Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jun 02, 2014
Although the location is fairly remote and not in a great place, the staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.
Jun 02, 2014
May 30, 2014
with where the tent camping is located, it made it near impossible to get a good night sleep because of all the traffic driving by at all hours of the night.
May 28, 2014
Thanks for a wonderful stay. Fabulous staff and great accommodations.
May 28, 2014
Location is away from light pollution from the city, which is good. Noise level was an issue due to Trek America being a reoccurring visitor which are normally young adults. Only four showers for women when Trek America is visiting equals hot water shortage. Very friendly and helpful staff. Reasonable prices. Tent sites too close to entrance which means road noise. Nature is all around!
May 27, 2014
May 26, 2014
Had a fantastic time! Facilities were clean and the staff went above and beyond when we had weather related challenges with our tent. We will definitely recommend this property to anyone traveling to the Carlsbad area!
May 24, 2014
May 22, 2014
Clean, wonderful, sweet people and the rabbits made my son's day.
May 21, 2014
The staff was great, but the smell from the gas/ oil fields when you are in a tent affects your stay. Nice feature is private, fenced in tent sites that helped with wind. Enjoyed bunnies, birds and ground squirrels. Snakes were not yet awake! Far to the bathroom from the sheltered tent sites (a bike ride away).
May 18, 2014
Campground was clean, people nice. But internet was almost non-exsitent, important when you've been on the road. the one Bathroom they had was quite a distance
May 11, 2014
Everything was perfect. The grounds were clean and well maintained. The employees/staff made a big impact towards the awesome experience we had! Thank you all!
May 03, 2014
Wind blew down my tent, so I slept in the car. Tenters should be aware that it gets windy in the spring there. Restrooms were the best I have ever seen- look brand new.
Apr 23, 2014
If you plan on actually tent camping here, DO NOT DO IT!!!! The tent area is small and cramped, the noise ordinance is not enforced and you are on top of eachother. The ladies inside are RUDE. Not helpful and di not opt in for the horrible bbq. It's disgusting and waaaay overpriced.
Apr 18, 2014
Stayed specifically to see the cavers and they were spectacular. Campground and staff were great.
Apr 17, 2014
Great facilities and the nicest staff you could ever wish for.
Apr 08, 2014
Good campground, bad location. It's in the middle of nowhere. We stayed in the tent village and the bathrooms were too far away for my comfort. Guest service was exceptional.
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 27, 2014
We had a great time tenting at the KOA in Carlsbad. The bathrooms were very nice & clean. The whole facility was clean & well maintained. My only complaint is the hot water would run out in the showers by 9 or so. There were several mornings we had to settle for lukewarm showers. Which encouraged us to get up early to beat the rush. :)
Mar 20, 2014
Mar 19, 2014
This was a night stop on a road trip from Texas to California. We had stayed at this KOA on previous trips. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The facilities were clean, and the stay was restful.
Mar 16, 2014
Very friendly, helpful staff
Feb 18, 2014
There are floodlights from the restrooms/laundry facility that shine right on the entire tenting area all night. That, combined with the oil refineries smell, make this KOA, for me, an only-if-there's-nothing-else stop (which it was). On the up side, the restrooms/showers are impeccably clean and the grounds are well-kept.
Nov 15, 2013
What a great campground. The staff was supper friendly and very helpful. Thank you for a wonderful time.
Nov 15, 2013
We had a problem with the showers in the Womens restroom. The fine spray, although hot at the shower head, was cold by the time it reached a five foot tall body. It was a cold day and and a cold shower made us reluctant to rate this KOA as high as we did. Everything else was great.
Nov 08, 2013
Nov 02, 2013
Oct 26, 2013
Oct 04, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
Tent campers BEWARE. If you want to pay $32 to literally pitch your tent in the parking lot right next to the showers/laundry and entrance to the park then this is the place for you. Your tent will be lit up the entire night by lights, and you will get to hear every truck and RV as they enter/leave the park ALL NIGHT; they drive right by your tent. TENT CAMPERS, AVOID THIS KOA AT ALL COST!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We aren't quite sure why this guest felt the tenting area was in the parking lot. We do have lighting for security. Since the park is "out in the boonies" it would be extremely dark without any lights. Although we do have workers that arrive home late and leave early, it certainly isn't all night.
Oct 01, 2013
Nice park with plenty of amenities. Clean upgraded restrooms. Extensive gift shop. Tent site had trees but not much grass. Overall I was pleased with this KOA.
Sep 25, 2013
Great visit - friendly staff; clean, comfortable, quiet setting. I'd never stayed at a KOA before, but I now look forward to doing it again. Thanks!
Sep 22, 2013
Great, clean and most modern facilities found this trip. An outstanding KOA.
Sep 20, 2013
Great facilities but rather noisy from early hours in the morning at tent sites.
Sep 07, 2013
Wonderful, staff was awesome, helped us even after hours. Clean restrooms and showers. Had a great stay.
Aug 26, 2013
The campground was great and the people working there were extremely nice. My only complaint was that most of southern new mexico smelled like sulfur from all of the gas mines, but that is hardly anything the KOA could change. Great place, would definitely stay there again.
Aug 26, 2013
very nice facilities and great staff and food
Aug 24, 2013
Campgrounds and bathrooms clean. Friendly staff. Shower walls a bit dirty. Great location - it's quiet and dark.
Aug 23, 2013
Trucks driving past the campground area made it impossible to sleep past 5:30 a.m. water tastes terrible, oil well smell not pleasant.
Aug 18, 2013
I think the people in charge knew there was a problem with the flies before our stay but they have done nothing to get rid of them. Our campsite was infested with flies and we never even cooked there.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Flies are a nuisance during certain times of the season. Wish we could solve the problem for our guests, but time is the only solution!
Aug 14, 2013
This koa was great. Bring yard guard spray (or some kind of fly repellent) for the flies if using a tent.
Aug 13, 2013
The only drawback I found was the flies inside the bathrooms.
Aug 12, 2013
Well, nice staff, and the clean facilities, but it is the loudest "campground" we have ever tried to sleep at. There are lights on all night long, the traffic from the road is loud and goes on all night long, and with all of the oilfield workers staying there, yes they get up at 4:00 AM to leave for work! Yes vehicles driving by your tent at 4:00. Oh, and the smell from refineries is great too!
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Not enough shade for non electric vehicle stays. Internet was extremely slow when I could get it to even to connect to the Internet. I could connect to the router without an issue.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The internet is the best we can get in our location. We are working on more shade, but it is difficult in the desert.
Aug 08, 2013
Tent sites were wide and open. Lots of fun activities for young and old alike.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
We stayed at the Tent Village for two nights. Having access to water/electricity as well as close Showers/RR was great. It was the best "tenting" experience we've had. We'll definately be repeat customers.
Jul 31, 2013
Clean facilities, nice location, friendly caretakers.
Jul 31, 2013
This KOA is really geared towards campers with RV's. We tent-camped. We found the facilities to be clean and our kids had a great time in the pool, on the basketball court, and eating smores. However, the tent sites provided little in the way of privacy and quiet. For the first night, we stayed in the large field and awoke at 4:00 to what seemed like trucks on the verge of running through our tent

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.