Charleston KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Email

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Get Directions

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 18, 2016
four stars .. the staff was nice and accommodating. Sites were a nice size. Many sites lacked shade or we would have given it a better rating. We also over heard some cabin campers saying that they were disappointed that no pillows were provided on the beds in the cabins. So bring your own pillows!
Jun 14, 2016
We liked the pool area and thought the staff was nice but that's about it. As a tent camper the site was horrible and expensive. Needs more trees less highway noise and space further away from neighbors.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do offer tent sites along the woodline. They are further from the restroom and pool. We are always happy to swap available sites upon request.
Jun 13, 2016
We were there from Wednesday to Sunday. Had a great time. Everything was very clean and the staff was very friendly and nice. Will stay here again. Close to downtown Charleston!
Jun 13, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. We are already planning another visit

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We look forward to your return!
Jun 12, 2016
Very clean and a friendly, helpful staff
Jun 12, 2016
👍
Jun 10, 2016
We found it to be clean and convenient. Their facilities were very accessible. The staff was helpful and friendly.
Jun 08, 2016
Jun 07, 2016
Do not like mixing long term campers with transient campers. Found it odd that we received a note on camper about a wire dog fence on the patio when campers opposite us looked like a junk yard. One camper in the row we were on had a canvas pulled over the roof to protect from rain and it had no license plate and appeared to be at least 30 years old in poor condition. Of 4 KOA's this was the worst.
Jun 06, 2016
The cabin we had reserved was undergoing an upgrade/cleaning. The staff handled this quickly and efficiently. They actually upgraded us to a deluxe cabin for no additional charge. As always, the staff were friendly and the campground was beautifully maintained.
Jun 06, 2016
We were in spot B1. It was noisy with big TV on too loud in recreation hall. It was so bright inside our camper was lit up all night.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Recreation Hall activities are over before 10pm. Quiet hours are from 11pm to 7am. Our only after hours lighting is the security lighting. We are always happy to honor site requests for distance from the office, pool or rec hall to avoid noise for early sleepers.
Jun 06, 2016
This was a very nice, clean and convenient campground. We will definitely be staying again.
Jun 06, 2016
great staff, clean campsites, nice pool area. Would come again.
Jun 06, 2016
Very friendly .....nice
Jun 05, 2016
Close to everything! Clean and friendly!
Jun 05, 2016
Friendly office staff and camp host. Nice dog park
Jun 02, 2016
Campground was great the weather not so much
Jun 02, 2016
We were supposed to have cable at the KOA, but after trying to run our Setup on our TV, all we could get were a few TV channels, and about 3 or 4 of them didn't come in very well. We were also parked in a "muddy spot." The KOA should put small stones at each parking spot so it doesn't get so muddy.
Jun 01, 2016
extremely narrow spot, very difficult to pull out after stay as the proximity of units in front and narrow road made it a challenge. People were nice but we saw little tent campers in bigger easier to access spots then our 37ft, pulling a car--did not make sense. Had a heavy rain and there was 3 inches of standing water around us and a lot of other units, poor drainage. Staff was ok location ok
Jun 01, 2016
It's a very nice please to stay right off the freeway. Very clean and quite.
Jun 01, 2016
Unfortunately rain forcNemitial weekend . We had a big rig and our site was barely big enough. Our neighbors had two trucks and a trailer with motorcycles . I think they took some of our room. We were right by the walkway to the dog run. All the other sites in the campground looked good . I love KOA so this was just a bad site .
Jun 01, 2016
Jun 01, 2016
After a few missed turns the people who ran the KOA.were very helpful...no
Jun 01, 2016
May 30, 2016
Great hospitality and very accommodating!
May 30, 2016
Excellent camp ground !! Staff VERY helpful, even allowing a late leaving at NO CHARGE. We didn't need it but when we come back to Charleston we will stay here
May 30, 2016
Weather was yuck, but they had activities indoors
May 28, 2016
Campsite was fine. Dog walk was ok except it was also used by people not staying at the park and had six dogs and did not clean up, so it was pretty bad after 5 days.
May 28, 2016
May 24, 2016
One of the nicest you will stay at. Too bad we were only there for the night. Patio furniture and swing were great! Store is nicely stocked and staff were terrific.
May 23, 2016
Great location. Easy to get to all the attractions/sites in Charleston.
May 23, 2016
Campground and facilities are well-maintained. Location is close to restaurants, fuel, auto supply store, grocery store, and freeway access. My only problem is that the campground tends to retain water during rainy weather. Our site and the one next to us held water to the point that we had to walk through standing water to get into our RV after an all-day rain.
May 23, 2016
Staff was super. Sites are a little small. Facilities were well maintained. KOA sign was in need of repair. Hard to see after dark

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We are in the process of ordering a new sign. We hope to see you again soon!
May 21, 2016
Not impressed with this one. We have stayed at many KOA's because we assume we are getting KOA quality. Clean, nice paved sites, large sites, a grass type patio, table, and easy in and easy out. This KOA is not the case.
May 18, 2016
Staff was friendly upon check in. Campground was clean and maintained except men's bathroom. Enjoyed our spot as far as area it was clean and well maintained but very noisy we must have been not but a quarter of a mile in right next to a major road.and right next to an airport.
May 17, 2016
We had a great time and everyone was very friendly.
May 17, 2016
May 17, 2016
We had a strange chemical smell that we could not locate and it impacted our stay since the site are close together. It wasn't until the two folks closest to us left that the smell left. Not sure what they were doing. Also after a day sightseeing I wanted to do laundry and my husband would have liked to go to the pool but they close when the store does.
May 16, 2016
Nice campground with a friendly helpful staff. The campground had some renovations going on during my stay but didn't interrupt anything. Would like to have seen another centerally located bathroom and shower house along with fire rings at each campsite.
May 13, 2016
Two issues - permanent campers ride bikes through empty sites, not around. Someone on a bike ran over my sewer hose, crushing it. I found the damage before I emptied my black water. I was able to inspect and repair before getting sewage on the ground. The sewage connection is nothing more than a hole in the ground. I had to use a towel on the ground to keep the odor down.
May 09, 2016
May 09, 2016
Staff was friendly and helpful. Place was clean. I think this is probably more of a campground for people either passing through or need a cheap place to stay/live for awhile. Was very crowded and noisy. We will probably go elsewhere for a fun family getaway. But was overall a good experience.
May 08, 2016
Nice pool, nice campground
May 05, 2016
Ongoing improvements looks great. Sites are a bit small for large campers but really not bad. Great staff. Very polite and helpful.
May 04, 2016
Koa très propre. Le chalet que nous avons réservé était très propre. Seul bémol, l'eau de la douche était froide.
May 03, 2016
Nice camprground that shows signs of recent renovations.couterous staff.
May 02, 2016
Located in industrial area right off highway. For us was very close to family we were visiting but would not want for "camping" destination. Was clean and recently repaved.
May 02, 2016
Nice staff and very accommodating. Only negative was the entrance for big rigs. Very tight.
May 02, 2016
The pool is very nice. Enjoyed a swim after hot day. The campsites were too crowded for my taste, but it was just a place to sleep while we toured around Charleston. To their credit the owners are making many improvements and I would stay here again in the futire.
May 02, 2016
Everything was exact to what the website said and the staff were very helpful. We would definitely stay here again! Thanks, J. Walker Georgia

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see y'all again soon!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy