Charleston KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045


9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Nov 03, 2015
Nov 02, 2015
First time at a KOA Kamper Kabin. Great location for events in Charleston. Comfortable and dry. Mirror fell off hook while trying to find light and had holes in screening which let in bugs, but easy fixes. Staff was helpful and pleasant at check-in.
Oct 30, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful, bathrooms were fairly clean. The cabin was musty smelling and you can not open the Windows without letting in bugs because the screen frames were bent and the blinds were all broken. Picked this location despite the bad reviews I read because it was conveniently located near the Naval base in Goose Creek. Will not stay at this location again on my next trip
Oct 27, 2015
I stayed in a cabin, it was very quiet, nice place, decent area. Koa staff was extremely polite and helpful, having fresh hot coffee in the store when I checked out was perfect thank you so much I will be back.
Oct 26, 2015
We had an adventure staying in Kabin 1 with our two high school international students from Finland and Denmark.
Oct 19, 2015
It was nice and quiet. We slept great. However, you got roaches in your cabin. Thanks for the free coffee!
Oct 12, 2015
This is again the worst campground that we have stayed in. We only stay here for convenience vs paying for a room. Nothing to do unless you want to hang out in the trailer park. This place is a dump! Even the "deluxe" cabins you have to bring your own linen, we had three broken utensils, the door has a huge gap on the bottom, so welcome your night time critters. Blinds wont open. TRASHY
Sep 29, 2015
clean inside and quiet, but on a busy road hard to get to plus a bit of litter on the ground outside
Sep 28, 2015
Our family stayed in the deluxe cabin. It slept our family of 8 comfortably. It was very neat and clean. A very cute little cottage. The TV's speakers didn't work,but that was no big deal. The kids spent most of their time at the playground anyway!
Sep 22, 2015
Campgrounds was not exceptional. You needed a password to get into the bathroom. We did not have a fire ring. It just did not seem friendly.
Sep 21, 2015
this is an exceptional place...the only thing bad is the wifi does not work well..
Sep 21, 2015
This place is a dump! Unkept in every way of the word. No activities. Playground looked abandoned. Buildingings unkept and old. The cabins smell awful! If you are thinking about tent camping here...DO NOT! This KOA is surrounded by a trailer park. The club house was closed the entire weekend because there was nothing planned except a 1.5 hour latin dance class. 5 people attended that.
Sep 19, 2015
Very friendly staff!
Sep 09, 2015
Great staff, Good location!!
Sep 07, 2015
Aug 30, 2015
No camp fire stove in the deluxe cabin and lots of traffic from the trailer park next door
Aug 24, 2015
The security guard was asleep in her car on Sunday morning. Also, someone had smoked in the cabin we were staying in. The bed was more comfortable than I expected. The stay was reasonable and fine for one night but I think we will try the Mt. Pleasant location next time.
Aug 11, 2015
Nice campground! Enjoyed our stay and staff is really friendly
Aug 11, 2015
Nice comfy cabin. Large pool. Quiet at night. I couldn't get the wi-fi to work, but other than that I loved the place.
Aug 10, 2015
We stayed in a pet friendly cabin, it was PERFECT for what we needed!
Aug 10, 2015
very hard working staff. had to chck out early as we found a house to buy in diff area and the long drive thru trffc was too risky commuting across the area at rush hour. only there one nght hope to return for leisure one day
Aug 07, 2015
Friendly staff
Aug 05, 2015
Horrible they sold me wet firewood, there were ants everywhere and wasp nest on the cabin. Sorry not coming back
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
We rented the Deluxe cabin for 7 nights in July, 2015. It was clean, well equipped, our cabin slept 4. Our cabin had a well equipped kitchen and a nice bathroom. We had plenty of hot water. The air conditioner kept the cabin nice and cool. The swimming pool was very nice. We were very pleased with our choice!
Jul 27, 2015
I was shocked when I pulled into the KOA via a trailer park driveway and then our kabin was back to back with someone's mobile home separated by a rickety fence. I knew the kabins did not undergo routine maintenance by the baseball-sized wasp nest on the back. The dog park was a joke. This was by far the worst KOA we have ever been to and sub par to the KOA standards we are used to.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
We probably will not revisit this KOA. The main problem was that there were no areas designated (or not enforced) as 'no smoking' so people were smoking in the bathrooms and inside the fenced-in pool area. We've stayed in KOAs all over the country and have never experienced this before... We are not smokers and would have like for our kids to be able to get some 'fresh air' while playing outside.
Jul 17, 2015
Great place, nice people. Loved the pool & basketball court
Jul 15, 2015
The new bed foam mattress was very comfortable. However, the recreation center by the pool needs to improved to look more attractive and clean.
Jul 12, 2015
very quiet. feels secluded yet close to everything.
Jul 11, 2015
We take an annual group trip to the Charleston area and always stay at this KOA, the staff is friendly and helpful. The only complaints that I have are the bathrooms. It seems they can never stay clean. The showers have had the same shelf broken in them for 2yrs now. I know it's a busy campground but it surely doesn't take 2yrs to fix a shelf in the showers. Maybe monitor more.
Jul 08, 2015
The pool was the highlight. Came with 2 children, it was hot. We rented a cabin, it was nice.
Jul 07, 2015
People that worked here were super helpful and sweet, pool and deck area was awesome. Bathrooms were decent, could have been cleaner. Cabins were nice, especially with the air conditioning.
Jul 06, 2015
we do a yearly camping trip for our family and as always we experienced an awesome stay.
Jul 01, 2015
Clean comfortable stay!
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
It was convenient to Charleston for day trips. Restrooms could have been a little larger and more conveniently located to camp sites.
Jun 07, 2015
Everything was great minus the bed bugs that ate my boyfriend alive. The cat was nice. The proximity from the cabin to the "gas station" was fantastic. We appreciate the breakfast money from Brandon/Brian/Bill, however we would never return.
Jun 02, 2015
Ok and some table beah is bad and wil is slow on the comtper and need build other bathroom so some people need shower too and need spa pool too.
May 29, 2015
broken legs on bed, it moves. smelly
May 28, 2015
I certainly didn't expect it to be in a trailer park, but that's not even the bad part. When we walked in the cabin, it REAKED of cigarette smoke. I'm allergic, so that's a problem. Not to mention we had a 2 year old with us. That's not just gross, but dangereous. They also don't enforce rules there. We were up at 3 am because neighbors were SO loud. This went on our entire stay.
May 26, 2015
This was one of the worst KOA's I have stayed at. There was no kitchen and there was a lot of inconsistencies in the rules. We were told no tents or dogs in cabins which we complied with. Then the cabin next to us popped a tent and the one across from us had 2 dogs. Then when we were at the pool which does not have enough chairs we were told to limit how many we used and carleen was very rude


We only have 4 pet friendly cabins which were previously booked. Our rules are very clear and apply to all campers-even when we are polite and add the word "please" to a rule-it is still a rule.
May 23, 2015
May 17, 2015
We felt the cabins were too close to the neighboring homes. We could latterly see into the homes from our cabin. Not our idea of camping area. The ability to enter the park was terrible! It took us 15 minutes to pull in from the main road.
May 14, 2015
My wife and I and 2 other couples stayed at this KOA a few years ago and for various reasons agreed we would never stay here again. Because of a funeral, we needed a last minute place to stay and came back to this KOA. Showers that don't drain, sinks that don't drain, musty odors, run down looking buildings... We won't be back.
May 12, 2015
I really enjoyed my stay there but, I wish it were a little closer to downtown Charleston. The personnel were all friendly. This wasn't my first stay there and it was nice to see that they were, and had made, since my last stay many years ago, improvements to make the overall appearance more pleasing.
May 11, 2015
We are from the Charleston area (Now living in Columbia) and love visiting our old "haunts). We have been gone from Charleston for over 30 years and still love staying at your KOA.
May 01, 2015
Bed bugs in the mattress ate my children skin really bad!! It was a shame this KOA has gotten so run down and unclean.


No bug complaint was mentioned to staff at all. Cabin was occupied 3 more times with no complaint before we were alerted to this comment. Pest control were called out to be safe and find no bugs. Please alert staff to any problems immediately.
Apr 30, 2015
Nice quiet campground. Had a follow up question after our stay and it was dealt with promptly. Thanks!

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy