Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Mar 29, 2015
Muddy. Needs to put gravel down. No lights at night. Worst campground ever stayed at.
Mar 24, 2015
There was very little grass; when it rained there was mud everywhere & our site actually had a deep puddle. Lucky for us we had another door we could use, but not to track mud in. Hosts were nice & helpful, but grounds need some work. Restrooms were very nice.
Mar 23, 2015
muddy and expensive
Mar 23, 2015
This campground should not be part of KOA. The roads are too narrow, with trees on turns or in the middle. The sites are too tight. Our site, C6, was a mud pit coming up to the rims of the wheels. All sites need additional gravel. The 50 gallon dog poop was 3/4 full and stank. Luckily, we only booked 1 night there and we won't be coming back there.
Mar 21, 2015
Sites aren't wide enough, Your on top of the neighbors sewer. Barking dogs all night long.
Mar 20, 2015
Overall a very nice campground. The sites were slightly dirty (old cigarette butts) but besides that they were fine. The bathrooms were overall clean but upon close inspection they could of been cleaner (moldy in between tiles). The campground is also right up against a trailer park and we were out right behind this trailer that had 2 of the most annoying dog ever and they would just go on and on.
Mar 19, 2015
Staff is great and willing to assist in all situations. Doing a good job of making improvements to facilities and hopefully will continue. Great location to area.
Mar 19, 2015
A few run-down sites (long term renters). Poorly lite. No real place to walk Dog.
Mar 17, 2015
Mar 17, 2015
Mar 16, 2015
Sewer connections are totally unacceptable. There is no way I could make a leak proof connection, even with a donut. I have been staying here since 2008 and nothing has improved. If it was not for your location near family members, I would not stay here.
Mar 16, 2015
Mar 16, 2015
the campgrounds were fine.. although we LOVE KOA and have been to other sites in the past ..this one was less attractive and less kid friendly. Not much to do within the grounds, but overall it worked out well. Charleston is beautiful though.
Mar 14, 2015
The campground was okay and the people were nice in the office, but the sites were dirt which got dragged onto my carpet. They put us on a site that was too steep and we couldn't get our motorhome level. If we had only been staying overnight that would have been okay, but we were staying 5 nights.
Mar 14, 2015
The staff were very helpful and pleasant. It was nice to see upkeep and projects in process. Grounds keepers were always present and busy. My only suggestion would be to improve the roadway entrance lighting as we were not familiar with the area and arrived at dusk.
Mar 10, 2015
Mar 08, 2015
Unfortunate to have a site that was very wet. People who were situated in site C3 were disrespectful of other campers, partying started at 0200 in the morning. Much loud talking and laughter.
Mar 07, 2015
Poor maintenance. Sewer outlets in very poor condition and difficult to connect to. Sites were very muddy. No security - anyone enter at any time. I was panhandled by a resident one night.
Mar 07, 2015
Mar 05, 2015
I've camped in 17 different states, including many KOA campgrounds,and this was by far one of the worst campgrounds I have ever seen. I refused to stay and received a refund.
Mar 02, 2015
Our stay was good,but was made alot better with the wonderful hearts of two of the workers! Thank you for everything (Fatima and Carlene)!
Mar 02, 2015
good
Mar 02, 2015
We got in late & had to leave in the morning so we didn't get to enjoy the campground. The people were very nice & accommodating.
Mar 01, 2015
Spent winter months there to visit our daughter and grandkids who live nearby. Staff was very friendly and helpfull.
Feb 20, 2015
Nasty dark muddy and dirty. Planned on staying three days and left after one nite. Super disappointed Nothing compared to the one we stayed in at Daytona beach.
Feb 18, 2015
5th wheel was surrounded by water most of the time we were there. Water was over shoes or even deeper in areas. Park did respond and bring gravel when it receded. The short term sites had puddles but you were able to navigate.
Feb 18, 2015
No children with us, but best wifi of ANY KOA we have ever stayed in. Has recycling, another big plus for us. Everyon extremely helpful and friendly. Older park but very well kept
Feb 17, 2015
Great hosts, thank you so much!!!
Feb 17, 2015
Feb 14, 2015
Easy check in, friendly staff, nice site, strong WiFi!
Feb 11, 2015
SITE WAS TOO MUDDY.
Feb 10, 2015
we stayed from Nov to Feb 9th, our spot was E10 nice location, quiet, comfortable and close to our daughter in Summerville, this was our 2nd stay and will look forward to another next year. Friendly Staff,
Feb 09, 2015
Feb 09, 2015
the people were so friendly and very knowledgeable of the area. The cabins were VER clean and well kept. Thanks for another great stay at the KOA :)
Feb 06, 2015
Feb 05, 2015
Feb 04, 2015
Feb 03, 2015
Feb 03, 2015
WONDERFUL!!!
Feb 03, 2015
Friendly staff and groundskeepers. The play area was nice for the kids. The recreation room was closed and adjacent storage trailers and fenced in patio/work area looked run down and unattractive. A significant full time community area. It was nice to be near the sites in Charleston. I'd like to come back in the summer to check it out again.
Feb 03, 2015
Campgrounds were dirty, unstaffed, water spikets were broken, nothing was labeled. Will not be returning.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The facility is staffed from 8-6 daily this time of year. Unfortunately, when temperatures dip below freezing, spigots that have not been dripped often will not thaw out as quickly as we would like.
Feb 02, 2015
Children were bitten in the cabin and had to go to Urgent Care

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Exterminator was called out and could find no evidence of insects of any kind in this cabin. We do carry insect repellent with DEET in our store to protect campers from most of the southeast's biting insects.
Jan 29, 2015
Old ,OLD , and need updating , OLD .
Jan 28, 2015
This KOA needs some work. It is not equipped to handle any amount of rain. Our space had about 4-6" standing water; the ground/mud was extremely soft. Not at all a "nice" stay.
Jan 26, 2015
Jan 24, 2015
Jan 22, 2015
Jan 21, 2015
Returned for at least the 8th year. Visit family and they are the closest. Staff seems well versed on any questions ask of them.
Jan 21, 2015
Jan 19, 2015
Clean restrooms and great staff. Campgound needs some work so sites and roads drain better after it rains.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.