Charlottesville KOA

Open March 15 - November 12

Reserve: 434-296-9881

Info: 434-296-9881

Email

3825 Red Hill RD

Charlottesville, VA 22903

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 24, 2017
Wonderful two-day stay in Charlottesville! We got to see Appomattox and Monticello. The KOA was very convenient for us and the facilities were excellent. We met a lovely family while doing laundry. My wife and I were traveling together, the other couple was traveling with 3 kids and a dog. That mom was amazingly organized!!
Jul 24, 2017
Clean grounds but nature trail and pond left little to be desired. Close to all the area attractions.
Jul 24, 2017
The only thing I have a problem with is the fact that the pool is painted olive green. It makes the water look nasty and I'm not sure how you can see a problem with the water.
Jul 24, 2017
I have been to a number of KOA campgrounds. For tent camping with another family, the site we had was perfect for both convenience and privacy and range of play for our collective there boys. They had the opportunity to do together ball, play in the playground, swim every day, and go on the nature hike. As adults, we had the opportunity to hang out without feeling either crowded or neglectful.
Jul 24, 2017
We enjoyed our stay and appreciated the amenities offered, especially the pool. The hot weather while we were there made the pool a must! The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Thanks for a great experience!
Jul 24, 2017
The tent sites were extremely small and close together, they make state parks seem spacious. The entire campground was very poorly lit, I walked right by my tent. The bathrooms are old and there aren't enough of them for the amount of camp sites they have crammed in. My family and I have enjoyed many nights at several KOAs, they generally are a cut above most campgrounds, this one wasn't.
Jul 24, 2017
Sites were conveniently located to bathrooms, however they were not very clean. One shower had feces in it which made the whole bath house smell. The pool was over chlorinated and very dated. It had not been cleaned in many days, as the steps had build up and were slippery from that film. Overall we were only there one night so it was doable but I would not have stayed much longer.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The second someone informed us that someone had pooped in the shower I cleaned it up. By the size of it, it looked like a child probably had an accident while they were bathing and either didn't tell their parent or they told their parent and their parent was too inconsiderate to clean it up or inform us about it. I'm so sorry you had to witness other people's indecency during your stay with us.
Jul 23, 2017
It would be nice to have a few more trash cans around the campground.
Jul 23, 2017
Staff seems to hate their job. Campsites pretty much in a gravel parking lot. Will not be returning.
Jul 22, 2017
Always wishing the bathrooms would be newer, cleaner, better maintained. That's what keeps us away from camping. The bathrooms here were similar to other KOA's, not great.
Jul 22, 2017
Very pleasant stay and very close to everything we wanted to see.
Jul 22, 2017
This is a great park. Clean and nice with a great staff!
Jul 22, 2017
The proximity of this KOA to Monticello and Charlottesville is great. Poor cellular coverage made it difficult to connect to internet. Restrooms/showers and laundry facilities are clean and maintained. We would stay here again.
Jul 21, 2017
beautiful campground.
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 19, 2017
It is a wonderful KOA. First time in a teepee and it was great.
Jul 19, 2017
Jul 19, 2017
Nice clean campground. Friendly staff. Campground was quiet at nite. Lots of things to do around the campground. Will visit this KOA again!
Jul 19, 2017
Nice park ,thanks
Jul 18, 2017
Wonderful campground staff was awesome and tons of things to do in the area!!!! Will be back to stay at this one for sure
Jul 18, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
This is a very nice KOA. Conveniently located close to a lot of the places we wanted to see. Only downside was the spotty and inconsistent WI-FI service.
Jul 17, 2017
Wonderful, clean KOA.
Jul 17, 2017
our campsite was the best ever Ed
Jul 17, 2017
We love this KOA, have been going here for 10+ years. Our group has always had a great time and the staff is very accommodating.
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 16, 2017
Great place to stay. Pool was great for the kids. Shower house was spotless. Great place to stay!!
Jul 15, 2017
