Charleston KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Email

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 10, 2017
Did not have an issue even though we got to the campsite at 1130 pm. Showers were very clean. I'd stay here again.
May 09, 2017
Beautiful Campground and super nice staff! We will be back!
May 09, 2017
Extremely noisy campground. Emergency vehicle sirens are constant as are jet take off noise from a nearby airport. Long term camper sites look like a junk yard.
May 09, 2017
The sites are a bit close together. The bathrooms need better maintenance
May 09, 2017
We were not given the site we reserved, even though it was empty all weekend. We were put in a site that was so small we could barley get the truck off the road and we were extremely close to the other 2 campers.(we were camping in a popup) Campground is right on a 4 lane and traffic is heavy and loud.
May 09, 2017
May 09, 2017
very good, sites are good but no fire rings
May 09, 2017
Nice location. The concrete pads with chairs and fire place is a big plus
May 08, 2017
Clean and convenient to downtown for day trips. Lots seem to be a little tight but nice shade
May 08, 2017
The campground itself was very nice and well kept. I wasn't to fond of the traffic noise,being that the campground was just off an extremely busy road; but that's understandable considering its proximity to Savannah.
May 08, 2017
Very nice! Professional staff with outstanding customer service. Great location.
May 08, 2017
We enjoyed out sat will be back in July
May 06, 2017
the dog park shoiuld be cleaner
May 06, 2017
Not a bad place to stay,next to a trailer park so traffic going in and out all the time.Does have a $50 key deposit on cabins which is added in the total so you have to pay taxes on it but you receive $50 when you return key but it is taxed. Would stay again, maybe need a few more showers.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

There is no tax on the key deposit. It is keyed in as a non tax item. All taxes are calculated on registration fees or purchases only.
May 04, 2017
Nice campground. Only small complaint would be the full time camp sites within the park. Some of the sites are well kept, unfortunately I was next to a family with a lot of kids and a lot of junk outside. Plus they were working on cabinets and I had to listen to a electric sander a lot. Wish KOA was more of a camping resort than a campground with annual campers.
May 04, 2017
Great little Campground. Most spots are pull-thru. Friendly staff. Roads are a little narrow but I was able to get around in a 38 footer towing a Chevy Silverado. Only a short 20 min drive to downtown Charleston. Will definitely stay again when in the area.
May 04, 2017
the registration staff were friendly. the grounds were well kept. convenient to local stores and interstate. great place to stop over night or couple of days.
May 03, 2017
This facility is clean and easy to stay in the moment. My first spot was unusable due to location of sewer connection. The campground folks gave me a choice of other spots. That worked out fine. The TV channels were typical and other than local network news, I did not watch. Overall an ok place for a short stay. I did enjoy amenities in the area.
May 03, 2017
Constant noise. Traffic, it's on a military and civilian airport flight path. Too many full timers in old trailers that have probably not been moved in years. Wifi is useless. Our sewer connection was higher than the outlet on our unit. Hard to make waste water run up hill. Too many trees if you want to use your satellite dish. This KOA is by far the worst we have ever stayed in. It's a dump.
May 03, 2017
VERY CLEAN AND QUIET THIS TRIP WAS NOT FOR FUN WE HAD FAMILY PROBLEMS TO DEAL WITH IT MENT ALOT TO US TO HAVE A NICE PLACE TO HAVE SOME PEACE WHEN WE REALY NEEDED IT THANK YOU AND WE PLAN TO COME BACK FOR A HAPPY STAY
May 03, 2017
The cabin we rented had cockroaches, the deadbolt and handle locks were broken, the stench of cat urine inside and out, the public restroom never cleaned properly, my credit card was overcharged and people who were not staying there took over the pool
May 03, 2017
Good location for all local attractions - friendly staff
May 03, 2017
Advised of a late check in. Check in documents were supposed to be left at the front door. This was not done so I took the first spot I saw that was available. Luckily, it was the one they wanted me to park in. It all worked out ok.
May 02, 2017
For us it is too citified and too many permanent residents. No picnic table available on the site and instructions stated do not move tables. Staff were pleasant and helpful otherwise.
May 02, 2017
Staff couldn't of been nicer, there was a minor problem with the cable TV box when we got there. They sent someone right out to fix it. By the time I backed in, hooked up water and electric he had it fixed. Would stay there again.
May 01, 2017
The cabin was dirty, but it was reasonable for the price and our expectations. Staff was very friendly.
May 01, 2017
A lot of long term people, with a old trailer court next door. Had people get off from work and jump into swimming pool with work clothes on.
Apr 30, 2017
The sirens, traffic noise, and airplane noise was pretty heavy, but the campground was nice.
Apr 30, 2017
Nice friendly helpful staff a little noise you because of the highway traffic nothing you can do about that.
Apr 29, 2017
Not enough security lighting, very dark and did not feel safe like most KOA's. We stayed in F7, I was towing a car on a U-Haul auto transporter and someone hit my car minor damage chipped paint and I believe it was due to no lighting. Left early and did not see it until we got home and went to unload car. Recommend more security/safety lights.
Apr 28, 2017
Nice, clean park. It appears to be older as the sites are a bit narrow in these days of larger RVs with multiple slides. But the staff was great, and it appears that they are updating older elements of the park. It is on a busy road that can make getting out of the parks tricky. Convenient to most of the Charleston area sights.
Apr 27, 2017
Went as planned. Travel site flooded but otherwise ok.
Apr 27, 2017
A decent two night stay while we explored Charleston. Would stay again.
Apr 26, 2017
It was a great cabin and a great location. The staff was very willing to help and make my stay that much better.
Apr 25, 2017
Great location, close to the maid roads but secluded. Thank you for having recyclable bins and daily trash pick-up. The 8ft deep pool was a nice addition with the hammocks and cornhole :) We'll be back!
Apr 25, 2017
Clean campground that's well maintained by a curtiuos staff
Apr 25, 2017
Apr 24, 2017
Friendly staff, decent park. My site, B14was too small for my 39 ft fifth wheel and too tight pull thru when leavin. There were other sites vacant the entire time we were there that were more appropriate for my size camper.
Apr 24, 2017
My stay was great. I wasn't at the campground much because of other obligations but the cabin was nice, the pool was clean and the bath houses were clean.
Apr 24, 2017
Apr 24, 2017
Great place, great staff.
Apr 24, 2017
The staff was inattentive in monitoring illegally parked vehicles near the Rec Hall.The staff blocked access to Camp K9 by placing a barrier across the walkway during published hours stating Camp K9 was open The staff did not exercise positive controls to ensure that only vehicles belonging to registered guests were present by failing to issue vehicle passes.This KOA resembled a mobile home park.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Camp K9 is reached by footpath and is open dusk to dawn as indicated on the campground map. The maintenance drive-thru (located next to the footpath) is cabled off after 4pm daily. Parking places are provided, but at busy times people will ignore the rules. We try to get them moved quickly.
Apr 24, 2017
Loved it and will be returning soon. My only complaint is the bathrooms are not very child friendly. I had to lift my 4 year old up to the sink for him to brush his teeth. I think as KOA is family orientated it would have some way the children can wash hands etc in the bathrooms without having to be lifted by an adult.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the suggestion! This has not been brought up before. We are looking into a solution. We do offer a "family restroom" that is ADA compliant with a lower sink.
Apr 23, 2017
The staff were incredible! Friendly, professional and very accommodating. We are from the Charleston area and have stayed at all the camp grounds here and by far the KOA Charleston in Ladson is our absolute favorite! We will continue to stay here when we are in the area. Its also the easiest location to see all of Charleston and so many of the other attractions the lowcountry has to offer.
Apr 23, 2017
Very nice. The gardens and the gardener made our stay special.
Apr 22, 2017
Good campground near Charleston and beaches. Full and busy. Tight spaces. I'd get a deluxe site next time with patio etc. Nice staff friendly and helpful.
Apr 22, 2017
Very trashy in some areas, not just a campground, too many people living there accumulated junk. Will not be back.
Apr 22, 2017
Nice friendly staff and the campground is clean and well layed out. The pool was sparkling clean!!! I look forward to camping there again.
Apr 22, 2017
Very poor for tent campers. It's too close to the road and an airport. The site we were in was too far away from the bath house. Need another bath house on far side of campground. Good water pressure and clean bath house. Would be fine if in an rv, but would not recommend for tent campers. Also, there was not a fire ring in most of the tent sites.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Fire rings are standard at deluxe sites (which are also closest sites to the bath house). Regular sites allow for 'boy scout' style campfires or rings can be requested at the front desk on a first come, first serve basis. We hope you will try us again, perhaps in a deluxe to better suit your needs.
Apr 21, 2017
Staff so helpful to help us find a church for Easter Sunday. Dog play area and around it needs work. 3:30am trash pickup, woke us up every morning, airplane noise, sirens, close to attractions. Need more dog areas.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals