Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 28, 2014
Extrmely awesome very clean. Loved the Barbecue. Thank you!!
Oct 28, 2014
We love this KOA. Clean facilities, friendly staff and peaceful location. Close to great recreation opportunities. And the BBQ dinner was awesome
Oct 27, 2014
Had a great time and the staff was very helpful and accomodating.
Oct 26, 2014
For tent camping this campground was very noisy as travelers drove in and out close to the tents. Otherwise the bathrooms were exceptionally clean and the area felt secure. It was further away from the Caverns than we expected.
Oct 26, 2014
The campground is very nice and the amenities are good. However, the workers staying there started driving by my tent at 4:30 AM every morning. Impossible to sleep. You need to move the tent area if you are going to rent to workers.
Oct 26, 2014
Bathrooms are clean, grounds are well kept. Only complaint is there must be a farm nearby cause air smells of poop. Also it's very loud from morning til night cause of the work trucks while the ad says completely otherwise.
Oct 25, 2014
Oct 24, 2014
Oct 24, 2014
we stayed in the 1 room cabin alwaays finding KOAS safe clean and quiet. We were kept awake all night with trafficon gravel the next morning I asked and they said I guess were used to the noise it a oil field area should aspect it (I think she was the ower as the camper workers were very nice)
Oct 23, 2014
We came, we ate, we slept, we left. It was everything we planned.
Oct 23, 2014
The campground is brautiful, the BBQ ribs yummy and the staff the best! Loved meeting you all and sharing stories!
Oct 21, 2014
We just stayed the one night in a cabin and was very cozy...Thanks
Oct 20, 2014
This campground is listed as being 13 miles N of Carlsbad. It is 22 miles which makes it 52 miles from the caverns! The smell of natural gas is horrific & constant. Do not come here!
Oct 20, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful. The cabin was clean and really well stocked. Great prices, fresh cooked food available for all meals and even a great little convenience store. We loved it!
Oct 20, 2014
The park is maintained perfectly and the spaces for the big rigs are huge. Make sure the you order dinner from the park. The BBQ is delicious!! Will absolutely stay again.
Oct 20, 2014
Clean bathrooms and shower. Great playground. Excellent care to make sure site was clean at arrival.
Oct 20, 2014
Nice campground and facilities. Some of the tent sites had spotlights from the main office shining into the area.
Oct 20, 2014
Fantastic,
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 19, 2014
Bob, made our stay extra special. We were renting an RV and new to the whole experience and Bob took the time to answer our questions about hooking up and certain RV etiquette. If all the KOA Campgrounds have someone as nice and truly helpful as Bob you are doing great!
Oct 19, 2014
It was so great two weeks ago, we stayed again and will be back, I am sure.
Oct 17, 2014
This park is very hard to rate. The park is excellent in almost everything, but at 8 pm at night both nights we stayed there was a persistent horrible stink throughout the whole park. I don't know if it was sewer or oil refinery. Without this smell this is near a 10 park. With smell it is a zero. Verify when you book that the smell is gone.
Oct 16, 2014
Staff is very friendly and helpful and amenities are top notch.
Oct 16, 2014
It is a very nice KOA. A little too far from town.
Oct 16, 2014
Courteous folks at the Carlsbad KOA. Although we only stayed one night on our sojourn it was rely nice. Without a doubt 5 star showers!!! Grounds were nice.
Oct 16, 2014
Out of all the KOA's that we have stayed at during this vacation, this was the most expensive tent site that we had. Employees were very nice. The only thing we did not like was the smell in the air for the two days we spent there. I think it may have something to do with the oil fields around the area
Oct 16, 2014
expensive
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
This was my first stay at a KOA site. It was clean, well organized, and provided everything I needed during my stay. Would go back!
Oct 14, 2014
the park was great but the gnat problem was terrible! we left our windows open the first night and the gnats came in through the screens and we spent the rest of our 4 day stay trying to get rid of them and never did. this had to be a known issue and it sure would have been nice to get some notice about it from the desk.
Oct 14, 2014
The place is very nice but, unfortunately, the surrounding oil fields release very unpleasant and strong odors that are felt during the evening. What a pity!
Oct 14, 2014
Very clean and quiet park, safe environment, very friendly and helpful staff - a very pleasant camping stay!
Oct 14, 2014
A little farther from town then description made it seem.
Oct 13, 2014
very clean facilities and friendly staff. Need faster internet speed though.
Oct 13, 2014
Very nice wide open sites.far enough from the highway to be quiet at night. Would stay again.
Oct 13, 2014
Nice location, but, the biggest problem we had was that they couldn't seem to figure out how to use my points. When I checked in, she couldn't figure it out, so charged me the two nights and said she'd work with someone the following day to change to points instead of charging me. However, after site seeing we returned and she said they just decided to charge me instead. What?
Oct 12, 2014
Staff accommodating & pleasant. Campsites were nice. No complaints.
Oct 12, 2014
Everything about the cap is great with two exceptions. The chemical smell from the nearby oil production and the notice from our cabins ceiling fan and a/c unit.
Oct 12, 2014
We stayed 1 night at a tent site in our campervan. All facilities are 1st class. However, lorry noise from the nearby road (all night) and especially the glaring floodlights at the rear yard prevent us for awarding 5 stars.
Oct 12, 2014
Oct 11, 2014
Places is clean spaces are large and easy to get into Store has a lot of good items to buy
Oct 11, 2014
The camping cabin we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. Our teenagers loved the bunkbeds. They also enjoyed the chance to unwind playing ping-pong after a long day in the car.
Oct 11, 2014
Need to clean the mouse poop up at the TentVillage sites
Oct 11, 2014
Really nice park and many miles north of Carsbad, so Quiet ! Had dinners delivered to our RV which they prepared. Ever in the area, we will stay there again. Stayed 2 nights in our Airstream.
Oct 11, 2014
Nice large level campground. I give it a 4 instead of 5 because of dust from roads in campground. People were polite and did drive slow.
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 09, 2014
Very nice cabins. Super clean. Nice dinner, a bit pricey.
Oct 09, 2014
Very clean bathrooms. One of the nicest KOAs we've stayed at.
Oct 08, 2014
REALLY nice for a desert location with nice large level sites, but NO DUMP STATION. Stinky petroleum facilities VERY nearby. Lots of oil workers living there leaving for work at 5am with VERY LOUD vehicles. Nice enough looking place but won't stay there again.
Oct 08, 2014
Excellent site size; nicely graveled roads wide enough to maneuver easily; well-stocked office/store; VERY quiet; staff VERY nice & helpful. Only negative feature was the water taste and/or chemical content: possibly affected by local oil refineries?

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.