Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 25, 2013
Sites are grass lanes between trees - poor drainage during heavy rain. No fire pits, grills, picnic tables require attention, roads are narrow with large potholes in the curves, WiFi access was minimal at back of park as was local TV coverage. Sewer covers to many sites not covering holes. Not exactly a premium site but called and billed as one.
Jul 25, 2013
Flies were terrible. Could not eat outside and enjoy weather. Need to spray.
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
To small for my motorhome. Tight turns. Very muddy.
Jul 21, 2013
WiFi very weak, site very small, no fire rings although they sold firewood, staff not very friendly, lots of old, run down, neglected rv's on site.
Jul 21, 2013
Campground very muddy. Sites are very small. No place to have a campfire. Originally had planned to stay 4 nights and cut it to 2. Very unhappy with this KOA.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Close to the interstate, yet very quiet. No problems with staff, restrooms, Wi-Fi, etc... Will stay here again.
Jul 20, 2013
SITE ARE LEVEL BUT ALITTLE MUDDY. I KNOW YOU HAVE HAD ALOT OF RAIN BUT MAYBE YOU SHOULD PUT SOME EXTRA GRAVEL DOWN AROUND THE SITES.EVERYTHING ELSE WAS GREAT.THE GROUNDS WERE CLEAN AND THE STAFF WAS FANTASTIC. THANK-YOU WE ENJOYED OUR STAY AND HOPE SUNNIER DAYS ARE ON THERE WAY FOR YOU ALL...
Jul 19, 2013
Quiet, shady serene. Friendly staff. Close to attractions, city of Charleston, restaurants.
Jul 17, 2013
Location, staff and facility was very good. Only suggestion would be more gravel on sites.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
had a wonderful time but was hard to find. gps didn't show it.
Jul 14, 2013
Didn't feel good. Had to go through a trailer park to reach the campground. Big group of teenagers in the playground in front of the bathrooms after 11 pm. People leaving the campground at 5am with their trucks. The grass in the RV yard was long and lot of flys. The KOA T-shirts of the personnel were dirty and not a lot to do in de neighborhood. Pool was nice. Bathrooms were clean.
Jul 11, 2013
Pulled in to mud everywhere. Changed to another spot, not much better. Deep ruts from the tires. This park needs to be graded and graveled to get rid of the mud everywhere. The sewers were open to allow for the excess water to drain, very unhealthy for the guests. Trash was supposed to be picked up at 12, most days there all day. Only good thing, the staff was nice.
Jul 08, 2013
everyone was very friendly and helpful, I would recommend this campground and if I am in the Charleston area again that's where I am staying
Jul 08, 2013
Wonderful location for our visit, all beaches were within 30 minutes. Our camping spot lacked a lot to be desired. Unable to set up camp due to the site holding so much water. Supper was cooked on the grill in ankle deep water most nights. The water recessed some, but we were never without standing water. Understand can't control the weather but sites could be built up and better maintained.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
A total black, sticky, muddy underwater mess. Our camp site was TOTALLY underwater 90% of the time. It was a rainy week but there was no drainage at all. The pool was closed 5 of the 7 days we were there. Not at all an enjoyable KOA camping experience. Not what we would expect from any KOA.
Jul 07, 2013
Poor location. No camp security. No dog play area (was on the map, but nothing there.
Jul 06, 2013
The spots are narrow. the internet wireless is fair at best. there was rain every day but they did a good job of keeping things going well. I will return.
Jul 05, 2013
The entire campground is a Mud hole. A little gravel would have been nice. Absolutely no upkeep or care rendered to the property. To even call this a campground is a stretch. Where are the KOA inspectors? Shame on you KOA!
Jul 05, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Stayed at this KOA to visit the Charleston, SC area. It was a good choice.
Jun 29, 2013
Rain made it sloppy and muddy but otherwise all was great.
Jun 28, 2013
Staff was helpful. Facilities are old. No cable. Poor Internet reception.
Jun 28, 2013
Had a great time. Staff very polite and helpful. Loved it, loved it, loved it ! Surely will stay here again.
Jun 27, 2013
Site difficult to get in and small. Hookkups far away. No cable. No fire ring. Low water pressure. WiFi poor even though across from office. Difficult to cross road in and out of KOA as the road is a VERY busy 5 lane road with no light. Convenient to Charleston and area. Shaded and quiet.
Jun 27, 2013
very nice people
Jun 25, 2013
Our stay was very nice
Jun 24, 2013
Nice pool. Left over trash on our picnic table and mud holes and bricks where the RV goes. Good location.
Jun 24, 2013
This KOA is not as nice as the other KOAs that I stay at. The roads are torn up and need major attention. There needs to be some rain water runoff control as many sites have standing water.
Jun 23, 2013
They office smelled of urine and the park itself was unkept
Jun 17, 2013
The staff was very friendly and the grounds kept up nicely.
Jun 15, 2013
The office folks are very kind, but the campground does not have cable, and the mobile home park adjacent is just a tad creepy. Ok for overnight only, but not the KOA's we are used to. Sorry!
Jun 12, 2013
The campground was fine, however heavy rain created huge water and mud issues. This location should be better prepared for rain, crushed gravel roads and pads made it difficult. Also, traffic on the main access road is very heavy, campers should be advised. The staff was friendly and the facilities were neat, worn - but neat.
Jun 12, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
No gravel pads. No cable. Wi fi signal was weak and very slow. It was rainy and our RV was an island. Drainage was terrible. It is not in a good area. Trailer life rating is way too high. This does not speak well for KOA
Jun 02, 2013
Overall the stay was very nice. It is peaceful and quiet. The complaints I have was the Wifi signal was weak in the section closer to the back of the property. The other is the difficulty of making a left turn onto Hwy 78 from the main entrance at different times of the day. Mostly in the morning and afternoon. The traffic is heavy. I suggest a traffic light be placed there for added safety.
Jun 02, 2013
Nice staff, very level site, and excellent sewer hook-up
Jun 01, 2013
Cool, quiet, neighbors friendly and staff very accommodating.
May 31, 2013
We use your campground to bring our motorhome in to park it while we're visiting our son in Summerville. It's so convenient. Love it!
May 30, 2013
May 30, 2013
Nice, clean campground. Issue we had was Wi-Fi was horrible. If you don't need internet it is a great place. Extremely spotty internet was our only complaint.
May 28, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.