Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 14, 2013
When raining this place is not good, no pads or gravel to keep you afloat. Good for a stop over due to the location close to the freeway.
Oct 14, 2013
Great place to stay. We really enjoyed the cabin.
Oct 06, 2013
short stay nice a quite.
Oct 06, 2013
very friendly and helpful staff, even doing the extraordinary. RV sites are very narrow, the neighbours 5th wheel wall was right flush with our concrete pad. I suggest to put up some street light to see were to go at night.
Oct 05, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
Good staff. Only problems were overhanging pine trees stained roof of coach and site wasn't as level as it should have been.
Sep 30, 2013
Beautiful trees...garbage always picked up early...lots of flies though until I hung my plastic waterbags with pennies - no more flies.
Sep 30, 2013
VERY helpful hosts! Great location.
Sep 29, 2013
The cabin was nice, cute and clean. However, there was hardly any yard and nothing to do at this campground. Next time I will probably look for a KOA with more activities.
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
Site was not as long as I requested and told when reservation was made. My dingy hung out in the isle. Also, the waste hookup was located in a bush.
Sep 27, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 25, 2013
We stay here on every trip to Charleston.
Sep 24, 2013
Getting into and out of this campground was a terrible experience.
Sep 23, 2013
Nice facility, helpful staff.
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
Why long term campers are put back by the service road, garbage are is beyond me. Not a great location with a view of a broken down fence. Noisy campground since it is just off a main road with sirens heard multiple times a day. Internet was worthless! And since it was factored into the cost of a month's stay, it was also annoying that we were paying for something that didn't work a lot.
Sep 22, 2013
Had to change locations once due to space being too short and hookups too unhandy.
Sep 21, 2013
Nice job. This park is clean and in a good location.
Sep 17, 2013
Sep 17, 2013
Not as bad as some reviews note, No cable TV, small RV sites with limited parking, smell of sewer present most days, staff is great and very helpful, not up to KOA standards that we know
Sep 16, 2013
Convenient for our weekend in Charleston. And we used our VKR Appreciation "free" day!
Sep 16, 2013
this is the first time we rented the lodge here...we have rented one room cabin and kottage previously....the best one so far is the kottage...the lodge had tv but could not watch even the local channels and had no stove to cook on....the tv could use an air tv antenna and for cooking they could at least provide a hot plate...not impressed for the amount of money for rental...
Sep 16, 2013
Friendly employees. Nice place.
Sep 10, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
it was close to what we wanted to do . and thankfully the air condition worked. the worst part was how hot the temp. was.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Campground was fairly clean - internet was sporatic. Not sure what management can do but could have done without the couple of cats raoming around.
Sep 03, 2013
Seemed like the majority of folks were living vs camping at the facility. Asked for a change of site after driving by two sites that appeared to 'house' a homeless person, on the way to our campsite. The soap dispensers in both the men's and women's bathrooms were broken. The one soap bottle in the men's bathroom was out of soap the whole time. Campground next to a trailer park.
Sep 03, 2013
Had fun clean facility Do need to clean up all the old trashy permanent campers
Sep 03, 2013
We absolutely loved our camping trip at KOA. It was our 6 year olds first time & she's ready to do it again!
Sep 03, 2013
We were overcharged for our stay. My online reservations was for $32.99 we paid $20 deposit then when we got there we had to pay another $26. Not only that but we were told we would have a very shaded sit and they put us on a site with not one tree. We had to move sites due to the fact that we had no ac, that would be why we wanted a shaded site. Pool was nice and bathrooms were clean.
Sep 02, 2013
The staff were very nice, but the camp ground it self has little to be desired. We were disappointed to see that it sat next to a trailer park and that there were no bike trails are any other camp activities to do.
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Our stay was quiet and comfortable. Read reviews before we reserved and were concerned but not at all disappointed even though we got heavy rain our last day. Pool is very clean and staff friendly. Loved the hash browns!!
Aug 16, 2013
A nice place for an overnight pull in during long trips.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
We loved the KOA! The staff was so polite and extra helpful.
Aug 12, 2013
Cabin had 1 ac that wasn't big enough for unit. Average sleeping room temperature was 86 when we tried to sleep. Didn't have fire pit, nor a gas grill like they said on the phone. Found live roaches in cabin so had to take everything to cleaners before going home. Staff was nice and accommodations were new but was collocates with another trailer park. Will not go back there
Aug 11, 2013
There have been alot of slams against this KOA over the ground being to muddy and sinking Rv after rains. I was here during some heavy rain and didn't see or have that problem (23' Koala). Could use a bit more gravel but not that bad. The wi-fi is a hit and miss issue though. To many people on one router. The place is well kept otherwise and no problem sleeping at night. I would stay here again.
Aug 09, 2013
not even close to what we are used to at KOAs. sites poorly identified and maintained. staff more likely to be found 7-11. not camper orientated.
Aug 08, 2013
This has to be one of the worst KOA's we have ever stayed at. The amenities were the absolute bare minimum. No scheduled activities, clubhouse was padlocked, amenities (such as laundry & playground) appeared to be used by the locals living in the trailer park next door. On the positive side, the employees that greeted us were friendly and the bathrooms were clean. We will not stay here again.
Aug 07, 2013
Free coffee, WIFI, and geographic location good. We were assigned a site with water/sewer leakage which was not fixed during our stay. We stayed 10 days but could not get the weekly rate for the extra 3 days (poor policy). Doggy bags not provided at dog waste station. At our next visit, we plan to stay at the Mt. Pleasant SC which is properly maintained.
Aug 06, 2013
We arrived on a day of light rain. The location is barely gravel mostly mud. We have a 36 foot 5th wheel. By the time we set-up the rain had picked up and our campsite was a lake. To our dissapointment,there was no cable hook-up for the rainy days. The basketball court was an 8x8 concrete pad suitable for toddlers. The road you turn onto has heavy traffic.
Aug 05, 2013
we stayed 3 days and it was wonderful.. disappointed there was no camp fire pits. nice pool. but hard to get in and out of the camp onto the main road there.
Aug 04, 2013
pool was clean, however regular camping sites were not well maintained. through traffic was observed into adjacent construction business.
Aug 04, 2013
Site was crowded by trees - no room for slides and awning. I had to pull way forward to get the slides out. Then the sewer dump was out of reach for two hoses. Roads are rough and have pot holes, sites are muddy. Sewer dumps are broken and below ground. They did a good job of keeping the mosquitos controlled.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.