Carbondale / Crystal River KOA

7202 Highway 133

Carbondale, CO 81623

Reserve: 970-963-2341

Info: 970-963-2341

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2

Cabin Reviews

Apr 20, 2014
The cabin was very nice & recently refurbished. We upgraded to a larger cabin when we arrived & the staff was very nice, they were very helpful, it was winter/offseason time so the office was not open much. The cabin did have bugs that could have easily been sprayed for before we arrived, the beds were nice & comfy. I have been staying at this campground for years & will continue to stay there.
Apr 08, 2014
We could not have asked for a more perfect location or campground host! Cynthia went out of her way to make us feel at home. Our cabin was spotless, beautiful, and the right blend of modern and cozy, and backed right up to a rushing river. The KOA felt quiet and remote, but close enough to town for anything we needed.
Apr 03, 2014
I spent 3 nights in one of their cabins in late March. The cabins are clean, and well equipped (better than my NYC apartment) It's also the perfect spot for fishing on either the Crystal River, Frying Pan or the Roaring Fork Rivers. I can not wait to go back !
Mar 31, 2014
Our host was very gracious and our cabin quite clean and comfortable. Having a full kitchen was great. We made cookies while there. What a setting, right on the river. Yes, we will be back, when we come to ski Aspen. We really like Carbondale too. Plann
Mar 18, 2014
It was fine although I think we stayed at a time when it wasn't fully opened and it looked as if KOA had just taken the place over. We have stayed at many KOA's and this wasn't as nice as any others we've stayed in. We would like to go back during the summer and see how it is then.
Mar 18, 2014
Thank you for making my stsy so special. Cynthia went out of her way to make my stay comfortable and special for a birthday get-away. Thank you
Mar 13, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
Nov 09, 2013
The location is the good thing this campground has going for it. Beautiful scenery. As far as the cabin it needs lots of work, the kitchen floor leans hard to one side, the screen door flops in the breeze all night long, the cook stove has 4 burners with only one that will light,some of the lights don't work and for some reason KOA has decided to remove all the televisions.
Oct 21, 2013
It was a beautiful camp site and the cabin was nice. The kitchen could use a sponge for dishwashing and more than one hand towel and we ended up buying them. We could have use a few hangers for the armoir in the bedroom. It would also be nice if the office had earlier and later office hours.
Oct 21, 2013
Very nice cabin, beautiful area, close to many attractions. We'll be back.
Oct 17, 2013
Lovely cabins and tent site situated right on the river! with fire pits as well, staff was very friendly and helpful, I showed up at the last minute and they had no available cabins and the lady went out of her way to help me find another campground nearby that had some free! needless to say i booked an open cabin for the next night and we had a wonderful stay!
Oct 16, 2013
Gorgeous river and mountain setting. Very peaceful.
Oct 15, 2013
The cabin more than exceeded our expectations. Great value for the accomodations and beautiful scenery. Will definitely be returning. C+M
Oct 06, 2013
An incredible location, and staff were very helpful even though their transition to a new reservation system caused some confusion. Very quiet and peaceful during our week.
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
Great setting. Good value. Nice, friendly, helpful desk clerk. Clean. Needs better lighting in cabin. Wish there had been a TV set. We Will return again! Thank you.
Sep 30, 2013
overall great. had to air the place out a little, smelled like too much Febreeze, but then it was ok, stove didn't work though. We were told we didn't have to bring anything but clothes and food, like a hotel, but there was no soap or shampoo, so we didn't have that, otherwise we really loved the property. Could use new bedding, shower curtain, and window curtains, cheap upgrades, for big impact.
Sep 22, 2013
My stay at the cabin was relaxing.We were there on an elk hunting trip.On days that we got rained out, we always had something to do at the camp ground.we will come back
Sep 18, 2013
Sep 17, 2013
We had a great time. We stayed there for a high school reunion. The facility was clean and the cabin was useful. Nice hot water. Nice kitchen.
Sep 14, 2013
Wonderful stay for 2 nights in a cabin by the Crystal River. Relaxing and cozy. Nothing fancy but everything we needed and wanted. We'll be back.
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
When I wanted to use my KOA gift certificate the person at the counter said " oh we are not an official KOA " but we will use your card and we do have signs all over the property and even in the cabin that state KOA , if your not a KOA don't advertise as one.We took a ten day vacation and only used KOA's but won't be back here and won't recommend it because it's not an official KOA, whatever that
Sep 03, 2013
Our cabin, #9 was just perfect for my son, daughter, and I. We were comfortable and just had a marvelous time at your facility and with our family. I hope we can come back before too long. Thank you
Sep 02, 2013
Our stay was a lot better than we thought it would be. We would like to see better office hours. New matresses is a must. Bake ware is needed. Otherwise, once improvements are made it will be a great addition to the KOA Family.
