Carbondale / Crystal River KOA

7202 Highway 133

Carbondale, CO 81623

Reserve: 970-963-2341

Info: 970-963-2341

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 01, 2014
To far off interstate, other than that nice place
Jun 01, 2014
May 31, 2014
As a new KOA, we understand that the owners are working hard to get their resort up to usual standards. We have stayed in many KOAs and have high expectations. Directly across from our campsite was what appeared to be a camper junkyard. It just wasn't something that we have encountered before and it slightly took away from the beauty of the area. There were also a lot of brush piles.
May 31, 2014
Great camping site! Nice new bathhouse! A little Close to the road but no traffic and night time.
May 29, 2014
I like the cabin being right on the river
May 29, 2014
May 28, 2014
Great level sites right on the river. The pool and game area is nothing fancy. Might be a little pricey for less amenities, but staff was nice and showers/bathrooms were great!
May 28, 2014
Wifi availability throughout camp would be big bonus for days when rain keeps you indoors. I like the new restroom facility, very nicely done. The staff were friendly & efficient. However I noticed that some stream side spots were available the first night, just not all the nights I stayed. A gr8 customer service move would've been to offer 1 of those sites to us for at least that 1st night
May 27, 2014
We were very impressed by the location and facilities. New bath house, clean common areas, lots of trees and nice patios at each site. Couldn't hear any road noise from our spot by the river.
May 27, 2014
Friendly helpful staff. Beautiful mountain view from cabin.
May 27, 2014
The staff were very friendly and accommodating! The grounds and amenities made for a relaxing weekend (except the rain and hailstorms natures surprises)but the office was an excellent retreat during those! Thank you so much!
May 27, 2014
Very friendly staff, well maintained grounds, convenient and reasonably priced fire supplies & ice, nearby world class fishing & Glenwood Springs but feels remote. Sleeping to the sound of the Crystal River is awesome. Probably the nicest KOA we've stayed at in CO!
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Very clean and well laid out rooms. Lovely. Owners friendly and helpful.
May 27, 2014
Beautiful sites, great staff, new pool and baths, spectacular views. There is a bike trail that goes to Carbondale and all the way to Aspen. Who could ask for more.
May 23, 2014
Love the renovations! Very clean and friendly :) Would highly recommend!
May 20, 2014
What a great location! We really enjoyed our stay but there was a lot of general maintenance that needed to be done--mowing and cleaning out all the stuff surrounding the buildings on site. We will definitely go back, though.
May 19, 2014
May 19, 2014
It was a nice location with creek out backdoor. They have a new bathhouse so very clean, but they need hooks in showers. No gameroom as we thought we saw on website.
May 19, 2014
The campground is very nice, but they don't open office/store until 10 in the morning. It would be nice for the office to open at 7 in case there were problems or campers needed anything
May 19, 2014
The views are amazing and for a KOA, the sites are spacious. No trains running through in the middle of the night and the highway noise is minimal. Our only complaint is that our site#19 didn't have a fire ring so no s'mores which was a bummer, since it's really not camping unless you have a campfire and s'mores right?
May 15, 2014
Our campsite was by a beautiful river looking at a snow capped mountain, stunning!Wonderful place to stay!
May 14, 2014
A very beautiful campground right beside the river! We would like to visit again in better weather. Location is quite remote with NO wifi and not great cell phone service. Great place to enjoy the outdoors without electronic devices.
May 14, 2014
Lovely area and good grounds. I know the place is under renovations and updates and certainly the needs could use the updates. But it was a clean, comfortable cabin with good heat and a good shower. Was also impressed by the dual flow toilets. Very efficient and thoughtful. Absolutely cannot beat the location!
May 13, 2014
The cabins and campground had a beautiful view but the management needs a serious lesson in hospitality.
May 12, 2014
Deluxe cabin #8- ants and flys all over the cabin. Extra chairs/tables piled outside under shelter-was an eyesore. Building a playset for kids. Will be nice when finished. No soap or paper towels. I thought this would be stocked. Wifi is non existent. Only worked inside office. Never worked in cabin or outside at all. Beautiful scenery. With some cleaning and updating, could be a really nice place
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
This was actually done for our daughter,as we are KOA work campers. She LOVED the area and the campground here, and said she would be back.
May 11, 2014
Very nice place, great location. My family and I will definitely return. Thank you KOA staff.
May 05, 2014
Beautiful setting, nicely laid out campground that they are upgrading to great. Will return many times.
May 03, 2014
New bathrooms, nice cement patios w/furniture. River on one side and paved bike path on the other. Off the beaten path. No TV signal or cable, just beautiful mountain views instead.
Apr 28, 2014
We camped right next to the river in a very nice site. The brand new bath house was wonderful! The best thing happened to us: A severe storm came into camp and the camp staff offered to place us in a cabin for the night when the heavy rain started to turn to snow. They were so kind to make this offer! We ended up staying in the tent as the storm abated but we appreciated their kindness very much.
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
We totally enjoyed the location. The Kabin was clean and WELL stocked. Thank you so much!!!!!
Apr 28, 2014
Nice campground and especially enjoyed meeting owners and visiting with them. Many thanks
Apr 26, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
Very clean and nice place to stay, would recommend it to others, considering come back as a little get-away.
Apr 20, 2014
The cabin was very nice & recently refurbished. We upgraded to a larger cabin when we arrived & the staff was very nice, they were very helpful, it was winter/offseason time so the office was not open much. The cabin did have bugs that could have easily been sprayed for before we arrived, the beds were nice & comfy. I have been staying at this campground for years & will continue to stay there.
Apr 08, 2014
We could not have asked for a more perfect location or campground host! Cynthia went out of her way to make us feel at home. Our cabin was spotless, beautiful, and the right blend of modern and cozy, and backed right up to a rushing river. The KOA felt quiet and remote, but close enough to town for anything we needed.
Apr 03, 2014
I spent 3 nights in one of their cabins in late March. The cabins are clean, and well equipped (better than my NYC apartment) It's also the perfect spot for fishing on either the Crystal River, Frying Pan or the Roaring Fork Rivers. I can not wait to go back !
Mar 31, 2014
Our host was very gracious and our cabin quite clean and comfortable. Having a full kitchen was great. We made cookies while there. What a setting, right on the river. Yes, we will be back, when we come to ski Aspen. We really like Carbondale too. Plann
Mar 18, 2014
It was fine although I think we stayed at a time when it wasn't fully opened and it looked as if KOA had just taken the place over. We have stayed at many KOA's and this wasn't as nice as any others we've stayed in. We would like to go back during the summer and see how it is then.
Mar 18, 2014
Thank you for making my stsy so special. Cynthia went out of her way to make my stay comfortable and special for a birthday get-away. Thank you
Mar 13, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
Nov 11, 2013
Scenery and setting are excellent! Access is great and centered in the heart of some of the most beautiful country in Colorado. The only downside is the lack of sewer hook ups which are planned hopefully for the 2014 season. Highly recommended inspite of this one inconvenience.
Nov 10, 2013
New RV facilities. Beautiful location. Good place to "unplug" (no cable or air tv reception).
Nov 09, 2013
The location is the good thing this campground has going for it. Beautiful scenery. As far as the cabin it needs lots of work, the kitchen floor leans hard to one side, the screen door flops in the breeze all night long, the cook stove has 4 burners with only one that will light,some of the lights don't work and for some reason KOA has decided to remove all the televisions.
Oct 30, 2013
Nice facility and very clean and updated. Owner/Manager not very nice. We checked in after hours and apparenly with questions. She was very short and rude on the phone. Other than that, beautiful place.
Oct 23, 2013
Everything was really nice. Cynthia was awesome! Loved the hash browns. Only inconvenience was lack of wifi in camping area. Loved the new bath house. Steps directly to the doors would be nice.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.