Carbondale / Crystal River KOA

7202 Highway 133

Carbondale, CO 81623

Reserve: 970-963-2341

Info: 970-963-2341

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 14, 2013
Great riverside cabin! Very nice and clean facilities! Private and quiet! We really enjoyed it there! Thanks so much.
Aug 13, 2013
The cabin was clean and nice. However the kitchen lacked some basic utensils. There was no dish drying rack. A toaster would have been nice. The carbon dioxide detector went off when you used the oven. No coat hangers for the closets. Could have used an alarm clock radio. It was just missing a few conveniences. - Doug
Aug 13, 2013
no microwave tho we were told it had one. The heat could not be turned on tho it rained every day. Inadequate lighting. not enough TP
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Your Host Was Extremely helpful.
Aug 12, 2013
Beautiful location and great staff!
Aug 12, 2013
The site is a great location. We love biking and enjoyed our trip on the Crystal River Bicycle/Pedestrian Trail. The cabin we stayed in was somewhat antiquated. We understand they are to undergo renovations soon. WiFi service was very poor at times. The management was very accommodating.
Aug 12, 2013
Cynthia is awesome!!!!
Aug 12, 2013
We had a fun time. We got a campsite right on the river, awesome views and scenery. Far enough away from town to be out in the country but close enough to get to anything you may need.
Aug 12, 2013
Very small cabin, only double bed. Road noise. Had to run out at 6:00 AM to get coffee filters. Beautiful spot by the river!
Aug 12, 2013
The manager (Cindy) was great. But our cabin had nothing. No soap. No paper towels. No coffee filters. No microwave (other cabins our size did). No colander for pasta. Only 2 forks. No baking pans. Some of this KOA can get at the dollar store! Be sure to tell people that NOTHING is included.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
We liked it so much last time we came back.BRB Crystal river resort is in transition and that made some of our stay harder. Our cabins weren't together, so we did a lot of schlepping back and forth. One cabin that was between us was being used as a bathhouse for the tents. I wish they would have switched us to that cabin and let the tents use our cabin. Lour reservation was lost,but worked out
Aug 11, 2013
Looking forward to bath house being opened. If we are in the area again, we will stay with you. Loved the location!
Aug 09, 2013
Wonderful improvements in progress. Quiet and restful. A great camping experience.
Aug 08, 2013
The cabins were very comfortable and were wonderful for the kids. The campground is very child friendly- nice pool, swings, volley ball and badminton, basketball, a pool table and games inside. Very nice staff. We will be back next year!
Aug 08, 2013
Manager was rude and condescending to several campers including us. Probably wont come back. Owned my own business and would never tolerate the comments she made to campers.Loved the cabin and the hiking was great but she set a tone for the vacation that it was hard to get over.
Aug 07, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff. Peaceful, yet could still hear HWY traffic. Right on riverside :-), Very nice pool. Available WiFi doesn't work in all cabins though.
Aug 07, 2013
Un de mes KOA préférés!! Pas encore au point parce qu'en travaux d'amélioration : pas de douches, pas de full hook up Mais nous avons passé un très beau séjour, j'ai hâte de voir l'évolution dans quelques années! petit plus, la piste cyclable qui part du KOA pour aller a Carbondale
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
This park has great potential, but they aren't "there" yet. Perhaps in the future they will find a desk person that is more accommodating and less "excuse" oriented.
Aug 05, 2013
The outside was great. The inside of the cabins and having to put our toilet paper in the trash instead of down the toilet was disgusting! The mice in the cabins weren't much fun, the ovens that didn't work and the tacky furniture and decor did not match the website advertising and did not warrant the prices charged.
Aug 05, 2013
Great owners and very accomodating. The campground is beautiful right on the Crystal River.
Aug 04, 2013
It was nice and quite and loved the cabin, lots to do in the area. The store needs more supplies and maybe gifts, just an idea. Kristie
Aug 04, 2013
The lady in the office is rude. Spending over $100 a night should entitle me to use more than 2 squares of toilet paper as she suggested. I saw her rudeness with other patrons and just didn't like her attitude. Won't deal with her again...period.
Aug 04, 2013
Will be glad when u get sewer hook ups.
Aug 04, 2013
Starting with the somewhat narrow drive into the park which included exiting off a busy roadway over an equally busy bike path, it's a wonder that there aren't several accidents just getting in. The WiFi was only available at the office, no sewers on the site and due to the mountains and lack of cable we couldn't use satellite for TV. Sort of pretty in a very rustic way.
