Charlottesville KOA

3825 Red Hill Road

Charlottesville, VA 22903-9710

Reserve: 434-296-9881

Info: 434-296-9881

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2013
Campground was nice and wooded, rest rooms very clean, staff was accommodating and helpful with things to do in the area. Definitely will stay here again.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Had great time visiting the area winerys and historical sights. We will return to finish the sights and rest of the winerys.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
I am a tent camper. I arrived during a thunderstorm & 5 of the 6 available tent sites had so much water running through them that there was no high spot on which to setup even a small backpack sized tent. All of the sites are small & close together. This KOA might be OK for an RV but a would not recommend it for tent camping.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately, when it rains, all of our sites get wet.
Jul 23, 2013
The campgroundwasvery nice, but the roads getting to it are terrible to drive with a large RV towing a car.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Always use the suggested route to a location recommended by that location...not the GPS.
Jul 22, 2013
Nice campground. The electrical outlet was wired with the polarity backwards which is not great for a trailer electrical system.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
All great! Staff was nice, the grounds were well kept, pool area was clean, bathrooms and our cabin were all clean and well cared for. Would recommend and will be back!
Jul 22, 2013
This was our maiden voyage with our new pop up trailer. Luckily, a young man named Dane was able to fix all the problems we came across. Our 3 year old grandson and his grandmother were thrilled to see four beavers in the beaver pond. Overall it was a great stay.
Jul 22, 2013
We enjoyed our stay here. It is a smaller KOA. We stayed in a one room cabin. It was very clean and comfortable. The cabin had AC which was great on a hot day. One other review complained about the pine smell of the cabin. This was a non factor for us. Would recommend this place for a night stay. Not as much as a vacation spot due to its size and offerings. But it worked great for us.
Jul 22, 2013
Nice large site, quiet, no problems, Pool was a bit far, but we didn't use anyway. Would go back
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Wonderful stay.
Jul 20, 2013
I only wish the office would stay open longer at this campground but with other KOA sites. We like ice cream after dinner but they are closed when we want to go. 7pm is a bit early to close. I also think KOA should look into recycling at all there sites.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I think you are mistaken. We were open until 8pm during your stay and we recycle!
Jul 19, 2013
Nice fellow checked us in. Well maintained campground in general. Although the pool was clean it could use a new paint job and concrete repair job. Enjoyed the quiet country setting. Great location for exploring the presidential homes. This was our second stay in a year. Helpful staff.
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
really nice spaces and wonderful people
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
the only problem I had was I did not know how to turn the lights on in the ladies room, it is on a timer but the ink on the letters was missing I had no idea that was to turn on the lights!
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
I had a meeting in Charlottesville and wanted to avoid the expensive hotels. The campground was close to Monticello and the downtown mall area. I am glad we were in a cabin since it rained almost the entire time. The cabin was clean and dry! The bathhouse was very clean and close to our cabin. The staff were friendly and I will be staying here again on my next trip.
Jul 16, 2013
We stayed at a tent site w/ electric. The site was partially shaded, plenty of space, and all sites had a firepit (with grill attachment) and picnic table. Camp store was stocked with useful items and dry firewood, and the restroom/shower facilities were clean and functional. Great stay, close to the area's historical site, and we would definately stay here again.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
This young couple is trying, and succeeding, at making this campground exceptional. It's smaller and quieter than most which is exactly what I'm looking for in camping. Our cabin was new and super clean, with a TV/DVD for rainy evenings. Really enjoyed our stay and will be back.
Jul 15, 2013
Generally we had a good experience at Charlottesville KOA. The day we wanted to go out to sightseeing, we had to wait an extra 15 minutes for the office attendant to arrive at work. It was pouring rain so she may have been held up because of that.
Jul 15, 2013
We had a great stay. It was peaceful and the hosts were very friendly.
Jul 15, 2013
Very quiet and clean. Sites are nice and big.
Jul 15, 2013
The campground is clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Gave us several suggestions for dinner, finding an orchard and sightseeing. Also found us a local map. My only disappointment is that the sites are long, but close side by side. Great campground.
Jul 15, 2013
This KOA needs considerable up-grading. The RV sites were functional but lacked visual appeal with rotting timbers around the utilities and a lack of definition around the fire pits and picnic tables. There were no grill stands or grills attached to the fire pits. The laundry was not air conditioned and the cost of the washers and dryers seemed to be excessive. NOT a Presidential Award KOA.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
Campgrounds sites were clean and staff very courteous. Showers and washrooms were especially well looked after.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Cordial staff and great location!
Jul 13, 2013
Had a wonderful time. very friendly and helpful. Love the peace and quiet
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
There were no problems and the people were very nice, as at nearly all KOAs. Site was tight and a bit hard to navigate tight curves. Pool very nice although remote,
Jul 12, 2013
Aside from great location, the grounds are clean and comfortable. The staff always very helpful.
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Friendly hosts!
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.