Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 18, 2015
Overall nice facility. Bathrooms need to be cleaned more often. Toothpaste was on counters showers muddy. Sighs posted cleaned 1 to 3pm daily but a touch up in the mornings would have been welcome.
Jul 18, 2015
Jul 18, 2015
Friendly helpful staff- especially Sorche! Pool is wonderful. Grounds clean. Well-stocked store. Free ping-pong, TV/DVD player in activity room.
Jul 18, 2015
Great, clean campgrounds. Very friendly and knowledgable staff. Easy in and out.
Jul 18, 2015
Nice folks runs the place, it is clean and RV sites are not cramped on top of one another. But if anyone had told us about the odor from the oil field/natural gas/refinery operations, we would not have stayed here. When we first arrived we thought there was a problem with their sewer system but it's an industrial problem. Not a good location for a KOA. And an hour's drive from the Caverns.
Jul 18, 2015
Beautiful place. Friendly, clean. My only complaint was when I showered at 10pm the water never got warm. Had to take a freezing cold shower. It was awful. Women's rr.
Jul 17, 2015
Clean and very pet friendly. Kept up to date and our favorite KOA so far.
Jul 17, 2015
Nice KOA, a bit dusty and far from town but well maintained.
Jul 17, 2015
Although our stay was cut short due to unforeseen circumstances, they were tremendously helpful and considerate in dealing with the crisis and offering their emotional support and assistance. Thank you all!
Jul 17, 2015
Cabins without bathrooms are farther from the bathroom than cabins with bathrooms. Quite a way further from Caverns than Web site seemed to indicate.
Jul 17, 2015
No matter where we walked to within the KOA it always smelled like sewer.
Jul 16, 2015
Friendly and clean.
Jul 16, 2015
The staff is very friendly, the grounds are clean & well kept. The camp is a bit far from the caverns but doable. The grandkids loved the pool.
Jul 15, 2015
Always a nice place to stay.
Jul 14, 2015
Very pleasant and helpful staff. Nice activities, but if you are having a movie night you might do it a little later than 5:30 and please "close" the foosball and ping pong tables. Good facilities though my daughter said the water in the shower sin the main building took a long time to warm up. Thanks!
Jul 14, 2015
Other KOA's should come and see how it's done. Sites are large. Landscaping is beautiful. Staff are all welcoming and helpful. They have daily activities for the kids. Pool was clean and warm. It's 45 minutes to the caverns but well worth taking that drive to stay there. After a day of touring the caverns you can order dinner and they will deliver it to your site. It was yummie! Clean bathrooms
Jul 14, 2015
We always have a great time when we stay here. This is the 4th time we have stayed at the Carlsbad KOA, and are already planning another trip there before school starts again. FYI: best BBQ I've had in a long time!
Jul 14, 2015
Staff very helpful. Sites and facilities excellent. Campground a bit far from caverns (about 45 min drive).
Jul 14, 2015
Clean, well kept and very nice people
Jul 14, 2015
The campground and facilities were very clean staff was friendly a great place to stay. We will definitely stay again.
Jul 14, 2015
Staff so helfpful and pleasant to deal with. BBQ dinner was outstanding. Our rat terrier enjoyed the pet run area. Facility very clean.
Jul 14, 2015
Enjoyed every bit of our stay. Great advice from the staff on going to different places and our site was great.
Jul 13, 2015
Great facility and friendly staff. Loved the tent village for our family stay.
Jul 13, 2015
The campground itself was fine. We had a horrible experience with very loud, disrespectful people. There didn't seem to be any enforcement of quiet hours, so there was music blaring and people screaming well past 11pm. I've decided that we're just not KOA people.
Jul 13, 2015
Great facilities, friendly staff who were extremely organized. First-rate service!
Jul 13, 2015
Not a big KOA camping fan, but this KOA is really nice. Very friendly and helpful staff as well as ample space in sites. Very good stay.
Jul 13, 2015
Very nice facilities and and the staff was outstanding! Enjoyed our stay very much and we be back again!
Jul 13, 2015
Too much noise.
Jul 13, 2015
We had a wonderful time at the campgrounds. Office personnel were friendly. Very quiet. We loved it.
Jul 13, 2015
Sobepasó mis expecativas. Le hicieron falta algunos detalles como instalaciones para lavar platos y sartenes pero el resto de las instalaciones muy limppias y el personal muy atento y amigable. Si lo recomiendo!!
Jul 12, 2015
This was the worst experience at a koa campground. Rude people running this establishment. Never ever stay here. Horrible
Jul 12, 2015
Nice place, a little pricey.
Jul 12, 2015
Only negative comment. Water was very hard and destroyed my coffee with cream. Should have told us to use bottled water! Everything else was excellent and would be very glad to stay there again.
Jul 12, 2015
It was great. Nice showers, wifi, helpful staff. The sites for tents are really close together which is my only complaint.
Jul 11, 2015
We stayed in a cabin with a bathroom and it was very well maintained! We enjoyed our stay and the area.
Jul 11, 2015
The staff is always helpful and worked hard to make sure our whole party was parked near each other during our stay. They were very accommodating and helpful with anything we needed. I loved the BBQ and the fact that they deliver right to your camp site. I really enjoy the on site laundry and the pool was a nice relief from the heat.
Jul 11, 2015
Jul 11, 2015
Jul 11, 2015
The reason I gave it a 5 is the web site does not show the correct distance or driving time from Carlsbad New Mexico to the campsite . The correct driving time and distance should be shown and let the renter make up their mind using the correct data.The camp is a very nice camp , clean ,with excellent bathrooms , and plenty of space and will stand on its own without misleading information.
Jul 11, 2015
Love the koi pond and bikes. Bathrooms support clean and smell nice! Wish the pool was bigger.
Jul 11, 2015
Other than unexpected high winds the campground lived up to the KOA. Standard. Clean, polite hosts and awesome ice cream selection. Hope for the opportunity to stay again.. Thanks for the hospitality.
Jul 10, 2015
Great campground. Nice and clean. Trees between sights. Host very helpful, nice. Would definitely stay here again.
Jul 10, 2015
Upon arrival the staff was so friendly and welcoming! We even had our names on the Welcome Board, which was pretty neat. We were personally driven to our camp sight, and also given a map with an explanation of where everything else was located. The whole facility was extremely clean! We purchased goods from the campground store which was reasonably priced, the pool was refreshing! Loved our stay!
Jul 10, 2015
Great park with plenty of room
Jul 10, 2015
We stayed in a camping cabin. Very nice! Everyone was really helpful and friendly. We had a great stay!
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 09, 2015
Great place to stay. Host(s) were knowledgeable of local activities and very friendly. Just bring bottled water for your coffee...
Jul 09, 2015
Very friendly staff and very helpful.
Jul 08, 2015
We had a great time at the Carlsbad KOA! The Deluxe Studio cabin we stayed in was nice & clean. All the KOA staff were very friendly and helpful! I would strongly recommend this KOA to everyone that's going to the Carlsbad area.
Jul 08, 2015
Everything was wonderful!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.