Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Tent Reviews

Jul 10, 2013
We stayed in the tent village. It was everything we were hoping for, and extremely comfortable for our family. Our parking spot was right in front of our tent site, and it site was very clean.
Jul 08, 2013
the food was not that great
Jul 06, 2013
Best camping experience I have ever had. Definately proud we purchased the membership card.
Jul 05, 2013
The bathroom/showers/laundry were very nice. The campsites themselves were too close to each other.
Jul 02, 2013
Great amenities, clean, and flexible for late arrival.
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
We had a wonderful experience at the Carlsbad KOA. Everyone on staff was helpful and friendly. The facilities were clean and well kept up. We were in their premium tent sites and loved the access to electricity, but also enjoyed the privacy fence. We would definitely stay there again when we visit the area.
Jun 25, 2013
I stayed there with a group of middle school kids as part of a science club. Campground was nice but was told game room would remain open and then was kicked out. The kids were extremely disappointed. Management needs communication skills.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The guest was correct; this was a miscommunication by staff. We hope to do better next time.
Jun 22, 2013
Well, the grounds were great and the staff was very nice. However we had to abandon our tent camp site prematurely and didn't get to sleep over due to extremely high winds. We would use a KOA again but hopefully our planning for bad weather would be better!
Jun 18, 2013
Jun 16, 2013
The Carlsbad was so great. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, the pool was perfect for the hot desert! I would definitely recommend.
Jun 15, 2013
Very pleasant, except for the weather! Very clean. Friendly staff. Thank you!
Jun 14, 2013
Jun 14, 2013
Jun 11, 2013
We stayed @ the KOA in Carlsbad despite the bad reviews & I got to say our experience was GREAT! Checked in was guided to our tent site. Staff was pleasant & helpful. Bathrooms were very clean. Will stay again =)
Jun 10, 2013
The only disadvantage is staying in the TV sites, due to the gravel when cars come or go early or late, it is disturbing for light sleepers. Otherwise Carlsbad KOA is wonderful. Been there multiple times and will return.
Jun 06, 2013
Jun 05, 2013
Very hospitable and accommodating. location is central for many activities and the campground is very beautiful.
Jun 04, 2013
Had a great time! Thanks!
Jun 02, 2013
Stayed only for one night with tent, nice sight but ground was pretty hard to get the nails in, close to restrooms, which were clean and functioning good, and shop as well as pool. A bit further away from the caverns then we thought (about one hr drive one way)
Jun 02, 2013
The only minor hiccup in our stay was sprinklers coming on and soaking us in our tent. However, we did arrive late and didn't know there was a shutoff. Found it quickly at 2am. Otherwise, loved our stay and hope to stay again in the near future. Best KOA bathrooms we have ever been in. We also loved the innovative tent area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We appreciated our guest's patience with the sprinkler issue. We are working hard to be sure this doesn't happen to anyone else.
May 30, 2013
Although a brief stay, we liked the camp design and very much enjoyed the BarBQ dinner!Everyone was very friendly.
May 30, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Almost no shady area to get out of extreme heat/wind. Tent site was large & had a fire pit (which was great), the pool was great to cool off, disappointed with the dinners we bought both nights (kinda pricey for what we got) NOISY with traffic leaving at 4:30am both mornings. Not 100% sure we will be back....
May 28, 2013
We stayed in the tent village which has fences around each site. The kids from the other sites kept entering ours. The sites in that area are too close together. The all you can eat pancake breakfast included 2 pancakes. The system needs to managed better. It is an hour drive from the caverns and a 40 min drive from Sitting Bull Falls, so it's a bit out of the way. Very clean facilities.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for any miscommunication; although the pancakes are huge, the "all you can eat" pancakes are truly that. We wish our guest had indicated they wanted more, and unless we were closing for the morning, we would certainly have accommodated them.
May 26, 2013
Modern showers, spacious tent spaces, quiet environment, friendly people. Excellent stay!
May 24, 2013
absolutely beautiful campground. WIFI was more like WOE FI. Great pool and bathrooms.
May 21, 2013
The staff was helpful, friendly, and the food they prepared for our Cub Scout Pack 353, San Antonio, TX was delicious.
May 20, 2013
The facilities were good and the campground was quiet at night.
May 20, 2013
Best KOA I have stayed at, very clean, especially the bathrooms
May 19, 2013
May 05, 2013
The campground was good but there was so much traffice by the Tent village both late at night and starting early in the morning, about 4:30AM
Apr 24, 2013
The best KOA that we have stayed at so far after travelling round the US for a month now. The tent village was awesome and more camp grounds should do it! We ordered the ribs and the pork from their menu which was very tasty. Friendly staff and clean facilities throughout.
Apr 23, 2013
I'm through with KOA. You want to charge premium rates and even adjust for weekend and seasonal events, yet you do not accept my preferred credit card, stating that they charge an extra fee. You will not have to worry about those charges against any future stays from me. I have just joined your value card program, and am planning approximately 30 campground stays this year.
Apr 15, 2013
Great Staff, such a good experience. Please be aware of the mice and leftover trash. Mice feces found in Tent Village and Cigarette Butts on the ground. Minor stuff, thanks for the great time!
Apr 15, 2013
The KOA itself is very nice. We had a great time staying there. THe problem is all the oil and fracking nearby. The smells are terrible!
Apr 15, 2013
Apr 08, 2013
Apr 04, 2013
Best bathrooms of any KOA i've stayed at.
Apr 02, 2013
Mar 31, 2013
The staff was AMAZING and bent over backwards to make our stay excellent. I would tell anyone to stay at Carlsbad KOA. As soon as I can they will receive a call for our next trip. My only recommendation would be the tent sites need a little better ground covering. However the place is truly one of the nicest campgrounds I have ever stay at in my 30+ years of running group trips. Thank YOU
Mar 27, 2013
Mar 26, 2013
We stayed in the "Tent Village" for a few days to visit the caves. The staff were very friendly and gave great advice. The day after we arrived, we awoke to a flat tire and they were happy to fill it for us. Couldn't have asked for more from a campsite.
Mar 18, 2013
Mar 17, 2013
I had been looking forward to the hot tub and it was broken. My son had been looking forward to the campfire and smores, there was no fire, die to the wind, but there was no substitute for the smores... It was u fortunate that all RVs left by driving by the tent sites. The bathrooms were very clean, as was the tent-camping sink and the staff were helpful. It sure was a long way out of Carlsba
Mar 17, 2013
Beautiful facility. Excellent staff. My family and I will not stay anywhere else in Carlsbad. Thank Y'all!
Mar 17, 2013
Campground offered a good variety of things to do including an ice cream social and community campfire. The facilities were clean and well cared for and the staff was exceptional. The two negative things that I found was that there was aot of traffic that passed by the tent area and you could smell the oil from the oil wells. On our future stay we would stay in one of the cabins.
Mar 15, 2013
Great KOA campground. Friendly staff, clean restrooms, only downside for us was that its a little far from the caverns.
Mar 14, 2013
Excellent, friendly, good location; clean restrooms and showers at all times. Great experience. We will return. Thanks for your hospitality.
Mar 11, 2013
Excellent experience. Attentive staff and well-kept campground. This was easily one of the nicest KOA's we've stayed at.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.