Charlottesville KOA

3825 Red Hill Road

Charlottesville, VA 22903-9710

Reserve: 434-296-9881

Info: 434-296-9881

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 26, 2013
My family and I enjoy the Charlottlesville KOA very, very much! The showers were very nice and clean! We tell ALL of our friends! The staff was very helpful and thoughtful. The campground is well taken care of!
Oct 26, 2013
Quiet, beautiful setting, nice pull-throughs.
Oct 26, 2013
The staff is friendly, and the pet walk/ nature walk is quite nice, a good way to de-kink after a drive, although we really like a fenced dog area. The sites are quite close together, and there are free roaming cats that got our dogs going; normally, they don't make a sound when we travel with them. For us, we would probably not stay here again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are putting in a fenced dog area this winter, yay! Also, there is ONE outdoor cat on the campground. If you saw others, they could have been neighbors' cats or other RVers'. It's hard to keep animals from wandering around in nature. There are a lot of squirrels and crows here too.
Oct 25, 2013
The road getting there was fun to say the least. The campground was very nice. Staff was excellent. We will be back.
Oct 25, 2013
Staff was friendly and helpful. Facilities were clean and had an abundance of hot water for showers and utility sink. Was our second time here and will probably return in the future.
Oct 23, 2013
It was a okay no problems only there one night
Oct 22, 2013
small, well appointed campground with great staff. My only complaint is that there is an extra charge for children which I find ridiculous.
Oct 22, 2013
Everything was awesome! The owners are super friendly and very informed. The cabin was clean and nice. The grounds are enjoyable.
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
thank you for the weekend and putting me in line with the rest of my family. really liked my spot.
Oct 21, 2013
Site was not level and not much space. There are people that live there in their rv and it smelled like dog poop all around. There were at least 10 cats and several dogs at one site. It was a bit uncomfortable. Transiting people should be separate from permanent. Not as nice as other koa. Stayed down the road much cheaper for same type of place.
Oct 21, 2013
We had a great time visiting and plan to visit again soon.
Oct 21, 2013
Awesome Koa- best I've stayed at yet! Great owners, wonderful facilities, beautiful area. There was one group of drunk college students who ruined the night w loud music and profanity until 1am despite attempts to quiet them down but otherwise this Koa will definitely get my business again!
Oct 21, 2013
campground was perfect for what we came to Charlottsville to do. really just needs a heaping of TLC. Entrance loop a bit strange, dump station on main road coming in, blocks other exiting large rigs.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The main entrance road is 2 lanes wide, RVs have plenty of room to pass while other RVs are dumping.
Oct 21, 2013
Did not feel safe with a couple of obvious long term campers who did not keep campsite's clean. Campstore/check in smelled of cat litter and outdated. Host were friendly enough but seemed overwhelmed by operational mgmt.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Careful with assumptions. The next site was there for a week with a bag of firewood, not a bag of trash. A cat outside doesn't mean there was ever a cat or litter inside the office. Being unable to change your site means we're booked and others made reservations first, not that we're overwhelmed.
Oct 20, 2013
Oct 19, 2013
Oct 18, 2013
This is a nice little campground. It was quiet. the bathrooms and showers were clean and the staff was helpful and polite,,,
Oct 18, 2013
Had a great time! The cabin was adorable, and staff was helpful and kind. We will most definitely be back
Oct 17, 2013
had a very relaxing stay.will definatley be coming back
Oct 17, 2013
We LOVE staying at KOA Charlottesville! Dane and Ashley always remember my family AND our preferences in camping accommodations. We will definitely be back!!
Oct 16, 2013
Clean and quiet sites. Facilities well kept. Owners are wonderful. Will keep coming back and would recommend it to anyone.
Oct 16, 2013
We had a nice stay in a 2 bedroom, no bathroom kabin. The only suggestion I would make is that it would be a better setup to have the full size bed in the back of the cabin and bunks in the front, because in the middle of the night when people went to the bathroom they had to walk through the front room and the room with the double bed should be the private one not the one with bunks.
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
There was on camper in motorhome who looked to be semi-permanent. Site was in our view, trashed, stunk, 2 dogs which barked alot.
Oct 14, 2013
The larger cabin with the full bath was excellent for our family weekend camping trip. Besides the weather which was a drizzle rain most solid the weekend was the only negative part. But it was a really fun time sitting around the camp fire. We didn't let the eau stop us from cooking and being outdoors. A fun time! Thank you, we love renting the larger cabins with the full bath.
Oct 14, 2013
Great stay even with the rain. Special thanks to the lady in the front office who helped us get back the knife my daughter lost.
Oct 14, 2013
Everything we needed for a great weekend! Thanks!
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
It was comfortable, but rained the whole time. Thank goodness we stayed in a cabin. We felt the cabins were overpriced for the amenities. There were a lot of children.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
Staff great.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 13, 2013
Close to Monticello. The site was adequate. Bathhouse nice and clean.
Oct 12, 2013
Oct 12, 2013
Oct 12, 2013
We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins for the first time and loved it! The campground was very clean and everyone we met was super friendly! We will definitely be back!
Oct 12, 2013
Oct 12, 2013
Oct 11, 2013
A hidden gem to visit while the leaves turn and everyone else is immersed in the bustle of life. Solitude and snuggles on the porch swing are unparalleled!
Oct 11, 2013
one of the best KOA's we've stayed at.
Oct 11, 2013
It was very clean, friendly and just plain great.
Oct 11, 2013
Liked it very much-very woodsy, nice flat gravel sites w complete hookups, clean BRs, and good laundry facilities. Bought some well-priced supplies in the office/store. We liked that we were so far out in the country. Thank you.
Oct 11, 2013
Oct 11, 2013
Nice people good service.
Oct 11, 2013
The place was clean. Laundry was a touch high with a dryer not working well.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.