Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2013
Our stay was good other than the pool was closed almost our whole stay. It finally opened the day before we left. We were counting on the pool to help entertain the 7 kids we had with us but no such luck. I wish they would have told us about the pool being closed when we made our reservations.
Jul 15, 2013
had a wonderful time but was hard to find. gps didn't show it.
Jul 14, 2013
Didn't feel good. Had to go through a trailer park to reach the campground. Big group of teenagers in the playground in front of the bathrooms after 11 pm. People leaving the campground at 5am with their trucks. The grass in the RV yard was long and lot of flys. The KOA T-shirts of the personnel were dirty and not a lot to do in de neighborhood. Pool was nice. Bathrooms were clean.
Jul 11, 2013
Pulled in to mud everywhere. Changed to another spot, not much better. Deep ruts from the tires. This park needs to be graded and graveled to get rid of the mud everywhere. The sewers were open to allow for the excess water to drain, very unhealthy for the guests. Trash was supposed to be picked up at 12, most days there all day. Only good thing, the staff was nice.
Jul 08, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA for the past 4-5 yrs on an annual dive trip in the area. The facilities are clean and employees the friendly & accommodating. Area had a lot of rain lately. Would've been nice to ae had straw down in front of cabin so we didn't have to trek thru mud all week into the cabin. :-(
Jul 08, 2013
everyone was very friendly and helpful, I would recommend this campground and if I am in the Charleston area again that's where I am staying
Jul 08, 2013
Wonderful location for our visit, all beaches were within 30 minutes. Our camping spot lacked a lot to be desired. Unable to set up camp due to the site holding so much water. Supper was cooked on the grill in ankle deep water most nights. The water recessed some, but we were never without standing water. Understand can't control the weather but sites could be built up and better maintained.
Jul 08, 2013
Our stay at the campground was a good experience. I do not give 5 stars due to the fact the WiFi was very poor. We could not use iPad nor laptop - signal is not strong. Bathrooms and showers were very clean and campground was well kept. We will stay again at this campground.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
A total black, sticky, muddy underwater mess. Our camp site was TOTALLY underwater 90% of the time. It was a rainy week but there was no drainage at all. The pool was closed 5 of the 7 days we were there. Not at all an enjoyable KOA camping experience. Not what we would expect from any KOA.
Jul 07, 2013
Enjoyed our stay. Only suggestions I have are the pads on bunks did not fit properly.
Jul 07, 2013
My cabin yard was so muddy I had to park at entrance and walk to it. Every time I walked across the yard my feet were covered in black mud.Pool was closed my entire stay.Never been so disappointed in a koa.I will never go back!
Jul 07, 2013
Poor location. No camp security. No dog play area (was on the map, but nothing there.
Jul 06, 2013
The spots are narrow. the internet wireless is fair at best. there was rain every day but they did a good job of keeping things going well. I will return.
Jul 05, 2013
The entire campground is a Mud hole. A little gravel would have been nice. Absolutely no upkeep or care rendered to the property. To even call this a campground is a stretch. Where are the KOA inspectors? Shame on you KOA!
Jul 05, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Wi fi works sporadically the mattress in our cabin #2 did not fit bunks the girls had to sleep sideways, the office was closed when we made them when I tried to talk the next morning the response was here is a comment card no manager works on Sundays
Jun 30, 2013
This was the first time I stayed at a KOA and I was very happy with my stay. I just wish the bathrooms were more centrally located.
Jun 30, 2013
Stayed at this KOA to visit the Charleston, SC area. It was a good choice.
Jun 29, 2013
Rain made it sloppy and muddy but otherwise all was great.
Jun 28, 2013
Staff was helpful. Facilities are old. No cable. Poor Internet reception.
Jun 28, 2013
Had a great time. Staff very polite and helpful. Loved it, loved it, loved it ! Surely will stay here again.
Jun 27, 2013
Site difficult to get in and small. Hookkups far away. No cable. No fire ring. Low water pressure. WiFi poor even though across from office. Difficult to cross road in and out of KOA as the road is a VERY busy 5 lane road with no light. Convenient to Charleston and area. Shaded and quiet.
Jun 27, 2013
We always stay at a KOA. They rate number 1 for clean restrooms !!!
Jun 27, 2013
very nice people
Jun 25, 2013
Our stay was very nice
Jun 24, 2013
Clean, quite friendly helpful staff. less expensive and crowded than the Mt Pleasant KOA. Have stayed here before and would again.
Jun 24, 2013
Nice pool. Left over trash on our picnic table and mud holes and bricks where the RV goes. Good location.
Jun 24, 2013
Everyone was friendly and helpful. Our cabin was nice and clean and the campgrounds were clean.
Jun 24, 2013
This KOA is not as nice as the other KOAs that I stay at. The roads are torn up and need major attention. There needs to be some rain water runoff control as many sites have standing water.
Jun 24, 2013
The campground and pool were nice. The drive to the beach wasn't bad. The camp store didn't really stock alot of items. The mosquitoes were terrible.
Jun 23, 2013
They office smelled of urine and the park itself was unkept
Jun 23, 2013
We have been staying in this KOA since March of 2013. The personnel are great and everything is very clean. Only one thing, the mosquitoes and ants are bothersr I wish they would do weekly or monthly fogging to keep the mosquito and ant population down..l
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 18, 2013
The staff was great. The campsite and bathhouse was always clean!
Jun 17, 2013
Our Girl Scout troop had an excellent time. They really loved doing the KOA Scavenger Hunt and getting necklaces for finding all the items. They are looking forward to next year. Now if you could just make lofts for all of them. Yes they all wanted to sleep in the loft.
Jun 17, 2013
The staff was very friendly and the grounds kept up nicely.
Jun 17, 2013
This campground does not have a fire ring and it is close to the road so you hear the traffic at night. Very Unhappy with this campground. But the employees were really nice.
Jun 15, 2013
The office folks are very kind, but the campground does not have cable, and the mobile home park adjacent is just a tad creepy. Ok for overnight only, but not the KOA's we are used to. Sorry!
Jun 12, 2013
The campground was fine, however heavy rain created huge water and mud issues. This location should be better prepared for rain, crushed gravel roads and pads made it difficult. Also, traffic on the main access road is very heavy, campers should be advised. The staff was friendly and the facilities were neat, worn - but neat.
Jun 12, 2013
Jun 11, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
No gravel pads. No cable. Wi fi signal was weak and very slow. It was rainy and our RV was an island. Drainage was terrible. It is not in a good area. Trailer life rating is way too high. This does not speak well for KOA
Jun 07, 2013
Very clean restrooms. Courteous and friendly staff. Easy commute to surrounding areas. The only downside was inside the cabins seemed to stay damp even with the air conditioning running.
Jun 02, 2013
Overall the stay was very nice. It is peaceful and quiet. The complaints I have was the Wifi signal was weak in the section closer to the back of the property. The other is the difficulty of making a left turn onto Hwy 78 from the main entrance at different times of the day. Mostly in the morning and afternoon. The traffic is heavy. I suggest a traffic light be placed there for added safety.
Jun 02, 2013
Nice staff, very level site, and excellent sewer hook-up
Jun 01, 2013
Cool, quiet, neighbors friendly and staff very accommodating.
May 31, 2013
We use your campground to bring our motorhome in to park it while we're visiting our son in Summerville. It's so convenient. Love it!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.