Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 08, 2014
Excellent site size; nicely graveled roads wide enough to maneuver easily; well-stocked office/store; VERY quiet; staff VERY nice & helpful. Only negative feature was the water taste and/or chemical content: possibly affected by local oil refineries?
Oct 08, 2014
Enjoyed the stay.
Oct 07, 2014
Great facility! Friendly staff and very clean sites! The octagon sites have everything you need. Restrooms & showers A++...if we're in the area, we will definitely be back!!
Oct 06, 2014
Poor communication, owner makes up charges, rude staff (guy named Keith), clean comfortable cabin. Would love to discuss if someone cares to hear about out experience.
Oct 06, 2014
The facilities were very clean, the hosts were friendly. The BBQ very bland and pricey. The biggest drawback is the smell of petroleum or natural gas in the air. Not the fault of the owners, but guests should be aware that there are drilling machines close by and the smell not only kept me up, it also gave me a terrible headache.
Oct 06, 2014
The KOA staff were not willing to accommodate our request but ask us to move to A higher priced cabin at our expense to accommodate another guest.
Oct 06, 2014
It was pricey for as far out as it was, the pool had quite a lot of bugs in it, and it should be told that at night there is a terrible smell from oil wells. The drinking water was awful; ended up buying my own water.
Oct 06, 2014
Nice people, terrible smell and real problem with flys.
Oct 06, 2014
Especially enjoyed having a meal prepared for dine-in or camp site delivery. The bath facilities were large and clean, just like home. Parking, staff, views were all Great! Yes, we enjoyed our stay!
Oct 05, 2014
We had no idea what kind of place we were staying at. We read the reviews about this KOA and we were real excited but anxious about what we would get. We were blown away with the cabin, the staff and the overall experience! Thank you for having a great place to stay!
Oct 04, 2014
Nice park and very friendly staff. Only draw back is it's location so far from Carlsbad.
Oct 03, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
the campground was okay but over $40 for dirt roads, large rock gravel spaces, long grass, "the hardest well water in the valley" (according to a worker)and the smell of crude oil 24/7 is too much to pay. KOAs tend to be in worse neighborhoods than others. this one was 12 miles out of town which was nice but still, $40 plus is way too high for the accommodations.
Oct 01, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Friendly staff. Great camping site. Nice dog play area. Plenty of areas for walking dogs.
Sep 30, 2014
This is a beautiful and quiet location with excellent amenities. The drive to Carlsbad Caverns is about 40 minutes, so it's important to take that into consideration if you have just one day to make your visit to the caverns. Otherwise, I would certainly recommend this KOA to others.
Sep 29, 2014
the staff is wonderful, the sites are large and having food delivered to your site was a great perk!. The only downside is the distance from Carlsbad Caverns National Park and the very strong odor from the oil wells when the wind calmed at night
Sep 29, 2014
Friendly staff and great little cabin. Bed was like a rock or I would have given 5 stars.
Sep 28, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
Campground was very clean. Staff was friendly and informative. Restrooms were clean and I was comfortable taking a shower. Lots of room. Had a great stay. This KOA was better than most.owner made the atmosphere attractive. This KOA was fully staffed with people who cared.
Sep 26, 2014
Sep 26, 2014
Super clean, level sites, easy to find.
Sep 25, 2014
Excellent park, friendly staff.
Sep 24, 2014
Sep 24, 2014
Very clean facility
Sep 23, 2014
Nice camp to visit the attractions around it. Nice and clean facilities.
Sep 22, 2014
We stayed in a small kamping kabin that was very clean and in perfect condition. The bed was very nice. Bath house was spotless and in very good repair. Great hospitality.
Sep 21, 2014
We always stay there on a trip. It's such a nice park an we like the long sites . We like staying there
Sep 20, 2014
Wi-Fi was very weck and mud holies
Sep 20, 2014
Great KOA. Will definitely stay here again.
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 19, 2014
Always Great here
Sep 19, 2014
Easy access, helpful, friendly crew, quite environment.
Sep 18, 2014
One of the best sites, very clean and management was very accommodating. Thnks
Sep 18, 2014
Great sites, very friendly and helpful owner! Highly recommend.
Sep 16, 2014
We wanted to take our two boys to visit the Caverns for the first time but could not find a reasonably priced hotel nearby, lucky for us we found your KOA. It was a fantastic all around weekend. I am a chef, so it was wonderful being able to cook out for my family as well. The cabin was awesome, just rustic enough for the boys and nice enough for our only girl. Thank you all! We will be back.
Sep 16, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Sep 16, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
It is clean, a pleasure to spend time there, and friendly atmosphere.
Sep 15, 2014
We had a bad site, S6, It had rained and our pick up camper started sinking into the mud. They were very good about changing us to a good site and not charging extra. It was a stressful start to our night. The pizza was great.
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
One of the best campgrounds I have ever been too. Friendly and helpful staff. Sites were spacious and level. Would recommend to all and will stay here again if ever back in the area.
Sep 15, 2014
Very nice and quiet
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 13, 2014
We were disappointed in the fact that it was a 100 mile round trip to the Caverns and the A/C did not work in bedroom.The floors were swept but dirty, crumbs on toaster. People were very nice and outside grounds were nice. I felt we paid too much for what we received. If had to do over would stay in motel closer to Caverns
Sep 13, 2014
The campground was very well staffed and maintained. A lot of amenities we really appreciated - like dinner delivery to out site! Would like to see more recycling bins around and paper recycling too. It is really unfortunate that the oil drilling is affecting the air quality so badly in the area. The smell is really awful and it is troubling to know we were breathing that in. : (
Sep 10, 2014
Great place for a layover after leaving pagosa springs. Both thru phone calls & in person the office staff were pleasant, welcoming, & informative regarding the campground. They also supplied doggy treats for our two boxers. Sites were very nice & easy access. The pool was clean & well maintained. The big plus was pizza supreme delivery as well as ice and they also have sandwiches & BBQ
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 08, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.