Carlsbad KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

Email

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Mar 27, 2016
The campground was great. Friendly, helpful staff. Very clean. Our only complaint would be the wind and the dusty roads. Asphalt would certainly have helped.
Mar 26, 2016
Staff was very friendly and extremely helpful! Loved the rec room where our two families could meet and eat and play games out of the wind. Great place to stay!
Mar 26, 2016
The staff were very nice. The tent area was not so nice, the showers were being remodeled, and the pool was not working.
Mar 25, 2016
We originally got a tent site but due to unusually strong winds, our tent poles shattered. The staff was extremely helpful in getting my family into a little cabin, which my children enjoyed. I would have rated 5 stars but there was only 3 showers available because the main showers were under renovation.
Mar 25, 2016
The best place to camp in Carlsbad area. Helpful staff, clean facilities and good wifi!
Mar 24, 2016
We had a lovely stay! All of the employees went totally out of their way to be friendly and helpful and the campground itself is very nice. Our only objection is that the tent sites are right up front and subject to the very early comings and goings of long-term residents going to work.
Mar 24, 2016
The people there were very friendly and helpful
Mar 23, 2016
Mar 23, 2016
Super friendly and campground very neat. Nice having a hot meal available after a days driving. Will be a real oasis once your trees are bigger.
Mar 22, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay here, and the people who work there are especially helpful and friendly!!! The reason I didn't mark it as great is because there are a few things that were suppose to be included during our stay wasn't. Advertised complimentary breakfast, which wasn't included. The shower facilities were under construction. The pool wasn't open, but filled. It was warm enough!
Mar 22, 2016
There was no wi-fi or cell reception at all. Pool states heated...Not! The laundry was expensive to use. location was good for heading to Carlsbad Caverns. Staff very friendly and the park was clean and well cared for.
Mar 22, 2016
Clean well maintained KOA. THere seemed to be a lot of people buzzing around keeping an eye on everything. We left on a Sunday morning and the staff was out hand raking the sites that had just left. The onsite restaurant does an excellent job of BBQ. We had the brisket and smoked turkey and it was enough for two meals. The staff was very pleasant. Would stay again.
Mar 21, 2016
The campgrounds were incredibly clean. The staff was amazing. Everyone is so friendly. We truly enjoyed our stay!
Mar 21, 2016
good job
Mar 21, 2016
Sites were huge! Everything was very clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Great place! We extended our trip by a day just to stay a bit longer.
Mar 21, 2016
We enjoyed our stay in Tent Village. Nice KOA, people and facilities.
Mar 21, 2016
Pretty close to the top of the KOA campgrounds we've visited. They've thought of just about everything, and it is kept very clean. Only problem we had is that it is not very close to Carlsbad - it is about a 15 mile drive outside the city, and 40 miles to the Caverns. It was terribly windy during our visit, but that's not something the owners could control.
Mar 21, 2016
The staff was super friendly and professional. It was super clean and well laid out. The game room and ping pong table was so fun. The showers were hot and also super clean. My only wish was a slightly larger layout for the tent camping with maybe a wind break.
Mar 21, 2016
Great location... Felt like camping out in a park unlike some urban lots.
Mar 21, 2016
The staff was really nice and the overall campground was great. The rating would have been a lot better but the restroom and shower facilities just weren't adequate for the number of spaces. It will probably be better once they finish whatever construction they are doing in the main building.
Mar 20, 2016
Had a good time, staff made it great!
Mar 20, 2016
Mar 20, 2016
This KOA is clean and staff is friendly. It's just not meant for tent camping. The few tent sites are super close to each other, with volleyball and basketball courts sharing the small area. I ended up camping at Brantley Lake State Park for my second night in the area. 1/3 the price, no light pollution, and private sites that are in actual nature.
Mar 20, 2016
The KOA was located about 15 miles from carlsbad which was perfect. The land around the campground had wildlife and beautiful sunrise and sunset. The staff was great the place was overall just perfecy
Mar 20, 2016
Beautiful place, very friendly staff.
Mar 19, 2016
We recognize that the staff members are very friendly and helpful and work very hard to make the park nice, but when we booked, we were told that the pool would be open and it wasn't. We were also not told in advance that the showers were being remodeled.
Mar 19, 2016
All-in-all it was a great stay on 3/14/2016. The only down side was that some of the showers were being remodeled. The line for the remaining showers was too long. The break room was the best I have seen at a KOA and the staff was great. They can even serve hot meals to guest!
Mar 18, 2016
The campground was geared toward RV campers and we were tent camping. Any vehicle coming in our out of the campgrounds had to drive by us. We were closer to the main building, so it was also very well lit, so it was a bit bright on the tent for sleeping. The tent areas should be in the back of the park - it would be a game changer. The staff was friendly though, and the grounds well kept.
Mar 18, 2016
Love the rabbits running around the park!!!
Mar 18, 2016
For the price, I would think there should have been more and closer bathroom facilities for tent camping
Mar 17, 2016
There were only three bathrooms open for the whole park. We had long lines. We were told there were other bathrooms just no showers but they were blocked off. I was very disappointed for the amount we paid.
Mar 17, 2016
Staff was extremely welcoming and hospitable. They went out of their way to do any and everything for the campers.
Mar 16, 2016
Cost too much!!
Mar 16, 2016
I was a little worried about the lack of trees, but it was awesome camping there! The staff was wonderful and my kids loved the rec room. The BBQ was delicious as well. We will definitely be back! Great location for the caverns, sitting bull, etc.
Mar 16, 2016
Clean facilities and friendly staff. Two women traveling with teenager felt very safe.
Mar 15, 2016
Please get high speed internet to the sites. Many of us work from the road
Mar 15, 2016
The campground was very clean and the staff was very friendly we also enjoyed the food.
Mar 15, 2016
Great staff, quiet park. Wifi is terrible.
Mar 15, 2016
This is a great place for novice campers, but not for anyone who appreciates the solitude of the outdoors.
Mar 14, 2016
Very Clean- Large sites-Friendly staff and the best smoked barbecue meals and even delivered to our sites. Keep up the great work.
Mar 14, 2016
Friendly good food Disappointed in price as paid for a tent/water. Would need to use the showers & because of renovations ONLY 2 available and in the RV area!
Mar 13, 2016
Very impressed with friendly welcome and service. Made use of laundry facilities (erxcellent) abd BBQ meal delivery (very good). Highly recommended.
Mar 13, 2016
Excellent facilities, poor WiFi at any time of day, ie, number of users seem irrelevant to the poor Internet connectivity
Mar 13, 2016
Super friendly staff -Thnx to Marianne & Harry! Site was large & level. Bathrooms main building closed for renovation leaving only 2 restrooms for entire camp. Not the best - hope these are remodeled next. Trash only at exit - need more. Pool closed. BBQ delivered was good, though lukewarm & rolls were hard. Nice to not cook after a long day on the road. Strong bad smell every night - septic.
Mar 12, 2016
this is our second time to stay at this campground both times we have been impressed with the friendly staff in the clean facility
Mar 11, 2016
A very nice campground, though set up more for RVs than for tents. The amenities are insanely good. the people were without exception lovely, and the restaurant was both quite good and relatively reasonably priced, and they deliver to your site! Pricey for tenting, but worth it.
Mar 11, 2016
Great staff, very clean facilities, cabin is looks brand new. We loved the fire pit outside. It was soooo nice to have heat in the cabin because it was in the 30's outside. Thanks for a great stay!
Mar 10, 2016
Clean, friendly, quiet, good space between sites
Mar 10, 2016
Loved the little bag of food for the cat! She loved it, too.
Mar 09, 2016
The only thing I would recommend changing is getting a mirror over the sunk in our cabin. That forced me to shave in the shared restrooms. Other than that we enjoyed our cabin and the delivered barbecue dinners were awesome! Had a great time!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award