Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Cabin Reviews

Jun 29, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
It was convenient to Charleston for day trips. Restrooms could have been a little larger and more conveniently located to camp sites.
Jun 07, 2015
Everything was great minus the bed bugs that ate my boyfriend alive. The cat was nice. The proximity from the cabin to the "gas station" was fantastic. We appreciate the breakfast money from Brandon/Brian/Bill, however we would never return.
Jun 02, 2015
Ok and some table beah is bad and wil is slow on the comtper and need build other bathroom so some people need shower too and need spa pool too.
May 29, 2015
broken legs on bed, it moves. smelly
May 28, 2015
I certainly didn't expect it to be in a trailer park, but that's not even the bad part. When we walked in the cabin, it REAKED of cigarette smoke. I'm allergic, so that's a problem. Not to mention we had a 2 year old with us. That's not just gross, but dangereous. They also don't enforce rules there. We were up at 3 am because neighbors were SO loud. This went on our entire stay.
May 26, 2015
This was one of the worst KOA's I have stayed at. There was no kitchen and there was a lot of inconsistencies in the rules. We were told no tents or dogs in cabins which we complied with. Then the cabin next to us popped a tent and the one across from us had 2 dogs. Then when we were at the pool which does not have enough chairs we were told to limit how many we used and carleen was very rude

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We only have 4 pet friendly cabins which were previously booked. Our rules are very clear and apply to all campers-even when we are polite and add the word "please" to a rule-it is still a rule.
May 23, 2015
May 17, 2015
We felt the cabins were too close to the neighboring homes. We could latterly see into the homes from our cabin. Not our idea of camping area. The ability to enter the park was terrible! It took us 15 minutes to pull in from the main road.
May 14, 2015
My wife and I and 2 other couples stayed at this KOA a few years ago and for various reasons agreed we would never stay here again. Because of a funeral, we needed a last minute place to stay and came back to this KOA. Showers that don't drain, sinks that don't drain, musty odors, run down looking buildings... We won't be back.
May 12, 2015
I really enjoyed my stay there but, I wish it were a little closer to downtown Charleston. The personnel were all friendly. This wasn't my first stay there and it was nice to see that they were, and had made, since my last stay many years ago, improvements to make the overall appearance more pleasing.
May 11, 2015
We are from the Charleston area (Now living in Columbia) and love visiting our old "haunts). We have been gone from Charleston for over 30 years and still love staying at your KOA.
May 01, 2015
Bed bugs in the mattress ate my children skin really bad!! It was a shame this KOA has gotten so run down and unclean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

