Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

May 02, 2015
Just stayed overnight. Worked out well for us.
May 02, 2015
The camp-sites are well taken care of and the pool was great. Miss Paula at the office has that low country charm that we all love. I wish I could have stayed longer! Thanks DB
May 02, 2015
Location not very well maintained. A lot of permanent dwellers it seems. Staff were very nice and do the best with what they have. Washroom shower facilities poor. Noisy - street noise, train, planes in/out of airport. It is however a good location to get to Charleston from.
May 02, 2015
Well maintained and well run Campground.
May 01, 2015
May 01, 2015
I really enjoyed my stay. The campground has a lot of nice amenities. I just moved to the area would have liked to stay longer while I looked for places to live but at $265 a week while waiting for a monthly site to open was just to much.
Apr 30, 2015
All good except that the wi-Fi connection was vert erratic.
Apr 30, 2015
Staff are friendly and helpful! Great place to stay.
Apr 29, 2015
The staff was friendly, the sites and roads into the park were very narrow. I felt very confined and also there were too many permanent residents for me.
Apr 29, 2015
Clean and reliable but very tight non-descript sights. Great for a stop over but not for long term stay.
Apr 27, 2015
Staff was very friendly, campground is a little run down though.
Apr 27, 2015
A good clean park with close proximity to the Charleston, SC area.
Apr 26, 2015
We read some of the review's on this KOA.They said it bad but please try it.We where very pleased with the campgrounds. No problem ln or out of camp site.The staff helped in every way any time. I will stay at this KOA again and again.
Apr 26, 2015
This is nicely located near things to do and see. A very busy campground.
Apr 26, 2015
Very easy check in process. Appreciated the guide to our site. It was necessary that we delay our check out by a couple hours and campground hosts were very accomidating. The only thing negative I would say is the number of long term/permanent residents mixed in with the traveling guests sites.
Apr 25, 2015
campground very pretty and well-kept. Seems to have mostly people who are staying there to be tourists. Not much activity while we were there.
Apr 23, 2015
Quiet and secure. Good location.
Apr 23, 2015
Very helpful and friendly.
Apr 23, 2015
Only 1 poop station, limited parking, no waste cans. In appearance, more about making a buck. Nothing for kids to do at the campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

All pull thru sites have sewer connections in addition to the dump station. Pet waste stations are located throughout the park as well as camp K9. We pick up trash at each campsite daily, reducing the need for trash cans. We have a pool, horseshoes, basketball, cornhole, pool table, playground, etc.
Apr 22, 2015
Conditions of the grounds were poor. Sites were muddy and difficult to access with large rig (37'5th wheel).
Apr 22, 2015
This campground definitely does not meet KOA standards. Was by far the worst campground I have ever stayed in and came there because it was a KOA.
Apr 22, 2015
Worst KOA we've ever stayed in. KOA corporate should take a look and think hard about who is representing KOA. It is a mud pit, roads/ facilities are not maintained. The place needs lots and lots of work. We cut our stay short by one day it was so bad...even lost my KOA credit because of it. Would never recommend this place to anyone.
Apr 18, 2015
We found the campground, where we were, unkempt. We were in the back near the dog run, it was like a dump. area.
Apr 17, 2015
Apr 16, 2015
Stayed here many times when visiting family near Charleston.
Apr 16, 2015
Beautiful campground, clean, large lots, easy access to ocean and all other shopping.
Apr 14, 2015
Campground was clean. Staff helpful. Problem was noise. Street traffic from Rt 78 very noisy. Plane traffic at night and early in morning annoying
Apr 14, 2015
Interior roads are very narrow. Sites are very small in fact too small to have a campfire. This KOA appears to be an older campground. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating.
Apr 14, 2015
Friendly, helpful lady's, Owner and desk clerk. Will visit again when going to visit Cadet Grandson at the Citadel. We had a nice TENT site.
Apr 14, 2015
More like a trailer park. We couldn't dump our waste, no room
Apr 13, 2015
Could not get to sleep last night there because of noise. Quiet time was 11 pm . People across from us still partying at 2:30
Apr 13, 2015
Staff pleasant and facilities clean .
Apr 13, 2015
Nice place to stay, needs another bathhouse. Only one for the entire campground causes lines to take a shower.
Apr 12, 2015
Nice quiet campground.
Apr 11, 2015
The campground was clean, quiet and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again!
Apr 11, 2015
Clean bath house and friendly staff, thanks for that. Negative was limited personal space between sites.
Apr 10, 2015
This campground is close to many things to see. It is also situated near the air force base and planes flying low. Access route 78 very busy: hard to get in and out. Sites are tight, although ours was nice and had beautiful azaleas. Access to dog park was closed off with a cable most of the time. Why???
Apr 10, 2015
pleasant but the campground is tired. they need to clean up the sites after people leave so it at looks as if they care about their facilities. it is the little things that makr the difference
Apr 09, 2015
This is the worst KOA we've ever been to. It's poorly laid out. The roads are very narrow. When someone is filling up with propane, they block the exit lane. Because of that RVs that are leaving have to wait along the road, blocking in people who want to pull in or out of their site. Sites, which are dirt, are narrow and you barely have room to park the car. Some SUVs and pickup trucks actua
Apr 09, 2015
Sloppy management allows trashy long termers who let dogs bark all night
Apr 09, 2015
One of the Friendliest KOA's I've stayed at.
Apr 08, 2015
Bees at playground. Seemed like it had seen better times. Dog area so so. Poop everywhere despite bags for owners to clean up. Staff helpful and friendly.
Apr 08, 2015
Well kept facilities in town.
Apr 08, 2015
Friendly staff, Pool was ok, free coffee in the Morning !!! The Way to Charleston was half an Hour Drive. The Name of the campground made us thinking, that Charleston would be nearby.
Apr 06, 2015
Awesome as always! Clean, nice. Staff very nice! We are returning campers and will continue to come back!
Apr 06, 2015
Great place will be back thanks
Apr 06, 2015
The facility was well kept and clean. The staff was helpful and friendly. The location made me a little uncomfortable (not the best part of town) but we didn't have anything happen to particularly concern me. By the third night I was sleeping well through the night and not waking up at every little sound.
Apr 06, 2015
Just ok. Lots of road noise, unkept grounds, staff not especially helpful or friendly. No activities. Not what we've come to expect from KOA camps.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Easter weekend our big activity is the annual Easter Party for the children. We hunt Easter Eggs and enjoy games and prizes.
Apr 05, 2015
Bad location, lots of traffic noise, lots of campsite locations need to be cleaned up, bees swarming the cabins, no fire rings, people from the next door trailer park using all the facilities. Staff was friendly though.
Apr 05, 2015
Pool wasn't open March 15th like the website stated. This was the only reason we stayed there for spring break in April. Long Stay area is disgusting. Dog park is right next to a 10 ft. trash pile/dump. You will hear planes and trains along with road noise all night. Entrance is tight if an RV is there checking in. Muddy sites. Great location to HWY 26 & popular destinations.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.