Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Nov 25, 2014
I had a great stay the staff was excellent. Can't wait to visit the koa agian
Nov 25, 2014
Great place. Friendly people. Outstanding dinners (wish I could cook ribs like that)
Nov 24, 2014
Great place to stay if visiting Carlsbad Caverns and Roswell. The campground is located halfway between the two. Very friendly and helpful staff. The grounds are clean and well cared for. We had a deluxe site with a covered patio and swing which we enjoyed. Dog park was grassy and clean. Would stay here again if in the area.
Nov 24, 2014
Nov 22, 2014
Spacious, clean sites. Friendly staff. Excellent laundry facilities.
Nov 20, 2014
Nov 19, 2014
Nov 19, 2014
We stayed here while visiting relatives in Carlsbad. The campground is clean and has nice features like superior sites with patios, shelters, etc. I particularly was impressed with the food delivery option. Bathrooms were very clean.
Nov 19, 2014
The dryers did not work only problem.
Nov 18, 2014
Great staff, welcoming at late hour and willing to bring dinner. Road (gravel) noise constant 4:30-8a.m. disturbed sleep. Way too far from Carlsbad and Guadalupe as we realized too late
Nov 16, 2014
We always find the staff here friendly and helpful. It is so peaceful, yet close enough to attractions and services.
Nov 14, 2014
Very pleasent, staff helpfull will pass the word. Thanks from the Irish's
Nov 13, 2014
Friendly staff
Nov 12, 2014
The staff were wonderful and our site was perfect, right on the edge of the campground. Thank you.
Nov 10, 2014
Clean very friendly and very helpful, we look forward to our next visit
Nov 07, 2014
Very clean campsite, staff Very friendly easy access.
Nov 06, 2014
Nov 06, 2014
My first impression of our campsite was We have so much room! We had not had sites wider than 25 in months, so I felt liberated. The campground is in the middle of nowhere, about 20 miles from the town of Carlsbad and 20 miles from Artesia. That is not necessarily a bad thing. The sites are level, gravel but with a strip of grass between each site. Theres a nice table and a firepit. Cle
Nov 05, 2014
Nov 04, 2014
Nov 02, 2014
The cabins were nice, except for the fact that my husband, being 6'1" was too tall for the shower. Also, we were able to hear every vehicle that entered or left the park because of the noisy gravel driveway.
Nov 01, 2014
Nice facility Staff is excellent and grounds are clean. Smell of Oil Wells, for surrounding 40 miles though is a little tough to deal with,
Oct 31, 2014
Great experience. Thanks!
Oct 30, 2014
Great place to stay in middle of south new mexico. Close to the caverns. Wonderful people! They are always available to help. Great people to be around.
Oct 30, 2014
friendly, helpful, but the wi-fi NO
Oct 29, 2014
Nice KOA. Has electrical outlets for tent camping which is great. Farther away from the caverns than we thought it would be.
Oct 28, 2014
Extrmely awesome very clean. Loved the Barbecue. Thank you!!
Oct 28, 2014
We love this KOA. Clean facilities, friendly staff and peaceful location. Close to great recreation opportunities. And the BBQ dinner was awesome
Oct 27, 2014
Had a great time and the staff was very helpful and accomodating.
Oct 26, 2014
For tent camping this campground was very noisy as travelers drove in and out close to the tents. Otherwise the bathrooms were exceptionally clean and the area felt secure. It was further away from the Caverns than we expected.
Oct 26, 2014
The campground is very nice and the amenities are good. However, the workers staying there started driving by my tent at 4:30 AM every morning. Impossible to sleep. You need to move the tent area if you are going to rent to workers.
Oct 26, 2014
Bathrooms are clean, grounds are well kept. Only complaint is there must be a farm nearby cause air smells of poop. Also it's very loud from morning til night cause of the work trucks while the ad says completely otherwise.
Oct 25, 2014
Oct 24, 2014
Oct 24, 2014
we stayed in the 1 room cabin alwaays finding KOAS safe clean and quiet. We were kept awake all night with trafficon gravel the next morning I asked and they said I guess were used to the noise it a oil field area should aspect it (I think she was the ower as the camper workers were very nice)
Oct 23, 2014
We came, we ate, we slept, we left. It was everything we planned.
Oct 23, 2014
The campground is brautiful, the BBQ ribs yummy and the staff the best! Loved meeting you all and sharing stories!
Oct 21, 2014
We just stayed the one night in a cabin and was very cozy...Thanks
Oct 20, 2014
This campground is listed as being 13 miles N of Carlsbad. It is 22 miles which makes it 52 miles from the caverns! The smell of natural gas is horrific & constant. Do not come here!
Oct 20, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful. The cabin was clean and really well stocked. Great prices, fresh cooked food available for all meals and even a great little convenience store. We loved it!
Oct 20, 2014
The park is maintained perfectly and the spaces for the big rigs are huge. Make sure the you order dinner from the park. The BBQ is delicious!! Will absolutely stay again.
Oct 20, 2014
Clean bathrooms and shower. Great playground. Excellent care to make sure site was clean at arrival.
Oct 20, 2014
Nice campground and facilities. Some of the tent sites had spotlights from the main office shining into the area.
Oct 20, 2014
Fantastic,
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 19, 2014
Bob, made our stay extra special. We were renting an RV and new to the whole experience and Bob took the time to answer our questions about hooking up and certain RV etiquette. If all the KOA Campgrounds have someone as nice and truly helpful as Bob you are doing great!
Oct 19, 2014
It was so great two weeks ago, we stayed again and will be back, I am sure.
Oct 17, 2014
This park is very hard to rate. The park is excellent in almost everything, but at 8 pm at night both nights we stayed there was a persistent horrible stink throughout the whole park. I don't know if it was sewer or oil refinery. Without this smell this is near a 10 park. With smell it is a zero. Verify when you book that the smell is gone.
Oct 16, 2014
Staff is very friendly and helpful and amenities are top notch.
Oct 16, 2014
It is a very nice KOA. A little too far from town.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.