Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Mar 15, 2014
Everything was very clean and quiet. Loved our little camping cabin. Only complaint was the trucks (oil workers?) leaving the campground at 5-6AM was quite noisy (our cabin was right by the entrance/exit). Everyone at the front office was very friendly.
Mar 05, 2014
My stay at the Carlsbad,NM KOA was very comfortable and the entire staff went out of thier way to treat me with respect,the campground was very clean and well maintained.
Mar 03, 2014
Kamping Kabin was better than expected. We used the AC the first day and the heater the next 3 days! Beds comfy, Kabin and site outside were clean.
Feb 28, 2014
Our cabin was very comfortable except for the no hot water thing.
Feb 28, 2014
It was just like I remembered from when I was a little kid, well in my teen's but it is a great place to stay. Everyone there is very nice and helpful. my wife and I will stay there again the next time we visit the area again.
Feb 23, 2014
Feb 23, 2014
We missed having a kids playground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a very nice, brand-new playground now. We are sad you missed it!
Feb 18, 2014
Feb 17, 2014
Very clean rooms and bathrooms. BBQ was great. Close to a lot of attractions.
Feb 11, 2014
The grounds and amenities are wonderful. The camp hosts and the entire staff are hospitable, friendly and helpful. Thank you for all you do to help your guests be comfortable.
Feb 10, 2014
Jan 29, 2014
We visited in January and stayed in a one bedroom cabin. The property was extremely clean and the staff was very friendly. We had a great experience. The only pitfall was the smell. It was a strong sewage smell, but assuming that's how all areas are with RV's. Would defineatly stay here again.
Jan 26, 2014
The only complaint we had was for something completely out of the owners' control; there is the smell of burnoff from nearby refineries that is quite unpleasant and dust from the nearby pecan orchards settles over the campground when the wind is right. No complaints about the cabin we stayed in, as it was quite comfortable and nice and clean.
Jan 25, 2014
Stayed from March 2013 thru Jan 2014 . Staff wonderfully accommodating! Grew to love each and every one I dealt with. I will miss them dearly. A real family atmosphere. Best park in my 7+ years of RVing.
Jan 21, 2014
January. Deluxe cabin. Great clean setup. Nice folks. Provided great information, nice little gift shop, and ask about their evening meals!
Jan 10, 2014
We were mostly in contact with Dianne who was not only one of the most helpful service professionals we've dealt with on our cross country road trip, but she was knowledgeable, kind, and clearly has a passion for the area. The accommodations were impressive and the grounds were well maintained.
Jan 08, 2014
The office hours are hard to work around if you are just passing through. Although I'm sure most people come to stay for a while. We loved the Bat Cave; but were surprised that OCO didn't have any dishes or coffee maker like the Bat Cave.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Ocotillo is one of our three studio lodges, each of which has a small fridge and microwave for convenience. However, it is not meant for any serious cooking inside. Bat Cave is one of our four large lodges with a full kitchen, hence the addition of dishes and coffee maker.
Jan 05, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
Super friendly, great ping pong table, clean and quiet grounds--great visit!
Jan 01, 2014
Other than our bed being too hard, we were very pleased. Staff was very helpful and went out of their way for us. Very clean. Had everything we needed.
Dec 30, 2013
Loved the Bat Cave. The only problem was the stickers that my dogs kept getting in their paws - probably not much that can be done with those based on the location, but, they are probably from a noxious weed. We wish we could have booked the cabins for one night only.
Dec 30, 2013
Friendly, welcoming staff. Nice, clean cabins. A little overpriced considering no linens or toiletries are provided. But otherwise very nice.
Dec 26, 2013
There was a large fly in the cabin that seemed to "attack" if we tried to shoo it out the door.
Dec 21, 2013
Dec 16, 2013
The staff was pleasant and the cabin and park grounds were very clean.
Dec 13, 2013
The campground was well-maintained, and all the staff I met were extremely hospitable. The cabin, which was clean and in order upon arrival, was a nice alternative to a hotel. When there was a problem with the cabin's water system, staff promptly resolved the situation. Located well outside of town and far enough off the highway, it was very quiet and peaceful, especially for sleeping.
Dec 01, 2013
Our stay was very comfortable. The people there were very nice and the facility was very well kept. We will definitely be back.
Nov 21, 2013
Excellent customer services,campground are in excellent condition and bathrooms always clean.
Nov 12, 2013
Great place to stay, best in New Mexico
Nov 02, 2013
The nicest restrooms and showers of all the koa's that we stayed on our travels.
Oct 31, 2013
Had a great stay. The front door on the cabin was a little messed up. But the cabin was great!
Oct 29, 2013
Oct 26, 2013
Oct 24, 2013
Was very impressed with this KOA, the facilities were all top notch, the cooks in the kitchen were friendly and made excellent food, bathrooms were clean, water pressure in showers was excellent, would gladly stay here again.
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
great friendly staff, thought it was really cool how they wrote our name on the board and welcomed us. cabin was very clean. my only complaint was the maintenance guy chewing my head off like he was a real cop for going one mph over the speed limit
Oct 15, 2013
Great stay even with the Caverns being closed. That was our main reason for staying in Carlsbad. We loved the cabins. Our family rented three cabins for three nights and all were comfy & clean. We'll be back.
Oct 12, 2013
Cabin was nice, bathrooms very clean, felt safe and everyone was friendly. BBQ dinner was delicious.
Oct 07, 2013
The cabin was a lot nicer than expected. I've stayed at KOA's before but never in a cabin. I will definitely go back. It was much more comfortable than a hotel with all of the same amenities. The staff in the front were really friendly and helpful. Would have had a better time had the government not been shutdown and prevented us from seeing the caverns.
Sep 30, 2013
I only wish you folks had a microwave in your eating area for the cabin or tent people . :). Very clean restrooms . Love the bats flying around and the fantastic staff.;) Third year and will come next year !
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 24, 2013
Clean friendly quiet accommodates our animals nice place to stay when visiting the caverns
Sep 17, 2013
The hosts were friendly, the cabin was clean, the surroundings were tidy. The cabin was quite small, but we were thankful for a place to fit 5 of us on a tight budget!
Sep 15, 2013
Sep 15, 2013
Very nice. Had info about caverns.
Sep 13, 2013
This was a great place to stay. My family enjoyed the pool, which was a great way to cool down in the New Mexico heat. The camping area was really nice although the flies really enjoy the wind barrier. We also stayed in a cabin which was a nice change after 4 nights in a tent. The restrooms were clean and very nice. We will plan to stay here again.
Sep 09, 2013
It was a quick stop on a long motorcycle trip. It compleated our perfect trip. KOA is the place to stay.
Sep 09, 2013
The people who work/run this KOA were very helpful. They left the light on for us because we arrived late. They opened their office early because we were running on Texas time. These were some of the sweetest people we have come into contact with. We loved the cabin and the campground. I loved the doggy playground! Just wished we had brought our dogs with us so they could have enjoyed it!
Sep 03, 2013
Toilet in our "deluxe" cabin did not work. We asked to have the price reduced $20 to the price of a cabin without a bathroom and were basically told "not gonna happen" and "have ourselves a nice day" by the owner! Would NOT stay here again and would recommend that other travelers try the other RV park in Carlsbad or the RV park in Artesia. This was our worst camping experience ever!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This issue was fixed as soon as it was brought to our attention.
Aug 31, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.