No bug complaint was mentioned to staff at all. Cabin was occupied 3 more times with no complaint before we were alerted to this comment. Pest control were called out to be safe and find no bugs. Please alert staff to any problems immediately.
Apr 30, 2015
Nice quiet campground. Had a follow up question after our stay and it was dealt with promptly. Thanks!
Apr 27, 2015
Staff was not very friendly. In their game room all they had was a pool table. There was trash in our room from last guests. Bathrooms were very clean. And they were much farther from down town Charleston then they told us they were. Stay at Mount Pleasant one!
Apr 27, 2015
We stayed in a cabin which was fine but it rained our whole stay. The ground in front of our cabin became so muddy that you would sink in. We told the front desk and asked for hay or something so we could walk to our truck without sinking into mud. Someone brought us soda crates? At least she tried. Not 1 management person or maintenance person(who drove by everyday collecting trash)helped.
Apr 27, 2015
Surroundings were beautiful, people were friendly, bed was comfortable, cabin was cozy.
Apr 26, 2015
It's the 3rd time we've stayed there and it's perfect! Everyone is great.
Apr 16, 2015
Staff was very friendly and helpful. If you advertise WiFi you should have enough bandwidth and power to handle peak hours. We could often not even get on the WiFi let alone use it.
Apr 12, 2015
I have stayed at many KOA's and one is by far Not up to KOA standards. First off there are permanent residents, whom took our firewood. There are no activities for the children. The game room is bismol. Disappointed
Apr 11, 2015
I did not stay at all. As soon as I got to the cabin to open the door there were swarms of carpenter bees. My kids didn't even get out of the vehicle.
Apr 10, 2015
Apr 05, 2015
Very Accommodating personnel.
Apr 05, 2015
Very Accommodating.
Mar 31, 2015
This was our first stay at ANY KOA... The cabin was clean... a little wet from the days of rain prior to our arrival. The bathrooms were clean. Our two kids loved the playground. It was in perfect working order and clean. The camp grounds were extremely quite during quite hours. There was one annoying little dog from the trailer park next door, but it was quickly chased back to it's home.
Mar 31, 2015
The people were friendly and helpful.
Mar 31, 2015
clean, easy to check in, friendly staff
Mar 31, 2015
its always a pleasure to stay with yall....no problems!!
Mar 30, 2015
Clean cabin and bath house. Staff were friendly.
Mar 29, 2015
Mar 20, 2015
Overall a very nice campground. The sites were slightly dirty (old cigarette butts) but besides that they were fine. The bathrooms were overall clean but upon close inspection they could of been cleaner (moldy in between tiles). The campground is also right up against a trailer park and we were out right behind this trailer that had 2 of the most annoying dog ever and they would just go on and on.
Mar 17, 2015
Mar 17, 2015
Mar 16, 2015
the campgrounds were fine.. although we LOVE KOA and have been to other sites in the past ..this one was less attractive and less kid friendly. Not much to do within the grounds, but overall it worked out well. Charleston is beautiful though.
Mar 05, 2015
I've camped in 17 different states, including many KOA campgrounds,and this was by far one of the worst campgrounds I have ever seen. I refused to stay and received a refund.
Feb 17, 2015
Great hosts, thank you so much!!!
Feb 09, 2015
the people were so friendly and very knowledgeable of the area. The cabins were VER clean and well kept. Thanks for another great stay at the KOA :)
Feb 03, 2015
WONDERFUL!!!
Feb 02, 2015
Children were bitten in the cabin and had to go to Urgent Care

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Exterminator was called out and could find no evidence of insects of any kind in this cabin. We do carry insect repellent with DEET in our store to protect campers from most of the southeast's biting insects.
Jan 05, 2015
Dec 28, 2014
12.26.14 Incredibly friendly staff! Clean bathrooms. I stayed with my dog in a cabin and the full size bed was perfect for me, but if I had more with me the bunk bed's mattresses didn't seem to fit the frames. The cabins back to the trailer park and at first I thought noise might be an issue, but it wasn't. There was nothing outstanding, but there was nothing to complain about. It met my needs.
Oct 21, 2014
The cabin was clean and the staff was friendly. Enjoyed the weekend.
Oct 12, 2014
We booked our cabin online but before we did we called and talked to some and they said it was $57 and a $50 deposit to book it. We asked so when we get there we will only have to pay the $7 difference and they said that right. So we book it for $50 and when we get there they want the whole $57 and said they would refund the $50.We didn't have gas $ to get home because it hasn't gone back on card

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

All employees are very clear about the deposit policy and are sure to relay the information to callers.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 20, 2014
Not clean. Grass not cut. If KOA allows permanent occupants they should keep all their belongs inside & not piled up on the front porch. There was also a bucket near back of cabin with dirty dishes in it.
Sep 14, 2014
Rustic cabin damp, moldy, bad smell, blinds in cabin in poor condition . restrooms needed attention.. Had stayed there last October and it appeared no upkeep since that time..
Sep 02, 2014
Wifi, you wish. Doesn't reach most of the grounds apparently. Also, the quite hours aren't enforced. Forget asking the emergency manager to help deal with an issue because they will just brush you off and hang up the phone in your ear.
Aug 18, 2014
Not what I expected, but the staff were friendly and helpful. Park was a bit on the dirty side, but generally quiet.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.