Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 31, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Our stay was quiet and comfortable. Read reviews before we reserved and were concerned but not at all disappointed even though we got heavy rain our last day. Pool is very clean and staff friendly. Loved the hash browns!!
Aug 16, 2013
A nice place for an overnight pull in during long trips.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
We loved the KOA! The staff was so polite and extra helpful.
Aug 12, 2013
Cabin had 1 ac that wasn't big enough for unit. Average sleeping room temperature was 86 when we tried to sleep. Didn't have fire pit, nor a gas grill like they said on the phone. Found live roaches in cabin so had to take everything to cleaners before going home. Staff was nice and accommodations were new but was collocates with another trailer park. Will not go back there
Aug 11, 2013
There have been alot of slams against this KOA over the ground being to muddy and sinking Rv after rains. I was here during some heavy rain and didn't see or have that problem (23' Koala). Could use a bit more gravel but not that bad. The wi-fi is a hit and miss issue though. To many people on one router. The place is well kept otherwise and no problem sleeping at night. I would stay here again.
Aug 09, 2013
not even close to what we are used to at KOAs. sites poorly identified and maintained. staff more likely to be found 7-11. not camper orientated.
Aug 08, 2013
This has to be one of the worst KOA's we have ever stayed at. The amenities were the absolute bare minimum. No scheduled activities, clubhouse was padlocked, amenities (such as laundry & playground) appeared to be used by the locals living in the trailer park next door. On the positive side, the employees that greeted us were friendly and the bathrooms were clean. We will not stay here again.
Aug 07, 2013
Free coffee, WIFI, and geographic location good. We were assigned a site with water/sewer leakage which was not fixed during our stay. We stayed 10 days but could not get the weekly rate for the extra 3 days (poor policy). Doggy bags not provided at dog waste station. At our next visit, we plan to stay at the Mt. Pleasant SC which is properly maintained.
Aug 06, 2013
We arrived on a day of light rain. The location is barely gravel mostly mud. We have a 36 foot 5th wheel. By the time we set-up the rain had picked up and our campsite was a lake. To our dissapointment,there was no cable hook-up for the rainy days. The basketball court was an 8x8 concrete pad suitable for toddlers. The road you turn onto has heavy traffic.
Aug 05, 2013
we stayed 3 days and it was wonderful.. disappointed there was no camp fire pits. nice pool. but hard to get in and out of the camp onto the main road there.
Aug 04, 2013
pool was clean, however regular camping sites were not well maintained. through traffic was observed into adjacent construction business.
Aug 04, 2013
Site was crowded by trees - no room for slides and awning. I had to pull way forward to get the slides out. Then the sewer dump was out of reach for two hoses. Roads are rough and have pot holes, sites are muddy. Sewer dumps are broken and below ground. They did a good job of keeping the mosquitos controlled.
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
I arrived at 8:30 pm and got no escort to my site,couldnt locate the sewer line and when asked the attendant said well there should be one somewhere.I was too tired to look in the dark and rain. went to store to get milk and was told go to Sunoco the milk they had was expired along with many other items in.Observed underaged kids drinking in pool with kids from nearby trailer park. NO THANKS!!
Aug 02, 2013
I had fun here.
Jul 31, 2013
Great staff good effort to relay info.
Jul 31, 2013
The camp ground is in town and does not have cable TV. There was a sewer smell every morning. The sewer for the camp site beside me was right out my front door. The poolwas nice. A good place to sleep at night. But not a good place if you are planning on hanging around the campsite.
Jul 30, 2013
Nice spot, shady park. VERY clean. Staff is great. No cable, but my satellite came in good.
Jul 30, 2013
We had the most fantastic time! Any time we are in Charleston we stay at this KOA for its convenience. The pool is wonderful, bathrooms squeaky clean, and staff friendly and helpful.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
This was the most horrible experience I've EVER HAD!!!! First the campground is right beside a trailer park full of kids. I never used the pool because everytime I tried it was full of these kids. Also the entire area just looked rough so I was never comfortable. Next the cabin has roaches!! Don't stay here!!!!!
