Carlsbad KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

Email

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

May 01, 2016
nice clean and safe
Apr 25, 2016
It was really good for my family.
Apr 23, 2016
Great bathrooms! My only recommendation would be to replace the gravel driveways with dirt or asphalt. People driving over the travel all nigh made it hard to sleep.
Apr 19, 2016
Friendly staff and well kept grounds. Will deliver dinner. About 15 mins from the town of Carlsbad. Tent camped.
Apr 18, 2016
lots of fun
Apr 15, 2016
Loved the BBQ dinner at our site. Very gracious hosts. Excellent facilities!
Apr 11, 2016
Amazing customer service, staff was nice and the area was beautiful!
Apr 11, 2016
Nice campground but it was expensive.
Apr 10, 2016
all was good. great service!
Apr 07, 2016
Excellent stay! They hosted our group of 29 for tent camping.SUper Friendly and the best facility we stayed at on a 6day trip.
Apr 04, 2016
Apr 04, 2016
This is a great space, and lots of great amenities. The bathroom and club room were awesome. My big complaint is the basic tent sites are very small and right by the roads. Would have been nicer if they were tucked further back and a little bit larger. Also the fire pit is really small, as tent campers you rely on the campfire to keep you warm, and its tough when its small.
Apr 01, 2016
Very professional, courteous, clean, and and very friendly.
Mar 31, 2016
We abided by all of the clearly marked rules of the park but were told that we had numerous complaints against us from several people but we were never told what the complaints were but we were told that the people in the site next to us were "complainers". The owners were rude and unprofessional and didn't care about the guy in the next site constantly spying on my teenage nieces and daughter
Mar 28, 2016
The campsite is in a great location. It's about 45 minutes from Sitting Bull Falls and Calrsbad Caverns in different directions. The showers and bathrooms are clean and private. Great place to stay for families with children!
Mar 28, 2016
I loved the facility and the staff where all really friendly. Larry was really informative.
Mar 26, 2016
The staff were very nice. The tent area was not so nice, the showers were being remodeled, and the pool was not working.
Mar 24, 2016
We had a lovely stay! All of the employees went totally out of their way to be friendly and helpful and the campground itself is very nice. Our only objection is that the tent sites are right up front and subject to the very early comings and goings of long-term residents going to work.
Mar 21, 2016
We enjoyed our stay in Tent Village. Nice KOA, people and facilities.
Mar 21, 2016
The staff was super friendly and professional. It was super clean and well laid out. The game room and ping pong table was so fun. The showers were hot and also super clean. My only wish was a slightly larger layout for the tent camping with maybe a wind break.
Mar 21, 2016
Great location... Felt like camping out in a park unlike some urban lots.
Mar 20, 2016
Had a good time, staff made it great!
Mar 20, 2016
Mar 20, 2016
This KOA is clean and staff is friendly. It's just not meant for tent camping. The few tent sites are super close to each other, with volleyball and basketball courts sharing the small area. I ended up camping at Brantley Lake State Park for my second night in the area. 1/3 the price, no light pollution, and private sites that are in actual nature.
Mar 20, 2016
The KOA was located about 15 miles from carlsbad which was perfect. The land around the campground had wildlife and beautiful sunrise and sunset. The staff was great the place was overall just perfecy
Mar 19, 2016
All-in-all it was a great stay on 3/14/2016. The only down side was that some of the showers were being remodeled. The line for the remaining showers was too long. The break room was the best I have seen at a KOA and the staff was great. They can even serve hot meals to guest!
Mar 18, 2016
The campground was geared toward RV campers and we were tent camping. Any vehicle coming in our out of the campgrounds had to drive by us. We were closer to the main building, so it was also very well lit, so it was a bit bright on the tent for sleeping. The tent areas should be in the back of the park - it would be a game changer. The staff was friendly though, and the grounds well kept.
Mar 18, 2016
For the price, I would think there should have been more and closer bathroom facilities for tent camping
Mar 16, 2016
I was a little worried about the lack of trees, but it was awesome camping there! The staff was wonderful and my kids loved the rec room. The BBQ was delicious as well. We will definitely be back! Great location for the caverns, sitting bull, etc.
Mar 16, 2016
Clean facilities and friendly staff. Two women traveling with teenager felt very safe.
Mar 15, 2016
This is a great place for novice campers, but not for anyone who appreciates the solitude of the outdoors.
Mar 14, 2016
Friendly good food Disappointed in price as paid for a tent/water. Would need to use the showers & because of renovations ONLY 2 available and in the RV area!
Mar 11, 2016
A very nice campground, though set up more for RVs than for tents. The amenities are insanely good. the people were without exception lovely, and the restaurant was both quite good and relatively reasonably priced, and they deliver to your site! Pricey for tenting, but worth it.
Mar 06, 2016
Nice staff, hot showers, and great amenities at the tent village. Only problem was the smell, but it is a problem with the whole area and not the KOA.
Jan 18, 2016
The staff was very accomadating and we felt right at home. A very clean and safe place to stay. The bathrooms at were immaculate! Will definitely stay again. Thanks KOA Carlsbad for the hospitality.
Nov 14, 2015
Tremendously helpful staff! Lots to do here. Although, I feel like the price was a little high considering the area (literally the middle of no where) and the fact all we rented was a tent site. $40 per night is a little steep, doesn't matter how friendly or nice the staff is.
Oct 29, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at this campground. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food they served was very good. We especially liked the way they had a tent area set up like a tent village area with covered areas at each site with lights. It would be great for cooking, eating and sitting in case of rain. We highly recommend this campground.
Oct 25, 2015
Staff was very friendly. Facility was clean. Restrooms were great!
Oct 18, 2015
Nice campground and very nice bathroom.
Oct 13, 2015
We arrived after office hours and we had a welcome packet waiting for us with directions to the tent site. The employees were very friendly and the bathrooms were nice and clean.
Oct 10, 2015
We loved it!! Everyone was so nice!
Oct 09, 2015
I really liked how they set up the sheltered tent area.
Sep 28, 2015
I stayed with my 11 year old son and mother in tent village and absolutely loved it. My son loved the fish pond and the star presentation.
Sep 28, 2015
Very clean, great place to camp with kids.
Sep 28, 2015
Friendly hosts and great facilities.
Sep 26, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
We stayed in TV2. Site was great and view was awesome. We did notice a small wifi issue being on the backside of the pavilion. Only thing I would suggest is each site, install AstroTurf for the tents. Other that that great experience.
Sep 06, 2015
We stayed in the tent village, which was great. Perfect sized site for the two of us, but a small family could fit as well. Access to a table, grill, fire pit and electric all in the site. Showers/bathrooms were cleaned daily. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Sep 05, 2015
Staff was friendly and the establishment was clean. It would've been even better if they had toilets inside private shower booths like in some other KOA camprgrounds.
Sep 04, 2015
Cleanest and well maintained bathrooms!! Jim was my favorite.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award