Charlottesville KOA

3825 Red Hill Road

Charlottesville, VA 22903-9710

Reserve: 434-296-9881

Info: 434-296-9881

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Oct 26, 2013
My family and I enjoy the Charlottlesville KOA very, very much! The showers were very nice and clean! We tell ALL of our friends! The staff was very helpful and thoughtful. The campground is well taken care of!
Oct 21, 2013
Awesome Koa- best I've stayed at yet! Great owners, wonderful facilities, beautiful area. There was one group of drunk college students who ruined the night w loud music and profanity until 1am despite attempts to quiet them down but otherwise this Koa will definitely get my business again!
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
Great stay even with the rain. Special thanks to the lady in the front office who helped us get back the knife my daughter lost.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
What a beautiful location and the service was outstanding! Looking forward to coming back again soon!
Oct 07, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
Great facilities with VERY CLEAN bathrooms! Family-friendly fun. Great on-site store. We'll be back.
Sep 30, 2013
Wonderful manager jump started car for me, graciously. Beautiful location. Concrete pads would make it much nicer, cleaner. Price good.
Sep 24, 2013
Sep 24, 2013
Sep 24, 2013
This was our second time staying here and we loved it! Yet again!
Sep 22, 2013
Hi, the gentleman that checked us in was super friendly! Campground was nice, quiet, clean and we will be returning.
Sep 22, 2013
Sep 17, 2013
The campground was great! It is totally out in the boonies. Allow 15 minutes any time you need to get to civilization.
Sep 17, 2013
As usual, our stay with Ashley and Dane was exceptional. They continue a proud tradition of excellent and caring service to their campers. We will be back soon !!
Sep 16, 2013
First time at a KOA and we were so impressed. Nicest bathroom facilities of paid campgrounds we have ever seen. Staff was very friendly, site was great, and location was perfect. This will be our first consideration for future overnight stays in Charlottesville.
Sep 16, 2013
Awesome campground. Very pretty, well maintained.
Sep 16, 2013
Everything was great. Friendly staff. Only thing is everything is really close together, tent wise at that. And the pond for fishing needs to be cleaned up. Fallen dead trees make it really hard to fish. And area for fishing could be spruced up. Other then that everything was great.
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
We had three little ones with us, it was fabulous! Had everything needed and well kept camp! Thank u!
Sep 11, 2013
Friendly, accommodating staff, pleasant sites, minimum of intrusive night-time lighting
Sep 10, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed staying at Kampgrounds. We were there for the football games and the bike ride, Grand Fondo. We will be back again for sure. The bath house was very clean and well kept and the customer service was very friendly when we checked in and went in the store.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Efficient check-in. Clean bathrooms. Site was clean when we arrived. Nice short drive from Charlottesville.
Sep 09, 2013
It was disappointing that your staff allow people to make way to much noise for other campers to get to sleep. Even our children could not sleep due to the noise.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We did a quiet hours check at 10pm and again at 11pm and did not hear anyone being loud. It is best to call the after hours security number if people are being loud after quiet hours.
Sep 06, 2013
The best KOA we have stayed in. Nice people, beautiful setting, immaculate bathrooms. Most KOAs are RV pull throughs that look like parking lots.
Sep 06, 2013
Campground was fine, small but had all the amenities I needed. Owners do a great job and were very helpful with information which I asked for several times. Camp store provided several items for me I had forgotten at a very reasonable price. And ice cream was available in the evenings for the dog and I which was also appreciated. Rain came but the tent stayed dry, so did we.
Sep 04, 2013
Well prepared site, clean bathrooms and close to what we wanted to do.... Tent camping so the rain hurt, but didn't kill the stay.
Sep 03, 2013
Stayed here while visiting local college campus. Staff was awesome, facilities very clean, tent site was perfect for our situation, plenty of space. We would stay here again
Sep 03, 2013
The campground and amenities are clean and well maintained. I really appreciated having the laundry facility after a heavy downpour soaked our bedding! Overall, it's a great place. My only complaint was that the campsites are kind of small and close together, which doesn't allow for much privacy.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
A nice relaxing place to spend a Summer evening.
Aug 23, 2013
The camp sites were muddy and covered in gravel. Of all the places I've camped in the last few years, this one has been the worst.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately, when you camped here it had been raining for a few days straight. You also happened to set your tent up in the parking area of your site (where there is gravel) and not on the actual tent site.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Great stay and the campground was very nice. Fishing pond was hard to fish due to trees and branches in the water, but it was pretty. Pool was great. Nice place!
Aug 11, 2013
Just passing through the area,stopped and met the very friendly staff. Clean. Did not use the pool, but it looked nice from the road. Will stay here again.
Aug 02, 2013
The bathroom and showers were nice and clean.
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
I am a tent camper. I arrived during a thunderstorm & 5 of the 6 available tent sites had so much water running through them that there was no high spot on which to setup even a small backpack sized tent. All of the sites are small & close together. This KOA might be OK for an RV but a would not recommend it for tent camping.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately, when it rains, all of our sites get wet.
Jul 16, 2013
We stayed at a tent site w/ electric. The site was partially shaded, plenty of space, and all sites had a firepit (with grill attachment) and picnic table. Camp store was stocked with useful items and dry firewood, and the restroom/shower facilities were clean and functional. Great stay, close to the area's historical site, and we would definately stay here again.
Jul 15, 2013
We had a great stay. It was peaceful and the hosts were very friendly.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
There was alot for the kids to do. Sites were a bit small. Well kept, clean bathrooms. Friendly staff who paid attention to what was going on.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.