Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Mar 28, 2014
Mar 27, 2014
Mar 27, 2014
Friendly, welcoming staff. Beautifully maintained KOA, long pull-through sites. Great choices in gift shop.
Mar 26, 2014
Bien situé sanitaire propre bon service.
Mar 24, 2014
Clean, friendly and the evening meals that they conveniently offer we're delicious!
Mar 24, 2014
You need to tell guests about the water (calcium) before they ruin all their coffee with curdled cream!
Mar 24, 2014
Not all staff members were on the same page as to the rules of the campground.
Mar 23, 2014
Mar 22, 2014
Mar 22, 2014
We absolutely loved it!! The people were extremely friendly & helpful. The campsite, laundry room & bathrooms were very clean. They had an awesome dog park that we could take our pups to get exercise & fresh air. They even have a great dinner service that they will deliver to your door. My teenage boys like to skateboard, they were able to skate & hangout. It's a great place to go & relax.
Mar 18, 2014
You have a beautiful park. The grounds were well maintained and the bathrooms were spotless! I appreciate the fact that you kept the bathrooms warm on a cold day. We stayed in a KOA a couple of nights before and were told to put the heater on when we got in there. That's not ok. We showered in a freezing cold bathroom. You have so much to be proud of----thank you for a wonderful night!
Mar 18, 2014
Restroom was very nice except the water in the women's shower never got above a cool lukewarm. Internet connection was poor; usually couldn't send or receive emails or download websites. Very dusty area.
Mar 18, 2014
Very nice, well equipped park. Plenty of room. Long pull-thru sites. Properly placed, functioning hookups. Great people.
Mar 17, 2014
Campground was excellent!!! Staff was extremely helpful and polite. The staff stayed busy keeping the grounds, bathrooms, etc. clean. The campsite was as advertised and level. It was a little out of town but centrally located to ALL atractions in the area.
Mar 17, 2014
Mar 16, 2014
THE PARK IS VERY CLEAN AND NEAT. THE SITES ARE VERY LARGE. BY ALL MEANS TRY THE BAR-B-Q.
Mar 16, 2014
Loved their divided dog play parks. Great that KOA grew some green grass and watered it for the dogs. Dogs need to eat grass and out there in the desert, there is nothing for them but TG some watered grass at this KOA Park. Otherwise, this KOA is located near huge power transformers and has sewage kept in a pool right behind the KOA facility. As the wind blows toward the RV park, YUK!
Mar 16, 2014
Very clean and well patrolled. Staff friendly and helpful. Showers took a long time to heat up, but eventually did. A comfortable and safe place to stay.
Mar 16, 2014
Really nice clean sites, facilities and staff. A bit of a drive but I believe it is well worth it. Pool wasn't open yet but they were cleaning it and had been filled the day we departured.
Mar 15, 2014
Mar 14, 2014
Mar 14, 2014
Great staff, showers, restrooms, all around very very good. Only thing keeping it from excellence is lack of concrete pads.
Mar 13, 2014
Mar 12, 2014
Facilities were outstanding. Staff were friendly, helpful, and very dedicated. Great stay.
Mar 12, 2014
Nice camp ground. Excellent showers and gift store. Enjoyed it. Would have liked to see a better value - we had the premium camp site and it only included a bbq pit, picnic table and a block patio, no shade. To me, this wasn't really premium, it was standard. But, we liked the park.
Mar 11, 2014
Really nice close enough to Carlsbad Caverns but beautifully rural plains.
Mar 11, 2014
Clean, working hook ups
Mar 10, 2014
excellent staff and beautiful camp ground
Mar 06, 2014
The people were very personable. The facilities were clean, as were the grounds. Only complaint is small number of cable channels.
Mar 06, 2014
Not really in Carlsbad! 40 some miles to the caverns
Mar 04, 2014
Nice, helpful people. Hookup and facilities very good. The meal they prepare was excellent. Only problem was the wind, since it's so flat and remote. This KOA is A-OK!
Mar 03, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful bathrooms.
Mar 03, 2014
Mar 01, 2014
This is a great KOA! The sites are wide & long and the interior roads are wide as well, making entering & exiting a breeze. The delivered BBQ is incredible and the staff is very friendly & helpful. No big trees for shade but it's the desert! Sure there can be a smell from oil rigs in the area and the park is an hour from the caverns, but it is by far the nicest campground around.
Mar 01, 2014
Feb 28, 2014
Nice place, friendly people. Wish it was closer to the caverns but it is the best choice in the area. They serve a great dinner delivered to your rv for a good price
Feb 26, 2014
Very nice and clean campground. This place also has really good BBQ.
Feb 24, 2014
Feb 23, 2014
Great KOA. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful (thank you Edith!). Facilities very clean.
Feb 23, 2014
Feb 23, 2014
Feb 23, 2014
Sites and service were great. We had not read previous remarks and we're not prepared for the smell from the oil fields, which was really bad the first night. We also did not realize the park was so far from the caverns, which is not the fault if the park mgt.
Feb 21, 2014
We had never seen a kitchen at a KOA, but understand why now. We ate dinner there and it was great. The grounds & people are super.
Feb 21, 2014
Nice campground but a little too far from Carlsbad Caverns to earn the name CC-KOA. It also is a bit pricey for a gravel spot. Nice to have the cable tv but the wi-fi , although free could not match the speed of our Verizon Cel working in 3g so we used it instead. Camp hosts, staff, and reception all very nice and professional.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Carlsbad KOA does not hide our location and we are the closest KOA (& nicest campground) to the caverns. This is the high-desert so trees are sparse and small, and at this time of year, grass is impossible. Unfortunately, our wifi speeds vary throughout the day and are much better at times.
Feb 20, 2014
The cable tv was real snowy. I was disappointed that for as many times as I've stay with you, the one time I had to leave early, you wouldn't give me credit for a future stay. It will figure into my staying with you in the future.
Feb 20, 2014
Great people
Feb 20, 2014
I like your KOA, but the wifi's kinda weak and could use a few more trees.
Feb 20, 2014
Pricing was a little out of line compared to other parks in the area. I do understand you offer amenities that other parks do not have. One afternoon I was stopped by a employee of the park and was rudely reprimanded for excessive speed in the park. I consciously didn't do it on purpose thought he handled the situation unprofessional. He acted like a drill sergeant I wasn't trying to break your ru

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do understand that our guests don't "try" to break our rules about going slow in our park. However, we do take our slow speed limit seriously. With little ones and pets in the park, it is important to be mindful of the speed limit.
Feb 19, 2014
Feb 16, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.