Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Cabin Reviews

Aug 19, 2013
Bathrooms are dirty and people at the front desk are not that friendly.
Aug 19, 2013
I really enjoyed myself, our family had a good time even when it rained. Pool, bounce and playground was great for the kids kept them busy. Close to the beach was a plus and walking distance to fish. Bathrooms stayed dirty my suggestion would be to have someone check them out hourly just to make sure things are in order. We will go back next year!!!!
Aug 18, 2013
our stay was relaxing. enjoyed coming back. campgrounds was quiet at night didnt hear any loud talking. which i like. workers at koa was very kind. cant wait till next summer so i can come back.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
The camp ground is rather large with campers cramped into every space. The cabin has extremely loud air-condition units. Our and the cabin next door was almost unbearable. Had to purchase a fan just to keep the temp. bearable. Bathroom were dirty in spite of the regular cleaning but this is related to the kids not the staff! Otherwise good stay.
Aug 17, 2013
Beds were uncomfortable and shower curtains needed to changed. Everything else was great and would definitely stay again!!
Aug 17, 2013
A wonderful stay.
Aug 16, 2013
My husband & I have stayed at Cape Hatteras KOA two times now, and both times we loved it! We will definitely be back.
Aug 16, 2013
Overall a good stay. A couple of issues this trip though-our deluxe cabin was not ready for us to checkin until after 5:20 (we showed up at 3:30). Staff was friendly about delay&let us use the pool while we waited. When I explained that my kids were getting hungry and cranky they offered free pizza to help out. Delay was not good but checkin staff tried to be helpful.
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
The amenities at KOA are great and so are the cabins. However, the staff was not properly cleaning the bathrooms and did not follow the posted cleaning schedule. I understand this may be a hard task to keep up with but I know the bathrooms were neglected because the same trash would be on the floor for days.
Aug 15, 2013
I've been staying with you in the summer for many years now and will continue to do so...but...I found many that the campground lacked attention this year. The bathrooms were never clean, the garbage and recycling containers are always overflowing to name just a few. Seems like you need better staff coordination because the people are friendly and the infrastructure is amazing.
Aug 15, 2013
Great staff, super friendly & helpful. Top dog restaurant one minute away fish tacos were superb. The bathrooms should be cleaned ever hour! Love Hatteras!
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Even though it was only a one night stay, I always feel at home in a KOA Kampground!
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
We enjoyed ourselves however a refrigerator in the one room cabin would be a great plus!! We have stayed at the Wilmington KOA and find it fits our vacation style better. we did however enjoy our Hatteras stay as the island is beautiful!
Aug 13, 2013
Bathrooms could be cleaner.
Aug 12, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at the KOA Cape Hatteras camp ground. My two boys 8 and 11 enjoyed the jumping pillow, swimming pool, and game room. We will definitely come and camp again.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
You have the wrong email address. I a, not the person who stayed at your campground. Stop sending me email
Aug 12, 2013
The location of this KOA is hard to fault. The beach makes quite a statement. The camp itself is too big. The night we arrived was such mass confusion that we almost left. The configuration of the cabins gives no privacy, and the internet never worked.
Aug 11, 2013
New amenities were very nice. Kampung Lodges could have been cleaned better - tons of ants and the cleaning crew left crushed Oreos in the cabinets, hence the ants. Beach was great and KOA workers were very friendly, pools were very nice too. Overall a great time for the 9 of us. Also more daily crafts would have been great for the little ones like many of the othe KOAs do.
Aug 11, 2013
This was our first time staying at a KOA campground, and we loved it! We have a 3yr old and 6 yr old and stayed in the Coral Cabin, it was excellent! The whole experience from the cleanliness, to the location, the amenities, to the kids activities, the pool, jumping balloon, playground,camp fires, and overall atmosphere made our trip a total success. We will be back next year, Thankyou!
