Carbondale / Crystal River KOA

7202 Highway 133

Carbondale, CO 81623

Reserve: 970-963-2341

Info: 970-963-2341

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Cabin Reviews

Jul 18, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
You couldn't ask for a better located camp site: beautiful setting, bike path access from camp, 5 minutes to town. The camp is nice and clean. Sufficient amenities: pool, volleyball court, billiards, but missing the nightly kids activities and pancake breakfast. Cabins are a bit run down, but Mgrs. Ray & Erin strive to make your stay great.
Jul 17, 2014
over all the property is very beutiful. we have used the RV section seveal times. we used the caben for the first time. the show controler wasnt working properly. and the eletrical igniter didnt work on the ccok stove. its a little pricy but we would come back.
Jul 14, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the campground. Our cabin had everything we needed was very clean. The cabin location was perfect, we were right on the river and fell asleep nightly to the sound of the water rushing by. The office staff was very helpful from the first phone (one of many) to the time we checked out.
Jul 14, 2014
Cabin was small, yet cozy. Very relaxing. Linens and curtains could use an update, but overall had a good time. Wi-Fi advertised, but non existent. (Tried for three days) Pool is cold but clean. Lots of activities for kids. Equipment sometimes provided (basketball, volleyball, horse shoes, etc.) Already planning for next year.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
The cabin was substandard and we had plumbing problems. The smell was pretty bad off and on for the the last 2 days.
Jul 09, 2014
We loved being by the river and enjoyed the beautiful view. The only downside was the number of bugs that found their way into the cabin through gaps in the door and screens. Carbondale was a beautiful area and we would love to come back!
Jul 07, 2014
Beautiful park, really friendly staff, just a perfect place to stay!
Jul 01, 2014
If your staying any length of time, go to dollar store and buy some ice trays. They are not provided. We were there 10 days and ice was $4 a bag. At $162. a night, I feel ice should be complimentary, or cheaper or at least provide ice trays. Otherwise everything was great!
Jul 01, 2014
Need instructions for the heaters. Door lock did not work well. Beautiful setting. Will be terrific after upgrade is completed.
Jul 01, 2014
I know this KOA is in the process of upgrading, and I'm sure it will be lovely when finished. Minor details missing for the price they charge for a deluxe cabin(same price as a hotel!). Broken screen door, missing screen on bedroom, posessed (cold/ hot/ help!) shower w head full of lime buildup. You have to beg for an extra roll of TP, even for a 5-day stay. Dish soap missing in kitchen.
Jun 30, 2014
The Bed was VERY BAD to sleep on as you felt the SPRINGS even when you pushed your hand down. They Changed Bedding for my 4th night stay. Which made 4th night worth it. Other than that it was a very nice place. Over $300. and 3 night bad sleeping not worth the stay there.
Jun 30, 2014
Beautiful campground right on the river - If you are planning a night of camping or staying in a rustic cabin near Carbondale, just stay here. Friendly and helpful hosts. Really wish I could have stayed longer, but we were just riding through. Thanks!
Jun 29, 2014
I felt myconcern, and complaint about the smell coming from the bathroom, which was next to where we slept was ignored. The owner did take a note, but did nothing, not even an apology. I am aware of a distinct septic odor. I also could not use the tub. I wanted to at least cancel my 3rd night, & was told I needed 7 days notice. I would have expected the OWNER, Erin to have least come by my cabin,
Jun 24, 2014
location was great. Staff was mediocre, internet sucked. Several people in our group had to drive to town to do computer work, contact friends, check weather, etc. We very much missed Cynthia who was on staff last year.
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
Fantastic. Trying to figure out how soon I can return. Clean, comfortable and exceptional service. Beautiful location right on Crystal River.
Jun 09, 2014
Everything was perfect.....the only thing that I can think of was that there was no bar of soap in the bathroom...but no problem, just a small purchase in town. Would definitely stay there again! Clean, comfortable and very friendly staff!
Jun 02, 2014
We reserved our cabin in February. You charged us the winter rate. When we checked in we were told that there was a computer glitch and we should have been charged the summer rate. It wasn't our fault and we should have been charged for the winter rate. Also the website said that the cabins were remodeled. They may have had some, but not all and the room wasn't up to KOA's standard. The bedd
Jun 01, 2014
May 29, 2014
I like the cabin being right on the river
May 27, 2014
Friendly helpful staff. Beautiful mountain view from cabin.
May 27, 2014
Very friendly staff, well maintained grounds, convenient and reasonably priced fire supplies & ice, nearby world class fishing & Glenwood Springs but feels remote. Sleeping to the sound of the Crystal River is awesome. Probably the nicest KOA we've stayed at in CO!
