Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 14, 2015
We stayed in Charleston for a wedding. Some family members stayed in the cabin next to our site. We all had such a wonderful time. This was our second time at the KOA Charleston.
Jul 14, 2015
Clean park with friendly people
Jul 14, 2015
Nice campground. We didn't use any of the amenities the camp offered but in the past they have been fine. Our site was level and shaded.
Jul 13, 2015
Enjoyed my stay. Site was really good and close to where I was working. Grocery stores were nearby. Office staff was helpful. The only thing I did not like about it was the restroom. The showers and bathroom were crowded and could be cleaned more. Overall, it as a good stay.
Jul 12, 2015
very quiet. feels secluded yet close to everything.
Jul 12, 2015
Great staff.
Jul 11, 2015
We take an annual group trip to the Charleston area and always stay at this KOA, the staff is friendly and helpful. The only complaints that I have are the bathrooms. It seems they can never stay clean. The showers have had the same shelf broken in them for 2yrs now. I know it's a busy campground but it surely doesn't take 2yrs to fix a shelf in the showers. Maybe monitor more.
Jul 10, 2015
Had a 40 ft 5th wheel and was put in C3. Had to back out when I left since there was no way to go forward with big tree on the corner. In future your planners should consider this when reserving a spot for 40 footers
Jul 10, 2015
This park is very nice. The hosts were knowledgeable and freindly. The pool was very nice. The sites were level and well ggroomed. There were nice trees that provided welcome shade. The location is excellent. Easy on and off from I 26. Also, it is only 15 miles from Charleston. This is a very nice park.
Jul 08, 2015
This KOA is basically an extension to a mobile home park. The camp sites are small and have little of any grass. The site we stayed in also flooded when it rained. Overall rundown in comparison to all of the other KOA's that we have visited.
Jul 08, 2015
The pool was the highlight. Came with 2 children, it was hot. We rented a cabin, it was nice.
Jul 07, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Site was clean and level. Shade trees were great.
Jul 07, 2015
People that worked here were super helpful and sweet, pool and deck area was awesome. Bathrooms were decent, could have been cleaner. Cabins were nice, especially with the air conditioning.
Jul 06, 2015
we do a yearly camping trip for our family and as always we experienced an awesome stay.
Jul 06, 2015
Helpful staff, shady sites, clean facilities, nice pool
Jul 06, 2015
The campground was very nice, clean and pretty. The people working there were very friendly and helpful.There just isn't much to do close to this campground, although it's not terribly far from Charleston.
Jul 06, 2015
The personnel was awesome and hope to see them in the near future.
Jul 03, 2015
Our first time staying at a KOA. The Kampground was nice but we had to stay next to a cabin which was being fumigated with who knows what kind of chemicals. It was unnerving drinking my morning cup of coffee watching people don protective clothing. I asked management about it but was met with little concern; after all, the company assured them everything would be okay...
Jul 01, 2015
Clean comfortable stay!
Jun 30, 2015
Lots were a little small, but clean. Laundry was expensive but also clean. Showers/bathrooms were worn but again clean. Office staff friendly.
Jun 30, 2015
Our stay was wonderful. We really loved the pool. We will be staying there again when we go to see our Grand and great grand Daughters.
Jun 30, 2015
It was great. The whole camp ground was very nice and well staffed. The facilities were well maintained. Thanks for a great time.
Jun 29, 2015
Wonderful staff, clean park. We had a great stay.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 25, 2015
Workers nice. Camp ground need to be better maintained. Our breaker box went out and it took 3 days to replace plus cable kept going out and water was off one day needs a laundry room with ac.
Jun 25, 2015
Road & pull thru sites need to be repaired. Generally everything else was very good
Jun 24, 2015
The bathroom and laundry facilities were very poorly maintained and were being used by the trailer park next to the campground. It rained and our campsite had water rise up to our ankles and we were in fear of it coming into our camper. I often feared for my safety..
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
For big rig, too tight. Whole campground in big need of repair and upkeep. Seem to be many more long term units than advertised, and many are an eye sore to the appeal of the grounds.
Jun 22, 2015
Great location. Only negative is it looks more like a mobile home park
Jun 21, 2015
In my opinion this KOA DOES NOT live up to the high standards of a KOA campground . It is in rough shape The staff refer to it as "rustic" & although the Staff seemed very pleasant and accommodating (and I firmly believe they are doing their best )The place is just run down and in disrepair.It is very urban and unlike many of the koa's we have visited there is no security to speak .
Jun 19, 2015
I used this KOA as my home base while attending a convention near the airport. Access to the freeway was easy for the 11 mile drive to the convention center.
Jun 18, 2015
Nice clean sites, friendly, helpful staff.
Jun 16, 2015
Freindly staff. Nice park
Jun 16, 2015
The best part was the pool. The spots for campers are small but staff was very friendly and the cable was out all Saturday night and Sunday morning.
Jun 16, 2015
The campground was very nice,clean and friendly. wish you had fire pits.
Jun 16, 2015
It was convenient to Charleston for day trips. Restrooms could have been a little larger and more conveniently located to camp sites.
Jun 16, 2015
Awesome service, had a great stay with family. Would enjoy doing it again in the future.
Jun 15, 2015
Site was shady...Registration was a breeze...People were very nice...took us to out site instead of giving directions (LOVED that)...even had trash pick up!!
Jun 15, 2015
smallish site with no fire circle. site a good 20 minutes to downtown but route very easy. Probably more convenient for Charleston than other KOA site.
Jun 15, 2015
We stayed in a former tent sight. Very dusty, all dirt ,no grass, no BBQ PIT. We felt they just through us in a spot to make money. The store was sorry. .
Jun 14, 2015
Washing machines were broken and some of the dryers otherwise clean and friendly.
Jun 14, 2015
Don't advertise big rig friendly. My site required me to drive between logs which ended up that I drove over one causing my R rear tire to blow out 30 minutes after leaving your place. It is not lush and charming mostly muddy all around camp site. Only good thing was you have cable. Mostly long term campers here.
Jun 14, 2015
First time I've stayed in a campground with full hookups. All-in-all, I'd say it was pretty good, however, the cable tv needs improvement. The lower channels were so fuzzy, they couldn't even be watched. They good thing is I don't go camping to watch TV much, but it would be nice to see the news in the morning.
Jun 12, 2015
Stay there for 5 months.. People are nice and site is clean.. A little wet when it rain..
Jun 09, 2015
Easy from the freeway but still fairly quiet. Surprising in this neighbourhood setting. Nice place to base Charleston exploration.
Jun 08, 2015
Check in was fast and easy. We were escorted to our site and was breifed on all hook ups. The host asked if we had any questions and there were none. Bathhouse was clean and secure. A nice stay.
Jun 08, 2015
We had a short stay, but would go back again. Easy to find and get in and out of.
Jun 08, 2015
This was my second time staying in site B12. The cable connection is poor, most stations are not clear. When it rains, water pools up right at the entrance to my camper. Garage pick up at the camp site is a plus.
Jun 07, 2015
Everything was great minus the bed bugs that ate my boyfriend alive. The cat was nice. The proximity from the cabin to the "gas station" was fantastic. We appreciate the breakfast money from Brandon/Brian/Bill, however we would never return.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.