and very helpful. However, KOA as a corporation should seriously consider making their properties smoke free. My wife and I could not sit outside halfway through our stay because the neighboring campsite was occupied by several smokers. The whole concept of enjoying the outdoors ruined by the constant cloud of cigarette smoke.
Aug 19, 2016
Aug 19, 2016
like the improvements at Cherokee. front pull through camper sights need to redone and leveled. awesome stay
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
Great, loved it.
Aug 18, 2016
Always a great time.
Aug 18, 2016
Everyone that worked there was super nice!
Aug 17, 2016
bathrooms have needed to be worked on for 10 years
Aug 17, 2016
The surrounding area was beautiful with everything in Cherokee nearby KOA to include the other great city, Bryson City to tour.
Aug 17, 2016
Everything was great!
Aug 17, 2016
Had a great time.Clean,friendly people,loved the recreation.Enjoyed the rest,and the trees.Felt very peaceful.
Aug 17, 2016
We had a great stay and can't wait to do it again
Aug 17, 2016
Had a great time, thanks for the hospitality!
Aug 16, 2016
Other than the sub-par friendship bracelet activity that had no instruction or organization, it was a great stay. Also, the shower in our cabin cycled hot, warm, cold and the shower drain needs snaking. Other than that, we love this campground! People are so friendly & helpful and the grounds are well kept. We've already booked a return visit!
Aug 16, 2016
Fantastic!!! But they should have told us they were not stocking the ponds before that took my money for a 3 day fishing license!!!
Aug 16, 2016
When we reserved we asked if the site had running water we were told yes but when we got there the site did not have running water other than that it was a great experience. Running water would have got you a 5 star review
Aug 16, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award