Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 19, 2014
Bob, made our stay extra special. We were renting an RV and new to the whole experience and Bob took the time to answer our questions about hooking up and certain RV etiquette. If all the KOA Campgrounds have someone as nice and truly helpful as Bob you are doing great!
Oct 19, 2014
It was so great two weeks ago, we stayed again and will be back, I am sure.
Oct 17, 2014
This park is very hard to rate. The park is excellent in almost everything, but at 8 pm at night both nights we stayed there was a persistent horrible stink throughout the whole park. I don't know if it was sewer or oil refinery. Without this smell this is near a 10 park. With smell it is a zero. Verify when you book that the smell is gone.
Oct 16, 2014
Staff is very friendly and helpful and amenities are top notch.
Oct 16, 2014
It is a very nice KOA. A little too far from town.
Oct 16, 2014
Courteous folks at the Carlsbad KOA. Although we only stayed one night on our sojourn it was rely nice. Without a doubt 5 star showers!!! Grounds were nice.
Oct 16, 2014
Out of all the KOA's that we have stayed at during this vacation, this was the most expensive tent site that we had. Employees were very nice. The only thing we did not like was the smell in the air for the two days we spent there. I think it may have something to do with the oil fields around the area
Oct 16, 2014
expensive
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
This was my first stay at a KOA site. It was clean, well organized, and provided everything I needed during my stay. Would go back!
Oct 14, 2014
the park was great but the gnat problem was terrible! we left our windows open the first night and the gnats came in through the screens and we spent the rest of our 4 day stay trying to get rid of them and never did. this had to be a known issue and it sure would have been nice to get some notice about it from the desk.
Oct 14, 2014
The place is very nice but, unfortunately, the surrounding oil fields release very unpleasant and strong odors that are felt during the evening. What a pity!
Oct 14, 2014
Very clean and quiet park, safe environment, very friendly and helpful staff - a very pleasant camping stay!
Oct 14, 2014
A little farther from town then description made it seem.
Oct 13, 2014
very clean facilities and friendly staff. Need faster internet speed though.
Oct 13, 2014
Very nice wide open sites.far enough from the highway to be quiet at night. Would stay again.
Oct 13, 2014
Nice location, but, the biggest problem we had was that they couldn't seem to figure out how to use my points. When I checked in, she couldn't figure it out, so charged me the two nights and said she'd work with someone the following day to change to points instead of charging me. However, after site seeing we returned and she said they just decided to charge me instead. What?
Oct 12, 2014
Staff accommodating & pleasant. Campsites were nice. No complaints.
Oct 12, 2014
Everything about the cap is great with two exceptions. The chemical smell from the nearby oil production and the notice from our cabins ceiling fan and a/c unit.
Oct 12, 2014
We stayed 1 night at a tent site in our campervan. All facilities are 1st class. However, lorry noise from the nearby road (all night) and especially the glaring floodlights at the rear yard prevent us for awarding 5 stars.
Oct 12, 2014
Oct 11, 2014
Places is clean spaces are large and easy to get into Store has a lot of good items to buy
Oct 11, 2014
The camping cabin we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. Our teenagers loved the bunkbeds. They also enjoyed the chance to unwind playing ping-pong after a long day in the car.
Oct 11, 2014
Need to clean the mouse poop up at the TentVillage sites
Oct 11, 2014
Really nice park and many miles north of Carsbad, so Quiet ! Had dinners delivered to our RV which they prepared. Ever in the area, we will stay there again. Stayed 2 nights in our Airstream.
Oct 11, 2014
Nice large level campground. I give it a 4 instead of 5 because of dust from roads in campground. People were polite and did drive slow.
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 09, 2014
Very nice cabins. Super clean. Nice dinner, a bit pricey.
Oct 09, 2014
Very clean bathrooms. One of the nicest KOAs we've stayed at.
Oct 08, 2014
REALLY nice for a desert location with nice large level sites, but NO DUMP STATION. Stinky petroleum facilities VERY nearby. Lots of oil workers living there leaving for work at 5am with VERY LOUD vehicles. Nice enough looking place but won't stay there again.
Oct 08, 2014
Excellent site size; nicely graveled roads wide enough to maneuver easily; well-stocked office/store; VERY quiet; staff VERY nice & helpful. Only negative feature was the water taste and/or chemical content: possibly affected by local oil refineries?
Oct 08, 2014
Enjoyed the stay.
Oct 07, 2014
Great facility! Friendly staff and very clean sites! The octagon sites have everything you need. Restrooms & showers A++...if we're in the area, we will definitely be back!!
Oct 06, 2014
Poor communication, owner makes up charges, rude staff (guy named Keith), clean comfortable cabin. Would love to discuss if someone cares to hear about out experience.
Oct 06, 2014
The facilities were very clean, the hosts were friendly. The BBQ very bland and pricey. The biggest drawback is the smell of petroleum or natural gas in the air. Not the fault of the owners, but guests should be aware that there are drilling machines close by and the smell not only kept me up, it also gave me a terrible headache.
Oct 06, 2014
The KOA staff were not willing to accommodate our request but ask us to move to A higher priced cabin at our expense to accommodate another guest.
Oct 06, 2014
It was pricey for as far out as it was, the pool had quite a lot of bugs in it, and it should be told that at night there is a terrible smell from oil wells. The drinking water was awful; ended up buying my own water.
Oct 06, 2014
Nice people, terrible smell and real problem with flys.
Oct 06, 2014
Especially enjoyed having a meal prepared for dine-in or camp site delivery. The bath facilities were large and clean, just like home. Parking, staff, views were all Great! Yes, we enjoyed our stay!
Oct 05, 2014
We had no idea what kind of place we were staying at. We read the reviews about this KOA and we were real excited but anxious about what we would get. We were blown away with the cabin, the staff and the overall experience! Thank you for having a great place to stay!
Oct 04, 2014
Nice park and very friendly staff. Only draw back is it's location so far from Carlsbad.
Oct 03, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
the campground was okay but over $40 for dirt roads, large rock gravel spaces, long grass, "the hardest well water in the valley" (according to a worker)and the smell of crude oil 24/7 is too much to pay. KOAs tend to be in worse neighborhoods than others. this one was 12 miles out of town which was nice but still, $40 plus is way too high for the accommodations.
Oct 01, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Friendly staff. Great camping site. Nice dog play area. Plenty of areas for walking dogs.
Sep 30, 2014
This is a beautiful and quiet location with excellent amenities. The drive to Carlsbad Caverns is about 40 minutes, so it's important to take that into consideration if you have just one day to make your visit to the caverns. Otherwise, I would certainly recommend this KOA to others.
Sep 29, 2014
the staff is wonderful, the sites are large and having food delivered to your site was a great perk!. The only downside is the distance from Carlsbad Caverns National Park and the very strong odor from the oil wells when the wind calmed at night
Sep 29, 2014
Friendly staff and great little cabin. Bed was like a rock or I would have given 5 stars.
Sep 28, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.