Carbondale / Crystal River KOA

7202 Highway 133

Carbondale, CO 81623

Reserve: 970-963-2341

Info: 970-963-2341

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 31, 2013
The hostess neglected to mention that there was no bathhouse(under construction.) It wasn't until that evening as we discussed moving to another campground that she told my husband one of the cabins was open for camper showers. When I requested firewood, she told me to "have at it" (the woodpile) as the maintenance man had been off for two days. Beautiful grounds, poor management
Jul 30, 2013
The personell were great the shady sites were appreciated. We are eager to see the campground after it is brought up to KOA standards.
Jul 30, 2013
When I got on their website I was impressed. We were very excited for the get-a- way weekend. We checked in at 3:00PM and had to wait 15 mins for the cleaning crew to finish. We went into the cabin and what a disappointment! Yes it said that not all cabins have been remodeled but charging a person 170.00/night for that is rediculous! Very old, dirty, camping & no can opener?!?!?
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
While the staff was friendly, I found the bathroom situation unacceptable. Nothing was posted on the website before our trip that there were no bathroom facilities. The port a potties they had set up were extremely full and smelled terrible.
Jul 29, 2013
For the price we did not get what we paid for. Not at all. This KOA cabin was promited as "don't bring anyting except your personal items". So I would expect to have perhaps paper towels. A pan to bake with. And they provided a bbq grill but no propane. Way over priced.
Jul 29, 2013
I'm sorry to give you a low rating, but it is only to hope your campground improves. We had a lovely cabin, but your pool and laundry room closed at 7:00pm! Office didn't re-open until 10:00am! Your location is so isolated, we had nothing to do except watch TV..ugh!
Jul 29, 2013
Location beautiful. Staff great as they deal with challenges beyond their control. New bath house will be welcome. Will try again.
Jul 29, 2013
Would have enjoyed our stay more if it hadn't rained so much. Loved the campsite next to the river. Next time, might take a dip in the pool. Also, I understand that the newly remodeled bath houses will be very accomodating.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Nice atmosphere, good people and wonderful views. We had a cabin and while quite old had been recently upgraded with new appliances and bath, very nice.
Jul 28, 2013
Greeted in the store by the owner when we arrived, awesome person, perfect for owning a KOA Kampground. Very nice place, will be even nicer when the improvements are completed. Walked around to check out the other sites and Kamper Kabins. Lots of trees! Sites not too close together on the pull thrus.
Jul 27, 2013
Great studio cabins by river. Easily slept two adults and two smaller children. Lots of privacy and room for kids to play. Location good for doing activities in area but also private enough to enjoy the surrounding beauty of the area. Not a "parking lot" mentality campground. Would definitely stay there again if going through or to the area.
Jul 26, 2013
This will be a great campground once it is finished. We should have received a discount as we were told there were no showers only to find out a cabin was being use till bath house is finished. Also the one dumper now used by all was surrounded by loose rocks. The sewer itself was three feet below road level and down right dangerous. Good luck in future. A cash in hand discount would help!
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Making lots of improvements. Staff was very friendly and willing to fix any problems that arose. We had a cabin and camp spot. Cabin was a bit outdated but clean.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
We liked most of our stay but the campground was not really ready yet and no discount for lack of facilities.I also ruined my awning on a overhanging tree on the way out.I think you need to trim these trees
Jul 23, 2013
So many amenities were lacking - ovens and stove burners were not working, there was no microwave in our unit, no working can opener, few utensils, etc. The pool was nice but they need to improve most of their cabins.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
From the surprise lack of a bathhouse to the smell of port-a-potties permeating the campground, to the missing dishes in the cabins, to the trash lying around our campsite upon arrival, to the full trash cans everywhere that weren't emptied once, it was rather disappointing.
Jul 22, 2013
The property where I stayed is currently undergoing renovations/remodeling. Due to this fact there were a lot of amenities, etc. that were unavailable. the oven in my cabin did not work, and the electrical outlet in the bathroom did not work. The kitchen was poorly stocked with cooking utensils, etc. A working broom and dustpan would be a great addition to the cabin. Enjoyable but needs improvemen
