Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2013
This has to be one of the worst KOA's we have ever stayed at. The amenities were the absolute bare minimum. No scheduled activities, clubhouse was padlocked, amenities (such as laundry & playground) appeared to be used by the locals living in the trailer park next door. On the positive side, the employees that greeted us were friendly and the bathrooms were clean. We will not stay here again.
Aug 07, 2013
Free coffee, WIFI, and geographic location good. We were assigned a site with water/sewer leakage which was not fixed during our stay. We stayed 10 days but could not get the weekly rate for the extra 3 days (poor policy). Doggy bags not provided at dog waste station. At our next visit, we plan to stay at the Mt. Pleasant SC which is properly maintained.
Aug 06, 2013
We arrived on a day of light rain. The location is barely gravel mostly mud. We have a 36 foot 5th wheel. By the time we set-up the rain had picked up and our campsite was a lake. To our dissapointment,there was no cable hook-up for the rainy days. The basketball court was an 8x8 concrete pad suitable for toddlers. The road you turn onto has heavy traffic.
Aug 05, 2013
we stayed 3 days and it was wonderful.. disappointed there was no camp fire pits. nice pool. but hard to get in and out of the camp onto the main road there.
Aug 04, 2013
pool was clean, however regular camping sites were not well maintained. through traffic was observed into adjacent construction business.
Aug 04, 2013
Site was crowded by trees - no room for slides and awning. I had to pull way forward to get the slides out. Then the sewer dump was out of reach for two hoses. Roads are rough and have pot holes, sites are muddy. Sewer dumps are broken and below ground. They did a good job of keeping the mosquitos controlled.
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
I arrived at 8:30 pm and got no escort to my site,couldnt locate the sewer line and when asked the attendant said well there should be one somewhere.I was too tired to look in the dark and rain. went to store to get milk and was told go to Sunoco the milk they had was expired along with many other items in.Observed underaged kids drinking in pool with kids from nearby trailer park. NO THANKS!!
Aug 02, 2013
I had fun here.
Jul 31, 2013
Great staff good effort to relay info.
Jul 31, 2013
The camp ground is in town and does not have cable TV. There was a sewer smell every morning. The sewer for the camp site beside me was right out my front door. The poolwas nice. A good place to sleep at night. But not a good place if you are planning on hanging around the campsite.
Jul 30, 2013
Nice spot, shady park. VERY clean. Staff is great. No cable, but my satellite came in good.
Jul 30, 2013
We had the most fantastic time! Any time we are in Charleston we stay at this KOA for its convenience. The pool is wonderful, bathrooms squeaky clean, and staff friendly and helpful.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
This was the most horrible experience I've EVER HAD!!!! First the campground is right beside a trailer park full of kids. I never used the pool because everytime I tried it was full of these kids. Also the entire area just looked rough so I was never comfortable. Next the cabin has roaches!! Don't stay here!!!!!
Jul 26, 2013
Cabin and grounds were very clean. Bathrooms were clean and spacious. The pool area was large and clean. The area quiet and people on the grounds were helpful. My only complaint was the $50 key deposit required for the cabin. We had not budgeted for it so it affected our trip. Teens from nearby trailer park stayed on playground making my children scared to play. We would return.
Jul 25, 2013
Sites are grass lanes between trees - poor drainage during heavy rain. No fire pits, grills, picnic tables require attention, roads are narrow with large potholes in the curves, WiFi access was minimal at back of park as was local TV coverage. Sewer covers to many sites not covering holes. Not exactly a premium site but called and billed as one.
Jul 25, 2013
Flies were terrible. Could not eat outside and enjoy weather. Need to spray.
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
We had a fantastic stay at the KOA Charleston. Can't wait to visit again soon!
Jul 22, 2013
we really enjoyed our stay. everyone was very polite and effecient. my only suggestion for the cabin screen doors is that they need to put rubber or felt pads on them as they make a really loud noise when they close. most people just let them slam and it woke us up when they went in and out at all hours of the night. however, we will be back!
Jul 22, 2013
To small for my motorhome. Tight turns. Very muddy.
Jul 22, 2013
It would have been nice to know about the $50 key deposit, before registering. The bunk beds were not true twin bunk beds as stated. The matress had to be shoved into the frame and then it would bow up in the middle. The general location is not as nice as other KOA's - the bathhouse had a coded lock, I assume to keep those that my wander around from the trailor court that is adjacent.
