Charlottesville KOA

3825 Red Hill Road

Charlottesville, VA 22903-9710

Reserve: 800-562-1743

Info: 434-296-9881

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
It was my grandmother's first time camping and it was great!
Aug 06, 2013
Clean bathrooms and kabin! Communication was great especially concerning my very late arrival! Looking forward to another kamping trip at C-ville!
Aug 06, 2013
Cabin and restroom areas were clean. Operators were friendly. Store prices were the same as in town. Great location!
Aug 05, 2013
Dane and Ashley were great. Clean bathrooms and cabins.
Aug 05, 2013
Very clean bathrooms and showers!!!
Aug 02, 2013
The cabins were not as wooded as I would have liked. Our front porch looked out on the dumpster and a parking lot. The nature trail was in terrible shape and also the pool (although there was a sign saying that the pool will be renovated soon.)

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It is not possible to see the dumpster from any of our cabins. We also don't have any parking lots on our campground.
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
As always we enjoyed our stay, my only negative comment would be thata you need to take care of the over grown weeds at the pool. Everything else was great.!!!
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Very clean, secluded campground!
Jul 29, 2013
Couldn't say enough good things. Cabin was perfect, everything was very clean, staff was super friendly and we really enjoyed our stay. It was our first time at a KOA and we will definitely be back. Many thanks!
Jul 29, 2013
The owners of this camp-ground are superb! We loved our stay and would recommend going there. Our only complaint, our bed was as hard as ply-wood. Ouch. We stayed in the new cabin, k1, and all beds were comfy except for the adult queen. Please put a ticker mattress on it. Otherwise, lovely!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The mattresses are only hard because they are so new and stiff, once they are "broken in" they aren't hard.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
All great! Staff was nice, the grounds were well kept, pool area was clean, bathrooms and our cabin were all clean and well cared for. Would recommend and will be back!
Jul 22, 2013
We enjoyed our stay here. It is a smaller KOA. We stayed in a one room cabin. It was very clean and comfortable. The cabin had AC which was great on a hot day. One other review complained about the pine smell of the cabin. This was a non factor for us. Would recommend this place for a night stay. Not as much as a vacation spot due to its size and offerings. But it worked great for us.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
I had a meeting in Charlottesville and wanted to avoid the expensive hotels. The campground was close to Monticello and the downtown mall area. I am glad we were in a cabin since it rained almost the entire time. The cabin was clean and dry! The bathhouse was very clean and close to our cabin. The staff were friendly and I will be staying here again on my next trip.
Jul 15, 2013
This young couple is trying, and succeeding, at making this campground exceptional. It's smaller and quieter than most which is exactly what I'm looking for in camping. Our cabin was new and super clean, with a TV/DVD for rainy evenings. Really enjoyed our stay and will be back.
Jul 15, 2013
Generally we had a good experience at Charlottesville KOA. The day we wanted to go out to sightseeing, we had to wait an extra 15 minutes for the office attendant to arrive at work. It was pouring rain so she may have been held up because of that.
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Very quiet campground.The bathrooms were clean.The pool needed a little makeover.overall very nice family owned campground!
Jul 10, 2013
We had a great stay at the Charlottesville KOA...the staff was very friendly, the pool (although old) was clean, and the camp ground was quiet at night. This is not one of those highly manicured and grassy campgrounds...it is woodsy. The cabins were clean, nice and fairly new.
Jul 02, 2013
Wonderful Kampground - great people, very clean. The Kabin was excellent and Charlottesville was a great place to visit too!
Jul 02, 2013
a lovely little cabin in some beautiful woods, with NO mosquitoes! we had a great time.
Jul 01, 2013
Very clean and quiet kampground. Bathhouse was clean, Dane and Ashley very friendly. Would definitely consider returning to kamp.
Jun 28, 2013
Thank you~~~ im good
Jun 24, 2013
This is a GREAT campground! It's clean and neat and quiet. I hope they will one day have at least one small cabin that will be pet-friendly. Other than that, it's perfect and I'll be visiting again.
Jun 24, 2013
it was good, very clean, cabins were not on top of each other.was very relaxing.
Jun 24, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The cabin was clean and the campground was quiet. Great stay.
Jun 22, 2013
I would have given 5 stars, but the beds were very hard. Next time I will bring a topper for the beds. The cabin's were very clean, the staff were friendly, the pool was clean and the kids had fun with the pedal cars. The cottage cabin's had a bathroom and kitchenette that were very clean. The main bathrooms were also clean.
Jun 18, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
We had a fantastic stay at the KOA in Charlottesville, Virginia. We visited the area to tour Monticello and Montpelier. The location was great and the cabin was much bigger and nicer than we expected. Many great restaurants can be found nearby. This was our first time at a KOA campground and I have already booked another stay. The kids had a great time at the pool :)
Jun 17, 2013
Bad weather always put a damper on a vacation, but your facilities made a potential disaster into an awesome adventure. My only suggestion for improvement is to add butt cans to the porches so that a cleaner site can be made.
Jun 16, 2013
The location and surroundings were wonderful but I was disappointed by some of the staff members. Most were polite but more than one made me feel unwelcome and unwanted. It would be great to see improvements in the game room but as a campground, the arcade was pretty on par.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I think you may be talking about a different campground with a larger staff. There are only 2 of us that run the Charlottesville KOA campground.
Jun 13, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
Nice quite place to stay, and the staff was very helpful with questions. The beaver pond a nice place to see in the evening, and watch them swim.
May 30, 2013
This was our first stay at a KOA and we would definitely chose to stay there again over any hotel.
May 20, 2013
The Staff was very welcoming and friendly. We stayed here for UVA Graduation weekend in a 2 room cabin. The cabin was clean and roomy and EVERYTHING worked perfectly. Bathrooms were clean and always stocked,and had plenty of hot water. We will definitely return. Thanks.
May 19, 2013
Everything from the customer service of the owners down to the beautiful amenities of the cabin we rented we had a great time. This took the stress out of looking for a house!! Thank you
May 18, 2013
Had a great time at this campground. Was in town for a Triathlon and had a very comfortable stay. The larger cottages are the way to go with all the basic ammenities you would need. The staff at the front office was very friendly too! My kids enjoyed the playground with sandbox and the walk down to the beaver pond. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a weekend escape.
May 13, 2013
May 12, 2013
The best! Simply the best! :-)
May 08, 2013
Everything was great. Would suggest opening the ends by the bath/showers and closeing off the middle. That way people wouldn't have to step into the street to get into the facilities.
May 06, 2013
Apr 22, 2013
Dane and family were so friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to anticipate our needs. We will definitely be coming back!
Apr 22, 2013
Thanks so much for a very comfortable stay! Loved the area and thanks for being so flexible with our last minute guests. God Bless. We will be back.
Apr 22, 2013
Apr 17, 2013
Wonderful always helpful/inviting staff; beautiful (clean) property.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.