Charleston KOA

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 26, 2015
Very friendly staff, close to Charleston for day trips! Some areas of the campground need updating, no 110 electric at some of the tent sites, showers in men's bathroom, for example. However, maintenance was going on while we were there, so maybe those and other issues will be addressed through the summer.
May 26, 2015
Noisy, parking lot crammed in sites. Staff was nice. Monthly sites were a disgrace. Campers were run down and should have been moved off sites years ago.
May 26, 2015
nice and shady tent site, friendly staff, some trash on the site was the only negative
May 26, 2015
Very easy online reservations. Staff friendly and helpful. Campsites a little close to each other.
May 26, 2015
This was one of the worst KOA's I have stayed at. There was no kitchen and there was a lot of inconsistencies in the rules. We were told no tents or dogs in cabins which we complied with. Then the cabin next to us popped a tent and the one across from us had 2 dogs. Then when we were at the pool which does not have enough chairs we were told to limit how many we used and carleen was very rude

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We only have 4 pet friendly cabins which were previously booked. Our rules are very clear and apply to all campers-even when we are polite and add the word "please" to a rule-it is still a rule.
May 25, 2015
We've been staying at this campsite for 10 years, and sadly, not much has changed. There seems to be quite a bit of room for improvement. However, being the sentimental romantacists that we are, we'll probably continue to stay there. It's the first place we camped out together.
May 24, 2015
May 23, 2015
May 22, 2015
This KOA needs a lot of work done. The laundry room was dirty half the washers and dryers were out of order. The drainage is so bad we had a lake on our site. Some camper seem to be full timers and they do what they want junk tires and cars parts on their sites the campers are so old they wouldn't be able move them if they wanted to. The water had a strong musty smell. The dog run was real nice.
May 21, 2015
I would not recommend this campground to my enemy. First off it is in a bad area. Secondly it had very little appeal, the grass was not cut, the sites were small, we were put in a site that was supposed to be a pull through but then we had to back up our camper in order to get out because of the trees and narrow roads. The game room consist of a pool table and a TV.
May 21, 2015
traveling, needed a good afternoon and evening place. perfect for us.
May 20, 2015
May 20, 2015
Not as nice as other Koas - there was work going on to make improvements- we had a druggie knocking on our door at 1am looking for money . Not in a great location-we have stayed at 3 different koas since our visit at Ladson - their parks showed more upkeep nicely graveled or even cemented pads -
May 20, 2015
May 19, 2015
Well kept, quiet park.
May 19, 2015
I was delighted by the campground. Staff was super-friendly. Camp store stocked and very reasonable. This was my first koa experience and I'll definitely do it again!
May 17, 2015
We felt the cabins were too close to the neighboring homes. We could latterly see into the homes from our cabin. Not our idea of camping area. The ability to enter the park was terrible! It took us 15 minutes to pull in from the main road.
May 14, 2015
My wife and I and 2 other couples stayed at this KOA a few years ago and for various reasons agreed we would never stay here again. Because of a funeral, we needed a last minute place to stay and came back to this KOA. Showers that don't drain, sinks that don't drain, musty odors, run down looking buildings... We won't be back.
May 13, 2015
Our 9th year staying here and will be back later this month.
May 13, 2015
Facility was okay, amenities good. Dogs welcome! Downside was location. Tent sites are small, no privacy at all. Needs more bushes between sites. Also we were right next to a used car lot that had bright lights on all night. Major road is very close by so there was a lot of traffic noise. A sound barrier wall or dense row of tall upright evergreen shrubs would be helpful.
May 13, 2015
May 12, 2015
To their credit they have installed a cable system and a wi-fi access which is simply a joke. Very poor access with amp stations not even hard-wired and frequently unplugged by other campers. Installing the cable system left the grounds in even worse condition than before, and rain left it a quagmire. I have stayed there for convenience on many occasions, but this will be my last stay. HORRIBLE!
May 12, 2015
Needs a little fixing up.
May 12, 2015
I really enjoyed my stay there but, I wish it were a little closer to downtown Charleston. The personnel were all friendly. This wasn't my first stay there and it was nice to see that they were, and had made, since my last stay many years ago, improvements to make the overall appearance more pleasing.
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
A lot of rain during the weekend, our spot did not drain too well. Cable reception was not very good. WiFi reception was great. The feature of campside garbage pickup a definite plus.
May 11, 2015
We are from the Charleston area (Now living in Columbia) and love visiting our old "haunts). We have been gone from Charleston for over 30 years and still love staying at your KOA.
May 10, 2015
Everything was nice exept for some of the lots hold rain water for days and is very muddy
May 10, 2015
We don't use any of the "amenities" so we seldom stay at KOA. This one was close to friends we wanted to visit, so we picked KOA this time. We usually don't want to spend the extra money for KOA.
May 05, 2015
Love this park. Friendly people, clean great for kids and pets.
May 04, 2015
This is a great little campground, it's quiet and clean but not secure, which when you're not from the area is a little unnerving. We couldn't find firewood, anywhere but made do with what we had. The islands in the road are pretty, but make it a little hard to maneuver around. We would definitely use this campground again, though. The woman at the desk was friendly, too!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We sell firewood at the camp store. Please ask during your next stay.
May 02, 2015
Just stayed overnight. Worked out well for us.
May 02, 2015
The camp-sites are well taken care of and the pool was great. Miss Paula at the office has that low country charm that we all love. I wish I could have stayed longer! Thanks DB
May 02, 2015
Location not very well maintained. A lot of permanent dwellers it seems. Staff were very nice and do the best with what they have. Washroom shower facilities poor. Noisy - street noise, train, planes in/out of airport. It is however a good location to get to Charleston from.
May 02, 2015
Well maintained and well run Campground.
May 01, 2015
May 01, 2015
I really enjoyed my stay. The campground has a lot of nice amenities. I just moved to the area would have liked to stay longer while I looked for places to live but at $265 a week while waiting for a monthly site to open was just to much.
May 01, 2015
Bed bugs in the mattress ate my children skin really bad!! It was a shame this KOA has gotten so run down and unclean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

