Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Sep 26, 2013
A nice little oasis in the middle of nowhere. We enjoyed the hospitality and the superb facilities.
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Your corporate cancellation policy is unreasonable and will keep me from staying at any other KOA
Sep 26, 2013
The best campground we've ever seen, and great handicap facilities. Thanks!
Sep 25, 2013
Very noisy with all the workers staying there.
Sep 24, 2013
WIDE, spacious and quiet campground with immaculate baths. WONDERFUL!! The Wi-Fi and cable tv were great, too!!
Sep 24, 2013
Attractive plantings and grass with very large distances between pads. Very helpful Mgmt employes.
Sep 24, 2013
Lots of grass burrs. Hot tub closed. The rest was great..
Sep 24, 2013
A great KOA to stop at. Spacious sites, very friendly staff, and excellent facilities.
Sep 24, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
We didn't stay long, as we went to watch the bat flight at the caverns. Nice looking park, friendly people.. a little far out of town and need improvements to the internet.
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
One of the better KOA's that we have stayed at. Large sites,with plenty of room to maneuver our 5th wheel.
Sep 20, 2013
We have stayed several times. Very nice facilities. It is the most expensive KOA and/or campground we have ever stayed at, though. We think the rates could be lowered. Thank you
Sep 19, 2013
Stayed a total of 6 nights. Really enjoyed this campground; very well maintained and workers are all very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint is the signage at the turnoff from the hiway, it is very difficult to see where to turn coming from the North. Needs some reflective paint or tape put up. May have to see county or state.
Sep 19, 2013
Actually stayed 6 nights.
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 15, 2013
Sep 14, 2013
Campgound was great. Clean, well managed and friendly folks in the office, Highly recommended.
Sep 13, 2013
This was the best park so far on all our RV trips! The staff was friendly, the park was spacious, clean, and very pet friendly. An overall gorgeous park! Wished we could've stayed longer....next time!!
Sep 13, 2013
Sep 12, 2013
very nice staff, clean grounds, best dog park
Sep 12, 2013
Campground smells very bad every night. They claim it because of the nearby oil fields. Smell was so bad didn't even get one good nights good rest.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

There are oil fields in the vicinity and at times, depending on which way the wind blows, we do have a sulfur smell. Most of the time it is not a big problem and with the windows and doors closed, using either A/C or heat, the smell is negligible.
Sep 11, 2013
Excellent facilities and very friendly staff.
Sep 11, 2013
Will be 5 stars when the interior roads are paved. Would have been nice if the ping pong was accessible until at least 8 or 9 p.m. Exercise bike in the laundry was great! Loved the campsite swing and patio.
Sep 10, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
The staff was helpful and friendly. The facilities were spotless with an exceptional laundry. One of my more enjoyable stops this summer.
Sep 09, 2013
Friendly Staff-Clean campground-Beautiful State to visit!
Sep 09, 2013
We stayed here on our way to Ruidoso and found the park to be clean convenient and friendly. A little pricey for a comparable park in Ruidoso at $43 vs. $32 but it was at a good stopping point for our drive. Showers / baths were very clean. Tent campers occupied the area near the baths and used all of the electrical outlets in the bath area to charge their phones and computers. Overall an 8
Sep 07, 2013
Great KOA. Good space between sites with grass inbetween. Great dog runs with green grass. Friendly staff. Very nice and clean pool. Would stay here again.
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 05, 2013
Sep 05, 2013
Sep 05, 2013
Nice park- we really liked our site - but sloppy management! we ordered the advertised meals to be delivered to our site but they never arrived. I called to inquire and was given a run around and no follow up by any staff or management member. Went to use the hot tub after hiking all day and it was closed! The Wi-Fi was spotty and virtually useless. Better management is much needed at this park.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We feel terrible about the mix-up with the meal; not sure what happened. No excuses-we apologize. Hot tub is functional but, due to government regulations, we can't open it without a lift-gate for disabled people. Wifi is the best we can do in the area.
Sep 03, 2013
great dinners and at my rv's door
Sep 03, 2013
I enjoyed staying at KOA Kampground in Carlsbad,all the people working there were the friendleast I have seen in a long time, Very helpful also.
Sep 03, 2013
See Yelp rating. The staff is GREAT, FRIENDLY, and always smiling. the park is clean, clean, clean. The swimming pool is very well kept, clean, and clear water. The doggie area is great, and the bathrooms and showers are 5 Stars, they are very clean. Many activities to do there. The security is very good, staff members patrol the area every thirty minutes, and they have security camera's.
Sep 03, 2013
Wonderful except trash bins were too far away and hot tub was closed and pool hours too short. All easily fixable!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are afraid that if the trash bins were closer, we would get complaints about the smell. The government is the reason our perfectly usable hot tub is not available. The State of New Mexico laws require us to close the pool after dusk. We apologize for the inconvenience however.
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Nice campground, immaculately clean. Good wifi! Being able to order dinner and have it delivered to your RV was a nice touch!
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Very nice - bathrooms are very clean, well designed and beautiful tiling. Staff is perfect as always.
Sep 01, 2013
people are great spaces are large easy access and atrea abounds with things to do and places to go see. You'll love it
Sep 01, 2013
We have traveled across the USA several times and this is still at the top of my list as "The Very Best" . Thanks KOA! Jimm & Barbara
Sep 01, 2013
Great campground with large pull-thru sites. Hosts were super and provided great info on area.
Aug 30, 2013
The spots are long and wide. It is a pleasant camp and sits away from Carlsbad, which is the nearest town. Plenty of room for walking, nice facilities, good dinners available. We only stayed for one night, but see how it would be a good place to spend a few more nights. There are lots of things to see and do in the area.
Aug 29, 2013
outstanding service, outstanding staff

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.