Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 08, 2015
Bees at playground. Seemed like it had seen better times. Dog area so so. Poop everywhere despite bags for owners to clean up. Staff helpful and friendly.
Apr 08, 2015
Well kept facilities in town.
Apr 08, 2015
Friendly staff, Pool was ok, free coffee in the Morning !!! The Way to Charleston was half an Hour Drive. The Name of the campground made us thinking, that Charleston would be nearby.
Apr 06, 2015
Awesome as always! Clean, nice. Staff very nice! We are returning campers and will continue to come back!
Apr 06, 2015
Great place will be back thanks
Apr 06, 2015
The facility was well kept and clean. The staff was helpful and friendly. The location made me a little uncomfortable (not the best part of town) but we didn't have anything happen to particularly concern me. By the third night I was sleeping well through the night and not waking up at every little sound.
Apr 06, 2015
Just ok. Lots of road noise, unkept grounds, staff not especially helpful or friendly. No activities. Not what we've come to expect from KOA camps.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Easter weekend our big activity is the annual Easter Party for the children. We hunt Easter Eggs and enjoy games and prizes.
Apr 05, 2015
Bad location, lots of traffic noise, lots of campsite locations need to be cleaned up, bees swarming the cabins, no fire rings, people from the next door trailer park using all the facilities. Staff was friendly though.
Apr 05, 2015
Very Accommodating personnel.
Apr 05, 2015
Very Accommodating.
Apr 05, 2015
Pool wasn't open March 15th like the website stated. This was the only reason we stayed there for spring break in April. Long Stay area is disgusting. Dog park is right next to a 10 ft. trash pile/dump. You will hear planes and trains along with road noise all night. Entrance is tight if an RV is there checking in. Muddy sites. Great location to HWY 26 & popular destinations.
Apr 04, 2015
We had deep tire grooves and a lot mud around our site. Only 2 of 3 showers and toilets worked and the family shower was out of order. If was kind of far from everything we wanted to do. The workers were very pleasant and polite.
Apr 04, 2015
Very pleasant woman in store for checking-she couldn't have been nicer to us and went out of her way to get things we asked for-small dark haired woman is an exceptional employee!
Apr 03, 2015
Updated bathrooms are good. Sites need work i. e. Drainage, appearance Very convenient to Charleston. Office staff is helpful.
Apr 03, 2015
Apr 03, 2015
Apr 02, 2015
Clean, quiet although there were a lot of people there. Love the new Dog Park. Great idea.
Apr 01, 2015
Ran out of firewood, on a sold out weekend there should have been plenty. Also our site was flooded. Take the site away or save it for late checkins.
Mar 31, 2015
Grounds and campsites need updating. Sites need a gravel base. Too muddy
Mar 31, 2015
This was our first stay at ANY KOA... The cabin was clean... a little wet from the days of rain prior to our arrival. The bathrooms were clean. Our two kids loved the playground. It was in perfect working order and clean. The camp grounds were extremely quite during quite hours. There was one annoying little dog from the trailer park next door, but it was quickly chased back to it's home.
Mar 31, 2015
The people were friendly and helpful.
Mar 31, 2015
clean, easy to check in, friendly staff
Mar 31, 2015
This was the worst KOA we have ever stayed at. It had rained and our site was under water the whole weekend. The screenings that were put down on the site made everything worse. Stones would have been much better. It was one big mud hole.
Mar 31, 2015
its always a pleasure to stay with yall....no problems!!
Mar 30, 2015
Clean cabin and bath house. Staff were friendly.
Mar 30, 2015
The the grounds were not kept up and the property looked old. Trash was still on our campsite.
Mar 30, 2015
Our campsite was very muddy...some gravel would have greatly improved the situation. Bathrooms were convenient and staff was friendly. Cleanliness was average to slightly above average (for KOA). There wasn't much for our teenaged daughter to do as the pool was closed (despite having been advertised in the catalog as open).
Mar 29, 2015
Mar 29, 2015
Muddy. Needs to put gravel down. No lights at night. Worst campground ever stayed at.
Mar 24, 2015
There was very little grass; when it rained there was mud everywhere & our site actually had a deep puddle. Lucky for us we had another door we could use, but not to track mud in. Hosts were nice & helpful, but grounds need some work. Restrooms were very nice.
Mar 23, 2015
muddy and expensive
Mar 23, 2015
This campground should not be part of KOA. The roads are too narrow, with trees on turns or in the middle. The sites are too tight. Our site, C6, was a mud pit coming up to the rims of the wheels. All sites need additional gravel. The 50 gallon dog poop was 3/4 full and stank. Luckily, we only booked 1 night there and we won't be coming back there.
Mar 21, 2015
Sites aren't wide enough, Your on top of the neighbors sewer. Barking dogs all night long.
Mar 20, 2015
Overall a very nice campground. The sites were slightly dirty (old cigarette butts) but besides that they were fine. The bathrooms were overall clean but upon close inspection they could of been cleaner (moldy in between tiles). The campground is also right up against a trailer park and we were out right behind this trailer that had 2 of the most annoying dog ever and they would just go on and on.
Mar 19, 2015
Staff is great and willing to assist in all situations. Doing a good job of making improvements to facilities and hopefully will continue. Great location to area.
Mar 19, 2015
A few run-down sites (long term renters). Poorly lite. No real place to walk Dog.
Mar 17, 2015
Mar 17, 2015
Mar 16, 2015
Sewer connections are totally unacceptable. There is no way I could make a leak proof connection, even with a donut. I have been staying here since 2008 and nothing has improved. If it was not for your location near family members, I would not stay here.
Mar 16, 2015
Mar 16, 2015
the campgrounds were fine.. although we LOVE KOA and have been to other sites in the past ..this one was less attractive and less kid friendly. Not much to do within the grounds, but overall it worked out well. Charleston is beautiful though.
Mar 14, 2015
The campground was okay and the people were nice in the office, but the sites were dirt which got dragged onto my carpet. They put us on a site that was too steep and we couldn't get our motorhome level. If we had only been staying overnight that would have been okay, but we were staying 5 nights.
Mar 14, 2015
The staff were very helpful and pleasant. It was nice to see upkeep and projects in process. Grounds keepers were always present and busy. My only suggestion would be to improve the roadway entrance lighting as we were not familiar with the area and arrived at dusk.
Mar 10, 2015
Mar 08, 2015
Unfortunate to have a site that was very wet. People who were situated in site C3 were disrespectful of other campers, partying started at 0200 in the morning. Much loud talking and laughter.
Mar 07, 2015
Poor maintenance. Sewer outlets in very poor condition and difficult to connect to. Sites were very muddy. No security - anyone enter at any time. I was panhandled by a resident one night.
Mar 07, 2015
Mar 05, 2015
I've camped in 17 different states, including many KOA campgrounds,and this was by far one of the worst campgrounds I have ever seen. I refused to stay and received a refund.
Mar 02, 2015
Our stay was good,but was made alot better with the wonderful hearts of two of the workers! Thank you for everything (Fatima and Carlene)!
Mar 02, 2015
good

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.