Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Oct 20, 2014
Nice campground and facilities. Some of the tent sites had spotlights from the main office shining into the area.
Oct 16, 2014
Out of all the KOA's that we have stayed at during this vacation, this was the most expensive tent site that we had. Employees were very nice. The only thing we did not like was the smell in the air for the two days we spent there. I think it may have something to do with the oil fields around the area
Oct 15, 2014
This was my first stay at a KOA site. It was clean, well organized, and provided everything I needed during my stay. Would go back!
Oct 14, 2014
Very clean and quiet park, safe environment, very friendly and helpful staff - a very pleasant camping stay!
Oct 12, 2014
We stayed 1 night at a tent site in our campervan. All facilities are 1st class. However, lorry noise from the nearby road (all night) and especially the glaring floodlights at the rear yard prevent us for awarding 5 stars.
Oct 11, 2014
Need to clean the mouse poop up at the TentVillage sites
Oct 07, 2014
Great facility! Friendly staff and very clean sites! The octagon sites have everything you need. Restrooms & showers A++...if we're in the area, we will definitely be back!!
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
The facilities and staff here are excellent.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Restrooms were spotless! That was wonderful unfortunately, the tent area is right next the the entrance/exit - and it was VERY noise with all of the trucks leaving at 0430 tent site could have been better located.
Sep 02, 2014
Nice campground. Arriving late at night was a bit of an issue with the layout and trying to find the correct site. Overall a great place to stay.
Aug 26, 2014
Clean areas. Nice bathrooms. A little noisy camping adjacent to main roadway. Overall, liked it quite a bit.
Aug 26, 2014
Staff very helpful and friendly. Very nice tent site.
Aug 24, 2014
We were given a tent site that met our needs perfectly! We were close to the bathrooms (3 little ones with us!), the pool, and the well stocked on-site store. We are already planning our next trip there!
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
This KOA was wonderful. It was my first time camping in quite a while and I was camping alone. I felt very safe and had a wonderful time. There's a lot to do in the area but I was mainly there for the caves. Wish I could have stayed longer I only had so many vacation days. The people at the office were extremely nice and the BBQ dinners were delicious.
Aug 11, 2014
Had a really great time. Very nice campground with an extremely congenial staff.
Aug 10, 2014
Actually the tent area with elect was so close to others that it was too loud. Esp at 2 am!!! Rude people that were asked to keep it down quite a few times. T5 was the spot.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
My family and I were only going to stay one night, But the KOA and Carlsbad had so much for us to do, we stayed our whole vacation.
Aug 05, 2014
Tout fut très bien. Un peu d'ombre sur les tent sites serait à créer Accueil cordial et attentionné
Aug 03, 2014
Took a 9 week cross country trip tenting and hotels. Stayed in 17 KOA's in 12 states; 3 in NM. This place has it all. Location to sites, Clean, Great Recreation room that saved me. Only tough point - Tent Village site 4 (I think) has tough western exposure in the heat.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
This place had very clean bathrooms and was family-friendly. It had many amenities that we were not used to while camping. They even have a food delivery service. Just be sure you ask specifically how it works, because there is a schedule of deliveries. The only negative is that depending on the direction of the wind, there is a pretty strong oil field smell.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
We had a great stay at your KOA! We really liked the layout the facilities, the friendly staff, the ability to order dinner and have it delivered to our campsite, and the referrals to local attractions. It was all fantastic. The tent site was a little bit close to the propane tank and the gas could be smelled at night. It was not bad, but thought I'd mention it. Thank you for a great stay!
Jul 15, 2014
Nice place. We actually stayed an extra night here.
Jul 13, 2014
This is a great campground even by KOA standards. It's very clean (bathrooms, pool area, campsites etc...). The employees were helpful and friendly. Tip: If you are tent camping sites 1 & 2 are shadier then the others and perfect for side-by-side tenting.
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
everyone working at this KOA was incredibly sweet. had a really nice time staying here
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Very nice place to stay. Everything was clean and well kept up. The only 2 downfalls were that the primitive camping area had very few trees and the staff was a bit rude. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay so long as you avoided having to speak to employees any more than absolutely necessary and if you are staying in the primitive areas be prepared and have a canopy of some sort.
Jul 01, 2014
It was a much nicer experience than I was expecting! I've never stayed at a KOA before, but I will definitely stay again! Our campsite was right next to the bathrooms and not far from the pool. The bathrooms were very spacious and clean! They also had several outlets along a ledge, which was convenient! Even though we were sleeping outside, it felt safer than a hotel!
Jun 30, 2014
It was hottttttttt this weekend, but everyone in our group had a great time. Glad there was a pool and the staff was very friendly and accomodating.
Jun 29, 2014
Ad for this koa was misrepresented. It was clean, but the tent sites were at best poor
Jun 26, 2014
Everyone was kind and helpful. The facilities were clean and easy to use.
Jun 23, 2014
A great camp ground. Play ground for the kids would have been nice.
Jun 22, 2014
Jun 21, 2014
The people were friendly and helpful with information we needed.
Jun 17, 2014
Good access to the restrooms which were very clean.
Jun 16, 2014
Clean camp ground. Well marked with highway signs. Fairly priced.
Jun 15, 2014
Nice place but, customer service problems. When I was not able to connect to the internet I was told that it was my issue. Finally was told by maintenance not to expect much from the internet. Pool closed at 7p when packed with people. Common room closed at 7p also. Line of people needing things in the morning, but nothing opened until 9, after everybody left.
Jun 14, 2014
Clean and enjoyable
Jun 10, 2014
beautiful stars I've ever seen at night.
Jun 09, 2014
Friendly staff and clean environment. Only downside was the luke warm shower in the morning. Other than that a wonderful and enjoyable experience. Thanks KOA
Jun 07, 2014
The water/electric camping sites were in a pie shaped area extremely close to one another. Myself and my girlfriend were kept awake till around 230am by 6 20 something military kids. The police arrived at the campsite to confront the 6 but when they found out that they were military they handled them with kid gloves and instead buddied up to them. The result was no sleep for either of us. Ripoff
Jun 03, 2014
The campgound is very nice, restrooms clean. The only issue we had is the sprinkler system on our tent-site going off in the middle of the night making all our gear and sleeping bags inside the tent soaking wet. Because of that our neigbours had a bad night too. Without that I would rated this campgrond a 4
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.