Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 16, 2013
Very nice place and a great camp ground A little disapointed that we couldn't reserve a space for next year
Jul 16, 2013
We've been camping here for over 20 years spending 20+ days of the summer:) seems like the activities have fallen off( no karaoke, movies , train...) new summer shiners not as enthusiastic:( ...if given the chance I would suggest to bring Jackie and Bear back from Mt Pleasant.. Doesn't run the same without them! As usual Renee and Mike are outstanding!!!
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Too many young kids running around pool area unsupervised. Dog poop everywhere! I have dogs but pick up after them. Rules should be enforced. Thank you
Jul 16, 2013
Internet connection did not work the majority of the time and when it did it was painfully slow. They need an upgrade of something to address this.
Jul 16, 2013
We loved the new pool and the improvements. We can't wait to return. Thanks!
Jul 16, 2013
What happened? New management? Staff not as friendly or helpful as in past. Grass was over a foot high upon arrival. Finally had to ask KOA staff to cut it (3 days later!). Staff in golf carts used to wave and say hi(not this time!). Campground also experienced power problems but were NOT told of this when checking in. BTW, Camp Hatteras sent out emails notifying arriving guests of power problems.
Jul 16, 2013
They need more staff and they need to train the staff they have been going there for 30years not gotten better got worse since the sandy storm everything was not kept up everything is new but not kept up
Jul 16, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay! I would highly recommend Cape Hatteras KOA!
Jul 16, 2013
We stayed in a camping cabin while running down Hwy 12 from Corolla. It was simple and comfortable!
Jul 16, 2013
When we got there we were a little dismayed to find how much they had added/ crammed into what use to be a campground with a lot of natural unspoiled beauty. The family bathrooms were dirty, and not so appropriate for the number of single adults who had to wait to get in. The garbage dumpster was overflowing for the entire 2 days we were there, and check-in folks did not seem to have the time.
Jul 16, 2013
Huge pool. Very family friendly. Front office/store/cafe& upgraded accomadations well thought out & well built.Staff is incredible.Campground needs more shade trees.
Jul 16, 2013
The staff was very friendly and helpful; our only problem came when we were assigned a tent-site on a side road with a foot of water all along it. The tent site prices are a little high, and it was only a little more to upgrade to a cabin, so we did that, without any problems.
Jul 16, 2013
Had a wonderful time. The munchkin really loved it there. Would definitly stay there again. The site was a little bit pricey tho, but other than that excellent
Jul 15, 2013
we had a great time and the staff was friendly.
Jul 15, 2013
Beautiful place. Loved the pool and the ocean. Thanks for a great camping facility.
Jul 15, 2013
It was our first time at this KOA and it was fantastic. It was recommended by our friends. They go every year. We will go back for sure. The beach is wonderful. The staff is great. Overall my stay was great and will recommend to my friends.
Jul 15, 2013
This location has now been our favourite K.O.A. location to date. So much so- that we have already booked our return for next year.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
The only complaint that we had was that the WiFi did not reach our campsite and my husband and I still had some work related e-mails and reports to complete, which made it very frustrating. The other area of frustration came when the items in your store are not marked and when we asked about the price the staff would state they had to ring it up first because they did not know the prices.
Jul 15, 2013
the facilities are great, we have stayed many times and saw all the improvements. Lack of management is hurting the quality of this campground. Bath houses are extremely dirty for days (I have examples). Reservation policy was not followed with the guest to come up with aa solution (we have example). A great resort is only medium quality with poor management.
Jul 15, 2013
The renovations after the storm has made this is the nicest koa I've stayed at so far. I would recommend more trash and dog waste receptacles.
Jul 15, 2013
The custodian entered the bathroom well outside of the posted cleaning hours and kicked my wife out of the bathroom while she was in the middle of brushing her teeth.
Jul 15, 2013
This was our first trip to the OBX and we loved it. My son and family camped and we stayed in your new suites! The suite had a couple of issues- air-programed and the room stayed very warm. The beds were extremly firm(hard). Everything else was great the staff very friendly! The children loved the campground activities too!
Jul 15, 2013
Before the hurricane hit this was our favorite campground! After the hurricane hit this is still our favorite! The facilities are excellent. The staff in the office are friendly...the ones on the grounds not so much but that's ok! We will be back at least 2 more times this year.
Jul 15, 2013
We love this campground and the people working there were great to stay with. The facilities were all very clean and comfortable and there were some nice amenities that few other campgrounds have (dog park, awesome pool, etc.). If I could find anything negative to say - it is a very expensive campground. I guess it's understandable given the beachfront location.
Jul 15, 2013
Individual campground spots were spacious and unintrusive. Facilities were clean and maintained. Shower facilities were strategically placed around grounds for easy access. The covered picnic areas in spots by the water were great. Would like to see more of them covered for other camp spots. Pool is great! Interesting activities for guests. Would definitely stay again.
Jul 15, 2013
We went back after two years and the upgrades (new pool, new welcome facility) were great. My kids had a lot of fun on the the pool. The KOA staff were very helpful!
Jul 15, 2013
The campground has changed over the years and not all improvements have been for the better. We've been going here for 6 years and while the facilities are top notch, the service has not improved at the same rate. The summershiners and summershiner program in the past has been top notch and the staff had always been warm, friendly and accommodating. Now the experience is impersonal at best.
Jul 15, 2013
The entire facility was wonderful. Clean and pristine! The staff was so courteous and we hated to leave. We will surely be back!
Jul 15, 2013
Very clean. We loved how close we were to the ocean.
Jul 15, 2013
Our stay was great. Made reservations at last minute and a site opened up. We could not have been happier with the site backing up to the dunes and the beach or the KOA facility.
Jul 15, 2013
We had already stayed 4 nights and had to move to this site for one night because of the late date we made our reservations. However, the people who took our site were in a motor home and only stayed one night and were gone early in the morning. They could have easily taken the site we moved too. Other than than the new site was awesome, backing up to the dunes with swing and pic table.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Beautiful location. Great Laundry facilities, pool etc etc. We'll be back but I suggest you arrive before dark. Noway we could back in without going to other campers asking them to move they're vehicles. Would be nice if KOA would double check before closing office that the site is clear & free of other vehicles. Once again the location was beautiful...
Jul 15, 2013
We had a great time at your campground this weekend. The area was clean. Bath houses, pool were well kept. We can't wait to visit again soon. We will and have recommended you to our friends. Thanks for a fun filled week-end.
Jul 14, 2013
The amenities are nice, staff is quite friendly and helpful. Cleanliness of rooms and cabins needs improvement.
Jul 14, 2013
I have been staying here for at least the last 35 years and I was impressed with the upgrades and improvements you have made since hurricane Irene.
Jul 14, 2013
Every employee that we talked with was wonderful... they only wanted the best experience for us.
Jul 14, 2013
Love the Hatteras KOA! Great Staff and Facilities!
Jul 14, 2013
bathrooms and showers were clean,pool clean, staff friendly
Jul 14, 2013
There was a bit of confusion about what our campsite was suppose to be. The site they gave us was very small and the sewer hookup was way too close to where we had our picnic table. The staff was very kind and courteous about the small site and and I did get a reduced rate so I was grateful for that. I love the KOA campgrounds and I love NC. Maybe you should open one in Duck NC.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
Have been staying in the Deluxe cabins for years.....were not as clean this year as in the past. Fridge was dirty, crumbs in wardrobe closet, etc
Jul 14, 2013
Other than my first-day incident with a person with a very bad attitude at the front desk, our stay was great. I do think they over-sold their "activities" for kids. Their dog area did not seem to get cleaned up knowing that not all owners clean up after their own pets. Beach access was nice and the pool was great. They need to clean up the sound side and let people know they own it.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
Always a great stay, wonderful facilities, clean and friendly campground. We keep coming back year on year!
Jul 14, 2013
The campground itself is awesome, the maint staff is awesome,however the staff in the store, when we had some problems with our site, told us no other spots we would fit in were available (the ones we saw were empty all week)Our septic hose did not reach where the septic was on our spot - made us seem like the bad guy - excuse me, every KOA I have stayed at, I have NEVER had a problem with it bef
Jul 14, 2013
My Husband is blind and at times in wheelchair. KOA staff were wonderful with reservation requests. close to bathrooms and wheel chair paved walkway. We had a wonderful time due to the kindness of this KOA Staff. Thank you, Mrs. Dianne Shepard

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.