Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 22, 2015
For big rig, too tight. Whole campground in big need of repair and upkeep. Seem to be many more long term units than advertised, and many are an eye sore to the appeal of the grounds.
Jun 22, 2015
Great location. Only negative is it looks more like a mobile home park
Jun 21, 2015
In my opinion this KOA DOES NOT live up to the high standards of a KOA campground . It is in rough shape The staff refer to it as "rustic" & although the Staff seemed very pleasant and accommodating (and I firmly believe they are doing their best )The place is just run down and in disrepair.It is very urban and unlike many of the koa's we have visited there is no security to speak .
Jun 19, 2015
I used this KOA as my home base while attending a convention near the airport. Access to the freeway was easy for the 11 mile drive to the convention center.
Jun 18, 2015
Nice clean sites, friendly, helpful staff.
Jun 16, 2015
Freindly staff. Nice park
Jun 16, 2015
The best part was the pool. The spots for campers are small but staff was very friendly and the cable was out all Saturday night and Sunday morning.
Jun 16, 2015
The campground was very nice,clean and friendly. wish you had fire pits.
Jun 16, 2015
It was convenient to Charleston for day trips. Restrooms could have been a little larger and more conveniently located to camp sites.
Jun 16, 2015
Awesome service, had a great stay with family. Would enjoy doing it again in the future.
Jun 15, 2015
Site was shady...Registration was a breeze...People were very nice...took us to out site instead of giving directions (LOVED that)...even had trash pick up!!
Jun 15, 2015
smallish site with no fire circle. site a good 20 minutes to downtown but route very easy. Probably more convenient for Charleston than other KOA site.
Jun 15, 2015
We stayed in a former tent sight. Very dusty, all dirt ,no grass, no BBQ PIT. We felt they just through us in a spot to make money. The store was sorry. .
Jun 14, 2015
Washing machines were broken and some of the dryers otherwise clean and friendly.
Jun 14, 2015
Don't advertise big rig friendly. My site required me to drive between logs which ended up that I drove over one causing my R rear tire to blow out 30 minutes after leaving your place. It is not lush and charming mostly muddy all around camp site. Only good thing was you have cable. Mostly long term campers here.
Jun 14, 2015
First time I've stayed in a campground with full hookups. All-in-all, I'd say it was pretty good, however, the cable tv needs improvement. The lower channels were so fuzzy, they couldn't even be watched. They good thing is I don't go camping to watch TV much, but it would be nice to see the news in the morning.
Jun 12, 2015
Stay there for 5 months.. People are nice and site is clean.. A little wet when it rain..
Jun 09, 2015
Easy from the freeway but still fairly quiet. Surprising in this neighbourhood setting. Nice place to base Charleston exploration.
Jun 08, 2015
Check in was fast and easy. We were escorted to our site and was breifed on all hook ups. The host asked if we had any questions and there were none. Bathhouse was clean and secure. A nice stay.
Jun 08, 2015
We had a short stay, but would go back again. Easy to find and get in and out of.
Jun 08, 2015
This was my second time staying in site B12. The cable connection is poor, most stations are not clear. When it rains, water pools up right at the entrance to my camper. Garage pick up at the camp site is a plus.
Jun 07, 2015
Everything was great minus the bed bugs that ate my boyfriend alive. The cat was nice. The proximity from the cabin to the "gas station" was fantastic. We appreciate the breakfast money from Brandon/Brian/Bill, however we would never return.
Jun 05, 2015
Management exceptionally nice and helpful. Campgrounds need more upkeep. Great if your staying for 1 night. Too many residents there with junk in their yards.
Jun 04, 2015
It was great, not quite what we expected but not bad at all. Probably should have done more research on our part, so that is not KOA's problem. We were expecting more nature, we didn't realize it was a campsite in the middle of a town. Overall was really great for a cheap place to stay while in town, would definitely recommend it to anyone who asked.
Jun 03, 2015
Dirty badly maintained. Don't know how KOA allows this in their chain.
Jun 02, 2015
Been there at least 20 times, the only place to stay in area,KIM is the BEST.
Jun 02, 2015
Ok and some table beah is bad and wil is slow on the comtper and need build other bathroom so some people need shower too and need spa pool too.
Jun 02, 2015
We will likely stay again later this year on our return trip south. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the campgrounds were clean and well maintained. I had to call and change my reservation twice due to changes in travel plans. Very efficient with the changes emailed to me with a new reservation confirmation numbers.
Jun 01, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
I was under the impression that this was a 2 week maximum stay campground. They had campers that look to have been there for years!
May 29, 2015
Friendly love seeing improvements happening
May 29, 2015
broken legs on bed, it moves. smelly
May 28, 2015
I certainly didn't expect it to be in a trailer park, but that's not even the bad part. When we walked in the cabin, it REAKED of cigarette smoke. I'm allergic, so that's a problem. Not to mention we had a 2 year old with us. That's not just gross, but dangereous. They also don't enforce rules there. We were up at 3 am because neighbors were SO loud. This went on our entire stay.
May 28, 2015
It was safe for the most of our stay it was quit. The road traffic by the camp was noisy. The rocks in our camp site put holes in our tent floor. The employees in the office was very friendly. Grounds men could be more friendly. Camp ground close to everything.
May 28, 2015
May 28, 2015
Perfect. But expensive for a small RV
May 26, 2015
Staff was super friendly and it was an overall great experience! We will stay again in future visits to the Charleston area!
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Wifi great after check in, no staff follow up how going (4 nights) rec room very dirty children allowed to run around campground/rec room in only underwear/not supervised by adult pool ok; not enough chairs/lounges allow smoking at pool no espn stations on cable neighbor camp sewer hook up in our front door no churh service on sunday morning
May 26, 2015
Very friendly staff, close to Charleston for day trips! Some areas of the campground need updating, no 110 electric at some of the tent sites, showers in men's bathroom, for example. However, maintenance was going on while we were there, so maybe those and other issues will be addressed through the summer.
May 26, 2015
Noisy, parking lot crammed in sites. Staff was nice. Monthly sites were a disgrace. Campers were run down and should have been moved off sites years ago.
May 26, 2015
nice and shady tent site, friendly staff, some trash on the site was the only negative
May 26, 2015
Very easy online reservations. Staff friendly and helpful. Campsites a little close to each other.
May 26, 2015
This was one of the worst KOA's I have stayed at. There was no kitchen and there was a lot of inconsistencies in the rules. We were told no tents or dogs in cabins which we complied with. Then the cabin next to us popped a tent and the one across from us had 2 dogs. Then when we were at the pool which does not have enough chairs we were told to limit how many we used and carleen was very rude

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We only have 4 pet friendly cabins which were previously booked. Our rules are very clear and apply to all campers-even when we are polite and add the word "please" to a rule-it is still a rule.
May 25, 2015
We've been staying at this campsite for 10 years, and sadly, not much has changed. There seems to be quite a bit of room for improvement. However, being the sentimental romantacists that we are, we'll probably continue to stay there. It's the first place we camped out together.
May 24, 2015
May 23, 2015
May 22, 2015
This KOA needs a lot of work done. The laundry room was dirty half the washers and dryers were out of order. The drainage is so bad we had a lake on our site. Some camper seem to be full timers and they do what they want junk tires and cars parts on their sites the campers are so old they wouldn't be able move them if they wanted to. The water had a strong musty smell. The dog run was real nice.
May 21, 2015
I would not recommend this campground to my enemy. First off it is in a bad area. Secondly it had very little appeal, the grass was not cut, the sites were small, we were put in a site that was supposed to be a pull through but then we had to back up our camper in order to get out because of the trees and narrow roads. The game room consist of a pool table and a TV.
May 21, 2015
traveling, needed a good afternoon and evening place. perfect for us.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.