No bug complaint was mentioned to staff at all. Cabin was occupied 3 more times with no complaint before we were alerted to this comment. Pest control were called out to be safe and find no bugs. Please alert staff to any problems immediately.
Apr 30, 2015
All good except that the wi-Fi connection was vert erratic.
Apr 30, 2015
Staff are friendly and helpful! Great place to stay.
Apr 30, 2015
Nice quiet campground. Had a follow up question after our stay and it was dealt with promptly. Thanks!
Apr 29, 2015
The staff was friendly, the sites and roads into the park were very narrow. I felt very confined and also there were too many permanent residents for me.
Apr 29, 2015
Clean and reliable but very tight non-descript sights. Great for a stop over but not for long term stay.
Apr 27, 2015
Staff was not very friendly. In their game room all they had was a pool table. There was trash in our room from last guests. Bathrooms were very clean. And they were much farther from down town Charleston then they told us they were. Stay at Mount Pleasant one!
Apr 27, 2015
Staff was very friendly, campground is a little run down though.
Apr 27, 2015
We stayed in a cabin which was fine but it rained our whole stay. The ground in front of our cabin became so muddy that you would sink in. We told the front desk and asked for hay or something so we could walk to our truck without sinking into mud. Someone brought us soda crates? At least she tried. Not 1 management person or maintenance person(who drove by everyday collecting trash)helped.
Apr 27, 2015
A good clean park with close proximity to the Charleston, SC area.
Apr 27, 2015
Surroundings were beautiful, people were friendly, bed was comfortable, cabin was cozy.
Apr 26, 2015
We read some of the review's on this KOA.They said it bad but please try it.We where very pleased with the campgrounds. No problem ln or out of camp site.The staff helped in every way any time. I will stay at this KOA again and again.
Apr 26, 2015
It's the 3rd time we've stayed there and it's perfect! Everyone is great.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.