Staff; friendly. Pool; nice and warm but quite a hike. Grounds; tidy, but no cable, sketchy cell reception, No area for dogs but a hard to find trail with horrible ticks! I had one on me within about 50', we jogged the rest of the way. I put my 17# dog up on a picnic table & picked 5 off of him. Once in the RV, I found 4 more Glad he is mostly white and not bigger!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have cable, and we have a dog park. We also have ticks and other bugs and animals in the woods, just like everywhere else on the east coast. Remember, if an area has a mild winter the bugs in the summer are going to be plentiful.
Jul 14, 2017
Had a good stay but only one night. Clean and quiet. Will be coming back thru in a few weeks.
Jul 14, 2017
Stayed in a camping cabin. Was very nice. Staff very helpful and informative about things to do in area. Bathrooms house clean and spacious.
Jul 14, 2017
We enjoyed the surroundings. They were beautiful and peaceful. The amenities met our needs. We would definitely recommend this camp ground.
Jul 14, 2017
Very peaceful and quiet place with lots to see and do there! Highly recommend moose restaurant!
Jul 14, 2017
Got in late, so we did not get a chance to utilize the resort much. Facilities were clean and well maintained. Friendly staff !!
Jul 13, 2017
Quiet location. We had what was classed as large pull thru site. It was half moon shaped which would have required backing our 40' motorhome out of the site if the back=in one in front of us had been occupied.
Jul 13, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. The pool was warm and the RV site was clean and neat. The staff was very helpful and kind. We know it's hard work to keep a campground, and appreciate all your hard work. Regards, The Adams family
Jul 13, 2017
May of the sites were crowded without a sense of privacy. Pool was dated. The grounds could use some attention and the nature paths are overgrown.
Jul 13, 2017
Hookups and water was great. Grounds nice and clean with easy pull thru. Good place to park for visiting Charlottsville but long windy trek into town. Activity for camping is minimal other than the pool; nothing to do there but relaxing great if that's what you need. Cable was sparse on channels WiFi--intermittent to the point of aggravation.
Jul 13, 2017
Staff was very friendly and knowledgable of the area. Grounds were woodsy and peaceful. Kids loved the pool. I enjoyed this KOA very much. We had a nice restful and fun time. Would definitely come again.
Jul 12, 2017
Nice surroundings and enjoyed using the pavillion. Clean bathhouses.
Jul 12, 2017
Nice sites, great woodsy location. Nature trail and fishing pond were nice. Wifi was spotty at best, hence the 4 star rating instead of 5
Jul 12, 2017
Everyone was very nice, the grounds were very clean, we felt very welcome during our stay and can't wait to come back again
Jul 12, 2017
Friendly host!
Jul 11, 2017
We stayed at the campground between travels, the young man who checked us in was very polite and helpful.The campsite was good for our short stay and the only big complaint I have is the bath house is not air conditioned! It's not a good feeling when you get out of the shower and feel like you need to get back in. Installing air would also keep the humidity down making the bathroom a cleaner place
Jul 11, 2017
Beautiful grounds and loved the extra clean bathhouse. Would have liked if the pool stayed open after 8 and the store after 7 or so. Thank you
Jul 11, 2017
I'm sure it was a beautiful campground in its day but it needs some upgrades and pool and grounds maintenance. The employees in the store were very nice.
Jul 10, 2017
The campground is well kept and clean. We had a very relaxing time and will be back.
Jul 10, 2017
Great staff! We feel like family at the Charlottesville KOA!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You are welcome, anytime!
Jul 10, 2017
The campground is clean and quiet. The irregular layout of the sites causes it to seem very crowded and without privacy. Water pressure was very low. Couldn't have evening visitors for dinner without paying extra, which seems a bit over the top.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Visitors have full use of our facilities. The more people on the campground the more things get used, the more it costs. Be mindful that most campgrounds charge visitor fees, whether they are staying over night or not.
Jul 09, 2017
We had site 11, private, quite and restful. No problem with our 32 foot 55th wheel.
Jul 09, 2017
Very average KOA. Needs some pad cleanup. Cable TV was lousy and WiFi mediocre. Not very close to downtown but good proximity to wineries and breweries Would only stay there again if everything else was full.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals