Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

RV Reviews

Nov 22, 2014
Spacious, clean sites. Friendly staff. Excellent laundry facilities.
Nov 20, 2014
Nov 19, 2014
Nov 19, 2014
We stayed here while visiting relatives in Carlsbad. The campground is clean and has nice features like superior sites with patios, shelters, etc. I particularly was impressed with the food delivery option. Bathrooms were very clean.
Nov 19, 2014
The dryers did not work only problem.
Nov 16, 2014
We always find the staff here friendly and helpful. It is so peaceful, yet close enough to attractions and services.
Nov 14, 2014
Very pleasent, staff helpfull will pass the word. Thanks from the Irish's
Nov 13, 2014
Friendly staff
Nov 12, 2014
The staff were wonderful and our site was perfect, right on the edge of the campground. Thank you.
Nov 10, 2014
Clean very friendly and very helpful, we look forward to our next visit
Nov 07, 2014
Very clean campsite, staff Very friendly easy access.
Nov 06, 2014
Nov 06, 2014
My first impression of our campsite was We have so much room! We had not had sites wider than 25 in months, so I felt liberated. The campground is in the middle of nowhere, about 20 miles from the town of Carlsbad and 20 miles from Artesia. That is not necessarily a bad thing. The sites are level, gravel but with a strip of grass between each site. Theres a nice table and a firepit. Cle
Nov 05, 2014
Nov 01, 2014
Nice facility Staff is excellent and grounds are clean. Smell of Oil Wells, for surrounding 40 miles though is a little tough to deal with,
Oct 31, 2014
Great experience. Thanks!
Oct 30, 2014
Great place to stay in middle of south new mexico. Close to the caverns. Wonderful people! They are always available to help. Great people to be around.
Oct 30, 2014
friendly, helpful, but the wi-fi NO
Oct 28, 2014
Extrmely awesome very clean. Loved the Barbecue. Thank you!!
Oct 28, 2014
We love this KOA. Clean facilities, friendly staff and peaceful location. Close to great recreation opportunities. And the BBQ dinner was awesome
Oct 27, 2014
Had a great time and the staff was very helpful and accomodating.
Oct 25, 2014
Oct 23, 2014
We came, we ate, we slept, we left. It was everything we planned.
Oct 23, 2014
The campground is brautiful, the BBQ ribs yummy and the staff the best! Loved meeting you all and sharing stories!
Oct 20, 2014
This campground is listed as being 13 miles N of Carlsbad. It is 22 miles which makes it 52 miles from the caverns! The smell of natural gas is horrific & constant. Do not come here!
Oct 20, 2014
The park is maintained perfectly and the spaces for the big rigs are huge. Make sure the you order dinner from the park. The BBQ is delicious!! Will absolutely stay again.
Oct 20, 2014
Clean bathrooms and shower. Great playground. Excellent care to make sure site was clean at arrival.
Oct 20, 2014
Fantastic,
Oct 19, 2014
Bob, made our stay extra special. We were renting an RV and new to the whole experience and Bob took the time to answer our questions about hooking up and certain RV etiquette. If all the KOA Campgrounds have someone as nice and truly helpful as Bob you are doing great!
Oct 19, 2014
It was so great two weeks ago, we stayed again and will be back, I am sure.
Oct 17, 2014
This park is very hard to rate. The park is excellent in almost everything, but at 8 pm at night both nights we stayed there was a persistent horrible stink throughout the whole park. I don't know if it was sewer or oil refinery. Without this smell this is near a 10 park. With smell it is a zero. Verify when you book that the smell is gone.
Oct 16, 2014
Staff is very friendly and helpful and amenities are top notch.
Oct 16, 2014
It is a very nice KOA. A little too far from town.
Oct 16, 2014
Courteous folks at the Carlsbad KOA. Although we only stayed one night on our sojourn it was rely nice. Without a doubt 5 star showers!!! Grounds were nice.
Oct 16, 2014
expensive
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
the park was great but the gnat problem was terrible! we left our windows open the first night and the gnats came in through the screens and we spent the rest of our 4 day stay trying to get rid of them and never did. this had to be a known issue and it sure would have been nice to get some notice about it from the desk.
Oct 14, 2014
The place is very nice but, unfortunately, the surrounding oil fields release very unpleasant and strong odors that are felt during the evening. What a pity!
Oct 14, 2014
A little farther from town then description made it seem.
Oct 13, 2014
Very nice wide open sites.far enough from the highway to be quiet at night. Would stay again.
Oct 13, 2014
Nice location, but, the biggest problem we had was that they couldn't seem to figure out how to use my points. When I checked in, she couldn't figure it out, so charged me the two nights and said she'd work with someone the following day to change to points instead of charging me. However, after site seeing we returned and she said they just decided to charge me instead. What?
Oct 12, 2014
Staff accommodating & pleasant. Campsites were nice. No complaints.
Oct 12, 2014
Oct 11, 2014
Places is clean spaces are large and easy to get into Store has a lot of good items to buy
Oct 11, 2014
Really nice park and many miles north of Carsbad, so Quiet ! Had dinners delivered to our RV which they prepared. Ever in the area, we will stay there again. Stayed 2 nights in our Airstream.
Oct 11, 2014
Nice large level campground. I give it a 4 instead of 5 because of dust from roads in campground. People were polite and did drive slow.
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 09, 2014
Very clean bathrooms. One of the nicest KOAs we've stayed at.
Oct 08, 2014
REALLY nice for a desert location with nice large level sites, but NO DUMP STATION. Stinky petroleum facilities VERY nearby. Lots of oil workers living there leaving for work at 5am with VERY LOUD vehicles. Nice enough looking place but won't stay there again.
Oct 08, 2014
Excellent site size; nicely graveled roads wide enough to maneuver easily; well-stocked office/store; VERY quiet; staff VERY nice & helpful. Only negative feature was the water taste and/or chemical content: possibly affected by local oil refineries?
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.