Jul 26, 2013
Cabin and grounds were very clean. Bathrooms were clean and spacious. The pool area was large and clean. The area quiet and people on the grounds were helpful. My only complaint was the $50 key deposit required for the cabin. We had not budgeted for it so it affected our trip. Teens from nearby trailer park stayed on playground making my children scared to play. We would return.
Jul 25, 2013
Sites are grass lanes between trees - poor drainage during heavy rain. No fire pits, grills, picnic tables require attention, roads are narrow with large potholes in the curves, WiFi access was minimal at back of park as was local TV coverage. Sewer covers to many sites not covering holes. Not exactly a premium site but called and billed as one.
Jul 25, 2013
Flies were terrible. Could not eat outside and enjoy weather. Need to spray.
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
We had a fantastic stay at the KOA Charleston. Can't wait to visit again soon!
Jul 22, 2013
we really enjoyed our stay. everyone was very polite and effecient. my only suggestion for the cabin screen doors is that they need to put rubber or felt pads on them as they make a really loud noise when they close. most people just let them slam and it woke us up when they went in and out at all hours of the night. however, we will be back!
Jul 22, 2013
To small for my motorhome. Tight turns. Very muddy.
Jul 22, 2013
It would have been nice to know about the $50 key deposit, before registering. The bunk beds were not true twin bunk beds as stated. The matress had to be shoved into the frame and then it would bow up in the middle. The general location is not as nice as other KOA's - the bathhouse had a coded lock, I assume to keep those that my wander around from the trailor court that is adjacent.
Jul 21, 2013
WiFi very weak, site very small, no fire rings although they sold firewood, staff not very friendly, lots of old, run down, neglected rv's on site.
Jul 21, 2013
Campground very muddy. Sites are very small. No place to have a campfire. Originally had planned to stay 4 nights and cut it to 2. Very unhappy with this KOA.
Jul 21, 2013
The noisy trailers and people living behind the cabins didn't make for a peaceful stay. Also the 1 1/2 inch cockroach that woke me up in the middle of the night because it was loud enough I thought it was a mouse. I had two that day, so that didn't make the cabin seem clean although it looked clean as well as the grounds.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Close to the interstate, yet very quiet. No problems with staff, restrooms, Wi-Fi, etc... Will stay here again.
Jul 20, 2013
SITE ARE LEVEL BUT ALITTLE MUDDY. I KNOW YOU HAVE HAD ALOT OF RAIN BUT MAYBE YOU SHOULD PUT SOME EXTRA GRAVEL DOWN AROUND THE SITES.EVERYTHING ELSE WAS GREAT.THE GROUNDS WERE CLEAN AND THE STAFF WAS FANTASTIC. THANK-YOU WE ENJOYED OUR STAY AND HOPE SUNNIER DAYS ARE ON THERE WAY FOR YOU ALL...
Jul 19, 2013
Quiet, shady serene. Friendly staff. Close to attractions, city of Charleston, restaurants.
Jul 18, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and quiet facilities. Great stay!
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Location, staff and facility was very good. Only suggestion would be more gravel on sites.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
not so bad, but also not very good. the kabin was little old but clean; the mens restroom was not so clean; the general store sells only very few things, the recreation room looks very old and a kind of dirty; you canĀ“t stay inside the room for a long time because it smells very strong like cigarettes the kabin was cheap and we stayed only two nights so it was o.k. but is nothing for longer s
Jul 16, 2013
Other than the pool - which was rented out for locals, not alot for the kids to do. Roaches galore in the cabin, I had to go purchase bug spray. Trailer park right behind the cabin with a dilapidated fence not appealing to see. No gate at the enterance like most KOA's so there was a lot of suspicious traffic.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Very clean bathrooms. Clean and comfortable kamping Kabin. Quiet and relaxing environment. Probably the best value in the charleston area. Will definately be staying here again in the future.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.