Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 05, 2013
Everyone was very nice and liked the doggy park and s'mores night.
Oct 05, 2013
Oct 04, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
It was a very pleasant stay
Oct 03, 2013
Tent campers BEWARE. If you want to pay $32 to literally pitch your tent in the parking lot right next to the showers/laundry and entrance to the park then this is the place for you. Your tent will be lit up the entire night by lights, and you will get to hear every truck and RV as they enter/leave the park ALL NIGHT; they drive right by your tent. TENT CAMPERS, AVOID THIS KOA AT ALL COST!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We aren't quite sure why this guest felt the tenting area was in the parking lot. We do have lighting for security. Since the park is "out in the boonies" it would be extremely dark without any lights. Although we do have workers that arrive home late and leave early, it certainly isn't all night.
Oct 02, 2013
good location, good size sites, but the smell from the oil area made it impossible to open windows. Flies also a big problem. We know you cannot fix either one of these but I feel that you should at least let the guests know in advance that it's not the park but the area that is to blame.
Oct 02, 2013
GREAT CAMPGROUND WITH STAFF THAT TAKES CARE OF CAMPERS IN A TIMELY,FRIENDLY,RESPECTFUL MANNER. SAFE AND CONVENIENT TO AREA ATTRACTIONS,EATING ESTABLISHMENTS AND SHOPPING.
Oct 01, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
nice sites, friendly staff
Oct 01, 2013
Nice park with plenty of amenities. Clean upgraded restrooms. Extensive gift shop. Tent site had trees but not much grass. Overall I was pleased with this KOA.
Sep 30, 2013
I only wish you folks had a microwave in your eating area for the cabin or tent people . :). Very clean restrooms . Love the bats flying around and the fantastic staff.;) Third year and will come next year !
Sep 30, 2013
we really enjoyed our stay, very clean, quiet, and restful. thanks so much..
Sep 29, 2013
Great campground!
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
A nice little oasis in the middle of nowhere. We enjoyed the hospitality and the superb facilities.
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Your corporate cancellation policy is unreasonable and will keep me from staying at any other KOA
Sep 26, 2013
The best campground we've ever seen, and great handicap facilities. Thanks!
Sep 25, 2013
Very noisy with all the workers staying there.
Sep 25, 2013
Great visit - friendly staff; clean, comfortable, quiet setting. I'd never stayed at a KOA before, but I now look forward to doing it again. Thanks!
Sep 24, 2013
WIDE, spacious and quiet campground with immaculate baths. WONDERFUL!! The Wi-Fi and cable tv were great, too!!
Sep 24, 2013
Attractive plantings and grass with very large distances between pads. Very helpful Mgmt employes.
Sep 24, 2013
Clean friendly quiet accommodates our animals nice place to stay when visiting the caverns
Sep 24, 2013
Lots of grass burrs. Hot tub closed. The rest was great..
Sep 24, 2013
A great KOA to stop at. Spacious sites, very friendly staff, and excellent facilities.
Sep 24, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
We didn't stay long, as we went to watch the bat flight at the caverns. Nice looking park, friendly people.. a little far out of town and need improvements to the internet.
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
One of the better KOA's that we have stayed at. Large sites,with plenty of room to maneuver our 5th wheel.
Sep 22, 2013
Great, clean and most modern facilities found this trip. An outstanding KOA.
Sep 20, 2013
Great facilities but rather noisy from early hours in the morning at tent sites.
Sep 20, 2013
We have stayed several times. Very nice facilities. It is the most expensive KOA and/or campground we have ever stayed at, though. We think the rates could be lowered. Thank you
Sep 19, 2013
Stayed a total of 6 nights. Really enjoyed this campground; very well maintained and workers are all very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint is the signage at the turnoff from the hiway, it is very difficult to see where to turn coming from the North. Needs some reflective paint or tape put up. May have to see county or state.
Sep 19, 2013
Actually stayed 6 nights.
Sep 17, 2013
The hosts were friendly, the cabin was clean, the surroundings were tidy. The cabin was quite small, but we were thankful for a place to fit 5 of us on a tight budget!
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 15, 2013
Sep 15, 2013
Very nice. Had info about caverns.
Sep 15, 2013
Sep 14, 2013
Campgound was great. Clean, well managed and friendly folks in the office, Highly recommended.
Sep 13, 2013
This was the best park so far on all our RV trips! The staff was friendly, the park was spacious, clean, and very pet friendly. An overall gorgeous park! Wished we could've stayed longer....next time!!
Sep 13, 2013
This was a great place to stay. My family enjoyed the pool, which was a great way to cool down in the New Mexico heat. The camping area was really nice although the flies really enjoy the wind barrier. We also stayed in a cabin which was a nice change after 4 nights in a tent. The restrooms were clean and very nice. We will plan to stay here again.
Sep 13, 2013
Sep 12, 2013
very nice staff, clean grounds, best dog park
Sep 12, 2013
Campground smells very bad every night. They claim it because of the nearby oil fields. Smell was so bad didn't even get one good nights good rest.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

There are oil fields in the vicinity and at times, depending on which way the wind blows, we do have a sulfur smell. Most of the time it is not a big problem and with the windows and doors closed, using either A/C or heat, the smell is negligible.
Sep 11, 2013
Excellent facilities and very friendly staff.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.