Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

May 29, 2015
Great place, clean,convenient and the staff could not have been nicer. So good I would work here!
May 27, 2015
Very nice & quiet. Staff was very friendly. Really enjoyed our stay
May 26, 2015
Friendly n helpful staff , extreamley clean, awesome amenities, could not be more impressed
May 24, 2015
Very clean,nice people, only complaint was there wasn't any hot water when I took a shower at 8 in the morning
May 23, 2015
A one night stay! All staff members were very friendly and helpful and all of my questions were answered quickly and professionally. An added bonus was the fantastic BBQ that was prepared onsite! All of the facilities were clean and well maintained.
May 18, 2015
The staff is very friendly and the facilities are clean. The campsites are nice and it is well run. It is a nice starting point to go to Carlsbad Caverns. However, it is close to the highway and a little noisy. It is also close to oil pumps and one can smell the sulfur almost every night.
May 14, 2015
Nice place - great barbecue and nice staff. Our only suggestion would be to have a toilet at the Tent Village for in the middle of the night. It's a long walk to the big restroom in the dark. Only needs to be a small toilet.
May 11, 2015
Great place to stay! Staff was very friendly, the entire site was very clean and taken care of. I also liked the fact that the campsite was patrolled regularly.
May 02, 2015
The unique tent village was the perfect tent site and I would happily camp there again.
Apr 25, 2015
Carlsbad koa was very nice to stay at, we really liked thir tent city. The staff were kind & helpful.
Apr 19, 2015
Apr 17, 2015
Excellent! Loved the tent village and the barbecue dinner! Lovely restrooms and laundry facility also liked the car vacuum as we checked out!
Apr 15, 2015
The BBQ dinner was really good!!
Apr 13, 2015
Apr 12, 2015
Staff and facilities are great. Very helpful in all areas. The park is extremely clean and well laid out and my grandson enjoyed the bunnies.
Apr 11, 2015
The campground was very clean and well maintained. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly.
Apr 09, 2015
Wonderful campsite. Friendly and clean. Really enjoyed it.
Apr 08, 2015
Friendly staff, nice and clean facilities! Just a little farther from Carlsbad than I thought, and a little oilfield stink depending on the direction of the wind (but that's the smell of money, right?)
Apr 05, 2015
The roadway is to close to the tents area.
Apr 04, 2015
Great restrooms!
Mar 29, 2015
Mar 20, 2015
Thank you for having a dog park. My puppy loved it. I have two suggestions, 1 build bathrooms closer to tent city, have more activities like game nights or movie nights etc. Store was a little skimpy.
Mar 16, 2015
Staff was great we always have fun staying here. See you soon :)
Mar 15, 2015
Not a good choice for tent camping. We had paid for the fancier tent spots unaware that they would actually be closer to the very loud highway, and the "privacy fence" would amplify the sound of the trucks passing all night long, as well as force other campers into tight proximity. The location of the deluxe sites was also further from the bathroom facilities and well out of wifi range.
Mar 11, 2015
This was a particularly nice campground, even compared to other KOAs! The people there were extremely helpful and friendly!
Mar 05, 2015
Very helpful staff who gave good advice on routes to travel/avoid. Although location was isolated, everything at campground was well-organized and efficient. Staff very helpful with all we needed.
Feb 22, 2015
Over priced rip off 280 dollars for one week of camping is a joke.
Feb 17, 2015
Feb 11, 2015
I am super impressed with my entire KOA experience. The staff was friendly and very helpful. I liked it so much I stayed at another KOA the next night on my trip.
Oct 29, 2014
Nice KOA. Has electrical outlets for tent camping which is great. Farther away from the caverns than we thought it would be.
Oct 26, 2014
For tent camping this campground was very noisy as travelers drove in and out close to the tents. Otherwise the bathrooms were exceptionally clean and the area felt secure. It was further away from the Caverns than we expected.
Oct 26, 2014
The campground is very nice and the amenities are good. However, the workers staying there started driving by my tent at 4:30 AM every morning. Impossible to sleep. You need to move the tent area if you are going to rent to workers.
Oct 26, 2014
Bathrooms are clean, grounds are well kept. Only complaint is there must be a farm nearby cause air smells of poop. Also it's very loud from morning til night cause of the work trucks while the ad says completely otherwise.
Oct 20, 2014
Nice campground and facilities. Some of the tent sites had spotlights from the main office shining into the area.
Oct 16, 2014
Out of all the KOA's that we have stayed at during this vacation, this was the most expensive tent site that we had. Employees were very nice. The only thing we did not like was the smell in the air for the two days we spent there. I think it may have something to do with the oil fields around the area
Oct 15, 2014
This was my first stay at a KOA site. It was clean, well organized, and provided everything I needed during my stay. Would go back!
Oct 14, 2014
Very clean and quiet park, safe environment, very friendly and helpful staff - a very pleasant camping stay!
Oct 12, 2014
We stayed 1 night at a tent site in our campervan. All facilities are 1st class. However, lorry noise from the nearby road (all night) and especially the glaring floodlights at the rear yard prevent us for awarding 5 stars.
Oct 11, 2014
Need to clean the mouse poop up at the TentVillage sites
Oct 07, 2014
Great facility! Friendly staff and very clean sites! The octagon sites have everything you need. Restrooms & showers A++...if we're in the area, we will definitely be back!!
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
The facilities and staff here are excellent.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Restrooms were spotless! That was wonderful unfortunately, the tent area is right next the the entrance/exit - and it was VERY noise with all of the trucks leaving at 0430 tent site could have been better located.
Sep 02, 2014
Nice campground. Arriving late at night was a bit of an issue with the layout and trying to find the correct site. Overall a great place to stay.
Aug 26, 2014
Clean areas. Nice bathrooms. A little noisy camping adjacent to main roadway. Overall, liked it quite a bit.
Aug 26, 2014
Staff very helpful and friendly. Very nice tent site.
Aug 24, 2014
We were given a tent site that met our needs perfectly! We were close to the bathrooms (3 little ones with us!), the pool, and the well stocked on-site store. We are already planning our next trip there!
Aug 20, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.