Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Aug 09, 2015
We rented a camping cabin for our family vacation. The campground amenities were clean, and we loved how much there was to do. We were there with extended family, and the campground was perfect for intergenerational fun. And as an added bonus, we enjoyed being able to have a beach bonfire, something that is not allowed on most beaches. We're definitely planning to come back next year.
Aug 09, 2015
We stay in the small cabins usually. I wish you guys would invest in sealing these cabins better. For example, some of your cabins have old crappy wooden doors with an ancient style doorknob. Whereas some of them have actual doors with real handles and are sealed. It is unfair that some people have to deal with leaky cabins that can't contain cold air. We've had the junky door 2 years in a row.
Aug 08, 2015
It was a great place. I feel the kids activities could have been more organized. For example we had to go find koa staff because an activity was supposed to start and no staff was around for 15 minutes. I thought that with the extra charge per day for children it would have been more involved with activities. I feel that will be a big decision maker on if I would return.i feel like that extr
Aug 08, 2015
This is our 2nd year staying at the KOA at Cape Hattaras. The amenities are tremendous, the staff is courteous and helpful. Love the opportunities it gives for summer job experience to school and college age kids. The campground is clean. We are already beginning to think of our stay for a week in 2016. Thank you.
Aug 08, 2015
Love that the beach access was right on the property. Can't wait to camp here again.
Aug 08, 2015
We had s wonderful time!!! Our children enjoyed the pool and playground. They made friends and memories last for a lifetime!!!!
Aug 06, 2015
The facilities are new & pristine. The cabins recently renovated. We especially loved the pool. Lap lanes for the grown ups, water slides for our older kids and a wading area for the baby! Bonfires on the beach were awesome. Truly a lovely stay.
Aug 06, 2015
Loved the activities we participated in. The skit night was fun for all ages. The pool and playground area was over the top.
Aug 06, 2015
Our stay was very good. But, All activities for kids seamed to be driven by adults going to the front desk to remind them an activity was scheduled.
Aug 06, 2015
Our stay was great! We got there ready to set up our tent but it was pouring down and it keep calling for rain. They were awesome enough to have a cabin open and let us have it which turned out great! We really enjoyed our time and will continue to come back!
Aug 05, 2015
I have vacationed at this particular "KOA Resort' three times now and I likely will not return. I have RV'ed, rented a cabin and their "luxury bungalow". The RV was my best experience and the bungalow was my worst.
Aug 05, 2015
Great facility and staff.
Aug 05, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
The campground and deluxe cabins are very nice. They need water in the dog area and they need lights on the steps to the deluxe cabins. We were in 1502 and twice at night going down the steps to let my dogs out I almost fell because I could not see the steps.
Aug 04, 2015
Very nice campground but cleaning and maintenance is severely lacking. Bathrooms were very dirty and seemingly rarely cleaned and the AC unit in our cabin didn't work very well and could only cool down our cabin in the evenings when the sun was down. Unit was clearly undersized and/or not functioning properly.
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
The staff and grounds were so nice, we will be making this a family tradition!!
Aug 04, 2015
The campground was actually nice. The pool, dog park, and playground was very family friendly! However, the cabins need work - a LOT of work. The whole reason we stayed because they stated it was a cabin with A/C. The A/C barely worked. It barely blew out cold air. It was almost like it couldn't keep up. What makes it worse is the fact that the cabins aren't sealed properly contributing to issue.
Aug 03, 2015
Our stay at the Hatteras KOA was fabulous. The staff was more than helpful and friendly and our cabin was very comfortable. We are looking forward to another vacation there next year!
Aug 03, 2015
This was an amazing camp ground experience!! We would definitely return!! Perfect spot between the ocean and the bay. So clean and staff so friendly and helpful. Great camp store and snack bar. Kids were never board!! Perfect!
Aug 03, 2015
This was the best stay at a camp ground I have ever had.
Aug 03, 2015
Great facility! Can't wait to stay here again!
