Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 30, 2013
The spots are long and wide. It is a pleasant camp and sits away from Carlsbad, which is the nearest town. Plenty of room for walking, nice facilities, good dinners available. We only stayed for one night, but see how it would be a good place to spend a few more nights. There are lots of things to see and do in the area.
Aug 29, 2013
outstanding service, outstanding staff
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Your facilities are outstanding. They are clean & comfortable.
Aug 26, 2013
The campground was great and the people working there were extremely nice. My only complaint was that most of southern new mexico smelled like sulfur from all of the gas mines, but that is hardly anything the KOA could change. Great place, would definitely stay there again.
Aug 26, 2013
very nice facilities and great staff and food
Aug 25, 2013
We love this park! It is so clean and well maintained. The staff was knowledgeable, helpful,and friendly.
Aug 24, 2013
Campgrounds and bathrooms clean. Friendly staff. Shower walls a bit dirty. Great location - it's quiet and dark.
Aug 23, 2013
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The campground is well taken care of. This was our second stay and will certainly stay again if in the area. Easy drive to/from the caverns. We stayed in the deluxe cabin and it was like staying in a hotel. Thank you for a pleasant and welcoming experience.
Aug 23, 2013
Trucks driving past the campground area made it impossible to sleep past 5:30 a.m. water tastes terrible, oil well smell not pleasant.
Aug 23, 2013
felt welcome. park was clean and quiet.
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
the pool was great, the kids could have done nothing else. it was fun and relaxing.
Aug 19, 2013
great time, very clean and very quiet. I like the idea that they serve meals since resturants are pretty far. I would stay there again...
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
I was there for approximately 3 months. The staff is great and takes care of the grounds and building very well. Any problems are promptly addressed. The staff Is very courteous and helpful. This is a very family oriented park and has a great atmosphere of friendliness and famiIy. I would recommend this park to anyone and hope to return in the near future. Thanks.
Aug 18, 2013
Super KOA! The staff were really welcoming and friendly - they delivered a great evening meal to our cabin - much welcomed after a long days drive. The kabin was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Great pool and table tennis for the kids.
Aug 18, 2013
I think the people in charge knew there was a problem with the flies before our stay but they have done nothing to get rid of them. Our campsite was infested with flies and we never even cooked there.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Flies are a nuisance during certain times of the season. Wish we could solve the problem for our guests, but time is the only solution!
Aug 17, 2013
Excellent campground; most quite campground we stayed at, very peaceful. We employees were very friendly and helpful in getting parked and setup, they even stopped back by to make sure all was okay. We will be back again.
Aug 16, 2013
Not up to par with our KOA experiences. Our picnic table needed to be replaced (was very warped and worn). We also had to share a fire pit with the neighbor cabin. I asked about that, the worker told me the other cabins were all booked. We saw no one else there at night or the next morning. Sorry, your reputation has gone down.
Aug 16, 2013
One of the nicest! Loved it!
Aug 16, 2013
We absolutely love staying at this KOA - it is so pretty and so clean and the people are so nice. We stay in the Kabins and I swear it is so nice, it makes me want to buy an RV!
Aug 15, 2013
Easy access and level sites. Well maintained & clean.
Aug 15, 2013
Friendly helpful staff. Great pull thru sites.
Aug 15, 2013
They even deliver BBQ to your camper door!!!!
Aug 15, 2013
Great folks!
Aug 14, 2013
This koa was great. Bring yard guard spray (or some kind of fly repellent) for the flies if using a tent.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
The only drawback I found was the flies inside the bathrooms.
Aug 13, 2013
Very helpful and friendly staff, well kept campground, excellent amenities (including barbeque dinner)
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
I had made buddy reservations, and got a confirmation call stating that it was complete as I had asked. upon arrivail, I found that we were not with our other family and had to fight to get changed. The gentleman escorting us to our new grounds was not friendly at all...almost seemed annoyed by having to move us. He was going around telling everyone to slow down when he was driving fast then al
Aug 12, 2013
Well, nice staff, and the clean facilities, but it is the loudest "campground" we have ever tried to sleep at. There are lights on all night long, the traffic from the road is loud and goes on all night long, and with all of the oilfield workers staying there, yes they get up at 4:00 AM to leave for work! Yes vehicles driving by your tent at 4:00. Oh, and the smell from refineries is great too!
Aug 12, 2013
Overnight stay in a deluxe kabin. Very clean. Friendly, helpful staff. Even got an escort to help me find the site. Thanks.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Friendly staff. Nice clean pool and park. Nice store.. Good location for caves and Roswell.
Aug 11, 2013
We enjoyed our stay. Everyone was extremely friendly. The facility was very clean and nice.
Aug 11, 2013
Nice level sites, quiet & clean.
Aug 11, 2013
Staff was friendly and helpful. The site that was given to us was close to the showers and bathroom as we had requested. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again if we are in the area.
Aug 11, 2013
The only concerns we had were about the trash that was piled up high and the large number of flies (these issues may be related). Also the water was extremely hard.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The trash and flies are not related, although it may seem like they would be. Flies are a nuisance during certain parts of the season. Trash pickup is scheduled weekly.
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Not enough shade for non electric vehicle stays. Internet was extremely slow when I could get it to even to connect to the Internet. I could connect to the router without an issue.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The internet is the best we can get in our location. We are working on more shade, but it is difficult in the desert.
Aug 08, 2013
We had great time. The only issue we had were the flies. The food was very good and varied. The hosts were friendly and helpful. If we get back that way we will definitely stay.
Aug 08, 2013
Amazing food. Our food was delivered hot and on time. The park was clean and the staff was friendly.
Aug 08, 2013
Tent sites were wide and open. Lots of fun activities for young and old alike.
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 06, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.