Charlottesville KOA

Open March 11 - November 13

Reserve: 434-296-9881

Info: 434-296-9881

Email

3825 Red Hill Road

Charlottesville, VA 22903-9710

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 29, 2016
Great location, nice pool, and very friendly and helpful staff. But...virtually no cell service, especially Verizon. WiFi was worthless. We had a dog along...glad to see there was a fenced play yard and walking path. Butthe path was so overgrown it was nothing but a tick habitat. One full side of the fenced play yard was a wall of poison ivy. The grounds around RV sites needed mowing.
Aug 29, 2016
This campground was quiet and clean. The staff was more than friendly and very helpful. I would revisit and recommend to family and friends. Thank you for a great stay.
Aug 29, 2016
I really liked this KOA. It felt much more like camping than a lot of KOAs do. It is in the woods and I will definitely camp here again. My only complaint was the Wifi did not work well and I actually needed it because I had no phone signal (that part I actually liked). If the Wifi was a bit better it would be perfect
Aug 26, 2016
Excellent campground. I will definitely stay here again!
Aug 26, 2016
I would rate this 4.5 stars. It is a very quiet campground and it is on a back road so it is very quiet. There is no Verizon service within the campground.
Aug 25, 2016
The KOA in Charlottesville is welcoming, clean and restful. We stayed 2 nights with 4 young children and were extremely satisfied with the facilities: pool, laundry, showers.
Aug 25, 2016
Great facilities. Loved the games room on the evening. More KOAs should have this. Pool is in a lovely location amongst the trees. Great ball game options too. Shop was good for souvenirs but hardly and meat in stock and shops are miles away. Luckily we got 2 steaks to BBQ. The fire pit could have done with a grating on top although we could have bought one. Washrooms clean. Staff friendly.
Aug 24, 2016
Campground is clean and the staff friendly. Great location for site-seeing. No Verizon cell service in the campground as well as some surrounding roads.
Aug 24, 2016
Awesome showers and laundry room. Very pretty campground.
Aug 24, 2016
Quick overnight. Nice facility nestled in the mountains. Quiet with friendly staff.
Aug 24, 2016
Beautiful location. Quiet. Helpful, friendly staff
Aug 22, 2016
Nice wide pull-throws sites was able to come in after hours. Staff very friendly
Aug 20, 2016
I always stay at this KOA when visiting the area. Like it very much.
Aug 20, 2016
Although it was a long trip into the woods we found the campground clean and inviting. We only stayed over one night but are looking forward to going back and spening some time.
Aug 18, 2016
Very tight turns and the site we were assigned to was not level. I had to move the motorhome to a level spot before I was able to hook it up. Is the circle in front of the office really necessary?
Aug 17, 2016
Aug 16, 2016
Very clean, staff were ready to go home when we checked in. For some reason, felt unsafe. Can't put my finger on it, just felt like security was non-existent. Nice large spaces. Great pool & dog walk. Thanks!
Aug 16, 2016
Great location, friendly staff, an all-around wonderful stay. The bathrooms were very clean as was the entire campground. It was fairly small, but we enjoyed that because amenities were not crowded. We'll definitely return next time we are in Charlottesville.
Aug 16, 2016
Our daughter attends UVA. We love this camp for the nice sites and its proximity to Charlottesville.
Aug 16, 2016
The worst experience ever at a KOA. Sent me out with two lots to look at by myself. The first was too short and the second was way too narrow. I would understand this better if the website did not brag about how they have changed the layout to accommodate newer campers. The lady in the office was combative regarding having my cell number which no other campground has ever "needed."

