Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 13, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Upgraded cabin, very friendly staff.
Aug 12, 2015
Nice little kampground. The typical amenities you're accustomed to with KOA. We were tent camping with 2 kids so can't speak for the RV setups. Fire pits and water. Grass was not kept up well so most of our site was hard packed dirt. The real disappointment was the exterior lighting. We hoped to enjoy the night sky but were blinded by halogen lights on the building right next to the tents.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
The cabin we stayed in was clean, cozy and nicely appointed. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. The grounds were well maintained and we felt very safe. Kids enjoyed the pool and rental bikes. We ordered a bbq meal in our day of arrival which was delicious. Thank you for a great stay.
Aug 10, 2015
Great efforts to provide guests a great time. Thank you!
Aug 10, 2015
The campground is great but a little to far from town.
Aug 10, 2015
The tent village is an awesome concept. It provides power and shelter to tenters. However, the location of the tent village is not good. It sits right on the entry/exit for the park. Every time someone drove out of the park in the middle of the night, their lights shined right into our tent the sound was extremely loud. We got hardly any sleep. We left and went to a hotel for the second night.
Aug 10, 2015
We had trouble with the cable TV hook up and they fixed it on the spot. Very clean showers and restrooms.
Aug 10, 2015
Beautiful. Quiet, peaceful. If it hadn't been so hot it would have been perfect
Aug 10, 2015
I enjoyed my stay. I think this Kampground rates among the highest I have ever stayed at.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Wonderful. BBQ dinner was AMAZING!
Aug 09, 2015
Staff was great. Since in the heat of summer the park could use more trees.
Aug 09, 2015
The staff at this KOA were some of the friendliest we have come across. The barbecue dinner was excellent, especially after having travelled 700 miles that day! Cooking was the last thing we wanted to do! The pool and the park were big hits with our kids. They also really enjoyed the Smores cookout, since mama and daddy were too worn out to make our own campfire!
Aug 08, 2015
Clean campground and friendly staff. Facilities close astonishingly early. Cannot use game room or pool after 7:45 - puts a real damper on evening possibilities. Also, hard to sleep as a tenter. Bright light over (locked) gameroom door floods tent sites, and proximity to exit road feels like sleeping next to a highway.
Aug 08, 2015
nice clean campground. wonderful that pool was heated, but way too small. staff very helpful.
Aug 08, 2015
The staff were very nice and helpful. We appreciated all the rules they had as that is what makes your stay pleasant!! We also purchased there food and it was very good. If we come back to Carlsbad we would go back!!
Aug 08, 2015
Wished we could have stayed longer. Nice people. They have BBQ dinners they'll deliver to your cabin. Ask them about it. Sadly, we missed that. It smelled great. The only negative was how narrow the doorway to the bathroom was. It was fine for us, but may be a problem for heavier people. Still a 5 star. Great, friendly & would definitely recommend & return!
Aug 07, 2015
Nice campground. There was even an expert with a high powered telescope showing families various planets and the moon - very cool. The only complaint was that it was not at all close to Carlsbad Caverns as we had thought.
Aug 07, 2015
A great experience!! The campground was immaculately kept, the people were very friendly and helpful and we would certainly stay there again. They smoke their own meat on site and deliver it to your RV. We had BBQ one night and it was terrific. Our grandkids loved the sparkling pool. Anything we needed, the staff was there to provide it. Excellent KOA!!!!! We camped in a travel trailer.
Aug 07, 2015
Women's showers had no hot water if someone else using when you started. Restrooms were clean. Husband thought men's facilities were the best no issues with hot water however he was in by himself.
Aug 07, 2015
Friendly staff made this solo traveler feel right at home! ALso, the BBQ dinner was an excellent added perk!
Aug 06, 2015
Only complaint, the hot water in the shower was Nonexistent..
Aug 06, 2015
Love this campground! Friendly, thoughtful staff, clean facilities and fun activities! BBQ is the best! This is by far, the BEST KOA we have stayed at! Highly recommend!
Aug 06, 2015
Very clean. Everyone works so hard to make your stay enjoyable. We had a wonderful time with our 3 grandkids.
Aug 05, 2015
Being in a tent, the nearby highway was busy and loud. Plus there was vehicle traffic driving in the campsite at all hours. This was my first KOA experience and I did not like how close the tent sites were to each other. Felt like I was camping with the other people.
Aug 05, 2015
Very nice KOA, will definitely stay here again.
Aug 05, 2015
huge KOA with very friendly staff. Nice pool. Fantastic general store. Womens bathrooms were nice, mens are only so-so. Laundry facility is large, but pricey. Owners have made the campground pretty and its very clean. Fairly close to Caverns too. great stay.
Aug 05, 2015
Super clean bathrooms. Pool a little small, but very clean and the temp was PERFECT! Really enjoyed our stay, stayed an extra night.
Aug 05, 2015
The site was fine, should pick up trash at site like other parks do since dumpster is so far from sites. Too far from Carlsbad Caverns. Will not be staying there again.
Aug 04, 2015
Excellent campground. Loved the large game room which provided an escape from the Summer heat.
Aug 04, 2015
Clean and easily accessible grounds.
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
The laundry facilities were the best I have ever used while vacationing in our RV. We also appreciated the nice K-9 camp. It was clean and well maintained.
Aug 03, 2015
Park was nice, clean, staff was a little unfriendly. Advertised BBQ delivered to your site if ordered by 7pm. Ordered at 6 & was told they were not able to fill the order. Very disappointing as next town was over 20 miles away. We were in a cabin so we had very limited supplies.
Aug 03, 2015
Clean. Quiet. Safe. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. We actually locked out keys in our car when trying to leave and they did all they could to help us find a locksmith who would come all the way out there on a Sunday morning. Not a single complaint.
Aug 03, 2015
Second time here excellent facility's only issue we had was poor cable reception at our site (c4). We hope you have your thanksgiving dinner,as we plan on being down there for the river of lights
Aug 02, 2015
if it wasn't for for price on the ice cream at the office you would of got 5 stars
Aug 02, 2015
Great dinner delivered to our rv...beautiful sites...NEED more hot water for the ladies' showers :)
Aug 01, 2015
Very friendly staff, clean grounds and facilities. This is not a"rugged" camping experience.
Jul 31, 2015
Good park, huge, level sites, friendly, helpful staff and the wildlife is awesomw. cable and WiFi are only fair. Park is isolated from town which can be botb good and bad. The water is slightly salty wbich is not unusual in the desert. We would stay there again.
Jul 31, 2015
Excellent service, friendly staff, clean facilities and grounds. We've stayed here at least 4 times and have never been disappointed.
Jul 30, 2015
Really enjoyed our cabin stay. Comfortable for a family of four. Only downside was we were told to bring linens, but were not told that there would not be dishes. Even basic dishes were supplied in the other two cabins the rest of our family was staying in.
Jul 30, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much . Very clean , only wish is it had more shade around camping areas.loved the pool, and activities for the kids . Looking forward to coming again!
Jul 30, 2015
Facilities were great, it was just too hot. AC could not keep up.
Jul 30, 2015
Enjoyed our stay
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
In my opinion, with the size of the camp ground,there should have been better TV reception. Other than that, everything else was great.
Jul 29, 2015
Beautiful campground , with a very knowledgable staff , wish we could have stayed longer

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.