Charleston KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045


9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Get Directions

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jan 19, 2016
very nice campground
Jan 18, 2016
Expecting rain, I did not expect to wake up to a small pond around my RV. I was moved to another site that I selected and found there was not much of an option to get to higher ground". The second night was not much better. Sites are not level and need re gravelling. The facilities are clean but need updating. Staff is pleasant. A number of permanent sites....


We are excited to announce major projects this year to refurbish our campus. This work will be completed in phases and we expect the improvements will eliminate the soggy site issue. We look forward to your return!
Jan 15, 2016
Convenient and friendly staff.
Jan 05, 2016
Great campground with very friendly and helpful staff!!! Highly recommend it!
Jan 05, 2016
I have always rated this KOA at the highest possible level. This time the fenced dog park was atrocious with over a dozen dog messes left undisturbed. The final insult was rolling up my electrical cord back into storage when I discovered some dog owner let his pet use my power cord as a target. Disgusting. Management was advised, but since I was leaving the park I'm aware of any corrective action.


Thank you for alerting us to the pet waste issue! We are "tightening the leash" on irresponsible pet owners and working to make sure all employees are super diligent to eliminate anything left behind.
Jan 04, 2016
very noisy with planes overhead, no one there to enforce the "QUIET TIME" rule, off a busy road, just too much for us.
Jan 04, 2016
Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful, only problem is the sites are quite close together
Jan 04, 2016
Great location and friendly staff.
Jan 03, 2016
Jan 02, 2016
The staff was great, but the camp grounds where horrible. The sites where extremely small and was basically an extension of the trailer park next to it. We ended us leaving a night early to go to another camp ground. The is not a recommend camp ground for families.
Dec 30, 2015
We have stayed here a few times and everything was fine. This time we were next to a family that left garbage on the ground, no license plate on trailer and blankets on every window. Cords going in Windows and garbage bags in front of door area outside. The dog run was filthy, my dog refused to go in after first trip... We did not feel comfortable staying there this time and will not be returning.
Dec 27, 2015
Great staff!!! No issues there but the campground is sub-standard. A little gravel would be a great improvement. WIFI was good and I appreciate that very much. Sites and roadways are too tight.
Dec 24, 2015
Close to everything.
Dec 21, 2015
Great place to stay as opposed to a motel. Would not stay here for a woodsy camping experience. Friendly people and clean.
Dec 14, 2015
Friendly staff, clean campgrounds, and fully equipped kitchen.
Dec 11, 2015
Electrical box had bad breakers. Trees too close for turning with big rigs. Park was in an overall state of disrepair. I will stay somewhere else next time even if I have to drive out of my way. This park is a run down trailer park.
Dec 09, 2015
Campground is in need of updating. Site c2 flooded with a small amount of rain. Site b3, my original site, was flooded when i arrived. The check it people, very helpful and well trained and friendly.
Dec 07, 2015
Campground is mostly permanganate old beater RVs. No the usual KOA.
Dec 02, 2015
This was a nice park.
Dec 02, 2015
It was fantastic, working with Kimberly was such a pleasure because she was concerned about making sure my trip was great family
Dec 01, 2015
The lodge we rented was great-- new and clean and perfect for our group of six. Not sure I would want to camp there though. Saw several pit bulls and dobermans on sites that appeared permanently occupied.
Nov 30, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I was in my RV and had family in three cabins. All had a freak time. See you for New Years
Nov 30, 2015
Too many people staying full time there, just in a bad location inside a neighborhood, felt like sites were cramped. the rec hall was never open, picnic table on site was nasty, will not stay here again.
Nov 30, 2015
We really like this KOA the only problem is the sites are very close together we suggest pulling your camper as far forward or back as you can so you can park a pull vehicle. Sadly there just isn't enough room for anything but a compact car.
Nov 20, 2015
Great place to stay. Very helpful staff.
Nov 09, 2015
only problem we encountered was that the bathrooms were being cleaned just before checkout...around 10 am. i think it would be more convenient for the cleaning to be done lots earlier or after check out time. also, it is the first campground i have stayed in that didn't have a locked gate at the entrance which always makes me feel safer.
Nov 06, 2015
The folks at the facility were very nice. My stay was over a two month period so I was given the monthly rate with was great. The downside of that is that I was put in a part of the campground with other RV's that looked as if they had come there to die. Also I have a 40' toy hauler the site I was given was just big enough for my rv with left me with little to no parking for my truck.
Nov 03, 2015
Nov 03, 2015
Older park but adiquit. Road ways in need of repair. Heavy traffic on hay 78.
Nov 03, 2015
Nov 02, 2015
First time at a KOA Kamper Kabin. Great location for events in Charleston. Comfortable and dry. Mirror fell off hook while trying to find light and had holes in screening which let in bugs, but easy fixes. Staff was helpful and pleasant at check-in.
Nov 02, 2015
Good campground.
Nov 02, 2015
Nov 01, 2015
Pas le plus beau terrain KOA mais avec un personnel courtois, à 20 miles de la ville et du bruit. J'y retournerais sans hésiter.
Oct 30, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful, bathrooms were fairly clean. The cabin was musty smelling and you can not open the Windows without letting in bugs because the screen frames were bent and the blinds were all broken. Picked this location despite the bad reviews I read because it was conveniently located near the Naval base in Goose Creek. Will not stay at this location again on my next trip
Oct 29, 2015
We were disappointed in the park. There were more non- working machines in the laundry than working ones. Our neighbors sewer hose was within 6 feet of our door or bedroom window. There was traffic, plane and train noise.
Oct 27, 2015
Great time and great staff.
Oct 27, 2015
A group of us (7 reservations) went and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Weve even booked our sites for next year. The people were helpful and gracious while the campgrounds were well-maintained. Only negatives were the lot sizes were small (for my MH) and our site locations were changed at check-in. This would normally not have mattered but, traveling as a group, we had plans for group events.
Oct 27, 2015
Great Stay
Oct 27, 2015
I stayed in a cabin, it was very quiet, nice place, decent area. Koa staff was extremely polite and helpful, having fresh hot coffee in the store when I checked out was perfect thank you so much I will be back.
Oct 26, 2015
My camping group liked it so much we all made reservations for next year.
Oct 26, 2015
Nice basic park.
Oct 26, 2015
We had an adventure staying in Kabin 1 with our two high school international students from Finland and Denmark.
Oct 21, 2015
Nothing special good for a few days
Oct 19, 2015
It was nice and quiet. We slept great. However, you got roaches in your cabin. Thanks for the free coffee!
Oct 15, 2015
Very nice location about 15 miles North of downtown Charleston. Sites are a bit primitive but level many could use more gravel. Rates are reasonable and comparable to other KOAs.
Oct 14, 2015
Need to fill in low places B 1-4. Know it's been wet.
Oct 14, 2015
The staff was excellent the facility was scary with a good number of permanent guests. Again the staff was truly excellent and helpful. wifi was awesome, no noise or issues just not updated and inviting.
Oct 12, 2015
This is again the worst campground that we have stayed in. We only stay here for convenience vs paying for a room. Nothing to do unless you want to hang out in the trailer park. This place is a dump! Even the "deluxe" cabins you have to bring your own linen, we had three broken utensils, the door has a huge gap on the bottom, so welcome your night time critters. Blinds wont open. TRASHY
Oct 05, 2015
Due to flooding, we had to leave earlier than originally planned and the staff was very pleasant about having to refund our payment for 3 nights.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy