Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 16, 2014
Very comfortable stay in a cabin. We wish the pool stayed open later though! The food we had delivered was good. Unfortunately our smoke alarm malfunctioned at 2:30 a.m. But was quickly resolved by the overnight handyman.
Jun 16, 2014
In general, this is a beautiful KOA, but the men's showers were never really hot on any of three days, the quiet hours were not enforced on Saturday night (a loud party still outside at 12:30 am)and the water makes your coffee or hot chocolate have an oily scum on the top. The heated pool was COLD. The staff are very nice, but I need to remember to bring my own water for coffee making.
Jun 16, 2014
Clean camp ground. Well marked with highway signs. Fairly priced.
Jun 16, 2014
Great facility! The premium rv site was exceptional! The added bonus of the opportunity to have dinner delivered to your site was wonderful! The brisket was the best we have ever had!!! Would definitely stay here again!
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Wonderful staff and well maintained campground. Ordered food from the restaurant and had it delivered to our RV. The food was excellent. One of the best KOA's yet.
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
Nice place but, customer service problems. When I was not able to connect to the internet I was told that it was my issue. Finally was told by maintenance not to expect much from the internet. Pool closed at 7p when packed with people. Common room closed at 7p also. Line of people needing things in the morning, but nothing opened until 9, after everybody left.
Jun 14, 2014
Clean and enjoyable
Jun 12, 2014
We felt not welcome I have always stayed other Koa This was my worst experience.
Jun 11, 2014
Best deal in town!!! A cozy cabin, great customer service, and an awesome BBQ supper--all at the best price for miles around!!!
Jun 11, 2014
Great campground.Swimming pool a little small and the Carlsbad KOA would lead you to believe that the campground was at or near Carlsbad when it is actually about halfway btw. Carlsbad and Artesia.It is a long haul to the caverns and a late nite if you stay for the bat flight.
Jun 11, 2014
Great pet area that we appreciated. Big sites! Well maintained grounds (with exception of two out of six dryers in the laundry room were out of order). Nice staff. Would recommend.
Jun 11, 2014
Of all the KOA's I have stayed in this summer and there has been a few, the KOA I rate the lowest of them all. The KOA in Steligman, AZ was better even though out in the boonies. The KOA in Williams, AZ was by far the best. Sante Fe, NM KOA was even better even with having week Hotspot for cell phones. The staff was friendly, but not on the scale I had experienced from all the other KOA's.
Jun 11, 2014
Took us at least an hour to get to Caverns. Good people working there, clean campground. We ordered the site-delivered barbeque plates and they were good.
Jun 10, 2014
beautiful stars I've ever seen at night.
Jun 10, 2014
My stay was fantastic. The staff is friendly and helpful!
Jun 10, 2014
Great park a little far from the caverns
Jun 09, 2014
Exceptionally nice people, exceptionally clean, neat, and attractive campground. Meals on-site terrific. Internet somewhat slow and limited but okay for e-mail and brief browsing.
Jun 09, 2014
The campground is kept up very well. Our cabin was clean and provided what we needed. The location is a little far from Carlsbad (12 miles or so) and because it is so far out it would be great if the store/office had more expanded hours. 7 pm seemed a little early to close both the store and the pool when it stays hot and light until after 8. Carlsbad Caverns is 45 minutes away.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
Friendly staff and clean environment. Only downside was the luke warm shower in the morning. Other than that a wonderful and enjoyable experience. Thanks KOA
Jun 08, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful. The facilities were excellent and in good condition (except as noted below). I can not give them a 5 star rating as the hot water was out one night in their showers but it was repaired the next day when I notified them of the problem. Would definitely recommend this campground.
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
Too far from carlsbad caverns
Jun 07, 2014
The water/electric camping sites were in a pie shaped area extremely close to one another. Myself and my girlfriend were kept awake till around 230am by 6 20 something military kids. The police arrived at the campsite to confront the 6 but when they found out that they were military they handled them with kid gloves and instead buddied up to them. The result was no sleep for either of us. Ripoff
Jun 07, 2014
The staff was very helpful, friendly, and courteous. It was one of the cleanest parks I've been to. The facility was immaculate. The only issue was a sulphur smell that occasionally drifted our way from the oil rigs in the distance.
Jun 07, 2014
This KOA was very nice as was the staff. I would for sure stay here again.
Jun 06, 2014
We were uninformed and disappointed that the pool closed at 7:00, which in the summer is very early. Had it been printed online or in the check in information we would have rearranged some plans. Other than that it was wonderful
Jun 05, 2014
Jun 05, 2014
IT WAS A REALLY GOOD STAY
Jun 05, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 03, 2014
The campgound is very nice, restrooms clean. The only issue we had is the sprinkler system on our tent-site going off in the middle of the night making all our gear and sleeping bags inside the tent soaking wet. Because of that our neigbours had a bad night too. Without that I would rated this campgrond a 4
Jun 03, 2014
The park and the bathrooms were clean. The staff were friendly and we enjoyed the Koi pond.
Jun 02, 2014
The Carlsbad KOA was all that we have come to expect of a KOA. The staff was friendly, the facilities were clean. Most unexpected but greatly appreciated was the mini museum display on Billy the Kid. The campground was a great location from which to visit both the caverns and the Guadalupe national park.
Jun 02, 2014
Well planned KOA, hook- ups in the right location for larger rigs. Pool was maintained and very clean. Barbecue was excellent too.
Jun 02, 2014
Although the location is fairly remote and not in a great place, the staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 01, 2014
The cabin was great. People helpful and friendly. Amenities great. For motorcycles need to park in the entrance (behind the cabin- we were in lobo) so we don't have to drive over all the loose rocks. Rocks also cut tires
Jun 01, 2014
We had a great time at Carlsbad KOA. We were upset at first because it was out of our way, we had not realized it was so far from the Caverns, but it was worth the trip! Nice people, nice campground & pool! :)
May 31, 2014
Good people, GOOD FOOD, good pool, very clean, great over all appearance.
May 30, 2014
May 30, 2014
The cabin we stayed in was clean and comfortable; unfortunately, it was right by the entrance and exit which made for some loud rock crushing late at night and early in the morning. The air conditioner and fridge worked great. The sulphur smell was almost unbearable, but that was all around the area, not just the campsite. Overall, it worked out great for my daughter and me.
May 30, 2014
with where the tent camping is located, it made it near impossible to get a good night sleep because of all the traffic driving by at all hours of the night.
May 30, 2014
Very nice campground

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.