Carlsbad KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

Email

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Apr 25, 2017
Great grounds, friendly staff, very clean facilities.
Apr 24, 2017
Great food great location great sites great people!!
Apr 21, 2017
No comment!
Apr 17, 2017
Great place and people there. T
Apr 13, 2017
Reserved a tent sight online for 2 weeks when I got there they told me I could only stay a week and would then have to move so I wouldn't kill the grass there was no grass also absolutely O WIFI unless you are at the office and food is way overpriced and not the best people in charge are not the most helpful
Apr 10, 2017
Very nice staff. Very clean. Nice tent sites.
Apr 10, 2017
Apr 09, 2017
Well run and very clean. Staff is very friendly. We stay here for 3 days every spring and will definitely return in future years.
Apr 08, 2017
Apr 08, 2017
Tenters are not welcome, the booked place was not the place we were put in, the wlan is not working, very pricy.
Apr 03, 2017
Super friendly staff and clean facilities.
Mar 31, 2017
Amazing campground and friendly staff! Would highly recommend!
Mar 29, 2017
Very clean facilities. Staff was helpful.
Mar 27, 2017
The bathrooms were so clean and well stocked The BBQ meals available on site are exceptional. The kids and I enjoyed the stay as much as the time spent at the Carlsbad Caverns. Starry skies and campfire lights plenty of wildlife viewing - rabbits, doves, squirrels and quail. Great staff all around and nice swimming pool. Thanks for hosting us.
Mar 27, 2017
Nice place. Even had a small restaurant with delicious food on premises. Laundry, showers, games, pool.. I tent camped. I like the set up in the tent village. Def would go back
Mar 25, 2017
Friendly, helpful staff. Wonderful site, well maintained. Would definitely stay here again when in the area.
Mar 25, 2017
Staff was very nice and friendly
Mar 22, 2017
Everything was perfect but we stayed in the tent camping and I didn't like how close quarters we were with everyone else other than that I was a very nice stay
Mar 20, 2017
I must say the camp is very clean, but when I think of camping, I do not think of an organized tent city being on top of your neighbor. Additionally, we were packed up and out of our site, just finishing up some little stuff at the vehicle and was told we needed to leave as it was like a hotel, when you check out you leave. No one was there, not sure what the big deal was,but it felt pushy/rude
Mar 20, 2017
Mar 20, 2017
This was our first stay at a KOA. Not only were the location and facilities top notch, the owner and staff were beyond helpful and accommodating.
Mar 19, 2017
This KOA has a great at-home feel to it. The staff is extremely friendly, the bathrooms are very clean, and the campground itself is kept tidy. The location was also great. It was close to the caverns and the city of Carlsbad, but not close enough for city noise. That being said, you don't even need to go to the city, their store has everything you need! 10/10 for this tent camper.
Mar 19, 2017
Campground was great. On one hand, I would prefer that the tent sites were darker. On the other hand, the proximity to the showers, game room, and bathrooms were perfect because I was camping with small kids. All in all, this was a great stay and probably the best campground near Carlsbad Cavern.
Mar 18, 2017
First time to stay at at KOA. A little pricey but really nice facilities. I gave 4 stars because of the price. I stayed at another campground in Arizona (not a KOA) for $25 a night with similar facilities and a year round heated pool.
Mar 18, 2017
This campsite was wonderful! The staff was so incredibly friendly, the sites were very nice, and the bathrooms were very clean and nicely kept! Thank you for a wonderful stay!
Mar 17, 2017
Mar 17, 2017
my only complaint is that the grass was so dry which allowed for a lot of dust kicking up in the tent area, but we had a great time and the staff was fantastic!!!
Mar 16, 2017
Very nice. Great place to stay
Mar 12, 2017
Mar 06, 2017
Had a great stay! Tent area was nice and peaceful and the bathroom/showers were very clean.
Dec 01, 2016
The campground was well maintained. Iems available for purchase (cords of firewood, food from thrnsnack bar kitchen) were reasonably priced and readily available. Enjoyed my stay and will consider KOAs for future camping.
Nov 25, 2016
Awesome tent camping sites with full hook ups & gazebo shade/rain/porch area!!!
Nov 23, 2016
Nov 23, 2016
Late check in was easy, and I loved the tent village. It was nice to have a private spot with luxuries but still the easiness of tent camping. Bathrooms and showers were clean, and we get super comfortable on the grounds. I would definitely stay here again if I was back in the area!
Nov 14, 2016
Tony, Donna, Janet and the rest were amazing. Felt like family and would recommend this place to others. Starman John was fun too!
Nov 01, 2016
Sehr saubere Sanitärräume. Die teueren Zeltplätze haben alles was man braucht. Was uns nicht so gefallen hat War die Nähe zum Highway. War morgens saumässig laut. Die Plätze sollten besser hinter den RVs liegen.Aber trotzdem waren wir zufrieden trotz des relativ hohen Preises
Oct 28, 2016
the tent sites were all close to the main RV road, which was a little noisy and the close quarters in the sheltered areas made for noisy neighbors even in the 'quiet' hours. This KOA was further from town that we expected also.
Oct 25, 2016
Friendly staff and good facilities. Have enjoyed both stays at this KOA. Only wish it were a shorter walk to the restrooms. :)
Oct 23, 2016
Arrived at a very busy time, and all the employees were very pleasant and working efficiently. The grounds were well kept and the bathroom was immaculate. Very pleased with my stay!
Oct 20, 2016
The campsite was clean but over 100 yds from the restrooms. The restrooms were filled with flies.
Oct 17, 2016
One of the best KOA's we have visited. We appreciated the covered areas at the tent spaces.
Oct 17, 2016
Too far from Carlsbad caverns
Oct 13, 2016
Friendly place to stay over night when traveling to Carlsbad Cavers. We did tent camping only. Tent site included fire pit and picnic table. Bathroom facility was very clean and well maintained. Staff was very friendly.
Oct 12, 2016
Management was friendly. Facilities were clean and well maintained. We stayed in tent village, but it was a bit loud for what we were used to. Would have liked management to enforce noise policy.
Oct 10, 2016
We arrived after closing but the information was right where we were told it would be. The map was clearly marked as to where we needed to go. We were able to get our tent set up and get settled in for the night in no time.
Oct 07, 2016
I stayed in Koa from Colorado to New Mexico , each and everyone was amazing , clean , beautiful parks , with. Wry clean restrooms and showers !! Lots of rabbits in New Mexico, upon arrival if you have dogs , don't just let them out of the truck ! Coz the will be gone chasing rabbits !! Lol ! KOA is the Best !!!and Koa is very pet friendly! Dog walks , hiking trails !
Sep 23, 2016
Sep 22, 2016
Sep 22, 2016
Very nice facility. Great restrooms,friendly staff.
Sep 21, 2016
The reason for my low rating is likely due to the fact that I stayed in a tent site. This is not a tent friendly KOA! The highway noise is very loud, it smells at night, they don't have an outside sink to wash dishes like other KOA's, the common building lights at night are very bright,the no electric sites are in the middle of the KOA with no shading on most of the sites. No good for tent campers
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award