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Place being remodeled but campground looks good. Heated pool turned off at night and they forgot to turn it on next day, water very cold. Manager told my son about issues with guest on phone, very improper. Store almost had nothing stocked few days before Labor Day, likely losing a lot of sales. Near town, 5 miles was nice. Bike path to town also new. Cabin 9 ++. Manager not guest focused.
Aug 30, 2013
We stayed in an "off-river mid-sized" cabin that had not been refurbished. The cabin was clean however the musty stench was awful. It smelled as if there's a water leak & rotting wood. After leaving everything we brought into the cabin wreaked as well. This cabin should not be used until the stinky problem is fixed. Grounds were nice, mature trees. Pool looked nice but we didn't use it.
Aug 29, 2013
THe cabin we rented had a weird smell in it. The beds were so old and beyond uncomfortable. My body still aches. No lamps for reading in either of the bedrooms.
Aug 20, 2013
This campground is being renovated and I am sure it will be fine after renovations are complete. Owners are nice, helpful and accommodating. The sleep sofa in our large cabin needed to be replaced and springs fixed. Other beds were comfortable. There was a slight sewer smell outside the cabin. If these things were fixed, I would give this place a higher rating.
Aug 20, 2013
The 2 bedroom cabin was great, not the typical basic KOA cabin of my memory, very much enjoyed the accommodations; I did have two concerns: I was unable to obtain a total cost figure in writing before our stay, complicating figuring out costs for the varied individuals sharing the cabin. Plus, the cabin had nothing in writing in the cabin about checking out...??
Aug 15, 2013
I took our youth and children to camp and we stayed at Carbondale cabins. The first cabin they gave us had a smell of urine on the carpet. The owner and the manager Cynthia were not very apologetic but seemed bothered by the problem. I got a new cabin which I would recommend cabin 16 but 10, 11 no. The owner Erin was not as friendly because she wouldn't even say hello. Customer service needs work.
Aug 14, 2013
Great riverside cabin! Very nice and clean facilities! Private and quiet! We really enjoyed it there! Thanks so much.
Aug 13, 2013
The cabin was clean and nice. However the kitchen lacked some basic utensils. There was no dish drying rack. A toaster would have been nice. The carbon dioxide detector went off when you used the oven. No coat hangers for the closets. Could have used an alarm clock radio. It was just missing a few conveniences. - Doug
Aug 13, 2013
no microwave tho we were told it had one. The heat could not be turned on tho it rained every day. Inadequate lighting. not enough TP
Aug 12, 2013
Your Host Was Extremely helpful.
Aug 12, 2013
The site is a great location. We love biking and enjoyed our trip on the Crystal River Bicycle/Pedestrian Trail. The cabin we stayed in was somewhat antiquated. We understand they are to undergo renovations soon. WiFi service was very poor at times. The management was very accommodating.
Aug 12, 2013
Cynthia is awesome!!!!
Aug 12, 2013
Very small cabin, only double bed. Road noise. Had to run out at 6:00 AM to get coffee filters. Beautiful spot by the river!
Aug 12, 2013
The manager (Cindy) was great. But our cabin had nothing. No soap. No paper towels. No coffee filters. No microwave (other cabins our size did). No colander for pasta. Only 2 forks. No baking pans. Some of this KOA can get at the dollar store! Be sure to tell people that NOTHING is included.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
The cabins were very comfortable and were wonderful for the kids. The campground is very child friendly- nice pool, swings, volley ball and badminton, basketball, a pool table and games inside. Very nice staff. We will be back next year!
Aug 08, 2013
Manager was rude and condescending to several campers including us. Probably wont come back. Owned my own business and would never tolerate the comments she made to campers.Loved the cabin and the hiking was great but she set a tone for the vacation that it was hard to get over.
Aug 07, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff. Peaceful, yet could still hear HWY traffic. Right on riverside :-), Very nice pool. Available WiFi doesn't work in all cabins though.
Aug 05, 2013
The outside was great. The inside of the cabins and having to put our toilet paper in the trash instead of down the toilet was disgusting! The mice in the cabins weren't much fun, the ovens that didn't work and the tacky furniture and decor did not match the website advertising and did not warrant the prices charged.
Aug 04, 2013
It was nice and quite and loved the cabin, lots to do in the area. The store needs more supplies and maybe gifts, just an idea. Kristie
Aug 04, 2013
The lady in the office is rude. Spending over $100 a night should entitle me to use more than 2 squares of toilet paper as she suggested. I saw her rudeness with other patrons and just didn't like her attitude. Won't deal with her again...period.
Aug 02, 2013
Gorgeous scenery! I never expected a riverfront cabin to be so cozy. The cabin included everything I needed with a full bathroom. The hosts were wonderful people with a neat, clean campground.
Jul 31, 2013
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.