Aug 03, 2015
Pleasant
Aug 02, 2015
We stayed in a cabin with view on the Hwy. Although we did not like the position when we arrived it turned out be quite ok as we were able to watch the sunset from our deck every evening. One big complaint about our stay is about the bed in the master bedroom which made way too much noise if someone would turn around in his sleep. For this price, just unacceptable.Other than that, great campground
Aug 02, 2015
Overall loved it. However, New bath houses were dirty & moldy, inadequate ventilation, no hot water. Cabins could have been cleaner. Rarely saw cleaning crews. Was there a week. When I did, they looked like children. Older adult collecting trash on last day was very rude; acted like I was messy as trash had tipped over. Desk run by kids; would not give 10% discount to my reservation
Aug 02, 2015
Our cabin could of used a bit more cleaning and also the air mattress in the LR sofa had a hole in it. That should of been tested before anyone rented the unit. We did have an issue with some of the circuit breakers being turned off also. Except for these issues we had a great stay and the workers at this KOA were outstanding and tried to fix any issue we had.
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 01, 2015
LOVE this place...kids had a blast between the beach, pool, bounce pillow and playing in the field areas! Very clean and well kept with friendly staff.
Aug 01, 2015
This is the 1st time back in a few years.. I said I would never come back as last time the bathrooms were NASTY!! this time we rented a pet friendly cabin and it was perfect.. The facilty was much nicer and we will be back.. We are looking to book 3 of the pet friendly cabins for my family and friends.. Mike
Aug 01, 2015
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
Very nice campground. The scenery was phenomenal. The staff were very friendly and helpful. 3 minor complaints though. First: No security on the entrance, so anyone not from the campground can come and go. Second: the shower room is kinda dirty. And they shouldve separated the male from female shower rooms. The restrooms are decent clean though in fairness. Third: no fridge in the standard cabins.
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
Great place and great location!
Jul 28, 2015
we had a cabin across from the pool - the normal noise is not too bad but Saturday the guitar player that played all day was terrible and way too loud.
Jul 28, 2015
We recently stayed five nights in a small cabin and loved this KOA! It is beautiful and now our favorite! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The beautiful pool area is very large and lots of fun for all ages. Easy to access the beach directly from the KOA campground. We appreciated the ceiling fan and cool air conditioner in our cabin in July. We will be back again!
Jul 28, 2015
-douches sales
Jul 28, 2015
Loved the location! Nice beach, nice bathhouses. The staff was really nice and helpful. My complaint? The cabins too crowded together. You have very little space to call your own. Trying to eat at our picnic table.. or just relax in front of a campfire. Our neighbors were right upon us. Awkward and not very relaxing. The ONLY KOA cabin I have stayed at that was like this. A shame.
Jul 28, 2015
The bathroom in the middle of the campground did not have hot water. I did like the shower set up. And the large family bathrooms.
Jul 28, 2015
Awesome and clean place to stay. Tons to do! Great atmosphere!
Jul 27, 2015
Very clean. Great staff. Friendly environment.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
We love the Hatteras KOA. We visit every year and it is one of our favorite family traditions!
Jul 27, 2015
This was our first KOA experience. At first it was a little overwhelming because of the amount of guests but we soon we got settled and had a blast!! facilities were big and clean. Staff was courteous, helpful and friendly. Kids had the best time with all the activities KOA offered. We were surrounded by great neighbors that helped us out when we needed it.
Jul 27, 2015
everyone was very polite, easy check in and check out, cabin was clean. the cabins were really close together so there was no privacy at all. the only things that I really wish this campground had was putt-putt and a bigger game room with a pool table. with so little to do in the area a few more amenities would have been nice
Jul 27, 2015
My husband and I loved it here. The facilities are convenient and clean, the employees are cheerful and helpful. We loved our cabin and the ocean access and will definitely stay here on our next visit to North Carolina.
Jul 27, 2015
This campground was well above my expectations! I was very glad I booked with KOA, especially after seeing the other camp grounds nearby. The amenities were great: pool, hot tub, cafe, store, play areas for kids, and dog play area. You could stay here and never leave the camp. Views of the sound for sunset were amazing! Friendly staff, clean bathrooms, and super cute cabins! Will be back!
Jul 26, 2015
You guys have a very friendly staff, beautiful grounds, and great ocean front access.
Jul 26, 2015
Pricey, crowded,showers need alot of work. Beach nice.
Jul 25, 2015
Very nice! Everything we needed was at hand, and kept very clean. Great pool. Beach clean and wide. Enjoyed the employees.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.