Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 18, 2013
Trop cher pour les services offerts aux enfants. On ne savait même pas ce qui se passait pour les enfants et les 2 animateurs qui ont été vus s'occupaient peu des enfants. Nos enfants n'ont rien fait avec eux et la chambre était très bruyante car le nouveau complexe a été construit de façon à être très écho dans les corridors. Nous avons été réveillés à tous les jours par le bruit.
Jul 17, 2013
Everyone had a great time. Facilities are really looking nice. See you next year!
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Clean facilities. Great amenities. Very friendly and helpful staff. Thank you for a great 10 days!!!
Jul 17, 2013
Kampground on the beach WOW!! Could use more bath/shower houses
Jul 17, 2013
We had a great 10 day stay. It did seem like the activities were lacking and the activities staff this year was not as GREAT as staff in the past. There are only 8 showers for the entire campground so having to wait with children was a little tough. There should be a regular trash can near the dish washing station. WIFI was not working at our campsite. Staff in the store was was great.
Jul 17, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay @ the OBX KOA, very relaxing & peaceful. Only suggestion would be to have bathrooms/showers cleaned more often. While busy, the staff seemed overwhelmed with the upkeep of the bathroom/shower buildings. Also, we noticed a lot of people speeding around the campground not adhering to 5 mph. I actually witnessed a near collision with a car vs a bicyclist.
Jul 17, 2013
My family loves the Cape Hatteras KOA. We have stayed many times both before and after the destruction brought by hurricane Irene. The new pool and welcome center are fantastic. This is the best campground pool we have ever seen. The location is awesome. The waves are great for surfing and the beach is lovely. Stronger, more visible managerial presence would make this place perfect.
Jul 17, 2013
nice park, friendly people and awesome pool
Jul 17, 2013
everything was great except the camping cabin we stayed in leaked and we had to keep all our gear up off the floor if there was any chance of rain.
Jul 17, 2013
Clubhouse, registration office and pool are great. New and well taken care of. The campground is a different story. Most of the roads and site parking are gravel and dusty. Lots of pot holes and lots of mud holes when it rains. You have to carry your own trash to the dumpsters. The park attendants, what few there are, do not pick it up when they go by. Restrooms are nice and newly remodeled but.
Jul 17, 2013
Very new and nice KOA. Bathrooms need attention, bad design, they were clean but, not one trip to the facilities when the floors were not soaked with water! Great staff! Great pool! Nice ocean access. Definitely a five star if the bathroom issue is dealt with.
Jul 17, 2013
On our many trips to the Outer Banks, we usually stay with freinds in Salvo. Recently, we've marveled at the rebirth of the Cape Hatteras KOA. As this was our annual "Grandchilden trip", we decided to surprise them by staying at a potentially kid-freindly place. And boy-oh-boy was it ever!!! The pool, the beach, the bounce pillow, the activities and ESPECIALLY the staff were SUPER! Thank you!!
Jul 17, 2013
There was mold all over the bottom of the AC unit and I was offered any kind of discount. I just thought she would have offered.....My son loves the pool and the playground. Overall great plays for kid's! I have recommended this campground to many friends.
Jul 16, 2013
Very nice place and a great camp ground A little disapointed that we couldn't reserve a space for next year
Jul 16, 2013
We've been camping here for over 20 years spending 20+ days of the summer:) seems like the activities have fallen off( no karaoke, movies , train...) new summer shiners not as enthusiastic:( ...if given the chance I would suggest to bring Jackie and Bear back from Mt Pleasant.. Doesn't run the same without them! As usual Renee and Mike are outstanding!!!
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Too many young kids running around pool area unsupervised. Dog poop everywhere! I have dogs but pick up after them. Rules should be enforced. Thank you
Jul 16, 2013
Internet connection did not work the majority of the time and when it did it was painfully slow. They need an upgrade of something to address this.
Jul 16, 2013
We loved the new pool and the improvements. We can't wait to return. Thanks!
Jul 16, 2013
What happened? New management? Staff not as friendly or helpful as in past. Grass was over a foot high upon arrival. Finally had to ask KOA staff to cut it (3 days later!). Staff in golf carts used to wave and say hi(not this time!). Campground also experienced power problems but were NOT told of this when checking in. BTW, Camp Hatteras sent out emails notifying arriving guests of power problems.
Jul 16, 2013
They need more staff and they need to train the staff they have been going there for 30years not gotten better got worse since the sandy storm everything was not kept up everything is new but not kept up
Jul 16, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay! I would highly recommend Cape Hatteras KOA!
Jul 16, 2013
We stayed in a camping cabin while running down Hwy 12 from Corolla. It was simple and comfortable!
Jul 16, 2013
When we got there we were a little dismayed to find how much they had added/ crammed into what use to be a campground with a lot of natural unspoiled beauty. The family bathrooms were dirty, and not so appropriate for the number of single adults who had to wait to get in. The garbage dumpster was overflowing for the entire 2 days we were there, and check-in folks did not seem to have the time.
Jul 16, 2013
Huge pool. Very family friendly. Front office/store/cafe& upgraded accomadations well thought out & well built.Staff is incredible.Campground needs more shade trees.
Jul 16, 2013
The staff was very friendly and helpful; our only problem came when we were assigned a tent-site on a side road with a foot of water all along it. The tent site prices are a little high, and it was only a little more to upgrade to a cabin, so we did that, without any problems.
Jul 16, 2013
Had a wonderful time. The munchkin really loved it there. Would definitly stay there again. The site was a little bit pricey tho, but other than that excellent
Jul 15, 2013
we had a great time and the staff was friendly.
Jul 15, 2013
Beautiful place. Loved the pool and the ocean. Thanks for a great camping facility.
Jul 15, 2013
It was our first time at this KOA and it was fantastic. It was recommended by our friends. They go every year. We will go back for sure. The beach is wonderful. The staff is great. Overall my stay was great and will recommend to my friends.
Jul 15, 2013
This location has now been our favourite K.O.A. location to date. So much so- that we have already booked our return for next year.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
The only complaint that we had was that the WiFi did not reach our campsite and my husband and I still had some work related e-mails and reports to complete, which made it very frustrating. The other area of frustration came when the items in your store are not marked and when we asked about the price the staff would state they had to ring it up first because they did not know the prices.
Jul 15, 2013
the facilities are great, we have stayed many times and saw all the improvements. Lack of management is hurting the quality of this campground. Bath houses are extremely dirty for days (I have examples). Reservation policy was not followed with the guest to come up with aa solution (we have example). A great resort is only medium quality with poor management.
Jul 15, 2013
The renovations after the storm has made this is the nicest koa I've stayed at so far. I would recommend more trash and dog waste receptacles.
Jul 15, 2013
The custodian entered the bathroom well outside of the posted cleaning hours and kicked my wife out of the bathroom while she was in the middle of brushing her teeth.
Jul 15, 2013
This was our first trip to the OBX and we loved it. My son and family camped and we stayed in your new suites! The suite had a couple of issues- air-programed and the room stayed very warm. The beds were extremly firm(hard). Everything else was great the staff very friendly! The children loved the campground activities too!
Jul 15, 2013
Before the hurricane hit this was our favorite campground! After the hurricane hit this is still our favorite! The facilities are excellent. The staff in the office are friendly...the ones on the grounds not so much but that's ok! We will be back at least 2 more times this year.
Jul 15, 2013
We love this campground and the people working there were great to stay with. The facilities were all very clean and comfortable and there were some nice amenities that few other campgrounds have (dog park, awesome pool, etc.). If I could find anything negative to say - it is a very expensive campground. I guess it's understandable given the beachfront location.
Jul 15, 2013
Individual campground spots were spacious and unintrusive. Facilities were clean and maintained. Shower facilities were strategically placed around grounds for easy access. The covered picnic areas in spots by the water were great. Would like to see more of them covered for other camp spots. Pool is great! Interesting activities for guests. Would definitely stay again.
Jul 15, 2013
We went back after two years and the upgrades (new pool, new welcome facility) were great. My kids had a lot of fun on the the pool. The KOA staff were very helpful!
Jul 15, 2013
The campground has changed over the years and not all improvements have been for the better. We've been going here for 6 years and while the facilities are top notch, the service has not improved at the same rate. The summershiners and summershiner program in the past has been top notch and the staff had always been warm, friendly and accommodating. Now the experience is impersonal at best.
Jul 15, 2013
The entire facility was wonderful. Clean and pristine! The staff was so courteous and we hated to leave. We will surely be back!
Jul 15, 2013
Very clean. We loved how close we were to the ocean.
Jul 15, 2013
Our stay was great. Made reservations at last minute and a site opened up. We could not have been happier with the site backing up to the dunes and the beach or the KOA facility.
Jul 15, 2013
We had already stayed 4 nights and had to move to this site for one night because of the late date we made our reservations. However, the people who took our site were in a motor home and only stayed one night and were gone early in the morning. They could have easily taken the site we moved too. Other than than the new site was awesome, backing up to the dunes with swing and pic table.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Beautiful location. Great Laundry facilities, pool etc etc. We'll be back but I suggest you arrive before dark. Noway we could back in without going to other campers asking them to move they're vehicles. Would be nice if KOA would double check before closing office that the site is clear & free of other vehicles. Once again the location was beautiful...

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.