Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Oct 19, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
The Kampground was well planned, providing a sufficient variety of options for travelers. The spaces are quite roomy and pleasing, with grills, picnic tables, and southwest vegetation. The grounds are very clean. There are dog-friendly places, including a leash-free playground. The entire staff is pleasant and helpful, and I look forward to seeing them during my next work retreat.
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Great Staff and facilities.
Oct 15, 2013
Good dinner after a long day of travel. Maybe a sign at road entry off 285.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

A nice new sign is up! Come back and see it!
Oct 15, 2013
The KOA was clean and the people were friendly. Especially that spitfire Diane! I loved her the moment we walked in! The bathrooms/showers were amazing. The spots right next to each other and there are hardly any trees, so not much priviacy, but our kids loved the playground and we enjoyed our stay. Would stay again when in Carlsbad.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our sites are forty feet wide; we are so sorry our guest felt the spaces were too close. We don't have many trees for sure, but this is the high desert. Our ability to have large trees is severly limited by the geography of the region.
Oct 13, 2013
To many flys and stickers!
Oct 13, 2013
Great location, very nice park, many attractions even though the N P was closed. Highly recommend this park.
Oct 10, 2013
We have always enjoyed staying at this KOA
Oct 08, 2013
We loved our stay with Carlsbad KOA - the only thing is that we had to move sites, when my husband asked for 2 nights, thus we had to do a "Chinese firedrill" and pay a higher rate. Otherwise, our experience was excellent. The food in the kitchen was delicious. Outstanding staff.
Oct 07, 2013
Very helpful and friendly staff.
Oct 07, 2013
They delivered dinner to our RV and it was delicious. Super friendly staff, extra clean facility and very spacious.
Oct 05, 2013
Everyone was very nice and liked the doggy park and s'mores night.
Oct 05, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
It was a very pleasant stay
Oct 02, 2013
good location, good size sites, but the smell from the oil area made it impossible to open windows. Flies also a big problem. We know you cannot fix either one of these but I feel that you should at least let the guests know in advance that it's not the park but the area that is to blame.
Oct 02, 2013
GREAT CAMPGROUND WITH STAFF THAT TAKES CARE OF CAMPERS IN A TIMELY,FRIENDLY,RESPECTFUL MANNER. SAFE AND CONVENIENT TO AREA ATTRACTIONS,EATING ESTABLISHMENTS AND SHOPPING.
Oct 01, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
nice sites, friendly staff
Sep 30, 2013
we really enjoyed our stay, very clean, quiet, and restful. thanks so much..
Sep 29, 2013
Great campground!
Sep 26, 2013
A nice little oasis in the middle of nowhere. We enjoyed the hospitality and the superb facilities.
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Your corporate cancellation policy is unreasonable and will keep me from staying at any other KOA
Sep 26, 2013
The best campground we've ever seen, and great handicap facilities. Thanks!
Sep 25, 2013
Very noisy with all the workers staying there.
Sep 24, 2013
WIDE, spacious and quiet campground with immaculate baths. WONDERFUL!! The Wi-Fi and cable tv were great, too!!
Sep 24, 2013
Attractive plantings and grass with very large distances between pads. Very helpful Mgmt employes.
Sep 24, 2013
Lots of grass burrs. Hot tub closed. The rest was great..
Sep 24, 2013
A great KOA to stop at. Spacious sites, very friendly staff, and excellent facilities.
Sep 24, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
We didn't stay long, as we went to watch the bat flight at the caverns. Nice looking park, friendly people.. a little far out of town and need improvements to the internet.
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
One of the better KOA's that we have stayed at. Large sites,with plenty of room to maneuver our 5th wheel.
Sep 20, 2013
We have stayed several times. Very nice facilities. It is the most expensive KOA and/or campground we have ever stayed at, though. We think the rates could be lowered. Thank you
Sep 19, 2013
Stayed a total of 6 nights. Really enjoyed this campground; very well maintained and workers are all very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint is the signage at the turnoff from the hiway, it is very difficult to see where to turn coming from the North. Needs some reflective paint or tape put up. May have to see county or state.
Sep 19, 2013
Actually stayed 6 nights.
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 15, 2013
Sep 14, 2013
Campgound was great. Clean, well managed and friendly folks in the office, Highly recommended.
Sep 13, 2013
This was the best park so far on all our RV trips! The staff was friendly, the park was spacious, clean, and very pet friendly. An overall gorgeous park! Wished we could've stayed longer....next time!!
Sep 13, 2013
Sep 12, 2013
very nice staff, clean grounds, best dog park
Sep 12, 2013
Campground smells very bad every night. They claim it because of the nearby oil fields. Smell was so bad didn't even get one good nights good rest.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

There are oil fields in the vicinity and at times, depending on which way the wind blows, we do have a sulfur smell. Most of the time it is not a big problem and with the windows and doors closed, using either A/C or heat, the smell is negligible.
Sep 11, 2013
Excellent facilities and very friendly staff.
Sep 11, 2013
Will be 5 stars when the interior roads are paved. Would have been nice if the ping pong was accessible until at least 8 or 9 p.m. Exercise bike in the laundry was great! Loved the campsite swing and patio.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.