Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 19, 2014
I stayed one very enjoyable evening in a tent site with electricity. The staff was very welcoming and informative. I had a great shower to clean up - lots of hot water. The wireless internet service was excellent. This KOA was a great place to stop on my trip!
Jun 17, 2014
I have never encountered a more displeasing KOA. The mattresses did not fit the bunk beds, the cabins were unclean as were the bathrooms and showers. I was forced to stay one night because I did not have another option. I will never stay here or recommend this KOA to anyone. Very unsatisfied with everything about this campground.
Jun 13, 2014
Ok for an older park. Little tight for a big rig with tow. Built before big rigs were made. Still would stay son lives 5 minutes awa
Jun 13, 2014
The worst KOA we have ever stayed at!!! Entry had bushes, limbs sticking out that scratched my coach. Way too many permanent people. Should not be considered for short term visitors. One dryer took our money and would not work!! After a rain my site was like a hog pen. Had to use rubber boots to disconnect water, elec and sewer. No where near the standards we enjoy at all other KOAs!
Jun 10, 2014
only stayed 2 nights and were away from the campground most of the time. The faded lit "yellow" KOA was not as easy to see as the distinctive bright yellow that other KOAs have.
Jun 09, 2014
Great place to stay with a Girl Scout troupe!
Jun 09, 2014
This was a nice KOA. The staff was all friendly and the grounds were nicely landscaped. The pool was nice and clean and do were the bathrooms.
Jun 09, 2014
The staff was accommodating in moving us to a space we would fit in, but not having an area for dogs to play and walk without being on other campsites is inconvenient. Would only stay as a last resort again.
Jun 08, 2014
Dog park was not very desirable.Entering on to main road from KOA was difficult.
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 03, 2014
Very convenient for my infrequent visits to Charleston. Nice folks, and helpful. Quiet, well-run campground. Thanks - Pat
May 31, 2014
May 29, 2014
Rates too high. Sites too bad. Roads to narrow and bad clearance. Nothing Good at all!
May 29, 2014
Park needs some sprucing up!! Also, it is among the few parks where we really don't drink the water, even filtered. We buy it. It's expensive to stay there for what it is. However, it's convenient for us.
May 29, 2014
I most likely would only stay here again if I could not get a camp site any other place. they were nice to us but the place needs a lot of tlc.
May 29, 2014
the campground needs work. you also need tv hook up. the restrooms need to be deep cleaned on regular basis. the men's rest room was nasty and has mildue in the showers.
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
We had a wonderful stay as always at Charleston KOA. We arrived late at night and our paperwork was taped to the door with the requested site. The campsite is quiet, peaceful and well shaded. We will be back.
May 27, 2014
Very roomy sites. Kids enjoyed the pool and playground. Close enough to get to attractions but out of the hustle and bustle of Charleston.
May 27, 2014
My son was tickled to death to stay in his first cabin and sleep in his first bunk bed. The space was clean and well kept. The mattresses didn't fit right in the bunks. But we were able to make due. The website tells you to bring your own linens but fails to mention the need to bring pillows. So we had pillow cases we stuffed with towels to make pillows. The staff was polite and helpful.
May 27, 2014
Had electrical hook problem
May 27, 2014
I told the staff about a flooding shower, it was never fix. No paper tissue, not working toilet. AC in bathrooms ok.
May 26, 2014
May 25, 2014
Located next door to a poorly kept trailer park. Noisy, unclean, and semi homeless people. The facilities had to be locked down bathrooms and laundry room to stop abuse. Not a family friendly campground. This KOA did not meet the standards we have learned to expect from KOA facilities. sorry
May 25, 2014
Just spent the night passing thru.
May 23, 2014
Bathrooms were dirty. TV reception was poor. Not a good location to restaurants, stores etc.
May 21, 2014
cabins 3 and 4 had two dogs each and they barked all time...not good if you are looking for a peaceful weekend
May 21, 2014
The bath house and restrooms were very very clean. Upon check in, we were given your location, by not taken to it. There was a huge puddle and mud hole. Upon requesting another site, we were given two location, but not taken to them. I was told to come back and let them know which one I selected. I needed a camper repair. The staff had two suggestions with recommendations on both. was
May 21, 2014
Convenient to most of Charleston's sites.
May 19, 2014
Thank you for working with us to extend our unplanned stay while I was sick! Great place and even greater staff!!!!
May 19, 2014
This KOA is good for an inexpensive overnight stay in the area. It was not the type of KOA that I would have chosen to enjoy for a longer period of time for its own sake. (I prefer more rustic settings) The tent sites are crowded and not all of them have fire rings. It is right near a busy city area. The staff was very friendly and helpful though and the bathrooms were clean and well stocked.
May 17, 2014
May 16, 2014
May 13, 2014
Every pretty cabins. Loved staying there. The trailer park right beside it was not so hot.
May 13, 2014
Had a great visit in this area. KOA was very convenient.
May 12, 2014
Very clean and well landscaped. Pool was refreshing. Bathrooms/shower were clean. Staff was kind and helpful. Very enjoyable stay
May 12, 2014
Love the trees, pretty sites. Great bathhouse. Cover on dump station backwards. Can't be used.
May 12, 2014
Unfriendly and not helpful staff, sites and in special the tables are very dirty, Internet was not working, not KOA standard
May 12, 2014
May 10, 2014
May 10, 2014
It was friendly and felt like a little neighborhood. We had very friendly neighbors we hope to come back.
May 09, 2014
Very clean, helpful staff, no complaints. Will recommend to family and friends.
May 09, 2014
Only stayed overnight, but will more than likely stay there on the way back home. Staff is fantastic...Very Pleased.
May 08, 2014
Our low rating is based primarily on location. This rest stop is located in a trailer park, so it's not anyone's idea of a "vacation". It's simply a place to park the RV for the night. The staff was very helpful and our kids did enjoy the playground.
May 07, 2014
We stayed for 5 months and would not recommend. Getting in and out in the afternoon is horrible because of traffic. Noisy! Lots of sirens. During a power outage there was ZERO communication from office. They turned off the water without notice and again no communication. Garbage sometimes sits out front all day. It's the only one in the area and cheap so some campers were questionable.
May 07, 2014
May 07, 2014
Nice place. A little noisy on weekends with the trailer park right next door. Ladies sewer backs up when two or more shower, but the temp and pressure was good. Great shade. Very clean pool. Nice folks in the office/store.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.