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We ask for a cell number in case we need to reach you while you are out or just after you leave. We have had campers leave with compartment doors open or antennas up. Once someone dropped their wallet getting into their truck when he left so we called his cell. It's for your benefit not ours.
Aug 15, 2016
Nice location close to Monticello (15min drive) which was the main reason for us staying here on out what from Blue Ridge Pway to the VA coast. Nice pool for a cooling off.
Aug 15, 2016
Nice
Aug 15, 2016
Staff was great. Site and facilities were very clean. Great place to camp.
Aug 15, 2016
Great and friendly staff. Clean facilities and campground well maintained
Aug 15, 2016
Advertises "Big rig friendly". Well, just barely. Exterior and interior roads too narrow for a 43' motorhome. Sites are not level, and night time security lighting is ZERO! It gets dark in the deep woods! Wifi and cell are nonexistant. Poor value for typical high KOA price.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have 40' fifth wheels and 45' Motor homes towing come here all the time. For some drivers it's no sweat for other drivers it is a big deal. Driving a large rig is not for everyone. The only lights we have at night are on the buildings. That way there aren't bright lights shining in RVs at night.
Aug 15, 2016
Other than the rainy night we had a great time. Very close to interstate 64. Clean, quiet. Friendly staff!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are 9 miles from I-64
Aug 13, 2016
Enjoyed very much.The drive way needs to be widener. Little hard to get into. Everyone was very nice.
Aug 12, 2016
Very noisy, even late in the evening. Seemed to be quite the party spot.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This was addressed and the music was off by 11:15 pm. The following night I didn't see anyone from any of those sites outside after 10 pm.
Aug 11, 2016
A beautiful setting! We loved it!
Aug 11, 2016
Pool was slightly better then poor.People had there radios blaring ,police where called by a neighboring camper.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This was addressed and the music was off by 11:15 pm. The following night I didn't see anyone from any of those sites outside after 10 pm.
Aug 10, 2016
Could do better !! No ventilation in the men's room. RV site not that clean. Cable tv reception was terrible .
Aug 10, 2016
We had a one night stay in our motorhome. We appreciated the option of being able to select our spot from several sites. Service at check in was good. We did not have a chance to utilize any of the amenities but it was a good stay and we would definitely return if in the area again.
Aug 10, 2016
Love the rustic setup will full country quiet. Folks who complain about road noise and railroads need to stop here.
Aug 09, 2016
Pulled in just before closing, got a pull-thru spot. Folks in the office were very nice and accommodating. Only complaint is that the trees & bushes need a big trimming out. We have a big rig and it was worrisome to try & navigate the roads with branches sticking out.
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
very clean, nice amenties, we had a very pleasant stay.
Aug 07, 2016
We have stayed at this KOA for years. We love the small, quiet KOA. Very clean and always supper friendly. Dean and his family do a wonderful job.
Aug 06, 2016
Clean, well managed, very quiet and close to downtown. CAUTION - 2 left hand turns required when leaving on dangerous blind curves.
Aug 06, 2016
Would certainly not be my 1st or possibly even 2nd choice if Charlottesville had other options closer to local attractions, Bathrooms were clean and well taken care of, pool was quite usable but sites, although maintained, left much to desire. We were in trees and area behind RV never dried so supported mega ant population which totally invaded unit. First time ever in 5 years of RVing.
Aug 06, 2016
This was our first stay at a KOA.First,Sandy in the office was very friendly.The campground was clean and the pool area well maintained. However,our pull thru site #19 was very disappointing! We were NOT looking for a stop over for the night.we wanted to unpack and enjoy the cool mountain air.Instead we were stuck with no grass and a rocky base. Very disappointed not at all what was expected.
Aug 06, 2016
Sites weren't level and water and electric hookups were covered in weeds. Too far back in woods and I didn't feel comfortable. Roads were tight to navigate a 40' RV w/tow.
Aug 05, 2016
Very pleasant and clean campground. Helpful sweet staff. I'll use this again anytime I'm stopping in this area.
Aug 05, 2016
Restrooms were clean and attractive. Site was comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful-led me to my site.
Aug 03, 2016
Campground is just ok. However, cell phone service & internet is so poor I cannot recommend. Does not meet KOA standards.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have no control over cell phone service. However, I had been on the phone with our internet provider for the past month because we had been running at 1/3 of our speed. Apparently, mice had eaten through the line in a farm 2 miles from the campground. They assured me the issue has been remedied.
Aug 01, 2016
Nice friendly staff and quite place to stay. Bathrooms need to be cleaner though.
Jul 31, 2016
This KOA is nothing like a standard KOA. This is a hole in the woods. It is 8 miles of the interstate down a winding road. The entrance is on a blind curve. The lots are sqeezed together it has stagnant water around the sites. Our site was not even close to being level. The pool area is to far the the camping area. Left as soon as we could, so we can not say anything about the staff. Stay away!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience. You arrived after dark during a rain storm and set up in the dark. You might not have backed into the site properly. It's always harder to back in and set up in the dark. We had 3 days of powerful thunderstorms so the ground may have been saturated in certain areas.
Jul 30, 2016
Well, it's a good location . You are near vineyards and town things to do. Staff was friendly . The only problem we had was that our 30amp power went out in the middle of the night. Thank God I'm the morning we found our 50amp converter! It was our saving grace! Cable connections were fuzzy too. But other than that, it's an okay campground. We stayed 3 nights in our 5th wheel .
Jul 30, 2016
Very nice and friendly staff. Very close Monticello!
Jul 30, 2016
your park was the furthest from the highway on a very winding and narrow road
Jul 28, 2016
Nice little campground. The RV sites were not very private, but some nice ones on the edges. The pool was well kept. Bathrooms clean, showers really nice. The horseshoe pits and basketball courts edged on the woods, so stray balls and shoes would end up in the brush.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals