Charleston KOA

9494 Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Sep 03, 2013
We were overcharged for our stay. My online reservations was for $32.99 we paid $20 deposit then when we got there we had to pay another $26. Not only that but we were told we would have a very shaded sit and they put us on a site with not one tree. We had to move sites due to the fact that we had no ac, that would be why we wanted a shaded site. Pool was nice and bathrooms were clean.
Sep 02, 2013
The staff were very nice, but the camp ground it self has little to be desired. We were disappointed to see that it sat next to a trailer park and that there were no bike trails are any other camp activities to do.
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Our stay was quiet and comfortable. Read reviews before we reserved and were concerned but not at all disappointed even though we got heavy rain our last day. Pool is very clean and staff friendly. Loved the hash browns!!
Aug 16, 2013
A nice place for an overnight pull in during long trips.
Aug 11, 2013
There have been alot of slams against this KOA over the ground being to muddy and sinking Rv after rains. I was here during some heavy rain and didn't see or have that problem (23' Koala). Could use a bit more gravel but not that bad. The wi-fi is a hit and miss issue though. To many people on one router. The place is well kept otherwise and no problem sleeping at night. I would stay here again.
Aug 09, 2013
not even close to what we are used to at KOAs. sites poorly identified and maintained. staff more likely to be found 7-11. not camper orientated.
Aug 08, 2013
This has to be one of the worst KOA's we have ever stayed at. The amenities were the absolute bare minimum. No scheduled activities, clubhouse was padlocked, amenities (such as laundry & playground) appeared to be used by the locals living in the trailer park next door. On the positive side, the employees that greeted us were friendly and the bathrooms were clean. We will not stay here again.
Aug 07, 2013
Free coffee, WIFI, and geographic location good. We were assigned a site with water/sewer leakage which was not fixed during our stay. We stayed 10 days but could not get the weekly rate for the extra 3 days (poor policy). Doggy bags not provided at dog waste station. At our next visit, we plan to stay at the Mt. Pleasant SC which is properly maintained.
Aug 06, 2013
We arrived on a day of light rain. The location is barely gravel mostly mud. We have a 36 foot 5th wheel. By the time we set-up the rain had picked up and our campsite was a lake. To our dissapointment,there was no cable hook-up for the rainy days. The basketball court was an 8x8 concrete pad suitable for toddlers. The road you turn onto has heavy traffic.
Aug 05, 2013
we stayed 3 days and it was wonderful.. disappointed there was no camp fire pits. nice pool. but hard to get in and out of the camp onto the main road there.
Aug 04, 2013
pool was clean, however regular camping sites were not well maintained. through traffic was observed into adjacent construction business.
Aug 04, 2013
Site was crowded by trees - no room for slides and awning. I had to pull way forward to get the slides out. Then the sewer dump was out of reach for two hoses. Roads are rough and have pot holes, sites are muddy. Sewer dumps are broken and below ground. They did a good job of keeping the mosquitos controlled.
Aug 04, 2013
I arrived at 8:30 pm and got no escort to my site,couldnt locate the sewer line and when asked the attendant said well there should be one somewhere.I was too tired to look in the dark and rain. went to store to get milk and was told go to Sunoco the milk they had was expired along with many other items in.Observed underaged kids drinking in pool with kids from nearby trailer park. NO THANKS!!
Aug 02, 2013
I had fun here.
Jul 31, 2013
The camp ground is in town and does not have cable TV. There was a sewer smell every morning. The sewer for the camp site beside me was right out my front door. The poolwas nice. A good place to sleep at night. But not a good place if you are planning on hanging around the campsite.
Jul 30, 2013
Nice spot, shady park. VERY clean. Staff is great. No cable, but my satellite came in good.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Sites are grass lanes between trees - poor drainage during heavy rain. No fire pits, grills, picnic tables require attention, roads are narrow with large potholes in the curves, WiFi access was minimal at back of park as was local TV coverage. Sewer covers to many sites not covering holes. Not exactly a premium site but called and billed as one.