Jul 22, 2013
too many things not working in cabin, such as stove, oven, electrical outlet. accomodations were disappointing. Cabin kitchens were poorly equipped.
Jul 22, 2013
wonderful new cabin..clean, quiet, really nice staff...will recommend and b back ourselves...thank u....
Jul 22, 2013
We had a short, but sweet, visit at this KOA. It was close and convenient to the shops, grocery stores, etc. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Would go there again - definitely.
Jul 21, 2013
Thoroughly pleasant in every way. Nice patios, pool, and the river was right there. I can recommend this park to anyone.
Jul 19, 2013
This KOA will be a great place once all the construction of the bathhouse and bathrooms is complete and improvements are done. Hopefully they will be able to improve getting to the dump station as you have to do some maneuvering now especially with a 40' 5ver
Jul 17, 2013
Beautiful place to stay! Host were great and made us feel at home. Best part was being on the river and enjoying the beautiful views.
Jul 17, 2013
I stayed 1 night at this campground in a tent while on a M/C trip. The campground is being upgraded and did not have a shower house ready. A cabin with a single washroom was being used for all tenters. The cabin and washrooms were clean and well maintained, line ups were lengthy at times. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
As the KOA is now, it is unsuitable to tent camping & caters to cabin rentals and RVs. Crystal River was recently purchased by KOA and is being renovated to meet the current standards of your typical KOA. Currently, there is no communal bathrooms or showers and no water for those with tents. The traffic noise is horrid for those in tents & the campsites were littered with previous campers items
Jul 16, 2013
We loved staying 10 feet from the river and the nice pool was a great depth for our 5 and 8 year old to enjoy (3-4 ft). Our cabin was in a shady spot with a great view. The only thing lacking was firewood for us to use/purchase.
Jul 16, 2013
Absolutley beautiful spot.The only down fall was the shower/bath house was not completed. But other wise we had a wonderful stay and will be returning.
Jul 16, 2013
I might come back when the restrooms & showers are finished. Until then, no thanks. Using the porta potty a half mile away was not fun. At least the staff were nice.
Jul 15, 2013
Very enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing the future upgrades.
Jul 15, 2013
The place was in a total transformation,which fine as long as the issues would be disclosed prior to arrival.I was very bitter.Only ONE restroom/shower for the KOA users and is very frustrating for the children waiting over 1 hour to use it.No pool, not really kid friendly.Why is it in the KOA book if not meeting standards?I had to cut my stay.Good location for Springs and nice desk service only.
Jul 15, 2013
Very nice to pull in late and be all set for then night! Thanks!
Jul 15, 2013
A great weekend getaway! Our cabin was right on the river. It was recently renovated inside, new concrete patio and firepit area outside. Very very clean, cozy and welcoming. Peaceful at night, courteous staff. Thank you!
Jul 15, 2013
host were great, work on new showers made it not fun. dump was bad, found another place too dump
Jul 15, 2013
Great time, no fish in the river but Erin was very helpful!
Jul 14, 2013
Great service and a lovely location.
Jul 14, 2013
They are making wonderful improvements. Our site was great with trees and plenty of space.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Cute and Family oriented cabins, it is close to great hiking trails and bike path for the outdoor enthusiasts. Price is right I would recommend the stay.
Jul 12, 2013
Nice roomy cabin with all facilities in a beautiful spot by the side of the Crystal River & mountains in the background.Site owners and other campers very helpful and friendly.Just great!!
Jul 12, 2013
It will be very nice once management finishes the bath house, gets sewer hookups, moves out some undesirables along with their trashy things & and expands wireless access.
Jul 11, 2013
They "do what they say", and were very accomodating to provide showers in the cabins while their bathrooms were being updated. One improvemenmt to suggest might be larger, more visible signage along the main road. The river sites are beautiful and the owners friendly and helpful.
Jul 11, 2013
The sites are good, and giving more distance to 'neighbour sites' than in some other KOA campgrounds we stayed in! But the general facilities (e.g., shower and restrooms) are still being developed. We expect that, once these are completed, it will be a very pleasant campground to stay!
Jul 10, 2013
Stayed on the Crystal River in a shaded spot. Nice concrete patios and wrought iron table and chairs. Will be much better when sewer lines are working. Honey wagon solved disposal problem.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.