Charlottesville KOA

Open March 11 - November 13

Reserve: 434-296-9881

Info: 434-296-9881


3825 Red Hill Road

Charlottesville, VA 22903-9710

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Oct 13, 2016
Very cozy and well maintained. Convenient to many Charlottesville attractions.
Oct 10, 2016
Everything was great. The hosts were nice and very helpful. I enjoyed my time there.
Oct 04, 2016
Great camping area and wonderful people
Sep 28, 2016
The staff was very helpful, and since heavy rain was expected late in the night, we had to make changes to more cabins, less tent sites. Thank God and thanks to the staff we could still make the changes. The tenters got wet, but most of the kids stayed dry. Everyone had a happy night and morning! Wonderful facilities, cabins, grounds.
Sep 27, 2016
This was our second cabin stay at this location and everything was perfect. We look forward to returning again.
Sep 26, 2016
We use this campground 3-4 times per year. Campground is quiet, neat & clean. We have stayed in cabins 2,5&6. This was our first time in #2 and it was by far my favorite
Sep 21, 2016
The cottage with linens is great!
Sep 12, 2016
Everything was perfect!
Sep 12, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff. Cabin cottage was great and spacious for our family.
Sep 11, 2016
Even though it was after Labor Day weekend it would have been nice if they would have opened up the pool since it was 93 degrees. Bathrooms were clean, shop was convenient, cabin was just what we were looking for, but they smelled musty.We will be back next year! Thanks!


Our pool is still open. It will be closed 9/15.
Sep 10, 2016
Stayed in a cabin, mattresses very uncomfortable, grounds could be better maintained with mowing and trimming, pool area nice, but pool needs to be repainted and the fence around the pool is covered in weeds and shrubs. Did not see any camp hosts and after the camp store closes the campground does not appear to be very secure. Restroom very clean. Great location and should be a top notch KOA


Everyone here wearing yellow is a camp host. We also have an after hours security number so that we are always available even after the store closes.
Sep 06, 2016
The campground is small and quaint. Very relaxing and the ladies that work at the office were extremely nice and helpful! We were able to get a last minute reservation and stayed in one of the small cabins. It was so clean and cozy. Have already recommended the campground to a few people.
Sep 02, 2016
Everything was terrific. The bathroom was very clean everyday and the people in the office were friendly and helpful! Thank you!
Aug 31, 2016
Quiet, clean, very nice and helpful staff.
Aug 28, 2016
We have stayed at the Charlottesville campground many times and it is like coming home. Love this place and the family that runs it.
Aug 28, 2016
Staff was friendly and grounds were clean. Bed was sort of uncomfortable in the smaller cabin we stayed in. Also, the AC was quite dirty and we had to spray air freshener in the cabin.
Aug 26, 2016
Quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed our visit and will be back again. Thank you!
Aug 18, 2016
Two adults & two boys 8 & 10. Two very hot days. Window AC was inadequate even with the ceiling fan on high. Pool was just adequate but walls need a good cleaning. The scum on the walls ha served as a writing board. Unlike most campgrounds, this KOA had no outside water faucets at each cabin...a certain negative.
Aug 12, 2016
Well wooded, the natural aspects were wonderful, but the bathrooms, while clean, held odors that persistently lingered and made them seem not clean.


If this is the case, please let us know. We have bathroom sprays for odors.
Aug 08, 2016
The pool was filthy!! It is summertime and we had kids that could NOT swim like they had hoped.


Our pool is chemically treated every day and vacuumed multiple times a week. While you were here we had horrific storms each day. Are you referring to leaves and branches blowing into the pool after heavy storms or bugs that like to congregate near water?
Aug 02, 2016
Love this camp ground.
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 29, 2016
Jul 29, 2016
I recently stayed in a 2 room cabin with my husband and 3 daughters. We all had a wonderful time at the KOA. We were close enough to town to go shopping and the pool at the camp grounds was perfect for our kids to enjoy. The water was the perfect temperature and we all can't wait to plan another relaxing visit.
Jul 25, 2016
Staff were wonderful, the bathrooms very clean, and the scenery lovely - Well done :-)
Jul 24, 2016
Jul 21, 2016
We had a pleasant cottage close to the facilities and little store in the campgrounds. All was clean and very nice. The only negative we could possibly add is that the television did not work well with very poor reception and not many channels had sound. It was minor negative , though , because we came to get away from the t.v. actually.


We had a thunder storm the night before your arrival and lightning struck somewhere on the campground and we lost power. We also lost a TV in the cabin next to you and the cable went out in all the cabins. We didn't know about the cabin cable or TV loss until you told us at check out. So, Thank you!
Jul 19, 2016
My reservation was alomost cancelled by the staff. Directions to the Kabin were extremely difficult to find. I will not recommed this place to anyone. There are nicer and friendlier campgrounds in Charlottesville.


We weren't going to cancel your reservation. You arrived before checkout and we didn't have a clean cabin available yet. We said it would be 20 minutes. When the cabin was ready you drove out waving us off and didn't come back all day. We only called before closing to check if you were coming back.
Jul 18, 2016
Stayed for the weekend & the cabin was clean and the AC worked great!
Jul 16, 2016
The bathrooms were the cleanest we've seen at the KOAs we've been to. Staff was friendly and very helpful.
Jul 16, 2016
The grounds were not well-maintained. The horseshoe pits looked decrepit. Our cabin was the only one without a deadbolt. Just very unimpressive. The worst KOA I have stayed at.
Jul 14, 2016
Very clean facilities, nice pool, shady spots, cabin was great. We've stayed in KOA's all over the US and found this one to be exceptional! Thank you for making our stay in Charlottesville fun and restful!
Jul 13, 2016
We enjoyed the campground and the surrounding areas. Very pretty.
Jul 12, 2016
While the campground is small and doesn't have some of the amenities of others such as pool slide or jump bean, it was very cozy. Stayed in cabin 3. Liked how it was tucked away into the woods. The store was well atocked and the staff helpful and polite.
Jul 11, 2016
Clean...quite...very nice camp ground. Cabins were perfect in mid July when it's too hot for tent camping.
Jul 08, 2016
Wonderful staff, clean facilities, beautiful setting ....
Jul 06, 2016
Clean campground, friendly staff, plenty of hot water for showers. Cabin was comfortable with air conditioning. This is a small campground and everything is close. Beautiful pond and 1/2 mile nature trail (wear long pants!) provided a nice respite after a long day in the car. We didn't swim, but the pool looked clean and comfortable. Would stay at again if in the area!
Jun 27, 2016
Jun 27, 2016
This was our second stay at your KOA. We are not into tent camping so the rustic & cozy cabins are great. The gift shop had all the little things we forgot to pack. We love that we can be in such a woodsy setting, yet just 10 minutes from downtown C-Ville. We'll be back!
Jun 24, 2016
Facilities all very clean and operable, friendly folks, helpful staff!
Jun 19, 2016
would stay again, and again.
Jun 16, 2016
We have three teenagers, and chose the KOA because their cabins had more room for 5 people than a typical hotel room. The front office staff was very helpful. Bathrooms and cabin were clean. We enjoyed the swimming pool and game room with the kids. It was a great place for us to stay during our trip to Charlottesville!
Jun 16, 2016
clean accommodations, super friendly people running the place, good knowledge of attractions. Would definitely stay again.
Jun 15, 2016
Great !!!
Jun 06, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at your KOA. That was the first time we utilized the cabins and thank goodness because a major thunder/lightning/rain storm came through at night and being in the cabin was fantastic. I really don't have anything negative to say...we visited Monticello and drove there and back easily.
May 31, 2016
My family and I had a great time at the Charlottesville KOA over Memorial Day weekend. The cabin, site,and grounds, were well kept, and the activities were fun! Thanks Charlottesville KOA!
May 31, 2016
kids need more activity and play area.
May 24, 2016
Thank you for a wonderful time. Campground was clean. Bathrooms and shows areas were clean and neat. We really enjoyed our stay!
May 23, 2016
Charlottesville KOA is like our home away from home. Clean bathrooms, clean cabins, overall great.
May 16, 2016
Nice, clean bathrooms, friendly staff and very nice cabins. Will come back!

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals