Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
This was the most horrible experience I've EVER HAD!!!! First the campground is right beside a trailer park full of kids. I never used the pool because everytime I tried it was full of these kids. Also the entire area just looked rough so I was never comfortable. Next the cabin has roaches!! Don't stay here!!!!!
Jul 26, 2013
Cabin and grounds were very clean. Bathrooms were clean and spacious. The pool area was large and clean. The area quiet and people on the grounds were helpful. My only complaint was the $50 key deposit required for the cabin. We had not budgeted for it so it affected our trip. Teens from nearby trailer park stayed on playground making my children scared to play. We would return.
Jul 25, 2013
Sites are grass lanes between trees - poor drainage during heavy rain. No fire pits, grills, picnic tables require attention, roads are narrow with large potholes in the curves, WiFi access was minimal at back of park as was local TV coverage. Sewer covers to many sites not covering holes. Not exactly a premium site but called and billed as one.
Jul 25, 2013
Flies were terrible. Could not eat outside and enjoy weather. Need to spray.
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
We had a fantastic stay at the KOA Charleston. Can't wait to visit again soon!
Jul 22, 2013
we really enjoyed our stay. everyone was very polite and effecient. my only suggestion for the cabin screen doors is that they need to put rubber or felt pads on them as they make a really loud noise when they close. most people just let them slam and it woke us up when they went in and out at all hours of the night. however, we will be back!
Jul 22, 2013
To small for my motorhome. Tight turns. Very muddy.
Jul 22, 2013
It would have been nice to know about the $50 key deposit, before registering. The bunk beds were not true twin bunk beds as stated. The matress had to be shoved into the frame and then it would bow up in the middle. The general location is not as nice as other KOA's - the bathhouse had a coded lock, I assume to keep those that my wander around from the trailor court that is adjacent.
Jul 21, 2013
WiFi very weak, site very small, no fire rings although they sold firewood, staff not very friendly, lots of old, run down, neglected rv's on site.
Jul 21, 2013
Campground very muddy. Sites are very small. No place to have a campfire. Originally had planned to stay 4 nights and cut it to 2. Very unhappy with this KOA.
Jul 21, 2013
The noisy trailers and people living behind the cabins didn't make for a peaceful stay. Also the 1 1/2 inch cockroach that woke me up in the middle of the night because it was loud enough I thought it was a mouse. I had two that day, so that didn't make the cabin seem clean although it looked clean as well as the grounds.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Close to the interstate, yet very quiet. No problems with staff, restrooms, Wi-Fi, etc... Will stay here again.
Jul 20, 2013
SITE ARE LEVEL BUT ALITTLE MUDDY. I KNOW YOU HAVE HAD ALOT OF RAIN BUT MAYBE YOU SHOULD PUT SOME EXTRA GRAVEL DOWN AROUND THE SITES.EVERYTHING ELSE WAS GREAT.THE GROUNDS WERE CLEAN AND THE STAFF WAS FANTASTIC. THANK-YOU WE ENJOYED OUR STAY AND HOPE SUNNIER DAYS ARE ON THERE WAY FOR YOU ALL...
Jul 19, 2013
Quiet, shady serene. Friendly staff. Close to attractions, city of Charleston, restaurants.
Jul 18, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and quiet facilities. Great stay!
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Location, staff and facility was very good. Only suggestion would be more gravel on sites.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
not so bad, but also not very good. the kabin was little old but clean; the mens restroom was not so clean; the general store sells only very few things, the recreation room looks very old and a kind of dirty; you canĀ“t stay inside the room for a long time because it smells very strong like cigarettes the kabin was cheap and we stayed only two nights so it was o.k. but is nothing for longer s
Jul 16, 2013
Other than the pool - which was rented out for locals, not alot for the kids to do. Roaches galore in the cabin, I had to go purchase bug spray. Trailer park right behind the cabin with a dilapidated fence not appealing to see. No gate at the enterance like most KOA's so there was a lot of suspicious traffic.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Very clean bathrooms. Clean and comfortable kamping Kabin. Quiet and relaxing environment. Probably the best value in the charleston area. Will definately be staying here again in the future.
Jul 16, 2013
We came with a group of cub scouts and really enjoyed our stay. The staff is so friendly and helpful. They had a lot of great suggestions and a scavenger hunt for the boys. The bathrooms were the cleanest I've ever seen! The drive into Charleston was all interstate and only took about 20 minutes. We are definitely planning to return with the family.
Jul 15, 2013
The Kampground was easily accessible and pleasant in appearance. Our Kamping Kabin was clean and well maintained. The staff was very courteous and helpful for our entire stay. We very much enjoyed our stay in Charleston.
Jul 15, 2013
Our stay was good other than the pool was closed almost our whole stay. It finally opened the day before we left. We were counting on the pool to help entertain the 7 kids we had with us but no such luck. I wish they would have told us about the pool being closed when we made our reservations.
Jul 15, 2013
had a wonderful time but was hard to find. gps didn't show it.
Jul 14, 2013
Didn't feel good. Had to go through a trailer park to reach the campground. Big group of teenagers in the playground in front of the bathrooms after 11 pm. People leaving the campground at 5am with their trucks. The grass in the RV yard was long and lot of flys. The KOA T-shirts of the personnel were dirty and not a lot to do in de neighborhood. Pool was nice. Bathrooms were clean.
Jul 11, 2013
Pulled in to mud everywhere. Changed to another spot, not much better. Deep ruts from the tires. This park needs to be graded and graveled to get rid of the mud everywhere. The sewers were open to allow for the excess water to drain, very unhealthy for the guests. Trash was supposed to be picked up at 12, most days there all day. Only good thing, the staff was nice.
Jul 08, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA for the past 4-5 yrs on an annual dive trip in the area. The facilities are clean and employees the friendly & accommodating. Area had a lot of rain lately. Would've been nice to ae had straw down in front of cabin so we didn't have to trek thru mud all week into the cabin. :-(
Jul 08, 2013
everyone was very friendly and helpful, I would recommend this campground and if I am in the Charleston area again that's where I am staying
Jul 08, 2013
Wonderful location for our visit, all beaches were within 30 minutes. Our camping spot lacked a lot to be desired. Unable to set up camp due to the site holding so much water. Supper was cooked on the grill in ankle deep water most nights. The water recessed some, but we were never without standing water. Understand can't control the weather but sites could be built up and better maintained.
Jul 08, 2013
Our stay at the campground was a good experience. I do not give 5 stars due to the fact the WiFi was very poor. We could not use iPad nor laptop - signal is not strong. Bathrooms and showers were very clean and campground was well kept. We will stay again at this campground.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
A total black, sticky, muddy underwater mess. Our camp site was TOTALLY underwater 90% of the time. It was a rainy week but there was no drainage at all. The pool was closed 5 of the 7 days we were there. Not at all an enjoyable KOA camping experience. Not what we would expect from any KOA.
Jul 07, 2013
Enjoyed our stay. Only suggestions I have are the pads on bunks did not fit properly.
Jul 07, 2013
My cabin yard was so muddy I had to park at entrance and walk to it. Every time I walked across the yard my feet were covered in black mud.Pool was closed my entire stay.Never been so disappointed in a koa.I will never go back!
Jul 07, 2013
Poor location. No camp security. No dog play area (was on the map, but nothing there.
Jul 06, 2013
The spots are narrow. the internet wireless is fair at best. there was rain every day but they did a good job of keeping things going well. I will return.
Jul 05, 2013
The entire campground is a Mud hole. A little gravel would have been nice. Absolutely no upkeep or care rendered to the property. To even call this a campground is a stretch. Where are the KOA inspectors? Shame on you KOA!
Jul 05, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Wi fi works sporadically the mattress in our cabin #2 did not fit bunks the girls had to sleep sideways, the office was closed when we made them when I tried to talk the next morning the response was here is a comment card no manager works on Sundays

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.