Jul 25, 2013
Flies were terrible. Could not eat outside and enjoy weather. Need to spray.
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
To small for my motorhome. Tight turns. Very muddy.
Jul 21, 2013
WiFi very weak, site very small, no fire rings although they sold firewood, staff not very friendly, lots of old, run down, neglected rv's on site.
Jul 21, 2013
Campground very muddy. Sites are very small. No place to have a campfire. Originally had planned to stay 4 nights and cut it to 2. Very unhappy with this KOA.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Close to the interstate, yet very quiet. No problems with staff, restrooms, Wi-Fi, etc... Will stay here again.
Jul 20, 2013
SITE ARE LEVEL BUT ALITTLE MUDDY. I KNOW YOU HAVE HAD ALOT OF RAIN BUT MAYBE YOU SHOULD PUT SOME EXTRA GRAVEL DOWN AROUND THE SITES.EVERYTHING ELSE WAS GREAT.THE GROUNDS WERE CLEAN AND THE STAFF WAS FANTASTIC. THANK-YOU WE ENJOYED OUR STAY AND HOPE SUNNIER DAYS ARE ON THERE WAY FOR YOU ALL...
Jul 19, 2013
Quiet, shady serene. Friendly staff. Close to attractions, city of Charleston, restaurants.
Jul 17, 2013
Location, staff and facility was very good. Only suggestion would be more gravel on sites.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
had a wonderful time but was hard to find. gps didn't show it.
Jul 14, 2013
Didn't feel good. Had to go through a trailer park to reach the campground. Big group of teenagers in the playground in front of the bathrooms after 11 pm. People leaving the campground at 5am with their trucks. The grass in the RV yard was long and lot of flys. The KOA T-shirts of the personnel were dirty and not a lot to do in de neighborhood. Pool was nice. Bathrooms were clean.
Jul 11, 2013
Pulled in to mud everywhere. Changed to another spot, not much better. Deep ruts from the tires. This park needs to be graded and graveled to get rid of the mud everywhere. The sewers were open to allow for the excess water to drain, very unhealthy for the guests. Trash was supposed to be picked up at 12, most days there all day. Only good thing, the staff was nice.
Jul 08, 2013
everyone was very friendly and helpful, I would recommend this campground and if I am in the Charleston area again that's where I am staying
Jul 08, 2013
Wonderful location for our visit, all beaches were within 30 minutes. Our camping spot lacked a lot to be desired. Unable to set up camp due to the site holding so much water. Supper was cooked on the grill in ankle deep water most nights. The water recessed some, but we were never without standing water. Understand can't control the weather but sites could be built up and better maintained.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
A total black, sticky, muddy underwater mess. Our camp site was TOTALLY underwater 90% of the time. It was a rainy week but there was no drainage at all. The pool was closed 5 of the 7 days we were there. Not at all an enjoyable KOA camping experience. Not what we would expect from any KOA.
Jul 07, 2013
Poor location. No camp security. No dog play area (was on the map, but nothing there.
Jul 06, 2013
The spots are narrow. the internet wireless is fair at best. there was rain every day but they did a good job of keeping things going well. I will return.
Jul 05, 2013
The entire campground is a Mud hole. A little gravel would have been nice. Absolutely no upkeep or care rendered to the property. To even call this a campground is a stretch. Where are the KOA inspectors? Shame on you KOA!
Jul 05, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Stayed at this KOA to visit the Charleston, SC area. It was a good choice.
Jun 29, 2013
Rain made it sloppy and muddy but otherwise all was great.
Jun 28, 2013
Staff was helpful. Facilities are old. No cable. Poor Internet reception.
Jun 28, 2013
Had a great time. Staff very polite and helpful. Loved it, loved it, loved it ! Surely will stay here again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.