Charlottesville KOA

3825 Red Hill Road

Charlottesville, VA 22903-9710

Reserve: 434-296-9881

Info: 434-296-9881

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Oct 29, 2013
Helpful staff, clean bath house, nice campground, sites could be a little bit more level I could not find a spot level enough for the picnic table and fire wood was a bit expensive for what you get. Or I would have Given five star's
Oct 29, 2013
Very clean rest rooms. My camp site was perfectly level and had cable TV.
Oct 27, 2013
Nice place
Oct 27, 2013
Tight turns Campsites close to each other Difficulty distinguishing roads from campsites.
Oct 26, 2013
We had site 16 which was nicely placed at the end of the row with a small stand of trees between it and the next sites. Enjoyed the nature trail and the pond. Very easy to get into town to visit Carter Mountain and Th Jefferson's home.
Oct 26, 2013
Quiet, beautiful setting, nice pull-throughs.
Oct 26, 2013
The staff is friendly, and the pet walk/ nature walk is quite nice, a good way to de-kink after a drive, although we really like a fenced dog area. The sites are quite close together, and there are free roaming cats that got our dogs going; normally, they don't make a sound when we travel with them. For us, we would probably not stay here again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are putting in a fenced dog area this winter, yay! Also, there is ONE outdoor cat on the campground. If you saw others, they could have been neighbors' cats or other RVers'. It's hard to keep animals from wandering around in nature. There are a lot of squirrels and crows here too.
Oct 25, 2013
The road getting there was fun to say the least. The campground was very nice. Staff was excellent. We will be back.
Oct 25, 2013
Staff was friendly and helpful. Facilities were clean and had an abundance of hot water for showers and utility sink. Was our second time here and will probably return in the future.
Oct 23, 2013
It was a okay no problems only there one night
Oct 22, 2013
small, well appointed campground with great staff. My only complaint is that there is an extra charge for children which I find ridiculous.
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
thank you for the weekend and putting me in line with the rest of my family. really liked my spot.
Oct 21, 2013
Site was not level and not much space. There are people that live there in their rv and it smelled like dog poop all around. There were at least 10 cats and several dogs at one site. It was a bit uncomfortable. Transiting people should be separate from permanent. Not as nice as other koa. Stayed down the road much cheaper for same type of place.
Oct 21, 2013
We had a great time visiting and plan to visit again soon.
Oct 21, 2013
campground was perfect for what we came to Charlottsville to do. really just needs a heaping of TLC. Entrance loop a bit strange, dump station on main road coming in, blocks other exiting large rigs.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The main entrance road is 2 lanes wide, RVs have plenty of room to pass while other RVs are dumping.
Oct 21, 2013
Did not feel safe with a couple of obvious long term campers who did not keep campsite's clean. Campstore/check in smelled of cat litter and outdated. Host were friendly enough but seemed overwhelmed by operational mgmt.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Careful with assumptions. The next site was there for a week with a bag of firewood, not a bag of trash. A cat outside doesn't mean there was ever a cat or litter inside the office. Being unable to change your site means we're booked and others made reservations first, not that we're overwhelmed.
Oct 20, 2013
Oct 19, 2013
Oct 18, 2013
This is a nice little campground. It was quiet. the bathrooms and showers were clean and the staff was helpful and polite,,,
Oct 17, 2013
had a very relaxing stay.will definatley be coming back
Oct 16, 2013
Clean and quiet sites. Facilities well kept. Owners are wonderful. Will keep coming back and would recommend it to anyone.
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
There was on camper in motorhome who looked to be semi-permanent. Site was in our view, trashed, stunk, 2 dogs which barked alot.
Oct 14, 2013
Everything we needed for a great weekend! Thanks!
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
Staff great.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 13, 2013
Close to Monticello. The site was adequate. Bathhouse nice and clean.
Oct 12, 2013
Oct 12, 2013
Oct 11, 2013
one of the best KOA's we've stayed at.
Oct 11, 2013
It was very clean, friendly and just plain great.
Oct 11, 2013
Liked it very much-very woodsy, nice flat gravel sites w complete hookups, clean BRs, and good laundry facilities. Bought some well-priced supplies in the office/store. We liked that we were so far out in the country. Thank you.
Oct 11, 2013
Oct 11, 2013
Nice people good service.
Oct 11, 2013
The place was clean. Laundry was a touch high with a dryer not working well.
Oct 11, 2013
Very close to Monticello. Nice clean showers. Friendly people.
Oct 09, 2013
The owners were great! The site has a lot of large trees which is great except we wanted to use our satelite dish to watch a football game. They went way beyond to help us including trying to add the channel we needed to their service and showing us which spots may allow us to sneak between the trees. The end result was we got to see our game. This was our second visit and we will go again.
Oct 08, 2013
Nothing really special about this campground and nothing wrong with it. A solid KOA type place. We were there to see a show in Charlottesville and it is about 15 minutes from downtown (VERY convenient!) so as a base from which to be a tourist it works very well.
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Very clean and peaceful campground. The site had an electrical problem when we plugged in and the staff fixed the problem before we were even totally set up - very fast service that was appreciated.
Oct 07, 2013
Close and easy to visit sights in area but to $$ for what you get. sites are very close and campground is not well kept.
Oct 07, 2013
This a great little campground. Although the sites are small and close together the campground is clean and well cared for. The campground staff were very hospitable and the campground store was well stocked with anything a camper might need at moderate prices. We will return again
Oct 04, 2013
The staff was excellent. Enjoyed the layout of the camp. Felt like we were secluded in the woods.
Oct 03, 2013
There needs to be a mirror at the entrance road - blind curve coming out for big rigs
Oct 03, 2013
great park,quiet,pleasant host,nice seperation easy leveling,good wifi an cable.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.