Aug 11, 2013
The campground was nice as usual. However, our cabin was less than satisfactory. There was a gap around the door big enough for the maintenance guy to stick his hand through it. He did not fix it. Also the ac stopped working halfway through our stay. Not good with that big gap. The cabin was not clean (big hunks of sand on floor and cigarette butts all over the ground)
Aug 11, 2013
We have stayed at several different KOA's and this is by far the best one! The pool was awesome, the cabins great and the service was the best of all. The staff was so friendly and helpful and the summershinners were excellent!
Aug 10, 2013
We loved our stay! We stayed in a deluxe cabin. We could see the ocean and the sound from the deck. The only thing they can improve on is the cleaning. The cabin was dirty when we arrived. We will definitely return! The pool was great and the walk to the ocean wasn't bad at all. Next time we will bring bikes! We loved everything about this campground and have told everyone how much fun we had.
Aug 09, 2013
you can't beat the fact that you are right on the beach at this KOA! The camping cabins were great as always. The only downside it the bathrooms as others have mentioned. A full-time cleaning crew is needed d/t the capacity of the grounds and the sand everywhere. Bring your shower flip-flops!
Aug 09, 2013
campground was beautiful some things in cabin were broken staff was told about it some older people behind front desk seem rude like they really did not want to be there
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
Stayed at one of the preimum lodges next to the pool area. Great location for the kids. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
Aug 07, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and showers were awful. They need cleaning more than once a day. You need hooks above the sinks to hang towels or toiletries. The counter were always wet. I know you can do better.
Aug 07, 2013
Pool needs supervision.
Aug 07, 2013
Leaking Gas Grill and no actions were taken until I left. I used my portable gas grill instead. No coffee refill bags at the main building for in-room coffee machine, so without coffee during my stay. Useless wireless internet. No train for kids.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Everything was wonderful. Beautiful landscape. Enjoyable family mini vacation. My only reservation-- the front desk person - Bren. She was rude and condescending. Because of her I did not re-enter the front office. Please send her away from the public eye. Poor representation of your establishment .
Aug 06, 2013
Grandkids said "Awesome swimming pool,waterslide,and bouncy pillow".Kampground was full-yet never seemed crowded.Very pet friendly-yet no doggy noise at night. Lovely beach-again, wasn't crowded.Walk across road for delicious food at Atlantic Coast Cafe-recommend the Cape Hatteras tuna-steak wrap if you don't feel like cooking. Corporate owned,no franchise owner to talk to-bathrooms wet and sandy.
Aug 05, 2013
We camp in the outer banks every year, but this was our first year at KOA. We loved it!! We are already planning our next visit! We will never stay anywhere else again
Aug 05, 2013
great beach, great site, clean and well managed. Well be back!
Aug 05, 2013
Best KOA ever! Many upgrades since last year and we'll be back!
Aug 05, 2013
It was great! The only issue was the bathrooms were dirty but other than that good.
Aug 05, 2013
It was great as always. Will be going back next year. Staff was great and professional as always. Have never had any problems. Any problems with site were fixed immediately
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. It had plenty of room. Great place to stay we have 3 teenagers and they loved being able to roam around and still stay within the campground. Everything was very clean and staff was extremely helpful. However there were some small broken things in our cabin that could have been fixed like cabinet doors missing and a hole in the bathroom door.
Aug 05, 2013
Overall the campground was very nice. Cabins are clean. Beach access is awesome! Nice new office too. Only complaint is the shower house in the middle of the park was extremely dirty and not well-kept. The shower stalls were nasty, from dirty floors to even an open tampon and cloths behind the door in one unit. The curtains were very moldy and needed replaced. Also they rarely had hot water.
Aug 05, 2013
The beach and pool were fun, but the public showers and bathrooms were dirty and nasty. At beach campgrounds, the bathrooms and showers REALLY need to be cleaned more than once a day.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Very clean and organized. Lots of things to do for the whole family.
Aug 04, 2013
We were pleasantly surprised by the entire facility. We stayed in one of the luxury cabins for a week. We can't wait to go back next year!
Aug 04, 2013
Matelas des lits de mediocre qualite. Logement et camping tres agreables.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.