Jul 21, 2013
WiFi very weak, site very small, no fire rings although they sold firewood, staff not very friendly, lots of old, run down, neglected rv's on site.
Jul 21, 2013
Campground very muddy. Sites are very small. No place to have a campfire. Originally had planned to stay 4 nights and cut it to 2. Very unhappy with this KOA.
Jul 21, 2013
The noisy trailers and people living behind the cabins didn't make for a peaceful stay. Also the 1 1/2 inch cockroach that woke me up in the middle of the night because it was loud enough I thought it was a mouse. I had two that day, so that didn't make the cabin seem clean although it looked clean as well as the grounds.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Close to the interstate, yet very quiet. No problems with staff, restrooms, Wi-Fi, etc... Will stay here again.
Jul 20, 2013
SITE ARE LEVEL BUT ALITTLE MUDDY. I KNOW YOU HAVE HAD ALOT OF RAIN BUT MAYBE YOU SHOULD PUT SOME EXTRA GRAVEL DOWN AROUND THE SITES.EVERYTHING ELSE WAS GREAT.THE GROUNDS WERE CLEAN AND THE STAFF WAS FANTASTIC. THANK-YOU WE ENJOYED OUR STAY AND HOPE SUNNIER DAYS ARE ON THERE WAY FOR YOU ALL...
Jul 19, 2013
Quiet, shady serene. Friendly staff. Close to attractions, city of Charleston, restaurants.
Jul 18, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and quiet facilities. Great stay!
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Location, staff and facility was very good. Only suggestion would be more gravel on sites.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
not so bad, but also not very good. the kabin was little old but clean; the mens restroom was not so clean; the general store sells only very few things, the recreation room looks very old and a kind of dirty; you canĀ“t stay inside the room for a long time because it smells very strong like cigarettes the kabin was cheap and we stayed only two nights so it was o.k. but is nothing for longer s
Jul 16, 2013
Other than the pool - which was rented out for locals, not alot for the kids to do. Roaches galore in the cabin, I had to go purchase bug spray. Trailer park right behind the cabin with a dilapidated fence not appealing to see. No gate at the enterance like most KOA's so there was a lot of suspicious traffic.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Very clean bathrooms. Clean and comfortable kamping Kabin. Quiet and relaxing environment. Probably the best value in the charleston area. Will definately be staying here again in the future.
Jul 16, 2013
We came with a group of cub scouts and really enjoyed our stay. The staff is so friendly and helpful. They had a lot of great suggestions and a scavenger hunt for the boys. The bathrooms were the cleanest I've ever seen! The drive into Charleston was all interstate and only took about 20 minutes. We are definitely planning to return with the family.
Jul 15, 2013
The Kampground was easily accessible and pleasant in appearance. Our Kamping Kabin was clean and well maintained. The staff was very courteous and helpful for our entire stay. We very much enjoyed our stay in Charleston.
Jul 15, 2013
Our stay was good other than the pool was closed almost our whole stay. It finally opened the day before we left. We were counting on the pool to help entertain the 7 kids we had with us but no such luck. I wish they would have told us about the pool being closed when we made our reservations.
Jul 15, 2013
had a wonderful time but was hard to find. gps didn't show it.
Jul 14, 2013
Didn't feel good. Had to go through a trailer park to reach the campground. Big group of teenagers in the playground in front of the bathrooms after 11 pm. People leaving the campground at 5am with their trucks. The grass in the RV yard was long and lot of flys. The KOA T-shirts of the personnel were dirty and not a lot to do in de neighborhood. Pool was nice. Bathrooms were clean.
Jul 11, 2013
Pulled in to mud everywhere. Changed to another spot, not much better. Deep ruts from the tires. This park needs to be graded and graveled to get rid of the mud everywhere. The sewers were open to allow for the excess water to drain, very unhealthy for the guests. Trash was supposed to be picked up at 12, most days there all day. Only good thing, the staff was nice.
Jul 08, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA for the past 4-5 yrs on an annual dive trip in the area. The facilities are clean and employees the friendly & accommodating. Area had a lot of rain lately. Would've been nice to ae had straw down in front of cabin so we didn't have to trek thru mud all week into the cabin. :-(
Jul 08, 2013
everyone was very friendly and helpful, I would recommend this campground and if I am in the Charleston area again that's where I am staying

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.