Carlsbad KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000


2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 25, 2016
Friendly staff and good facilities. Have enjoyed both stays at this KOA. Only wish it were a shorter walk to the restrooms. :)
Oct 23, 2016
Arrived at a very busy time, and all the employees were very pleasant and working efficiently. The grounds were well kept and the bathroom was immaculate. Very pleased with my stay!
Oct 20, 2016
The campsite was clean but over 100 yds from the restrooms. The restrooms were filled with flies.
Oct 17, 2016
One of the best KOA's we have visited. We appreciated the covered areas at the tent spaces.
Oct 17, 2016
Too far from Carlsbad caverns
Oct 13, 2016
Friendly place to stay over night when traveling to Carlsbad Cavers. We did tent camping only. Tent site included fire pit and picnic table. Bathroom facility was very clean and well maintained. Staff was very friendly.
Oct 12, 2016
Management was friendly. Facilities were clean and well maintained. We stayed in tent village, but it was a bit loud for what we were used to. Would have liked management to enforce noise policy.
Oct 10, 2016
We arrived after closing but the information was right where we were told it would be. The map was clearly marked as to where we needed to go. We were able to get our tent set up and get settled in for the night in no time.
Oct 07, 2016
I stayed in Koa from Colorado to New Mexico , each and everyone was amazing , clean , beautiful parks , with. Wry clean restrooms and showers !! Lots of rabbits in New Mexico, upon arrival if you have dogs , don't just let them out of the truck ! Coz the will be gone chasing rabbits !! Lol ! KOA is the Best !!!and Koa is very pet friendly! Dog walks , hiking trails !
Sep 23, 2016
Sep 22, 2016
Sep 22, 2016
Very nice facility. Great restrooms,friendly staff.
Sep 21, 2016
The reason for my low rating is likely due to the fact that I stayed in a tent site. This is not a tent friendly KOA! The highway noise is very loud, it smells at night, they don't have an outside sink to wash dishes like other KOA's, the common building lights at night are very bright,the no electric sites are in the middle of the KOA with no shading on most of the sites. No good for tent campers
Sep 21, 2016
I didn't get a chance to thoroughly enjoy your facilities this time because of my late arrival and early departure. But the camp is well organized and maintained as always. PS - I came late because I drove extra hours to make sure that I spent the night at your nice facility.
Sep 18, 2016
Sep 15, 2016
Sep 11, 2016
People were nice very helpful. Restroom and shower were very clean.
Sep 07, 2016
This KOA was well maintained, had nice facilities and activities for my family. The staff was friendly and helpful. It looked a little barren on the google maps image, but it was green and had nice trees.
Aug 30, 2016
Lovely stay at Carlsbad KOA. Near as a pin site with sparkling clean restrooms!! The caverns are about an hour's drive away, but we expected that, and they're definitely worth a visit. Our only complaint was our neighbors speaking very loudly until the early hours!
Aug 29, 2016
I had so much fun camping here. The staff were super kind and accommodating with our late arrival and constantly checked our comfort. My only complaint is the cleaning staff. I was showering my 2 year old and the staff was constantly complaining to me about how she could take the hair from the drains and make a wig from it. It was a touch uncomfortable. The rest was great.
Aug 23, 2016
Tent camping in pretty much either in the parking lot or under a gazebo. I would have preferred setting up my tent in more of an open space especially since the stars are so amazing. Bathroom and shower were spotless - staff was extremely nice & helpful.
Aug 14, 2016
Probably fine for RVs. Terrible tent camping.
Aug 13, 2016
Very clean and nice campground. A very friendly staff. Very clean bathrooms and showers. Would stay here again. And Boss was awesome!
Aug 10, 2016
Really clean, safe and staff were friendly and accommodating.
Aug 07, 2016
The staff was very helpful, with ideas of places to go, directions on how to get there, and the food they served at night was great too. The place was very clean from the bathrooms to the camp sites.
Aug 06, 2016
The stay was wonderful. We didn't have enough time to enjoy everything you had to offer but we definitely enjoyed ourselves. The store it self offered a range of items, a lil pricey, but a variety. Thanks again
Aug 03, 2016
Loved the covered area. The area was big enough for our tent. The convenience store was very useful. Clean bathrooms and electricity and water in the tent sites.
Aug 03, 2016
Absolutely beautiful set up. Once we saw how nice, REALLY would have liked to stay longer. Have been telling everyone how awesome your KOA is! We'll be back!
Jul 29, 2016
Great stay! I wish the pool stayed open a little later but we had fun anyway. Thanks for a wonderful NM visit!
Jul 29, 2016
The restrooms were kinda far from the tent sites. Quiet hours did not seem to be enforced as our tent neighbors were loudly watching TV at 11:45pm
Jul 22, 2016
Fantastic place to stay! The tent village was excellent.
Jul 18, 2016
Very clean, loved the pool and the staff in wonderful and friendly
Jul 17, 2016
Kids had a lot of fun. Would go back but not in July.
Jul 16, 2016
We came to tent camp, the staff was nice and the pool was clean. Nightly it was so windy that our tents were buckling(15-20mph), the 2nd night we had to sleep in the car. No one warned us about high winds. When the wind slowed at midnight RVs started leaving and the exit was only 15 feet away, the road noise was almost constant. We did not sleep well. The office was also closed before sunset.
Jul 16, 2016
This KOA was fantastic, friendly, and very clean. We were surrounded by nature and little animals and it was very relaxing.
Jul 15, 2016
Campsite and facility was nice. Pool closed way to early with extreme heat conditions. Proper notification was not given on watching for scorpions after dark, found 3 of them while going to the showers, and once outside the tent door. Sprinkler system was not turned off either at the tent village. Turned on while setting up.
Jul 12, 2016
Wished the pool was open earlier than 10 am because we had to leave and It would have been nice to take a swim. Other than that, everything was clean and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay.
Jul 08, 2016
The campground was clean and well tended. All of the staff were very nice and helpful, and we had a great time with no problems.
Jul 06, 2016
Great service, great everything! And the weather even cooperated. A cool evening in the middle of Summer!
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 04, 2016
Tent camping should be separate from v-ball court. Have an ice dispenser for the single camper.
Jun 30, 2016
Loved it
Jun 29, 2016
Jun 29, 2016
Wonderful themed Park, very clean and organized. Great big laundry room and roomy showers.
Jun 28, 2016
It was hot during our stay so it would have been nice to have some shade. The tent sites have no shade, should have some tree's like the RV sites. The restrooms were excellent lots of hot water for shower.
Jun 27, 2016
Good location. Clean bathrooms. Friendly staff. Tent village provided good shade.
Jun 26, 2016
We really enjoyed it! Friendly staff, great facilities.
Jun 25, 2016
Positive: Clean toilets and showers, friendly staff and good services (BBQ delivery, pool etc although we didn't use these), looked good for RVs. Negative: quite a distance from Carlsbad, paid extra for a campsite advertised as being under a shelter but shelter very small and put in site with full sun, very close to other tents, very noisy as no quiet hour rule (or not enforced if there was one).
Jun 25, 2016
Only complaint is weak wifi and the price for a tiny sunscreen in store. It was an ideal place to stay otherwise. Loved TV 2. (tent village) We had a privacy + protection during a storm. Laundromat was nice, large showers, fun pool, excellent intro from staff and helped to our site by golf cart. Love the laid back feel, felt very Austin, TX in NM which we loved having lived there.
Jun 21, 2016
Great place, friendly staff, food a tad overpriced, to many lights on at night near tent camping.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award