Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Feb 18, 2014
Feb 18, 2014
There are floodlights from the restrooms/laundry facility that shine right on the entire tenting area all night. That, combined with the oil refineries smell, make this KOA, for me, an only-if-there's-nothing-else stop (which it was). On the up side, the restrooms/showers are impeccably clean and the grounds are well-kept.
Feb 17, 2014
Very clean rooms and bathrooms. BBQ was great. Close to a lot of attractions.
Feb 16, 2014
Feb 16, 2014
Real nice, clean place. Large pull through sites. Staff extremely pleasant and very helpful.
Feb 11, 2014
The grounds and amenities are wonderful. The camp hosts and the entire staff are hospitable, friendly and helpful. Thank you for all you do to help your guests be comfortable.
Feb 11, 2014
Sites are of ample size. Over- priced in comparison to other KOA's.
Feb 10, 2014
Feb 10, 2014
Feb 10, 2014
Staff fabulous, grounds clean and spacious. But at a 5 star price felt cheated with 1.extremely poor slow wifi, 2.cable with only 10 channels, 3. $2 cup of coffee (most KOAs has free morning coffee), 4. 8 pieces of firewood for $8 ( in town same exact bundle was $3.99), 5. Rib dinner for $17.00 had only small amount of meat. Beautiful place but at $45 amenities lacking.
Feb 10, 2014
Feb 08, 2014
Your facilities were great, except for the problem I had with the lack of hot water in the main ladies' washroom. I did report this problem and you tried to rectify it. It still wasn't great so I went to the Family washrooms, as suggested by staff and had a much better experience. The water was extremely hot, the room was clean and spacious and I had a great shower there twice. Nice landscaping.
Feb 08, 2014
Best KOA we have stayed in. It is very clean and bathrooms are Immaculate. We really enjoyed the barbecue that is cooked on site. This is a great dog friendly campground and will definitely be back.
Feb 05, 2014
Feb 05, 2014
Best Welcome We Have Gotten In A Campground. Our Name On The Outside White Board. We Were Led To The Site, Stopped Right Next To The Sewer Connection, There Were Two, And They Even Sprayed The Water Connection With Disinfectant. Served Great Bbq In Their Kitchen, Very Friendly.
Feb 04, 2014
Feb 03, 2014
Feb 02, 2014
very nice!!
Jan 31, 2014
The best KOA we have stayed at. They even serve dinner. Very clean, sites are huge.
Jan 29, 2014
We visited in January and stayed in a one bedroom cabin. The property was extremely clean and the staff was very friendly. We had a great experience. The only pitfall was the smell. It was a strong sewage smell, but assuming that's how all areas are with RV's. Would defineatly stay here again.
Jan 28, 2014
The facilities are immaculate, and the staff were attentive and friendly.
Jan 27, 2014
Jan 26, 2014
The only complaint we had was for something completely out of the owners' control; there is the smell of burnoff from nearby refineries that is quite unpleasant and dust from the nearby pecan orchards settles over the campground when the wind is right. No complaints about the cabin we stayed in, as it was quite comfortable and nice and clean.
Jan 26, 2014
Very nice park, probably the best in the area. Our site was great and the office staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. The only negative is the sulphur-like smell that is often in the area from the oil patch but that's not the fault of the park, just something to be aware of if a person is sensitive to that sort of thing.
Jan 25, 2014
Stayed from March 2013 thru Jan 2014 . Staff wonderfully accommodating! Grew to love each and every one I dealt with. I will miss them dearly. A real family atmosphere. Best park in my 7+ years of RVing.
Jan 21, 2014
January. Deluxe cabin. Great clean setup. Nice folks. Provided great information, nice little gift shop, and ask about their evening meals!
Jan 21, 2014
We stayed as a layover spot, and to see both the Caverns, and to watch the NFL NFC Championship game. A great campground - but close to an hour away from the Caverns.
Jan 20, 2014
Jan 19, 2014
Jan 18, 2014
Very friendly and informative staff. Big Rig friendly didn't have to unhook until at site, great!!
Jan 18, 2014
Far from anywhere. A bit dusty and pricy for what we get. Staff was friendly and helpfull.
Jan 17, 2014
Jan 15, 2014
This is a great place to stay. Very clean. Stylish even. In addition the have great BBQ there in site. Very friendly owners and help. Will be back. We stayed in a fifth wheel.
Jan 14, 2014
WONDERFUL>......stayed two extra nights!!!!
Jan 13, 2014
Jan 10, 2014
We were mostly in contact with Dianne who was not only one of the most helpful service professionals we've dealt with on our cross country road trip, but she was knowledgeable, kind, and clearly has a passion for the area. The accommodations were impressive and the grounds were well maintained.
Jan 08, 2014
Jan 08, 2014
Great restrooms and showers; excellent room and spacing; more than enough power hook-up; subject to wind as it is located on broad flat with few trees as wind-break
Jan 08, 2014
The office hours are hard to work around if you are just passing through. Although I'm sure most people come to stay for a while. We loved the Bat Cave; but were surprised that OCO didn't have any dishes or coffee maker like the Bat Cave.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Ocotillo is one of our three studio lodges, each of which has a small fridge and microwave for convenience. However, it is not meant for any serious cooking inside. Bat Cave is one of our four large lodges with a full kitchen, hence the addition of dishes and coffee maker.
Jan 05, 2014
Staff very helpful & friendly. Nice large pull-thru for slides on both sides. Very well maintained. Good central location for our trips.
Jan 05, 2014
Jan 05, 2014
Spacious drive throughs and large and clean restrooms!
Jan 05, 2014
Great stay, great people, great campground. Clean, well maintained, extremely friendly staff.
Jan 04, 2014
Super friendly, great ping pong table, clean and quiet grounds--great visit!
Jan 01, 2014
Other than our bed being too hard, we were very pleased. Staff was very helpful and went out of their way for us. Very clean. Had everything we needed.
Dec 30, 2013
Loved the Bat Cave. The only problem was the stickers that my dogs kept getting in their paws - probably not much that can be done with those based on the location, but, they are probably from a noxious weed. We wish we could have booked the cabins for one night only.
Dec 30, 2013
Friendly, welcoming staff. Nice, clean cabins. A little overpriced considering no linens or toiletries are provided. But otherwise very nice.
Dec 29, 2013
Dec 28, 2013
Dec 28, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.