Charlottesville KOA

3825 Red Hill Road

Charlottesville, VA 22903-9710

Reserve: 434-296-9881

Info: 434-296-9881

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 30, 2014
Our stay at the campground was good. The showers/bathrooms were excellent. Because it was a slow day, we got to select a campsite from 6 available ones. Our only issue is that a camper arrived on the grounds some time after the store closed and decided to camp in a spot right next to us. He kept us awake for some time, erecting his tent, inflating his mattress,and talking on his cell phone.
Aug 30, 2014
I brought the young son of a friend of mine on his first overnight camping trip away from home. He was very pleased with the campground and wants to return. I liked it, too, and have never stayed at a KOA with cable TV furnished as part of the cabin rental. My only complaint at all is having difficulty connecting with the outside world by cell phone. Otherwise, the trip was very enjoyable.
Aug 29, 2014
Park is well managed. Had problems with the TV cable and they jumped right on it to fix it. Had some fluctuating power problems but worked through it. Park is clean and nice in a remote wooded area. Not a lot of big rig sites.
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 28, 2014
Not having cell phone service was a disappointing, but at least the internet was consistent. We had a buddy site with our friends and it was great. We really enjoyed our stay.
Aug 28, 2014
We came just before labor day weekend and stayed in a cabin. Everything was very clean and not crowded at all.
Aug 27, 2014
We had a great 2 night stay at the Charlottesville KOA! The staff was friendly and helpful, the convenience store was great for last minute items we had forgotten, and the bath facilities were clean. It's also not too far of a drive (~30 min) from James River Runners, which was what we planned for the weekend!
Aug 25, 2014
Good staff, pleasant surroundings
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 24, 2014
Staff very friendly and helpful; beautiful wooded site, bathrooms/showers very clean!
Aug 24, 2014
The price for this campground is high for the value. Bathrooms were clean but grounds were more like a poorly maintained state park campground. Nature path was hazardous and had a lot of poison ivy. Swimming pool area was poorly maintained. We chose this campground because it had the KOA name, and this is the second time we've used KOA, and the second time we have been disappointed!
Aug 24, 2014
Aug 24, 2014
The weather was poor but the service was not. The store had needed items and didn't gouge prices. I even got a refund for 1 night because of the bad weather.
Aug 24, 2014
Showers were small and dark. I would recommend this place only for an overnight stay. Dog park needs a lot more to it. It appears the an oops I forgot to put one in.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our off leash dog area was built this year. We have chosen not to put the fake dog furniture/exercise equipment in because we have heard they are just expensive aesthetics for dogs to pee on or mark their territory, and rarely get used.
Aug 22, 2014
Beautiful setting with plenty of trees and spacious spots.
Aug 21, 2014
This is a beautiful park in an attractive setting. It's great how the sites are carved into the landscape (and are level!), without detracting from it. We just stayed overnight in a pull-through on our way to New England and did not have to unhook our towed (yay!). We will definitely be back when we have more time to explore the area
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Pleasant very well groomed park. Friendly staff. Park layout maximizes available space while still providing a good degree of privacy. The terraced positioning of sites with hedge like small new growth trees separating was inspired.
Aug 20, 2014
Remote location with no cell service. Lots for Motorhome very narrow. Cable did not work. Weak Wi-Fi. No garbage pick up and no escort to lot. I expect better from a KOA

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you were dissatisfied. If you would like to be escorted to your site, you only need to ask. We do not allow garbage to be left outside due to the crows, squirrels, and other animals that go after it. If you have trouble with the cable or wifi, please let us know in the office so we can help.
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
Other than the lack of cell phone connectivity, this KOA was great. The staff was friendly and efficient, and the facility was clean and quiet.
Aug 18, 2014
Our site was nice and level, there weren't any noisy neighbors, the store was clean and management was very pleasant.
Aug 18, 2014
Very nice place. Only downside is the lack of cell phone reception.
Aug 18, 2014
Great campground, close to Charlottesville. Very friendly staff. Beautiful, wooded, level sites. I gave 4 stars because there is only 1 bathhouse, with only 3 showers.
Aug 18, 2014
only downside is the restrooms were depleted of TP by Sunday morning.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Everything was great. No complaints.
Aug 17, 2014
Our 4th visit to C'Ville KOA. We are always extremely satisfied. Ashley and Dane do a terrific job and are the nicest hosts. It was a relaxing visit. Thanks!
Aug 16, 2014
It was clean and tidy, though it is obviously an old campground in need of some TLC.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Very nice and clean. Only negative was the week WIFI signal.
Aug 15, 2014
every expectation was met& staff were very helpful & courteous restaurant recommendations were both excellent
Aug 14, 2014
It is neatly laid out. You have a nice dog walking trail which is just the right size. The camp ground was quiet which is nice, especially at night. We came from 29 and our GPS misdirected us. Not sure why. That was our only problem. Thank you for a nice camping experience. Georgette

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

When going to any location you are not familiar with, always follow the recommended route the location you are going to has suggested. It is not good to follow your GPS blindly.
Aug 13, 2014
Not a bad campground. Electric was stable. Poor cable, had to piggy back off neighbor to get good picture. Sites not level but manageable. Cell service (Verizon) no service. Would stay again when need to be in area. Maybe a winery tour in the fall.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

If you have an issue with the cable, please let the office know so we can fix it while you are here.
Aug 12, 2014
nice people running the office, easy to work with, clean campground, easy access
Aug 12, 2014
Loved it. Can't wait for the new pool and we will be back.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Overall this KOA was very nice, bathrooms were clean and campground was well maintaned. Pool was great, old, but just like everything was well cared for. We were in a tent site. Only thing that could have made the cooking a bite more easier would have need a stand up charcoal grill at the site. It did have a grate that you cod use over the firepit but this got really annoying after a few times.
Aug 10, 2014
great out of the way campground. neat beaver pond. staft great
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
The campground is small and difficult to drive in. I don't back in, only pull in. Your design made it impossible to pull into my site. It is the only KOA I have ever been to where the pool is removed from the area close to the main building. That is a real safety issue. I always enjoy staying in the Kabins. They are cozy and warm. Good way to stay dry when the weather changes. :o)

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The parking spot at your cabin can be pulled into or backed into (whatever your preference). The campground and the pool have been here since 1966. I assume the pool is where it is because of county zoning regulations. Unfortunately we are unable to pick it up and move it closer to the main building
Aug 08, 2014
Perfect location for big rig towing
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Small campground with great facility. Clean. Quiet. Thank you!
Aug 07, 2014
Perfect!
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.