Aug 02, 2013
What a beautiful campground. So relaxing and peaceful. The campground is spacious, well cared for and when the bath and showers are finished will be the icing on the cake. Wonderful. Thank you.
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Gorgeous scenery! I never expected a riverfront cabin to be so cozy. The cabin included everything I needed with a full bathroom. The hosts were wonderful people with a neat, clean campground.
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Location is excellent, stayed on the river sites. Staff is not friendly or cordial. Rates are for full hook ups, which they dont have. They offer honey wagon service but forgot to mention they take 2 consecutive days off & don't provide the service Sun & Mon. Like the area but not the staff.
Jul 31, 2013
The hostess neglected to mention that there was no bathhouse(under construction.) It wasn't until that evening as we discussed moving to another campground that she told my husband one of the cabins was open for camper showers. When I requested firewood, she told me to "have at it" (the woodpile) as the maintenance man had been off for two days. Beautiful grounds, poor management
Jul 30, 2013
The personell were great the shady sites were appreciated. We are eager to see the campground after it is brought up to KOA standards.
Jul 30, 2013
When I got on their website I was impressed. We were very excited for the get-a- way weekend. We checked in at 3:00PM and had to wait 15 mins for the cleaning crew to finish. We went into the cabin and what a disappointment! Yes it said that not all cabins have been remodeled but charging a person 170.00/night for that is rediculous! Very old, dirty, camping & no can opener?!?!?
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
While the staff was friendly, I found the bathroom situation unacceptable. Nothing was posted on the website before our trip that there were no bathroom facilities. The port a potties they had set up were extremely full and smelled terrible.
Jul 29, 2013
For the price we did not get what we paid for. Not at all. This KOA cabin was promited as "don't bring anyting except your personal items". So I would expect to have perhaps paper towels. A pan to bake with. And they provided a bbq grill but no propane. Way over priced.
Jul 29, 2013
I'm sorry to give you a low rating, but it is only to hope your campground improves. We had a lovely cabin, but your pool and laundry room closed at 7:00pm! Office didn't re-open until 10:00am! Your location is so isolated, we had nothing to do except watch TV..ugh!
Jul 29, 2013
Location beautiful. Staff great as they deal with challenges beyond their control. New bath house will be welcome. Will try again.
Jul 29, 2013
Would have enjoyed our stay more if it hadn't rained so much. Loved the campsite next to the river. Next time, might take a dip in the pool. Also, I understand that the newly remodeled bath houses will be very accomodating.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Nice atmosphere, good people and wonderful views. We had a cabin and while quite old had been recently upgraded with new appliances and bath, very nice.
Jul 28, 2013
Greeted in the store by the owner when we arrived, awesome person, perfect for owning a KOA Kampground. Very nice place, will be even nicer when the improvements are completed. Walked around to check out the other sites and Kamper Kabins. Lots of trees! Sites not too close together on the pull thrus.
Jul 27, 2013
Great studio cabins by river. Easily slept two adults and two smaller children. Lots of privacy and room for kids to play. Location good for doing activities in area but also private enough to enjoy the surrounding beauty of the area. Not a "parking lot" mentality campground. Would definitely stay there again if going through or to the area.
Jul 26, 2013
This will be a great campground once it is finished. We should have received a discount as we were told there were no showers only to find out a cabin was being use till bath house is finished. Also the one dumper now used by all was surrounded by loose rocks. The sewer itself was three feet below road level and down right dangerous. Good luck in future. A cash in hand discount would help!
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Making lots of improvements. Staff was very friendly and willing to fix any problems that arose. We had a cabin and camp spot. Cabin was a bit outdated but clean.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
We liked most of our stay but the campground was not really ready yet and no discount for lack of facilities.I also ruined my awning on a overhanging tree on the way out.I think you need to trim these trees

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.