Carlsbad KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

Email

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Mar 21, 2016
The staff was super friendly and professional. It was super clean and well laid out. The game room and ping pong table was so fun. The showers were hot and also super clean. My only wish was a slightly larger layout for the tent camping with maybe a wind break.
Mar 21, 2016
Great location... Felt like camping out in a park unlike some urban lots.
Mar 20, 2016
Had a good time, staff made it great!
Mar 20, 2016
Mar 20, 2016
This KOA is clean and staff is friendly. It's just not meant for tent camping. The few tent sites are super close to each other, with volleyball and basketball courts sharing the small area. I ended up camping at Brantley Lake State Park for my second night in the area. 1/3 the price, no light pollution, and private sites that are in actual nature.
Mar 20, 2016
The KOA was located about 15 miles from carlsbad which was perfect. The land around the campground had wildlife and beautiful sunrise and sunset. The staff was great the place was overall just perfecy
Mar 19, 2016
All-in-all it was a great stay on 3/14/2016. The only down side was that some of the showers were being remodeled. The line for the remaining showers was too long. The break room was the best I have seen at a KOA and the staff was great. They can even serve hot meals to guest!
Mar 18, 2016
The campground was geared toward RV campers and we were tent camping. Any vehicle coming in our out of the campgrounds had to drive by us. We were closer to the main building, so it was also very well lit, so it was a bit bright on the tent for sleeping. The tent areas should be in the back of the park - it would be a game changer. The staff was friendly though, and the grounds well kept.
Mar 18, 2016
For the price, I would think there should have been more and closer bathroom facilities for tent camping
Mar 16, 2016
I was a little worried about the lack of trees, but it was awesome camping there! The staff was wonderful and my kids loved the rec room. The BBQ was delicious as well. We will definitely be back! Great location for the caverns, sitting bull, etc.
Mar 16, 2016
Clean facilities and friendly staff. Two women traveling with teenager felt very safe.
Mar 15, 2016
This is a great place for novice campers, but not for anyone who appreciates the solitude of the outdoors.
Mar 14, 2016
Friendly good food Disappointed in price as paid for a tent/water. Would need to use the showers & because of renovations ONLY 2 available and in the RV area!
Mar 11, 2016
A very nice campground, though set up more for RVs than for tents. The amenities are insanely good. the people were without exception lovely, and the restaurant was both quite good and relatively reasonably priced, and they deliver to your site! Pricey for tenting, but worth it.
Mar 06, 2016
Nice staff, hot showers, and great amenities at the tent village. Only problem was the smell, but it is a problem with the whole area and not the KOA.
Jan 18, 2016
The staff was very accomadating and we felt right at home. A very clean and safe place to stay. The bathrooms at were immaculate! Will definitely stay again. Thanks KOA Carlsbad for the hospitality.
Nov 14, 2015
Tremendously helpful staff! Lots to do here. Although, I feel like the price was a little high considering the area (literally the middle of no where) and the fact all we rented was a tent site. $40 per night is a little steep, doesn't matter how friendly or nice the staff is.
Oct 29, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at this campground. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food they served was very good. We especially liked the way they had a tent area set up like a tent village area with covered areas at each site with lights. It would be great for cooking, eating and sitting in case of rain. We highly recommend this campground.
Oct 25, 2015
Staff was very friendly. Facility was clean. Restrooms were great!
Oct 18, 2015
Nice campground and very nice bathroom.
Oct 13, 2015
We arrived after office hours and we had a welcome packet waiting for us with directions to the tent site. The employees were very friendly and the bathrooms were nice and clean.
Oct 10, 2015
We loved it!! Everyone was so nice!
Oct 09, 2015
I really liked how they set up the sheltered tent area.
Sep 28, 2015
I stayed with my 11 year old son and mother in tent village and absolutely loved it. My son loved the fish pond and the star presentation.
Sep 28, 2015
Very clean, great place to camp with kids.
Sep 28, 2015
Friendly hosts and great facilities.
Sep 26, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
We stayed in TV2. Site was great and view was awesome. We did notice a small wifi issue being on the backside of the pavilion. Only thing I would suggest is each site, install AstroTurf for the tents. Other that that great experience.
Sep 06, 2015
We stayed in the tent village, which was great. Perfect sized site for the two of us, but a small family could fit as well. Access to a table, grill, fire pit and electric all in the site. Showers/bathrooms were cleaned daily. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Sep 05, 2015
Staff was friendly and the establishment was clean. It would've been even better if they had toilets inside private shower booths like in some other KOA camprgrounds.
Sep 04, 2015
Cleanest and well maintained bathrooms!! Jim was my favorite.
Aug 30, 2015
Wonderful staff! Very nice tent area, clean bathrooms, nice pool, would 100% recommend!!
Aug 29, 2015
friendly, helpful staff. provided useful information. accommodated me.
Aug 28, 2015
nice peapol ,and very educated and very clean service area
Aug 27, 2015
Very nice and helpful staff. Clean grounds and showers.
Aug 23, 2015
Great base camp for attractions both north (Roswell, Artesia) and south (Carlsbad Caverns, Sitting Bull Falls). The Tent Village was great for our extended stay with electric and water. The facilities were well-maintained and the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the surrounding areas.
Aug 23, 2015
Bathrooms were clean and we had a great dinner the first night of our two night stay.
Aug 23, 2015
Enjoyed our stay. We will enjoy returning to count rabbits again.
Aug 19, 2015
Staff was very friendly and knowledgable. I liked that you offered movie night and food delivered to campsite. Wish we had time to take advantage. Only complaint would be that one of the womens showers was out of order.
Aug 18, 2015
Indoor activity room but the kitchen made it smell. The pool was closed for the entire afternoon b/c thunder sounded once. Way too far from Carlsbad. Very nice playgrounds with shades. Bathrooms nice too. Terrible gas smell all night and in the morning.
Aug 14, 2015
Loved the tenting area! Friendly welcome, very clean baths. Will recommend to all I know who travel to the region.
Aug 12, 2015
Nice little kampground. The typical amenities you're accustomed to with KOA. We were tent camping with 2 kids so can't speak for the RV setups. Fire pits and water. Grass was not kept up well so most of our site was hard packed dirt. The real disappointment was the exterior lighting. We hoped to enjoy the night sky but were blinded by halogen lights on the building right next to the tents.
Aug 10, 2015
The tent village is an awesome concept. It provides power and shelter to tenters. However, the location of the tent village is not good. It sits right on the entry/exit for the park. Every time someone drove out of the park in the middle of the night, their lights shined right into our tent the sound was extremely loud. We got hardly any sleep. We left and went to a hotel for the second night.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
Clean campground and friendly staff. Facilities close astonishingly early. Cannot use game room or pool after 7:45 - puts a real damper on evening possibilities. Also, hard to sleep as a tenter. Bright light over (locked) gameroom door floods tent sites, and proximity to exit road feels like sleeping next to a highway.
Aug 07, 2015
Friendly staff made this solo traveler feel right at home! ALso, the BBQ dinner was an excellent added perk!
Aug 05, 2015
Being in a tent, the nearby highway was busy and loud. Plus there was vehicle traffic driving in the campsite at all hours. This was my first KOA experience and I did not like how close the tent sites were to each other. Felt like I was camping with the other people.
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Clean. Quiet. Safe. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. We actually locked out keys in our car when trying to leave and they did all they could to help us find a locksmith who would come all the way out there on a Sunday morning. Not a single complaint.
Aug 01, 2015
Very friendly staff, clean grounds and facilities. This is not a"rugged" camping experience.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award