May 27, 2014
Very clean and well laid out rooms. Lovely. Owners friendly and helpful.
May 14, 2014
Lovely area and good grounds. I know the place is under renovations and updates and certainly the needs could use the updates. But it was a clean, comfortable cabin with good heat and a good shower. Was also impressed by the dual flow toilets. Very efficient and thoughtful. Absolutely cannot beat the location!
May 13, 2014
The cabins and campground had a beautiful view but the management needs a serious lesson in hospitality.
May 12, 2014
Deluxe cabin #8- ants and flys all over the cabin. Extra chairs/tables piled outside under shelter-was an eyesore. Building a playset for kids. Will be nice when finished. No soap or paper towels. I thought this would be stocked. Wifi is non existent. Only worked inside office. Never worked in cabin or outside at all. Beautiful scenery. With some cleaning and updating, could be a really nice place
May 12, 2014
May 11, 2014
Very nice place, great location. My family and I will definitely return. Thank you KOA staff.
Apr 28, 2014
We totally enjoyed the location. The Kabin was clean and WELL stocked. Thank you so much!!!!!
Apr 22, 2014
Very clean and nice place to stay, would recommend it to others, considering come back as a little get-away.
Apr 20, 2014
The cabin was very nice & recently refurbished. We upgraded to a larger cabin when we arrived & the staff was very nice, they were very helpful, it was winter/offseason time so the office was not open much. The cabin did have bugs that could have easily been sprayed for before we arrived, the beds were nice & comfy. I have been staying at this campground for years & will continue to stay there.
Apr 08, 2014
We could not have asked for a more perfect location or campground host! Cynthia went out of her way to make us feel at home. Our cabin was spotless, beautiful, and the right blend of modern and cozy, and backed right up to a rushing river. The KOA felt quiet and remote, but close enough to town for anything we needed.
Apr 03, 2014
I spent 3 nights in one of their cabins in late March. The cabins are clean, and well equipped (better than my NYC apartment) It's also the perfect spot for fishing on either the Crystal River, Frying Pan or the Roaring Fork Rivers. I can not wait to go back !
Mar 31, 2014
Our host was very gracious and our cabin quite clean and comfortable. Having a full kitchen was great. We made cookies while there. What a setting, right on the river. Yes, we will be back, when we come to ski Aspen. We really like Carbondale too. Plann
Mar 18, 2014
It was fine although I think we stayed at a time when it wasn't fully opened and it looked as if KOA had just taken the place over. We have stayed at many KOA's and this wasn't as nice as any others we've stayed in. We would like to go back during the summer and see how it is then.
Mar 18, 2014
Thank you for making my stsy so special. Cynthia went out of her way to make my stay comfortable and special for a birthday get-away. Thank you
Mar 13, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
Nov 09, 2013
The location is the good thing this campground has going for it. Beautiful scenery. As far as the cabin it needs lots of work, the kitchen floor leans hard to one side, the screen door flops in the breeze all night long, the cook stove has 4 burners with only one that will light,some of the lights don't work and for some reason KOA has decided to remove all the televisions.
Oct 21, 2013
It was a beautiful camp site and the cabin was nice. The kitchen could use a sponge for dishwashing and more than one hand towel and we ended up buying them. We could have use a few hangers for the armoir in the bedroom. It would also be nice if the office had earlier and later office hours.
Oct 21, 2013
Very nice cabin, beautiful area, close to many attractions. We'll be back.
Oct 17, 2013
Lovely cabins and tent site situated right on the river! with fire pits as well, staff was very friendly and helpful, I showed up at the last minute and they had no available cabins and the lady went out of her way to help me find another campground nearby that had some free! needless to say i booked an open cabin for the next night and we had a wonderful stay!
Oct 16, 2013
Gorgeous river and mountain setting. Very peaceful.
Oct 15, 2013
The cabin more than exceeded our expectations. Great value for the accomodations and beautiful scenery. Will definitely be returning. C+M
Oct 06, 2013
An incredible location, and staff were very helpful even though their transition to a new reservation system caused some confusion. Very quiet and peaceful during our week.
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
Great setting. Good value. Nice, friendly, helpful desk clerk. Clean. Needs better lighting in cabin. Wish there had been a TV set. We Will return again! Thank you.
Sep 30, 2013
overall great. had to air the place out a little, smelled like too much Febreeze, but then it was ok, stove didn't work though. We were told we didn't have to bring anything but clothes and food, like a hotel, but there was no soap or shampoo, so we didn't have that, otherwise we really loved the property. Could use new bedding, shower curtain, and window curtains, cheap upgrades, for big impact.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.