Charleston KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Email

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Get Directions

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Mar 29, 2016
OK for a quick stopover campground but not vacation. Playground was small. Rec center closed for repairs. Some laundry machines are antiques but functional. Nice looking pool but did not use. Staff very friendly. Quick access to highway to get to city. Quite noisy from airplanes and traffic on street. Mobile home park is an eyesore upon entrance to park.
Mar 28, 2016
Lots of long term guests. The sites show it.
Mar 28, 2016
Nice place but under renovation or it probably would get 5 stars.
Mar 28, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay here. It's very quiet.The lady at the check in was really nice.The only complaint I have was that on the last day of our stay the bathrooms both men and woman were out of order,and not even the showers we were able to use before we left.Other than that we really enjoyed our stay there.
Mar 27, 2016
Some of the campsites are dirty and need attention. Luckily we were moved to a nice clean site
Mar 25, 2016
Campground is overloaded with transient workers . Not well maintained . spaces are tight . The place is noisy . Not at all what We expect from a KOA . Junk City.
Mar 21, 2016
It was ok...sites are very close together....cleaning was not a top priority...
Mar 20, 2016
No water for two days, we left
Mar 20, 2016
Campsites were not cleaned between visitors , tons of old crayons , trash around our site. Sites are way to close together and the fact that so many seemed to be long term campers has created a trashy look to the park .. Seen at many Koa's .
Mar 16, 2016
Mar 16, 2016
Grounds not well kept, tall grass around dog park. Police sirens all night,chain saws in the morning not a place relax but if you need a place to stay for the night. The bathrooms were clean and staff were friendly. The gift shop was affordable.
Mar 16, 2016
My campsite had big tire marks where the previous person had their car, which meant I had no flat area for my outdoor furniture. And the restrooms/showers need to be cleaned more than once a day. The staff were great though.
Mar 15, 2016
clean, safe and conveniently located
Mar 15, 2016
I was not at all crazy about the location. It did not seem like a safe area. The sites were to crowed. The dog park was lacking. However, though I did not use the pool, it looked nice. the people were polite.
Mar 14, 2016
Asked if pine straw could be put in front of our door to help from tracking in dirt. They did it johnny-on-the-spot! Certainly appreciated!
Mar 10, 2016
Campground is very convenient for trips into Charleston. Workers were very pleasant and welcoming, and quick to respond to all requests. Sand/gravel Sites are close.
Mar 01, 2016
our daughter rented the cabins and was not given the right one. Evidently the proper one was double booked. We stay in this koa every year,and have never had a problem, we were disappointed in this problem, which meant we were overloaded in our camper in order to have enough room. It was very unprofessional
Feb 26, 2016
Trees prevented clear space for satellite but other than that was fine.
Feb 24, 2016
The staff was wonderful and the campground was okay.
Feb 16, 2016
Feb 15, 2016
Great location for what we needed to do in North Charleston. Felt like it was more of a permanent RV park than a campground. I have a dog and am always very careful about cleaning up after her, but most patrons were not. The dog park had a lot of poop and I watched quite a few people not clean up after their dogs.
Feb 14, 2016
I and several other rv's had to use extra long sewer hoses because the hookup was at the very back of the space.
Feb 10, 2016
Staff was very nice. Campground not up to usual KOA standards. Needs updating. MANY permanent sites. Had to have a code to get into bathhouse. Not a problem for us since we have our own facilities but made us feel somewhat unsafe. Next door to a trailer park, it seemed to be the "poor side of the tracks" to the trailer park. However staff was nice.
Feb 08, 2016
Women's restroom had issues with a toilet running
Feb 02, 2016
Small and filthy showers. Leaves all over ground easily carried into unit.
Jan 28, 2016
Need to find a way to get rid of the homeless couple that steals from the campground. (Showers
Jan 22, 2016
Our stay was great!
Jan 20, 2016
Jan 19, 2016
very short, arrived 9pm left 9am, but water and electric worked fine, and space was clearly marked.
Jan 19, 2016
If you are looking for a place with no lights and you want to feel unsafe - this is it. Homeless camped just outside the fence burning fires. Water puddles in the unmaintained streets. Poor Laundry facilities. This is not a typical KOA and should not be one. I will never stay there again. I will add that the person who checked me in was friendly.
Jan 19, 2016
very nice campground
Jan 18, 2016
Expecting rain, I did not expect to wake up to a small pond around my RV. I was moved to another site that I selected and found there was not much of an option to get to higher ground". The second night was not much better. Sites are not level and need re gravelling. The facilities are clean but need updating. Staff is pleasant. A number of permanent sites....

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are excited to announce major projects this year to refurbish our campus. This work will be completed in phases and we expect the improvements will eliminate the soggy site issue. We look forward to your return!
Jan 15, 2016
Convenient and friendly staff.
Jan 05, 2016
Great campground with very friendly and helpful staff!!! Highly recommend it!
Jan 05, 2016
I have always rated this KOA at the highest possible level. This time the fenced dog park was atrocious with over a dozen dog messes left undisturbed. The final insult was rolling up my electrical cord back into storage when I discovered some dog owner let his pet use my power cord as a target. Disgusting. Management was advised, but since I was leaving the park I'm aware of any corrective action.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for alerting us to the pet waste issue! We are "tightening the leash" on irresponsible pet owners and working to make sure all employees are super diligent to eliminate anything left behind.
Jan 04, 2016
very noisy with planes overhead, no one there to enforce the "QUIET TIME" rule, off a busy road, just too much for us.
Jan 04, 2016
Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful, only problem is the sites are quite close together
Jan 04, 2016
Great location and friendly staff.
Jan 03, 2016
Jan 02, 2016
The staff was great, but the camp grounds where horrible. The sites where extremely small and was basically an extension of the trailer park next to it. We ended us leaving a night early to go to another camp ground. The is not a recommend camp ground for families.
Dec 30, 2015
We have stayed here a few times and everything was fine. This time we were next to a family that left garbage on the ground, no license plate on trailer and blankets on every window. Cords going in Windows and garbage bags in front of door area outside. The dog run was filthy, my dog refused to go in after first trip... We did not feel comfortable staying there this time and will not be returning.
Dec 27, 2015
Great staff!!! No issues there but the campground is sub-standard. A little gravel would be a great improvement. WIFI was good and I appreciate that very much. Sites and roadways are too tight.
Dec 24, 2015
Close to everything.
Dec 21, 2015
Great place to stay as opposed to a motel. Would not stay here for a woodsy camping experience. Friendly people and clean.
Dec 14, 2015
Friendly staff, clean campgrounds, and fully equipped kitchen.
Dec 11, 2015
Electrical box had bad breakers. Trees too close for turning with big rigs. Park was in an overall state of disrepair. I will stay somewhere else next time even if I have to drive out of my way. This park is a run down trailer park.
Dec 09, 2015
Campground is in need of updating. Site c2 flooded with a small amount of rain. Site b3, my original site, was flooded when i arrived. The check it people, very helpful and well trained and friendly.
Dec 07, 2015
Campground is mostly permanganate old beater RVs. No the usual KOA.
Dec 02, 2015
This was a nice park.
Dec 02, 2015
It was fantastic, working with Kimberly was such a pleasure because she was concerned about making sure my trip was great family
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy