Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jan 08, 2014
The office hours are hard to work around if you are just passing through. Although I'm sure most people come to stay for a while. We loved the Bat Cave; but were surprised that OCO didn't have any dishes or coffee maker like the Bat Cave.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Ocotillo is one of our three studio lodges, each of which has a small fridge and microwave for convenience. However, it is not meant for any serious cooking inside. Bat Cave is one of our four large lodges with a full kitchen, hence the addition of dishes and coffee maker.
Jan 05, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
Super friendly, great ping pong table, clean and quiet grounds--great visit!
Jan 01, 2014
Other than our bed being too hard, we were very pleased. Staff was very helpful and went out of their way for us. Very clean. Had everything we needed.
Dec 30, 2013
Loved the Bat Cave. The only problem was the stickers that my dogs kept getting in their paws - probably not much that can be done with those based on the location, but, they are probably from a noxious weed. We wish we could have booked the cabins for one night only.
Dec 30, 2013
Friendly, welcoming staff. Nice, clean cabins. A little overpriced considering no linens or toiletries are provided. But otherwise very nice.
Dec 26, 2013
There was a large fly in the cabin that seemed to "attack" if we tried to shoo it out the door.
Dec 21, 2013
Dec 16, 2013
The staff was pleasant and the cabin and park grounds were very clean.
Dec 13, 2013
The campground was well-maintained, and all the staff I met were extremely hospitable. The cabin, which was clean and in order upon arrival, was a nice alternative to a hotel. When there was a problem with the cabin's water system, staff promptly resolved the situation. Located well outside of town and far enough off the highway, it was very quiet and peaceful, especially for sleeping.
Dec 01, 2013
Our stay was very comfortable. The people there were very nice and the facility was very well kept. We will definitely be back.
Nov 21, 2013
Excellent customer services,campground are in excellent condition and bathrooms always clean.
Nov 12, 2013
Great place to stay, best in New Mexico
Nov 02, 2013
The nicest restrooms and showers of all the koa's that we stayed on our travels.
Oct 31, 2013
Had a great stay. The front door on the cabin was a little messed up. But the cabin was great!
Oct 29, 2013
Oct 26, 2013
Oct 24, 2013
Was very impressed with this KOA, the facilities were all top notch, the cooks in the kitchen were friendly and made excellent food, bathrooms were clean, water pressure in showers was excellent, would gladly stay here again.
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
great friendly staff, thought it was really cool how they wrote our name on the board and welcomed us. cabin was very clean. my only complaint was the maintenance guy chewing my head off like he was a real cop for going one mph over the speed limit
Oct 15, 2013
Great stay even with the Caverns being closed. That was our main reason for staying in Carlsbad. We loved the cabins. Our family rented three cabins for three nights and all were comfy & clean. We'll be back.
Oct 12, 2013
Cabin was nice, bathrooms very clean, felt safe and everyone was friendly. BBQ dinner was delicious.
Oct 07, 2013
The cabin was a lot nicer than expected. I've stayed at KOA's before but never in a cabin. I will definitely go back. It was much more comfortable than a hotel with all of the same amenities. The staff in the front were really friendly and helpful. Would have had a better time had the government not been shutdown and prevented us from seeing the caverns.
Sep 30, 2013
I only wish you folks had a microwave in your eating area for the cabin or tent people . :). Very clean restrooms . Love the bats flying around and the fantastic staff.;) Third year and will come next year !
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 24, 2013
Clean friendly quiet accommodates our animals nice place to stay when visiting the caverns
Sep 17, 2013
The hosts were friendly, the cabin was clean, the surroundings were tidy. The cabin was quite small, but we were thankful for a place to fit 5 of us on a tight budget!
Sep 15, 2013
Sep 15, 2013
Very nice. Had info about caverns.
Sep 13, 2013
This was a great place to stay. My family enjoyed the pool, which was a great way to cool down in the New Mexico heat. The camping area was really nice although the flies really enjoy the wind barrier. We also stayed in a cabin which was a nice change after 4 nights in a tent. The restrooms were clean and very nice. We will plan to stay here again.
Sep 09, 2013
It was a quick stop on a long motorcycle trip. It compleated our perfect trip. KOA is the place to stay.
Sep 09, 2013
The people who work/run this KOA were very helpful. They left the light on for us because we arrived late. They opened their office early because we were running on Texas time. These were some of the sweetest people we have come into contact with. We loved the cabin and the campground. I loved the doggy playground! Just wished we had brought our dogs with us so they could have enjoyed it!
Sep 03, 2013
Toilet in our "deluxe" cabin did not work. We asked to have the price reduced $20 to the price of a cabin without a bathroom and were basically told "not gonna happen" and "have ourselves a nice day" by the owner! Would NOT stay here again and would recommend that other travelers try the other RV park in Carlsbad or the RV park in Artesia. This was our worst camping experience ever!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This issue was fixed as soon as it was brought to our attention.
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 30, 2013
Don't say you have cable tv if you can't even see a picture on the tv. Could never log on to the free wifi. In my opinion if it does not work then don't say you have it. The people there were nice but were no help in resolving cable or wifi issues. My next stay for the rate I paid I will stay at the HI Express.
Aug 26, 2013
Your facilities are outstanding. They are clean & comfortable.
Aug 23, 2013
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The campground is well taken care of. This was our second stay and will certainly stay again if in the area. Easy drive to/from the caverns. We stayed in the deluxe cabin and it was like staying in a hotel. Thank you for a pleasant and welcoming experience.
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
great time, very clean and very quiet. I like the idea that they serve meals since resturants are pretty far. I would stay there again...
Aug 18, 2013
Super KOA! The staff were really welcoming and friendly - they delivered a great evening meal to our cabin - much welcomed after a long days drive. The kabin was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Great pool and table tennis for the kids.
Aug 16, 2013
Not up to par with our KOA experiences. Our picnic table needed to be replaced (was very warped and worn). We also had to share a fire pit with the neighbor cabin. I asked about that, the worker told me the other cabins were all booked. We saw no one else there at night or the next morning. Sorry, your reputation has gone down.
Aug 16, 2013
We absolutely love staying at this KOA - it is so pretty and so clean and the people are so nice. We stay in the Kabins and I swear it is so nice, it makes me want to buy an RV!
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Overnight stay in a deluxe kabin. Very clean. Friendly, helpful staff. Even got an escort to help me find the site. Thanks.
Aug 11, 2013
We enjoyed our stay. Everyone was extremely friendly. The facility was very clean and nice.
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 03, 2013
Decent location and friendly staff-my only complaint is that the tent sites are either right next to the playground and and the main road in (can you say noise) or a "village" that has some nice sites but they are so close together under a shelter that it is like you are living in a small house with your extended family!
Aug 02, 2013
The kamp employees were very kind and helpful and the cabin was so clean and relaxing. I will definitely be staying at more KOAs in the future!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.