Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Mar 16, 2014
Very clean and well patrolled. Staff friendly and helpful. Showers took a long time to heat up, but eventually did. A comfortable and safe place to stay.
Mar 16, 2014
Really nice clean sites, facilities and staff. A bit of a drive but I believe it is well worth it. Pool wasn't open yet but they were cleaning it and had been filled the day we departured.
Mar 15, 2014
This is a nice, well-kept park. The staff was very friendly, the cabin was clean, and the kids enjoyed the big playground for hours on end.
Mar 15, 2014
Mar 15, 2014
Everything was very clean and quiet. Loved our little camping cabin. Only complaint was the trucks (oil workers?) leaving the campground at 5-6AM was quite noisy (our cabin was right by the entrance/exit). Everyone at the front office was very friendly.
Mar 15, 2014
Mar 14, 2014
Mar 14, 2014
Great staff, showers, restrooms, all around very very good. Only thing keeping it from excellence is lack of concrete pads.
Mar 13, 2014
Mar 12, 2014
Facilities were outstanding. Staff were friendly, helpful, and very dedicated. Great stay.
Mar 12, 2014
Nice camp ground. Excellent showers and gift store. Enjoyed it. Would have liked to see a better value - we had the premium camp site and it only included a bbq pit, picnic table and a block patio, no shade. To me, this wasn't really premium, it was standard. But, we liked the park.
Mar 11, 2014
Really nice close enough to Carlsbad Caverns but beautifully rural plains.
Mar 11, 2014
Clean, working hook ups
Mar 10, 2014
excellent staff and beautiful camp ground
Mar 06, 2014
The people were very personable. The facilities were clean, as were the grounds. Only complaint is small number of cable channels.
Mar 06, 2014
Not really in Carlsbad! 40 some miles to the caverns
Mar 05, 2014
My stay at the Carlsbad,NM KOA was very comfortable and the entire staff went out of thier way to treat me with respect,the campground was very clean and well maintained.
Mar 04, 2014
Nice, helpful people. Hookup and facilities very good. The meal they prepare was excellent. Only problem was the wind, since it's so flat and remote. This KOA is A-OK!
Mar 03, 2014
Kamping Kabin was better than expected. We used the AC the first day and the heater the next 3 days! Beds comfy, Kabin and site outside were clean.
Mar 03, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful bathrooms.
Mar 03, 2014
Mar 01, 2014
This is a great KOA! The sites are wide & long and the interior roads are wide as well, making entering & exiting a breeze. The delivered BBQ is incredible and the staff is very friendly & helpful. No big trees for shade but it's the desert! Sure there can be a smell from oil rigs in the area and the park is an hour from the caverns, but it is by far the nicest campground around.
Mar 01, 2014
Feb 28, 2014
Our cabin was very comfortable except for the no hot water thing.
Feb 28, 2014
Nice place, friendly people. Wish it was closer to the caverns but it is the best choice in the area. They serve a great dinner delivered to your rv for a good price
Feb 28, 2014
It was just like I remembered from when I was a little kid, well in my teen's but it is a great place to stay. Everyone there is very nice and helpful. my wife and I will stay there again the next time we visit the area again.
Feb 26, 2014
Very nice and clean campground. This place also has really good BBQ.
Feb 24, 2014
Feb 23, 2014
Great KOA. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful (thank you Edith!). Facilities very clean.
Feb 23, 2014
Feb 23, 2014
Feb 23, 2014
Feb 23, 2014
Sites and service were great. We had not read previous remarks and we're not prepared for the smell from the oil fields, which was really bad the first night. We also did not realize the park was so far from the caverns, which is not the fault if the park mgt.
Feb 23, 2014
We missed having a kids playground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a very nice, brand-new playground now. We are sad you missed it!
Feb 21, 2014
We had never seen a kitchen at a KOA, but understand why now. We ate dinner there and it was great. The grounds & people are super.
Feb 21, 2014
Nice campground but a little too far from Carlsbad Caverns to earn the name CC-KOA. It also is a bit pricey for a gravel spot. Nice to have the cable tv but the wi-fi , although free could not match the speed of our Verizon Cel working in 3g so we used it instead. Camp hosts, staff, and reception all very nice and professional.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Carlsbad KOA does not hide our location and we are the closest KOA (& nicest campground) to the caverns. This is the high-desert so trees are sparse and small, and at this time of year, grass is impossible. Unfortunately, our wifi speeds vary throughout the day and are much better at times.
Feb 20, 2014
The cable tv was real snowy. I was disappointed that for as many times as I've stay with you, the one time I had to leave early, you wouldn't give me credit for a future stay. It will figure into my staying with you in the future.
Feb 20, 2014
Great people
Feb 20, 2014
I like your KOA, but the wifi's kinda weak and could use a few more trees.
Feb 20, 2014
Pricing was a little out of line compared to other parks in the area. I do understand you offer amenities that other parks do not have. One afternoon I was stopped by a employee of the park and was rudely reprimanded for excessive speed in the park. I consciously didn't do it on purpose thought he handled the situation unprofessional. He acted like a drill sergeant I wasn't trying to break your ru

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do understand that our guests don't "try" to break our rules about going slow in our park. However, we do take our slow speed limit seriously. With little ones and pets in the park, it is important to be mindful of the speed limit.
Feb 19, 2014
Feb 18, 2014
Feb 18, 2014
There are floodlights from the restrooms/laundry facility that shine right on the entire tenting area all night. That, combined with the oil refineries smell, make this KOA, for me, an only-if-there's-nothing-else stop (which it was). On the up side, the restrooms/showers are impeccably clean and the grounds are well-kept.
Feb 17, 2014
Very clean rooms and bathrooms. BBQ was great. Close to a lot of attractions.
Feb 16, 2014
Feb 16, 2014
Real nice, clean place. Large pull through sites. Staff extremely pleasant and very helpful.
Feb 11, 2014
The grounds and amenities are wonderful. The camp hosts and the entire staff are hospitable, friendly and helpful. Thank you for all you do to help your guests be comfortable.
Feb 11, 2014
Sites are of ample size. Over- priced in comparison to other KOA's.
Feb 10, 2014
Feb 10, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.